All About Edinburgh
Search Results
411 resultat hittades med en tom sökning
- Perthshire | Golf Courses | All About Edinburgh
Looking for sightseeing and golf from Auchterarder in Perthshire to Grantown on Spey in the Highlands of Scotland. Perth the gateway to the highlands and many golf courses with fantastic views and wildlife. Perthshire Golf Courses Perth is the gateway to the highlands. Auchterarder and Gleneagles the first in Perthshire and to golf courses in the Inverness area. Then Brora Golf Course and the last mainland golf course Reay Golf Course in Thurso. With great golf courses and amazing scenery and wildlife. Scotland's Highlands are the place to play golf. Scotland's Golf Course Map Golf & Airport Transfers Golf Courses in Perthshire Auchterarder Golf Club Orchil Road Auchterarder PH3 1LS +44 1764 662804 Gleneagles Golf Courses Auchterarder PH3 1PJ 01764 662231 The Queens Course The King’s Course The PGA Centenary Course The Wee Course North Inch Golf Course Hay Street Perth PH1 5HS +44 1738 475478 King James VI Golf Club Moncreiffe Island Perth PH2 8NR +44 1738 632460 Pitlochry Golf Course Golf Course Road Pitlochry PH16 5QY +44 1796 472792 Golf Courses in Perthshire Carrbridge Golf Club Inverness Road Carrbridge PH23 3AU +441479841623 Newtonmore Golf Club Golf Course Road Newtonmore PH20 1AT +44 1540 673878 Spey Valley Golf Course Spey Valley Country Club, Dalfaber Drive Aviemore PH22 1ST +441479812920 Kingussie Golf Club Gynack Road Kingussie PH21 1LR +441540661600 Abernethy Golf Club Nethy Bridge PH25 3EB +44 1479 821305 Grantown-on-Spey Golf Club Golf Course Road Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HY +44 1479 872079 Golf Courses in Perthshire Strathmore Golf Centre Leroch Alyth PH11 8NZ +44 1828 633322 Alyth Golf Club Alyth PH11 8HF +44 1828 632268 Glenisla Golf Course Pitcrocknie Alyth PH11 8JJ +44 7821 219647 Boat of Garten Golf & Tennis Club Nethybridge Road Boat of Garten PH24 3BQ +44 1479 831282 Abernethy Golf Club Nethy Bridge PH25 3EB +44 1479 821305 Grantown-on-Spey Golf Club Golf Course Road Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HY +44 1479 872079
- Edinburgh Fudge Making Activity
Edinburgh Fudge Making Activity not for the slimmers great group fun and for the sweet toothed Fudge Making Edinburgh Activity Activities Fudge Making Fudge Kitchen 30 High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1TB 01303 864400
- Dean Cemetery | Attraction | All About Edinburgh
Dean Cemetry is famous for the people that are buried here Photography's pioneer, Builder of Glasgow, Confederate General, Biscut Maker, Lords Cockburn, Jeffrey Dean Cemetery Edinburgh David Octavius Hill Dean Cemetery Edinburgh David Octavius Hill and Robert Adamson circa 1845 pioneered many aspects of photography in Scotland. David was a Scottish painter and photographer. His studio was Rock Cottage on Calton Hill. Colonel Robert Smith Dean Cemetery Edinburgh An obelisk and stone plaque in memory of and Edinburgh born soldier who was a Colonel in the Confederate Army in Americas South. Stone plaque inscription COL. ROBERT A. SMITH / OF THE / 10TH MISSISSIPPI REGIMENT CONFEDERATE STATES ARMY / A NATIVE OF EDINBURGH / WHO FELL MORTALLY WOUNDED AT THE / BATTLE OF MUNFORDSVILLE / KENTUCKY / SEPTEMBER 14TH 1862 WHILE GALLANTLY LEADING IN THE / CHARGE OF FORT CRAIG / AGED 26 YEARS SPONSORED BY MURFREESBORO S.C.V.CAMP NO 33/ TENNESSEE Buchanan Dean Cemetery Edinburgh James Buchanan (1785–1857) was a Scottish businessman and philanthropist who was instrumental in building Glasgow. Born in Glasgow and lived his last years in Edinburgh’s New Town where his wife continued to live after his death. Lord Francis Jeffrey Dean Cemetery Edinburgh Lord Francis Jeffrey, born 23 Oct 1773 in Edinburgh, Scotland, died 26 Jan 1850 in Edinburgh buried in the Dean Cemetery. He was a literary critic and became a Judge. He was the editor of, The Edinburgh Review, a newspaper on British political and literary criticism in the early 19th century. His offices were in Buccleuch Place Edinburgh. James Falshaw Dean Cemetery Edinburgh James Falshaw was an engineer and helped build the railways around the UK. He lived in Edinburgh from the mid-1800s. He was Edinburgh’s Lord Provost from 1874 -77. He helped modernise the lothians and was knighted in 1876 and was involve in the building of the Forth Rail Bridge which still stands today as the main crossing of the Firth of Forth by rail. Nasmyth Dean Cemetery Edinburgh James Nasmyth born 47 York Place Edinburgh in 1808 became a Scottish engineer famed for inventing the steam hammer in 1842 and many other engineering firsts in his foundry in Manchester. He produced many tools and steam engines. His father Alex was a renowned Scottish artist. Alexander Nasmyth Artist Alexander Nasmyth born in 1758 in Edinburgh live at 47 York Place and was said to be the father of Scottish Landscape Painting. He Studied under Allan Ramsay and as a friend of Robert Burns he was fortunate enough to be the only one to paint a portrait of Robert Burns that exists today. only one to paint a portrait of Robert Burns that exists today. Lord Henry Cockburn Dean Cemetery Edinburgh See https://www.allaboutedinburgh.co.uk/bonaly-tower for info on Henry Cockburn Robert McVitie Dean Cemetery Edinburgh Robert McVitie (1854-1910) took over the running of the business from his father who died in 1884. That was when the company moved solely to Biscuits. The biscuit that is known by everyone is McVities Digestive, which was created in 1892. An Edinburgh man with the biggest name in biscuits. Lord Andrew Rutherfurd Dean Cemetery Edinburgh Andrew Rutherfurd was born at Bristo Port Edinburgh 1791. His home was to be Lauriston Castle and his townhouse was 9 St Colme Street, where he died in 1854. (Even in 1800s they had 2 houses). He studied law at the University of Edinburgh and became an advocate in 1812. He was appointed Solicitor General for Scotland in 1837 and in 1839 he was appointed Lord Advocate and Member of Parliament for Leith. He was also appointed the Rector of the University of Glasgow. James Stevenson Dean Cemetery Edinburgh James Stevenson born in Paisley on 28 April 1786 a Scottish merchant and philanthropist who was the father of two famous Scottish women, Flora Stevenson and Louisa Stevenson. In 1865 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh. He died at Home 13 Randolph Crescent in Edinburgh. Randolph Crescent the home of Flora Stevenson, Louisa Stevenson, and Elisa Stevenson in Edinburgh became one of the centres for women’s rights campaigning. They were founder members of the Ladies Educational Association. Flora Stevenson was elected onto the Governments School Board in 1873 and was so re-elected every year until her death in 1905. In her honour the Education board named a school after her which still is in use to this day. Louisa campaigned specifically for women to be allowed medical training and to qualify as doctors. She joined with Sophia Jex Blake to found the women’s medical college. Louisa later became a member of the executive committee of the National Union of Women’s suffrage society. Louisa Stevenson with Christian Guthrie Wright founded the Edinburgh School of Cookery in 1875 in Atholl Crescent Edinburgh. This school developed into The Queen Margaret University. James Hamilton Dean Cemetery Edinburgh James Hamilton, 9th Lord Belhaven and Stenton (1822–1893) His family can be traced back over 500 years to James Hamilton, 1st Lord Hamilton, by Janet Calderwood, and half-brother of James Hamilton, 1st Earl of Arran from whom the Dukes of Hamilton descend. Information from https://en.google-info.org/463879/1/lord-belhaven-and-stenton.html Sir Thomas Bouch Dean Cemetery Edinburgh The well-known saying ‘you botched it up’ was after Sir Thomas Bouch who built the original Tay Bridge which collapsed due to design faults, many were killed. Ironically, his Knighthood was for the building of the bridge. Sir Thomas Bouch 1822 –1880 a British railway engineer. He was born in Cumbria. He was the manager of the Edinburgh and Northern Railway and introduced the first roll-on/roll-off train ferry service in the world which left from Granton harbour taking trains over to Fife. William H Playfair Dean Cemetery Edinburgh William Henry Playfair was born in London to Scottish Parents in 1790. He studied at Edinburgh University graduating in 1809. He became the leading architect in Edinburgh. His neoclassical architecture can be seen all over Edinburgh. His buildings were how Edinburgh was called ‘The Athens of the North’. Most of his finest buildings are in or around Edinburgh. The Royal Scottish Academy building, The National Gallery of Scotland, Royal College of Surgeons, Donaldson's Hospital, St Stephen's Church New College on The Mound, City Observatory and Dugald Stewart Monument on Calton Hill. He died in 1857 leaving Edinburgh a as an architectural paradise known throughout the world. Next - Corstorphine Village
- Canongate Royal Mile | Shops & Businesses | All About Edinburgh
Royal Mile Canongate Shops and retail outlets, cafes and restaurants, all types of businesses for local and visitors to the capital city of Scotland. The Canongate has great tourist shops and many attractions including museums with free entry. Canongate Shops Royal Mile Edinburgh Restaurants, Cafes, Pubs, Accommodation Canongate Edinburgh is part of the Roya Mile but was once a separate Burgh and stood outside of Edinburgh's city gates. Now is a part of Edinburgh with many shops restaurants cafes and accommodation. There are many attractions to be seen. Canongate Northside History and Attractions Canongate Southside History and Attractions ADVERTISE HERE ADVERTISE HERE ADVERTISE HERE CANONGATE ROYAL MILE SOUTHSIDE Oink Hog Roast Restaurant 82 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Holyrood Cashmere Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Unknown Pleasures 110 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 652 3537 Prestige Scotland 112 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 7302 Serenity Café 116 Canongate (Crichton's Close) Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland The Poetry Library 116 Canongate (5 Crighton's Close) Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland Starbucks 120 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 8572 Café Vivo 138 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 2293 Museum Of Edinburgh 140 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 529 4143 The Wyrd Shop 154 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 2293 Celtic Design 156 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 100 1001 Sugarhouse Sandwiches 158 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 8999 Bene's Takeaway 162 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 1092 Canongate Jerseys & Crafts 166 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 2967 Simply Scottish 168 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 6699 Cadenhead's Whisky Shop 172 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5864 Mama Said 204 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 4829 Macraes of Edinburgh 208 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland Canon Gait 232 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 4481 Chessel's Court Apartment 2/3 240 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 07786 923 386 Pancho Villas 240 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4416 Table Top Café 244 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 5690 Tribal Body Art 248 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 9019 Mimi's Bakehouse Restaurant 250 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 1523 Royal Mile 2 Apartment 252 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 07980 927129 Robert Graham 1874 Whisky and Cigars 254 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 248 7283 The White Horse 266 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 3403 Focus Skateboard Gear 270 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland The Royal Mile Gallery 272Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 1702 Le Café Royale 274 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 652 3534 Solo 276 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 7682 Ragamuffin 278 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 6007 CANONGATE ROYAL MILE NORTHSIDE Holyrood Gift House 3 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 0996 Pegusus SL Sound systems 23 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1300 Kilderkin Bar and Restaurant 65 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 2101 Clarinda’s Tea Room 69 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 1888 Genuine Article 97 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BP City of Edinburgh Scotland Canongate Newsagent 101 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 9700 I Love Edinburgh 125 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BP City of Edinburgh Scotland Neanie Scott 131 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 3528 Royal Mile Factory Outlet 133 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BP City of Edinburgh Scotland Ye Olde Christmas Shoppe 145 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 9220 Peoples Story Museum 163 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 529 4057 Tolbooth Tavern 167 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5348 Hamilton and Young 173 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 2555 Carson Clark Gallery 181-183 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4710 Royal Mile One Apartment 185 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1743 Prestige Scotland 187 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 8640 Gordon Nicolson Kiltmaker 189 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 2887 The Fudge House 197 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4172 Adageo Aparthotel 231 Canongate Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland Café Truva 251 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9524 Luscious Café Bistro 261 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9363 Cranachan & Cowdrie 263 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 7194 Wedgwood Restaurant 267 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 8737 Edinburgh School Of English 271 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 9200 Wonders of Nature 297 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BD City of Edinburgh Scotland The Scottish Grocer 299 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 4056 Next - Horse Wynd Edinburgh
- Kelso | Borders Town | All About Edinburgh
Keso with its Abey and Castle Ruin. Walter Scott lived here and went to School. Floors Castle home to the Duke and Duchess of Roxburghe since 1730. A herd of Alpacas and the River Tweed. Kelso Attractions Scottish Border Town Kelso Abbey In the early times, about AD 1100, the main settlement in the area was in what was then known as Marchmount. The site of a castle which stood on the mound between the Teviot and Tweed. In 1124 David I, renamed the Town and Castle as Roxburgh (Rokesburgh). Today Roxburgh Castle is a ruin. David I founded Kelso Abbey, in 1128, in Easter Kelso which expanded around the abbey. Kelso Abbey was inhabited by monks from Normandy (Tiron) in France which Alexander I brother to David I had first brought to Selkirk. In 1143 the Abbey was dedicated to The Blessed Virgin and Saint John. After the final destruction of the Abbey buildings in circa 1587. Most of the Abbey ruins were cleared in 1805 leaving what you can be seen today. Kelso War Memorial The War Memorial can be seen in gardens next to Kelso Abbey ruins. The garden was gifted by the Duke of Roxburghe in 1921. Kelso War Memorial commemorates the people of Kelso who were lost in World War I (92 names) and World War II (42 names). The memorial resembles a medieval Scottish Mercat Cross, with a sculpture of St George slaying the dragon, a symbol for the triumph of good over evil. There are bronze plaques with the names of the fallen. Waverley Lodge Kelso Sir Walter Scott Walter Scott lived with his aunt Janet in 1783 for 6 months and attended Kelso Grammar School. While at Kelso Grammar school he met James Ballantyne, who was later to become Walter's publisher and business partner. He live in Waverley Cottage which has a bust of Scott and a dog statue. Kelso Grammar School Bridge and River Tweed Floors Castle Gates Floors Castle is one of the most historic residences in Scotland with centuries of family history. The Castle has been home to the Duke and Duchess of Roxburghe since 1730. Floors Castle was first constructed between 1721 and 1726 for the 5th Earl of Roxburgh, who became the 1st Duke of Roxburghe in 1707, moving from their main residence in Dunbar (Broxmouth Park) to their new residence at Floors C astle in 1730. Floors Castle stands in a 52000 acre estate which includes the Cheviot Hills, Tweed Valley and Lammermuir Hills. It Overlooks the River Tweed and the ruins of Roxburgh Castle. There is many things to see, and do, a great day out for all the family. Beirhope Alpacas Beirhope Farm Kelso is where you can go trekking with Alpacas. The Alpaca originates from South American are a camelid mamma. Like a small Llama. They have been present in Kelso since 2006 and there is a herd of over 25.
- Tyninghame Village | All About Edinburgh
Tyninghame Village named after monks circa 700AD (village of the dwellers by the Tyne) With a main House village hall River Estuary(Tyne) golden sand beaches situated between North Berwick and Dunbar. Tyninghame Attractions East Lothian Tyninghame Smithy East Lothian St Baldred, first came to the area circa 700 AD and opened a monastery and religious community. The Monastery was attacked by Danes in 941 and was left in ruins. Circ 1150 a church was built close to the estuary of the River Tyne and soon there was a village which was named Tyninghame or "village of the dwellers by the Tyne". Tyninghame House East Lothian Tyninghame was given in a charter to the monks of St Cuthberts in 1094. The Lands around Tyninghame became the property of the Earls of Haddington in 1628 and later circa 1700 the 6th Earl and his with landscaped the area by planting trees. A year later the village was demolished by the Earl and moved as he felt it spoilt the view from his house. The 9th Earl modernised the house having turrets and spires added circa 1830. Tyninghame Village Hall East Lothian he Tyninghame village hall is at the centre of this small idyllic village in East Lothian. The VIllage was was moved in from its original position by the Laird of the big house as it was spoiling his view. The village hall was built circa 1840 originally the old bakers house. Tyne River Estuary East Lothian It rises in the Moorfoot Hills in Midlothian near Tynehead and runs approximately 30 miles to its estuary with the firth of forth near Tyninghame, where the village originally got its name. The remains of the old church which was built at the mouth of the Tyne is now just a ruin. Tyninghame Beach East Lothian This must be one of Scotland's top beaches with golden sand and a fantastic view of the Bass Rock. Tyninghame Beach sits between St Baldred's Cradle and Limetree each on the east coast Take a turn towards the sea at Newmains cOttages on the A198 follow the road to Scougall campsite. St Baldred's Cradle East Lothian St Baldred's Cradle at Ravensheugh Sands is the rocky (outcrop) headland where an ancient cairn (stone mound) can be seen. this is a great view point for the east coast. This is a great geological place to see down the centuries in the rock formation. Kirklandhill Standing Stone East Lothian Kirklandhill standing stone is one of two standing stones next to each other on the A1 both are in the region of 11 foot where most standing stones are about 9 foot in height. Kirkland Standing Stone is (11 foot) 3.35m high. Next - Dunbar
- Edinburgh New Town | Architecture | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh New town, Edinburgh architecture and its history. Edinburgh New Town Attractions, Shops, Restaurants, Cafes, Hotels and Apartments. Nightlife and activities. Sunday Markets Edinburgh's New Town has it all. Edinburgh New Town Attractions The New Town in Edinburgh was the idea of King George III and the design he decided on was originally 3 main streets with 2 Squares one in the East and one in the west at each end of George Street. With 4 streets crossing vertically from Princes Street to Queen Street. Click on the buttons below to see what's in each of the streets. Edinburgh New Town Attractions The naming of “The New Town” In 1759 King George III had a new town built as an extension of Edinburgh City, as the over population of the old town streets had become unliveable. A bridge was built as an access to where the new town would be built (North Bridge). Where the area of the Nor Loch once covered, Waverley Rail Station and Princes Street Gardens are now. When the plans for the new town were agreed the King named the streets with the main street after himself (George Street). The other streets of the new town were named after as follows: Queen Street, after his wife the Queen: St. Giles Street after the city’s patron saint, St. Giles St. Andrews Square after the patron saint of Scotland and George Square after the patron saint of England. The smaller street between George Street and Queen Street is named Thistle Street after (Scotland’s national emblem) Street Between George Street and St. Giles Street is named Rose Street after (England’s national emblem). King George, after consideration, rejected the name St. Giles Street as St Giles being the patron saint of lepers and also the name of a slum area on the edge of the City of London. It was renamed Princes Street after his sons, the three Princes. The name of St. George Square was also changed to Charlotte Square after his wife Charlotte the Queen as there was already a George Square just outside the old town. Thistle Street was split into three separate street names, from the west end. It became Young Street then Hill Street after the architects who built the new town with the final part remaining Thistle Street now half the length of Rose Street. The three streets running across the main street completing the new town area, Castle Street named for the view of the castle, Frederick Street after the king’s father Frederick and Hanover Street was after the Royal house of Hanover. The main access to the new town was by the North Bridge. The Nor Loch was drained and the debris from the excavations of the new town were piled up in the middle of the now dry bed of the loch and formed the mound the only other access from the old town to the new town. The gardens were then formed on both sides of the mound in the dry bed where the loch had been at the foot of Edinburgh Castle, running the length of Princes Street. The first buildings in the New Town to be built were in Rose Court, at the east end of Thistle Street in 1767, now called Thistle Court, this building can still be seen today. Calton Hill Waterloo Place Regent Road History Attractions West Princes Street Gardens History Attractions George Street Hanover Street Frederick Street History Attractions North Bridge History Attractions Cockburn Street History Attractions Stockbridge Edinburgh History Attractions New Town West Edinburgh History Attractions St Andrews Square Thistle Court History Attractions Princes Street History Attractions The Mound Bank Street - North Bank Street Mound Place - St Giles Street History Attractions Waverley Bridge History Attractions Charlotte Square North Charlotte Street History Attractions Edinburgh New Town North History Attractions New Town North East Edinburgh History Attractions Queen Street History Attractions East Princes Street Gardens History Attractions Castle Street North Castle Street History Attractions Market Street East Market Street History Attractions Lothian Road History Attractions Edinburgh Royal Botanic Gardens History Attractions New Town North West Edinburgh History Attractions Next - Calton Hill - Waterloo Place - Regent Road
- Go Karts + Cage Buggies | Kart Races | All About Edinburgh
In door and Out door Go Karts activities for all ages group Xtreme Kart racing, indoors and outdoors dirt track rccing in Cage Buggies (Rage Buggies) 18+ only. Fly round a specially made outdoor course in the caage buggy a thrill of a drive. Go Karts + Off Road Cage Buggies Go Karts for all age groups. Karting Indoor or Outdoor Tracks or the ultimate in Karting in a Off Road (Cage) Buggy. Back to Activities Go Karts Xtreme Karting Edinburgh 2 Huly Hill Road Edinburgh EH28 8PH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 333 0195 Go Karts Fastrax Inzievar Farm Oakley Dunfermline KY12 8EZ Fife Scotland 01383 880300 Go Karts Indoor Kart racing Race Karts Ltd Arrol Square Livingston EH54 8QZ West Lothian Scotland 01506 410 123 cage buggies Off Road Cage Buggies Off Road Buggies Battlezone Dolphinton Burn Woodlands Dundas Castle South Queensferry Edinburgh EH29 9EN 0131 2973157 Off Road Buggies Fastrax Inzievar Farm Oakley KY12 8EZ Fife Scotland 01383 880300
- Edinburgh Attractions | Statues | All About Edinburgh
There are many attractions in Edinburgh. Statues are prominant in Edinburgh. I have captured them with a short history. The list of Statues over 100 famous people kings and Queens around the streets of Edinburgh. Edinburgh Attractions Statues Edinburgh has many statues in its streets and and public areas. I have listed the statues you may walk past in the streets or when visiting attractions such as the Portrait Gallery where there are 28 statues on the outside of the building. All the statues are in memory of people of Edinburgh . Edinburgh Statues Guide Statues Sculptures Belford Road Edinburgh EH4 3DS City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Robert Burns Bernard Street Edinburgh EH6 6PX City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Robert Fergusson's Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Morocco Land Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BD City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues William Chambers Chamber Street Edinburgh EH1 1JF City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Gladstone Coates Crescent Gardens Edinburgh EH3 8HF City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Robert Louis Stevenson Corstorphine Road Edinburgh EH12 6JQ City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Thomas Guthrie East Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh EH2 3AA City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues David Livingstone East Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh EH2 2BY City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Lord Provost Adam Black East Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh EH2 2DF City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues John Wilson East Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh EH2 2DF City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Sir Walter Scott East Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh EH2 2EJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Robert The Bruce Edinburgh Castle Esplanade Edinburgh EH1 2NG City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Duke of York Edinburgh Castle Esplanade Edinburgh EH1 2NG City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues William Wallace Edinburgh Castle Esplanade Edinburgh EH1 2NG City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Greyfriars Bobby George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 2QE City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Agricultural Museum George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EG City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Greyfriars Bobby George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 2QE City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Thomas Chalmers George Street Edinburgh EH2 3DF City of Edinburgh Scotland Royal Scots Greys Cavalry Horseman West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh EH2 2HG Winkle Brown Statue Edinburgh Airport Drop off Departures Edinburgh EH12 5DN David Brewster Statue West Mains Road Edinburgh EH9 3FJ William Playfair Chamber Street Edinburgh EH1 1JF Arcade Entrance North Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1QN Robert Hunter Bust Tower Place Edinburgh EH6 6QS Statue Ghandi in Glasshouse Balgreen Road Edinburgh EH11 3BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues James Clerk Maxwell George Street Edinburgh EH3 6EZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues George Heriot Heriot's School Edinburgh EH3 9EQ City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Alexander and Bucephalus High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1YJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Bishop Forbes High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1RE City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Alexander Henderson High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1RE City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Robert The Bruce High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1RE City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues James I High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1RE City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Gavin Douglas High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1RE City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues John Knox High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1RE City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Alexander I High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1RE City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues David I High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1RE City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Alexander III High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1RE City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Adam Smith High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1PN City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues 5th Duke of Buccleuch High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1PW City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues King Chares II High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1RE City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues James Braidwood High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1RF City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Patrick Geddes Trunk's Close Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 2NQ City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Queen Victoria Kirkgate Edinburgh EH6 7AA City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues David Hume Lawnmarket Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 3BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues William Pitt George Street Edinburgh EH2 2JR City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues King George IV George Street Edinburgh EH2 2PJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Rattray- Golf Leith Links Links Place Edinburgh EH6 7JJ Burns – Stevenson - Scott Writers Museum Lady Stair’s Close Lawnmarket Edinburgh EH1 2PA Huang Kuan (Statue) Confucius (Bust) Abden House Gardens Edinburgh EH16 5HP Statue Universal Mother Balgreen Road Edinburgh EH11 3BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Giraffes Leith Street Edinburgh EH1 3AA City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Woman and Child Lothian Road Edinburgh EH3 9AW City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Viscount Melville Melville Crescent Edinburgh EH3 7JA City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Black Watch Boar War Mound Edinburgh EH1 1YZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues K.O.S.B. North Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1TR City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Abraham Lincoln Old Calton Graveyard Edinburgh EH1 3BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Picardy Place Edinburgh EH1 3JT City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues James Young Simpson Princes Street Edinburgh EH2 4AH City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Duke of Wellington Princes Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland Statue George IV General Register House Princes Street Edinburgh Statues Horse Rider Eagle Silvermills Edinburgh EH3 5BF City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Robert Louis Stevenson Spylaw Street Edinburgh EH13 0JT City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Sir John Hope of Hopetoun St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 2AZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Sandy Irvine Robertson O B E Tower Place Edinburgh EH6 6QW City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues King Edward VII Victoria Park Edinburgh EH6 4QA City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Hygeia Greek Goddess Water Of Leith Walkway Edinburgh EH3 6TS City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues David Brewster K.R. West Mains Road Edinburgh EH9 3JN City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues The Genius of Architecture West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh EH2 2ER City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Scots American War West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh EH2 3AA City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Allan Ramsay West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh EH2 2ER City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Bum from Orlando West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh EH1 2EU City of Edinburgh Scotland Statues Wojtec The Bear West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh EH2 3AA City of Edinburgh Scotland Henry Dundas Statue and Monument St Andrews Square Gardens Edinburgh EH2 2AD Hippocrates – Asclepius - Hygeia Statues 9 Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 1JE Portrait gallery (Outside 28 statues) (Many inside) 1 Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 1JD Statue Dreamer of Peace Balgreen Road Edinburgh EH11 3BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland Next - Edinburgh Monuments
- Edinburgh Castle Shop | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh Castle shop at the top of the Royal Mile just over the Drawbridge no entry fee. Edinburgh Castle is the No.1 attraction when you visit Scotland and Edinburgh Edinburgh Castle Shops and Businesses Edinburgh Castle is one of the most visited places in the United Kingdom and is in the heart of Scotland's capital city Edinburgh. In Edinburgh Castle there are cafe's and restaurants to make your visit relaxing and enjoyable for all. Edinburgh Castle also has a number of areas in the Castle that you can be married and also have your reception. Edinburgh Castle Attractions and History Advertise your business here View More Advertise your business here View More Advertise your business here View More Wedding Venue Religious Ceremony Only St Margaret’s Chapel Edinburgh Castle Royal Mile Edinburgh Scotland EH1 2NG Tel: +44 (0)131 225 9846 Crown Gift Shop Edinburgh Castle Castlehill, Royal Mile Edinburgh Scotland EH1 2NG Tel: +44 (0)131 225 9846 Portcullis Shop Edinburgh Castle Castlehill, Royal Mile Edinburgh Scotland EH1 2NG Tel: +44 (0)131 225 9846 Edinburgh Castle Castlehill, Royal Mile Edinburgh Scotland EH1 2NG Tel: +44 (0)131 225 9846 Wedding Venue Evening Reception Edinburgh Castle Jacobite Room Castlehill, Royal Mile Edinburgh Scotland EH1 2NG Tel: +44 (0) 131 668 8686 Queen Anne Room Wedding Venue Civil and Humanist Ceremony Edinburgh Castle Castlehill, Royal Mile Edinburgh Scotland EH1 2NG Tel: +44 (0) 131 668 8686 Edinburgh Castle Queen Anne Tearoom Edinburgh Castle Castlehill, Royal Mile Edinburgh Scotland EH1 2NG Tel: +44 (0)131 668 8081 Edinburgh Castle Ticket Office Castlehill, Royal Mile Edinburgh Scotland EH1 2NG Tel: +44 (0)131 225 9846 Redcoat Café Edinburgh Castle Castlehill, Royal Mile Edinburgh Scotland EH1 2NG Tel: +44 (0)131 668 8081 Advertise your business here View More View More Advertise your business here Gatehouse Suite Wedding Venue Civil, Religious and Humanist Ceremony Edinburgh Castle Castlehill, Royal Mile Edinburgh Scotland EH1 2NG Tel: +44 (0)131 225 9846 Whisky and Finest Food Edinburgh Castle Castlehill, Royal Mile Edinburgh Scotland EH1 2NG Tel: +44 (0)131 225 9846 Next - Castlehill Edinburgh
- White Water Rafting Experience | High Speed | All About Edinburgh
White Water Rafting Experience on the Tummel Pitlochry from Edinburgh for an experiece of your life Hen & Stag Party funday White Water Rafting Experience For excitement and a great day out with your friends or family go crashing down the white water rapids in the highlands of Scotland. All equipment and wet suits provided with experienced captains on each craft with high safety standards you will get a high octane fun safe day out to remember until you do it again. From 2 -7 people at a time. The three main rivers for rafting are River Tay, River Tummel, River Orchy. Activities Transport White Water Rafting Experience Edinburgh - Pitlochry is 1 hour 30 mins and Edinburgh - River Orchy is 2 hrs 30 min subject to traffic. Grandtully Pitlochry Return Trip for 6 people £180 Advertise your business here White Water Rafting White Water Rafting Scotland 13 Tayside Place Aberfeldy PH15 2AW Perth and Kinross Scotland 01887 822 860 White Water Rafting The Rafting Company Ltd The Old Station Yard Lageonan Road Grandtully PH9 0PL Perthshire Scotland 01887 840 461 White Water Rafting Splash White Water Rafting Dunkeld Road Aberfeldy PH15 2AQ Perthshire Scotland 01887 829706
- Niddrie | Newcraighall | All About Edinburgh
On the East of Edinbrgh you will find the area of Niddrie and newcraighall which is overlooked by Craigmillar Castle. A famous Castle ruin of Edinburgh. Niddrie and Newcraighall Edinburgh Newcraighall Village was a miners village that grew when the Newcraighall 'Klondyke' Pit opened in 1897. Due to the influx of families a new school was built. When the pit was closed circa 1965 the miners were moved to the pit at Bilston Glen. Newcraighall village has no mining connections now and is situated close to the retail and leisure park known as 'The Fort' Newcraighall Village Memorial From the barren coal dust of centuries | of Poverty, Suffering and Sorrow | flowered a |Spirit of Community that sustained our miners and their families | in the Struggle to Preserve their mining Heritage this monument and reborn village shall forever bear witness to this spirit Dr Andrew Balfour Memorial Fountain Erected by the people of this District to show their esteem for the memory of Dr Andrew Balfour who for thirty years took a great interest in the welfare of this village. Died 28th December 1906. Erected June 1907 Bill Douglas Newcraighall Blue Plaque Bill Douglas was born in Newcraighall a small mining village on the outskirts of Edinburgh in 1934. He met his life long friend Peter Jewell when serving with the RAF in 1954. Bill and peter put together one of the largest collections of Cinema memorabilia in Europe. The collection is now housed in the Bill Douglas Cinema Museum in the University of Exeter which opened in 1997 with the donation by Peter, of Bill and Peters collection as a memorial to his life long friend. Bill Douglas died in 1991. Next - Prestonfield - Craigmillar Castle
- Royal Mile Horse Wynd | shops | All About Edinburgh
Royal Mile Horse Wynd Shops Edinburgh. Find what shops, restaurants, pubs, cafes are in the Horse Wynd where the Scottish Parliament Building Stands directly across from the Palace of Holyroodhouse tourist attraction, Shopping in the Royal shop or Parliament building. Horse Wynd Shops Royal Mile Edinburgh Shops, Café, Restaurant, Tours Horse Wynd is a road that has the Palace of Holyrood House on the east side and the Scottish Parliament building on the west side. There is a café, car park and Gallery and shops. Horse Wynd History and Attractions Advertise Your Business Here Advertise Your Business Here Advertise Your Business Here The Queens Gallery 1 Royal Mile Horse Wynd Edinburgh EH8 8DX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 524 1120 The Queens Gallery Shop 1 Royal Mile Horse Wynd Edinburgh EH8 8DX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 524 1120 Holyrood Queens Café Horse Wynd Edinburgh EH99 1SP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 542 1120 Parliament Shop 2 Royal Mile Horse Wynd Edinburgh EH99 1SP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 348 5000 Parliament Building Tour 2 Royal Mile Horse Wynd Edinburgh EH99 1SP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 348 5000 Scottish Parliament Building 2 Royal Mile Horse Wynd Edinburgh EH99 1SP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 348 5000 Next - Abbey Strand Edinburgh
- Aberdeenshire | Golf Courses |All About Edinburgh
Golf Aberdeenshire golf courses along the north east coast of Scotland.There are a number of popular golf courses with visitors Royal Aberdeen Trump International Murcar Links and Cruden Bay. Golf Aberdeenshire Golf Courses Aberdeenshire are predominantly found on the east coast From in the south Auchenblae Golf Course to Buckie Golf Course in the North With Royal Aberdeen and Trump International, Murcur Links, Cruden Bay all popular with visitors Scotland's Golf Course Map Golf & Airport Transfers Golf Transfers for up to 16 passenger Executive coach based in Aberdeen Auchenblae Golf Course Auchenblae, Laurencekirk AB30 1TX +44 1561 320002 Inchmarlo Golf Centre Inchmarlo Banchory AB31 4BQ +44 1330 827080 Balnagask Golf Course St Fitticks Rd Torry Aberdeen AB11 8TN +44 1224 507764 Kings Links Golf Course Golf Road Aberdeen AB24 5QB +44 1224 507767 Royal Aberdeen Golf Club Links Road Bridge of Don Aberdeen AB23 8AT +44 1224 702571 Murcar Links Golf Club Murcar Bridge of Don Aberdeen AB23 8BD +44 1224 704354 Trump International Golf Links Aberdeen Menie Estate Balmedie Aberdeen AB23 8YE +44 1358 743300 Cruden Bay Golf Club Aulton Road Cruden Bay Peterhead AB42 0NN +44 1779 812285 Peterhead Golf Club Riverside Drive Peterhead AB42 1LT +44 1779 472149 Inverallochy Golf Club 11 Charles Street Inverallochy Fraserburgh AB43 8XY +44 1346 582000 Fraserburgh Golf Club Philorth links Fraserburgh AB43 8TL +44 1346 516616 Rosehearty Golf Club Castle Street Rosehearty Fraserburgh AB43 7JJ Royal Tarlair Golf Club Buchan Street Macduff AB44 1TA +44 1261 832897 Duff House Royal Golf Club The Barnyards Banff AB45 3SX +44 1261 812062 Cullen Links Golf Club The Links, Cullen Buckie AB56 4WB +44 1542 840685 Strathlene Golf Club Portessie Buckie AB56 4DJ +44 1542 831798 Buckpool Golf Club Barhill Road Buckie Moray AB56 1DU +44 1542 832236
- Greyfriars Graveyard | Ghost Tours | All About Edinburgh
Greyfriars Graveyard Tour attractions of the famous residents of Edinburgh that were buried in the Greyfriars Kirk Graveyard. Stories of Ghosts and supernatural events when walking past tombs and graves of the departed. The first grave at the gates Greyfriars Bobby dog icon of Edinburgh. Greyfriars Graveyard Tour Greyfriars Kirk Graveyard Edinburgh Greyfriars Graveyard Tour is my selection of the famous residents of Edinburgh that were buried in the Greyfriars Kirk Graveyard. Greyfriars Kirk opened in 1620 the graveyard was in existence as a municipal burial ground from 1562. The Friars were given the lands circa 1470 and the original friary was destroyed by the Reformers in 1559. Stories of Ghosts and and supernatural events when walking past Mausoleums, Tombs and Graves of the departed. The first grave at the gates Greyfriars Bobby dog icon of Edinburgh. The Judge who sentenced 100's to death, Tom Riddle A.K.A Lord Voldemort (Harry Potter), John Porteous hanged, James Borthwick the tombstone with the skeleton from 1675, Allan Ramsay Poet, Joseph Black, William Creech and Mary Erskine, George Watson, James Craig (architect), John Bayne. This was where the affluent were interned. Look inside the Kirk where the museum can be found. Greyfriars Graveyard Tour Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh John Kay 1742 – 1826 Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh John Kay is buried in Grayfriars Burial Ground Edinburgh. He was a well-known figure around Edinburgh Born in 1742 in Dalkeith Midlothian. He began his working life at 13 becoming an apprentice to the local Barber. At 19 he moved to a Barbers shop in Edinburgh. He loved sketching and painting. His free time was taken up in what was to become what he was remember by. John Kay was a painter of miniatures and caricaturist. Through his paintings and Sketches the people of Edinburgh through the Enlightenment are still visible due to John Kay. There is a plaque on the wall in the High Street Edinburgh where he lived (Geddes’ Entry). John Kay died in Edinburgh on 21 February 1826 and was laid to rest in Grayfriars Burial Ground. Many of his caricature drawings were purchased by the subject he had drawn in the sole purpose of being able to destroy it. William McGonagall (Professor Minerva McGonagall) Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh William McGonagall is also buried in Grayfriars burial ground. Known in his time as the world’s worst poet me died in South College Street Edinburgh. He wrote circa 200 poems, which including as some of the worst ever written in English literature. William was born in 1825 and lived most of his life in Dundee. He performed in front of the rich and famous and royalty a very popular literary figure of his time. Sir William Topaz McGonagall inspirational name of the head of Gryffindor House, Professor Minerva McGonagall. His grave stone can be found in the far left corner of Grayfriars near to Heriot's School (Hogwarts) Gates. Greyfriars Bobby Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Greyfriars Bobby was a Skye terrier who became known in 19th-century Edinburgh after spending 14 years guarding the grave of his owner, John Gray. Bobby himself died in 1872. A year later a statue was erected at the top of Candlemaker Row across from the Greyfriars Kirkyard. There is also a red granite headstone in Greyfriars kirkyard near the gate. Have a stroll around the Greyfriars Kirkyard and see many famous and powerful people of old Edinburgh. Greyfriars Bobby died 14th January 1872 age 16 years. Let his loyalty and devotion be a lesson to us all. James Borthwick James Borthwick of Stow was the world's first Apothecary Surgeon he was born in 1615 and died in 1675. In 1657 he became the first apothecary Surgeon and teacher of anatomy George Mackenzie (The Covenanter’s Judge) Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Rosehaugh Close (now Melrose Close named after Sir George MacKenzie of Rosehaugh King’s Advocate. Sir George McKenzie (George Bloody Mackenzie) is still known today due to his tomb in Greyfriars which is said to be haunted. George Mackenzie was the judge that sentenced the Covenanters to death. The spirit of George MacKenzie is said to cause bruising, bites and cuts on those who come into contact with the spirit or touch his tomb. Some visitors have reported feeling strange sensations. The Poltergeist seems to only attack people that are in the Covenanters Prison area which is now kept locked. Contact the kirk museum regards entry. Robert Chieslie Greyfriars Graveyard Walter Chieslie of Dalry built Dalry House (Orwell Place Edinburgh) in 1661 he was father to Robert Chieslie, who became was Lord Provost of Edinburgh in 1694 -96. He was one of the Darien Scheme investors who lost a fortune and died in the Edinburgh Asylum at Bristo. He is buried in Grayfriars burial ground in the mausoleum of Advocate George ‘Bloody’ MacKenzie. His brother John is also interned in the same tomb. John was guilty of murdering Lord Carnwath. This is the most hunted grave in Greyfriars with three ghosts. Sir Robert Sibbald 1641 – 1722 Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Sir Robert Sibbald was Physician to King Charles II and first Professor of Medicine in the University of Edinburgh, President of the Royal College of Physicians 1648 – 1685 and co-founder of the Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. Thomas Riddell (Riddle) Lord Voldemort Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Tom Marvolo Riddle known to be a Dark Wizard and enemy of Harry Potter. Tom Marvolo Riddle, was born and raised in a Muggle orphanage, but eventually attended Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry (1938-1945). He changed his name to Lord Voldemort. It is said the character’s name was inspired by the tombstone in Grayfriars burial ground. Covenanters Prison (The Presbyterians) Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh The National Covenant signed in Greyfriars in 1638, promised to defend Presbyterianism from intervention by the crown. Through the gates is the part of the Greyfriar’s Kirkyard which was once in 1679 a prison for more than 1000 supporters of the National Covenant, who had been defeated by Government forces at the Battle of Bothwell Bridge 22 June 1679. They were imprisoned for more than 4 months with little or no food and no shelter, some were tried and executed, others died in prison, some escaped and others were set free after signing a bond of loyalty to the crown. In November 1679 the remaining 257 prisoners were taken to Leith and place aboard a ship that was bound for the American Colonies, however all but 48 were drowned when the ship was wrecked of the coast of Orkney. Nine of the 48 were said to have escaped. The area of the prison was much larger than it is now as it took in where houses have been built and new graves were installed here in 1705 when the graveyard required more space for the Edinburgh people. The Covenanters (Presbyterians) immigrated to North America in the early 1700s and William Tennant founded the Log College in Neshaminy Pennsylvania in 1735. The Covenanters of North America became the members of the reformed Presbyterian Church. The inscription on the plaque at the side of the gates to the Covenanters’ Prison reads; THE COVENANTERS’ PRISON Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Behind these gates lies part of the Greyfriars Kirkyard which was used in 1679 as a prison for more than one thousand supporters of the National Covenant who had been defeated by Government forces at the battle of Bothwell Brig on 22 June. For more than four months these men were held here without any shelter, each man being allowed 4 ounces of bread a day. Kindly citizens were sometimes able to give them more food. Some of the prisoners died here, some were tried and executed for treason, some escaped, and some were freed after signing a bond of loyalty to the Crown. All those who were persecuted and died for their support of the National Covenant in the reigns of Charles II and James VII are commemorated by the Martyrs’ Memorial on the north-eastern wall of the Kirkyard. The Covenant, which was first signed in Greyfriars Kirk in 1638, promised to defend Presbyterianism from intervention by the Crown. In November 1679 the remaining 257 men, who had been sentenced to transportation overseas, were taken to Leith and placed on board a ship bound for the American colonies; nearly all were drowned when this ship was wrecked in the Orkney islands (where there is a monument in their memory), but 48 of the prisoners survived. The section of the Kirkyard used to imprison the Covenanters lay outside the existing south wall, and included the area now covered by buildings on Forrest Row. The area behind the gate was laid out for burials in 1705 and contains many fine monuments, but these did not exist at the time of the prison. This plaque has been provided by the Greyfriars Kirkyard Trust with the support of the Scottish Covenanter Memorials Association. In the Covenanter's Prison Mary Erskine Greyfriars Graveyard Mary Erskine married in 1661, a writer of the signet (advocate). He unfortunately died 10 years later. Mary remarried Chemist with his own apothecary but he also died prematurely. With the money she had accumulated she opened a bank and amassed a large fortune, which she gifted money to the Edinburgh Merchant Company who establish the first hospital (boarding school) for girls, named The Merchant Maidens Hospital which opened in the Cowgate in the Merchants Hall which was situated where the arch of the George IV Bridge now stands in 1694. In 1704 she opened a further Hospital for girls, The Trades Maiden Hospital. Its first location was on Jamaica Street next to Argyll Square (Chamber Street and West College Street). It remained there until 1855, when it moved out to a villa named Rillbank. Edinburgh Sick Children’s Hospital now occupies the site. In 1892 it moved again to Ashfield, on Grange Loan. At the west corner of Blackford Avenue. The latest move was to 61 Melville Street in 1975 and its new home was renamed Ashfield in commemoration of its former premises. In the Covenanter's Prison James Hutton Greyfriars Graveyard James Hutton was born in Edinburgh in 1726 and died in Edinburgh 1797 age 70 years. At the age of 14 years he became a student of the University of Edinburgh he went on to travel to France where he became a doctor of medicine. He then went to London and then returned to Edinburgh. He continued the study of the Earth as geology and meteorology were his great interest. Hutton was part of the Edinburgh Enlightenment and as a scientist was regularly seen with Adam Smith, David Hume John Playfair and Joseph Black another famous scientist. His magnum opus was the theory of the earth which made the foundations to Geology James Hutton has been known as the Father of Modern Geology. Joseph Black Greyfriars Graveyard Joseph Black was a physicist and chemist who discovered magnesium, latent heat, specific heat, and carbon dioxide. In 1757 Joseph Black was appointed Regius Professor of the Practice of Medicine at the University of Glasgow and in 1766 he became Professor of Medicine and Chemistry at the University of Edinburgh. Both the University of Edinburgh and Glasgow have chemistry buildings named after him. Joseph Black was part of the Edinburgh Enlightenment and was at the gathering when Sir Walter Scott and Robert Burns met for the only time. In the Covenanter's Prison Joseph Black’s Plaque The inscription reads, "Joseph Black, Doctor of Medicine,-born in France, but a British subject, his father being a native of Ireland, and his mother of Scotland,-first a student in the University of Glasgow, and afterwards in that of Edinburgh, was a most distinguished Professor of Chemistry in both Universities; a felicitous interpreter of nature; acute, cautious, and skilful in research; eloquent in description; the first discoverer of carbonic acid and latent heat,- died in the 71st year of his age, AD 1799. His friends, who were wont to esteem his worth and abilities, have sought to mark out the spot which contains his body by this marble, as long as it shall last." Joseph Black's death in 1799. William Creech FRSE Greyfriars Graveyard William Creech was the main book publisher in Edinburgh. He was also a printer, bookseller, politician and Edinburgh’s Lord Provost in 1811. He was also a freemason and friends with Dr T Blacklock and Henry MacKenzie, both invited Robert Burns to Edinburgh. They introduced William Creech to Burns and he became his publisher and published the first Edinburgh edition of Robert Burns' poems 650 copies sold out in the first day to lodge members. William Adam Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh William Adam was born in Fife in 1689 and was one of Scotland’s greatest architects and he could also be said to be one of the first true entrepreneurs with many varied business interests. He died in 1747 and his son John Adam designed and built the family mausoleum in 1753 in Grayfriars. One of his best house designs that he built was for Robert Dundas when he built Arniston house for the Viscount in 1726. Mort Safes Greyfriars Graveyard Mort safes were a form of cage over a grave to stop the grave robbers from taking the bodies and selling them to the Medical College to be used to teach the students human anatomy. This was before the 1832 Anatomy Act regulated the legal supply of corpses for medical science. Captain John Porteous Greyfriars Graveyard The killing of John Porteous Captain of the City Guard. Three robbers were caught and imprisoned for carrying out a robbery. William Hall, George Robertson and Andrew Wilson. At their trial William Hall was sentenced to transportation to the colonies for life, but Andrew Wilson and George Robertson were sentenced to hang and were imprisoned in the Tolbooth in Edinburgh’s High Street awaiting execution. George Robertson escaped and made his way out of Britain. However, Andrew Wilson was to be publicly hanged in the Grassmarket in April of 1736. On the day of the execution a riot began and the City guard was called out, led by Captain John Porteous. Due to the rioting Captain John Porteous instructed his men to fire above the heads of the crowd, this made the riot even more heated, the shots from the city guard had hit and killed onlookers that were watching the proceedings from their windows. With the crowd getting even more violent, Captain Porteous gave the order to shoot into the crowd, which resulted in more deaths. Later that day Captain John Porteous was arrested and charged with murder. At his trial on 5 July 1736, he was convicted by a unanimous decision and found guilty of murder and sentenced to death. The execution took place in the Grassmarket on 8 September 1736. Walter Geikie Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Walter Geikie was born in 1795 a deaf painter and founder of the first deaf church and deaf society. His true memorial can be seen in our city art galleries and in the quality of life and dignity accorded to deaf citizens of Edinburgh today. Walter Geikie loved to sketch street scenes in ink and of real life. Union Carbide Gas Disaster Memorial Plaque Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh In memory of almost 4000 deaths and 40,000 people disabled maimed or suffering serious illness from the gas leak in December 1984 in Bhopal India. "never think you stand alone" George Buchanan 1506 - 1582 Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh George Buchanan, was born in Stirling in 1506 and died in Edinburgh in 1582. He followed the Calvinist theory throughout his life. A Humanist scholar, fluent in Latin, he travelled and was a teacher in France and Portugal. Teaching both Mary Queen of Scots and her son King James VI. He was a renowned writer of poetry, plays and other literary works. He was the Keeper of the Privy Seal. He also conspired with Elizabeth I to have Mary Queen of Scots arrested which led to her execution. His work ‘Rerum Scoticarum historia’ (The History of Scotland) completed just prior to his death in 1582 Allan Ramsay (1686–1758) Greyfriars Graveyard Allan Ramsay was a trained Wigmaker and poet. He died in Ramsay Lodge, Ramsay Garden on Castlehill where he spent the last years of his life. In 1725 he opened the first lending library in the High Street Edinburgh which was the first lending library in Britain. Allan was born in Lanarkshire in the west of Scotland on 15 October 1686. He died on 7th January 1758. Allan Ramsay established the Jacobite Literary Society in 1712. He became a bookseller in 1721 which he retired from in 1740. He is remember mostly for being a pioneer in the use of the Scots Language in contemporary poetry. James Craig Greyfriars Graveyard James Craig was the winning architect of the design for Edinburgh’s new town a competition held by King George III. He was only 23 years of age when he won but never saw the end result as he died prior to its completion. John Byrne Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh John Byrne’s tomb is built into the wall of Grayfriars burial ground. John Byrne He was a writer to the signet (solicitor to the King) and a wealthy landowner. He was born in (1620) Pitcarlie Fife which is just north of Auchtermuchty. The Tomb was built by his surviving wife in 1684 three years after his death. George Watson Greyfriars Graveyard George Watson was born in Edinburgh in 1654 and had a long and successful career as an accountant and merchant banker. He became the first accountant of the Bank of Scotland. On his death he bequeathed money to the Edinburgh Merchant Company to open a Hospital (boarding School) for the poor children of Edinburgh. The School is still in existence to this day. George Watson died on 3 April 1723. This memorial was erected | In 1991 to mark the 250th | Anniversary of the opening | of George Watson’s Hospital and the 120th anniversary | of George Watson’s Ladies’ | College the forerunners | of | George Watson’s College. George Watson who founded the College was born in Edinburgh in 1654 and died in 1723. The School opened in 1741 in Lauriston Place opposite George Heriot’s School. The Boys school moved to its present building in Colinton Road in 1932. George Foulis of Ravelstoun Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh George Foulis purchased the Ravelstoun Estate in 1620. Where he built a tower house in 1622 where he lived with his wife Janet Bannatyne. An inscription on a lintel reads GF- NE QUID NIMIS 1622 JB. These inscriptions are found on most old houses showing the initials of the owners, when they moved in, or when they married. In this case (GF) George Foulis NE QUID NIMIS (Nothing in excess) 1622 year house built (JB) Janet Bannatyne. In the grounds is Ravelston Tower, the stair-tower of Old Ravelston House. George Foulis, laird of Ravelstoun (Ravelston) was born in 1569 the second son of Sir James Foulis of Colinton. George Foulis became a Bailie (Councillor) of the city of Edinburgh. He married Janet Bannatyne (1603). George Foulis died in 1633 and is buried in Grayfriars Burial Ground. Covenanters' Memorial Monument Grayfriars Kirk Edinburgh Halt, passenger, take heed what you do see This tomb doth shew, for what sane men did do Here lies interr’d the dust of those who stood ‘Gainst perjury, resisting unto blood. Adhering to the Covenant, and laws Establishing the same, which was the cause Then lives were sacrificed unto the lust Of Prelatists abjured. Though here their dust Lies mixt with murderers, and other crew Whom justice justly did to death pursue. But as for them, no cause was to be found Worthy of death, but only they were found. Constant and stedfast zealous as For the Prerogative of CHRIST their KING. Which truths were sealed by famous Guthrie’s head And all along to Mr Renwick’s blood They did endure the wrath of [?enemies] Reproaches torments deaths and injustice But yet they‘re those who and now triumph in glory with the LAMB. From May 27th 1661, that the most noble Marquis of Argyle was beheaded, to the 17 th of Febry 1688 that Mr James Renwick suffered, were one way or other Murdered and Destroyed for the same Cause, about Eighteen thousand of whom were execute in Edinburgh about a Hundred of Noblemen, Gentlemen, Minister, and Others noble Martyrs for JESUS CHRIST. The most of them lie here. A stone open bible once stood below the inscription. The Plaque shows what was written on the open pages. Rev.VI.9 AND WHEN HE HAD OPENED THE FIFTH SEAL, I SAW UNDER THE ALTER THE SOULS OF THEM THAT WERE SLAIN FOR, THE WORD OF GOD, AND FOR THE TESTIMONT WHICH THEY HELD; AND THEY CRIED WITH A LOUD VOICE, SAYING, HOW LONG, O LORD, HOLY AND TRUE, DOST THOU NOT JUDGE & AVENGE OUR BLOOD ON THEM THAT DWELL ON THE EARTH? AND WHITE ROBES WERE GIVEN TO EVERY ONE OF THEM AND IT WAS SAID UNTO THEM THAT THEY SHOULD REST YET FOR A LITTLE SEASON UN TIL THERE FELLOW-SERVANTS ALSO AND THEIR BRETHREN, THAT SHOULD BE KILLED AS THEY WERE, SHOULD BE FULFILLED. REV.VII.14. THESE ARE THEY WHICH CAME OUT OF GREAT TRIBULATION, AND HAVE WASHED THEIR ROBES, AND MADE THEM WHITE IN THE BLOOD OF THE LAMB. CHAP.2nd.10. BE THOU FAITHFUL UNTO DEATH, AND I WILL GIVE THEE A CROWN OF LIFE. Next - Candlemakers' Row
- West Port | Grassmarket | All About Edinburgh
West Port (West Gate) access to Old Town Edinburgh and Grassmarket from the west. West Port is famous for Burke and Hare who lived here and murdered people and sold them to the Medical School The West Port murders are a major part of Edinburgh's History. West Port Attractions Edinburgh West Port Attractions Edinburgh West Port named after the Gate in the Flodden Wall that stood across the road that was access to the Grassmarket. The road and area outside the wall was known as west port suburbs. In this area was the abode of the murderers Burke and Hare, Tanner’s Close between King’s Stables Road and West Port the reason they were named the West Port Murders. Cordiner’s Land West Port Grassmarket The term Cordiner comes from the French for shoemaker, ‘cordiner’ This Building (land) was where there were many Shoemakers. The three separate buildings of Cordiner’s Land have many original features take a walk in and see the conditions of where people lived and worked. The stone tablet above the entrance is the emblem for the ancient Cordiner’s Guild. Cordiner’s Land Plaque West Port Grassmarket The inscription on the plaque reads; Behold how good a thing it is | and how becoming well | Together such as brethren are | in unity to dwell | AD 1696 West Port Tenement Tablet Inscription on a carved tablet above 64-66 West Port reads; LOVE GOD ABOVE | ALL | AND YOUR NEIGHBOUR | AS YOURSELF. West Port Murders Burke and Hare Murderers Edinburgh Burke and Hare were serial killers in Edinburgh from December 1827 to October 1828. Both from Ireland and came to Edinburgh for work as labourers. The murders they carried out were also known as the West Port murders. The killings were carried out by two Irish immigrants, William Burke and William Hare. They sold the bodies of their victims, 17 in all to Dr Robert Knox, to be used in the medical school for teaching students. Burke and Hare would spend their evenings in the White Hart Inn in the Grassmarket where they would drink with potential victims, leave with them and take them to an ally or their lodgings where they would kill them with a form of strangulation so as not to damage the corpse. Burke was the only one prosecuted for the crimes and was hanged in Edinburgh on 28 January 1829. His skeleton hangs in the Anatomical Museum in the Medical School Teviot Row. Hare died penniless in London in 1858. Part of Burke’s sentence is that his body was to be put on public display for all eternity. There are more items on display e.g. death masks of Burke and Hare. A wallet made from the skin of Burke. Children’s Rhyme about Burke and Hare Up the close and down the stair, In the house with Burke and Hare, Burke’s the Butcher, Hare’s the thief, Knox, the boy who buys the beef. West Port Murders The Vennel West Port Grassmarket Edinburgh The Vennel is an Alleyway from the Grassmarket that joins to Heriot Place and exits at Lauriston Place. There are a number of residence on the steps on both sides, the Vennel then opens up to the west and on the east is the Flodden Wall and a tower where it is joined to the Telfer Wall which continues to Lauriston Place the wall was the city boundary and all to the west was outside the protection of the City Wall (Flodden Wall). The Flodden Wall Was built 1513 and the Telfer Wall circa 1630, was added to protect Heriot’s Hospital (School) from invasion. John Taillefer was the stone mason in charge of building the wall which it is named after. Now renamed 'The Pride of Miss Jean Brodie Steps'. The Salvation Army Women’s Hostel West Port Grassmarket Edinburgh The Salvation Army Women’s Hostel stands beside the Vennel and the site of the West Port Gate at the west end of the Grassmarket. The area going up the hill was known as Portsburgh which evidence still remains with street signs. The Salvation Army Women’s Hostel Inscriptions West Port Grassmarket Edinburgh Inscriptions on the 2 stones on the Hostel Building at the West Port read; Upper Stone This stone was laid for | “the glory of god” | by Mrs Deamwell Booth | of the Salvation Army | February 6th 1911 Lower Stone This stone was laid for | “the glory of god” | by Right Hon. William s Brown | The Lord Provost | February 6th 1911 The Salvation Army Women’s Hostel Inscriptions West Port Grassmarket Edinburgh Inscriptions on the 2 stones on the Hostel Building at the West Port read; Upper Stone This stone was laid for | “the glory of god” | by Rev’d A Wallace Williamson DD | St Giles Cathedral | February 6th 1911 Lower Stone This stone was laid for | “the glory of god” | by Reverend Alexander Whyte DD | St Georges U.F.C. and Principal of | New College | February 6th 1911. Memorial Garden West Port Grassmarket Edinburgh The Grassmarket Memorial Garden Plaque reads; This Memorial Garden | was opened by | His Grace Douglas Fourteenth Duke of Hamilton | K.T. G.C.V.Q A.F.C | in the presence of | The Lord Provost, Magistrates and Council | of the | City of Edinburgh | ministers of the Church of Scotland & The reformed Presbyterian Church | A representative detachment of the Cameronians (Scottish Rifles) | and a large public assembly | 24th October 1954 Next - West Bow Grassmarket
- Chambers Street | Attractions | All About Edinburgh
Chambers Street Edinburgh extended from Candlemaker Row to what is now Infirmary Street at High School Yards and was called Jamaica Street. (Ainslie’s map of Edinburgh 1580 – 1919). It became Chambers Street in 1867 named after William Chambers Lord Provost Lord Provost of Edinburgh from 1865 to 1869 Chambers Street Edinburgh Attractions Guthrie Street The streets are all part of the old town area all with street names being changed. The First known name for the street which extended from Candlemaker Row at George IV Bridge included Chambers Street and Infirmary Street finishing in High School Yards was called Jamaica Street. (Ainslie’s map of Edinburgh 1580 – 1919). It was changed to Chambers Street in 1867 after William Chambers Lord Provost of Edinburgh for four years. The main attraction in Chambers Street is the National Museum of Scotland. National Museum of Scotland Chambers Street Edinburgh The National Museum of Scotland houses outstanding international collections from Science and Industry, The Natural World, Decorative Arts plus the History of Scotland from its geological beginnings to the 21st century and many other wonderful and interesting exhibits. The museum was modernised after a 2 year closure and was re-opened in July 2011. There are two parts to the building, the former Museum of Scotland and the modern extension of the building opened in 1998. The former Royal Museum opened in 1866. There are many things for adults and children to do and see on a cold wet summer day, such as becoming an astronaut. The museum is on 7 floors and has lifts and stairways connecting each area. Enter the Museum from the new extension and you will come across Sir Jackie Stewart’s Formula One Car. There is also a café and restaurant. Entry is free. National Museum Old Dental Hospital Chamber Street NON NOBIS SOLUM SED OMNIBUS Translation; people should contribute to the general greater good of humanity, apart from their own interests. The Edinburgh Dental Hospital and teaching School was formed in Chambers Street 1878. Due to the patient numbers it moved to Lauriston Lane in 1889. It returned to Chamber Street in 1894. A split between The Dental Hospital and teaching facility took place in 1948 when the Dental Hospital became part of the NHS and the Teaching School joined the University of Edinburgh. It closed and moved to Lauriston Place in 1997 William Chambers Statue Chambers Street Edinburgh The statue of William Chambers stands at the National Museum of Scotland in Chambers Street. William Chambers was the Lord Provost of Edinburgh from 1865 to 1869. Look at the panels on the base of the statue. He was a bookseller, printer and publisher. He was also responsible for the restoration of St Giles Cathedral. Chambers Street was named after him in 1867. The picture below shows the statue of William Chambers. The Statue was renovated and moved from the centre of the road a few years ago William Playfair Chambers Street Edinburgh William Playfair Born Benvie Dundee 1790 – 1857 The Statue of William Playfair Stands outside the National Museum of Scotland in Chambers Street close to the Playfair Library in the University of Edinburgh Building. William Playfair was a renowned architect and a leader of architectural methods. National Museum of Scotland Inside The School of Arts of Edinburgh Heriot-Watt history was started as the School of Arts of Edinburgh by Scottish businessman Leonard Horner on 16 October 1821 in Niddry Street as the world's first mechanics' institute, providing working men with education in technical subjects. They moved to a building in Adam Square in 1837. In 1852 it changed name to Watt Institution and School of Arts. The statue of Watt was unveiled in May 1854 Adam Square was demolished in 1870 for Chamber street to be built, they then moved to 25 Chambers Street in 1874. The Watt Institution officially became Heriot-Watt College in 1885 when they merged with The George Heriot Trust. The statue remained on Chambers Street until 1990, when it was moved to its current location at Heriot-Watt’s Riccarton Campus. Crown Office , 23 – 25 Chambers Street, Edinburgh was the site of Edinburgh’s Phrenological museum. It then became Heriot Watt College and the Crown Office. George Heriot ; A goldsmith and banker to King James VI, who left his fortune to fund education in Edinburgh. Leonard Horner; An educational and social reformer who founded the trailblazing Edinburgh School of Arts in 1821, the world’s first mechanics’ institute. George Combe President of the Edinburgh Phrenological Society, Lawyer and was a Scottish lawyer and a spokesman of the phrenological movement for over 20 years. He founded the Edinburgh Phrenological Society with his brother Andrew Combe in 1820 and wrote The Constitution of Man in 1828. The four heads of prominent contributors to the Society of Phrenology: Franz Joseph Gall, Johann Spurzheim, George Combe and Andrew Combe originally this was the main door to the museum No23 which closed in 1887. George Combe Andrew Combe Johann Spurzheim Franz Joseph Gall A medical school opened at 20 Chambers Street in 1878, featuring anatomical teaching by James Cossar Ewart. 16 Chamber Street French-Renaissance styled building was built in 1878 and opened as a teacher training college. 16 Chamber Street 20 Chambers Street Guthrie Street | College Wynd Guthrie Street was built to replace College Wynd and was named after Dr Thomas Guthrie the founder of the first Ragged School in 1841, which can be seen in Ramsay Lane of Castlehill Royal Mile Edinburgh. Guthrie Street is a link between Chambers Street and the Cowgate Edinburgh. There are steps from Chamber Street to Guthrie Street which was previously Horse Wynd before Chamber Street was built. Horse Wynd Joined Potterrow with the Cowgate. Walter Scott was born in College Wynd which was demolished and replaced with modern housing. The plaque can be seen on the wall at the corner of Guthrie Street and Chambers Street is to signify the location of the house where Sir Walter Scott was born in August 1771. Walter Scott's Birthplace Stone Guthrie Street Edinburgh Next - Grayfriars Kirk Edinburgh
- Bruntsfield Links | Edinburgh Attraction | All About Edinburgh
Bruntsfield Links and the Meadows in Edinburgh. The history of the Burgh Loch and world's first Golf Course and club House. The fist established Golf Clubs and the oldest golf trophy. The first Derby between Hearts and Hibs football teams. Bruntsfield Links Edinburgh and The Meadows Bruntsfield Links Edinburgh Bruntsfield Links is where the first golf was played circa 1380. The Burghers were instituted in 1735 now known as Royal Burgess the Oldest Golf Cub in the world. The Rhind Stone pictured below is of two Burghers golfers with their caddies on the Bruntsfield Links. When overcrowding of the golf course became a problem the Burghers (Burgess) moved to Musselburgh in 1874 and then made a final move to their present home in Barnton where they had a golf course designed by Tom Morris which opened in May of 1895. It was 1929 when King George V by royal proclamation allowing the Burgess to change name to The Royal Burgess Golfing Society as it is today. Bruntsfield Links The World's Oldest Short Hole Golf Course Ye Old Golf Tavern First Golf Club House The first known Club House in the world was in Wright’s House a few yards up from the present Golf Tavern which was established in 1456 next to Bruntsfield Links. The Golf Tavern is still where golfers can rent clubs to play golf over the Links at Bruntsfield. The original golf house was where the first golf clubs met and arranged competitions circa 1380. Many famous people of the time played here including Kings and Queens. The Rhind Stone by William Birnie Rhind RSA The Rhind Stone depicting two of the Burgher's golfers on Bruntsfield Links with their caddies. With Edinburgh Castle in the background. The Burgess Golfing Society of Edinburgh first incorporated in 1735 and became The Royal Burgess Golfing Society of Edinburgh. The Meadows Edinburgh The area of the Meadows was originally the Boroughloch pre 1500. The draining of the Borough (Burgh) Loch started in 1657, which made way for the Meadows. The area was used for grazing sheep and cattle before the Loch was drained and laid out as it is today with grass and pathways. The Borough Loch had been one of the main water supplies for the City of Edinburgh. Once the Loch was drained, The Meadows were laid out as parkland, with narrow drainage canals, a summer house, Bandstand, tree-lined Walks and Avenues. On several occasions the area has been threatened with development but is still laid out in the design of circa 1800. The East Meadows was the site of the first Edinburgh football derby between the Heart of Midlothian and Hibernian football clubs on Christmas Day 1875 which became an annual event to the present day. In the distance you can see Arthur Seat and Salisbury Crags. East Meadow Edinburgh West Meadows Edinburgh Meadows Pillars Edinburgh There are six pillars two at the west entrance to the meadows stand at either of Melville Drive. Both have Unicorns on the top of the pillars. A further two are at the east end of Melville Drive the road that separates the meadows from Bruntsfield Links, however there is a lion on the top of one of the pillars and a unicorn on the other. The final two pillars are similar to the first two both have unicorns on the top. They stand at the entrance to Middle Meadow Walk on Teviot Place next to the Old Medical School. Nelson Pillars Edinburgh The two pillars that stand at the east end of Melville drive were donated to the city of Edinburgh in 1876 as a thank you from printing and publishing firm Thomas Nelson and Sons for the help received by the council when their printing works were destroyed by fire. The Lion and Unicorn are part of the Coat of Arms of Scotland. Whales Jawbones Meadows Edinburgh Jaw Bone Walk stretches from the foot of Meadow Place at Marchmont to the junction of the paths intersection of Middle Meadow Walk on the north edge of the Meadows. The Jaw Bones where the path gets it's name stood across the path at the entrance to the meadows at Meadow place. The whale’s jawbone came from Shetland for the Zetland and Fair Isle Knitting Stand and was presented to the people of Edinburgh at the International Exhibition of 1886. (Pictured 2012) No Longer in situ. Helen Acquroff Memorial Drinking Fountain Meadows Edinburgh Helen Acquroff born on the southside of Edinburgh in October 1831 a talented teacher blind from the age of 11 years she excelled as a musician, pianist, singer and poet, she died at home 51 Clerk Street, Edinburgh in September 1887. The Fountain is memorial to her and life. She was an active member of the Temperance Movement. The inscription Reads: In Memorium Helen Acquroff Sister Cathedral 1889 Erected By Members of The IOGT And Other Friends. Prince Albert Sundial Meadows Edinburgh The great International Exhibition of Industry, Science and Art was held in the West Meadows during the summer of 1886. Edinburgh and its Meadows site were given worldwide recognition. In the West Meadows an important piece of sculpture commemorating the opening of the Exhibition is still present .The Prince Albert Sundial is an octagonal pillar with a bronze armillary sphere which acts as a sundial. At the top of the pillar are shields with the Coronet of Prince Albert, The Arms of the Marquis of Lothian, The cipher of the Lord Provost, The Edinburgh city Coat of Arms and the Scottish Coat of Arms. Banning of Football The Royal Company of Archers has had its base in Edinburgh at Archers' Hall Buccleuch Street, Edinburgh since 1777. 100 yards from the East Meadows. The Royal Company of Archers is a ceremonial unit that serves as the Sovereign's Bodyguard in Scotland, a role it has performed since 1822. The Archer’s would have tournaments in the Meadows where they would regularly practice. In 1424 by the act of the Scottish Parliament the game of football was prohibited for the more necessary science of archery. Boroughloch Brewery The Boroughloch Brewery was established circa 1798 and closed mid 1890's. it was one of the largest breweries in Scotland. With change of use circa 1910 to a bottled water plant. In 1951 the area became Boroughloch Square residential housing. The First Edinburgh Football Derby The first Edinburgh Football Derby between Edinburgh Hibernian and Heart of Midlothian F.C. took place on the East Meadows on Christmas Day 1875. The plaque is on the wall of the old Boroughloch Brewery on the corner of Meadow Path. Activities Meadows Edinburgh Over time the Meadows have provided the people of Edinburgh the opportunity to a full range of activities. From football, bowling, tennis, cricket, golf, croquet, American football, baseball, touch rugby, quoiting, archery and even target practice for the Royal Company of Archers whose halls are close by in Buccleuch Street. There have been concerts and the fun fare is an annual event. Everyone can use the Meadows as it is a public park. The Meadows are today designated as a Millennium Park, which together with the adjacent Bruntsfield Links where there is the oldest recorded short hole golf course. This can be used by all. In 1987 a one mile runner’s loop was marked out see below. The Meadows provide 36 acres of green belt in the city. Today the Meadows have changed little since they were laid out in the 1700’s. SRI CHINMOY is a spiritual teacher who dedicated his life in the service of humanity. In his 43 years in the West, he endeavoured to inspire and serve mankind with his soulful offerings - his prayers and meditations, literary, musical and artistic works. SRI CHINMOY ATHLETIC CLUB UK Our well established summer race series takes place on a flat accurately measured one mile loop around the Meadows in Edinburgh and are for mid-week speed sessions or an opportunity to try a 1 or 2 mile race. All standards are welcome and the emphasis is very much on taking part and having fun! Sri Chinmoy, the founder of the club encouraged physical fitness as a means to self-transcendence and self-improvement. FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT SRI CHINMOY GO TO WWW.SRICHINMOYRACES.ORG Next - New Town Edinburgh
- Thistle Street | Edinburgh New Town | All About Edinburgh
New Town Edinburgh Thistle Street Edinburgh the first house was built in Edinburgh's New Towns at the north west edge of St Andrews Square named Rose Court, built in 1767. It is now Thistle Court and Still in use today. Thistle Street Edinburgh New Town Attractions Thistle Street was one of the streets in the design plans of the New Town of 1759. It was to run parallel with Princes Street, George Street, and Queen street. Between George Street and Queen Street named after the Scottish emblem the Thistle of Scotland. However, the two architects that completed the New Town requested streets to be named after them and it was decided to reduce the length of Thistle Street to enable Mr Hill and Mr Young a street each thereafter Thistle street becoming from the west end, Young Street, Hill Street, then the remainder remaining Thistle Street as it is today. THE FIRST HOUSES BUILT IN NEW TOWN 1767 The houses can be found in thistle court at the east end of the New Town. Thistle Court was originally called Rose Court. George Street - Hanover Street - Frederick Street
- Wedding Photographers | videographers | All About Edinburgh
Wedding photographers for the wedding photos to keep forever. Make a movie of your special wedding day and have a wedding videographer make your day a memory that you have when your old. WEDDING PHOTOGRAPHERS & VIDEOGRAPHERS Wedding Photographers AB Wedding Photography Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4FR City of Edinburgh Scotland 07445 838551 Weddings Photographers Blushbooth Limited Slateford Road Edinburgh EH11 1PA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 1493 Wedding Videographers Videographers Edinburgh Wedding Videos Links Gardens Edinburgh EH6 7JG City of Edinburgh Scotland 7510578938




