All About Edinburgh
Search Results
Search this site
403 results found with an empty search
- East Lothian | Towns Villages | All About Edinburgh
East Lothian mainly situated on the coast of Scotland with many historic places to visit. Great beaches and for water sports. See all the places and where they are on the maps of East Lothian, Musselburgh, Prestonpaans Wallyford, Cockenzie, Tranent, Haddington, Inveresk, North Berwick and Dundar. East Lothian Attractions East Lothian area maps concentrates on the East Lothian Area which is the coastal area from Musselburgh to Dunglass and inland to the A68 road near Pathhead and back to Musselburgh. There are many small Towns and Villages with much history many Castles and Famous people’s birth places. East Lothian can be reached by bus and train from Edinburgh with North Berwick 30 minutes by train and 45 by car. Famous People of East Lothian Famous people born in East Lothian include John Muir, John Witherspoon, John Knox, Jock Wallace, King Alexander II, and Willie Park Senior. Castles of East Lothian Castles include Hailes, Fa’side, Dirleton, Bass Rock, Winton Castle, Preston Tower, Redhouse Castle, Markle Castle, Dunbar Castle, Penkaet Castle, Ormiston Castle, Tranent Tower and many more. East Lothian area has over 40 golf courses from parkland to links. Golf in East Lothian The first open champion came from Musselburgh where the open championship was first played in the East of Scotland with Prestwick being the west Coast Course. The rules of Golf were written by the Gentlemen Golfers of Edinburgh, who became The Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers, who first played at Bruntsfield links Edinburgh then Leith Links then Musselburgh Links and finally Muirfield Links Gullane where they are today. Beaches and Water Sports in East Lothian With East Lothian mainly situated on the coast of Scotland there are many past times that involve the water swimming, snorkelling, diving, fishing, boating, sailing, surfing, water skiing, windsurfing and with many golden sand beaches all that is needed is the sunshine and why go to foreign parts when everything is in East Lothian. Accommodation and Activities East Lothian East Lothian has an abundance of wedding venues, hotels, apartments cottages, caravan parks and camp sites, cottages and house to rent. There are hills to climb, cycle and walkways if there was snow East Lothian would have everything for all seasons and with Edinburgh a short distance away with the largest artificial Ski Slop in Europe and night club, bars restaurants, festivals, shopping for designer or high street fashion why go anywhere else? Entering East Lothian from Edinburgh on the coast road from Portobello. The first town is Musselburgh next is the Town of Prestonpans. Then comes a number of villages of Cockenzie, Port Seton, Longniddry, (Gosford House Estate), Aberlady, Gullane, Archerfield, Dirleton North Berwick, Tantallon and Dunbar. There are coastal golf courses in Musselburgh | Prestonpans Longniddry | Aberlady | Gullane | Archerfield | North Berwick | Dunbar Aberlady Village See All Attractions Archerfield Resort See All Attractions Cockenzie & Port Seton See All Attractions Dunbar Town See All Attractions Dirleton Village See All Attractions Gosford House See All Attractions Gullane Golf Village See All Attractions Longniddry Village See All Attractions Musselburgh Town See All Attractions North Berwick See All Attractions Prestonpans Town See All Attractions Tantallon Auldhame See All Attractions East Lothian Villages Towns & Villages History and Attractions There are 6 towns in East Lothian and over 30 villages below are the 6 towns and a selection of villages. The history of East Lothian Starts circa 970 AD prior to that date it was part of Northumbria. The Scottish Border between England moved to its present position after the battle of Battle of Carham in 1018. Athelstaneford See All Attractions Bolton Village See All Attractions Colstoun Village See All Attractions Drem Village See All Attractions East Fortune See All Attractions East Linton See All Attractions East Saltoun See All Attractions Fenton Barns Village See All Attractions Garvald Village See All Attractions Gifford Village See All Attractions Haddington Town See All Attractions Humbie Village See All Attractions Inveresk Village See All Attractions Markle Village See All Attractions Ormiston Village See All Attractions Pencaitland Village See All Attractions Stenton Village See All Attractions Spott Village See All Attractions Tranent Town See All Attractions Traprain Village See All Attractions Wallyford - Carberry See All Attractions Whitekirk Village See All Attractions Whittingehame Village See All Attractions East Lothian is renowned for its golf courses Monktonhall Golf Course Old Musselburgh Golf Links Royal Musselburgh Golf Course Longniddry Golf Course Craigielaw Golf Course Kilspindie Golf Course Luffness Golf Course Gullane Golf Courses (1,2,3) Muirfield Golf Course Archerfield Golf Courses (Dirleton and Fidra) Renaissance Golf Course North Berwick Golf Links The Glen Golf Course Dunbar Golf Course Eyemouth Golf Course ALSO History, Beaches, Countryside and wildlife Castles, Stately Homes, and birthplaces of famous people. museums and Battle sites. Esk Mills where the worlds first fishing nets were made. Musselburgh Horse Racing Golf History Old Musselburgh Links Golf Course where the open championship was played 6 times Open Champions 1874 Mungo Park 1877 Jamie Anderson 1880 Bob Ferguson 1883 Willie Fernie 1886 David Brown 1889 Willie Park, Jr. Gosford House and Gardens where Outlander was filmed (Sightseeing and Guided Tours) Redhouse Castle (Ruin), Dirleton Castle and Gardens, Tantallon Castle (Ruins), Hailes Castle (Ruins) North Berwick Attractions and Shopping, Prestonpans Battle site, 81 Witches Memorial
- Visit Scotland | Linlithgow Palace | All About Edinburgh
Linlithgow Palace was home to the kings and queens of Scotland. Mary Queen of Scot's birthplace. On the north side a Loch and next to the only remaining building from the early 1400's in Linlithgow. Linlithgow Palace Charles I made an official visit to Linlithgow and stayed in the Palace in 1633. Oliver Cromwell defeated the Scots at Dunbar in 1650 and entered Linlithgow in October occupying Linlithgow Palace. Linlithgow Palace has had many residents Bonnie Prince Charlie stayed here in 1745. The government troops led by the Duke of Cumberland on leaving in pursuit of Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobite army set the Palace on fire in February of 1746. This was a common practice by the English as Cromwell’s troops set alight Holyrood Palace when leaving in 1650 on their way to Linlithgow. The palace you see today is much as it was left by Cumberland's troops in 1746. Linlithgow Palace Originally built on the site of a great manor house circa 1145 when David I was in residence. It was King Edward I in 1301 that first built a wooden stronghold around the Manor House and St Michael’s Church. The The stronghold remained in English hands for over 13 years until the English were defeated at Bannockburn by King Robert I in 1314 and he reclaimed the Palace for Scotland. The future saw many English invasion of Scotland the Town and Stronghold were burnt to the ground with only St Michael’s church surviving. The rebuilding of the stronghold took place over a long period by a succession of Kings starting with James I in 1425 and continued by James III, James IV, James V and James VI. The remains of Linlithgow Palace that you can see today were there legacy. The completion of Linlithgow Palace took until circa 1620. James IV left Linlithgow Palace and was never to return to Linlithgow Palace as he led the battle at Flodden and became the last monarch to die in battle (1513). James IV son was born at Linlithgow Palace in April 1512 as was his daughter Mary a few days after James V died in December 1542. Mary Queen of Scots Statue Linlithgow Linlithgow Palace Outer Gate Above the archway can be seen Stone Carved Painted Heraldry Coat of Arms of King James V circa 1550 The Order of the Garter | The Order of the Thistle | The Order of the Golden Fleece The Order of St. Michael Mary, Queen of Scots Mary Stuart or Mary I of Scotland, (8 December 1542 – 8 February 1587) Born in Linlithgow Palace and christened in St Michael's Church Queen of Scotland from 14 December 1542 until her forced abdication in 1567. Executed 8 February 1587 in Fotheringhay Castle. James Charles Stuart ; 19 June 1566 – 27 March 1625) was King of Scotland as James VI from 24 July 1567 and King of England and Ireland as James I 24 March 1603 Elizabeth Stuart (19 August 1596 – 13 February 1662) was Electress of the Palatinate and Queen of Bohemia as the wife of Frederick V of the Palatinate. Sophia (Wittelsbach) Hannover (1630 - 1714) married 30 Sep 1658 Ernst August (Welf) Braunschweig-Lüneburg Daughter of Queen of Bohemia (Elizabeth Stuart) the wife of Frederick V of the Palatinate. George I (born May 28, 1660, died June 11, 1727) The first Hanoverian king of Great Britain and Ireland (1714–27). George II (George Augustus) 30 October - 9 November 1683 – 25 October 1760) was King of Great Britain and Ireland, from June 1727 – 25 October 1760. Frederick 31 January 1707 - 31 March 1751 Duke of Edinburgh 1st creation 1726–1751 George III (George William Frederick) 4 June 1738 – 29 January 1820) King of Great Britain and Ireland from 25 October 1760 - 1820 Prince Edward, Duke of Kent and Strathearn (2 November 1767 – 23 January 1820) Fourth son and fifth child of King George III and Queen Charlotte. In 1792 he was First to use the term "Canadian" for settlers. His only child, Victoria, became Queen of the United Kingdom Victoria (Alexandrina Victoria) (24 May 1819 – 22 January 1901) Queen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland 20 June 1837 - 1901. She reign for 63 years and 216 days Edward VII (Albert Edward) (9 November 1841 – 6 May 1910) King of the United Kingdom and the British Dominions, and Emperor of India, from 22 January 1901 - 1910 George V (George Frederick Ernest Albert) (3 June 1865 – 20 January 1936) King of the United Kingdom and the British Dominions, and Emperor of India, from 6 May 1910 - 1936. George VI (Albert Frederick Arthur George) 14 December 1895 – 6 February 1952) King of the United Kingdom and the Dominions of the British Commonwealth from 11 December 1936 - 1952 Elizabeth II (Elizabeth Alexandra Mary) (21 April 1926 – 8 September 2022) Queen of the United Kingdom and other Commonwealth realms 6 February 1952 - 2022 Scottish Border Towns
- First Golf Rules | John Rattray | All About Edinburgh
First golf rules written in Leith in 1744, Leith golf history, tourist attractions, activities. First rules of golf and first compitition played with rules, the silver club is oldest trophy in golf. First golf played in late 1300's John Rattray wrote the rules. See them here. Rules of Golf Edinburgh Golf, History of Golf, Oldest Golf Course, Best Scottish Golfer. Leith Links Edinburgh Where the Rules of Golf Were First Written The beginning of golf to rules was when John Rattray wrote the 13 rules in a book and signed them. Not discovered until 1937 when a member of the Company of Gentlemen Golfers at Edinburgh, on looking through old minutes of previous club meetings found rules written at the back of a book. The book contained now to be known as the original rules of golf signed by John Rattray the club captain at that time 7th March 1744. For more history of golf see (Old and New Edinburgh Volume 5 Chapter 3 ‘The District of The Burghmuir page 30 -31). Leith Links John Rattray Surgeon Sportsman & Jacobite John Rattray's Statue stands next to three stones with bronze plaques. The inscriptions on the plaques read; John Rattray (1707-1771) signed the original rules of golf drawn up in March 1744. Eleven golfers competed in this first “open’’ golf tournament played over Leith Links on 2nd April that year. Edinburgh Town Council enacted regulations dated 7th March, demanded written rules and commissioned 1 Silver Club as the prize. Rattray won and the Gentlemen Golfers 13 Rules Articles & Laws in Playing of Golf still form the basis of today’s global game. As winner Rattray became Captain of the golf for the year and first fixed a silver ball with his initials to the silver club. He won again in 1745. That Year however, Rattray’s life took a dramatic turn. As a surgeon and Jacobite he became surgeon general to Bonnie Prince Charlie was captured in Culloden and set to hang. Rescue came when his golfing companion Lord Duncan Forbes of Culloden gained his release. Rattray played and won in 1752. Leith is the birthplace of competitive golf, first home of the Gentlemen Golfers who wrote the original rules and witness to John Rattray’s inaugural silver club victory. The silver club remains the oldest golf trophy in the world, still played for today. The Gentlemen Golfers are now known as The Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers. The competition was contested over Leith Links every year until 1828 when play moved to Musselburgh and in 1892, to Muirfield. Scotland's Golf Course Map Leith Links The Original Rules of Golf Articles & Laws in Playing of Golf 1 You must tee your Ball, within a Club’s length of the Hole. 2 Your tee must be upon the Ground. 3 You are not to change the Ball which you Strike off the tee. 4 You are not to remove, Stones, Banes or any Break Club, for the sake of playing your Ball, Except upon the fair Green and that only within a Club’s length of your Ball. 5 If your Ball comes amang Watter or any wattery filth, you are at liberty to take out your Ball and bringing it behind the hazard and teeing it, you may play it with any Club and allow your Adversary a Stroke for so getting out your Ball. 6 If your Balls be found anywhere touching one another, you are to lift the first Ball, till you play the last. 7 At Holling, you are to play your Ball honestly for the Hole, and not to play upon your Adversary a Ball, not lying in your way to the Hole. 8 If you should lose your Ball, by its being taken up, or any other way you are to go back to the Spot, where you struck last and drop another Ball, and allow your adversary a Stroke for the misfortune. 9 Na man at Holling his Ball, is to be allowed to mark his way to the Hole with his Club or anything else. 10 If a Ball be stopped by any person, Horse, Dog, or anything else, the Ball so stopped must be played where it lyes. 11 If you draw your Club, in order to Strike and proceed so far on the Stroke as to be bringing down your Club; If then, your Club shall break, in any way, it is to be Accounted a Stroke. 12 He whose Ball lies farthest from the Hole is obliged to play first. 13 Neither Trench, Ditch or Dyke, made for the preservation of the Links, nor the Scholars Hole or the Soldiers Lines, Shall be accounted a Hazard; But the Ball is to be taken out teed and played with any Iron Club. The First Golf Competition to Written Rules The first competition was played over five holes at Leith Links: The first hole was Sawmill (Braehead) 414 yards (379 m), North Mid Hole 461 yards (422 m), East Hole 426 yards (390 m), South Mid Hole 495 yards (453 m) and the last hole Thorntree Hole 435 yards (398 m) The Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers On 7th March 1744 The Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers (the called The Gentlemen Golfers) officially came into being here at Leith Links, when the City of Edinburgh presented the golfer with a silver club for annual competition. On the 7th March 1994, the actual 250th anniversary of the club, was celebrated by the planning of a white hawthorn tree near the finish of the 5th (Thorntree) hole, by The Lord Provost of Edinburgh, The Right Honourable Norman Irons and the Captain of The Honourable Company, Mr Douglas Foulis. On Friday, 18th March 1994, in celebration a 6-a-side two-ball foursome challenge match was played here by the High Constables of the Port of Leith versus The Honourable Company. The matches were started off by the Lord Provost, the players were dressed as i the 18th century. They played with wooden clubs of the time and with 'feathery' golf balls filled with goose feathers. Three holes were played, the 1st (sawmill), the 2nd (North Mid Hole), and the 5th (Thorntree). The Honourable Company won two matches to one. The Honourable Company moved to Musselburgh Old Course in 1836 and then to Muirfield in 1891. Leith Links Home to The Rules of Golf Inscription on the Home of Golf plaque; Historical home of The Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers. The game was played over a five hole course, each hole being over 400 yards long. In 1744 the first official rules were drawn up for a tournament on Leith Links and these rules, 13 in all, formed the basis for the modern game of golf. The Forgotten Great British Golfer Thomas Dickson Armour THOMAS (Tommy) ARMOUR 1896 – 1968 Scotland’s most successful golfer was born at 18 Balcarres Street in Morningside and first played golf at the Braid Hills, a member of the Edinburgh Western Golf Club and Bruntsfield Links. Emigrated to the U.S.A as a teenager and became one of the great unremembered golfers. Winner of the British Open, US Open, U.S.P.GA. Championship, Canadian Open on four occasions and many other competitions. Next - Edinburgh Golf History back to Leith Edinburgh
- Segway Racing Trekking in Edinburgh | Guide | All About Edinburgh
Segway Racing Trekking in Edinburgh for all ages 2 wheels and safe venues great fun for large groups families hen party and stag party weekends SEGWAY Electric 2 Wheel Transporter RACING + TREKKING EDINBURGH Segway a great 2 wheel experience for all ages Fun for the family, Segway the self-balancing trail blazer. Safe for all ages. Experiences a countryside trail with a guide or race over a specialised track. The best fun for all. Back to Activities advertise your business here Segway Fun Segway Trekking Newhailes Estate Newhailes Road Musselburgh EH21 6RY East Lothian Scotland 0131 665 1546 Segway Trekking Go Ape Glentress Forest Peebles EH45 8NB Scottish Borders Scotland 01387 702 228 Segway Fun Segway Trekking Winton House B6355 Pencaitland EH34 5AT East Lothian Scotland 01875 340 222 Segway Trekking Foxlake Adventures Hedderwick Hill Stable Dunbar EH42 1XF East Lothian Scotland 01368 863 615
- East Saltoun Village | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
East Saltoun Attractions East Lothian Saltoun Hall East Saltoun East Lothian Saltoun Hall the De Morville family became owners of the lands of Saltoun circa 1140 with the original Saltoun Tower which over the centuries has been added to and changed hands from De Morville family to Abernathy family (1260) to Fletcher family circa (1640). Saltoun Hall was divided into apartments circa 1970. When the Fletcher family converted the Stable Court for their own use as a house. Fletcher Fountain East Saltoun East Lothian The Fletcher family became owners of the lands and Barony of Saltoun in 1643. Andrew Fletcher (Lord Milton) was a commissioner in the last Scottish Parliament (1707), he was also commissioner of Haddingtonshire in 1678-1707. Andrew was born in Saltoun in 1655. Andrew was a writer and author a a number of books but was chiefly a politician. Fletcher Clan Crest: A bloodhound on a Helmet , with Griffins on each side and a shield in the center. Fletcher Clan Motto: Dieu Pour nous (God for us). The Drinking fountain is a memorial to John Fletcher of Saltoun (1827-1903) erected in 1804. Saltoun Church East Saltoun East Lothian The first church in the area was dedicated to the Archangel St Michael circa 1240. This present Church building was built 1805. The Plaque outside the church reads: Andrew Fletcher Saltoun 1655 - 1716 The Stone Tablet in memory of Andrew Fletcher DEO O.M. ET SACRUM Lord Innerpeffer Andrew Fletcher Esq. The Patriot Lord Milton This Spire was erected by Gen Fletcher-Campbell As a monument to the virtue of his ancestors and an example For their posterity to imitate Saltoun 1805 East Saltoun Smithy East Saltoun East Lothian The East Saltoun Smithy (Blacksmiths) built circa 1790 on the site of a previous smithy. Fletcher the Patriot Andrew Fletcher born in Saltoun, 1653 was The Patriot, statesman, political writer. He believed Scotland should be a truly independent nation with power vested in Parliament not in a monarchy in London. Andrew Fletcher should be remembered for his struggle to retain independence for his country. About Andrew Fletcher, Sir Walter Scott said “one of the best patriots whom Scotland has produced in any age.” Andrew Fletcher died in London, 1716. He is buried in the crypt of East Saltoun Kirk. Next - Fenton Barns
- Shopping Malls | Retail Parks | All About Edinburgh
Looking to Shop in and around Edinburgh full details of City Shopping Centre malls, Retail Parks and Indoor Shopping Centre with all the high street names, tourist shops, cashmere and tartan. Whisky shops and distillers. Edinburgh has 7 large shopping retail centres all with good transport links Shopping Centres and Indoor Shopping Malls Edinburgh Edinburgh city centre has a vast array of shops from the large department store to private small businesses. There are many streets with shops and businesses for local residents and visitors. There are also 6 indoor Malls around the city and 5 retail parks on the outskirts of the city, where you will find retails shops cinemas, pubs and restaurants to make your days shopping a true day out. Advertise Your Business Here Advertise Your Business Here Advertise Your Business Here Visitor Attractions Edinburgh Maltrees Walk Shopping Precinct St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH1 3DQ Craigleith Retail Park Shopping Area South Groathill Ave Edinburgh EH4 2LN Newkirkgate Shopping Centre Shopping Area Leith Edinburgh EH6 6AD Fort Kinnaird Shopping Centre Shopping Area Kinnaird Park Edinburgh EH15 3RD Pentland Retail Park Shopping Area Straiton Mains Loanhead EH20 9QY Hermiston Gait Retail Park Shopping Area Cultins Road Edinburgh EH11 4DF Indoor Mall Gyle Shopping Centre Indoor Shopping Area South Gyle Broadway Edinburgh EH12 9JY Indoor Mall Waverley Mall Shopping Centre Indoor Shopping Area Princes Street Edinburgh EH1 1BQ Indoor Mall Ocean Terminal Shopping Centre Indoor Shopping Area Ocean Drive Edinburgh EH6 6JJ Indoor Mall Cameron Toll Shopping Centre Indoor Shopping Area Lady Road Edinburgh EH16 5PB Indoor Mall Livingston Shopping Mall Almondvale Boulevard Livingston EH54 6HR 01506 432961 Indoor Mall Livingston Designer Outlet Almondvale Avenue Livingston EH54 6QX 01506 423600 Shops & Businesses Edinburgh
- Old Leith Suburbs | History | All About Edinburgh
Restalrig and Craigentinny were at one time open field with a catle and Loch and two further large houses thith the estate spreding from Portobello to Leith. William Millar and his family lived here and the family Tomb can be seen with the Craigentinny Marbles attached set in open land with views Restalrig Craigentinny Edinburgh Lochend | Restalrig Edinburgh In 1128 the De Lestalric’s were owners of the lands we know from Leith to Portobello as Restalrig. De Lestalric’s Built a castle above, and at the end of the Loch which gave security from all approaching invaders. The De Lestalric family occupied the castle for circa 200 years and on the death of Sir John circa 1380, Sir Robert Logan married Katherine De Lestalric. Robert died in 1439 and was buried at Restalrig church. The Loch that gives its name to the area Lochend. The Loch from 1754 was the main source of water for the residents of Leith which was put through the pump house before going through pipes. This is where the water that was drained from the Nor Loch went. The Do’cot was a larder for the castle that gave fresh meat (pigeon). Do’cot could be seen near many large houses and castles of the wealthy. SAINT TRIDUANA Saint Triduana was born in the Greece and was believed to have journeyed with Rule a holy man from the area of Patras in Greece in the 4th century AD. Rule deciding to stop the Romans from seizing the bones of Saint Andrew and took as many bones as he could and travelled as far from Greece as possible ending his journey in Scotland. Triduana settled in Scotland and due to her great beauty attracted the attentions of many men. One in particular was Nectan King of the Picts. Triduana to stop the King’s attention she is said to have torn out her own eyes and gave them to the King. As Saint Triduana aged she settled in an area outside an area known as Eidyn later to be known as Edinburgh. Many people made pilgrimages to see her as she was believed to have the power to make the blind see. On her death in Restalrig a shrine was built in her honour and was intact until the reformation in the 1500. There are many stories of the blind praying to Saint Triduana and regaining their sight. St Margaret’s well previously known as St Triduana’s Well before the well was moved to its present position. Deanery Walls Restalrig The Deanery Walls of Restalrig stand across from the church where St Triduana was said to cure the blind and a shrine is next to the church. The Deanery wall may have been a protection to the house that many took refuge in. James III in 1487 had the church restore and it was completed by James V as the collegiate church of the Deanery of Restalrig. The Wall that remains could be a small part of a large wall that encircled the church and house of the Dean of Lestalric which was the land owners of the area. Edinburgh Police Box The Police Box was basically a small Police Station for the Police Officers that were on the beat (walking the area they Police In the Police Box was a telephone connected to the local station, an incident book to keep note of any suspicious activities in the area, a fire extinguisher and first-aid kit in case of emergencies. The Police officers could take meal breaks and a toilet was also in the box. It was also used to keep prisoners until a vehicle arrived to take the prisoner to the main Police Station. Each Police Box had an outside telephone that was available to the public and was connected to the Local Police Station. They were painted blue and first used circa 1890 but were in common use by the 1930s. Edinburgh designed their own boxes to fit the architecture of the city. The Boxes were designed by architects, MacRae, Rollo and Tweedie. The box pictured is one of the last remaining still in its original colours as when the boxes were sold the new owners had to repaint the boxes a different colour. The Police Boxes are no longer used by the police PIERSHILL GRAVEYARD The Graveyard opened in 1887 with a large Jewish burial section, including a memorial dedicated "to the memory of the Jewish soldiers of Edinburgh who gave their lives in the 1st World War. The cemetery was also the first in Scotland to permit an officially designated animal burial section. THE GREAT LAFAYETTE Sigmund Neuberger, was born on 25 February 1871 in Munich, Germany and died on 9 May 1911 and is buried in Edinburgh’s Piershill Graveyard. He was a famous illusionist and was the highest paid magician of his time. He became one of the highest-paid performers in Vaudeville. The Great Lafayette's affection was his dog Beauty a terrier given to him as a pup by fellow conjurer and admirer Harry Houdini. His dog is also buried in the graveyard. Craigentinny Castle Edinburgh Craigentinny (Craigantinnie House) Castle stands in Loaning Road in Restalrig was built circa 1590. The land owners the Nisbets were in occupancy till 1765 when purchased by William Millar and his heirs lived here til 1859. The Craigentinny Tomb (with the Craigentinny Marbles). WILLIAM HENRY MILLER MAUSOLEUM was born in Craigentinny, an area between Edinburgh and Portobello in 1789. He became a Member of Parliament at the age of 40 for Newcastle-under-Lyme. William Miller was a book collector and opened a library in Britwell Court, near Burnham, Buckinghamshire. The library was said to be one of the most important private collections in Britain. The library and collection, on his death was passed down through the family until 1919, at that time there were no family members left and the collection was broken up and sold. On his death he made a provision in his will to have a mausoleum built on the family estate in Craigentinny Edinburgh. The mausoleum is the the most impressive I have seen and stands over 50 feet (30 meters) in height and goes under ground 40 feet as he had a fear that grave robbers would steal his body. The Mausoleum is decorated with two bas-reliefs based on a Roman Mausoleum. The William Henry Miller Mausoleum was completed in 1856 and stood in a meadow with no other buildings nearby. It stood just near to the Portobello Road on the way to Edinburgh. He left instruction for the bas-reliefs to depict the Overthrow of Pharaoh in the Red Sea and The Song of Moses and Miriam. These were completed and attached to the mausoleum in 1868 and became known as the Craigentinny Marbles. Also within the mausoleum are his parents William Miller and Martha Rawson or Miller, Sarah Marsh and Ellen Marsh all of Craigentinny and Britwell Buckinghamshire 'THE SONG OF MOSES AND MIRIAM' THE OVERTHROW OF PHARAOH IN THE RED SEA THE MONUMENT WAS ERECTED TO THE MEMORY OF WILLIAM HENRY MILLER AND HIS PARENTS WILLIAM MILLER AND MARTHA RAWSON OR MILLER HERE ARE INTERRED MARTHA MILLER DIED 11th JANUARY 1827 WILLIAM HENRY MILLER MP FOR NEWCASTLE-UNDER-LYME BORN 13th FEBRUARY 1789 DIED 31st OCTOBER 1848 SARAH MARSH BORN 20th APRIL 1832 DIED AUGUST 6th AUGUST 1880 ELLEN MARSH BORN 29th AUGUST 1801 DIED 4th NOVEMDER 1861 ALL OF CRAIGENTINNY AND BRITWELL BUCKINGHAMSHIRE THE SITE WAS CONSECRATED ON 13th SEPTEMBER 1860 THE SCULPTURES WERE ADDED IN 1868 HISTORIC TRIVIA James Tytler - First UK Manned Balloon Flight James Tytler 1745 – 1804 James Tytler was the first to pilot a hot air balloon in Britain 27 August 1874. After a number of attempts, he finally floated almost 1/2 a mile which has confirmed his place in the history of flight. The journey began at an area close to the foot of Arthur Seat. There are streets now named after him. The world’s first man balloon flight was the Montgolfier brothers in France in 1783 Alexandra Mary Chalmers Watson Alexandra Mary Geddes Hibernian Football Stadium Hibernian was founded by Irish football enthusiasts in 1875 and the name came from the Roman for Ireland (Hibernian). The East Meadows hosted the first Edinburgh Derby with Heart of Midlothian on Christmas day 1875. The present home of Hibernian opened in 1893. In 1955 Hibernian were the first British side to play in European competition. Hibernian won the Scottish Cup in 1902 and 2015. The Celtic football Club was also formed as a west of Scotland Hibernian but the name was changed as to stop any confusion when playing against each other. Meadowbank Commonwealth Sports Stadium Edinburgh The Meadowbank Stadium was built for the Commonwealth Games in 1970 and was the first venue to hold the Commonwealth games on two occasions. The second games in 1986 were unsuccessful due to the British Governments support of apartheid in South Africa as many countries boycotted the games. There are many varied events held in Meadowbank Stadium throughout the year antiques fares, international competition and local club sports teams still make good use of the stadium. The Stadium was also used for football and the greatest track cyclist of all time, multiple Olympic gold medal winner Sir Chris Hoy started his cycling career here. At this time 30 January 2018 the stadium and Velodrome are closed for complete structural renovations. Portobello Edinburgh
- George Square | Edinburgh Attractions | All About Edinburgh
George Square and George Square Gardens are in the centre of the University of Edinburgh's Campus on the southside of Edinburgh. Buccleuch Place which backs onto George Square has many medallions and plaques to famous people and the George Square Gardens are not to be missed. George Square Edinburgh George Square in Edinburgh is in the centre of the University of Edinburgh Central Campus. In the centre of the square is a garden and around the square are buildings for learning. The Square and gardens were first laid in 1766. On a number of the walls are plaques of famous students. There are also a number of famous ex-residents who lived in the square. In the garden there are many benches to site and take time to contemplate the world and read a book. There are Standing Stones. One of which has been carved with a figure as if the stone had been split down the middle and the figure was revealed. George Square is also the centre of the Edinburgh Festival and Fringe every year in August. George Square Garden Labyrinth “The labyrinth is an ancient archetypal pattern dating back more than 4000 years. The design of the Edinburgh Labyrinth is based on the 13th century labyrinth laid in the floor of Chartres Cathedral in France (Notre-Dame d’Chartres or the Cathedral of Notre-Dame). Take the walk from the start follow the path which takes you to the centre and back to the outside. George Square Garden Standing Stones University of Edinburgh George Square Plaques Seven plaques of great people of knowledge on the walls around George Square. Jane Welsh Carlyle, Peter Mark Roget, Eric Henry Liddell, Benjamin Rush, Mwalimu Julius K Nyerere, Robert Louis Stevenson and Sorley MacLean. Jane Welsh Carlyle Plaque George Square Edinburgh Memorial Plaque to Jane Welsh Carlyle, 23 George Square, Edinburgh. Jane Welsh was born in Haddington East Lothian 14 January 1801 – 21 April 1866, she is buried in Haddington She Married Thomas Carlyle the essayist. Peter Mark Roget Plaque George Square Edinburgh Peter Mark Roget was born in 1779, he studied at Edinburgh University Medical School and graduated in 1798. He was a brilliant doctor and published papers on tuberculosis and the effects of nitrous oxide as an anaesthetic. At the age of 34 in 1814 he invented the slide rule which was used by students in schools and Universities for many years. He is best known for ‘Roget’s Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases’, the thesaurus was published in 1852. Peter Roget died in 1869 aged 90. Eric Henry Liddell Plaque George Square Edinburgh Eric Henry Liddell was born in China in 1902 a son of a missionary. Eric Liddell was educated in a boarding school in Blackheath and spent his childhood there will his parents were in China. At the age of 18 he enrolled in Edinburgh University were his brother was already studying. Eric Liddell lived for a short time in Gillespie Crescent before moving to a house in Merchiston Place. While in Edinburgh he lived firstly in Gillespie Crescent before moving to Merchiston Crescent. He was a very good athlete and played Rugby and took part in track events for both the University and Scotland. He took part in the Paris Olympics and won a Gold in the 400 and a bronze in the 200. After graduating from Edinburgh University he returned to China and his last years he was interned in Weihsien prison camp which was a Japanese- internment camp created during World War II to hold civilians of Allied countries living in North China where he died. The Eric Liddell Centre at Holy Corner in Edinburgh is where Eric Liddell attended Church. Benjamin Rush Plaque George Square Edinburgh Benjamin Rush Graduate of Edinburgh University Medical School 1768 at 22 years old, signatory of the American Declaration of Independence, Leader of the American Enlightenment, founder of Dickinson College (private, residential liberal arts college in Carlisle, Pennsylvania) the first college to be founded after the formation of the United States of America. He was also at the age of 23 the first professor of chemistry in America. Benjamin Rush Benjamin Rush was born in 1746 in Pennsylvania U.S.A. Benjamin Rush lived with his uncle Reverend Dr. Samuel Finley ensured Benjamin Rush received an education. Benjamin Rush went to the College of New Jersey which is now called Princeton in 1759. In 1766 at the age of 20 Benjamin Rush moved to Edinburgh to study at the University of Edinburgh Medical School which was the most respected in the world. Benjamin Rush graduated with a degree in medicine in 1768. Benjamin Rush set up the Philadelphia Dispensary in 1786 to provide medical care for the poor which was the first institution of its kind in the United States. Benjamin Rush was not just a doctor but a person that wanted to change the world, to give justice and equality to all. The Declaration of Independence was adopted by the second continental congress on July 4th, 1776 Benjamin Rush signed the final document of the Declaration of Independence with other members on August 2 1776. Mwalimu Julius Nyerere Plaque George Square Edinburgh Mwalimu Julius Nyerere First President of the United Republic of Tanzania was known as Mwalimu’ or ‘Teacher’ in Swahili. He was President from the country’s founding in 1964, until his retirement in 1985. Mwalimu Julius Nyerere received a scholarship to the University of Edinburgh in 1949 and became the first Tanzanian to study at a British university and only the second to gain a university degree outside Africa. He died in 1999 at the age of 77 years. Robert Louis Stevenson Plaque George Square Edinburgh Robert Louis Stevenson was from Edinburgh a poet and author of many famous books known around the world and made into movies. Born in Howard Place into a famous family that has left a mark all over Britain on the land and in the sea. Joined University of Edinburgh at the age of 17 and studied law, which he did not practice, rather to write instead. The plaque in George Square Edinburgh reads; in honour of Robert Louis Stevenson 1850-1894 Poet, author of Treasure Island, Kidnapped, Dr Jekyll & Mr Hyde, alumnus of the University. Sorley MacLean Plaque George Square Edinburgh Sorley MacLean was born in 1911 on the Isle of Raasay he studied English at Edinburgh University and achieved a first class degree and graduated in 1934 before returning home to Raasay. He was named the University’s first Alumnus of the Year in 1990 and later died in 1996. The plaque in George Square reads; in honour of Sorley MacLean 1911-1996 Gaelic poet and man of letters, graduate of the University. Home of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle George Square Edinburgh Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was a strong believer in the afterlife. Arthur Conan Doyle lived at 23 George Square Edinburgh a few doors up from where Sir Walter Scott lived with his parents. George Watson’s Ladies College George Square Edinburgh George Watson left a sum of money to The Merchant Company of Edinburgh in 1723 to educated less fortunate children of Edinburgh. George Watson was born in Edinburgh in 1654. The first school opened in 1741 for boys only. George Watson’s Ladies’ College was opened for girls in Admiral Duncan’s House in George Square in 1871. The schools were amalgamated in 1974 and the present school is in Colinton Road where both girls and boys are educated equally. Sir Walter Scott's Childhood Home George Square which at the time was outside the city walls was where Sir Walter Scott lived. Number 25 George Square Edinburgh was where he spent his childhood with his parents from the age of 3 until he married at age 26. St Albert’s Catholic Chaplaincy The Dominican Priory opened in Edinburgh in 24 George Square in 1931 and were appointed as Catholic Chaplains to the students and staff at the University of Edinburgh and to the Catholic Professional Guilds of the City of Edinburgh. The plaque on the wall above the door is of Saint Albert. His name was Albertus Magnus born circa 1190. Swedish Runic Stone. “Swedish Runestone”, This ancient (11th Century Viking) Standing Stone has been a part of Edinburgh circa 1780 when Sir Alexander Seton of East Lothian donated it to the Society of Antiquaries of Scotland In 1785. The Stone would have been from their Castle estate in Sweden. Lilla Ramsjö, Vittinge, Uppland, Sweden The Seton family a very wealthy and powerful family of East Lothian purchased Ekolsund Castle in Enköping Sweden from Gustav III who had used it as a Royal Residence until he sold it to the Seton's in 1912. The Stone has stood in Princes Street Gardens below the Esplanade since circa 1820. Next - Southside Edinburgh
- Edinburgh Special Needs Schools | information | All About Edinburgh
Require details on the available Edinburgh Special needs Schools where they are and contact details Edinburgh Schools Pupils with Special Needs Edinburgh Schools that offer assistance to children with special requirements Education & Learning Special Needs Schools Pilrig Park Balfour Place Edinburgh EH6 5DW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 467 7960 Special Needs Schools Oaklands Broomhouse Crescent Edinburgh EH11 3UB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 467 7867 Special Needs Schools Royal Blind School Canaan Lane Edinburgh EH10 4SG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 446 3120 Special Needs Schools Woodlands Dolphin Avenue Edinburgh EH14 5RD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 448 3447 Special Needs Schools Oaklands Ferry Road Edinburgh EH4 4PQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 315 8100 Special Needs Schools Rowanfield Groathill Road North Edinburgh EH4 2SA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 346 6116 Special Needs Schools Kaimes Lasswade Road Edinburgh EH16 6RT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 664 8241 Special Needs Schools Harmeny Mansfield Road Balerno Edinburgh EH14 7JY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 449 3938 Special Needs Schools Dunedin Nether Liberton Lane Edinburgh EH16 5TY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 672 2638 Special Needs Schools Rowanfield Oxgangs Road North Edinburgh EH4 2SA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 343 6116 Special Needs Schools Redhall Redhall Grove Edinburgh EH14 2DU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 443 1256 Special Needs Schools Prospect Bank Restalrig Road Edinburgh EH6 8BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 553 2239 Special Needs Schools Canonmills Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 200 2000 Special Needs Schools St Crispin's Watertoun Road Edinburgh EH9 3HZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 667 4831
- Edinburgh Water Activities | Information Guide | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh Water Activities swimming surfing skiing jetski's boats yachts Canoeing all from edinburgh White Water Rafting & round the islands by speed boat Water Activities Edinburgh Water Skiing, Wake Boarding, Kitesurfing, Canoeing, Kayaking, Jet Skiing Paddle Boarding, Sailing, Island Boat Trips, Barge Trips, Speed Boat Trips Boat Charters and Scuba Diving Beaches Activities Water Sports and Water Activities Edinburgh has a canal and Portobello beach East Lothian has over 20 golden sand Beaches and many have water sports. In addition there is a manmade lake that is for boarding, ringo rides and many other water sports Try Belhaven beach for a fantastic time in the water For all the best in Water Sports, East Lothian's Water Sports and Swim facilities including a wave machine, water jets, and indoor flumes. https://www.abouteastlothian.co.uk/water-sports-activities WATER SKIING Water Skiing St. Vedas Surf School Coldingham Bay St Abbs Road Coldingham TD14 5PA Scottish Borders Scotland 018907 71679 Water skiing Scottish National Water Ski Centre Townhill Country Park Townhill Road Dunfermline KY12 0HT Kingdom of Fife Scotland 01383 620 123 BARGE ON THE CANAL Barges Edinburgh Canal Centre The Bridge Inn Baird Road Ratho EH28 8RA Midlothian Scotland 0131 3331320 Barges Four Sisters static boatel Lochrin Basin Fountainbridge Quay Edinburgh EH3 9NY City of Edinburgh Scotland 07762 476 367 BOAT HIRE / BOAT CHARTER Boat Charters Thistle Hire Boats 27 Alnwickhill Road Edinburgh EH16 6LG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 338 5038 Boat Charters Aquamarine Charters Harbour Eyemouth Harbour Eyemouth TD14 5SD Scottish Borders Scotland 018907 50481 Boat Charters Pathfinder Boat Charters Priory View Eyemouth Road Coldingham TD14 5NH. Scottish Borders Scotland 07780 980 179 BOATING & SAILING Boats and Sailing St Mary's Loch Sailing Club A708 Selkirk TD7 5LH Scottish Borders Scotland 0131 663 2079 Boats and Sailing Port Edgar Yacht Club Marina South Queensferry EH30 9SQ East Lothian Scotland 07802 168274 Boats and Sailing Portobello Sailing & Kayaking Club Portobello Edinburgh EH15 1HF City of Edinburgh Scotland 07932 159983 Boats and Sailing Port Edgar Marina & Sailing School Shore Road South Queensferry EH30 9SQ Midlothian Scotland 0131 331 3330 North Berwick Kayak Hire North Berwick Harbour North Berwick EH39 4JL East Lothian Scotland Activities Canoeing and Sea Kayaking BlueWild Boat Tours Seacliff Park Auldhame Farm Auldhame EH39 5PW East Lothian Scotland Activities Boat Trips - Isle of May Landing, Bass Rock Tours, Sunrise and Sunset Tour, Private Charter GoSUP Water Sports SUPhut, Dingy Park, North Berwick Harbour North Berwick EH39 4JL East Lothian Scotland Activities Paddleboards and Kayaks Coast To Coast Surf School Belhaven Bay Station Road Dunbar EH42 1JX East Lothian Scotland Activities Surfing, Stand up Paddleboard, Coasteering, Learn to Surf School Foxlake Adventures Hedderwick Hill Stables Dunbar EH42 1XF East Lothian Scotland Activities Foxfall - Assault Course over water, Ringo, Wakeboarding, Ziptrail - High Wire Trail in the woods, Segway Run CANOEING & KAYAKING Canoeing / Kayaking Craiglockhart Sports Centre 177 Colinton Road Edinburgh EH14 1BZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 443 0101 Canoeing / Kayaking Forth Canoe Club Harrison Bridge Harrison Road Edinburgh EH10 4LE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 9586 Canoeing / Kayaking Edinburgh University Water Sports Firbush Point Loch Tay Killin FK21 8SU Falkirk Scotland 0131 650 2954 Canoeing / Kayaking Portobello Sailing & Kayaking Club Promenade Portobello Edinburgh EH15 1HF City of Edinburgh Scotland 07932 159983 ISLAND BOAT TRIPS Boat Trips around Islands Maid of the Forth Newhalls Road South Queensferry EH30 9TB West Lothian Scotland 0131 331 5000 Boat Trips around Islands Seafari Adventures Newlands Road South Queensferry EH30 9TB West Lothian Scotland 0131 331 4857 SCUBA DIVING Scuba Diving Lazy G-Diver Boat Charter Eyemouth Road Coldingham TD14 5NH. Scottish Borders Scotland 01890 771 525 Scuba Diving AquaStars Gunsgreen Quay Eyemouth TD14 5SD Scottish Borders Scotland 01890 750 904 Scuba Diving Marine Quest Diving / fishing Harbour Road Eyemouth TD14 5HY Scottish Borders Scotland 01890 752 444 Scuba Diving DiveStay Hurkur Crescent Eyemouth TD14 5AP Scottish Borders Scotland 07802 330 036 Scuba Diving Scottish Sub Aqua Club Redheughs Rigg Edinburgh EH12 9DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 625 4404 Scuba Diving Dive St. Abbs & Boat Charter Rock Houses St Abbs TD14 5PW Scottish Borders Scotland 01890 771 945 Scuba Diving Sub Aqua Divers (Scoutscroft) Ltd Scoutscroft Coldingham TD14 5NB Scottish Borders Scotland 01890 771 669 PADDLE-BOARDING Paddle Boarding Stand up Paddle Boarding Treetops Langton View East Calder EH53 0RD West Lothian Scotland 07507 459 689 Paddle-boarding Venues Cramond, Linlithgow, Edinburgh City, Portobello Beach, Ratho & Many East Lothian Beaches KITESURFING Skymonster Kitesurfing 42 Turnhouse Road Edinburgh EH12 8LX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 317 7010 WINDY DAYZ Kite School East Coast Scotland Edinburgh & Fife 07720438453 info@windydayz.co.uk JET SKIING Jet Skiing Loch Lomond Jet Ski Safari Cameron House The Loch Loch Lomond G83 8QZ Alexandria Scotland 01389 722508 BOAT HIRE / BOAT CHARTER Boat Charters Selkie Boat Charter The Rest Murrayfield St Abbs TD14 5PP Scottish Borders Scotland 01890 771 525 Boat Charters Cramond Boat Club Cramond Village Riverside Edinburgh EH4 6NY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 336 1356 Boat Charters St Abbs Boat Charter Billy Aitchison Skipper Rock Houses St Abbs TD14 5PW Scottish Borders Scotland 01890 771 883 Speed Boat Trips Speed Boats Eyemouth Rib Trips Harbour Road Eyemouth TD14 5JB Scottish Borders Scotland 07941 441995 BOAT HIRE / BOAT CHARTER Boat Charters Topline Boat Charter Paul Crowe Skipper Harbour St Abbs TD14 5PW Scottish Borders Scotland 01890 771 945 Belhaven Surf Centre 36 Back Road Belhaven, Dunbar EH42 1NX East Lothian Scotland Activities Surfing, Stand Up Paddle, Coasteering, Skateboarding . Seafari Adventures North Berwick Harbour Victoria Road North Berwick EH39 4SS East Lothian Scotland Activities Speed Boats, Cruise Boats, Private Charters Bass Rock & Isle of May Cruises Fisherrow Yacht Club 97 New Street Musselburgh EH21 6DG East Lothian Scotland Activities Boats, Barges and Sailing ForthWild Adventure Boat Trips Seacliff Beach Auldhame EH39 5PW East Lothian Scotland Activities Boat Trips - Isle of May Landing, Bass Rock Tours, Sunrise and Sunset Tour, Private Charter East Lothian Yacht Club 36 Victoria Road North Berwick EH39 4JL East Lothian Scotland Activities Boats, Barges and Sailing Scottish Seabird Centre Victoria Road North Berwick EH39 4SS East Lothian Scotland Activities Seabird Boat trips, Snorkel and Island Landings Catamaran Cruise Private Charters
- Edinburgh Castle | Attractions | Historic Guide
Edinburgh Castle not to be missed when visiting Edinburgh. A fortress in the centre of Edinburgh over 1500 years inhabited. See its history, museums, Royal Palace, Great Hall an St Margaret's Chapel the oldest building in Edinburgh still in use for its original purpose. Edinburgh Castle Attractions All About Edinburgh Castle History Edinburgh Castle History Edinburgh Castle Rock was formed over 300 million years ago by volcanic eruptions. Probably, the first evidence of inhabitants on the rock was in the Bronze Age circa 900 BC. This was due to evidence of an Iron Age fort being unearthed dated circa 900 BC. Edinburgh Castle First Fortress The first writings probably were about a fortress on Edinburgh Castle Rock circa 600 AD in a poem Gododdin. This tells of Gododdin a race of warriors who lived in the south-east of Scotland and north-east England. Gododdin left the fortress of Din Eiden (Edinburgh) to battle with the Angles of Northumbria. Consequently, The Gododdin were wiped out and the Angles of Northumbria took control of the area. Scottish Borders King Malcolm II took over control of the area in 1016 at the Battle of Carham. He also changed the border of Scotland to the River Tweed as Northumbria once extended as far as the River Forth. Edinburgh Castle Occupation Edinburgh Castle was originally built of wood by Malcolm III circa 1070. It was then built of stone by King David I circa 1130. Also including the building of a small Chapel for his mother Margaret. (St Margaret’s Chapel) the oldest surviving building in Edinburgh Castle. The occupation of Edinburgh Castle in 1296 by Edward I of England lasted until early 1314. Consequently the Scots led by Thomas Randolph – First earl of Moray recaptured Edinburgh Castle for the Scots. Similarly in 1335 the English under Edward III also lost control in 1341 when William Douglas regained it for the Scots. In 1361 David II strengthened the fortifications of Edinburgh Castle and built a tower. David’s Tower probably over 80 foot high which unfortunately was destroyed in the Lang Siege 1573. Unfortunately there are only underground remnants still visible. David II died in Edinburgh Castle 1371. Last Royal Occupation Edinburgh Castle Finally, the last King to reside in Edinburgh Castle was Charles I in 1633 before his coronation. In 1650 Edinburgh Castle was once again under attack by the English led by Oliver Cromwell. After several months of siege, Edinburgh Castle was surrendered to Oliver Cromwell and the English forces. When Charles II was restored as King. He set up an army garrison in Edinburgh Castle that remained until the 1920’s. Edinburgh Castle became a tourist attraction and was open to visitors circa 1833. It is now one of the world’s most visited attractions in the UK. All the Attractions of Edinburgh Castle Edinburgh Castle Gates Originally there were two gates that protected Edinburgh Castle. Firstly the gate from the Esplanade over the drawbridge and then the inner barrier gate. Later a further gate was built, the Portcullis Gate. The Castle Gates plaque reads; For a period of at least 2000 years, this fortress was defended by the outer gate at the head of the esplanade. Edinburgh Castle Drawbridge Edinburgh Castle Gatehouse Gatehouse Plaque Sir William Kirkcaldy Edinburgh Castle Fortress Firstly look up high on the rock left before the Portcullis Gate. Where there is a memorial plaque to Sir William Kirkcaldy. The inscription reads: In memory of Sir William Kirkcaldy of Grange. Justly reputed to be one of the best soldiers and most accomplished cavaliers of his time. He held this castle for Queen Mary from May 1568 to May 1573. And after its honourable surrenders, suffered death for his devotion to Her cause on 3 August 1573. Sir William Kirkcaldy Tablet Thomas Randolph Earl of Moray Edinburgh Castle Fortress Further into the castle on the wall after the Portcullis Gate and the Lang Stairs a further plaque can be seen and reads; To commemorate Thomas Randolph Earl of Moray. A distinguished soldier and diplomatist. Who recovered this castle in 1313 after it had been for 20 years in the hands of the English. Thomas Randolph Earl of Murray Tablet Edinburgh Castle Argyle Tower Edinburgh Castle Fortress The Argyle Tower was built on to the top of the portcullis gate in 1867 and entrance is at the top of the Lang Stairs the original access to Edinburgh Castle. Named after the the 9th Earl of Argyle (Archibald Campbell) 1663-85. Imprisoned in the room above the Portcullis Gate before his execution June 1685. He was executed when found guilty of treason 19 Dec 1681. Because he lead a rebellion against the Roman Catholic Church and James VII of Scotland. Old Guardhouse Inner Barrier Edinburgh Castle Fortress The Old Guard house was built in 1853. Detention cells were added in 1866 and also later used as the Quartermaster stores. The present Guardhouse pictured above replaced the Old Guardhouse in 1887. The Inner Barrier posts where a large wooden gate would have hung, stand at each side of the road. Almost beside the door to the old guardhouse. Edinburgh Castle Old Guardhouse & Inner Barrier Edinburgh Castle Old Guardhouse & Inner Barrier Portcullis Gate Edinburgh Castle Fortress The first gateway after a short walk uphill gets you to the Portcullis Gate. Also Built after the Lang Siege in 1573 on the site of the Constable’s Tower. The large spikes of the Portcullis are only open for visitors and closed to stop any unwanted invasion. The upper section of the gates were added circa 1887. The Portcullis Gate plaque reads; 1574 -77 Built after the long siege of 1571-3. As the main gateway into the castle. It stands on the site of the medieval Constable’s Tower. The top storey was added in 1887. Edinburgh Castle Portcullis Gate Edinburgh Castle Portcullis Gate Edinburgh Castle Portcullis Gate Plaque Lang Stairs Edinburgh Castle Fortress First of all when through the portcullis gate on entering Edinburgh Castle to the left are the Lang Stairs. This is the most direct route to the highest point of the Castle Rock. The Lang Stairs was the main access to the summit of the castle rock in the middle ages.Furthermore on the right near the top of the Lang Stairs is the Argyle Tower. This was the original entrance under Constable’s Tower. Constables Tower was also destroyed in the Lang Siege of 1573. The easy way up is by the hill with setts creating a road that winds up the slope. Installed to make it easier to get the cannon to the battlements. The Water Tank Foog’s Gate Edinburgh Castle Fortress The circular building on the way to Foog’s Gate is an old iron water tank which stored the water for Edinburgh Castle. The water was supplied from St Margaret's well at the foot of the rock which in turn supplied the Fore Well. Foog’s Gate E dinburgh Castle Fortress Foog’s Gate built after the Lang Siege circa 1580 was a further gate to stop invaders. No one knows the background to the name. Maybe it is to do with fog or low cloud that often settles on Edinburgh Castle. Foog’s Gate gives entry to the Upper Ward, the highest part of Edinburgh Castle. The Gate is attached to the building that houses a great water tank made of iron (not in use) that was a store of water for Edinburgh Castle. Foog’s Gate plaque reads; The main entrance to the citadel by the 17th century. The perimeter wall looped for both cannon and musketry, was builtin King Charles II’s reign (1660- 85). Edinburgh Castle Mons Meg Cannon Mons Meg is a Belgian cannon given to James II as a gift in 1457. Named after where it was tested in Mons in Belgium. Mons Meg was a super gun that could shoot a cannonball up to 2 miles. Mons Meg was last used in battle circa 1554 and was last fired circa 1680, when the barrel burst. It spent many years in England. Mons Meg was finally returned to the Castle in 1829 and has been on the battlements ever since. One o’clock Gun Edinburgh Castle Fortress . A 105 mm field gun is fired from Mills Mount in Edinburgh Castle Monday – Saturday at 13.00 hours. Sundays it does not fire as no seamen work on the Sabbath. Good Friday and Christmas Day are also days it is not fired. A gun has been fired here since 1861 as an audio time signal to shipping in the Firth of Forth. The original signal was the Time Ball which was on the mast of Nelson Monument on Calton Hill. The Time Ball The Time Ball on the mast of Nelson’s monument was originally a visual aid for the sailors in the Leith port and the Firth of Forth to set their chronometers by. Due to the weather being overcast in Edinburgh often, an audio aid was introduced (The One O’clock Gun) in 1861, in addition to the Time Ball. David’s Tower Edinburgh Castle Fortress David’s Tower probably built by David II, circa 1368 once stood almost 80 feet (25 mtrs) high consequently giving a view of 360 degrees for an early warning of invaders by sea or land. The remains of the tower are below ground as the tower was bombarded by cannon during the Lang Siege of 1571 – 1573 and all but destroyed. As a result The Half Moon Battery was built to replace it after the Lang Siege in 1573. Most noteworthy In 1941 the Scottish crown jewels were taken from the crown room where they are on display today. They were buried below in the depths of David’s Tower. For the reason that if the Germans invaded they would not find the Honours of Scotland (Crown Jewels). Consequently the Germans did not invade they were brought back out from their hiding place and returned to the crown room. Half Moon Battery Edinburgh Castle Fortress . David II built David’s Tower circa 1361 and it was destroyed in the Lang Siege in May 1573. Rebuilding took place immediately with the Half Moon Battery where David’s Tower had stood. A Great Half Bastion Round built by Lord Chancellor of Scotland Regent Morton which you can see today. The Fore Well Edinburgh Castle Fortress The Fore Well, circa 115 feet (34 mtrs) deep, was the Castle’s main water supply mentioned when Robert the Bruce blocked it in 1314 attack as the Scots retained the Castle. The Water could also have been the source of Saint Margaret’s Well at the foot of the castle rock in West Princes Street Gardens. Circa 1080. Still in use circa 1840. Access to Saint Margaret’s Well is over the foot bridge at the rear of the Ross Bandstand in West Princes Street Gardens Forewall Battery Edinburgh Castle Fortress The Forewall Battery with 5 cannon pointing over what was the Nor Loch to the north the battery first built circa 1545 and rebuilt and extended 1573. The iron basket on the wall was light to warn the people of Edinburgh the expected invasion. Royal Scots Regiment of Scotland Museum Edinburgh Castle The Royal Scots museum tells the stories from over 350 years of campaigning, most noteworthy are the six Victoria Crosses on display and the stories of heroic deeds behind them. The Royal Scots were the oldest serving infantry regiment in the British Army. Founded in 1633 when Sir John Hepburn raised a body of men in Scotland for service in France in the Thirty Years’ War. Under a Royal Warrant granted by King Charles I known as ‘Pontius Pilate’s Bodyguard’. Also now known 1st Battalion The Royal Regiment of Scotland, abbreviated to 1 SCOTS. Royal Scots Royal Scots Dragoon Guards Regimental Museum Edinburgh Castle The Regimental Museum tells the history of the Scottish regiments, their heroes and unique artefacts from battles. The most important artefact being the flag taken by Ensign Ewart from the French at the Battle of Waterloo. Royal Scots Dragoon Guards are the senior Scottish regiment in the British Army. In the museum can be seen the French Eagle and Standard captured at the Battle of Waterloo by Ensign Ewart. The Royal Scots Dragoon Guards are a light cavalry regiment famous for its iconic victory at the Battle of Waterloo 1815. Also were part of the charge of the Light brigade. Read the story of Ensign Ewart and how they adopted the Eagle as their emblem. Ensign Ewart’s memorial stone stands on the Castle Esplanade with his grave stone behind it. Read the hole story “Taking of the Flag” Dragoon Guards Dury’s Battery Edinburgh Castle Fortress The Dury Battery was named after Captain Theodore Dury who built the battery after the 1708 Jacobite rising. Captain Dury was the military engineer for Scotland. In 1757 the guns were removed and the battery was converted into an exercise yard for prisoners of war. Furthermore, the Military Prison and the War Prisoners Prison are also located in this yard. The Scottish National War Memorial Edinburgh Castle The Scottish National War Memorial Edinburgh Castle tells the story of Scotland at war with many items from the past that tell great stories of battles won and to many that were lost. The National war memorial commemorates all who have fallen in wars from 1914 to this day. A display of the rolls of honour, is of all in Scottish services and civilians who were casualties of wars. The Scottish National War Memorial is a building in Crown Square which is at the height of Edinburgh Castle rock on which Edinburgh Castle stands. The Building was opened in 1927. The Memorial is open to the public, free of charge on application to the Castle Ticket Office. Governor’s House Edinburgh Castle The Governor’s House was built as accommodation in 1742 for the Governor of Edinburgh Castle and are still used for the same purpose. Edinburgh Castle St Margaret’s Chapel St Margaret’s Chapel Edinburgh Castle was built by David I circa 1130 for his mother Queen Margaret. The Chapel was renamed in 1250 when Margaret was canonised, therefore St Margaret’s Chapel. The Oldest building n Edinburgh Castle is St Margaret’s Chapel Probably also in Edinburgh. Which is still in use today. Stone of Destiny Now in Perth Museum In 1292 John Balliol was most certainly the last king to use the Stone of Destiny. He became king in 1292 until 1296. In 1296 the Stone of Destiny was captured by Edward I of England and taken to Westminster Abbey in London. The Stone of Destiny was finally returned to Scotland on St Andrews Day 1996 the first time in 700 years. There are also many stories of the Stone of Destiny’s origins from Syria to Egypt, from Spain. Before arriving in Ireland and then Scotland. The Stone of destiny is beside the Scottish Crown Jewels (Honours of Scotland) in the Crown Room of Edinburgh Castle. I have to images of the Crown Jewels as they are in a special glass case restricting photographs. There is a monument of Robert the Bruce having himself crowned as King of Scotland at Scone in 1306. Edinburgh Castle The Scottish Crown Jewels (The Honours of Scotland) The Scottish Crown Jewels have been in continuous occupation of Edinburgh Castle since 1660. Most noteworthy the Honours of Scotland were forgotten about as they had been abolished in 1707 and locked away. Subsequently they were found locked in a chest in the crown room by Sir Walter Scott in 1818. As a result they have been on display in the Crown Room ever since. The Crown jewels consist of a crown, sceptre and sword of state. Firstly used in a group for the coronation of Mary Queen of Scots in 1543. The Sceptre is thought to have been a gift from the Pope Alexander VI in 1494. The Crown was a design for King James V in 1540 and the Sword gifted to King James IV in 1507 by Pope Julius II. The Scottish Crown Jewels (Honours of Scotland) are the oldest Crown Jewels in the British Isles. The images below are replicas in an outer room of the crown room. Edinburgh Castle Dog Cemetery Royal Palace Edinburgh Castle Royal Palace Edinburgh Castle was were Mary Queen of Scots gave birth to her son James in 1566. He was later to become James VI. Mary of Guise was French (Marie de Guise) born on 22 November 1515 was the wife of James V and Queen of Scots from 1538 to 1542. She gave birth to Mary later to be Mary Queen of Scots. Also served as Regent of Scotland in her daughter’s name from 1554 to 1560. Mary de Guise died in Edinburgh Castle in 1560. For security she had a Palace and Chapel built at the foot of Castlehill. Only the facade remains as the University of Edinburgh demolished it to build the New College in 1846. James VI returned To Edinburgh Castle in 1617 for the Jubilee celebrations. Finally the last royal to stay in Edinburgh Castle being Charles I in 1633. The Royal Palace Plaque reads; The residence of the Stewart Kings and Queens in the 15th & 16th centuries. The birthplace of King James VI in 1566 and the home of The Scottish Crown Jewels. Edinburgh Castle Birth Room James VI Antechamber Laich Hall The Laich (low) Hall is in the Royal Palace in Crown Square of Edinburgh Castle. This is where many Royal banquets and dances took place. Also can be found there is the antechamber and birth room. Where Mary Queen of Scots gave birth to her son James. Who was to become James the VI of Scotland and James the 1st of England. King James VI was the last King of Scotland and after the Union of the Crowns in 1603 also became King James I of England. The Great Hall Edinburgh Castle Great Hall, Edinburgh Castle, Crown Square. Built by King James IV circa 1480 and completed in circa 1510 and restored in 1888. This hall is a magnificent architectural sight, with its the original hammer-beam (wooden) ceiling. Certainly the best preserved in any of the Castles of Great Britain. Also the painting of Ensign Ewart is on the end wall with weapons and armour. Finally do not miss the key to Edinburgh Castle also in the Great Hall. Used now by the Royals for State and Royal functions. Edinburgh Castle Prisons Thomas III de Grey First Prisoner Edinburgh Castle The first prisoners of war known, date back to at least 1355. Maybe, the first being Thomas III de Grey an English knight captured in 1355. While captive he began to write the “Scalacronica” the history of England from 1272 – 1362 furthermore he used the Castle library for reference. Another was Brigadier William Mackintosh, Laird of Borlum Inverness (Mackintosh of Borlum) one of the leaders in the Jacobite uprising of 1715 who spent his last 20 plus years a prisoner in Edinburgh Castle. Foreign Prisoners French prisoners were held in Edinburgh Castle in 1757 from the 7 years war and soldiers of America, Italy, France, Spain, Netherlands and Poland were held prisoner here circa 1760. Many of the prisoners scratched their names into the doors and walls of the vaults. Finally in 18811 when 49 prisoners escaped from Edinburgh Castle Prison it was deemed unsuitable and no further prisoners were placed in Edinburgh Castle. Edinburgh Castle Military Prison Edinburgh Castle Military Prison first of all opened 1842 and finally closed 1923. This small Victorian prison was built as a result of offending soldiers from the castle garrison and those of visiting regiments. Queen Anne Building Crown Square Edinburgh Castle The Queen Anne building was built circa 1710 after the Jacobite uprising of 1708. The main function was barracks for officers and Castle gunners. Also this site previously was where the royal gun house stood and furthermore the position where Mons Meg first stood. Field Marshal Earl Douglas Haig First of all, Douglas Haig was born a son of famous whisky distiller's in Edinburgh on 19th June 1861. He finally died in 1928 and was buried at Dryburgh Abbey. His grave stone stands beside the family grave of Sir Walter Scott. Finally he founded the Haig Fund (who make the Poppies) and the Royal British Legion. Douglas Haig Military Career Firstly, in his military career he was enrolled in the Royal Military College at Sandhurst in 1884. In June 1899 Haig went to South Africa to serve in the Boer War. Douglas Haig became major-general, certainly the youngest officer to hold the rank in the British Army. He also was responsible for training the Indian Cavalry. Furthermore in 1909 Haig was appointed as chief of staff in India. Most noteworthy In 1910, Douglas Haig took command of the 1st Army Corps of the British Expeditionary Force (BEF) based in Aldershot. Consequently Haig and the (BEF) went to France in August 1914. He became commander in chief of the (BEF). Finally, General Haig after a long and bloody battle over several months (July –December) brought an end to the Somme Offensive. As a result in that time, it is estimated, the British army suffered over 400,000 casualties, the French 200,000 and Germans circa 500,000 casualties. Because of his actions Haig was nicknamed “The Butcher of the Somme”. He used human life with no regards to consequences. Douglas Haig Honours He was finally knighted (Knight of the Order of the Thistle) in July 1917 and consequently became Sir Douglas Haig. Furthermore, in 1919 he was made Earl Haig then finally in 1921 Baron Haig of Bemersyde. The statue of of Douglas Haig is in the square outside the Hospital in Edinburgh Castle. Plaque Finally the plaque on the statue in Edinburgh Castle reads; This statue was present to the City of Edinburgh by Sir Dhunjibhoy Bomanji of Bombay. In admiration of the service rendered to the British Empire by the Field Marshal. Also the engraved stone on the house in Charlotte Square Edinburgh reads; In this house Douglas Haig was born 19th June 1861. Douglas Haig’s grave stone in Dryburgh Abbey have the words; Douglas Haig born in Edinburgh June 19th 1861. Departed out of this world Sunday Jan 29th 1928. Edinburgh Castle Hospital The Edinburgh Castle hospital buildings in Hospital Square were built in 1753 as two ordnance storehouse for arms and military equipment. They were converted into the Garrison Hospital in 1897. Ordnance Storehouse National War Museum and Hospital The Ordnance store house was one of two warehouses for arms and military equipment. Built to a design by General William Skinner chief engineer in north Britain in 1753. He was also the creator of Fort George the Garrison fortress of the Scottish Highlands. This ordnance store house now houses the Military Museum. Previously was converted from a 60-bed hospital that cared for German Prisoners of war during the First World War. War Museum Edinburgh Castle Key to the Door The Edinburgh Castle Key with tags of the keeper of the key click to magnify and read the tags. Next - Castle Esplanade
- Edinburgh High Schools | Secondary Education | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh high scchools throughout the region educating local children in the catchment area of the local school contact details here Edinburgh High Schools Edinburgh High Schools Community High Schools Education & Learning Community High Schools Drummond Bellevue Place Edinburgh EH7 4BS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 2651 Community High Schools Balerno High Bridge Road Edinburgh EH14 7AQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 477 7788 Education Community High Schools Currie Dolphin Avenue Edinburgh EH14 5RD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 449 2165 Education Community High Schools Craigroyston Pennywell Road Edinburgh EH4 4NL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 477 7801 High Schools Westerhailes Community High Murrayburn Drive Edinburgh EH14 2SU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 442 2201 High Schools Leith Academy Academy Park Edinburgh EH6 8JQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 554 0606 High Schools South Queensferry Ashburnham Road Edinburgh EH30 9JN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 319 3200 High Schools St Augustine's R.C. Broomhouse Road Edinburgh EH12 9AE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 334 9262 High Schools Forresters Broomhouse Road Edinburgh EH12 9AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 334 6801 High Schools St Thomas Of Aquin's R.C Chalmers Street Edinburgh EH3 9NH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 8734 High Schools Trinity Academy Craighall Avenue Edinburgh EH6 4RT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 478 5050 High Schools Craigmount Craigs Road Edinburgh EH12 8NH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 339 6823 High Schools Gillespies Academy Lauderdale Street Edinburgh EH9 1DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 447 1900 High Schools Tynecastle High School McLeod Street Edinburgh EH11 2NJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 3488 High Schools Oxgangs High School Oxgangs Road North Edinburgh EH14 1DP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 441 4501 High Schools Boroughmuir High School 111 Viewforth Edinburgh EH11 1FL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 9703 High Schools Liberton Gilmerton Road Edinburgh EH17 7PT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 664 7514 High Schools Portobello High School 1 Milton Road Edinburgh EH15 3BY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 669 2324 High Schools Holyrood R.C. Duddingston Road West Edinburgh EH15 3ST City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 661 5871
- Ayrshire | Golf Courses | All About Edinburgh
Ayrshire with 30 Golf Courses and are some of the best in the world. Royal Troon, Trump Turnberry, Dundonald and the Gailes 7 courses one a day for a week of amazing Golf. Golf Courses Ayrshire Ayrshire golf courses are some of the best in the world. Open Championship Courses, the first Open Championship course (1860) Prestwick. With the present U.S. President Donald Trump owning 3 at Trump Turnberry, The Ailsa Golf Course, King Robert The Bruce Golf Course, Arran Golf Course. With the Dundonald Golf Course and Gailes Golf Course Barassie . Royal Troon Golf Course and Portland Golf Course why go anywhere else for a holiday. Scotland's Golf Course Map Golf & Airport Transfers Royal Troon Portland Golf Course Craigend Road Troon KA10 6EP +44 (0)1292 310 063 Royal Troon Golf Club Craigend Road Troon KA10 6EP +44 1292 311555 Royal Troon Old Golf Course Craigend Road Troon KA10 6EP +44 (0)1292 310 063 Troon Links Golf Course 24 Harling Drive Troon KA10 6NF +44 1292 616255 Gailes links Golf Course Glasgow Golf Club Gailes Road Irvine, KA11 5AE +44 1294 311 561 Gailes Links Golf Course Western Gailes Golf Club Gailes Road Irvine KA11 5AE +44 1294 311 649 Dundonald Links Golf Course Ayr Road Gailes Ayrshire KA11 5BF +44 1294 314000 Annanhill Golf Course 9 Laburnum Road Kilmarnock KA1 2HQ 01563 521512 Annanhill Golf Club Irvine Road Kilmarnock KA1 2RT +44 1563 521644 Ballochmyle Golf Course Catrine Road, Mauchline KA5 6LE +44 1290 550469 Rowallan Castle Golf Course, Kilmarnock KA3 2LP +44 1563 530 550 Trump Turnberry King Robert the Bruce Golf Course Maidens Road Turnberry Ayrshire KA26 9LT +44 1655 334032 Trump Turnberry Ailsa Golf Course Maidens Road Turnberry Ayrshire KA26 9LT +44 1655 334032 Trump Turnberry Arran Course Maidens Road Turnberry Ayrshire KA26 9LT +44 1655 334032 Prestwick St Nicholas Grangemuir Road Prestwick South Ayrshire KA9 1SN +44 1292 473904 Prestwick Golf Course 2-4 Links Road Prestwick Ayrshire KA9 1QH +44 (0)1292 477404 Prestwick St Cuthbert Golf Club East Road Prestwick KA9 2SX +44 1292 477101 Kilmarnock (Barassie) Golf Course 29 Hillhouse Road Troon Ayrshire KA10 6SY +44 1292 313920 Irvine Bogside The Irvine Golf Club Bogside Irvine KA12 8SN +44 1294 275979 Newmilns Road Galston KA4 8PA +44 1563 821993 Caprington Golf Club Ayr Road Riccarton Kilmarnock KA1 4UW +44 1563 521915 Irvine Ravenspark Golf Club Kidsneuk Irvine KA12 8SR +44 1294 271293 Ardeer Golf Club Greenhead Avenue Stevenston KA20 4LB +44 1294 464542 West Kilbride Golf Club West Kilbride Golf Links 33 Fullerton Drive West Kilbride KA23 9HT KPGC Kilbirnie Place Golf Club Largs Road Kilbirnie KA25 7AT 01505 684444 Beith Golf Club Threepwood Road Beith KA15 2JR +44 1505 503166 Largs Golf Club Irvine Road Largs KA30 8EU +44 1475 673594 Routenburn Golf Club Routenburn Road Largs KA30 8QA +44 1475 687240 The Millport Golf Club Golf Road Isle of Cumbrae KA28 0HB 01475 530306 Corrie Golf Club Isle of Arran KA27 8JD 01770 810223 Shiskine Golf & Tennis Club Shore Road Blackwaterfoot Isle of Arran KA27 8HA +44 1770 860226
- Edinburgh Archery | Activities Guide | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh Archery Robin Hood maid Marion Archery for begginers shoot the apple of your friends head Achers targets and more edinburgh archery Edinburgh Archery Bow and Arrows or Crossbows Robin Hood Hit the target and save Maid Marion Activities Archery Experience Archery Parties North Berwick East Lothian Scotland EH39 5BW 07831173421 01620-850325 Archery Experience Roxburghe Sporting Estate Roxburghe Hotel A698 Heiton TD5 8JZ Scottish Borders Scotland 01573 450 333 Archery Experience Combat Archery Scotland Edinburgh Corn Exchange 11 New Market Road Edinburgh EH14 1RJ 0131 510 7160 Archery Experience Winton House Winton House Estate B6355 Pencaitland EH34 5AT East Lothian Scotland 01875 340 222 Archery Experience Mad Max Adventures Whitemoss Farm Kirknewton EH27 8DA 0345 901 1424 Archery Experience Yetholm Archery Club High Street Yetholm TD5 8RR Scottish Borders Scotland 07944093674 Archery Experience Don Coyote Outdoor Centre Lamancha West Linton EH46 7BD Scottish Borders Scotland 01968 661 066 Archery Experience Archery Duns 9 Langton Gate Duns TD11 3AF Scottish Borders Scotland 07989 698 425 Archery Experience Hopetoun Clays Pinetum Woods Newton Village EH52 6QD West Lothian Scotland 0131 331 9940 Archery Experience Scottish Outdoor Education Centre Broomlee Centre Station Road West Linton EH46 7BU Scottish Borders Scotland 01899 221 115 Archery Experience Southern Upland Roving Archers Howlets Ha Farm House Westruther Gordon TD3 6NF Scottish Borders Scotland 01578 740 205 Archery Experience Archery Centre Eastcote Hawick TD9 8SZ Scottish Borders Scotland 01450 870008
- Edinburgh Chocolate Making Activity
Edinburgh Chocolate Making Activities indulge making youn chocolate then it an activity to enjoy Chocolate Making Edinburgh Activity learn about how chocolate is made where it comes from. See From the bean to a bar Advertise your business here limited to one business Activities Chocolate Making The Chocolatarium 3-5 Cranston Street Edinburgh EH8 8BE +(44) 131 556 7005 Thinking Chocolate 0131 305 2690 COCO Chocolatier 24 West Telferton EH7 6UL 0131 228 4526
- Falkirk Atrtractions | Scotland | All About Edinburgh
Falkirk Attractions Scotland where you can see the Largest Horse Sculpture worldwide, Rosebank Distillery, The Kelpies and the Falkirk Wheel a barge lift. The Antonine Wall Roman Fort. Graves of Famous people, Battlesite Memorials, Callendar House and the Avon Viaduct (Larges in Scotland). Falkirk Attractions Scotland The Kelpies The Kelpies were officially opened by HRH Princess Anne on the 8th July 2015. A kelpie is a shape-shifting water spirit that take on the shape of a horse which resides in lakes and pools. The Kelpies are the largest pair of equine sculptures in the world and stand in the Helix Park, where the new extension to the Forth and Clyde Canal is located. At a height of 100 feet (30 mtrs) a memorial to the horses of Scotland that worked the land and pulled barges along the canals. The Kelpies & Helix Park The Graveyard at Falkirk Trinity Church Falkirk Trinity Church stands on the original site of the ‘Faw Kirk’, the first church erected in the town of Falkirk. This where the name of the town derives Falkirk. The graveyard of Falkirk Trinity Church has many memorials from the Battle of Falkirk 1298 (A defeat by the English in a battle of the First War of Scottish Independence). Led by King Edward I of England, the English army defeated by the Scots lead by Bonnie Prince Charlie at the Battle of Falkirk on 17 January 1746 which was prior to the massacre at Culloden in 16th April of the same year. Sir John De Graeme Grave The Trinity Graveyard is the resting place of Sir John De Graeme, William Wallace’s close friend, and right-hand man. Sir John De Graeme was killed in action during the Battle of Falkirk on 22 July 1298. William Wallace is said to have carried his body to its present resting place at the Faw Kirk Graveyard. A replica of the broadsword Sir John De Graeme carried into war has been attached to his tombs wrought-iron enclosure. Sir John De Graeme Trinity Church Falkirk Sir John De Graeme Memorial Fountain The Memorial Fountain was built in 1912 on the site where Sir John De Graeme, William Wallace's loyal knight and close friend died in the battle of Falkirk in 1298. Falkirk Steeple Heritage Centre The present Steeple is the third steeple the first was built circa 1590 a new Tolbooth and prison was built in 1663 and demolished in 1803 the present Steeple was completed in 1814 and is over 140 feet high (43 mtrs) High. The Heritage centre tells the story of the area circa last 400 years. Also in the heritage centre is the bell that was made in 1697. Take the guided tour of the centre Rosebank Distillery O n the opening of the Forth & Clyde canal in 1790, the connection between Edinburgh in the east and Glasgow in the west of Scotland gave a safe route for goods and people from coast to coast. Many Distilleries were built along the canal banks, Rosebank was one of them in the village of Camelon. Rosebank Distillery Rosebank Distillery, Camelon Rd, Falkirk FK1 5SQ The Rankine Family The Distillery was founded by James Rankine, a merchant of the town. The Rosebank distillery is the only surviving among all the distilleries opened along the canal. James Rankine purchased the maltings of the old Camelon distillery in 1840, his son then demolished the Camelon site and rebuilt it in 1868 as the now Rosebank Distillery. Rosebank was closed in 1993. It continued to produce whisky for the conglomerate owner and the quality was lost to blends now after many years it has been rescued by an independent Ian Macleod Distillers in 2017. The Rosebank Distillery is back distilling great whiskies. Take a Tour and buy the whisky with the money you would have spent on transport to the highland distilleries, you will not be disappointed. The Falkirk Wheel The Falkirk Wheel is the only fully rotating boat lift in the world and joins the Forth and Clyde Canal (Built 1790 is circa 35 miles (57km) long) and The Union Canal (built 1822 is circa 31 miles (51km) long), replacing the staircase of 11 locks which were dismantled in 1933. The Falkirk Wheel was opened in 2002 by Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II and at a height of 115 Feet (35 mtrs). The Basin of the Union Canal is at Fountain Quay in Edinburgh ends in Grangemouth where the Falkirk Wheel stands, and joins the Forth & Clyde Canal which ends at the River Clyde at Bowling in Glasgow. There is a Cycle Route 754 which is traffic-free from Edinburgh to Glasgow which follows the Canals. Rough Castle Rough Castle was one of 16 known forts along the Antonine Wall, The wall formed the north-western frontier of the Roman Empire. Rough Castle can be reached on foot (about 15 minutes) from the Falkirk Wheel, a signposted path from the visitor centre will get you there. This is where the tallest surviving section of rampart, Defensive Lilia pits and many ditches and gateways can be seen. The Battle of Falkirk Muir Monument The Battle of Falkirk Muir, which was the second Battle of Falkirk on 17 January 1746, a defeat for the English. This was the last Jacobite success prior to Culloden and their final defeat. The battle site is currently marked by a monument, erected in 1927 situated on the South Muir on the edge of the Bantaskine estate. Falkirk Tunnel The Falkirk Tunnel built as part of the Union Canal connecting Edinburgh and Glasgow was completed in 1822. It was constructed as a tunnel rather than over land, as William Forbes owner of Callendar House objected as it would spoil his view from his house. This the longest canal tunnel in Scotland measures in length over 2000 foot (630 metres) and was carved through solid rock. It is now illuminated and with a path to allow people to walk through the tunnel. Found behind Falkirk High Station and is accessible via a well-marked path along the canal. Falkirk Memorial Cairn The Battle of Falkirk 1298 Memorial Cairn erected in 2007 to the memory of the men who fought with William Wallace against the English at the battle of Falkirk. The cairn positioned on the battlefield which is now part of Callendar House Park. Callendar House Callender House and grounds were in possession of the Callendar family circa 1240 it then changed ownership in 1346 to the Livingstone family, in 1783 William Forbes became owner and the descendant are still owners today. The Tower house is the oldest part of what now looks like a French château. Over the centuries it has been extended and modernised. It present look was given to the property circa 1870. The extensive grounds and has many things to see including a pond and ice House. There are many historic things to see in the park dating back to the building of the Antonine Wall in 142 AD. In the house a Library hold the archives of Falkirk and a Georgian Kitchen still in use. Outlander TV series to place here and the grounds hold a golf course and children’s play area The Antonine Wall The Antonine Wall was a Roman defensive wall, which was built across central Scotland from Bo’ness on the shores of the Firth of Forth to Old Kilpatrick on the Firth of Clyde. 37 miles long with 16 forts. Completed 162 AD. The Wall was the north western frontier of the Roman Empire. There are a number of other areas where the wall is still visible Rough Castle, Kinneil Estate, Polmont Hill, Seabegs Wood and Watling Lodge. Forbes Mausoleum A mausoleum was built after the death of William Forbes the first, which took the form of a circular Doric temple 45ft tall. Above the door you can see a panel with a Greek inscription: ӨNHTA TA TΩN ӨNHTΩN KAI ΠANTA IҐAPEPXETAI HMAΣHN ΔE MH AΛΛ HMEIΣ ATTA ΠAPEPXOMEӨA. The translation: “Mortals; possessions are mortal, and all things pass us by; if not, at any rate we pass them by”. The first occupant was William Forbes the First in 1816 one year after his death, then the wife of William Forbes the second, Rose O’Hara in 1866. Later occupants include Colonel Charles Forbes in 1948 and William Dudley Forbes in 1977. West Quarter Do 'cot This was the Do 'cot of the Lairds House that was the source of fresh meet for the house with spaces for hundreds of pairs of pigeons. The estate and its mansion house inherited by Dame Helenore Livingstone. A panel above the dovecot’s door shows the arms of Sir William and his wife Dame Helenore Livingstone and the date 1647. They built a new mansion house nearby, but probably not this dovecot. Wallacestone Monument The Wallace Monument commemorates the first Battle of Falkirk, which took place on 22 July 1298 William Wallace resigned as Guardian of Scotland. The position Wallace stood, seeing the English armies approach from Linlithgow. The memorial Stone erected in 1810, replaced the original stone which also contained a Latin inscription “Here he stood”, with a panoramic view of the Forth Valley and beyond. The Avon Aqueduct The Avon Aqueduct (Linlithgow) is the largest of three major aqueducts along the Union Canal. The others are the Almond (Lin’s Mill) Aqueduct (Ratho) and the Slateford Aqueduct (Longstone) over the Water of Leith. All three Aqueducts are built to the same design. Constructed 1821, 247 metres long and 86 feet (26 metres) high, it is the longest and tallest aqueduct in Scotland. It is also the second longest in Britain. Kinneil (Palace) House The Lands of Kinneil Estate are said to have been awarded to the first of the Hamilton's after the Battle of Bannockburn (1314) by Robert the Bruce. The original Tower House was built circa 1550. It was later blown up. In the early 17th century it was rebuilt and extended in 1677. The House was left empty from 1822 an has become a ruin. Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway Museum Scotland’s largest railway museum situated in Bo'ness this is a must for the railway and train enthusiasts. The Railway Museum has many historic locomotives, carriages and wagons, model trains. It also has displays and photographs of the railways in Scotland. Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway and Steam Locomotive Trips Enjoy 70 minutes on the Steam Train over a 10 mile return journey along the Firth of Forth Estuary from Bo’ness to Manuel, with a 10 minute stop in Manuel. There is an on-train buffet and afternoon tea is served on most Saturday and Sunday afternoons. The train has been used in films and the Outlander series. There is also Thomas the Tank Engine Train and a Santa Claus train trip. Dunmore Pineapple The “Dunmore Pineapple” was built in 1761 as a summer house for his wife, which gave views of the walled gardens. The Pineapple is circa 46 feet (14 mtrs) in height. The Pineapple was added to the property in 1777 after John Murray, the 4th Earl of Dunmore return from Virginia in summer of 1776 where he served as the last British Governor of the Colony. It open to the public through the National Trust for Scotland and can be found in Dunmore Park Airth Scotland. Bannockburn The Rotunda and Flag Pole Bannockburn The rotunda was built to commemorate the 650th anniversary of the battle of Bannockburn in 1964. The flag pole was place where Robert the Bruce raised his standard and a commemorative pole was first erected here in 1870. Borestone Location Bannockburn Written in the circle the words Location of the Borestone where by tradition Robert Bruce raised his standard in 1314. Battle of Bannockburn Battle Ground BANNOCKBURN BATTLE SITE KING ROBERT ASSEMBLED HIS ARMY HERE TO GUARD THE POINT WHERE THE ROMAN ROAD ENTERED THE NEW PARK. CARTHROPES WERE SET IN NUMEROUS PITS ON BOTH SIDES OF THE ROMAN ROAD ALONG THE BANNOCKBURN. THE ENGLISH CAVALRY ARRIVED AT THE FORD ON SUNDAY 23 JUNE 1314. BRUCE KILLED DE BOHUN NEARBY. THE SCOTS FORCED THE CAVALRY BACK OVER THE BANNOCK BURN MAKING IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR EDWARD II TO REACH STIRLING CASTLE BY THE NEW PARK Battle of Bannockburn Cairn BATTLE OF BANNOCKBURN FOR GOD AND ST ANDREW ______________________ ROBERT THE BRUCE KING OF SCOTS PLANTED HIS STANDARD NEAR THIS SPOT WHEN THE SCOTTISH PATRIOTS UNDER HIS COMMAND VANQUISHED THE ARMY OF EDWARD II OF ENGLAND AT THE BATTLE OF BANNOCKBURN 24TH JUNE - 1314 "WE FIGHT NOT FOR GLORY NOR FOR WEALTH, NOR HONOUR BUT ONLY AND ALONE WE FIGHT FOR FREEDOM WHICH NO GOOD MAN SURRENDERS BUT WITH HIS LIFE." Wanlockhead Leadhills Attractions
- Hotels Edinburgh | Accommodation | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh has over 180 hotels of ratings up to 5 stars. Many of the hotels are in the city centre with over 20 that ar chain hotels Travelodge Premier Inn Ibus Novotels Holday Inns and Malmasion Hotels. There are also a number of private chains. Hotels Edinburgh Edinburgh Hotels List produced is in Post code order the lowest post code is EH1 which is the city centre up to EH28 which is Edinburgh Airport. The EH post code is for the Edinburgh area and is defined by distance from the old Post Office building at the East end of Princes Street. close to Waverley Rail Station See the map with the Red markers for EH1 Hotels. When contacting Hotels from outside UK please replace the first 0 with +44 (WhatsApp is free) There are 34 hotels in EH1 Edinburgh City Centre Hotels Edinburgh Radisson Collection Hotel 2 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 6666 Hotels Edinburgh Motel One 18 Market Street Edinburgh EH1 1BL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 0730 Hotels Edinburgh Market Street Hotel 6 Market Street Edinburgh EH1 1DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 322 9229 Hotels Edinburgh Leonardo Royal Edinburgh 43 Jeffery Street Edinburgh EH1 1DH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 200 3300 Hotels Edinburgh Hotel Du Vin Hotel 19 Bristo Place Edinburgh EH1 1EZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 247 4900 Hotels Edinburgh Ibis Hotel 77 South Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1HN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 292 0001 Hotels Edinburgh Stay Central Hotel 139 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 622 6801 Hotels Edinburgh Inn on the Royal Mile 82 High Street Edinburgh EH1 1LL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9940 Hotels Edinburgh Holiday Inn Express Royal Mile 300 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1NA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 524 8400 Hotels Edinburgh Fraser Suites 24 St. Giles Street Edinburgh EH1 1PT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 7200 Hotels Edinburgh Ibis Hotel 6 Hunter Square Edinburgh EH1 1QW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 240 7000 Hotels Edinburgh Carlton Hilton Hotel 20 North Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1SD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 472 3000 Hotels Edinburgh Travelodge Central 33 St Mary's Street Edinburgh EH1 1TA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 984 6137 Hotels Edinburgh Radisson Blu Hotel 80 High Street Edinburgh EH1 1TH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 473 6590 Hotels Edinburgh Scotsman Hotel 51 North Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1YT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5565 Hotels Edinburgh Waldorph Astoria Caledonian 4 Princes Street Edinburgh EH1 2AB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 222 8888 Hotels Edinburgh Rutland Hotel 15 Rutland Street Edinburgh EH1 2AE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 3402 St Christopher's Hotel 13 Market Street Edinburgh EH1 1DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1446 Hotels Edinburgh Apex International Hotel 35 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2HS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0845 365 0000 Hotels Edinburgh Apex City Hotel 61 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2JF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0845 365 0000 Hotels Edinburgh Grassmarket Hotel 94 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2JR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 2299 Hotels Edinburgh Glasshouse Hotel 2 Greenside Place Edinburgh EH1 3AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 525 8200 Hotels Edinburgh Courtyard by Marriot 3 Baxter's Place Edinburgh EH1 3AF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 526 3778 Hotels Edinburgh W Hotel 1 St James Square Edinburgh EH1 3AX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 388 8000 Hotels Edinburgh Travelodge Waterloo 17 Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3BG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 984 6445 Hotels Edinburgh Apex Waterloo Hotel 23 Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3BH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 441 0440 Hotels Edinburgh Parliament House Hotel 15 Calton Hill Edinburgh EH1 3BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 478 4000 Hotels Edinburgh York House Hotel 27 York Place Edinburgh EH1 3HP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 6222 Hotels Edinburgh The Place 28 York Place Edinburgh EH1 3HU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 7575 Hotels Edinburgh Premier Inn 44 York Place Edinburgh EH1 3HU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0333 234 6473 Hotels Edinburgh Indigo Hotel 51 York Place Edinburgh EH1 3JD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5577 Hotels Edinburgh Holiday Inn Express City Centre 12 Picardy Place Edinburgh EH1 3JT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 2300 Hotels Edinburgh Regent House Hotel 3 Forth Street Edinburgh EH1 3JX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1616 Hotels Edinburgh Albany Hotel 39 Albany Street Edinburgh EH1 3QY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 0397 Hotels Edinburgh Broughton Hotel 37 Broughton Place Edinburgh EH1 3RR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 9792 There are 24 Hotels in EH2 Edinburgh City Centre Hotels in Edinburgh in post code EH2 are situated on Princes Street and the or iginal New Town area. All are in walking distance of the Old Town and Edinburgh Castle See the map with the Purple markers. Hotels Edinburgh Ibis Hotel 19 St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 1AU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 292 0200 Hotels Edinburgh Frederick House Hotel 42 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1999 Hotels Edinburgh Travelodge Central Queen Street 30 Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 1JX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 984 6143 Hotels Edinburgh No53 Hotel 53 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1LH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 2752 Hotels Edinburgh Rabble Hotel 55a Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1LH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 622 7800 Hotels Edinburgh Motel One 6 Princes Street Edinburgh EH2 2AN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 0730 Hotels Edinburgh Travelodge Central Prince Street 1 Meuse Lane Edinburgh EH2 2BY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 559 1855 Malmaison Hotel 21 St Andrews Square Edinburgh EH2 1AY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 370 4600 Hotels Edinburgh Old Waverley Hotel 43 Princes Street Edinburgh EH2 2BY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4648 Hotels Edinburgh Mercure Mount Royal 54 Princes Street Edinburgh EH2 2DG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 342 1013 Hotels Edinburgh Balmoral Hotel 1 Princes Street Edinburgh EH2 2EQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 2414 Hotels Edinburgh Premier Inn Hub Rose Street South Lane Edinburgh EH2 2NN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0333 321 3104 Hotels Edinburgh Travelodge 37 Rose Street Edinburgh EH2 2NH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 984 6441 Hotels Edinburgh InterContinental Edinburgh George Hotel 19 George Street Edinburgh EH2 2PB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1251 Hotels Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel 16 George Street Edinburgh EH2 2PF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 270 3900 Gleneagles Townhouse Hotel 3St Andrews Square Edinburgh EH2 2AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 322 3780 Hotels Edinburgh Premier Inn Waverley 24 Rose Street Edinburgh EH2 2QA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0330 175 9010 Hotels Edinburgh Yotel Hotel 68-73 Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 4NA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 526 4950 Hotels Edinburgh Premier Inn 121 Princes Street Edinburgh EH2 4AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0333 321 9267 EasyHotel 125a Princes Street Edinburgh EH2 4AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 5303 Hotels Edinburgh Angels Share Hotel 9 Hope Street Edinburgh EH2 4EL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 247 7000 Hotels Edinburgh Kimpton Hotel Charlotte Square 38 Charlotte Square Edinburgh EH2 4HQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 240 5500 Hotels Edinburgh Tigerlily Hotel 125 George Street Edinburgh EH2 4JN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 5005 Edinburgh Grand 42 St Andrews Square Edinburgh EH2 2AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 230 0570 Eden Locke Hotel 127 George Street Edinburgh EH2 4JN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0330 056 3363 There is a selection of 33 Hotels All are in walking distance to the main attractions and City Centre These Hotels are on the Map with Yellow markers Bonham Hotel 35 Drumsheugh Gardens Edinburgh EH3 7RN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 6050 Hotels Edinburgh Melvin House Hotel 3 Rothesay Terrace Edinburgh EH3 7RY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 5084 Hotels Edinburgh Royal Scots Hotel 29 Abercromby Place Edinburgh EH3 6QE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4270 Hotels Edinburgh Britannia Hotel 69 Belford Road Edinburgh EH4 3DG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 221 0243 Hotels Edinburgh Mercure Edinburgh Quay 38 Gardener’s Crescent Edinburgh EH3 8DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 663 0627 Hotels Edinburgh Premier Inn Haymarket Torphican Street Edinburgh EH3 8JB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 357 4516 Hotels Edinburgh Double Tree by Hilton 34 Bread Street Edinburgh EH3 9AF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 5555 Hotels Edinburgh Premier Inn Central 82 Lauriston Place Edinburgh EH3 9AU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0870 990 6610 Hotels Edinburgh Novotel Edinburgh Centre 80 Lauriston Place Edinburgh EH3 9DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 656 3500 Hotels Edinburgh Moxy Fountainbridge Hotel 2 Freer Gait Edinburgh EH3 9FR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 378 2013 Brewdog Dog House Hotel 5 New Street Edinburgh EH8 8BH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 290 2300 KM Hotel and Apartments 5-9 Richmond Place Edinburgh EH8 9ST City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 131 651 2117 Brooks Hotel 70-72 Grove Street Edinburgh EH3 8AP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 3628 Hotels Edinburgh Residence Inn by Marriot 36 Simpson Loan Edinburgh EH3 9GG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 7150 Hotels Edinburgh Leonardo Hotel 79 Lauriston Place Edinburgh EH3 9HZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 622 7979 Hotels Edinburgh Sheraton Grand Hotel 1 Festival Square Edinburgh EH3 9SR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 9131 Hotels Edinburgh Marriot Holyrood Hotel 81 Holyrood Road Edinburgh EH8 8AU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 550 4500 Hotels Edinburgh Premier Inn Royal Mile 33 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0333 234 6430 Hotels Edinburgh Premier Inn Hub 37 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 202 6671 Hotels Edinburgh Ten Hill Place Hotel 10 Hill Place Edinburgh EH8 9DS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 662 2080 Hotels Edinburgh Travelodge Eglington 24 Eglington Crescent Edinburgh EH12 5BY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 984 6365 Stay City Apart Hotel 11 Brandfield Street Edinburgh EH3 8AS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 6651 Hotels Edinburgh Haymarket Hub Hotel 7 Clifton Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5DR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 347 9700 Hotels Edinburgh The Hoxton Hotel 5 - 21, Grosvenor Street Edinburgh EH12 5EF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 297 2840 Hotels Edinburgh Grosvenor Gardens Hotel 1 Grosvenor Gardens Edinburgh EH12 5EF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 313 3415 Hotels Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel 1 Coates Gardens Edinburgh EH12 5LG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 1775 Hotels Edinburgh Lairg Hotel 11 Coates Gardens Edinburgh EH12 5LG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 1050 Hotels Edinburgh Four Points by Sheraton 90 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5LQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 385 9077 Hotels Edinburgh Point A Edinburgh Hotel 152 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 526 4500 Hotels Edinburgh Hampton by Hilton West End 166 Fountainbridge Edinburgh EH3 9RX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 526 4530 Hotels Edinburgh VOCO Haymarket 46 Torphichen Street Edinburgh EH3 8JB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 378 1999 Hotels Edinburgh Leonardo Royal 1 Morrison Link Edinburgh EH3 8DN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 460 4600 Hotels Edinburgh Adagio Apart Hotel 231 Canongate Edinburgh EH8 8BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 322 8299 Hotels Edinburgh No 32 Hotel 32 Coates Gardens Edinburgh EH12 5LE City of Edinburgh Scotland EH12 5LE 0131 337 7077 Guest House B&B
- Edinburgh Weddings | Fascinators & Hats | All About Edinburgh
Wedding hats and Wedding Fascinators, find the ideal headdress for the wedding, clips and bands dress your head and stand out from the rest. The hat will make you stand out from the rest. Edinburgh Wedding Fascinators - Hats - Clips - Combs Wedding Hats Specialist Milliners Wedding Fascinators, Combs & Clips Wedding Hats Sally Ann Provan Hat Studio 7 Beaverhall Road Edinburgh EH7 4JE City of Edinburgh Scotland 07931 773410
- Haddington Town | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Haddington Attractions East Lothian Haddington was a important town and over the years has been burnt down and flooded on more than one occasion. Haddington originally was in Northumbria up until circa 900 AD when the border between Scotland and England was moved to bring it into Scotland. St Martin’s Kirk in the Nungate was built 1178 which is now the oldest standing building in Haddington. The once Palace of Haddington was abandoned in 1216 when Haddington was burnt by the English invaders. In 1198 King Alexander II of Scotland was born in Haddington. John Knox Protestant reformer was born in Haddington or nearby circa 1510. Haddington’s new Town Hall was built in 1748 and in 1817 the Waterloo Bridge near the Poldrate Mill was opened. In 1846 Haddington’s railway station opens to the public. linking with Edinburgh and closed in 1949. The twin steel arched Victoria Bridge was built in 1898 and the largest hoard of Roman artefacts (outside Rome) were found on nearby Traprain Hill in 1919 and can be seen in the National Museum of Scotland in Edinburgh. In 1965 Haddington was twinned with Aubigny sur Nère in France. St Martins Kirk Haddington East Lothian St Martin’s Kirk was built in 1178. It belonged to the Cistercian Nunnery of St Mary’s which was situated about one mile to the east of this site. The church was probably used by both nuns and the people of Haddington. Originally consisting of a nave and chancel at the east end. Only nave now remains. In the thirteenth century the six buttresses were added to the outer walls to take the weight of a new barrel vault. The area above the vault provided a second storey. The purpose of the square holes in the walls is unclear. Although it is possible that they were used for scaffolding (or the struts that held the upper floor up). Some Time after the reformation the church fell out of use and it is thought, although no visible sign exists. The area surrounding it was used for burials until the nineteenth century. Poldrate Mill Tynebank Haddington Poldrate Mill in Haddington is a modern mill built 1842 (Poldrate the area) on the site of the medieval Kirk Mill circa 1530 known as the east mill, situated near the Tyne River at the Waterloo Bridge. Nungate Bridge Haddington The first bridge built over the River Tyne in Haddington was in 1282. The Nungate Bridge is built on the same site built circa 1560 after the previous bridge was bombarded in the siege in 1548 when most of Haddington burned. The Nungate bridge as its predecessor was the main route from the south into Haddington (now a foot bridge). The bridge was a place many criminals were shacked to with jougs’ iron manacle that went around the neck. St Mary’s Church Haddington In 1375 the building of St Mary’s Church began and was completed in 1462. In 1548-9 the church was in ruins due to the siege of Haddington. At John Knox insistence the church was rebuilt in 1561. Further renovations and improvements have been made over the centuries to what you see today. There are many things to see, which include; Lauderdale Aisle and Tomb, Jane Welsh Carlyle memorial stone. Stain Glass windows depicting; The Sepulchre, Vision of St John the Divine, Christ and the Woman of Samaria, The Good Woman, The Crucifixion with the Virgin and St John, St Margaret and St Helen Divine Wisdom, The Herald Angel appears to the Shepherds, Christ as the Good Shepherd, The Ascension, Christ and the Sea of Galilee, Gethsemane and Emmaus. Wemyss Family Grave Haddington East Lothian Francis Charteris, became Charteris-Wemyss-Douglas 8th Earl of Wemyss & 4th Earl of March was born in 1772 as Frances Charteris and died 1853 at his home at Gosford House East Lothian Haddington War Memorial Haddington East Lothian Haddington war memorial at the gates to St Mary's Church was unveiled circa 1920. To commemorate all the local men and women who gave their lives in the defence of Britain in the World Wars Amisfield House Remains Francis Charteris bought a property called Newmills near Haddington circa 1715, and renamed it Amisfield after the family estate near Dumfries. On the land they built Amisfield House in 1755, a classic mansion house with a walled garden, a summer house known as the Banqueting House and stables. All that remains are ruins of the the summerhouse, Gothic Garden House, cascade pump house and stables. The gates with Lodges built circa 1720. and the walled garden circa 1786 are still in tact. However, the main house was demolished in 1928. The grounds have been used as Haddington Golf Course since 1865. Amisfield House East Gate and lodges Amisfield House Stables 1785 Amisfield House Summer House (Banqueting House) 1755 The Summerhouse was used as a banqueting hall and was were the Charteris family would entertain guests. A bowling green was once to the rear of the house with statues surrounding it. Unfortunately a flood of the Tyne in 1775 washed the statues away and destroyed the bowling green. Amisfield Gothic House This is a Gothic style House was built in 1766 by one of the most renowned builder | Stonemasons of the time Robert Milne from Edinburgh. Built for the then owners of the House and Lands the Charteris family. Amisfield Walled Garden Amisfield House walled garden (1783) is eight acre, one of the largest walled gardens in Scotland. The walls of the garden stand at 16 feet (4.9 m) and in each corner are circular pavilions. Note; The Ancient Fraternity of Gardeners of East Lothian was established in 1676 the oldest gardeners fraternity known. Amisfield House Cascade & Pump House The River Tyne flows through the grounds of Amisfield in Haddington. Amisfield House and grounds are now a golf course the house was demolished in 1928 as it had stood empty for years. The pump house may have previously been an Ice House which was a common place for all large houses. Samson Fountain Court Street Haddington The drinking fountain in Court Street Haddington with a statue of Samson at the apex was originally erected in 1924 At that time it was only the centre piece with four drinking cups on chains. It was then surrounded by a pond in 1998 and the cups removed. Haddington Corn Exchange The Corn Exchange was built in 1854 and is one of the largest Corn Exchanges to be built in Scotland. Tweeddale Monument Haddington Field Marshal George Hay, 8th Marquess of Tweeddale born 1787 at Yester House educated at the Royal High School in Edinburgh and became a full time soldier in 1804 and was awarded many honours throughout his career. On his fathers death in 1804 he became 16th Lord Hay of Yester. Earl of Tweeddale. 8th Marquess of Tweeddale. 8th Earl of Gifford. 8th Viscount of Walden. He was appointed Knight, Order of the Thistle (K.T.) in 1820 He held the office of Lord-Lieutenant of Haddingtonshire between 1823 till is death. He became Governor of Madras India in 1842-46 and retired from active service in 1848 when he returned to Yester House. He gained the rank of Field Marshal in 1875. While at home in Yester House he died of injuries sustained in a fire in 1876. He was honour in 1881 with the monument that stands in Court Street Haddington for his services in both times of war and peace. Goats of Haddington The Goats were sculpted by Dyre Vaa of Norway in 1978 The symbol of the Goat is on the coat of arms and the seal of Haddington thought to have been first adopted in 1296 when there were numerous goat farms in the area. Custom Stone Haddington Custom Stone of Haddington stood in the High Street and has been moved to the gardens behind the old George Hotel(Falkos). There are setts in the road where the Custom stone once sat. The plaque reads; This ancient stone was for | centuries the seat of the tacksman (Tax) | When petty customs were levied | in the Burgh. Mercat Cross Haddington A goat appears on the seal and on the coat of arms of Haddington it also is on the top of the mercat cross where the unicorn stands on most other mercat crosses throughout Scotland. The earliest documentary reference occurs in the reign of William the Lion (1165–1214), when it was decreed that “all merchandises sal be presentit at the mercat and mercat croce of burghis”. As William the Lion was a resident of Haddington, the mercat cross in the High Street could have been the first. John Gray Centre Haddington The John Gray Centre is the library, originally founded by Rev. John grey in 1688 and now is the heritage hub and museum of East Lothian. There is 700 years of manuscripts books and images all relating to the history of East Lothian. The new building opened in 2012 John Gray Plaques Haddington At the entrance to the Centre on the wall is a plaque to John Gray which reads; Mr John Gray Minister of the Gospel at Aberlady,for the regard he had for the town of Haddington. The place of his nativity did mortify this library for the community also did mortify the sum of 3000 merks scots. Appointed the annual rent thereof to charitable uses agreeable to his will under ye management of magistrates & town clerk thereof he departed this life in tear 1717. The red plaque reads; The story of John Gray Centre Began over 400 years ago, but who was John Gray? John was born in Haddington in 1684, the son of a merchant. He became a Presbyterian minister in 1667 and minister of Aberlady in 1684. During his life he collected a library of around 900 books which he left, together with money for their upkeep, to the people of Haddington on the death of his wife in 1717. His library was one of the first in Britain made freely available to the public and is now housed in the National Library of Scotland. The Centre has been named after John Gray in recognition of his gift to the people of Haddington. Carlyle House Museum Haddington Jane Welsh was born in Haddington in 1801 daughter of Dr John Welsh. She became one of the great letter writers of her age. She married essayist Thomas Carlyle in 1826. The house has been restored and is now the Jane Welsh Carlyle Museum. which tells the life of Jane before and after marriage. Mitchell’s Close Haddington Mitchell’s Close are 17th century buildings that have survived from the period, a true look back into the past. Royal Palace King William I Haddington Alexander II, son of King William I was born in Haddington Palace 1198. In 1214 King John attacked Haddington and burned it to the ground leaving very few buildings. The royal Place was saved but was vacated two years later. The present building is the County Building which was built in 1832 and stands on the site of the medieval palace of King William I remnants and foundations of which were found when excavating to build the county building in 1830. The plaque on the wall reads; This is the site of The Royal Palace occupied by King William the Lion and here his son Alexander II of Scotland was born 24th August 1198. Ferguson Monument Haddington Robert Ferguson of Raith was born in 1767 he was a landowner with estates in Haddingtonshire and Dysart Burghs. He became a member of parliament in 1835 for East Lothian and was also Lord Lieutenant of Fife in 1837. He after an affair married Lady Elgin of Dirleton. Lord Elgin of Elgin Marbles fame was the husband she divorced. John Knox Institute Haddington In 1880 the Knox Memorial Institute to house the grammar school of Haddington was completed with a statue of John Knox in the centre tower. Later to be known as Knox Academy. John Knox a Scottish minister, theologian, and writer was a leader of the country’s Reformation, which in 1572 under James IV approved the reformation settlement of which founded the Presbyterian Church of Scotland in 1560. John Knox was born in Haddingtonshire in 1513. Other information states he was born in 1505 (Thomas Carlyle). Gifford Gate John Knox Birthplace John Knox House was at Gifford gate near Haddington opposite the parish church on the far bank of the River Tyne. Thomas Carlyle easiest and historian husband of a local girl Jane Welsh (14 January 1801 – 21 April 1866) a Scottish writer had a tree planted where John Knox house once stood. John Knox Tree Plaque The Plaque reads; Near this spot stood the house in which was born John Knox AD 1505. An oak tree was planted on 29th March 1881 at the request of the late Thomas Carlyle. Lady Kitty’s Do’cot and Garden Lady Kitty’s Do’cot was built in 1771. Named after Lady Catherine Charteris (born 1722) who had a walled garden built in the same period. Lady Charteris was of Francis Charteris, 7th Earl of Wemyss (Buried in Gosford Estate in a Mausoleum designed after the Great Pyramid at Giza) substantial land owner of Haddingtonshire. They had 6 children and Catherine lived until 1786 (64). The Do’cot was a feature of most wealthy home owners which provided fresh meat in the form of pigeons. Haddington House St Mary's Pleasant Gardens East Lothian Haddington House was built circa 1650. THE INSCRIPTION above the door would have been put there when Al AO Haddington and dates from 1648. Alexander Maitland renovated the house IN 1680 and installed the present doorway which has a date of 1680 his initials AM and his wife’s KC, Katherine Cunninghame. A traditional mark of ownership. The gardens were restored by the 14th Duke of Hamilton and gifted to the Haddington Garden Trust to allow everyone to benefit from the gardens. Sir George Taylor Plaque Haddington House Haddington East Lothian Sir George Taylor plaque reads; Sir George Taylor DSC LLD FRS FRSE VHM SHM 15 February 1904 - 12 November 1993 Director Royal Botanic Gardens Kew 1956 - 1971 Chairman Haddington Garden Trust 1973 - 1990 Waterloo Bridge Haddington East Lothian The Waterloo Bridge near the Poldrate Mill was completed in 1817. The foundation stone of the Waterloo Bridge was laid on the anniversary of the Battle of Waterloo in 1815 and was named after the Battle ‘Waterloo’. Normandy Garden The Normandy Memorial in the old bowling green area was erected in 2004. The gardens were once a bowling green which opened in 1749 after moving from its original place in Haddington, where Lawn bowls were first played circa 1660. The area is now a World War II memorial to the Normandy Landings. Commemorative Trees Haddington King Edward VII and Alexandra of Denmark Coronation Trees 1902 Commemorative Trees Haddington The tree on the side of the River Tyne near Poldrate is one of many trees planted at the time the plaque at the foot of this tree reads; The tree was planted to commemorate the coronation of Her Majesty Queen Victoria on the 28th June 1838. Commemorative trees Haddington King George V and Queen Mary Commemorative Trees Haddington 1911 Victoria Bridge Haddington The twin steel arched Victoria Bridge was built in 1898 named to commemorate Queen Victoria’s diamond jubilee which had taken place in 1897. An excellent early example of a provincial steel arch bridge, similar to the North Bridge in Edinburgh but on a smaller scale. Haddington Town House Haddington Town House was built in 1748 and designed by William Adam Town House steeple had to be replaced in 1831. The bell in the steeple rings each day as a curfew at 10 in the evening and it then rings again at the end of curfew at 7 in the morning. The curfew-bell has rung since 1532. Within the Town House were a council chamber a jail and court and a clock was added to the tower in 1835. Samuel Smiles Haddington Samuel Smiles was born in Haddington in 1812. He was a government reformer and author of many books including “Self Help” which became a worldwide success. He was also the author of George Stephenson’s biography, the inventor of the locomotive and the modern railways. Self Help was published in 1859 the same year as Charles Darwin’s Origin of the Species. The plaque where he was born reads; Samuel Smiles, born in Haddington, lived in this house, Author of “Self Help” and other books. He died Kensington 1904. Falko (George Hotel) Haddington East Lothian One of the older properties still being used in Haddington, Falko (George Hotel) stands in Market Lane previously George Wynd. The building being a coaching station and Post Office circa 1700 and an Inn owned by a James Fairbairn IN 1764. It has been called The George and Dragon and George Inn circa 1850. Cyclists Touring Club The Cyclists Touring Club plaque signifies the previous Headquarters of the Cyclists Touring Club now Cycling UK. A wheel with 3 wings and the initials CTC. Haddington Railway Station The Rail Station in Haddington has long been closed and all that remains is the ticket office. The rail line opened on 22 June 1846 and took passengers to Longniddry Station where they would change trains to the Edinburgh Train. The final passengers embarked on the last train from Haddington in December 1949. Summerfield House Haddington East Lothian Summerfield House that stands in the Sidegate Haddington was built circa 1780. This shows a typical house of a wealthy merchant. With coach houses (garages) at both sides of the house. Flour and Malt Mill Haddington East Lothian There has been a mill on this site since circa 1410. It has changed ownership on several occasions. In 1897 the mills were operated by John Montgomery tin the production of malt flour for baking 'Bermaline' bread, a famous Health food. The present company has continued operations of the mills producing cereals (Scottish Flour and Malt from wheat and barley). PureMalt products are distributed worldwide. Old Bank House Haddington East Lothian There are two historic buildings close together on the Hargate, Old Bank House and Sunnybank also known as Tenterfield House. Tenterfield House was originally Sunnybank once owned and occupied by the Donaldson family and sold to Archibald Todrick on his marriage to Katherine Howden in 1812. Sunnybank (Tenterfield House) Haddington East Lothian Hay Donaldson was the Town Clerk and solicitor (writer of the signet) who previously lived at Sunny Bank and moved to Old Bank House and ran the Bank of Scotland Offices from 1783. Handing over to Archibald Todrick in 1803. County Police Station Haddington East Lothian The Haddington Police Station in Court Street previously Weston House built 1833 by William Burn. The Building was the former Court House. It became the Police Station when the police moved to the building in 1954. Lennoxlove House Haddington East Lothian Lennoxlove (Castle) House grounds and gardens are one of the must see Houses and gardens to see in Scotland with history over eight centuries. The estate was originally named Lethington and was owned by Robert Maitland of Thirlestane from 1345. The original Tower built in 1345 still stands as the south west corner of the present Lennoxlove House. The south face of the house was completed in 1644 when a further tower was built at the east end. There has been further changes to the house over the centuries and different owners. The present owners purchased the Lennoxlove House in 1947 by Sir Douglas Douglas-Hamilton. The house is open to visitors by guided tours. With many centuries of history and historic artefacts as well as paintings by the masters lie Van Dyke and Scottish painters such as Raeburn. The 400+ acres of walled gardens have an ornate sundial, a tree over 650 years old and the architecture from the 16th century. Skid Hill Haddington East Lothian Skid Hill once the site of an Iron age fort circa 800 BC, at the summit of the 600 foot (185 mtr) hill, which is the highest point of the Garleton Hill range. Not far from the Hopetoun Monument on Byre's Hill. Skid hill is now a disused quarry. Hopetoun Monument Byre's Hill Haddington East Lothian The Hopetoun Monument is 95 feet (29 m) tall. Situated on Byres Hill near Haddington, the monument was erected in 1824 in memory of John Hope, 4th Earl of Hopetoun The foundation stone was laid on May 3, 1824. There is an inscription on the monument which states: “This monument was erected to the memory of the Great and Good John, Fourth Earl of Hopetoun by his affectionate and grateful tenantry in East Lothian. “MDCCCXXIV” 1824. Haddington Abbey In 1138 the lands of Haddington were given to Ada de Warenne (became wife of Robert I son). The estate on the north-east of Haddington that formed part of the lands belonging to the Abbey of Haddington (The Abbey of Haddington was founded in 1178 by Ada de Warenne a Northumbrian Countess) were sold circa 1568 to William Maitland of Lethington, who in turn sold it in 1681 to Colonel James Stanfield an officer in Cromwell’s Army. He became the Member of Parliament for East lothian and established New Mills Cloth factory in the existing Waulk Mill on the River Tyne. He then built New Mills House the same year. New Mills was renamed circa 1715 to Amisfield and the demolished and a new house was built named Amisfield House in 1755 for Francis Charteris (later 7th Earl of Wemyss). The Google map shows top centre where the Abbey once Stood, below the Abbey Bridge and Amisfield Walled Garden. Abbey Bridge Haddington East Lothian The Abbey is no longer their but the Abbey Bridge that the young Queen, her mother and nobles of France and Scotland crossed to sign the treaty remains across the River Tyne not far from where the Abbey once Stood. The Abbey Bridge was built over the River Tyne to give access to the Abbey of Haddington. The stone bridge could have been built circa 1450 replacing a wooden bridge. A pathway at the side of the Tyne follows the river to East Linton 6 miles towards the sea. Treaty of Haddington 1548 The reformation saw the end to the priory in 1567. There are no remains of the Abbey but a tree stands on the site where the Abbey once stood. After the Battle of Pinkie Cleuch Lord Somerset set siege to Haddington in hope to seize the young Mary Queen of Scots (5 years old). To save the Queen from the English her mother (Mary of Guise) made a pact with the French to send her daughter to France to marry the Dauphin, the young French prince. This secured an alliance between the Scots and French against the English when the Treaty of Haddington was signed at the Abbey of Haddington on 7th July 1548. Mary was sent to France and later married the Dauphin, however the marriage did not last long as the prince died in his teens and Mary returned to Scotland. Next - Humbie
- Newhaven Area | Shops & Busnesses | All About Edinburgh
Newhaven area was once a small fishing and boat building village. The village main street still stands across from the harbour where the cruise ships now dock to allow 1000's of visitor to visit Edinburgh. There are a number of fish restaurants and hotels at the harbour. Newhaven Area Shops & Businesses Edinburgh Streets that are in this area are; Lindsay Road, Anchorfield, Newhaven Place, Sandpiper Drive, Pier Place, Newhaven Main Street, Annfield, Starbank Road, Laverockbank Road Newhaven History and Attractions Advertise Your Business Here NEWHAVEN PLACE Brewers Fayre Bar Restaurant 51 Newhaven Place Edinburgh EH6 4TX 0131 555 1570 Premier Inn 53 Newhaven Place Edinburgh EH6 4TX 0871 527 8360 David Lloyd Gym and Health Club 55 Newhaven Place Edinburgh EH6 4TX 0345 125 7016 SANDPIPER DRIVE Asda Supermarket 2 Sandpiper Drive Edinburgh EH6 6QJ 0131 561 2300 STARBANK ROAD Masons Bakers 1 Starbank Road Edinburgh EH5 3BN 0131 552 4711 Advertise Your Business Here PIER PLACE, NEWHAVEN The Lighthouse Restaurant 3 Pier Place Edinburgh EH6 4LP 0131 467 8628 Welch Fishmongers 23 Pier Place Edinburgh EH6 4LP 0131 552 5883 Pier Brasserie - Bar & Grill 25a Pier Place Edinburgh EH6 4LP 0131 552 4356 Loch Fyne Restaurant 25 Pier Place Edinburgh EH6 4LP 0131 559 5390 LAVEROCKBANK ROAD Starbank Inn 64 Laverockbank Road Edinburgh EH5 3BZ 0131 552 4141 NEWHAVEN MAIN STREET Perfectly Paris Hair 7 Newhaven Main Street Edinburgh EH6 4LJ 0131 552 1313 Wok Inn Newhaven Road Edinburgh EH6 4LH The Harbour Inn 4-6 Fishmarket Square Newhaven Edinburgh EH6 4LW Advertise Your Business Here ANCHORFIELD Prom Bar 2 - 3 Anchorfield Edinburgh EH6 4JG Savour Chinese Takeaway 6 Anchorfield Edinburgh EH6 4JG Steele Hair & Beauty 7 Anchorfield Edinburgh EH6 4JG The Haven Café Bistro 9 Anchorfield Edinburgh EH6 4JG 0131 467 7513 ANNFIELD Dimsum Box Restaurant 3 Annfield Edinburgh EH6 4JF Basils Restaurant 9 Annfield Edinburgh EH6 4JF 0131 552 1670 LINDSAY ROAD Rishis Indian Aroma 100 Lindsay Road Edinburgh EH6 4TZ Next - Shopping Malls & Retail Parks




