top of page

All About Edinburgh

Search Results

Search this site

411 resultat hittades med en tom sökning

  • St Andrews | St Mary's Quad | All About Edinburgh

    St Mary's Quad is a courtyard area with historic buildings all around Statue of the founder of the University a large tree and other historic sites plus amuseumand library. The oldest part of the University. St Mary's Quad St Andrews St Mary's College St Andrews. St Mary's College, founded a College of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary and is the home of the Faculty and School of Divinity within the University of St Andrews in Scotland. The college is located on South Street, on the present site of the King James library and Parliament Hall, to the immediate east of the present St Marys College buildings. Parts of the original college buildings were incorporated into the King James library and adjoining structures in the nineteenth century. St Johns College was reinstated by Cardinal David Beaton under the name the "New College of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary" or "St Mary's College" in 1538. At its foundation in 1538 St Mary's was intended to be a College for instruction in Divinity, Law, and Medicine, as well as in Arts, but its career on this extensive scale was short-lived. Under a new foundation and erection, confirmed by Parliament in 1579, it was set apart for the study of Theology only, and it has remained a Divinity College ever since. St Mary's College retains much of its original sixteenth-century buildings, specifically the north and West ranges. St Andrews University St Mary's Quad St Andrews St Andrews University founded in 1413 is the oldest University in Scotland. St John's College of the University of St Andrews as a constituent college was founded circa 1420. Precursor to the present-day St Mary's College St Mary's Quad Archway St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews "In principio erat verbum" Latin phrase that means "In the beginning was the Word" The quote above the main entrance on South Street to St Mary's Quad St Andrews King James Library St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews King James Library History St Mary’s College Library, and Parliament Hall, where the Scottish parliament was held in 1645-46. The common library in St Andrews was founded by King James VI & I in 1612. With gifts from The Royal family, Archbishop of Canterbury and Royal Librarian. It was not until 1642 that the building on South Street which now houses the King James Library, opened as a library. The Upper Hall was allocated to Regis Professor James Gregory as his workplace from 1668-1674. In 1773 the library was extended and re-modelled to what King James Library is today. In 1976 due to the volume of students and books a new Library building was opened on North Street in 1976. Archbishop James Beaton's House St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews Archbishop James Beaton the founder of St Mary's College in 1538. Previous to that he also became Chancellor of Scotland (1515) a very powerful man of the time. Born in Raith, Fife, Scotland in 1477 and died in St Andrews Castle 1539. Principals House St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews Part of the oldest remaining buildings of St Mary’s college. Archbishop John Hamilton Founders House and Tower St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews John Hamilton Built the Founders house and tower circa 1550 Hamilton Tower Coat of Arms St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews The coat of arms above the tower door, now weathered is Archbishop John Hamilton's Mary's Sundial St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews The large stone pillar sundial outside the Hamilton Building. Muriel Duncan (Bird Bath) St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews Close to the Sundial a stone bird bath was placed by Muriel Duncan, the first woman lecturer at St Andrews circa 1916. Bishop Wardlaw Statue St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews Henry Wardlaw was a founder of the university. The Statue was unveiled on the 29 June 2013 The statue depicts Bishop Henry Wardlaw in full Episcopal vestments displaying the Papal Bull on the day that it arrived in St Andrews in his raised right hand. He is carrying his crozier in his left hand. Bell Pettigrew Museum St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews Access through Gardens in St Mary’s Quad South Street The Pettigrew Museum opened in 1838 by the Literary and Philosophical Society. A partnership between, University and town. In 1912 the museum had to be moved from Upper College Hall to the New Bell Pettigrew Museum. The Bell Pettigrew Museum of Natural History is open to everyone during term breaks. Entry is free. Queen Mary's Hazel Tree St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews The Hazel thorn tree said to have been planted by Mary, Queen of Scots, during her many visits to St. Andrews circa 1560. Great Holm Oak Tree St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews Oak Tree (Quercus ilex) planted 1740 in St Mary’s Quadrangle Original Boundary Gateway St Mary's Quad St Andrews Henry Wardlaw was a founder of the university. The ruined archway is the original boundary Gateway circa 1420. The fire of 1727 destroyed the buildings on the southern side of the quad. St Mary's Do'cot St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews A Do'cot was a source of fresh meat

  • Textiles | Scottish Crafts | All About Edinburgh

    Canongate Jersey and Crafts shop in the Royal mile Edinburgh for authentic Scottish handmade goods. Specialise in textiles both Celtic Pictish Crafts. Canongate Jerseys & Crafts Canongate Royal Mile, 164 - 166, Canongate, Edinburgh, EH8 8DD Telephone +44(0)131 557 2967 Welcome to Canongate Jerseys & Crafts. We are a small, family-run business established in the Canongate, Edinburgh since 1978. We specialise in Celtic and Pictish art in knitwear, textiles and crafts. Our stock, which is all made in Scotland - mainly by small independent craftworkers, or small businesses. We also produce a range of hand-knitted or hand-framed knitwear, designed and made exclusively for sale in our shop. When you are in Edinburgh visit us in our Shop in at 164 - 166 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD Heather & Julie We have in stock a range of exclusive knitwear for men and women, designed by Heather, with traditional and original designs inspired by the rock art of Scotland. We also offer a made to measure service at no extra cost, but we can only offer this service to customers in the shop. We sell various textiles made in Scotland. Handknitting from the Shetland Isles, renowned for their Fair-Isle patterns, includes ladies wear in jerseys, gloves, hats and scarves. Hand-woven Harris tweed includes wraps, bags, purses, scarves and even slippers. Also, a large range of throws, wraps, serapes, scarves and cushion covers in chenille by Calzeat - a feast of colour. All our crafts are sourced here in Scotland, mainly from small local businesses or individual craftworkers. back to top Next - Places to Visit

  • Royal Botanic Gardens | Edinburgh Attractions | All About Edinburgh

    Royal Botanic Garden (RGBE) for short has one of the largest collection of plants from around the world. In grounds of over 70 acres with glass houses, rock gardens, Japanese garden, arboritum with squirrels and birds. With a restaurant, shop and cafe its a great place to spend the day Free Entry Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh The Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh was first sited at Holyrood Park beside Holyrood Abbey in 1670. It moved to near Leith Wynd in 1675 which stretch from where Cranston Street off the Royal Mile is now to Calton Road. The Physic Garden which was removed due to Waverley Station being built 1763 spent a period of time in Leith Walk 1763 -1820 where it remained before finally moving to its present location at Inverleith in 1820. The Gardens were the imagination of two doctors Andrew Balfour who look after the Royal Gardens at Holyrood House Edinburgh 1695 and Robert Sibbald physician who collected plant specimens from all over Europe when on their travels, which were look after in the Physic Garden. The two Gardens coming together in 1820 at Inverleith. In the early 1900s a plant hunter George Forrest introduced over 10,000 specimens and the gardens continue to grow to this day. The Cottage in Leith can now be seen in the Royal Botanic Gardens grounds, as it has been rebuilt as it was in Leith. There is also a night light show annually within the Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. Royal Botanic Gardens 20a Inverleith Row Edinburgh Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh East Gate Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh John Hope West Gate The Glass Houses Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. The large glass house in the Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh (RBGE) was opening by HRH Princess Margaret on 25th October 1967, further glass houses were opened to store the many different varieties of plants and flowers. Rock Garden Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh The Rock Garden has a collection of over 5,000 plants from mountain, Mediterranean and Arctic climates around the world. There are concentrations of plants from China, Europe, Japan, Nepal, North and South America and South Africa. Britain’s Tallest Palm House Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh The Temperate Palm house in Edinburgh's Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh opened in 1858 and was the tallest in the UK. It became one of the must see things of its time in the UK as most people had never travelled overseas and the plants and trees were a massive attraction. Inverleith House Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. Inverleith House was built in 1774 for Sir James Rocheid and his family on his estate, which would have covered Inverleith Park, Botanic Gardens and part of Stockbridge. The Botanic Gardens today stands on most of the Rocheid estate. In 1877 the Botanic Gardens took over all but Inverleith Park of the estate. ( Front and rear The Gardeners Cottage Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. The Botanic Gardens Cottage stood at Shrub hill of Leith Walk and was taken brick by brick and rebuilt in the botanic gardens. The Cottage was the lead gardener's house and entrance to the gardens The cottage was designed by the leading architects of the time James Craig and John Adam and built in 1765. The cottage also had a classroom to tech Botany to Edinburgh students. The Gardeners Cottage Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. There are two plaques with inscriptions. In honour of ALL THE PEOPLE who have tended this place with care, passion and dedication. their legacy lives all around us. The Botanic Cottage Built Leith Walk 1765 Rebuilt Inverleith 2015. To the memory of John Williamson who during twenty years of faithful service as Principal Gardener in this place was no less respected for the good qualities suited to his station in life than esteemed for eminent skill in his profession this monument is erected by John Hope1781 Removed from the Botanic Garden Leith Walk September 1823 Old Beech Hedge Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. The Old Beech hedge stands at circa 8m (156 ft) in Height and 165 m (535 ft) in length. First planted in 1906 with 200 young beech trees, today only 158 trees are in the Hedge. Thought to be one of the oldest hedges in Scotland at over 110 years. HRH Queen Mother's Garden Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. This area is dedicated to the late Queen Mother and has over 10.000 plants. The centre Labyrinth is formed with interlocking E space as her name Elizabeth. With a pavilion trees hedge and flowers it is a remarkable memorial to a great Lady. Caledonian Hall Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. The Royal Caledonian Horticultural Society built the Caledonian Hall in 1841 to hold flower shows. 20 years later it had a change of use to a Herbarium, scientific reference collection of preserved plants which now has over 3 million specimens. Alpine House Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. The Alpine House provides a strict dry environment for plants All the plants are growing in clay pots and the Alpine House has a manmade climate to imitate the mountainous windy conditions where the plants would naturally grow. Chinese Hillside Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. The Chinese Hillside garden is planted to recreate a natural Chinese hillside garden setting with over 1600 plants found in the south west of China. The garden opened in 1997 and is the largest collection of Chinese plants growing outside China. Edinburgh New Town Lilian Alcock (Nora Lilian Scott) Lilian Scott was born in August 1874 and married Nathaniel Alcock in 1905 a professor of physiology at McGill University in Canada. Lilian was the first government plant pathologist appointed in Scotland. She was the pioneer of the study of seed pathology and was honoured in 1935 with and MBE. She was appointed plant pathologist in Department of Agriculture for Scotland at Royal Botanic Garden in 1924 till her retirement in 1937. The plaque can be seen on the wall of 20a Inverleith Row Edinburgh. Aeolian Harp Pavilion Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. Aeolian Harp Pavilion was design and built in 2003 to commemorate an old Elm tree that had to be cut down due to contracting Dutch Elm Disease. Garden of Tranquillity Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. The Garden of Tranquillity is behind the East Gate Lodge. This garden was structured through donations and lottery funding for the use of all the people that wish to use it. Edinburgh New Town Inverleith Row Sibbald House The house named after Robert Sibbald who was born 15 April 1641 in Fife Scotland. He qualified as a physician in 1662, and his aim was to improve the faculties of medicine in Scotland. He with his cousin Andrew Balfour created a Physic Garden in 1670 with circa 1000 medicinal plants. Sibbald and Balfour went on to establish the College of Physicians in 1681. The Physic Garden went on to be the Royal Botanic Gardens in Edinburgh. A year later in 1682 Robert Sibbald was appointed Geographer Royal for Scotland. He died in 1722 make his life's work to the medical profession and the intellectual life of Edinburgh. He is buried in Greyfriars Kirkyard. Edinburgh New Town North East Edinburgh Statues

  • Gilmerton and Liberton | All About Edinburgh

    Liberton and Gilmerton were originally small hamlets (villages) south of Edinburgh. There are a few places to visit Liberton House Liberton Tower. Gilmerton Cove a secret cave network and the Butterfly and Insect World at Dobbies. Gilmerton and Liberton Liberton Tower & Liberton House The Liberton area in the south of Edinburgh derives its name from ‘lepers town', A Leper colony previously located in this area. The Little family were land owners here from circa 1590 first owning Liberton Tower then building Liberton House. Liberton Tower has grand furnished period interior over three floors and also an outside walkway. Liberton House is a mansion House with a Do'cot. Liberton House is haunted and sightings of ghostly apparitions have been seen and also voices in the night. Liberton Tower & Liberton House The Little family owned Liberton Tower from circa 1590, built circa 1450. William Little (Litil) younger brother of Clement both with association to the founding of the University of Edinburgh. William Little (Litil) was a Burgess and Lord Provost of Edinburgh built Liberton House circa 1600. Liberton Tower had been abandoned by circa 1610. There are inscriptions of 1675 and 1683 on Liberton House which was when the house was extended by decedents. There is also a Do’cot which all large houses had to provide fresh meat from the birds occupying the do’cot. Gilmerton Cove (Caves) Edinburgh Attractions The mystery of the Gilmerton Cove a secret hideout for the Knights Templar or an illegal drinking den. It is believed the caves were dug in early 1720s by a local blacksmith as a house. Go down the caves and decide for yourself. They can be found at 16 Drum Street Gilmerton. A small village that stood south of Edinburgh. This cave was dug out of rock by one George Paterson, a smithy. Completed in 1724 after five years hard labour, as reads the inscription on one of the chimney-heads. There are several compartments and were lived in by Paterson and his wife for many years. Gilmerton Cove Liberton Kirk There has been a religious building on this site from as far back as the 8th century. There is evidence of a chapel here, as mention was made in the Great Charter of Holyrood, signed in 1143. Liberton Kirk was not the first church on this site. the foundation stone of this building was laid in 1815 the old church being knocked down the previous year. Rev James Grant Plaque and Memorial Stone James Grant became the parish minister in August 1789 and dies in June 1831 and is remains are interned in the tower of the church. Erected in memorial of the long serving minister of almost 42 years Living Stones Cairn On the bicentenary of Liberton Kirk a stone cairn was erected at the south west corner of the church Its stones are a symbol of the church's “living stones” the people who continue to be the church of Jesus Christ in this place even though buildings change. Dr Guthrie’s Ragged School What is Guthrie Court nursing home was originally opened in 1887 as a Ragged School which replaced the first ragged school on Castlehill. The plaque reads; Founded by Dr Guthrie in Edinburgh 1847 transferred to Liberton 1887. Liberton Inn Edinburgh "Reuben Butler's House" The block of buildings have been at the centre of the old Liberton Village for centuries. The building at one time housed Liberton School and the master's house (Reuben Butler) from circa 1780 to 1889 when a new school was built. Reuben Butler, the sweetheart of Jennie Deans, in Walter Scott's 'Heart of Midlothian'. The corner building has been an In since circa 1850 and the rest was sold to a ironmonger in 1889 before it became a part of the Inn. a few years later. Melville Castle Edinburgh Melville Castle named after the first owner Galfrid De Melville Circa 1150. Melville Castle was also said to have been for a time owned by David Rizzio and Mary Queen of Scots often visited. Other Royals that have visited the castle are George IV in 1828 and in 1842 Queen Victoria visited Melville Castle when she was on her tour of Scotland. It is said that a ghost has been seen on many occasions and it is thought to be Queen Mary looking for David Rizzio. Melville Castle can be found at the very east end of Gilmerton Road at Melville Gate on the road to Dalkeith. The Dundas family crest which can be seen above the main entrance to Melville Castle THE MOTTO ON THE FAMILY CREST BELOW THE SHIELD (TRANSLATION) QUOD POTUI PERFECI (I HAVE DONE WHAT I COULD TO THE BEST OF MY ABILITY) INSCRIBED ABOVE THE LION'S HEAD (TRANSLATION) ESSAYEZ (KEEP TRYING) Butterfly World Butterfly and Insect World Edinburgh Attractions. Take a walk in the Reptile Room lizards, chameleons and giant snakes. See the Bugs and Beasties spiders, stick insects and, frogs and walk round while hundreds of multi coloured Butterflies flutter around you THIS ATTRACTION HAS CLOSED AFTER 40 YEARS Next - Golf Scotland

  • Wedding Planners | Weddings | All About Edinburgh

    Have your wedding plans taken away from your responsibility and let someone else take the strain wedding planners can get it done. They will help you get the wedding of your dreams without the hassel. They ahave the power and contacts to make it spacial. Wedding Planners Edinburgh The Wedding Planner can arrange Engagement to Marriage, Engagement Rings, Wedding Venues Hen Night, Stag Night, Spa Day, Wedding Bands, Wedding Stationery, Wedding Cars, Wedding Dresses, Bridesmaid Dresses, Wedding Day Flowers, Groom and Best mans Wedding Day Kilt or Suit Hire, Wedding Day Makeover Hair Dressers, Barbers, Nail Sculpture, Makeup Artist.

  • Scottish Rugby Clubs | Pro 14 Teams | All Abut Edinburgh

    Scottish Rugby clubs guide Pro 14 clubs, 6 Nations Home Stadia. A guide and contact details of rugby teams and clubs in Edinburgh, East Lothian, West Lothian, Midlothian and Scottish Borders. SRU find a club or follow a team. SCOTTISH RUGBY GUIDE Scottish Rugby Clubs Regional & National Teams Edinburgh, Midlothian East Lothian, West Lothian Scottish Borders 6 Nations International Teams All Sports EDINBURGH RUGBY CLUBS Inverleith RFC Arboretum Arboretum Road Edinburgh EH3 5PN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 5523123 Email www.inverleithrugby.co.uk Boroughmuir RFC Meggetland Colinton Road Edinburgh EH14 1AS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 443 7571 hello@boroughmuirsports.co.uk Broughton RFC Wardie Park Granton Road Edinburgh EH5 3NJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 552 6780 Email www.broughtonrugby.co.uk Currie RFC Malleny Park Balerno Edinburgh EH14 7AF City of Edinburgh Scotland TEL Email www.currierugby.org Edinburgh Academical FC Comleybank park Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HQ City of Edinburgh Scotland TEL secretary@edinburghaccies.com www.edinburghaccies.com Edinburgh Northern RFC Inverleith Park East Fettes Avenue Edinburgh EH4 1DN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 3911 Edinburgh RFC Murrayfield Stadium Roseburn Street Edinburgh EH12 5PJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 346 5252 info@edinburghrugby.org www.edinburghrugby.org Edinburgh University RFC Peffermill playing fields Peffermill Road Edinburgh EH8 9TJ City of Edinburgh Scotland www.edunirugby.co.uk Forrester RFC Forrester Park South Gyle Access Edinburgh EH12 9FR City of Edinburgh Scotland Tel: 0131 3346981 enquires@forrester-rfc.co.uk www.forrester-rfc.co.uk Heriot's RFC Goldenacre Bangholm Terrace Edinburgh EH3 5QN City of Edinburgh Scotland shine@thelimelight.org.uk www.heriotsrugbyclub.co.uk Leith Rugby Club Leith Academy Academy Park Edinburgh EH6 8JQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 554 1111 LeithRFC@gmail.com Liberton FP RFC kirk Brae Playing Fields Double Hedges Road Edinburgh EH16 6TS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 6643226 Moray House RFC Jack Kane Sports Centre Niddrie Mains Road Edinburgh EH16 4ND City of Edinburgh Scotland Murrayfield Wanderers FC Murrayfield Stadium Roseburn Street Edinburgh EH12 5PH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 8993 info@murrayfieldwanderers.co.uk www.murrayfieldwanderers.co.uk Portobello FP RFC Duddingston Road West Cavalry Park Edinburgh EH15 3QN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 661 4554 barry.a.sinclair@talk21.com Royal Dick Veterinary College RFC Peffermill playing fieds Peffermill Road Edinburgh EH16 5LL City of Edinburgh Scotland Royal High Corstorphine RFC Union Park Saughton Road North Edinburgh EH12 7DY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 334 8063 president@rhcrugby.co.uk www.rhcrugby.co.uk Royal High Cougars Union Park Carrick Knowe Parkway Edinburgh EH12 7EF City of Edinburgh Scotland Stewart's Melville FP RFC Inverleith Ferry Road Edinburgh EH5 2DW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 551 2331 Email www.stewmelrugby.com Trinity Academicals RFC Bangholm Craighall Gardens Edinburgh EH6 4AR City of Edinburgh Scotland Watsonians FC Myreside Myreside Road Edinburgh EH10 5DB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 447 9151 Email www.watsoniansrugby.com 6 NATIONS RUGBY TEAMS Scotland RFU Murrayfield Stadium Roseburn Street Edinburgh EH12 5PJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 346 5000 info@sru.org.uk www.scottishrugby.org Ireland RFU Aviva Stadium Lansdowne Road Dublin 4 Dublin Ireland +353(0) 915 61568 info@irishrugby.ie www.irishrugby.ie Italy RFU Stadio Olimpico Via Foro Italico Rome 135 Rome Italy +39 0645213114 @ acimbrico@federugby.it www.federugby.it France RFU Stade de France Zac de Cornillion Nord Saint-Denis Paris France 01 69 63 65 11 www.ffr.fr England RFU Twickenham Stadium Whitton Road London TW2 7BA London England 0208 892 8877 info@rfu.com www.rfu.com Wales RFU Millennium Stadium Westgate Street Cardiff CF10 1NS Cardiff Wales 0844 249 1999 info@wru.co.uk www.wru.co.uk WEST LOTHIAN RUGBY TEAMS Bo'ness Rugby Club Bo'ness Recreation Centre Gauze Road Bo'ness EH51 9QB West Lothian Scotland Linlithgow RFC Mains Park Mains Road Linlithgow EH49 6DB West Lothian Scotland 01506 845087 mail@rugby.linlithgow.com www.rugby.linlithgow.com Livingston RFC Almond Park Craigshill Livingston EH54 5NP West Lothian Scotland 01506 434695 Email www.livingstonrugbyclub.com Queensferry Rugby Football Club Queensferry Dundas Avenue South Queensferry EH30 9JN West Lothian SCOTTISH BORDERS RUGBY TEAMS Berwick RFC Derwent water Terrace Scremerston Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2QY Scottish Borders Scotland www.berwickrugbyclub.co.uk Biggar RFC Biggar Rugby Club Hartree mill Biggar ML12 6QS Scottish Borders Scotland 01899 221219 www.biggarrfc.org.uk Duns RFC Castle Park Langton gate Duns TD11 3QQ Scottish Borders Scotland 07866 703 716 derekwsimpson@btinternet.com Earlston RFC The Haugh Mill Road Earlston TD4 6DG Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 849601 www.earlstonrfc.org.uk Gala RFC G Arena Netherdale Nether Road Galashiels TD1 3HE Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 755145 info@ galarfc.com www.galarfc.com Gala Star Vet 3G Arena Nether Road Galashiels TD1 3HE Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 800 340 Gala YM 3G Arena Nether Road Galashiels TD1 3HE Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 800 340 Hawick Harlequins RFC Wilton Lodge Park Wilton Lodge Park Road Hawick TD9 7JL Scottish Borders Scotland hawickharlequins@btinternet.com www.hawickharlequinsrfc.co.uk Hawick Linden RFC Volunteer Park Buccleuch Road Hawick TD9 0EH Scottish Borders Scotland Hawick RFC Mansfield Park Mansfield Road Hawick TD9 8AW Scottish Borders Scotland 01450 370707 secretary@hawickrfc.co.uk www.hawickrfc.co.uk Hawick YM RFC Rugby Football & Social Club Orrock Place Hawick TD9 0HQ Scottish Borders Scotland 01450 373179 www.hawickymrfc.co.uk EAST LOTHIAN RUGBY TEAMS Dunbar RFC Hallhill Sports Centre Kellie Road Dunbar EH42 1RF East Lothian Scotland 01368 864011 www.dunbar-rfc.org.uk Haddington RFC Neilson Park Mill Wynd Haddington EH41 4DB East Lothian Scotland 01620 823702 www.haddingtonrfc.co.uk Musselburgh RFC Park Stoneyhill Farm Road Musselburgh EH21 6RN East Lothian Scotland 0131 665 3435 www.musselburghrfc.com North Berwick RFC Recreation Park Dunbar Road North Berwick EH39 4DG East Lothian Scotland 0620 893 503 www.northberwickrfc.co.uk Preston Lodge RFC Pennypit Park Rope Walk Prestonpans EH32 9BE East Lothian Scotland 01875 813798 Ross High RFC Ross High Playing Fields Blawearie Road Tranent EH33 2DB East Lothian Scotland 01875 611645 rugby@rosshighrfc.co.uk www.rosshighrfc.co.uk MIDLOTHIAN RUGBY TEAMS Dalkeith RFC Park Eskbank Road Dalkeith EH22 3BQ Midlothian Scotland www.dalkeithrfc.co.uk Lasswade RFC Hawthornden Rosewell Road Bonnyrigg EH19 3PR Midlothian Scotland 0131 663 8452 lasswaderfc@btconnect.com www.lasswaderfc.co.uk Penicuik RFC Old Pavilion Public Park Penicuik EH26 8AU Midlothian Scotland 01968 676771 info@penicuikrugby.org www.penicuikrugby.org SCOTTISH BORDERS RUGBY TEAMS Jedburgh Thistle RFC Lothian Park Howdenburn Drive Jedburgh TD8 6NP Scottish Borders Scotland Jed-Forest RFC Riverside Park Bonjedward Jedburgh TD8 6UE Scottish Borders Scotland www.jedforestrfc.com Kelso RFC Poynder Park Poynder Place Kelso TD5 7EH Scottish Borders Scotland 01573-224300/ 223773 rugby@kelsorfc.co.uk www.kelsorfc.co.uk Langholm RFC Langholm Milntown Langholm DG13 0HG Scottish Borders Scotland 013873 81670 Melrose RFC The Greenyards High Street Melrose TD6 9SA Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 823424 rugby@melrose.bordernet.co.uk www.melroserugby.bordernet.co.uk Moffat RFC The Holm Selkirk Road Moffat DG10 9JQ Scottish Borders Scotland 01683220 003 ewanbell@nhs.net www.moffatramsrfc.org Peebles RFC Park Eastgate Peebles EH45 8AD Scottish Borders Scotland 01721 720494 peeblesrfc@talktalk.net www.peeblesrfc.org Selkirk RFC PHIL PARK Tower Street Selkirk TD7 4LS Scottish Borders Scotland www.selkirkrfc.com St Boswells RFC Jenny Moore's Road St Boswells Melrose TD6 0AL Scottish Borders Scotland Walkerburn RFC Park Montgomery Street Innerleithen EH44 6JP Scottish Borders Scotland secretary@walkerburnrugby.org.uk www.wakerburnrugby.org.uk

  • Guest House B & B | All About Edinburgh

    Guest House B & B Edinburgh Edinburgh has a large selection of place to stay from one night. Apartments, Hotels, Guest Houses and Bed and Breakfast accommodation. Below is a selection of B&B's and Guest Houses in the Edinburgh city centre post codes EH1, EH2 and EH3. Guest Houses Atlas Guest House 30 London Street Edinburgh EH3 6 NA City of Edinburgh Scotland 07783 902214 Edinburgh Bed and Breakfast Scott House 6 Broughton Place Edinburgh EH1 3RX City of Edinburgh Scotland 07722080138 Guest Houses Elder York Guest House 38 Elder Street Edinburgh EH1 3DX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1926 Edinburgh Bed and Breakfast Royal Mile Bed and Breakfast 227 High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1PE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 5917 Guest Houses Queen Charlotte Guest House 45 Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 3NH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 2000 Edinburgh Bed and Breakfast Emmaus House Bed and Breakfast 14 Gilmore Place Edinburgh EH3 9NQ‎ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 9413 Guest Houses Armadillo Guest House 12 Gilmore Place Edinburgh EH3 9NQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 6457 Guest Houses Ivy Braveheart Guest House 26 Gilmore Place Edinburgh EH3 9NQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 9192 Guest Houses Balmore Guest House 34 Gilmore Place Edinburgh EH3 9NQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 1331 Guest Houses Adam Drysdale Guest House 38 Gilmore Place Edinburgh EH3 9NQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 8952 Guest Houses Averon Guest House 44 Gilmore Place Edinburgh EH3 9NQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 9932 Guest Houses Valentine Guest House 19 Gilmore Place Edinburgh EH3 9NE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 5622 Guest Houses Cruachan Guest House 53 Gilmore Place Edinburgh EH3 9NT‎ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 6219 Guest Houses Castle Park Guest House 75 Gilmore Place Edinburgh EH3 9NU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 1215 Edinburgh Bed and Breakfast Capital West End 3 Torphichen Street Edinburgh EH3 8HX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 1204 Guest Houses Ailsa Guest House 11 Eyre Place Edinburgh EH3 5ES City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1433 Guest Houses Ardenlee Guest House 9 Eyre Place Edinburgh EH3 5ES City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 2838 Guest Houses Dene Guest House 7 Eyre Place Edinburgh EH3 5ES City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 2700 Guest Houses Eyre Guest House 5 Eyre Place Edinburgh EH3 5ES City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 3025 Edinburgh Bed and Breakfast Chester Street Apartments 22 Chester Street Edinburgh EH3 7RA City of Edinburgh Scotland 07957 558 658 Golfers Hotels

  • Bolton Village | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh

    Bolton Village East Lothian is close to Haddington and is famous for the family that lived and died there. Agnes Broun mother of Robert Burns, his brother and sister. Bolton Village East Lothian Bolton East Lothian was known to be owned by Sir John Halliburton in 1389 The Parish Church was first erected circa 1244 under the superiority of the Canons of Holyrood Abbey. The church became a ruin and a new church was built by Gilbert Burns brother of Robert Burns. Bolton Church Graveyard Bolton East Lothian The Grave of Gilbert Burns and his children Isabella, Agnes and Janet his mother Agnes Broun and sister Annabella. Bolton Do’cot Bolton East Lothian The Doo’cot in Bolton is directly across from the Old Parish Church where the family of Robert Burns are Buried. Grant’s Brae Bolton East Lothian Bolton near Haddington East Lothian was where Robert Burns’ family stayed (mother and brother and later sister). Robert Burns’ brother Gilbert Burns (1760 – 1827) and mother, Agnes Broun 17 March 1732 – 14 January 1820 (and later his sister Annabella) moved to Bolton East Lothian from Ayrshire. Gilbert oversaw the building of the new Bolton parish church which was completed in 1809. The cottage at Grant’s Brae is no longer there, the house was demolished and a roadside monument stands in its place. No more than one hundred yards northeast lies the drinking well used by the Burns family. It was lovingly restored in 1932 and dedicated to Agnes Broun. The dedication states: “Drink of the pure crystals and not only be ye succoured but also refreshed in the mind. To the mortal and immortal memory and in noble tribute to her, who not only gave a son to Scotland but to the whole world and whose own doctrines he preached to humanity that we might learn?”. The words from the monument at Grant’s Brae; NEAR THIS SPOT STOOD THE HOUSE IN WHICH | LIVED AND DIED | THE MOTHER | BROTHER AND SISTER OF SCOTLAND’S NATIONAL POET ROBERT BURNS The Well Grant’s Brae Bolton East Lothian Where Robert Burns mother Agnes Burns (nee Broun) collected the water for the household needs. The house where she lived (Grants Brae) with her son Gilbert and daughter Annabella, brother and sister of Robert Burns is near to Bolton East Lothian. Agnes Burns died 14 January 1820 age 88 years and is buried in Bolton Church yard as are Gilbert, Annabella and Gilbert’s daughter War Memorial Fountain Bolton East Lothian The war memorial is to those who fell in the first world war 10 from Bolton and in the second world war a further 4. Next - Colstoun

  • North Berwick | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh

    North Berwick with 2 golf courses, 2 magnificant golden sand beaches, holiday accommodtion, regular trains from Edinburgh 30 minutes away and plenty for the kids putting play areas tennis and basketball courts. See you soon. North Berwick East Lothian Coast Berwick Law North Berwick North Berwick Law, Law being an ancient word for rounded hill. North Berwick Law is a Volcanic plug over 300 million years old as the Castle rock is in Edinburgh. The first evidence of buildings on the Law is a Iron Age Hill Fort and further buildings date from the mid 1500s, 1800s and 1900s The first whale bones were erected on the North Berwick Law in 1709. Berwick Law due to its position on the east coast can be seen for 10s of miles, a good place to see it from is the Calton Hill in Edinburgh which shows how it was a important lookout for ships that were looking to invade Edinburgh. The hill is only just over 600 feet to the top 187 meters. The summit stone reads “live for the moment North Berwick East Lothian is 28 miles (45 klms) from Edinburgh a 45 minute drive or a 30 minute train ride. Once a small fishing village that has grown into a small town by the sea, with golden sand beaches, golf courses, great walks and historic places to visit. This was the holiday destination of Robert Louis Stevenson as his grandfather owned a house 'Anchor Villa' No.10 West Bay Road. It was demolished and replaced by another house. St Andrew’s Auld Kirk North Berwick East Lothian Coast St Andrew’s Kirk was a major site in the 12th century as pilgrims from all over Britain would visit this church prior to continuing their journey to St Andrews the home of Christianity in Scotland. The first Church on this site was circa 750 BC. It is thought that in the 12th century the Kirk was built by the Earl of Fife who owned the coastal lands around North Berwick as well as a castle that overlooked the East Bay. The Kirk at the harbour was abandoned in 1652 after a great storm and below is the porch which is all that remains. It is said that a ferry that took pilgrims over the water landed at Earlsferry in Fife as the Queens ferry would travel across the water to the areas called Queensferry on the other side of Edinburgh. The pilgrims believed that all their sins would be forgiven and any illnesses healed if the prayed in-front of St Andrew’s bones. Anchor Green North Berwick East Lothian Coast Circa 1590 it is said that 200 witches danced around Anchor Green while listening to the Devil preach from the pulpit. The witches were trying to summoned a store to sink the ships of James VI. A servant girl, Gelie Duncan was tortured until she confessed to the happenings. Gelie Duncan and many others were burned at the stake in Edinburgh for their part in the ritual. The old St Andrews burial ground is where the present seabird centre stands now. When the old burial ground which lay where the Seabird centre stands now was excavated, coffins were found dating back over 300 years. Red Celtic Memorial Cross North Berwick East Lothian Coast The red granite cross in front of the Seabird Centre is a memorial to Catherine Watson. The inscription reads: “Erected in memory of Catherine Watson of Glasgow, aged 19 who drowned in the East Bay, 27th July 1889 while rescuing a drowning boy. The child was saved, the brave girl was taken” It was created by her fellow art students. Following a drowning accident in 1889 Sir Walter Hamilton-Dalrymple initiated a subscription for a memorial cross to be erected on Anchor Green. The Red Granite Celtic Cross, with the inscription ‘ Erected in memory of Catherine Watson of Glasgow, aged 19 who drowned in the East Bay, 27th July 1889 while rescuing a drowning boy. The child was saved, the brave girl was taken.’ The memorial was designed by S. McGlashen in 1890. RNLI & Air Force Coastal Command North Berwick East Lothian Two memorials to the long service of the people that watch out for all in distress at see The RNLI lifeboat Crews and the pilots of the Royal Air Force Coastal Command North Berwick East Lothian. Robert Louis Stevenson Lane North Berwick East Lothian Robert Stevenson the engineer and lighthouse builder had a summerhouse in North Berwick and his grandson Robert Louis Stevenson the Author and poet spent his summers in North Berwick. The locals have made a lane in the centre of the High Street a memorial to the Stevensons with pictures and writings and a mural on the walls of the lane. Ben Sayers Putting Green North Berwick East Lothian Ben Sayers the golf company was founded in 1873 and is the oldest in the world. Ben Sayers was born in Fox Lane in Leith on the 23rd June 1856. He started making golf balls at the age of 20 he also player in many golf open championships. Ben’s wife was the only employee and made upto twelve dozen golf balls a day. Davie Strath a Scottish professional Golfer and ball maker died in 1879, his mould and ball making machine came up for auction, James Law bought it for Ben Sayers, which began a career in golf manufacturing. The first clubs Ben invented were the ‘Benny’ and ‘jigger’ In 1898 was when Ben Sayers described himself as a ‘golf club manufacturer’ prior to that he called himself a ball maker. Ben Sayers died in 1917. Making clubs and balls opening golf clubs and designing golf courses worldwide. A man of great stature standing at 5′ 3″ tall (1.6 mtrs). The statue of Ben Sayers stands at the edge of the first putting green which opened 14 June 1920 Five Islands @ North Berwick The Five islands of North Berwick are The Bass Rock, Lamb, Craigleith, Fidra and May all All have their own story. Link to Islands North Berwick Island Compass On the harbour there is a compass which shows the position of the islands and their names North Berwick Coastal Communities Museum The Coastal Communities Museum in North Berwick covers the history of the area from the Romans and when it was part of Northumbria, the Cromwell invasion and the prison on the bass rock in the Jacobite times. The history of East Lothian is long and full of places to visit Castles, Roman Forts, Flight Museum , Birthplace of the Scottish Flag (Saltire). Doocot Bass Rock Farm North Berwick East Lothian Round Doocot found on Bass Rock Farm at the east side of Berwick Law built circa 1750 was a fresh meat source. Taking the young pigeons for tender meat. Still used by Pigeons but not for human consumption. Green Golf Plaque Heritage Trail North Berwick East Lothian Arnaud Massy was the first non-Briton to win the Open Championship In 1907 and remains the only French golfer to have won any of the four 'Major' events. There are 47 plaques on walls around North Berwick commemorating golfers, course designers, Course Architects, Amateur and Professional Golfers. Scottish Seabird Centre North Berwick East Lothian The Scottish Seabird Centre was opened on the 21 May 2000 by HRH Prince Charles. The Seabird Centre has boat trips around the islands giving a tour that is second to none. Things to see on the trip are birds, Puffin, Gannet, Kittiwake, Cormorant, Tern, Gull and many more species, also wildlife include Dolphin, whales, and seals. There is a Lobster Hatchery and for people not wishing a trip on the water, there is live camera feeds attached to computers to enable everyone to see what’s happening on the islands. The Bass Rock has the largest Gannet colony in the world and was described by Sir David Attenborough as the 12 wonder of the natural world. Memorial Fountain The fountain was erected in the memory of Isabella Catherine Lewis 1939 North Berwick Beaches There are two golden sandy beaches in North Berwick both are safe for swimming and water sports. The west beach is backed onto the Golf Course and the east beach (Milsey beach) has a sea pool safe for children to swim in. With shops restaurant and accommodation all within 5 minutes walk a great place for all the family to holiday. This was a favourite place for the Stevenson family (Robert Louis Stevenson). Just up the coast was where he got the idea for Treasure Island see Fidra Island at Yellowcraigs at Dirleton. Lobster Hatchery North Berwick Lobsters are important to the ecosystem and are also a food that is eaten around the world. The present stocks of Lobster in the Scandinavian and Mediterranean seas have collapsed and we wish to rectify the problem. The Lobster Hatchery is just one of the methods in replenishing stocks of Lobster. The Hatchery has returned over 14,000 young lobster into the Firth of Forth. Go and see the work that is being done to replenish stocks, St Andrews Kirk Potts North Berwick St andrews Kirk Potts taking over from the Kirk at the harbour opened circa 1675 but took until circa 1825 to be complete. By the mid 1800's it became to small for the town and it held its last service in 1883 The St Andrews Blackadder Church opened in 1883. All three Kirks (churches) had the same bell. It rang at the harbour then the potts and finally it was replaced in 1928 after ringing in the blackadder. The bell can be seen outside the St Andrews Blackadder church. One of the oldest bells in Scotland. St Andrews Blackadder Church North Berwick John Blackadder was minister in Dumfriesshire. He was outspoken against the appointment of bishops in the Church of Scotland. In 1662 he was thrown out of his parish and he moved to Edinburgh. He spent most of his time travelling and preaching in open-air where people would gather to her his sermons. (Open air preaching, conventicle, was illegal until 1689). He became very popular all over the south of Scotland. The government forces arrested John Blackadder in 1681 for his conventicles church assemblies in the outdoors. He was convicted and set to the prison on the Bass Rock. He died while a prisoner on the Bass Rock in 1685. While imprisoned he spent his time writing his memoirs. Bass Rock Prison As he died in the parish of St Andrew he was taken to St Andrews Kirk Potts for burial. On the formation of the Free Church of Scotland in 1843. A group of parishioners in North Berwick decided to name their new church, Blackadder Church in 1845 after the preacher John Blackadder and in 1989 the parishes of St Andrew and Blackadder were united to form the present parish of St Andrew Blackadder. His grave still stands in St Andrews Kirk Potts. John Blackadder Gravestone Inscription Here lies the body of Mr John Blackadder, minister of the gospel at Troqueer, in Galloway, who died on the Bass, after five years' imprisonment, Anno Dom. 1685, and of his age 63 years. Blest John, for Jesus' sake, in Patmos bound, His prison Bethel, Patmos Pisgah found, So the bless'd John, on yonder rock confined,- His body suffer'd, but no chains could bind His heaven-aspiring soul; while day by day, As from Mount Pisgah's top, he did survey The promised land, and view'd the crown by faith, Laid up for those who faithful are till death. Grace formed him in the Christian Hero's mould - Meek in his own concerns in's Master's bold; Passions to Reason chained, Prudence did lead - Zeal warmed his breast, and Reason cool'd his head. Five years on the lone rock, yet sweet abode, He Enoch-like enjoyed, and walk'd with God; Till, by long living on this heavenly food, His soul by love grew up too great, too good To be confined to jail, or flesh and blood. Death broke his fetters off, then swift he fled From sin and sorrow, and by angels led, Enter'd the mansions of eternal joy; - Blest soul, thy warfare's done, praise, love, enjoy. His dust here rests, till Jesus come again, - Even so, blest Jesus, come come, Lord Amen. Fred Marr North Berwick East Lothian Fred Marr was Mr North Berwick, a fisherman and boatman. He spent his life taking passengers on boat trips and showing them the wonders of the islands around his home of North Berwick. In 1970 when he purchased the Sula I, and upgrading to two years later to Sula II. The Marr family ran the tour boat for 50 years before retiring. A bronze plaque can be seen near the harbour in his honour. The inscription read; Fred Marr 1923-2008 Fred was a fisherman, boatman to the Northern Lighthouse Board conservationist guardian of the Bass Rock Gannets and rescuer of countless orphaned chicks. For over 50 years passengers from all over the world sailed with Fred to the Bass Rock and neighbouring islands, most famously on the clinker- built Sula II. Fred was widely known and well respected. He will be remembered for his seamanship, his knowledge of local islands and for his kindness and integrity. A proud family man, Fred gave much and asked for little. North Berwick Harbour Old Swimming Pool A harbour at North Berwick has been in existence circa 1150 when ferries would take passengers to Fife on their pilgrimage to St Andrews. An outdoor swimming pool opened on the east side of the harbour on the 8th August 1900. Scottish swimmers and Olympic champions of the past, Ellen King (my primary school teacher at Bruntsfied Edinburgh) and Jean McDowall were both regular swimmers at the old outdoor swimming pool. Ellen King (1909-1994) was a winner of two Olympic medals and three Commonwealth Games medals and also held world records. The outdoor pool at North Berwick was the place to be seen with swimmers and divers from all over the world taking part in exhibitions. North Berwick Castle Castle Hill North Berwick East Lothian On 'Castle Hill' North Berwick, a castle was built by the MacDuff family of Fife, known as North Berwick castle. The castle was held by three noble families, the MacDuff, the Stewart and the Lauders. Originally built in the 13th century as a wooden motte and bailey and later the Lauder family built a stone tower with a defensive enclosure circa 1380, which was abandoned when they moved to a castle they built on the Bass Rock circa 1410. There are no remains of the original castle at Misley but from the Castle Hill top are amazing views. Castle Hill Views North Berwick East Lothian Information board top of Castlehill North Berwick and present view October 2020. Edward VII Coronation Tree North Berwick East Lothian The Sycamore tree in Quality Street at the east end of North Berwick High Street was planted by King Edward the VII on the 10th October 1902 to commemorate the Royal visit to North Berwick in the year of his coronation. North Berwick Mercat Cross The first mention of the Mercat Cross was in September 1751 when the Magistrates decided to reposition the Cross to a more appropriate location. The next mention was in December 1770 : "Taking into consideration the ruinous condition of the Cross and inconvenient situation of it, the Council have agreed that it shall be removed and put up a new at the east end of the Toune House, also that the stair up to the Council Chamber being much failed, agree that it should be completely made up and repaired." The Lodge Wall Tower House Lodge Gardens North Berwick East Lothian The Lodge and Wall Tower House are at the entrance to the Lodge Grounds. The lands became the possession of Sir William Dick 1640 and then moved to Sir Hew Dalrymple his ancestor. Lord North Berwick (Hew Dalrymple), president of the court of session on 7 June 1698 and died in the position on 1 February 1737. The Lodge and grounds were built and constructed by his son. The Lodge grounds in North Berwick town centre is a great place to spend time walking through the different gardens. The first garden has many flowers a sundial, an aviary, rose garden and glass houses. The gardens have many standing stones and wide open spaces. There are many different types of trees a lavender garden and a children’s play park. There is also a memorial to the Japanese surrender in 1945. Next -Tantallon - Auldhame

  • Dunbar | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh

    Dunbar famous for a battle and the birthplace of John Muir. The start of the John Muir way, winvention of the Spiral propeller, 3 harbours, and a Castle ruin that was burnt down on several occasions. ACastle has been here since before the Romans came to Britain. Dunbar Town East Lothian Coast Dunbar Town East Lothian Coast Dunbar is one of six towns in East Lothian and was part of Northumbria until 1018. Dunbar became a royal burgh in 1369. It has three harbours and is a fishing village with a long history going back to circa 850 AD. The Town grew around the Castle which was of strategic importance over the centuries. The Castle was destroyed in 1568 as many castles and important buildings were by the English led by Cromwell. The Town has a famous son who became the founder of the national parks in America and the John Muir Way is a route from Dunbar to Helensburgh of circa 134 miles which was the route taken by John Muir on his way to the ship that would take him to the new world. Dunbar Castle Dunbar East Lothian Coast Dunbar Castle, the First timber fort was occupied by the Votanidi tribe, a tribe that controlled the east of Scotland and England between the River Forth and Humber during the roman invasions. Then came Kenneth MacAlpin King of Pics and First King of Scots who owned the castle in 849 AD. Circa 1070 it was in the hands of the Earl of Cumbria. It was not until 1018 that Dunbar was in Scotland as the border was moved to the present position at that time. By circa 1200 it had become a substantial fortification and when King John attempted to take the castle in 1214 but failed. The castle was lost to the English army of Edward I in 1296. The next 200 plus years saw the castle change hands between the Scots and English on several occasions and in this time it was almost destroyed. In 1567 following the Battle of Carberry Hill, the castle was destroyed by an Act of Parliament, and has been a ruin ever since. Dunbar Battery Dunbar East Lothian Coast The battery was built to protect the entrance of the forth and Dunbar against attack from ships. Dunbar had been attacked on two occasions during the American War of Independence 1779 and 1781 so the battery was built. In 1914 became a hospital for wounded soldiers of the 1st World War. The roof was blown off in a storm in 1936 and demolished in 1937. Iit was renovated in 2016-17 and reopened in 2017. The Timeline Path Dunbar Battery Dunbar East Lothian Coast 1781 The Battery is built to protect Dunbar against American Raiders. 1815 The military outpost is abandoned at the end of the wars with France. 1822 Gunfire from the Battery welcomes King George IV to Scotland. 1874 Am isolation hospital for infectious diseases is built within the walls. 1927 the hospital is converted into emergency housing. 1937 The hospital building is demolished after a storm and fire. 2017 the Battery reopens as a place for everyone to enjoy. The Door to Dunbar. For centuries the sea was the main way in and out of Dunbar. Inside of the Battery Sea Cubes by Donald Urquhart Rock Formations View of the “Long Steeple” left Next “Round Steeple” and the small group of three are “The Yetts” from the Battery. Robert Wilson Inventor of the Spiral Propeller 1827 Dunbar East Lothian Coast Robert Wilson was born in September 1803. As a boy he developed a method to propel boats through water at speed. His idea came from windmill blades, at nine years old he had propelled a boat with rotary skulls. By the age of 24 he had boats being propelled on the River Forth. The Earl of Lauderdale seeing what he had achieved took his invention to the Admiralty, who showed no interest. Robert Wilson was never recognised in his lifetime for his invention. Pettit Smith and Ericsson are often credited but everyone knows the truth. John Muir Way Dunbar East Lothian The John Muir Way is a path stretching from coast to coast across Scotland. The route traces his steps from Dunbar on the east coast to Helensburgh on the west coast. Where he embarked on his journey to the new land (America). Follow his route from Edinburgh to Dunbar on the shores of the Firth of Forth ( Edinburgh to Prestonpans 16 km (10 miles) Prestonpans to North Berwick 25 km (16 miles) North Berwick to Dunbar 23 km (15 miles). John Muir Statue High Street Dunbar East Lothian John Muir was born on the 21 April 1838 in Dunbar, East Lothian, Scotland and died on the 24 December 1914 at the age of 76 in Los Angeles, California, U.S.A. He became the Father of American national parks and champion of world conservation and was forever a Scot. John Muir was naturalist, environmental philosopher and author. John Muir immigrated with his mother and father and brothers and sisters in 1849 at the age of 11 years. He went on to be a national icon and was named the "patron saint of the American wilderness". John Muir Plaque Dunbar East Lothian The plaque on the statue of John Muir as a boy that stands in Dunbar High Street is inscribed; John Muir (1838-1914) “Around my native town of Dunbar, I loved to wander in the fields, to hear the birds sing and along the seashore to gaze and wonder at the shells and seaweeds, eels and crabs in the pools amongst the rocks when the tide was low; and best of all to watch the waves in awful storms thundering on the black headlands and craggy ruins of the Old Dunbar Castle when the sea and the sky, the waves and the clouds, were mingled together as one”. John Muir Brown Bear The has been erected in memory of John Muir who was born in Dunbar. Andy Scott the sculptor who came to recognition with the world famous Kelpies Sculptures has created another masterpiece. It stands off the A1 road, take the exit to Asda at the Spott Roundabout Dunbar and the first opening on the left at the garden centre it is 200 yards along a path. The Bear that I have called Dyn after an old spelling of Dunbar (Dynbaer) Dyn Greek meaning power or force. The 5 metre high bear is a powerful sculpture to a great man John Muir. A Tribute to John Muir Dunbar East Lothian. The plaque on the base of the gigantic Brown Bear reads; This plaque was unveiled by Mrs Brenda McNeil to commemorate the completion of this Brown Bear sculpture, paying tribute to Dunbar-born naturalist John Muir (1838-1914) who plated a key role in the establishment of National Parks in the U.S.A and around the world. Commissioned by Hallhill Developments Ltd Sculptor: Andy Scott 19th November 2019 John Muir Birthplace Museum. John Muir was born in Dunbar East Lothian in 1838 and spent most of his childhood exploring the coastline of East Lothian before the Muir family immigrated to USA (Wisconsin) in 1849. He continued exploring and in 1867 walked circa 1000 miles across America to the Gulf of Mexico. In 1894 he published his first book ‘The Mountains of California’. In his life he travelled in every continent on the planet returning to Scotland on several occasions. He was the founder of National Parks in the U.S. and died at the age of 76 years always remembering his routes a true Scot to the end. Dunbar’s Harbours The first harbour in Dunbar was at the mouth of the Biel Water in 1370. Cromwell Harbour built circa 1570 is where the ships landed with supplies for Cromwell’s army after Cromwell had taken Dunbar on the 3rd September 1650. He marched on Edinburgh and took the castle with his army barracked in Holyrood. Victoria Harbour opened in 1842. The Harbour Gate Dunbar The gate between the old Harbour and Victoria Harbour The Fisherman’s Monument The Fisherman’s Monument was erected in 1856. It was dedicated to the fishermen of Dunbar and has a barometer on the front with a carrera marble carving of fisher folk at the harbour side. The monument stands at the land side of Cromwell Harbour Dunbar. The inscription reads; “Presented to the fishermen of Dunbar, to whose perilous industry the burgh owes so much of its prosperity”. The carved relief depicts “A fisherman in his boat, while his wife points to the barometer below and begs him not to sail. In the boat an old women points to a dark cloudy sky, while two boys prepare to cast off”. The Fisherman’s Monument The plaque on the harbour wall reads; “O weel, may the boatie row, That wins the Bairnie’s bread !”. Extract from “The Boatie Rows” by John Ewen (1741-1821) Oh weel may the boatie row | An muckle may she speed | Weel may the boatie row | That wins oor bairnies’ breid | The boatie rows, the boatie rows, | The boatie rows fu weel, | An’ muckle luck maintain the boat, | The murlin an the creel | We dropped oor lines in Largo Bay | An fishes we got nine, | There’s three t’ bile an three t’ fry, | An three t’ bait the line | When Sandy, Jock and Janetie | Are up an gotten lear | They’ll help t’ gar the boatie row | An lighten a’ oor cares Oh weel may the boatie row | That fills a heavy creel | An helps t’ clad oor bairns an’ aa | An buys oor porridge meal. Meanings of some words: Gar: make Lear: learning Murlin: a round narrow-mouthed basket used by fishermen Dunbar Artillery The Gun on the hill overlooking Dunbar Harbour is a 25 Pounder Q F Mark II gun which was the type used to fire the signal at Edinburgh Castle daily at One O’clock until the 30th of November 2001. It was then changed to a more modern gun. The Dunbar gun has been on the hill as a memorial to the Second World War since 2005. The Canon from circa 1600 that helped to protect the Castle from the English. Dunbar Town House Museum The Dunbar town house museum and gallery has a distinctive tower and clock and has been the centre of Dunbar life since circa 1530. The building previously the Tolbooth (jail and courthouse) was built in the early to mid-16th century. The building now house the museum and gallery telling the story of Dunbar back through the centuries. Outside you can see the old Mercat Cross which stood across the road. On the corner of the High Street and West Port. There is also a statue of Dunbar’s’ famous John Muir who was born in Dunbar in 1838. Dunbar Mercat Cross The original mercat cross stood at the High Street junction with West Port the setts make a black cross in the road where the cross once stood. It was removed in the 18th century. Part of the present cross was discovered in the garden of a local bank. It was rebuilt with other stones and erected here in 1912 at the Town house museum. Lauderdale House (Dunbar House) Dunbar House a Georgian house that stand at the end of Dunbar High Street was built (1734) by James Fall. James a wealthy merchant and Baillie of Dunbar for 8 years and Member of Parliament from 1731 -1743. After his death his son Robert took charge of the family business and through bad judgement was sequestrated in 1788. This allowed the Earl of Lauderdale to take control the house and lands. The central body of the house was the original build and the two wings and central pillars were an extension to the house, which were made by the Earl of Lauderdale in 1792 and designed by Robert Adam. In 1859 taken by the Government for the Haddingtonshire Militia. Wesleyan Chapel Dunbar The Wesleyan Chapel in Dunbar is the oldest Methodist Church in Scotland. The Church inscription states it was erected in 1764 and that John Wesley preached her around that time. The first Methodist preacher to be appointed to Dunbar was William Ellis, in 1766. Jubilee Fountain Dunbar East Lothian The cast iron Jubilee Fountain is to commemorate the official inauguration of a new water supply to Dunbar on 14th March 1896. The Jubilee Fountain named, due to 1897 to be Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee, stood in Bayswell Park. The fountain was moved to its present position and replaced by a gas light and horse trough. Creel Loaders Statue Dunbar East Lothian Creel Loaders relate to the two men that had to put the baskets (creel) on the back of the fish wives who would carry it as far as the border towns to sell the catch. This was in addition to looking after their children and cleaning the fish before selling it. Girl with Swan Statue Dunbar East Lothian The statue of a girl with a swan was unveiled in 1998 and can be found outside Lauderdale House in Dunbar. By Fife sculptor David Annand, Dr Thomas Reginald Badger Dunbar East Lothian Tom Badger served as a doctor with RNLI in Dunbar for 26 years and was a local GP for 30 years. Sadly he died in August 2010, and a memorial bench has been built in his memory overlooking the Victoria Harbour and Dunbar Castle. The Dunbar Lifeboat Station was Established in 1808 and has saved many lives and has had many honours bestowed upon it. A man that served his community and others for a lifetime. Dunbar Memorial Obelisk Dunbar East Lothian The Obelisk was erected to honour the Lothians and Berwickshire Yeomanry and their participation in the Second Boer War (1899-1902). It also honours the Yeomanry that fell in the First World War (1914-1918) Second World War (1939-1945). The National War Memorial in Edinburgh Castle has records of all the fallen in the wars. Dunbar Parish Church East Lothian The first collegiate church to be established in the Lothians stood on the present church site in 1342. Ths church was removed in 1819 a further Gothic church was built and opened in April 1821. This church was unfortunate as it went on fire in 1987 and was again rebuilt and opened again in Nov 1991. Not to be missed is the monument to Sir George Home Earl of Dunbar which can be seen in Dunbar Parish Church George Home, Earl of Dunbar died in 1611. He was knighted by James VI and became Earl of Dunbar in 1605 George Home is shown kneeling in prayer The Earl of Dunbar died in 1610 in London. When the church was rebuilt a new origin was installed which was imported from the United States. The cross that stands at the window, which fire damage is visible, was made from beams of the previous church. the manse is a comfortable residence, built in 1767. Battle of Dunbar 1650 Memorial Stone East Lothian Battle of Dunbar took place on the 3rd September 1650, a major battle between Scotland and England in Wars of the Three Kingdoms. This is the battle Cromwell and English Parliamentary forces defeated Leslie and the Scots Covenanter Army supporters of King Charles II. The fight for the Crown of England for Charles II of Scotland. This was a short battle of 2-3 hours where 1000-3000 Scots were killed and 8000-10000 taken prisoner, with the English losses reported as just minimal a score dead and three score injured. Trinitarians Monastery Dunbar East Lothian The Trinitarians Monastery or Red Friars Monastery ruins still stand in Dunbar town centre first built circa 1220. All that remains is a tower which was converted into a Do'cot 1716. War Memorial Cross Dunbar East Lothian Dunbar War Memorial Celtic Cross Inscription; IN MEMORY OF THOSE FROM THE BURGH & PARISH OF DUNBAR WHO GAVE THEIR LIVES IN THE GREAT WAR 1914-1918 "THEIR NAME LIVETH FOR EVERMORE" The cross was erected in 1921, in memory of the fallen in the Ist and 2nd World Wars East Links Park Dunbar East Lothian West Barns and Belhaven was an industrial area with Flax mills 1790, cotton-factory 1815, a distillery and foundries now the area is a suburb of Dunbar at East Links West Barns there is an Adventure Park with all types of animals and a petting zoo. Belhaven has a famous Brewery which you can take a tour. Belhaven Beach, golden sand safe water and water sports. Belhaven Beach Dunbar East Lothian Belhaven Beach, golden sand safe water and water sports. Surfing, Stand Up Paddleboarding,Snorkeling, cliff jumping, Open water Swimming John Muir Country Park Dunbar East Lothian Belhaven Brewery Dunbar East Lothian Belhaven Brewery is the oldest operating brewery in Scotland. The Brewing started by the Benedictine Monks circa 800 years ago. There is a lintel on the Brewhouse with the date 1719 engraved on it. From 1719 the John Johnstone, then his heirs owned the Brewery until 1815. Then Ellis Dudgeon the husband to a Johnstone took over and the brewery traded under the name of Dudgeon & Co, a name retained for more than a 150 years. Ellis Dudgeon died in 1876 and was succeeded in turn by his son-in-law Alexander Hunter, a maltster from nearby Musselburgh. The Hunter family remained until they sold in 1972. The brewery was sold and in the following 20 years went through hard times before a management buyout in 1993. Guided by Stuart Ross it became a profitable and successful independent brewery once again. The Brewery was sold to Greene King (Founded in 1799) in 2005 and is still doing well. Broxmouth House and Park East Lothian Broxmouth House and Park was present prior to 1662 as shown on map Johanne Adair of the Lothians. (A house and walled Garden). This is believed to be where Cromwell had stayed in 1650 when burning Scotland. Most places that Cromwell occupied were burnt or destroyed. The 1st Duke of Roxburghe (John Ker) was to be given subsequent titles one of which was Viscount Broxmouth in 1707. Prior to 1707 there was no title Duke of Roxburghe. Brooksmyth (Broxmouth) was plotted on the map 1715 of Nicolas Sanson see NLS Maps. The house built for the Duke and Duchess of Roxburghe circa 1730 on the area once occupied by the earlier building. There are many things to see at Broxmouth Park, which include a tombstone of Sir William Douglas, Cromwell’s Mound on which Oliver Cromwell instructed his army at Doon Hill. A cedar Tree planted by Queen Victoria. An ice-house, in an earth mound close to the Lake side. Iron Gates, Walled Garden, Observatory, South Lodge and water features Broxmouth Observatory Foxlake Adventure Park Dunbar East Lothian Foxlake An adventure area with the centre attraction a manmade Lake for water activities. Foxlake Low Ropes Assault Course Try the low ropes assault course over water choose from the 3 different levels of difficulty. Safety equipment & wetsuit included bring your own foot ware, (which will get wet). 50 minute sessions Foxlake Wakeboarding Wakeboard over water pulled at high speed by an overhead zipwire. Never tried before don't worry qualified instructors are on site to get you up and boarding. Safety equipment & wetsuit included bring your own foot ware, (which will get wet). Age restriction 6+, 15 minute sessions Foxlake Zip Wire Trail Zip Wire Trail fly through the trees on the zipline at 30 foot from the ground. There are two zip wires side by side so you don't have to go solo. The zip wire course take circa 2 hours to complete with all safety equipment supplied. Age, Height, and weight restrictions for safety apply. Foxlake Ringo Rides Not in the sea with the motorboat but in the lake pulled by an overhead wire Give the same excitement and speed as when on the sea. up to 3 adults or 4 children per ride. Safety equipment & wetsuit included bring your own foot ware, (which will get wet). 15 minutes per session Foxlake Segway Trail A Segway is a two-wheeled, self-balancing personal transporter. Don't worry if you've not used one before full experienced instructors are on hand to make sure you can get the best out of your segway. With full instruction on safety and controls. 20 min instruction and 40 minutes on the segway trail. Age limits apply subject to terms and conditions. Foxlake Cafe Food and drink available all day.

  • Edinburgh Equestrian Centres | Horse Racing | All About Edinburgh

    Edinburgh Equestrian Centres Horse Racing pony trekking horse riding show jumping for all levels and ages one ride to courses all equipment provided Equestrian Centres & Race Courses Equestrian Centres - Horse Racing - Pony and Trap Racing Edinburgh, East Lothian, Midlothian, West Lothian and Scottish Borders Sports Activities Equestrian Centres Edinburgh Equestrian Horse Riding School and Stables Tower Farm Riding Stables Liberton Drive Edinburgh EH16 6NS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 664 3375 Equestrian Centres Scottish Borders Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Dryden Riding Centre A7 south of Selkirk Selkirk TD7 4NP Scottish Borders Scotland 07831 355674 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Bailey Mill Trekking Centre B6318 Newcastleton TD9 0TR Scottish Borders Scotland 01697 748 617 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Cowdenknowes Equestrian Centre B6356 south of Earlston Earlston TD4 6AA Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 848020 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Peebles Hydro Stables Innerleithen Road Peebles EH45 8BQ Scottish Borders Scotland 01721 721 325 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Hazeldean Riding Centre Knowetownhead Hawick TD9 8RU Scottish Borders Scotland 01450 870419 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Langlee Riding School Langlee Jedburgh TD8 6PB Scottish Borders Scotland 01835 862 560 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Linglie Stables Linglie Road Selkirk TD7 5LT Scottish Borders Scotland 01361 840239 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Nenthorn Equestrian Centre Nenthorn Kelso TD5 7RY Scottish Borders Scotland 01573 228270 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Ferniehirst Mill Lodge Riding Centre Oxnam Jedburgh TD8 6PQ Scottish Borders Scotland 01835 863 279 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Kailzie Equestrian Centre Peebles EH45 9HT Scottish Borders Scotland 01721 729121 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Ian Stark Equestrian Centre A7 south of Selkirk Selkirk TD7 4NP Scottish Borders Scotland 01750 20202 Equestrian Centres Midlothian Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Pentland Hills Icelandic's Carlops Penicuik EH26 9NL Mid Lothian Scotland 01968 661 095 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Edinburgh Lasswade Riding Centre Kevock Road Lasswade EH18 1HX Mid Lothian Scotland 0131 663 7676 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Edinburgh Equestrian Centre Salters Road Dalkeith EH22 2NJ Midlothian Scotland 0131 654 2563 Equestrian Centres West Lothian Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Houston Farm Riding School Houston Mains Holdings Uphall EH52 6JX West Lothian Scotland 01506 811 351 Equestrian Centres East Lothian Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Seacliffe Stables Auldhame North Berwick EH39 5PP East Lothian Scotland 07768 627 547 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Appin Equestrian Centre Drem North Berwick EH39 5BL East Lothian Scotland 01620 880366 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Harelaw Equestrian Centre Harelaw Farm Cottages Longniddry EH32 0PH East Lothian Scotland 01875 853 559 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Whiteloch Farm Riding & Trekking Stables Whiteloch Road Macmerry EH33 1PQ East Lothian Scotland 01875 613 662 Horse Racing Horse Racing - Pony and Trap Racing Edinburgh East Lothian and Scottish Borders East Lothian Racecourse Horse Racing Musselburgh Race Course Linkfield Road Musselburgh EH21 7RG East Lothian Scotland 0131 665 2859 Scottish Borders Racecourse Horse Racing Kelso Race Course Golf Course Road Kelso TD5 7SX Scottish Borders Scotland 01668 280 800

  • Leaderfoot | 3 Bridges | All About Edinburgh

    Leader foot is unique with 3 bridges built 1778, 1865 and 1973 all crossing the River Tweed a 19 span Viaduct, old stone bridge and the present A68 Road. not to forget the poetry stones. Leaderfoot Bridges Scottish Borders DRYGRANGE VIADUCT (LEADERFOOT VIADUCT) The magnificent structure that crosses the river Tweed is the Drygrange Viaduct a nineteen span, single track railway viaduct. Which was built in 1865 the 19 sandstone arches measures 40 feet (13m) span. The highest pillar is 114 feet tall above the water level. OLD DRYGRANGE BRIDGE Drygrange Bridge, at Leaderfoot was built circa 1778. A 4-span rubble bridge which was an engineering first when it was built. This was the original crossing for the main A68 road which takes you to England. This was thought to have been built where an old roman bridge stood and before that a ferry crossing. NEW DRYGRANGE BRIDGE The New Drygrange Bridge was opened in 1973 to carry the A68 highway over the River Tweed just up from the conflux with the Leader Water. Poetry Stones The river runs from west to east Roads south to north From bank to bank three bridges span Three centuries worth Before these the fly-boat brae led down to its ferry near the ghost-line of the roman way on the outward journey builders pay attention to the piers so the arch can spring taking you far from what you see to what you’re not yet seeing salmond sandstone pillar rise above leaderfoot the meeting of the two singing streams by leafy Ravenswood for when the Tweed is running high from wintery moor and moss Old Drygrange Bridge is standing here to carry you across. River Tweed Scottish Borders The River Tweed, depicts the Border between Scotland and England. The River Tweed is 97 miles (156 km) long and flows west to east across the Scottish Borders into England. At one time there were hundreds of mills that used the rivers power to manufacture cloth. The most famous thing linked to the River Tweed is Salmon, generating vast income for the local region. It is one of the best Salmon fishing rivers in Scotland.

  • Castlehill | Royal Mile | All About Edinburgh

    About Edinburgh and the Castlehill, Royal Mile, Edinburgh. A short road leading to Edinburgh Castle with many attractionsand places to visit. One of the oldest streets in Edinburgh dating befor the 14th century. All About Edinburgh has everything at your fingertips. Castlehill Attractions Royal Mile Edinburgh All About Edinburgh Castlehill Edinburgh is a short road that begins at the Castle Esplanade and ends at the Tolbooth Kirk. The gothic spire being the highest point in central Edinburgh constructed between 1842 and 1845, now the headquarters International Festival society. The other attractions in the street are the; Camera Obscura & World of Illusions, (One of the oldest tourist attractions in the city), Cannonball House, Its name derived from the cannonball embedded in the outside wall of the house. Witches Well, where over 300 witches were burned at the stake. The Scottish Whisky Experience, where you can see how whisky is made and try one of the many whiskies available. The Scottish Weaving Mill previously the reservoir for Edinburgh, now a retail outlet with the best selection of Scottish goods available, also see Tartan being made on the only working looms in the city. The All About Edinburgh books are available in store the best guide to the whole of Edinburgh. Castlehill Royal Mile Edinburgh Witches Well Castlehill Royal Mile Edinburgh The site of the Witches Well is situated at the top of Castlehill on the west wall of The Tartan Weaving Mill where an iron wall fountain commemorates the place where over three hundred women were burned at the stake, accused of being witches in the 16th Century. There were more Witch burnings carried out at Castlehill than anywhere else in Europe. Witches Well Plaque Castlehill Royal Mile Edinburgh This fountain, designed by John Duncan, R.S.A is near the site on which many witches were burned at the stake. The wicked head and serene head signify that some used their exceptional knowledge for evil purposes while others were misunderstood and wished their kind nothing but good. The serpent has the dual significance of evil and wisdom. The foxglove spray further emphasises the dual purpose of many common objects. The plaque was unveiled in 1894 Castle Wynd Royal Mile North Steps Castle Wynd North Royal Mile Castlehill Edinburgh is a set of steps with housing on the east side that begins at Castlehill next to the Edinburgh Castle Esplanade and ends in Johnston Terrace Edinburgh. The House at the top of Castle Wynd North is Cannonball House which has survived through 3 sieges of Edinburgh Castle in 1650 by Cromwell, in 1689 by William of Orange and by the rebel Jacobite Army in 1745, when General Preston shot Cannon from the Half moon battery at the rebels a cannonball lodge in the wall and remains there to this day. At the foot of the steps directly across the road (Johnston Terrace) is Castle Wynd South steps which ends at the Grassmarket a pedestrian precinct with bars, restaurants and shops. Edinburgh Reservoir Tartan Weaving Mill Castlehill Royal Mile Edinburgh This is an opportunity to see the full story of kilt making, from the wool on the sheep via the weaving of the tartan cloth to the making of the kilt. Try out the weaving loom for yourself, or dress up in ancient Scottish costume for a souvenir photograph. The picture on the left shows the Tartan Weaving Mill from Ramsay Garden, below a sword that would have been used at the time of William Wallace. See the armoury in the Tartan Weaving Mill. Tartan Weaving Mill Tartan Weaving Mill (On 5 floors) Scottish Goods / Café / Whisky Tasting Cannonball House Castlehill Royal Mile Edinburgh Can you spot the cannon ball embedded in the wall. The story is that the cannon ball was carefully placed here by engineers to mark the height above sea-level of the fresh springs which provided Edinburgh with its first piped supply of fresh water, in about 1621. The cannon ball can be seen embedded in the wall above the first-floor window in Castle Wynd North. On the opposite side where the Tartan Weaving Mill is now, was the site of a reservoir that served the well heads in the old town of Edinburgh. In 1991 the reservoir was no longer required and is now conserved as the Edinburgh Tartan Weaving Mill. The Cannonball The cannonball embedded in the wall can be seen from the steps that go down to Johnstone Terrace from Castlehill. Legend has it that in 1745 the castle garrison fired the cannon ball at Bonnie Prince Charlie’s encampment at Dunsapie Loch but missed and hit the house. Patrick Geddes Heritage Trail Castlehill Royal Mile Edinburgh Patrick Geddes (1854 – 1932) was an Educator, Conservationist, Town Planner, Philosopher, Sociologist, Biologist, Botanist and Ecologist. Born in Ballater, Royal Deeside. The Edinburgh Patrick Geddes Heritage Trail was produced by the Sir Patrick Geddes Memorial Trust in the year 2000. You can you can find out more from the Patrick Geddes Trust. Next - go to Ramsay Garden and Lane Camera Obscura Castlehill Royal Mile Camera Obscura (Outlook Tower) World of Illusion. The Camera Obscura (Outlook Tower was one of the original tourist attractions in 1850s Edinburgh, the first attraction being the Walter Scott Monument. The Camera Obscura gives an amazing live panoramic view of the city of Edinburgh. See the people in Edinburgh walking about the streets below and pick them up in your hand. The telescopes let you view amazing rooftop views of the city. It was named the Outlook Tower in 1892. Take a walk around the outside walkway at the top of the Tower for more amazing views. Castlehill Attractions The Scotch Whisky Experience Castlehill School Royal Mile Edinburgh Castle hill Primary School opened in 1889 and is now closed as a school. The front of the school can be seen from Johnston Terrace Edinburgh. The building now houses The Scottish Whisky Experience which is entered from the Castlehill across from Ramsay Lane. The Scottish Whisky Experience tells the story of the history of whisky making, from the stills in the hills to the world wide industry of today. See possibly the world’s largest collection of Scotch whisky and the chance to taste the nectar of Scotland. The whisky experts will help you find the ideal whiskies for your individual taste in the McIntyre whisky gallery. There is also a chance to shop for the whisky you love. No driving afterwards. Tasting over 18 years of age only). Scots Whisky Experience Skinner's Close Royal Mile Castlehill Edinburgh Skinner’s Close was the originally Built by the Incorporation of Skinner’s and Furriers and a William Brown Skinner had a house in the close. It was also the site of Fortunes tavern before moving Old Stamp Office Close then to Nicholson Square and finally to St Andrew’s Square. Fortune’s Tavern was a place for the well-heeled and gentlemen of Edinburgh. This close was demolished to make way for the present building the Camera Obscura circa 1850 Semple's Close Royal Mile Castlehill Edinburgh Semple’s Close was named after the owner Lords Semple of Castle Semple (SEMPILL). The mansion was originally built for Lady Semple in 1638. Lord Hugh Semple Purchase a property next door to increase the size of his present residence in 1743. A military officer, Major in the Cameronians, Commander of the Black Watch and Colonel of the Edinburgh Regiment and commanded the left wing of the Hanoverian Army at Culloden. Inscription above door of Semple’s Mansion PRAISED BE THE LORD, MY GOD, MY STRENTH & MY REDEEMER ANNO DOM 1638. Boswell's Court Royal Mile Castlehill Edinburgh Boswell Court Castlehill is the site of the famous Witchery Restaurant and Lodging. Named after Dr Boswell the owner circa 1690 and previously known as Lowthian’s Land , but it is said that the Earl of Boswell also resided here. What can be seen on a lintel over a door in the close is the inscription “O LORD IN THE IS AL MI TRAIST” Jollie's Close Royal Mile Castlehill Edinburgh Jollie’s Close named after the land and building in Castlehill owned by Patrick Jollie, and later by Alexander Jollie who was a writer in 1859. Now part of the Witchery hotel apartments which is based in Boswell’s Court Castlehill. Castlehill Royal Mile Palace and Chapel Mary of Guise The first building you will walk past on the Castehill is the site where Mary of Guise had her Palace (pictured). Mary of Guise was the daughter of Antoinette of Bourbon and Claud Count of Guise. Mary of Guise married King James V in 1538. They had a daughter born in Linlithgow Palace in 1542 and at a week old became the Queen of Scotland on her father’s death. Her name was Mary. (Mary Queen of Scots).The building was also used as the Scottish Parliament in 1990s. Marie de Guise died in June 1560. The English and French, agreed the Treaty of Edinburgh. The military forces of both withdrew from Scotland which allowed the Scottish people to govern themselves. A Scottish Parliament was formed in Edinburgh on 10 July 1560, attended by 14 Earls, 6 Bishops, 19 Lords, 21 Abbots, 22 Burgh Commissioners, and over 100 Lairds. On the 24 August the Scottish parliament passed a series of Acts that entirely destroyed the Roman Church in Scotland. The celebration of mass was made illegal and was punishable by many things including death. Palace and Chapel Mary of Guise Castlehill Royal Mile Highland Kirk The Hub The International Festival HQ stands at the foot of Castlehill and at the top of the Lawnmarket. The Hub’s spire is the highest point in central Edinburgh. The building was constructed around 1845 as the Victoria Hall to house the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland. In 1929 the Church of Scotland ceased to use the building and it became a temporary home for a variety of congregations. It was named the Highland Tolbooth and then St John’s Church in 1956 and finally closed in the early part of the 1980s. In 1999 the building was transformed into The Hub, offices and a performance space for the Edinburgh International Festival. Sir Rudolf Bing founding Director of Edinburgh International Festival 1947 Blue Plaque at d0or. Next - Johnston Terrace Edinburgh

  • Abbey Strand | Shops & Businesses | All About Edinburgh

    Royal Mile Abbey Strand Edinburgh information on all businesses in edinburgh covering Edinburgh City Royal Mile Old & New Towns and suburbs. Shops and Businesses from local arts and crafts to designer stores and High street department retailers. Edinburgh is the shopping capital od Scotland. Abbey Strand Royal Mile Edinburgh Shops, Restaurants, Cafes, Accommodation Place of Holyrood House Abbey Strand is a short road to the entrance of the Palace of Holyroodhouse. Abbey Strand History and Attractions ADVERTISE HERE Palace of Holyrood House Entrance Abbey Strand Edinburgh EH8 8DX City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)303 123 7334 Afternoon Tea at the Holyrood Palace Abbey Strand Edinburgh EH8 8DX City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)303 123 7334 ADVERTISE HERE Sanctuary Gift Shop Abbey Strand Edinburgh EH8 8DX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 2365 Holyrood Abbey Abbey Strand Edinburgh EH8 8DU City of Edinburgh Scotland Abbey Strand Apartments Abbey Strand Edinburgh EH8 8DU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 230 0500 Next - Princes Street Shops

  • Castle Street | Shops and Businesses | All About Edinburgh

    Castle Street for restaurants, cafes, Takeaways retail stores, fashion, and attractions. The first Scottish American Mortgage Company opened here and on the North side of Castle Street is the House of Sir Walter Scott. Wind in the Willows writer Kenneth Graham was born here. Castle Street Edinburgh & North Castle Street Shops - Businesses - Food - Drink - Accommodation Castle Street History & Attractions Advertise Your Business Here More Details Advertise Your Business Here More Details Advertise Your Business Here More Details CASTLE STREET Edinburgh New Town High & Mighty 4 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3DW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0800 2988083 Edinburgh New Town Castello Coffee Co 7a Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3AH City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh New Town Ted and Muffy Shoes 8 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3DW City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh New Town Virgin Money 9 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3AH City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh New Town Castle Thai Spa 9a Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3AH City of Edinburgh Scotland CASTLE STREET Edinburgh New Town Costa Coffee Café 13a Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3AH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 1637 Edinburgh New Town Pizza Hut Restaurant 15 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3AH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 2801 Edinburgh New Town Orchid Lodge Restaurant 15A Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3AH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 2505 Edinburgh New Town TSB Bank 19 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3AF City of Edinburgh Scotland 01312 262 696 Edinburgh New Town Golden Dragon Restaurant 21 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3DN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 7327 CASTLE STREET Edinburgh New Town Amber Rose Restaurant / Bar 22a Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3HT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1224 Edinburgh New Town Treasure Trove Wool Shop 23a Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3DN City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh New Town Pret A Manger Café 25 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3DN City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh New Town TGI Friday Restaurant 26 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3HT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0844 372 7927 Edinburgh New Town Room in the City Apartments 30 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3HT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 5784 CASTLE STREET Edinburgh New Town Kenneth Grahame Plaque 32 Castle Street Edinburgh H2 3HT City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh New Town Badger & Co Pub Restaurant 32 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3HT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 5430 Edinburgh New Town Thomas Pink Ltd 32a Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3HT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4264 Edinburgh New Town Chaophraya Restaurant 33 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3DN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 7614 Edinburgh New Town Castle Guest House 38 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3HT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1975 North Castle Street Edinburgh Shops - Businesses - accommodation North Castle Street History & Attractions Advertise Your Business Here More Details Advertise Your Business Here More Details Advertise Your Business Here More Details NORTH CASTLE STREET Edinburgh New Town Tonic Lounge Bar 34a North Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 6431 Edinburgh New Town Castle Guest House 38 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3HT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1975 Edinburgh New Town Sir Walter Scott’s Home 39 North Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3DN City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh New Town Murray Snell LLP 40 North Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 626 6625 Edinburgh New Town Time 4 Thai Restaurant 45 North Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3BG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 8822 NORTH CASTLE STREET Edinburgh New Town Guild & Guild WS Solicitors 51 North Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3LJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 9155 Edinburgh New Town Honours Restaurant 58a North castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3LU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 8514 Edinburgh New Town Spanish Consulate General 63 North Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3LJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 1843 Edinburgh New Town Waka Café 67 North Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3LJ‎ City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh New Town Mark Greenaway Restaurant 69 North Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3LJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1155 Next - West End Village

  • Taxis Cabs | Black Taxis | All About Edinburgh

    Edinburgh Black Taxis are all registered with the city council and are regulated by them. Taxis are metered and can also be a fixed fare. Ther is no distance to short or long for a taxi journey. Up to 6 passengers and luggage can be transfered to your destination. Call 0131 229 2468. Taxis Edinburgh Taxis All About Edinburgh Only Edinburgh Taxis can be flagged down on the streets. without pre booking. Look for taxis with the taxi light above the front of the taxi. Payment can be made by cash or card and mobile apps Edinburgh taxis operate different makes of vehicle that can hold up to 6 passengers. If you wish a vehicle with more space, when booking ask for a 6 seater and the company will provide this for you at no extra charge. Taxis Edinburgh Taxis All About Edinburgh Central Taxis No 1 in Edinburgh Transfers from / to all UK Mainland Airports To / From Edinburgh Rail Station or Hotel or residence Open an account for your business or personal use Central Edinburgh Taxis Edinburgh Taxis Central Taxis Edinburgh Our Vehicles All wheelchair accessible Traditional London Black Cab 5 passenger seats Mercedes or Peugeot 6 passenger seat vehicle New LEV and Electric Cabs 6 Passengers seat vehicle 0131 229 2468 Pay by cash or card book by telephone or online Edinburgh Taxis Central Taxis Edinburgh 0131 229 2468 B ook your taxi cab in advance online / by phone Pay by Cash Debit or C redit Card Go to www.taxi-edinburgh.co.uk and Download the app booking from wherever you are. Call on WhatsApp for free international mobile calls +44 131 229 2468 Door to Door Service Edinburgh Taxis Central Taxis Edinburgh Over 300 cabs available Up to 6 passengers with luggage Prices set by City of Edinburgh Council Metered Fares within Edinburgh 0131 229 2468 Pay by cash or card book by telephone or online Private Hire Cars Tours & Transfers Transfers from the Airport, Rail Station or Hotel Luggage Delivery up to 6 passengers Tours Advance Bookings Payment by Credit / Debit card or Cash There are also a number of private hire companies operating within the city including Uber. Their fares are not regulated by Edinburgh Council so be diligent about prices. Private Hire and Uber are not permitted to pick customers up from the streets without being pre booked. If they do thy have broken and the law and their insurance is void which would result in any accidents not being covered. The Private hire companies do not require the same testing as the Black taxi cab drivers require. Get your Taxi first from Central Taxis who prioritise bookings to the Airport, Rail station and Customer account holders. +44 (0)131 229 2468 Next - Bus & Train Services

  • Robert Burns | Attractions | All About Edinburgh

    Robert Burns Scotlands Poet. His birthday is celebrated annually on the 25th January. Born in 1759, died 21st July 1796. Visit Edinburgh at All About Edinburgh Burns Supper Scotland 25th January Robert Burns Robert Burns the Poet was born in Alloway Scotland and finally died in Dumfries Scotland. His birthday is celebrated every year worldwide when people come together at a Burns Supper. A dinner to celebrate the life of Robert Burns. Traditionally Haggis neeps and tatties are the menu with drams of whisky. Finally before the food is served a ceremony is performed called “Address to a Haggis” and a Grace is also performed. Burns Supper Address to a Haggis j Robert Burns Poetry Fair fa’ your honest, sonsie face, Great chieftain o’ the puddin’-race! Aboon them a’ ye tak yer place, Painch, tripe, or thairm: Weel are ye wordy o’ a grace As lang’s my airm The groaning trencher there ye fill, Your hurdies like a distant hill, Your pin wad help to mend a mill In time o need, While thro your pores the dews distil Like amber bead. His knife see rustic Labour dicht, An cut you up wi ready slicht, Trenching your gushing entrails bricht, Like onie ditch; And then, Oh what a glorious sicht, Warm-reekin, rich! Then, horn for horn, they stretch an strive: Deil tak the hindmaist, on they drive, Till a’ their weel-swall’d kytes belyve Are bent like drums; Then auld Guidman, maist like to rive, ‘Bethankit’ hums. Is there that ower his French ragout, Or olio that wad staw a sow, Or fricassee wad mak her spew Wi perfect scunner, Looks down wi’ sneering, scornfu view On sic a dinner? Poor devil! see him ower his trash, As feckless as a wither’d rash, His spindle shank a guid whip-lash, His nieve a nit: Thro bloody flood or field to dash, Oh how unfit! But mark the Rustic, haggis-fed, The trembling earth resounds his tread, Clap in his wallie nieve a blade, He’ll make it whissle; An legs an arms, an heads will sned, Like taps o thrissle. Ye Pow’rs, wha mak mankind your care, And dish them out their bill o fare, Auld Scotland wants nae skinking ware That jaups in luggies: But, if Ye wish her gratefu prayer, Gie her a Haggis! The Selkirk Grace This is the grace given before the Burns Supper when the Haggis is cut with a dagger. Fair fa’ your honest, sonsie face, Great chieftain o’ the puddin’-race! Aboon them a’ ye tak yer place, Painch, tripe, or thairm: Weel are ye wordy o’ a grace As lang’s my airm The Plaque can be found on the wall of Robert Burns Rose Garden Burn Street Dumfries Robert Burns Ploughing the field outside his house Ellisland Farm Next - Robert Louis Stevenson Story

  • Thistle Street | businesses | All About Edinburgh

    Thistle Street and Thistle St Lanes in the New Town has a mixture of shops restaurants pubs with accommodation between George Street and Queen Street Edinburgh. Thistle Street and lanes Retail Stores, Food, Drink, Accommodation When the new town was originally built Thistle Street stretched the same length as George Street. But due to the architects Young and Hill as part of their agreement Thistle Street was divided into three sections. as it stands today. From Charlotte Square - Castle Street North (Young Street) From Castle Street North - Frederick Street (Hill Street) and from Frederick Street to St Andrews Square Thistle Street. In all three streets there are lanes off both the north and south sides. Thistle Street History Attractions Advertise Your Business Here More Details Edinburgh Thistle Court First Houses Built New Town Thistle Court Edinburgh EH2 1AY City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Thistle Street Ski Independence Tours 5 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 243 8097 Edinburgh Thistle Street Destiny Scotland 17 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 3888 Edinburgh Thistle Street Sotheby's Auctioners 21 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1DF City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Thistle Street Hendersons Bistro 25 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1DX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3605 Edinburgh Thistle Street Selenita Childrens Clothes 25C Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1DX City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Thistle Street Fountain Court Apartments 27 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1DX City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Thistle Street Cox & Co 28 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1EN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 6017 Edinburgh Thistle Street Lane North Café Saint Honor’e 34 Thistle Street Lane North Edinburgh EH2 1EA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 2211 Advertise Your Business Here More Details Edinburgh Thistle Street Alchemia Studio Jewellers 37 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1DY City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Thistle Street Thistle Street Bar 39 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1DY City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Thistle Street Pam Jenkins Fashion 41 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1DY City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Thistle Street Kakao by K 45 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1DY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 3584 Edinburgh Thistle Street Iris Restaurant 47a Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1DY City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Thistle Street Howie Nicholsby Ltd 48 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1EN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 9450 Edinburgh Thistle Street 21st Century Kilts 48 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1EN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 9450 Edinburgh Thistle Street Howie Nicholsby Ltd 48 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1EN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 9450 Edinburgh Thistle Street 21st Century Kilts 48 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1EN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 9450 Edinburgh Thistle Street Dusit 49 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1DY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 6848 Advertise Your Business Here More Details Pilates Attic 50 Thistle Street Lane North East Edinburgh EH2 1DA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 2093 Edinburgh Thistle Street Bon Vivant Wine Shop 51 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1DY City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Thistle Street Jane Davidson Women's Wear 52 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1EN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3280 Edinburgh Thistle Street World (The) 55 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1DY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3275 Edinburgh Thistle Street Bon Vivant 55 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1DY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3275 Edinburgh Thistle Street Fishers in the City 58 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1EN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 5109 Edinburgh Thistle Street Alce Fashion 61 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1DY City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Thistle Street El Cartel Mexican Restaurant 64 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1EN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 260 9699 Edinburgh Thistle Street Joseph Bonnar Jewellery 72 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1EN City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Thistle Street Café Marlayne 76 Thistle Street Edinburgh EH2 1EN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 2230 Next - Hanover Street Businesses

  • Aberlady Village | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh

    Aberlady with 2 famous golf courses on Scotlands Golf Coast, its conections to Gosford House and Luffness Castle with a further 4 golf courses within a mile its a place for golfers. Aberlady East Lothian Aberlady East Lothian is a small village on the east coast of Scotland and was an important part of Scottish history due to its position on the Forth. Aberlady Bay was used as a the main Port of Hamilton with many cargo ships transporting good s over Europe. The Port was also one of the main defences against the English ships that accessed the coastline to attack Edinburgh circa 1550 and 1650. Aberlady East Lothian Kilspindie Castle Aberlady East Lothian Aberlady also has two golf courses Kilspindie where there is an old ruin of Kilspindie Castle and a newer course Craigielaw Golf Club which has great views of the Firth of Forth and Fife. Aberlady Bay Shipwrecks Aberlady East Lothian In the bay at low tide remnants of shipwrecks from the 17th century and mini submarine can be seen stuck there since the second world war. Aberlady was known as the Port of Haddington circa 1550, but a harbour has been written about for centuries, as it was also the main harbour for a passenger ferry for pilgrims to the isles Iona and Lindisfarne in the 7th century. Aberlady Parish Church Aberlady East Lothian Aberlady Parish Church has historic records dating back to circa 1450. 1452 a watch Tower was built then later the church was added and further addition were made 1509. Outside the church can be seen a loupin’ on stane which was step to assist the mounting and dismounting of a horse or coach. Aberlady Mercat Cross Aberlady East Lothian Aberlady Mercat Cross has lost its top and stands next to the cross cottage in the main street Aberlady. A mercat Cross will be found in a market towns and villages in Scotland it was where proclamations and news was passed on to the residents. A symbol of authority. The oldest mercat cross still in its original position can be seen in Prestonpans, one of five that have a platform for the proclamations and a drum house below which had steps up to the platform. The others being Edinburgh, Dundee, Perth, Aberdeen, Selkirk and Elgin, the later two were less ornate. The top of the cross will normally have a unicorn but older crosses have the towns coat of arms as seen on the Selkirk cross with a lion and a shield that would have shown the coat of arms. Nigel Tranter Memorial East Lothian Nigel Tranter spent most of his life in Aberlady East Lothian and is one of Scotland’s prolific writers and authors. He was born in Glasgow in November 1909 and died in January 2000 and is buried in the Graveyard in Aberlady. The Memorial cairn at the roadside near the ‘footbridge to enchantment’ which was named by Nigel Tranter has a memorial stone and Plaque. There is a Nigel Tranter Centre which can be found in the church in Athelstaneford East Lothian. Nigel Tranter Plaque Aberlady Bay The bronze plaque inscription reads; Nigel Tranter | 1909 -2000 | Scottish Writer| who walked this coastline daily, writing as he went |’he was always glad to return here, to….. the unending | sigh of the waves on the far sand-bar at the mouth of the bay, | the calling of the seabirds, the quacking od mallard and the | honking of the wavering wild geese skeins which criss-cross the sky’ Aberlady Bird Sanctuary Aberlady East Lothian Aberlady bay and was designated a Local Nature Reserve in 1952, being the first to receive the status in Britain. The headquarters of the Scottish Ornithologists’ Club is situated in Aberlady and is named after George Waterston, a founder of the club which has a library that has over 3000 books on birds the largest ornithological library in Scotland. There is a bridge that takes you to the coastline and the bird sanctuary. Luffness Castle (Tower House) Aberlady East Lothian Luffness Castle was built circa 1230. Luffness has a long history and in 1311 Edward II was in occupation of the castle while try to get Robert the Bruce into Battle. Mid 1311 Edward returned Home. Luffness was attacked during the rough wooing in 1548 prior to the siege of Haddington. Th Castle was finally rebuilt circa 1580 by the Earl of Bothwell. In 1739 the present owners the Hope Family (Hopetoun House) to possession of the Castle and altered and extended it in the early, mid and late 19th century. It has now provision as holiday accommodation. In the Grounds are historic remains Luffness Friary, Friary Tomb and do'cot. Myreton Motor Museum Aberlady East Lothian The Myreton Motor Museum in Aberlady is open every day and has vehicles signs Bikes army vehicles from the world wars which has been collected by the owner since the museum opened in 1966. fee payable. Brand's Well Aberlady East Lothian Brand's Well known to be a Holy Well from Luffness water. A fresh spring well at one time stood by a fresh water stream that came from the Gullane Hills. Mini Subs from World War II Aberlady Bay The mini subs were used as target practice after the war to see what type of ammunition would be suitable in destroying such craft. After the tests the government left the two subs to the elements being of no further use. The wrecks can be found about 100m from the water's edge and can be seen at Low tide. Next - Gullane Tours and Transfers

  • Petrol Filling | Service Stations | All About Edinburgh

    Looking to fuel your car Petrol, Deisel, Gas, filling stations Edinburgh and Lothians. Where a filling station is open 24 hours and charging points for electric Petrol Filling Stations Edinburgh and Lothians Fuel Your Vehicle Don't Run Out. Petrol Filling Stations are not just to get your fuel but most have shops that sell food and soft drinks and many items required in an emergency. Always keep your fuel tank at a safe level. Fuel Your Vehicle Don't Run Out. Petrol Filling Stations BP - SHELL - TEXACO - TESCO - SAINSBURY - ASDA - MORRISONS - ESSO Travel & Transfers Transfers from the Airport, Rail Station or Hotel Luggage Delivery Luxury vehicles Tours Advance Enquiry & Bookings Enquiries Bookings Prices City of Edinburgh Petrol Filling Stations Petrol filling Station 14 Ashley Place Edinburgh EH6 5PX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 478 6021 24 hour petrol filling station 21 Barclay Place Edinburgh EH10 4HW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 4246 Petrol filling Station 117 Biggar Road Edinburgh EH10 7DU City of Edinburgh Scotland 01314455479 24 hour petrol filling station 382 Calder Road Edinburgh EH11 4AS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 458 5419 24 hour petrol filling station 23 Canonmills Edinburgh EH3 5HA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 0642 24 hour petrol filling station 1 Cliftonhall Road Edinburgh EH28 8PW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 333 3874 Tesco Petrol filling Station Edinburgh Colinton Mains Drive Edinburgh EH13 9AH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0345 6779249 24 hour petrol filling station 277 Comiston Road Edinburgh EH10 6AP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 452 6900 24 hour petrol filling station 277 Comiston Road Edinburgh EH10 6AP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 452 6900 Sainsbury's Petrol filling Station 185 Craigleith Road Edinburgh EH4 2EB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 0704 City of Edinburgh Petrol Filling Stations 24 hour petrol filling station 166 Glasgow Road Edinburgh EH12 8LS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 339 9900 24 hour petrol filling station 166 Glasgow Road Edinburgh EH12 8LS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 339 9900 Sainsbury's Petrol filling Station Longstone Inglis Green Road Edinburgh EH14 2EP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 465 5200 Sainsbury's Petrol filling Station Cameron Toll Lady Road Edinburgh EH16 5PB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 665 5200 24 hour petrol filling station 105 Liberton Gardens Edinburgh EH16 6ND City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 658 1390 Tesco Petrol filling Station Edinburgh Meadow Place Road Edinburgh EH12 7UQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0345 6779193 Asda Petrol filling Station 3 New Mart Road Edinburgh EH14 1RJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 442 6750 Morrisons Petrol filling station 4 Piersfield Terrace Edinburgh EH8 7BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 661 5661 Morrisons Petrol filling station 102 Pilton Drive Edinburgh EH5 2HF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 315 4970 Petrol filling Station 109 Queensferry Road Edinburgh EH4 3HL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 315 3919 City of Edinburgh Petrol Filling Stations 24 hour petrol filling station 31 Ratcliffe Terrace Edinburgh EH9 1SS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 668 4090 24 hour petrol filling station 126 Restalrig Road Edinburgh EH7 6UW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 467 7141 Asda Petrol Filling Station 2 Sandpiper Drive Edinburgh EH6 6NX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 561 2300 24 hour petrol filling station 7 Seafield Road Edinburgh EH6 7LE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 553 0430 Petrol Filling Station 187 Slateford Road Edinburgh EH14 1PU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 443 3161 Morrisons Petrol filling station 47 South Gyle Broadway Edinburgh EH12 9JU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 317 1185 Petrol filling Station 1 Stenhouse Road Edinburgh EH11 3LW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 455 9900 Asda Petrol filling Station 100 The Jewel Edinburgh EH15 3AR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 669 9151 Morrisons Petrol filling station 3 Waterfront Broadway Edinburgh EH5 1SA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 551 2742 Sainsbury's Petrol filling Station 39 Westfield Road Edinburgh EH11 2QW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 347 8560 Sainsbury's Petrol filling Station Cameron Toll Lady Road Edinburgh EH16 5PB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 665 5200 Edinburghs vandringsturer

bottom of page