All About Edinburgh
Search Results
Search this site
411 resultat hittades med en tom sökning
- Edinburgh Maps | Tourist Attractions | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh tourist Attractions Maps. Maps of Edinburgh attractions where to find the attractions and what they are. Interesting places to visit, The top visitor Attractions, Royal Yacht Britannia and Edinburgh Castle. Tourist Attractions Map Edinburgh Attractions Visitor Attractions Map Places to See when in Edinburgh Royal Yacht Britannia , Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyrood House, The Royal Mile, Princes Street Gardens, Royal Botanic Gardens and Calton Hill are just a few of the most visited places in Edinburgh Next - Royal Mile Attractions Map The Map pinpoints all the attractions and the buttons are the areas and other things to see beside the attractions . Dean Village Cramond Edinburgh Attractions Leith Area West Princes Street Gardens Calton Hill Edinburgh Castle George Square Gardens Bristo Square Area Grassmarket South Queensferry New Town
- Barnton & Cammo | Edinburgh Attractions | All About Edinburgh
Barnton at one time was outside of Edinburgh and became a commuting village with Cramond. Now it is a area of mainly large detached houses. Not far from Cammo on the other side of the main route Barnton attractons, the oldest established Golf Club in the world. Barnton and Cammo Edinburgh Barnton Edinburgh The Royal Burgess Golfing Society (The Burghers) 1735 The Royal Burgess Golfing Society near Cramond the Oldest Golf Club in the world. There were six golf clubs that played their golf at Bruntsfield Links of which The Burghers were one, they were the first to be instituted in 1735 the club house the Old Golf Tavern was used by all clubs. circa 1780 the society became known as the Edinburgh Burgess Golfing Society and by Royal Edict dated 30 September 1929 His Majesty King George V commanded that the name be changed to The Royal Burgess Golfing Society of Edinburgh. The Club moved to its present home at Barnton in 1895 designed by a Musselburgh Golfer Willie Park Jnr who won the open Championship in 1887 and 1889. His family were golfers, his father Willie Park Snr won the first Open in 1860 and also in 1863, 1866 and 1875 and his uncle Mungo Park won in 1874 The Royal Burgess Golfing Society Instituted in 1735. The Plaque shows golfers of the original Burghers at Bruntsfield Links where they first played for a silver putter. The Burghers now The Royal Burgess is the oldest golf club in the world. The first Golf Club House being Ye Old Golf Tavern. Barnton Quarry (The Secret Bunker) Presently under construction to be a visitor site The Secret Bunker can be found just off Clermiston Road North there is a small car park at the side of the road and it is a short walk to the Bunker. This was one of the largest underground military installations in the UK. The purpose of the bunker was to house a radar detection unit and Royal Air Force fighter response command protecting the UK from Russian long range nuclear threats. This facility was a national secret installation for many years. There were 3 other similar sites in the UK Kelvedon Hatch (London), Shipton (Yorkshire), Bawburgh (Norfolk) These 4 sites were the top of the Radar command. Cammo Cammo Edinburgh Cammo House Ruins Nature Reserve Edinburgh Cammo House was built in the early part of the 1690s by a John Menzies a wealthy businessman and was later sold to Sir John Clerk in 1710. Sir John Clerk with an interest in landscaping set out the gardens of Cammo house over the next several years. The house is now a ruin and the lands are now open to the public. Things to look for are the ruin of Cammo House, the said to be oldest and largest Ash tree in Edinburgh, the East Lodge, Cammo Tower, The Cammo Stane and if very lucky the Ghosts of Cammo House. Cammo Ancient Tree Planted 1854 Cammo Nature Reserve Cammo Stables Cammo Standing Stone Cammo Canal Cammo Water Tower Cammo water tower was built in the 1870’s and supplied Cammo house with water. The water was run by a pump by a windmill that was on top of the Tower which is no longer there. Cramond
- Makars Court | Makars Slabs | All About Edinburgh
The Makars Slabs are on the ground of Makars' Court Lady Stair's Close Lawnmarket Royal Mile Edinburgh. Each Slab is a memorial to a Makar (Poet) of Scotland. Makars Court Makars' Slabs Lawnmarket Royal Mile Edinburgh The Makars Slabs The Makars' Slabs can be found in Makars' Court Lawnmarket Royal Mile Edinburgh. Which is the court yard outside the Writers' Museum. Below are the slabs that can be found in honour of the writers'. See if you can find them? All their names and inscriptions are listed. Access to Makars' Court is either from Lady Stairs' Close or Wardrop's Court in the Lawnmarket Royal Mile or from North Bank Street on the Mound across from the Bank Museum. The Makars' Slabs are to honour each Makar. A Makar was originally a reference to poets of fifteenth and sixteenth century Scotland. It now includes more recent writers. Makar Sir Walter Scott 1771-1832 Novelist and Poet Born in Edinburgh Inscription on slab THIS IS MY OWN, MY NATIVE LAND Makar Robert Louis Stevenson 1850 – 1894 Novelist, Poet and Travel writer Born in Edinburgh Inscription on slab THERE ARE NO STARS AS LOVELY AS EDINBURGH’S STREET LAMPS Makar Robert Fergusson 1750 – 1774 Poet, Born in Edinburgh Inscription on slab AULD REIKIE WALE O’ I LKA TOWN Makar Robert Burns 1759 – 1796 Poet Born in Alloway Inscription on slab MAN TO MAN THE WORLD O’ER SHALL BRITHERS BE FOR A’ THAT Makar Donnchadh Bàn Mac an t-Saoir Duncan Ban Macintyre 1724 - 1812 S e muthadh air an t-saoghal An coire laghach gaolach A dhol a-nis air faondradh A change has come upon the world That the fine, beloved corrie Should now be desolate He was a leading Gaelic poet. A granite monument dominates Glen Orchy (his birthplace) and Loch Awe. He published three editions of his poems as Orain Ghaidhealach (Gaelic Songs) in 1768, 1790 and 1804. Makar Tom Scott 1918 – 1995 Poet, Builders Labourer and Soldier, Born Partick Glasgow Inscription on slab WEIRD HOU MEN MAUN AYE BE MAKIN WAR INSTEID O THINGS THEY NEED Makar James Boswell 1740 – 1795 Laird of Auchinleck, Biographer, Advocate, Born in Edinburgh Inscription on slab I RATTLED DOWN THE HIGH STREET IN HIGH ELEVATION OF SPIRITS Makar Lachlan Mor MacMhuirich 1370 – 1478 Scottish Bard Professional Poet of a dynasty of Poets, Born in the Hebrides Inscription on slab A CHLANNA CUINN CUIMHNICHIBH CRUAS AN AM NA H-IORGHAILE Makar Helen Cruickshank 1886 – 1975 Poet and Suffragette, Born in Hillside near Montrose Inscription on slab THE SPIRIT ENDURES FOR EVER Makar Sydney Goodsir Smith 1915 – 1975 Poet, Artist, Novelist and dramatist, Born in Wellington New Zealand Inscription on slab BARDS HAE SUNG O LESSER LUVES THAN I O THEE OH MY GREAT FOLLIE AND MY GRANDERIE Makar Muriel Spark 1918 – 2006 Novelist, Born in Edinburgh Inscription on slab THE TRANSFIGURATION OF THE COMMONPLACE Makar Fionn Maccolla (AKA) Thomas Douglas Macdonald 1906 – 1975 Actual name Thomas Douglas MacDonald a Novelist, born in Montrose Inscription on slab MY BOOTS IN THE SOIL OF ALBA Makar Neil Munro 1863 – 1930 Lawyers Clerk, Journalist, writer (Hugh Foulis), Born in Inveraray Inscription on slab “AND YET, AND YET, THIS NEW ROAD WILL SOME DAY BE THE OLD ROAD, TOO” Makar Neil Miller Gunn 1891 – 1973 Novelist, Dramatists and Critic, Born in Dunbeath Inscription on slab KNOWLEDGE IS HIGH IN THE HEAD BUT THE SALMON OF WISDOM SWIMS DEEP Makar Sir David Lyndsay 1486 – 1555 Lyon King of Arms, Satirist, Poet and Diplomat, Born in Fife Inscription on slab LAIT US HAIF THE BUKIS NECESSARE TO COMMOUN WEILL Makar George MacKay Brown 1921 – 1996 Poet, Dramatist and Author, Born in Stromness, Orkney Inscription on slab IN THE FIRE OF IMAGES GLADLY I PUT MY HAND Makar Iain Crichton Smith 1928 – 1998 Poet and Novelist, Born in Glasgow in 1928 lived in Bayble Lewis from infancy Inscription on slab LET OUR THREE-VOICED COUNTRY SING IN A NEW WORLD Makar John Muir 1838 – 1914 Engineer, Naturalist, Philosopher, Writer, Botanist and Geologist, Born in Dunbar Inscription on slab I CARE TO LIVE TO ENTICE PEOPLE TO LOOK AT NATURE’S LOVELINESS Makar Douglas Young 1913 – 1973 Poet and Politician Leader of the Scottish Nationalist Party, Born in Tayport Fife Inscription on slab HE WAS EIDENT, HE WAS BLYE, IN SCOTLAND’S CAUSE Makar Nigel Tranter 1909 – 2000 Historian and Author, Accountant, Born in Glasgow Inscription on slab YOU INTEND TO BIDE HERE? CAN YOU THINK OF ANYWHERE BETTER? Makar James Allan Ford 1920 – 2009 Born in Auchtermuchty in Fife Inscription on slab SING OUT THE SILENCE FILL FOR EVER AND EVER THE EMPTINESS WRITER, SOLDIER AND SENIOR CIVIL SERVANT Makar Dorothy Dunnett 1923 – 2001 Painter, Sculptures and fiction writer, Born in Dunfermline Fife 1923 Inscription on slab WHERE ARE THE LINKS OF THE CHAIN JOINING US TO THE PAST? Makar John Buchan 1875 – 1940 Writer and Historian, first Baron Tweedsmuir of Elsfield, 15th Governor General of Canada, Born, Perth 1875 Inscription on slab WE CAN ONLY REPAY OUR DEBT TO THE PAST BY PUTTING THE FUTURE IN DEBT TO US Makar James King Annand 1908 – 1993 Poet famous for children’s poems, Principal History Teacher, Editor, born in Edinburgh Christopher Murray Grieve Inscription on slab SING IT AINCE FOR PLEISURE SING IT TWICE FOR JOY Makar James Bridle 1888 – 1951 Scottish Playwright, also a surgeon in the 1st and 2nd world wars, real name Osborne Henry Mavor, born in Glasgow Inscription on slab WHO KNOWS THE HEART OF MAN AND WHAT MOVES IN THAT DARKNESS? Makar William Dunbar 1460 – 1520 One of the greats, Poet associated with the court of James IV, and Advocate of Law, Born, circa 1880 Inscription on slab THE FESCHE IS BRUKLE THE FEND IS SLE TIMOR MORTIS CONTURBAT ME. Makar Naomi Mitchison 1897 – 1999 Novelist and Poet, Baroness, born in Edinburgh Inscription on slab GO BACK FAR ENOUGH AND ALL HUMANKIND ARE COUSINS Makar John Galt 1779 – 1839 Writer, Novelist, founded the town of Guelph in Canada, born Irvine Ayrshire 1779 Inscription on slab BIRR AND SMEDDUM Makar Violet Jacob 1863 – 1946 Novelist and Poet, born House of Dun, Montrose Inscription on slab THERE’S MUCKLE LYIN YONT THE TAY THAT’S MAIR TO ME NOR LIFE Makar Lady Culross, Elizabeth Melville 1578 – 1640 First Scots woman to have printed works “Ane Godlie Dreame” 1603, Born, Collessie near Cupar Fife Inscription on slab THOUGH TYRANTS THREAT, THOUGH LYONS RAGE AND RORE DEFY THEM ALL, AND FEARE NOT TO WIN OUT POET, Makar George Buchanan 1506 – 1582 Teacher, Poet and the person that helped Elizabeth I in the execution of Mary Queen of Scots, Born, Killearn, Stirling 1506 Inscription on slab POPULO ENIM IVS EST VT IMPERIVM CVI VELIT DEFERA Makar David Daiches 1912 – 2002 Author, Editor and authority on Scottish Literature, born in Sunderland 1912 lived his life in Edinburgh Inscription on slab BRIDGE-BUILDING IS MY VOCATION Makar Hugh MacDiarmid 1892 – 1978 Journalist, Author Poet, born Christopher Murray Grieve in Langholm, Scottish Borders 1892 Inscription on slab DRUMS IN THE WALLIGATE PIPES IN THE AIR THE WALLOPIN’ THISTLE IS ILL TO BEAR Makar Robert McLellan 1907 – 1985 Writer, Poet and Dramatist awarded O.B.E in 1978, born Clyde Valley near Lanark Inscription on slab THE POUER TO BIGG A BRAW WARLD IN HIS BRAIN CRAITUR MARKS MAN THE ONLY THAT CAN GREIT Makar Robert Garioch Sutherland 1909 – 1981 Poet, Author and School Teacher, born Robert Garioch Sutherland Inscription on slab IN SIMMER, WHAN A SORTS FOREGETHER IN EMBRO TO THE PLOY. Makar John Barbour 1320 – 1395 Poet, Archdeacon and supporter of King David II, First to write in Scots language, born in Aberdeenshire Inscription on slab FREDOME IS A NOBLE THING Makar Robert Henryson 1425 – 1490 Poet, School teacher and law Advocate, born as record show he was at University in 1462 Inscription on slab BLISSED BE SEMPILL LYFE WITHOUTIN DREID 46664 Its in our hands Nigel Mandela 90th birthday Concert Hyde Park London Makar Nan Shepherd 1893 -1891 English school teacher, Writer, Novelist and Poet, born Peter Culter on the River Dee 1893. Inscription on slab IT’S A GRAND THING TO GET LEAVE TO LIVE Makar Sorley MacLean (Somhairle MacGill-Eain) 1911 – 1996 School teacher and Poet son of a tailor, born Island of Raasay between Skye and main land Scotland Inscription on slab NAN ROBH AGAINN ALBA SHAOR ALBA CO-SHINTE RI AR GAOL Makar Gavin Douglas 1476 – 1522 Poet, Scottish Bishop and Politician, Born in Tantallon Castle East Lothian Inscription on slab MAK IT BRAID AND PLANE KEPAND NA SUDRON BOT OUR AWYN LANGAGE High Street Southside
- Edinburgh New Town North | Street Index | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh New town was built to a design of three main thoroughfares with a Garden square at each end and a number of streets crossing south to north. Queen Street being the end of the new town area. Due to over crowding more houses were built to the north which I have covered in this section. Edinburgh New Town North Historic sites Street Index Edinburgh New Town North is the housing extension north of Queen street Gardens down the hill to Inverleith To the west as far as Queensferry Street and to the East, Baxter's Place and East London Street. The main area title in yellow underlined is a link to all the streets listed in that area. Broughton Area Edinburgh New Town Picardy Place Edinburgh Greenside Place Edinburgh Baxter's Place Edinburgh Broughton Street Edinburgh Forth Street Edinburgh Albany Street Edinburgh East London Street Edinburgh Mansfield Place Edinburgh East Claremont Street Edinburgh Scotland Street Edinburgh Broughton Road Edinburgh London Street Edinburgh North East Edinburgh New Town York Place Edinburgh Drummond Place Edinburgh Great King Street Edinburgh Abercromby Place Edinburgh Nelson Street Edinburgh Dublin Street Edinburgh Heriot Row Edinburgh Northumberland Street Edinburgh Cumberland Street Edinburgh Dundas Street Edinburgh Stockbridge Area New Town North Edinburgh Royal Circus Edinburgh Inverleith Park Edinburgh Gloucester Place Edinburgh Comely Bank Edinburgh Henderson Row Edinburgh Silvermills Edinburgh Doune Terrace Edinburgh Duncansland Edinburgh North West Edinburgh New Town Forres Street Edinburgh Randolph Crescent Edinburgh Moray Place Edinburgh Albyn Place Edinburgh Ainslie Place Edinburgh James Clark Maxwell Museum India Street Edinburgh New Town Broughton Area
- James Clerk Maxwell | Museum | All About Edinburgh
James Clerk Maxwell was born in India Street Edinburgh New Town and the house he was born in has been made into a museum. India street is in the nothern extention of Edinburgh's New Town. India Street James Clerk Maxwell Museum Edinburgh James Clark Maxwell 14 India Street Edinburgh James Clark Maxwell was born in 1831 at 14 India Street Edinburgh and died in 1879. James Clerk Maxwell was one of the greatest scientists that ever lived. He was the scientist who discovered, the theory of electromagnetism. He is named as the father of modern physics. He also made essential contributions to mathematics, astronomy and engineering. Radio, television, radar and communications, all derive from Maxwell's discovery. Albert Einstein said: "The special theory of relativity owes its origins to Maxwell's equations of the electromagnetic field”. Ivan Tolstoy, in his biography of Maxwell, wrote: “Maxwell's importance in the history of scientific thought is comparable to Einstein’s (whom he inspired)”. James Clerk Maxwell Stone Tablet Stone carved inscription on wall Tablet of James Clerk Maxwell's birth House, India Street Edinburgh. Inscription reads; James Clerk Maxwell Natural Philosopher born here 13 June 1831 Maxwell Statue George Street Edinburgh James Clerk Maxwell Museum Brass Plaque at door of house James Clerk Maxwell was born in Edinburgh. The inscription reads; Many of today's major technological advances are due to James Clerk Maxwell who created the first full-colour photographic image and developed the theory of electromagnetic waves which made mobile phones, radio, radar and GPS all possible He is commemorated by a statue on George Square and a small museum here at his birthplace. One scientific epoch ended and another began with Maxwell - Albert Einstein Edinburgh New Town West
- Fenton Barns Village | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Fenton Barns Attractions East Lothian Fenton Barns is a family working farm, with a retail village. There are many commercial outlets which include a farm shop and cafe. The shop has many locally produced goods, with the cafe providing great meals and snacks. There is also a mixture of small local businesses. There are rental units of all sizes available to rent for small businesses or workshops. Fenton Barns is surrounded in history. With castles, museums many other villages and towns all close by. If out for the day exploring by foot bike or car Fenton Barns is a great rest spot for food drink and retail therapy. Places close by include Gullane, Dirleton, Drem East Fortune and Athelstaneford. Fenton Tower Kingston East Lothian Fenton Tower derives its name from the lands it stands on lands of ‘Fentoun’. “During the reign of King David I of Scots (1124-1153).The present Fenton Tower was built circa 1575 by the Carmichael family who were the land owners at the time. Built with protect in mind as it is positioned to see in all directions. In 1591 King James VI of Scotland took refuge here. With the coming of Cromwell in 1650, Fenton Tower was attacked and left in ruins as many castles were. It remained unused until it was purchased in 1998 and the owners rebuilt the tower to its former glory to historic specifications. Next - Garvald
- Garvald Village | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Garvald Attractions East Lothian Garvald Village Garvald village is in a valley beside the Papana Water. This picture postcard village built almost entirely from red sandstone dates back to the early 12th century. Walk around the village and take in the scenery. The church and grounds are worth the visit. The School and school house built circa 1840 can be still seen in the village (now private residence). Garvald and Barra Parish Church Gavald Kirk was built early 12th century and the north-west corner of the church is original. There is a sundial date 1633 and the north aisle is circa 1670. The Kirk was renovated and extended in 1829 adding Gothic windows and a Belfry Stoneypath Tower East Lothian Stoneypath Tower built circa 1350 by the Lyles family prior to moving to Duchal Castle, stands over the Paple water on the outskirts of Garvald and Whittingehame. George Lyle occupant of Stoneypath circa 1460. Stoneypath was the ancient seat of the Lyle family circa 1460. The Tower passed from the Lyle family to the Douglas family, the most powerful family in Scotland. It was attacked on several occasions and also changed hands through many of the most prominent families in Scotland including the Hamilton’s and Seton family. The Tower has stood in ruin for over 200 years and after many years has been restored to its former glory. The plaque tells more of the history. Next - Gifford Village
- Edinburgh Photo Studio Activities | Information | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh Photo Studio Activities professional photographs taken groups family hen or stag party momento a be a model Edinburgh Photographers Photo Shoot Activities Photo Studios in Edinburgh that take great family portraits, special occasions, fashion shoots, group photos or a photo shoot Experience be a model for the day Advertise your business Here Advertise your business Here Nicola Bald Photography Photo Shoot 159-161 Dalry Road Edinburgh EH11 2EB 0131 510 1105 Tamara Photography Studios Photo Shoot 32 Bernard Street Edinburgh EH6 6PR 0131 281 7823 Meow Photo Studio Mohuddin Centre 123 Great Junction Street Edinburgh EH6 5JB 0131 555 1116 Fotkaplus Photography Photo Shoot 11 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3AH 0131 210 0145 Venture Photography Photo Shoot 17 Earlston Place Edinburgh EH7 5SU 0131 652 8130 A-Fotografy Photography Photo Shoot 151 London Road Edinburgh EH7 6AE 07850209999
- Ormiston Village | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Ormiston Attractions East Lothian The village of Ormiston was founded by John Cockburn in 1735 a main principal in the Agricultural Revolution. Ormiston Hall Ormiston Hall was built for John Cockburn and opened in 1748 and was the main Mansion House of the area. The hall was in ruins after a fire and very little remains next to where the hall stood is the remains of St Giles Parish Church built before the reformation circa 1230 close 1690 and the main church was demolished in 1730. Cockburn Halls Ormiston East Lothian Cockburn Halls are modern multi used shop and office spaces built circa 1930. In the centre at the front door is the Ormiston War Memorial. John Cockburn Cockburn Hall Ormiston East Lothian John Cockburn was born in 1695 in Ormiston and followed his father into politics and became a supporter of union with England. In 1707 on the Union, John became the MP for Haddingtonshire which he maintained until 1741. In 1714 John inherited his family estate in Ormiston East Lothian. John Cockburn initialised the changing of agriculture in Scotland when he change the old system and built farm steadings on large areas of sectioned land. The new deal gave tenants long lease, which were transferable to three generations so the family would benefited from the work they carried out on the land. Circa 1720 John decided to build a brewery and distillery in Ormiston due to the now large harvests. He then built Ormiston Village (1735) to a new town structure using a feuing of the lands. He also introduced the first bleachfield where cotton and linen would be laid out in fields to be bleached by the sun. East Lothian owes its reputation as the garden of Scotland to John Cockburn his success came at a price he died in debt after selling Ormiston to the Earl of Hopetoun in 1747, 10 years prior to his death. Mercat Cross Ormiston East Lothian The cross that stands in the centre of Ormiston Main street is the style of a 15th century cross. The cross not original used as a market cross it may have come from the old pre reformation church no documentation can be found on its origins. Robert Moffat Memorial Obelisk Ormiston East Lothian Robert Moffat was born in 1795 in Ormiston, East Lothian. He became a missionary in Africa and In 1823 he settled in is new home Kuruman where he lived for 49 years. He met with Livingstone in 1840 and persuaded him to come to Africa and the rest is history. The Rev. Robert Moffat D.D laid this stone on 9th June 1877 at the Livingstone Medical Missionary in the Cowgate Edinburgh. The memorial obelisk stands at the entrance to Moffat Village in East Lothian to his life as a missionary and the his life's' work "Among missionaries there was none Greater, none holier than he". Charles Maclaren Ormiston East Lothian Charles Maclaren was born on 7 October 1782 in Ormiston East Lothian he was a Scottish journalist and geologist. He co-founded The Scotsman newspaper. In 1822 Maclaren was the first person to successfully identify the correct position of the lost city of Troy. He died at his home in the Grange Edinburgh, 10 September 1866. Ormiston War Memorial Ormiston East Lothian Ormiston War memorial stands outside the Cockburn Halls. A bronze nude figure of a male standing with arms out wide. The bronze plaques, centre; 1st World War inscription panel reads; In honour and everlasting memory of the men of the parish of Ormiston who gave their lives for god and country in the Great War 1914-1918. The additional two panels one right and the other on the left are to the fallen in World War II 1936-1945. Great Yew Tree Ormiston East Lothian Ormiston has the said to be oldest layering yew-tree in Britain at over 1000 years old. Polish War Memorial Ormiston Woods This seems to be a sign to show the Polish army were stationed in Ormiston The inscription of a Polish Eagle and Scottish Lion Rampant (The emblem of HQ Polish Forces in Great Britain) are visible however the weather has worn all other inscriptions away over the years. see http://www.polishforcesinbritain.info/PolonicaOrmiston.htm for more info OUTLINE OF THE POLISH ARMY IN ORMISTON AND IMMEDIATE AREA Thanks to Roy Baines for the for the information that it was a Polish war memorial. Next - Pencaitland
- Calton Hill | Free Walking Tour | All About Edinburgh
Free Walking Tour from Tron Kirk around Calton Hill and back to the high street. This is the way to see Edinburgh on free All About Edinburgh Walking Tours. Calton Hill Walking Tour Calton Hill Sumit Climb the steps and short path to the top of Calton Hill from Waterloo Place and you will see views of Scotland for up to 100 miles on a clear day. To the east, west and north you can see the River Forth and the famous red Forth Rail Bridge and the many islands in the Firth of Forth. This includes the Bass Rock, named by David Attenborough as 'one of the 12 wildlife wonders of the world'. To the east Berwick Law, a 613-foot (187 m) volcanic hill (which is worth a climb). Looking over to Arthur Seat and Salisbury Crags below you can see Holyrood Abbey, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building and Our Dynamic Earth. Just over the road you can see the memorial to Robert Burns and an enormous obelisk which remembers the political martyrs of 1793, who were banished for sedition and lived the remainder of their lives in Australia. The Nelson Monument (built in 1807) in the form of an upturned telescope can be climbed by the 143 spiral stairs to the top. It is well worth the climb just for the view. Edinburgh’s National Monument referred to as "The Athens of the North" (a replica of the Parthenon), the unfinished monument is to commemorate victims of the Napoleonic Wars. The project was started in 1826 and, as you can see, is still not finished. Calton Hill Walking Tour The route of the tour takes you from Tron Kirk in the High Street to Worlds End where the gates to Edinburgh once stood. On the way you will see Old Graveyard with a famous statue of Abraham Lincoln. Climb Calton Hill where there are amazing views of the city, Arthur Seat, Fife Coast, East Lothian Coast and the Palace of Holyroodhouse. Going down Jacob's Ladder to the Canongate and High Street where the tour Ends at the World's End. Calton Hill Sumit Climb the steps and short path to the top of Calton Hill from Waterloo Place and you will see views of Scotland for up to 100 miles on a clear day. To the east, west and north you can see the River Forth and the famous red Forth Rail Bridge and the many islands in the Firth of Forth. This includes the Bass Rock, named by David Attenborough as 'one of the 12 wildlife wonders of the world'. To the east Berwick Law, a 613-foot (187 m) volcanic hill (which is worth a climb). Looking over to Arthur Seat and Salisbury Crags below you can see Holyrood Abbey, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building and Our Dynamic Earth. Just over the road you can see the memorial to Robert Burns and an enormous obelisk which remembers the political martyrs of 1793, who were banished for sedition and lived the remainder of their lives in Australia. The Nelson Monument (built in 1807) in the form of an upturned telescope can be climbed by the 143 spiral stairs to the top. It is well worth the climb just for the view. Edinburgh’s National Monument referred to as "The Athens of the North" (a replica of the Parthenon), the unfinished monument is to commemorate victims of the Napoleonic Wars. The project was started in 1826 and, as you can see, is still not finished. Blair Street Blair Street was formed when the South Bridge was being built in 1768. To give access to the Cowgate from the High Street, at that time Marlin’s Wynd and Pebble's Wynd were demolished in 1785 with the west side of Niddry Street. Blair Street as Hunter Square was named after Lord Provost Sir James Hunter Blair. Marlin’s (Merlyoune) Wynd Marlin’s Wynd is below the level of the present streets as Mary King’s Close is. Marlin’s Wynd was to the west of the Tron Kirk and ran down to the Cowgate. Named after John Merlyoune (Marlin), who was in charge of paving the High Street. He requested in memory of his work that he would be buried underneath the paving stones. He was buried at the head of the Wynd (which was named after him) by paving stones in the shape of a grave. Other writings mention that the High Street was paved in 1532 by two brothers John and Bartoulme Foliot. Also a John Merlyoune was first to pave Marlin's Wynd 1542. Hunter Square Sir Chris Hoy Gold Mail Box Sir Chris Hoy MBE, won his first Olympic gold medal in 2004. He won 3 Olympic gold medals in Beijing and was knighted by the queen in 2009. In the London Olympics of 2012 all British gold medal winners also received a post box painted gold in their home city/town. Sir Chris Hoy won 2 gold medals and there are 2 post boxes in Edinburgh one in Hunter Square of the Royal Mile and the other in Hanover Street across from the Art Galleries at the foot of The Mound. Chris Hoy is Scotland’s most successful Olympian. Sir Chris Hoy was educated at George Watson and Edinburgh University. With 6 Olympic gold medals and 11 world championships he is most definitely a world sports superstar. Tron Kirk Looking from the North Bridge and down the High Street during the Edinburgh Festival in August with the Tron Kirk in the distance. The Tron kirk was founded by King Charles I as the congregation at St Giles require a church due to St Giles now being a cathedral. The Tron Kirk was built circa 1644. Due to the Great fires in 1824 the Tron’s Steeple was burnt down and rebuilt in 1824 The Tron was closed as a church in 1952. The area beside the Tron was the original place for bringing in the bells (celebrating the changing of the old year to new). The Inscription on the wall tablet tells of the spire being burnt and rebuilt. North Bridge Edinburgh Connecting Old with New The Original North Bridge was founded in 1763, opening in 1772 to link the Edinburgh Old Town with the New Town. Due to the high volume of people and transport that used the bridge it was widened in 1876, it was then demolished in 1894 to make way for the present North Bridge which was opened in 1897. The main rail lines run underneath the bridge. At the foot of the bridge is the Balmoral Hotel and Princes Street and at the top are the Scotsman and Carlton Hotels and the famous Royal Mile. North Bridge Arcade The North Bridge Arcade opened in 1900 as part of the larger development that integrated the North Bridge with the Scotsman building rare surviving example of a Victorian covered arcade in Scotland, Fictional Figure above the North Bridge entrance to the Arcade, attributed to William Birnie Rhind, is located above the arcade entrance. Figure of Peace : A statue representing "Peace" sits in an aedicule on the north elevation, crafted by Frederick Schenck. There are also statues of the Roman god Mercury as part of the arcade's decorative scheme. Night and Day: These figures, based on Michelangelo's famous sculptures, were created by Joseph Hayes Scotsman Steps The Scotsman Steps is a covered ornate pedestrian staircase for quick access to Waverley Station from the North Bridge. Named after the Scotsman buiding as it was next to the Scotsmans front doors. Built as a public staircase. It opened in 1902. Scotsman Building Built for the Scotsman Newspaper and opened in 1904 as the headquarters for The Scotsman newspaper, with printing presses and news offices. Previously in a purpose built building in Cockburn Street built in 1860. BRONZE PLAQUE ILLUSTRATION OLD NORTH BRIDGE FOUNDATION STONE NORTH BRIDGE BRONZE PLAQUE The King’s Own Scottish Borderers Memorial Monument On the 19th March 1689 David Leslie Earl of Leven gathered a regiment of soldiers within two hours to defend the City of Edinburgh. For Leven’s regiment’s gallantry in defending Edinburgh and later at the Battle of Killiecrankie with a resounding victory for the Jacobite’s lead by James VII of Scotland and II of England, the magistrates of Edinburgh gave the unique right of recruiting by the beat of the drum, marching through the Edinburgh streets with drums beating and flags flying and bayonets fixed. The regiment was later named The King’s Own Scottish Borderers. It is now part of the Royal Regiment of Scotland. The North British Station Hotel (Balmoral Hotel) The North British Station Hotel (The Balmoral) opened for Business in 1902 built on the site of 2 previous hotels The Crown and Royal Eagle opening around 1811 and is positioned next to the Waverley Station between Waverley Bridge and the North Bridge, which gives direct access to Edinburgh’s old town, The Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and The Palace of Holyrood House (Holyrood Palace). Directly behind the hotel is Calton Hill. The Hotel is at the east end of Princes Street, one of the most famous and picturesque streets in the world. The clock has historically been set 5 minutes fast giving rail travellers the illusion that they are late for their train. The site it stands on is where the first ever hotel in Edinburgh stood. James Young Simpson Duncan Flockhart & Co Plaque operated a pharmacy from a position at the foot of the North Bridge on part of the site now occupied by the Balmoral Hotel. Duncan Flockhart was to make the chloroform that James Young Simpson would use on his successful experiments on pain relief in 1847 which changed the way medical operations would be carried out. The plaque shows where the pharmacy was sited in 1847. Multrees Hill The Street's name Multrees Walk is derived from the family Montrays who lived here in the reign James V. The hill taking its name from the family. The hill was on the highest point before Calton hill and was used for hangings and displaying the dead on poles as a deterant to others. Later the area of Multrees Hill, was developed into a small village of workshops prior to the new town and North Bridge being Built. Lang Dykes From Multrees Hill on the east to Kirkbraehead (Rutland Square) on the west. This road was called the ' Lang gait,' or 'Lang dykes,' a country road walled on either side with farm lands on the north side. The main road from east to west now replaced by the New Town. The road now where Rose Street is. Register House Princes Street Edinburgh Register House can be found at the foot of North Bridge Edinburgh built on Multrees Hill. Named after It was opened in the 1790 and New Register House on the west side of the building in West Register Street was completed in the 1858. The buildings were built to store records of registry (births, deaths and marriages) and is also where the Tartan registry is now housed. Directly outside Register House can be found the Duke of Wellington’s statue which was erected in 1852 in memory of the Battle of Waterloo. Waterloo Place leading to the Calton Hill is also named in memory of the Battle of Waterloo which took place in 1815. Duke of Wellington Statue Princes Street Edinburgh Directly outside Register House can be found the Duke of Wellington’s statue which was erected in 1852 in memory of the Battle of Waterloo. Waterloo Place leading to the Calton Hill is also named in memory of the Battle of Waterloo which took place in 1815. The name of the horse erected in 1852. The Horse was called Copenhagen. Ritchie Clock Edinburgh Circle The clock that can be found on the west side of the Wellington Statue is a clock that was part of the “Edinburgh Circle” a number of electronic clocks placed around the city by Frederick James Ritchie to give the correct time to Edinburgh’s residents. General Post Office Building General Post Office in Edinburgh was built on the site of the Theatre Royal which opened in 1769 and closed in 1859 The area being Shakespeare Square at the east side of the North Bridge. The foundation stone was laid by Prince Albert in October 1861, and the building opened in May 1866. It closed as the Post Office in 1995. Robert Stevenson A case where a famous grandfather had an even more famous grandson. Robert Stevenson was a Scottish civil engineer and a specialist in lighthouse design. During his career he designed and oversaw construction of 18 lighthouses. His sons David and Thomas were also designers of Lighthouses Fidra Lighthouse and the Bass Rock Lighthouse were both designed by the Stevenson's. Robert Stevenson's bust in 1 Baxter Place Edinburgh where he lived in Edinburgh. An apt tribute to a great man, 'thanks to Courtyard by Marriott for the tribute'. The Regent Bridge The Regent Bridge Waterloo Place Edinburgh Building started in 1815 and opened on the 18th August 1819. Robert Stevenson built the Regent Bridge in Waterloo Place which was completed to give access from Leith to Princes Street and the New Town. The bridge spanned what was Leith Wynd a road from the Canongate to Leith. The route the Coaches to London would take before the Regent Bridge was built. Old Calton Graveyard The larger part of the graveyard lies to the south of Waterloo Place and includes a number of interesting memorials. An enormous obelisk by Thomas Hamilton (1784 - 1858) is of the memorial to the political martyrs of 1793, who were transported to Australia because of their incitement to rebellion. The classical monument to philosopher David Hume (1711-76) was built in 1777 by Robert Adam (1728-92) and the Emancipation Monument (1893), comprising a bronze of Abraham Lincoln with a grateful free slave, remembering the Scottish soldiers who fought in the American Civil War (1861-5). Other residents include painter David Allan (1744-96), Robert Burn (1752 - 1815), who built the Nelson Monument on Calton Hill and was the father of architect William Burn (1789 - 1870), publisher Archibald Constable (1774 - 1827) and sculptor Sir John Steel (1804-91). OLD CALTON GRAVEYARD GATES THE MARTYR’S OBELISK In 1793 members of the Friends of the People, a universal suffrage movement, were brought to trial and deported to Australia. They were charged with treason for attempting to correspond with the French. Their true crime in the eyes of the judges was, they wanted voting rights for all. The men became known as the Chartist Martyrs. Thomas Muir of Hunter’s Hill was their leading figure, and he, along with four others who followed him, were banished to Botany Bay in Australia on 30 August 1793. The men went on to become prosperous citizens in Australia. THOMAS MUIR, THOMAS FYSHE PALMER, WILLIAM SKIRVING MAURICE MARCAROT and JOSEPH GERRALD. The Obelisk memorial was erected in 1844 across from Calton Hill. John and James Playfair James and John Playfair memorial Old Calton Burial Ground Edinburgh. John Playfair was a minister of the Church of Scotland. He was also a professor of natural philosophy at the University of Edinburgh. Furthermore he was also an Astronomer Geologist and mathematician. His brother James was a Scottish Architect. They were both uncles to William Henry Playfair who similarly to James, possibly became Scotland’s greatest Architect. Both buried in Old Calton Burial Ground. Thomas Hamilton (1784 – 1858) Thomas Hamilton Architect and Builder from Glasgow had his main business in Edinburgh. He was certainly the leading Greek Revivalists in Scotland of Enlightenment Architecture. Most noteworthy places he was attributed to in Edinburgh are the the Royal High School, Royal College of Physicians, George IV Bridge, Dean Gallery and the Martyrs’ Obelisk all designed by Thomas Hamilton. Finally he was buried in the Old Calton Burial Ground. Robert Burn Robert Burn was a very prominent builder and Architect in Edinburgh and father of William Burn also to become an architect (possibly one of the great Architects of Britain). Born in 1752 at Jessfield, North Leith. Later he was to own the estate of Jessfield North Leith. A master Mason by trade and Burgess of Edinburgh. Father of 16 children his wife erected a Gothic tomb in his honour in the Old Calton Burial Ground in 1816 where he is buried. DAVID HUME'S TOMB David Hume was born on the 26 April 1711 in Edinburgh was a Scottish philosopher and historian He was one of the most important figures in the history of Western philosophy and the Scottish Enlightenment. David Hume attended the University of Edinburgh. Hume achieved great literary fame as a historian publishing The History of England. David Hume lived from 1771 until his death in 1776 at his home in St. Andrew Square in Edinburgh's New Town. The actual site of his home is 21 St David Street. There are two thoughts on how St David Street was named 1st after King David I and the other after David Hume. ABRAHAM LINCOLN CIVIL WAR MEMORIAL An important part of the graveyard, beside Hume’s tomb, stands Abraham Lincoln. The memorial was erected in 1893. It depicts a standing figure of Abraham Lincoln, with a freed slave giving thanks at his feet. A bronze shield bears the old US flag, and is wreathed in thistles to the left, and cotton to the right. Two regimental flags lay furled, the battle being over. A man holds a book, indicating that he is not only free, he is also now educated. This was the first statue to an American President in any country out with the USA. It is the only statue of Lincoln in Scotland, and the only monument to the American Civil War out with the USA. The monument was erected at American expense and dedicated to a small group of Scots, only one of whom, William Duff, is buried under the monument, the rest are nearby. Lincoln felt indebted, and wished their graves to be marked. They had all fought for the Union (the North) in the American Civil War. The inscription, "To preserve the jewel of liberty in the framework of Freedom" is a quotation from the writings of Abraham Lincoln. Those interred and honoured; Sergeant Major John McEwan, Company H 65th Regiment Illinois Infantry William L Duff, Lt Col 2nd Illinois Regiment of Artillery Robert Steedman, Company E 5th Regiment Maine Infantry Volunteers James Wilkie, Company C 1st Michigan Cavalry Robert Ferguson Company F 57th Regiment New York Infantry Volunteers Alexander Smith Company G 66th Regiment New York Infantry Volunteers Daniel Stewart Daniel Stewart born in Logierait, Killin, Perthshire in 1741. As a wig-maker he served his employer for many years and on his death his employer left a sum of money to Daniel which he invested in property as a result became a wealthy merchant. He was also appointed master of the Exchequer in Edinburgh. Daniel never married. Therefore he left his money to the Merchant Company of Edinburgh to fund a Hospital (school) for orphan and destitute boys. Daniel Stewart died in 1814 and is buried in Old Calton Burial ground. Stewart’s Melville College is certainly Edinburgh’s best independent Day and Boarding School for boys aged 12 – 18 in Edinburgh. Archibald Constable Archibald Constable was born in Fife Scotland in 1774. Firstly in 1788 on moving to Edinburgh he became an apprentice book seller. Starting his own business in 1795 dealing in rare books he quickly became well thought of and became publisher of the Edinburgh Review and also purchased the Scots Magazine in 1801. They certainly being two of the most popular of their time. He lived in South Leith 3 Park Place and died on 21 July 1827 age 52. He is buried in Old Calton Burial Ground Edinburgh. The Three Tenors At the right of the steps a bronze memorial plaque to the original 3 Tennors. They were at the time the most famous Singers in the world. David Kennedy a world renowned Scottish tenor born in Perth 1825 and died at the age of 61. John Wilson was a singer born in Edinburgh in 1800 and sang in front of Queen Victoria and in Covent Garden and Drury Lane he died in Quebec at age 49. John Templeton was the greatest musical artist of his time. Traveling the world he was a tenor opera singer born in Riccarton Kilmarnock 1802 and died age 84. Saint-Volodymyr Plaque Volodymyr was born circa 960, Volodymyr meaning peaceful ruler. On 11 July 978 become the “sole ruler” of the Kyiv realm. Few names in the annals of history can compare in significance with the name of holy Equal-to-the-Apostles 'Volodymyr, the Baptiser of Rus’, who stands forever at the onset of the foreordained spiritual destiny of the Russian Church and the Russian Orthodox people. Rock House Calton Hill Rock House was originally built circa 1750 and was where David Octavius Hill and Robert Adamson circa 1840 had an art and photographic studio. They were first to be recognised for photography as an art form. David Octavius Hill and Robert Adamson used the calotype process which was invented by William Henry Fox Talbot in 1840. The image of Hill and Adamson could be classed as the first ever selfie. Rock House was were Robert Adamson(right) and David Octavius Hill (left) lived. The Inscription on plaque reads; Rock House | The Studio of the | pioneer photographers | Robert Adamson and | David Octavius Hill | 1843 – 1847 Calton-Hill The-Way-up The way to the top is from Waterloo Place opposite St Andrew’s House. THE PORTUGUESE CANNON CALTON HILL EDINBURGH The Portuguese cannon was made in the 1400s of brass and has travelled all over the world. On the barrel can be seen the Spanish Royal Coat of Arms. In 1886 it was presented to Edinburgh and has stood on Calton Hill since 1887. The National Monument The National Monument was modelled upon the Parthenon in Athens one of the reasons that Edinburgh is known as the Athens of the North. Construction started in 1826 and, due to the lack of funds, was left unfinished. The monument has the nickname of, "Edinburgh's Disgrace", another reason Edinburgh is known as the Athens of the North is that the buildings of the new town were built of white sand stone which resembled marble DUGALD STEWART FRSE FRS CALTON HILL Dugald Stewart (1753 – 1828) was a Scottish Enlightenment Philosopher and mathematician. Born in Edinburgh in 1753, educated at the Royal High School, Edinburgh University and Oxford University. He died in 1828 and is buried in the Canongate Kirk graveyard. CITY OBSERVATORY The First Observatory in Edinburgh was founded in 1776 on Calton Hill by Thomas Short and was demolished in 1850 and moved to Castle Hill, the building where the Camera Obscura is now. The Gothic Tower was used for several years as the site of a new observatory before the City Observatory was built in 1818. In 1822 it became the Royal Observatory and moved to Blackford Hill in 1896 where it still stands. It has been a world leader in astronomy from then to this day. THE GOTHIC TOWER The Gothic Tower, the original Observatory House built 1776 design of James Craig. This was to be the first observatory with a camera obscura and a transit telescope for astronomical observations is a building of Architectural and Cultural Significance. NELSON MONUMENT The Nelson Monument is dedicated to Admiral Lord Horatio Nelson who died at the Battle of Trafalgar in 1805. The foundation stone was laid on 21 October 1807 and the monument was completed in 1816. The monument is shaped like an upside down telescope. It is linked with the One O’clock Gun at Edinburgh Castle. Professor Charles Piazzi Smyth, the second Astronomer Royal for Scotland was first to have the idea of the time ball. He had it installed on a mast on Nelson Monument in 1853. The ball on the mast rises every day at 5 minutes before 1p.m. (13.00hrs) not on Sunday. THE TIME BALL CALTON HILL EDINBURGH The Time Ball on the mast of Nelson’s monument was originally a visual aid for the sailors in the Leith port and the Firth of Forth to set their chronometers by. Later due to the regular bad weather in Edinburgh it was decided that an audio aid would also be required and the Time Ball was attached to a steel cable over 4000 feet long and 240 feet in the air in 1861, which was attached to a clock in the Edinburgh Castle which set the gun to fire from the half-moon battery, is still synchronised with the One O’clock Gun to this day. The ball will rise up the mast just before 13.00 hours and at one o’clock will return to the foot of the mast as the gun on the castle ramparts will be fired. Frederick James Ritchie clock maker of the One O’clock Gun lived at 6 Brunton Place at the foot of the Calton Hill. Inscriptions: Above main door on the Stone tablet reads: TO THE MEMORY OF VICE ADMIRAL HORATIO LORD VISCOUNT NELSON, AND OF THE GREAT VICTORY OF TRAFALGAR | TOO DEARLY PURCHASED WITH HIS BLOOD | THE GRATEFUL CITIZENS OF EDINBURGH HAVE ERECTED THIS MONUMENT | NOT TO EXPRESS THEIR UNAVAILING SORROW FOR HIS DEATH | NOR YET TO CELEBRATE THE MATCHLESS GLORIES OF HIS LIFE | BUT BY HIS NOBLE EXAMPLE, TO TEACH THEIR SONS | TO EMULATE WHAT THEY ADMIRE, AND, LIKE HIM | WHEN DUTY REQUIRES IT, TO DIE FOR THEIR COUNTRY. Calton Hill Stone Cairn The stone in the photograph below has been erected on this spot to indicate the highest point of Calton Hill. A tradition in Scotland, was to carry a stone from the foot of a hill / mountain and when at the summit. As many reached the summit a pile of stones formed as a Cairn signifying the top. Democracy Cairn The Cairn on Calton Hill is positioned when looking to the coast the Scottish Parliament building is to the right and when looking west the National Monument stand behind it. The Cairn has six plaques which are attached to stones from places of importance. The Cairn was unveiled on 10 April 1998. On top of the cairn stands a brazier including four sets of medallions, three to each side. On the top the dove of peace, centre Knight on horseback foot, a three-pronged abstract. On the other sides are; Two open hands, Bird on twig, A plaque with writing | Section of the World, Viking Ship, Ancient Celtic Cross. | Nuclear Family, Celtic Design, Crescent Moon with Compass Heading 2 Democracy Cairn Vigil Cairn Plaque The Cairn plaque reads: This cairn was built by the keepers of the Vigil for a Scottish Parliament. The Vigil was kept at the foot of this road. It began on the night of the 10th April 1992 as news broke of the fourth Consecutive Conservative General Election victory. It ended 1980 days later. The previous day, 11th September 1997, Scotland voted "Yes, Yes" for her own Parliament. Erected by Democracy for Scotland, 10th April 1998 Auschwitz Haining Plaque THIS STONE FROM AUSCHWITZ IS IN MEMORY OF JANE HAINING SCOTTISH MISSIONARY AND ALL OTHERS WHO DIED IN THE DEATH CAMP Hugh MacDiarmid Plaque FOR WE HA'E FAITH IN SCOTLAND'S HIDDEN POO'ERS. THE PRESENT'S THEIRS BUT A' THE PAST AND FUTURE'S OORS. HUGH MACDIARMID Paris-Auld-Alliance-Plaque PAVING STONE FROM PARIS USED FOR DEFENDING DEMOCRACY DONATED TO THE PEOPLE OF SCOTLANDN BY SUPPORTERS IN PARIS TO COMMEMORATE THE AULD ALLIANCE Robert Burns Plaque THIS STANE WAS TAEN FRAE THE MAUCHLIN HAME O ROBERT BURNS AND JEAN ARMOUR DURIN THE RENOVATION IN 1966 THE BICENTENARY O THE POETS DAITH "THE RANK IS BUT THE GUINEA'S STAMP THE MAN'S THE GOWD FOR A THAT." Destiny Marches Plaque DESTINY MARCHES 1993 LOCHMABEN THIS STONE FROM BRUCE'S CASTLE REPRESENTS AN EARLIER STRUGGLE FOR SELF-DETERMINATION BY THE PEOPLE OF SCOTLAND THE GOVERNOR'S HOUSE The Governor's House was built in 1817 in the centre of the picture above is a castellated structure situated next to the Old Calton Graveyard on the left. The Governor's House was in the ideal position to keep a watchful eye on the jail which was to the right of the picture. The Calton jail being just in front of the Governor’s House on Regent Road at the time the largest prison in Scotland. The site is now St Andrews House government offices. Part of the wall of the jail is still standing and can be seen far right of picture. Old Calton Jail | St Andrew’s House Regent Road starts at the Old Calton Jail opened in 1817 and was demolished in 1930. Remains of the jail that can still be seen are the door to the death cell, which can be found in the Beehive Inn in the Grassmarket and part of the perimeter wall which is still visible. The best view of the wall is from Jeffrey Street Edinburgh just of the Royal Mile. The Building that is now on the site is St Andrew’s House (The Scottish Office) Government Building. St Andrew’s House The Scottish Office was opened in 1939, however the Royal opening of the building was delayed due to the start of World War II. The ceremony took place in 1940. The carved tablet above the doors of St Andrew’s House, A shield between unicorn on left and lion rampant on right. Unicorn holds a staff with the Scottish saltire flag and the lion holds a staff with English St George’s Cross. The Pillars that stand at each side of the entrance have a band carved with, Thistles of Scotland, Shamrocks of Ireland and Roses of England each of the nation’s emblems. Statues on St Andrews House The statues that stand high across the outside of the front building donate six industries that the Government departments look after; Agriculture, Fisheries, Education, Architecture, Health and Craft. Old Royal High School The Royal High School Building temporary housed Parliament while the present Parliament building was under construction. The original site of the school was at Holyrood Abbey in 1128 and is said to have been the oldest school in the world. Iwas for a short time in Cardinal Beaton’s Palace before iIt moved to the Blackfriars Monastery in 1578 which was at the foot of Infirmary Street, also known as High School Yards and then to Regent Road. John Campbell, Viscount Glenorchy Grand Master Mason for Scotland laid the foundation Stone on the 28th July 1825 for the new Royal High School building on Calton Hill. The New High School Building officially open on 23 June in 1829. The building is 400ft in length and is modelled on the Doric temple dedicated to Hephaestus (god of fire and metalworking) in Athens. It is the finest Greek revival building in the UK. The High School moved premises to a modern campus in 1968 near Cramond. The High School and the University of Edinburgh were the main places of learning and were known worldwide. Robert Burns Memorial Robert Burns was born on Monday 25 January 1759 and died on Thursday 21st July 1796. The Robert Burns Memorial can be found opposite the Royal High School in Regent Road. Robert Burns died at the age of 37 and is the nation’s most famous poet. He was inspired by Robert Fergusson, at the time the royal poet. Fergusson’s statue stands outside the Canongate Kirk gates. Burn’s Memorial was built in 1831 and erected in 1839 to house a marble statue of Robert Burns. The statue is now in the National Portrait Gallery in Queen Street. Arthur Seat Attractions Arthur Seat in Gaelic was originally pronounced ARD- NA –SAID. It was a volcano that has shaped the land of Edinburgh for over 1000 years. Arthur Seat rises above the city to a height of 822 feet and provides excellent panoramic views of the city. It is a favourite place for visitors to climb as it is relatively easy to climb and is popular for hill walking. You can climb Arthur Seat from almost any direction. The easiest is from the east. Enter at Duddingston gates where there are steps for the first part then a grassy slope rises above Dunsapie Loch to the summit. The Radical Road is a footpath which will take you along the top of the slope immediately under Salisbury Crags which has long been a popular walk, giving a view over the city. It became known as the Radical Road after it was paved in the aftermath of the Radical War of 1820. The beacon was erected at the top of the hill in 1688. Arthur’s Seat also has a particular significance to the history of the Church of the Latter-Day Saints as this is where the nation of Scotland was dedicated in 1840 for the preaching of the gospel. The apostle Orson Pratt of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (The Mormons) arrived in Scotland in early 1840 and climbed the hill to pray to god for more converts. There is a road that runs around the hill and you can see the three lochs. Jacob’s Ladder Jacob’s Ladder is a short cut between the Royal Mile and Calton Hill. Jacob's Ladder is a staircase and path that leads from Calton Road at the foot of New Street up the hill to Regent Road, a direct route from the Canongate to Calton Hill. The steps are next to Burns memorial and there are further steps to the top of Calton hill on the far side of Regent Road Edinburgh. New Street New Street or Young Street as it was first named after Dr Thomas Young who owned the Land. The access at the Canongate was private with chains and locks to prevent unwanted visitors to the street. David Dalrymple 1726-1792, (Lord Hailes) a prominent Scottish judge resided in a house he built at 23 New Street in Edinburgh around 1780, his main residence was in Musselburgh. Several other figures of the Scottish Enlightenment also lived in New Street as the Canongate was a popular place with the wealthy gents of the time.. In 1786 it was deemed a public street but was still chained until 1819 when the chains were taken away and access was available to all from the Canongate to Back of the Canongate North or now Calton Road. At the foot of New Street is a Doorway (Jacob’s ladder) to steps that will take you to Regent Road close to the Burns Memorial and the Calton Hill. New Street Primary School where a the mansion of David Dalrymple (Lord Hailes). East Market Street East Market Street in Edinburgh was a connecting road to the Waverley Station with garages that were unused. Now it is a thriving area with cafes boutique shops and great views of Calton Hill. Market Street the best entrance to Waverley Station and well positioned hotels. Edinburgh Council HQ Council headquarters. The sculpture of a man in a white shirt and black trousers standing on a multi-coloured scaffold tower created by Stephan Balkenhol German artist. The statue "man on the street". Leith (Leytht) Wynd | Cranston Street Edinburgh Leith Wynd or Leytht Wynd (1514) was a road that started on the North Side of the Nether Bow Gate at what is Cranston Street and continued to the back of the Canongate (Calton Road) near to the entrance of Waverley Station on Calton Road and was used by the coaches to London. I have included Leith Wynd in the Closes of the Royal Mile as I felt that it gives an idea of how difficult it was to get into Edinburgh prior to the New Town and the draining of the Nor’ Loch. From the Head of the Canongate Leith Wynd travelled down to the foot of Calton Hill then west around the Calton Hill to joint Leith Street. Cranston Street was named in 1874 after Robert Cranston the councillor of the Canongate at that time. His son Robert became Lord Provost in 1891. The northern half of the street disappeared when Waverley Station goods yard and East Market Street were built circa 1850. The Canongate Christian Institute 2 Cranston Street, Edinburgh, was a Christian mission opening circa 1878. This was a place of worship for the old town. It held gospel meetings and services until its closure in 1930. The White Horse Inn The White Horse Inn (Boyd’s Inn) is the oldest Inn in the Canongate Edinburgh with the stables at the rear with entry from Gullan’s Close for passengers. The coaches and horses entered from Boyd’s Entry a short distance down St Mary’s Wynd, Boyd’s Inn now known as The White Horse Inn, was the starting point of the long journey by coach to London, 13 days. It was also the main dropping off point for the coaches from London. The White Horse Inn was also the place that runaway couples from England came to be married and many weddings were carried out here. The White Horse Inn consisted of a house for entertainment, stables for over 100 horses and sheds for over 20 carriages and rooms for the guests. This was the first 5 star lodging in Edinburgh the proprietor being James Boyd. James Boyd the Innkeeper was a gambler and was about to lose everything when he had good fortune with a run of winnings on a white Horse hence where the name The White Horse Inn derived James Boyd Sold the White Horse Inn in 1776 to retire. Gullan’s Close Gullan’s Close at the side of the White Horse Inn was the fourth close on the south side of the Canongate prior to 1869 when the first three closes of the Canongate were demolished under the improvement Act of 1867 replaced by a tenement. Gullan’s Close (named after James Gullan) led to the Stables where the coaches and Horses for the London coach journey where stabled. (100 horses and 20 carriages). Above were the rooms and living area, plus a room for the marriages. Nether Bow There were walls around the city of Edinburgh with gates known as Ports, 6 in all. The Nether Bow was the most important gateway as it stood at the foot of the High Street. The port (Gate) access to and from the Canongate, which was at that time a separate Burgh. The walls were built originally for defence against invading armies into Edinburgh after 1513 the battle of Flodden. The Nether Bow, was rebuilt many times, the last time it was rebuilt was in 1606. In the 1700s the demolition of sections of the wall began. The Nether Bow was pulled down in 1764, and demolition of the wall continued into the 19th century. Today, a number of sections of the three successive walls survive, although none of the ports remain. You can see and find out more about Edinburgh’s history in the Museum of Edinburgh in the Canongate. Nether Bow Brass Cobbles The outline of the Nether Bow Port can still be seen by the way of brass setts (cobbles) in the crossroads of St Mary's Street, Jeffrey Street the High Street and Canongate. Nether Bow There were walls around the city of Edinburgh with gates known as Ports, 6 in all. The Nether Bow was the most important gateway as it stood at the foot of the High Street. The port (Gate) access to and from the Canongate, which was at that time a separate Burgh. The walls were built originally for defence against invading armies into Edinburgh after 1513 the battle of Flodden. The Nether Bow, was rebuilt many times, the last time it was rebuilt was in 1606. In the 1700s the demolition of sections of the wall began. The Nether Bow was pulled down in 1764, and demolition of the wall continued into the 19th century. Today, a number of sections of the three successive walls survive, although none of the ports remain. You can see and find out more about Edinburgh’s history in the Museum of Edinburgh in the Canongate. No.9 High Street where the plaque has been put on the Building when erected in 1873. Nether Bow Brass Cobbles The outline of the Nether Bow Port can still be seen by the way of brass setts (cobbles) in the crossroads of St Mary's Street, Jeffrey Street the High Street and Canongate. World’s End Close World’s End Close previously Sir John Stanfield’s Close, Sir John Stanfield was supposedly murdered by his son who was then sentenced to hang at the market cross in Feb 1688 but due to the rope slipping he was finally chopped up and his head was displayed in Haddington his body in Leith and his tongue was cut out and hand chopped of for his crimes against his father. Known as World’s End Close as this was the last building inside the city wall which many people had never been past.
- Grassmarket Edinburgh | Shops & Businesses | All About Edinburgh
Grassmarket Shops Edinburgh for cashmere to tourist souvenirs designer jewellers, and an award winning pie shop. Also a Saturday open air market. Grassmarket Edinburgh has it all. The original market place of old Edinburgh where they executed withes and murderers. Attractions Hotels & AirBnB. Grassmarket Shops Edinburgh The Grassmarket is like a Town within the city of Edinburgh, with everything near to hand from accommodation cafes, restaurants, bars, pubs and clubs, shops, supermarkets and banks, The retail stores sell everything from cashmeres, kilts, tourist souvenirs, handbags, shoes, jewellery, newspapers and food. Other streets covered here are Cowgate and Cowgatehead. See what's available in the Cowgate and Cowgatehead from Hotels to Hostels, Pubs and Restaurants. With plenty shops of all types Grassmarket Pubs Grassmarket History & Attractions Grassmarket Accommodation Grassmarket Restaurants Grassmarket Bistros and Cafes Advertise Here More Details Dancebase 14 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2JU 0131 225 5525 Semper Tattoo 7 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2HY Scotland 0131 436 0370 Festival Grocery Store 72 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2JR Scotland 0131 226 5544 Purple Glamour 15 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2HS Scotland 0131 220 0900 Advertise Here More Details Advertise Here More Details Hawico 71 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2HJ Scotland 0131 225 8634 Mary's Milk Bar 19 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2HS Scotland 0131 629 6256 W Armstrong and Son 83 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2HG Scotland 0131 220 5557 Bains 37 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2HS Scotland 0131 226 4552 Hijinks 88 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2JR Scotland 0131 225 3388 Pirlous Cafe 67 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2HJ Scotland 0131 629 4030 Alba Store 27 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2HS Scotland 0131-220 0017 Bill Barber 66 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2JR Scotland 0131 225 3249 Medusa 63 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2HJ Scotland 0131 225 6700 Cowgate Edinburgh The Cowgate runs parallel to the south of the Royal Mile on a lower level. The Cowgate is where the weekends are very lively as the area is closed of to traffic to allow the crowds to party between pubs and clubs. There are plenty of places to stay eat drink and party but don't expect to have a quiet time in this street at a weekend. Cowgte Shops and bars Advertise Here More Details Advertise Here More Details Advertise Here More Details Cowgate Clinic 20 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JX Scotland 0131 240 2810 Budget Backpackers 37 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JR Scotland 0131 226 6351 St Cecelia’s Hall & Museum 52 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1NQ Scotland 0131 651 2189 Bongo Nightclub 66 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JX Scotland 0131 558 8844 Cow Shed Nightclub 67 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JX Scotland Movement Nightclub 69 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JW Scotland 0131 225 6766 Opium Nightclub 71 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JW Scotland 0131 225 8382 Sneaky Pete's Nightclub 73 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JW Scotland 0131 225 1757 Cowgate Tourist Hostel 94 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JN Scotland 0131 226 2153 Stay Central Hotel 139 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JS Scotland 0131 622 6801 Three Sisters (The) 139 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JS Scotland 0131 662 6801 Brew Dog Bar 141 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JS Scotland 0131 220 6157 Ox184 184 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JJ Scotland 0131 220 7700 Stramash 207 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JQ Scotland 0131 558 3332 Bannerman’s Bar 212 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1NQ Scotland 0131 556 3254 El Sober Criollo 237 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JQ Scotland 0131 629 4810 Le Belle Angele 237 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JQ Scotland Fogg's 237 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JQ Scotland City Morgue 297 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1NA Scotland 0131 556 8211 Holiday Inn Express 300 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1NA Scotland 0131 524 8400 Crescent Print 303 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1NA Scotland 0131 556 3582 307 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1NA Scotland 0131 556 9993 Arika 15 311 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1NA Scotland Cowgate Newsagents 313 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1NA Scotland 0131 466 2633 317 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1NA Scotland 0131 556 8969 Spectrum Arts 319 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1NA Scotland 0131 556 7740 Rowantree Bar 253 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1NN Scotland 0131 557 8989 Zigg Urat 200 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1NQ Scotland Cowgatehead Edinburgh Cowgatehead where the Grassmarket meets the Cowgate. Great place for a party weekend with no travel required everything close to hand. Hotels Hostels - apartments - pubs - clubs - bistros - restaurants - shops - supermarket. Taxi transfer from Airport ( Up to 6 passengers) £24 door - door Mile walk to Train Station (Taxi £8). Cowgatehead Shops Mr Woods Fossils 5 Cowgatehead Edinburgh EH1 1JY Scotland 0131 220 1344 Bar Salsa 3 Cowgatehead Edinburgh EH1 1JY Scotland 0131 629 8431 Let Me Eat 5 Cowgatehead Edinburgh EH1 1JY Scotland Fabhatrix 13 Cowgatehead Edinburgh EH1 1JY Scotland 0131 225 9222 Next - West Bow Area Shops & Businesses
- Scottish Independence | History | All About Edinburgh
Looking for the famous Battles in Scottish history and when they took place. Find the battle sites and victors. Visit Edinburgh on All About Edinburgh Scottish Independence Important Dates between Scotland and England in the fight for Scottish Independence 1093 Battle of Alnwick Malcolm III (Malcolm Canmore) King of Scotland 1058 -1093 occupied Edinburgh Castle and was first to start the battles between Scotland and England. He was killed by knights led by Robert de Mowbray at Alnwick Castle 13 November 1093. Alnwick Castle Greenwell Road, Alnwick NE66 1NQ 1286 Death of Alexander III Alexander III ruled in Scotland for 36 years till his death when he fell from his horse when travelling home to see his wife in 1286, leaving his daughter as heir to the throne at the age of 3 years. However due to her premature death there was no ruler of Scotland. King Alexander III 1292 Coronation of John Balliol John Balliol was chosen by Edward to become King of Scots. He was crowned king at Scone on St Andrew's Day 1292 and ruled till 1296. 1296 War of Independence War of Independence began in 1296 because the English king Edward I wanted to appoint his choice to the vacant Scottish throne. 1296 Battle of Dunbar John de Warenne defeats John Balliol , paving the way for most of Scotland to fall to Edward I (Longshanks). 1297 Battle of Stirling Bridge William Wallace defeated the English forces of John de Warenne and Hugh de Cressingham near Stirling on the River Forth. 1298 Battle of Falkirk Led by Edward I the English army defeated the Scots led by William Wallace . Shortly after the battle Wallace resigned as Guardian of Scotland 1303 Battle of Roslin When 8000 Scots defeat 30.000 English at Roslin. 1304 Siege of Stirling Castle . The English under King Edward Ist capture Stirling Castle 1307 Battle of Loudoun Hill. King Robert the Bruce Crowned 1306. His first victory over English came at Loudoun Hill Darvel Ayrshire. 1314 Battle of Bannockburn. Scottish victory in the First War of Scottish Independence , Robert the Bruce defeating the English which led to Independence. 1320 Declaration of Arbroath A declaration in the form of a letter which was signed by 50 (8 Earls) (31 Barons) of Scotland with their seals attached and 11 without seals. The Letter was sent to the Pope (John XXII) on 6 April 1320 requesting the pope to recognise Robert the Bruce as the King of Scotland. 1328 The Treaty of Edinburgh The Treaty of Edinburgh–Northampton was a peace treaty between England and Scotland . It brought an end to the First Scottish war for Independence ,The war began in 1296 The treaty was signed in Edinburgh Abbey of Holyrood, by Robert the Bruce , King of Scotland, on 17 March 1328, and was ratified by the English Parliament at Northampton on 1 May. The document is held by the National Archives of Scotland in Edinburgh. 1513 The Battle of Flodden. The Battle of Flodden Field between the Scots army led by James IV and an English army led by Earl of Surrey resulted in an English victory. It was the largest battle fought between Scotland and England James IV was killed in the battle, becoming the last monarch of Great Britain to die in Battle. 1547 Battle of Pinkie Cleugh Worst Scottish defeat by English forces and the first use of ships to bombard land troups. Known as the first modern battle in the British Isles. The Scots called it Black Saturday. Edward Seymour, 1st Duke of Somerset was Lord Protector of England led the English Army 1650 Battle of Dunbar Second Battle of Dunbar Cromwell defeated Scots at Doon Hill 1666 Battle of Rullion Green Pentland Uprising Government troups defeat Covenanters Army 1689 Battle of Killiecrankie First Scottish victory of the 1st Jacobite uprising Robert Louis Stevenson wrote of David Balfour and Alan Breck Stewart a Jacobite and the Battle of Killiecrankie 1745 Battle of Prestonpans Last Jacobite Uprising fought on 21 September 1745. A historic victory over Edward's Army led by Johnnie Cope. First Scottish victory over English lead by Bonnie Prince Charlie which led to victories taking them as far as Derby england before the final defeat at Culloden. 1746 Battle of Culloden The end of the Stuart battle for the throne and Jacobite Uprising with up to 2000 Scots dead the battle lasted 20 minutes with a victory to the English. Then came the banning of Tartan on 1 August 1746 by act of parliament made the wearing of Tartan Clothing (Highland Dress) which included the kilt, illegal in Scotland. Declaration of Arbroath
- National Portrait Gallery | Statues | All About Edinburgh
National Portrait Gallery in Edinburgh has more than paintings, there ar many sculptures, statues and busts of the famous people of Scotland through the ages. See who the statues are on the outside of this magnificent building. I have identified all the statues here. Scottish National Portrait Gallery Inside the Gallery Scottish National Portrait Gallery Queen Street Edinburgh Scottish National Portrait Gallery was built in the 1890. All the portraits are from Scottish history, painted by a range of major European and American masters. The gallery also displays sculptures, miniatures and photographs. Unique visual history of Scotland told through the portraits of those who shaped it, from the 16th century to the present. They include Mary Queen of Scots, Sir Walter Scott, Robert Burns and Sean Connery. It also houses the National Photography Collection. Before entering the Gallery look at the carved statues that stand around the building all are named below. Scottish National Portrait Gallery Founder John Ritchie Findlay founder of the National Portrait Gallery of Scotland and donor of the building it stands in. He was born at Arbroath 21 October 1824 and educated in Edinburgh. Became the owner of the Scotsman Newspaper which his great uncle had founded. Championed his workers living conditions by building houses in the Dean Village for their use (Well Court, Hawthorn Buildings and Dean Path Buildings), also was active in achieving the admission of women to the University of Edinburgh Medical School. He lived in 3 Rothesay Terrace in the west end of Edinburgh in a house that he had built for his family. On his death he was buried beside his great uncle John Findlay in Dean Cemetery. Scottish National Portrait Gallery Library The Scottish National Portrait Gallery Library or Scottish biographical and portraiture library on the first floor has many interesting things to see. There are many reference books and catalogues which cover a wide category. Marble bust of the famous and life and death masks of the infamous and famous. Many miniatures that will keep you amazed at the skills Burke and Hare Death Masks The death masks of two of the most infamous of Edinburgh’s historic residents William Burke and William Hare the murderous duo of the West Port. Robert the Bruce Death Masks In addition the death masks of Robert the Bruce (King Robert I) hero or Villain Scottish National Portrait Gallery Robert Burns Statue The large statue of Robert Burns as you enter. This Statue originally was on the Burns Monument that stands in Regent Road opposite the Royal High School on Calton Hill. Scottish National Portrait Gallery There are many busts all around the Scottish National Portrait Gallery. Certainly the place to see what the famous residents and icons of Scotland looked like. With famous portraits, landscapes and modern art, a great place to spend a few hours with free entry. Statues Outside Scottish National Portrait Gallery Go to Queen Street for all the statues on the outside of the building and who they are. 1st Viscount Duncan, Saint Margaret, George Buchanan, Cardinal David Beaton, 2nd Duke of Argyll, Sir Ralph Abercrombie, David Hume, Adam Smith, Sir Henry Raeburn, 1st Viscount Stair, Gavin Douglas, King James VI and I, King James I, King Alexander III, Sir James Douglas, King James V, Sir David Lindsay, James Hutton, John Hunter, John Knox, John Napier, William Maitland, John Lesley, Kleio Daughter of Zeus, King Malcolm III, Earl of Moray, William Wallace, Mary Queen of Scots, Robert the Bruce Edinburgh New Town North Index
- Walter Scott Images Edinburgh New Town | All About Edinburgh
Sir Walter Scott Scotland's most famous writer of poems and books. Look around Edinburgh's New Town for all the things related to the great man. see all the memorials here About Sir Walter Scott Images of things to look for King's Landing Sir Walter Scott invited George IV to Edinburgh. Stepping ashore at Leith Duddingston Kirk where Sir Walter Scott was ordained an elder in 1806. Corstorphine Tower There is a tower dedicated to his memory on Corstorphine Hill where he would site and look over the landscape of Edinburgh The Council of Edinburgh also honoured him by naming The Inch district of Edinburgh, around 30 streets after him and for characters and places from his poems and novels Kelso Grammar School where Walter Scott went to school when living with his aunt in 1783. Waverley Lodge Kelso Walter Scott's Aunt Janet's Home Sir Walter Scott's Mothers Grave St John's Princes Street Edinburgh Walter Scott's Grave Dryburgh Abbey Scott's View over Eildon Hills Sir Walter Scott in the Writers' Museum Lawnmarket Edinburgh Walter Scott's Poem (Marmion) The Battle of Flodden 1513 From Flodden ridge, The Scots beheld the English host Leave Barmoor Wood, their evening post And headful watched them as they crossed The Till by Twizell Bridge. High sight it is, and haughty, while They dive into the deep defile; Beneath the cavern’d cliff they fall, Beneath the castle’s airy wall. By rock, by oak, by Hawthorn tree, Troop after troop are disappearing; Troop after troop their banners rearing Upon the eastern bank you see. Still pouring down the rocky glen, Where flows the sullen Till, And rising from the dim-wood glen, Standards on standards, men on men, In slow procession still, And sweeping o’er the Gothic arch, And pressing on in ceaseless march, To gain the opposing hill. Sir Walter Scott 1771 - 1832 Sir Walter Scott Portrait Signet Library Sir Walter Scott Plaque in Grayfriars Kirk Sir Walter Scott Plaque Tolbooth Musselburgh John Gibson Lockhart's House 25 Northumberland Street Edinburgh Sir Walter Scott's Thoughts on the future John Gibson Lockhart's House Bellfield Street Portobello Sir Walter Scott Statue Selkirk Walter Scott Court Room Selkirk Next - Robert Burns
- East Linton Village | East Lothiaan | All About Edinburgh
East Linton Attractions East Lothian East Linton Village East Lothian Scotland East Linton is a beautiful small village just of the A199 or A1 beside the River Tyne. On the north side of the A1 is where you will find the village and Preston Mill on the south side is where you will find Hailes Castle. In the centre of the village is a water fountain with cherubs and lights. The old parish church dates from circa 1770 with parts from the original church circa 1250. The Castle has been on this site circa 1240 the owner the Gourlay family from Northumbria lived here a well heeled family of the day. The Castle then became the Hepburn family seat for the the next century before it was put to siege by Archibald Dunbar who killed all within the Castle. Mary Queen of Scots stayed here 1567, Cromwell attacked and damaged the Castle in 1650 and lived in by the Dalrymple Family before moving to a mansion house near Musselburgh in 1709 to which they called Newhailes after their estate and Castle at East Linton. Hailes Castle East Linton East Lothian Hailes Castle was originally founded as a fortified tower house in 1240, one of the oldest constructions of its kind still in existence in Scotland. The castle stands on a headland beside the River Tyne. Also you can see Traprain Law the site of the largest Roman treasure found outside Rome. This is also thought to be a site of a Roman Fort. Preston Mill and Phantassie Do’cot East Linton East Lothian The Preston mill has stood on this site since circa 1590 and was still in use until 1959. This is the best example of a meal mill from the 16th century in Scotland. Preston Mill’s machinery is still in working order. It is situated close to the River Tyne near the village of East Linton in East Lothian. There are tours that give a great idea of the conditions of the time and how things work. St Andrew’s Kirk East Linton St Andrew’s Church was built in 1843 to house the breakaway Free Church of Scotland, and was used as a school house on weekdays. The bell in the church as been in place since 1884 a memorial to Mr Scott. The clock was then installed 1897 to commemorate Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee. East Linton Fountain East Lothian The fountain 1882 with lamps, standing in scalloped iron basin; scalloped canopy above, with four children pouring water from urns. The Fountain was presented to the Burgh of East Linton by John Drysdale who emigrated to Buenos Aires and became a wealthy businessman. Prestonkirk House East Lothian Scotland Prestonkirk House can be seen at the entrance to Stories Park. Stories Park takes its name from the Storie family of veterinary surgeons, who lived in The Square and kept racehorses in their ‘park’. Francis Storie (d.1875) was East Linton’s chief magistrate 1866-72. Storie Park the first house was a poorhouse built in 1864 for the poor of East Lothian. East Linton Falls River Tyne East Lothian Scotland The water through the Linn and pool, the old Tyne bridge (Lintern Briggis) built circa 1550 that gives access to the village over the river and the main crossing of the Tyne in the 1500’s used by the English Armies. This area is great for walkers and explorers with much to see and beautiful scenic routes and t finish it of a hotel restaurant and bar and free parking. If you follow the Tyne up to the Linn Rocks, you come to the original ‘Lintoun’, where the settlement began circa 1000 years ago. Preston kirk East Linton East Lothian Scotland Prestonkirk East Linton is Dedicated to St Baldred, The Church tower built circa 1631 and the main building from 1770 in the burial ground can be found the graves of Andrew Meikle, inventor of the threshing machine, and George Rennie, agriculturalist and brother of John Rennie, the civil engineer. John Rennie Memorial East Linton East Lothian The Memorial to John Rennie can be seen on the road out of East Linton towards Dunbar. John Rennie was born on 7 June 1761 at Phantassie Farm near the memorial. He was the engineer who built the Waterloo Bridge in London and it is believed part of the memorial is built with stone work from the old Waterloo bridge. The inscription on the plaque reads; The memorial to John Rennie (1761 -1824) civil engineer was erected in 1936 and relocated at this site in 1981 by The East Lothian Antiquarian and Field Naturalists Society The Institution of Engineers Sir Robert McAlpine & Sons Limited. Pencraig Standing Stone East Linton East Lothian This Standing tone is a Prehistoric three-sided pillar which can be seen from the old AI just before East Linton turn off. In the background is Berwick Law a Iron age hill fort. Could this be a distance marker from ancient times. Drylaw Hill Do'cot East Linton East Lothian The Beehive do'cot that stands on Drylaw Hill was built mid 1500's the holes at the roof are to allow the birds in and the door is for access to the birds for fresh meat. Great views of East Linton from here. Smeaton-Hepburn Estate East Linton East Lothian Smeaton- Hepburn Estate was the home of the Hepburns for four centuries. The mansion House has long been removed and now is a country park with one of the few man made Lakes in Scotland, formed in 1820. Smeaton nursery and cafe is a Victorian Walled Garden. The Estate is free of charge to visit. Next - East Saltoun
- Family Water Sport | Activities | All About Edinburgh
For under water sports Edinburgh and the East Coast has it all diving scuba snorkling clear water swimming Rock jumping equipment hire boats PADI courses Family Water Sports Activities in and on the Water Diving / Scuba Diving / Snorkelling Water sports are fun for all ages in boats in the water under the water jumping of cliffs. Scuba diving snorkelling or just going for a paddle. Activities Diving / Scuba Diving / Snorkelling Diving Scuba Diving Lazy G-Diver Boat Charter Priory View Eyemouth Road Coldingham TD14 5NH. Scottish Borders Scotland 01890 771 525 Diving Scuba Diving AquaStars Harbour Gunsgreen Quay Eyemouth TD14 5SD Scottish Borders Scotland 018907 50904 Diving Scuba Diving Marine Quest Diving / fishing The Harbourside Harbour Road Eyemouth TD14 5HY Scottish Borders Scotland 01890 752 444 Diving Scuba Diving Dive Stay White Wings Hurkur Crescent Eyemouth TD14 5AP Scottish Borders Scotland 07802 330 036 Diving Scuba Diving Scottish Sub Aqua Club Caledonia House Redheughs Rigg Edinburgh EH12 9DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 625 4404 Diving Scuba Diving Dive - St Abbs - Boat Charter Paul Crowe Skipper Rock Houses St Abbs TD14 5PW Scottish Borders Scotland 01890 771 945 Diving Scuba Diving Sub Aqua Divers ( Scoutscroft ) Ltd St Abbs Road Scoutscroft Coldingham TD14 5NB Scottish Borders Scotland 01890 771 669
- Stag Party Edinburgh | Activities | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh is a great destination for a stag party weekend with everything in the city centre all in walking distance. Bars, Nightclubs and Restaurants. Pole Dancing, Strippers, Casino, paintballing + Laser Tag (indoor and outdoor) karting + Cage Buggies, Segway or Quad Bikes. or Try Highland Games Stag Party Edinburgh Edinburgh is a great destination for a stag party weekend with everything in the city centre all in walking distance. Bars, Nightclubs and Restaurants. Pole Dancing, Strippers, Casino, paintballing + Laser Tag (indoor and outdoor) karting + Cage Buggies, Segway or Quad Bikes. Try Highland Games, Clay Shooting or fly in a microlight. By day get the high octane experience and party by night bars and clubs (open 3 am) Casinos (6am) Food + Drink Edinburgh ACTIVITIES IN EDINBURGH Place to Stay
- Outdoor Activities | Fun Outdoors | All About Edinburgh
Outdoor Activities Edinburgh From driving a formula car to speed boat trips, Clay pigeon shooting to paintball. Fly in a Microlight plane or sightseeing in a Helicopter. All kinds of water sports, outdoor swimming. Beaches and surfing. So much to do with so little time to do it all. Outdoor Activities Edinburgh From driving a formula car to speed boat trips, Clay pigeon shooting to paintball. Fly in a Microlight plane or sightseeing in a Helicopter. All kinds of water sports and swimming pools with flumes and wave machines. Off road driving or super Rage Buggies on dirt circuits. Walking or climbing the many hills or take a cycle around the many quiet streets. Why not go to the Races or even take a ride on a horse at an Equestrian centre. Golf and Fishing. There are so many things available you will not have time to do them all. All Activities White Water Rafting Water Sports Lawn Bowls Diving / Scuba Boats and Sailing Walk & Climb Quad Biking Super Cars & Speed Boats Mountain Biking 4 X 4 Off Road Driving Rage Buggies Flying Golf Courses Fishing Panning 4 Gold Shooting Archery Highland Games Ice & Snow Sports Go Karts Segway Helicopter Trips Paintball Equestrian Centres / Horse Racing Outdoor Basketball Courts
- Fountainbridge Area Edinburgh | Information | All About Edinburgh
The Fountainbridge Area Edinburgh the start of the Union Canal 007 Sean Connery's birthplace, EICC, Retail, food, drink, accommodation all near the City Centre Fountainbridge Area Edinburgh Attractions Edinburgh Quay Fountainbridge Edinburgh Fountainbridge area of Edinburgh has been going through a redevelopment over the last few years and is now a modern business area with a leisure area that has a multiplex cinema, bowling alley, casino, children’s soft play centre, restaurants, pubs and the canal basin with barges which can be hired, or go for a slow cruise and have dinner. When Sean Connery returned to unveil a plaque dedicated to where he was born he was amazed at the changes that had been made to the area. The Edinburgh International Conference Centre is also nearby and has events all year around. There are hotels, self-catering and serviced apartments nearby and it is all a short walk to the city centre and Haymarket Rail Station. Edinburgh Quay Attractions Edinburgh Edinburgh Quay is where the Union canal basin (end) is located. You can follow the canal to where it joins the Forth and Clyde canal at the world famous Falkirk Wheel opened in 2002 it re-joins the 2 canals for the first time since the 1930s. Take a barge trip or sit by the shore and have lunch and drinks at the shore side bars and restaurants. Union Canal Barge Centre Union Canal Barge Centre Edinburgh Attractions Edinburgh Union Canal Barge Centre is close to the Leamington Lift Bridge where you start the trip on a Barge. Take a barge trip on a slow moving barge have lunch High tea or drinks and see the sites as you cruise along. THE FALKIRK WHEEL The Falkirk Wheel is the first barge lift in the world which replaces the loch system. Opened in 2002 it is an engineering break through to connect the Forth and Clyde Canal and the Union Canal. The Falkirk Wheel can carry eight or more boats at a time. You can enjoy a return trip which take around 1 hour. THE KELPIES The Kelpies are the largest equine sculptures in the world. The heads are called Duke and Baron, Duke on the left is 26.3m and Baron on the right is 30m. There are tours of both which you can go on. Take the barge that goes on the wheel and you can go inside the horse’s heads. Both sites mark where the canal system connects the east and the west of Scotland. The Kelpies are mythical beasts that lured Victims to their deaths by drowning. SIR THOMAS SEAN CONNERY Born 25 August 1930 and live at 176 Fountainbridge in Edinburgh. Sean Connery is probably the most famous and well known Scottish actor. He is best known for his role as James Bond between 1962 and 1983. His first job however was delivering milk in Edinburgh local people from the local base at Grove Street. The plaque has been place at the location where he was born which is now a new build and street called Melvin Walk. Edinburgh International Conference Centre Morrison Street Edinburgh Edinburgh Meat Market Arch Fountainbridge Next - Craigentinny - Restalrig
- Abbey Strand | Royal Mile | All About Edinburgh
Abbey Strand in Edinburgh is the short road to the gates of Holyrood House known as the Palace of Holyrood. Holyrood Abbey now ruins is one of the oldest Abbeys in Scotland (10th century). See the royal graves in the grounds. Abbey Strand Royal Mile Attractions Edinburgh Royal Mile Abbey Strand Edinburgh is the small area around the Palace of Holyrood House which was built circa 1480 leading up to the Palace gates. The brass letter S’s in the cobbles that can be found across the start on the Abbey Strand were boundary markers of a sanctuary, which is five miles in circumference and takes in Holyrood Park. The Sanctuary was a safe place for people that were running away from creditors to live. The building that is now used as a gift shop was once homes for debtors. There are two significant buildings in the Abbey Strand Holyrood House Palace and Holyrood Abbey the later dating back to King David I. Abbey Strand Royal Attractions Edinburgh Unicorn Wall Tablet Abbey Strand Edinburgh In the Abbey Strand on the entrance through the south wall near the gates to the Palace of Holyrood House you will see an ornate stone tablet of a unicorn with the inscription; IR5 or (KING JAMES THE V) A white unicorn (the symbol of Scotland) holding the saltire flag of Scotland, with a shield, with the red lion rampant. Palace of Holyrood House Abbey Strand Edinburgh Palace of Holyrood House is Queen Elizabeth’s official residence in Scotland was built in 1498 by James IV. The Palace was set alight and burned down in November of 1650 when Cromwell’s troops were leaving. This was said to be an accident. The Tower of James V being the only part that survived. The present palace foundations were laid in 1671 and the rebuild completed in 1674, the new occupants took up residency at the end of 1679. The then Duke of Albany and York, to be James the II of England and VII of Scotland and family. Holyrood Holyrood Abbey Abbey Strand Edinburgh Holyrood Abbey was built by King David I in 1128 is now a ruin with a history that spans 800 years. Holyrood Abbey’s position close to Edinburgh Castle meant that it was often visited by Scotland’s monarchs throughout the centuries. Holyrood Abbey was the site of the coronations of James II in 1437 and Charles I in 1633. It also housed the first high school of Scotland. Young Mary landed at Leith on 18 June 1549 and married 19-year-old James II, King of Scots, at Holyrood Abbey in Edinburgh two weeks later. On the completion of the marriage ceremony Mary was taken to her dressing room clothed in the coronation robes and returned to be crowned Queen of Scotland. Holyrood Abbey Holyrood House Water Fountain In the forecourt of the Palace of Holyrood House stands an Octagonal stone fountain which is said to be design on the original fountain that stood in Linlithgow Palace. The fountain has many figures and heads and was built around 1860. Octagonal stone fountain is decorated with figures from the who’s who Blair, Montgomery, Campbell and Blackadder, Rizzio, Queen Margaret, John Cunningham, Town Drummer of Linlithgow, Lady Cramford with a hawk perched on her finger and a dog by her left side, the Earl of Stair, Queen Mary, Sir John Cope, Arabella of France, heads of Edward I, Queen Mary and the Duke of Buckingham Archie Simpson (Dunfermline Abbey fool), Binnock (who deceived the English at Linlithgow) and Elizabeth Blackwood the heads of Young Earl of Kent, Abbot of St Andrews and Oliver Cromwell George Buchanan (Court fool) stabbing the Duke of Devonshire the head of Grieve on Jock Howieson's farm, the head of Shakespeare, and the fool in the Court of Elizabeth the Duke of Essex and Lola Irondale with a dog the heads of John Milburn of the Covenanters, a cherub and Elizabeth Milburn. Sanctuary Holyrood Abbey Abbey Strand Edinburgh You can find the brass S’s in the cobbles of Abbey Strand leading to the entrance of Holyrood. Holyrood Abbey was designated as a debtor's sanctuary in the 16th century. The sanctuary extends to the whole of Holyrood Park slightly over 4 square miles. Anyone in debt could flee their creditors, and imprisonment or hanging, by taking up residence within the sanctuary, due to this a small community grew to the west of the palace most of the houses were demolished and only a few remain. "Abbey Lairds", were only able to leave the sanctuary on Sundays as it was not allowed to arrest anyone on the Sabbath. In 1880 the law was changed which meant debtors could no longer be imprisoned. The Sanctuary building is now used as a gift shop for the palace. Thomson’s Court Abbey Strand Edinburgh Thomson’s Court is to the north side of Abbey Strand as was used for accommodation for the debtors who lived within the sanctuary area of Holyrood Abbey circa 1850. At one time there were Taverns on the ground floor with housing above. Originally built as housing circa 1500. Renovations have now been made and Thomson's Court is now Abbey Apartments with multi functional rooms and shop. Psychic Garden Palace of Holyrood House Abbey Strand Edinburgh The King's Psychic Garden was first e stablished in 1670 by Sir Robert Sibbald and Dr Andrew Balfour, both botanists and physicians. The Psychic garden was located on the grounds of the Palace of Holyroodhouse. This recreation of the first Physic garden (2020) seen below was the precursor of the Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. See the recreation of the first Physic Garden at the left side of Holyroodhouse Palace Watergate Canongate Edinburgh Watergate was the gated entrance to the Canongate. From outside the walls it would have stood between the Sanctuary building and what is now Russell House. The Water Gate took its name from a horse pond near to the bath house. Queen Mary’s Bath House Palace of Holyroodhouse Abbey Strand Queen Mary’s Bath house was associated with Mary Queen of Scots. Used as a summer house for the Royals when walking in the garden. The wording on the sign reads; Queen Mary’s Bath House. This little two Storeyed building is traditionally associated with May Queen of Scots (1542-1587). It was once attached to a boundary wall enclosing the Kings privy garden and served as a pavilion or summerhouse where the royal family might relax whilst strolling in the garden. Weather it contained a bath is unknown. Abbeyhill Police Station This building was originally a police Station built in 1896. 30 Croft-An-Righ (Croft-An-Righ House) 30 Croft-An-Righ (Croft-An-Righ House) Croft-An-Righ is a mansion house on the north east corner of the gardens of the Palace of Holyrood house. The owners were all nobility and had connections with the King at the time. Croft-An-Righ (or 'King's Field') House is known to belong to Robert 3rd Lord Elphinstone died 1602. He then sold it in to Alexander Livingston 2nd Earl of Linlithgow died 1648 who in turn sold it to William Graham 7th Earl of Monteith and 1st Earl of Airth Died 1661. After a fire circa 1680 the house was rebuilt with further alterations made circa 1880 Next - Horse Wynd





