All About Edinburgh
Search Results
Search this site
403 results found with an empty search
- Edinburgh Wedding Caterers | All About Edinburgh
Looking for Wedding Caterers for your wedding a great selection of companies to choose from with affoardable prices. Chefs, tableware, serving staff, all included. Food of the best quality from great well orginised suppliers to Weddings. Edinburgh Wedding Caterers Wedding Catering | High Class Catering Edinburgh, Lothians and Scottish Borders
- Outlander Tours | Scotland | All About Edinburgh
Outlander was made in Scotland a TV mega series sensation. All the series locations can be found here and were they are located. a tour of Scotland that was taken by Jamie and Claire. Outlander Scotland Outlander the TV series that has become a worldwide success. Outlander a love story over the centuries. The two main characters, Claire Randall, World War II military nurse in 1945, is transported back in time to 1743. The story begins when she meets and falls in love with, then marries a Highland Warrior Jamie Fraser during the Jacobite uprising in Scotland. Below is a list of all the locations that the series visited in Scotland Outlander Edinburgh & Lothians Outlander has been one of the success stories of the last few years. Outlander a time traveling love story with the main characters Claire and Jamie Take a look at the places in Edinburgh, East Lothian, West Lothian and Midlothian that have been seen throughout the series. On the next page are the Outlander places in the rest of Scotland. See the Google map of Scotland with all the Film Locations on button below Go on a tour of the sites you would like to see Bespoke Outlander Tour Outlander Edinburgh Signet Library Edinburgh Outlander’s Season 3 The stunning interior of the Signet Library was the Governor’s Mansion in Jamaica. The library is home to the prestigious Society of Writers to her Majesty’s Signet which dates back to the 15th century. The ‘writers’ of documents sealed them with ‘the Signet’, the private seal of the Scottish kings Bakehouse Close Edinburgh Outlander’s Season 3 Bakehouse Close, where Jamie’s Print Shop and saw Claire reunited with Jamie after years of separation. Acheson House Canongate Outlander season 3 The exterior of Acheson House in Bakehouse Close was Madame Jeanne’s Brothel Madame Jeanne is partners with Jamie's smuggling business. Jamie has a room in her brothel for business. Tweeddale Court Edinburgh Outlander’s Season 3 & 4 The market where Claire is reunited with Fergus was filmed in Tweeddale Court. Craigmillar Castle Edinburgh Outlander’s Season 3 Craigmillar Castle featured as Ardsmuir Prison, where Jamie was incarcerated in season three. Summerhall Outlander's season 3 The lecture theatre in Summerhall was filmed were Claire meets Joe Abernathy at the start of their medical studies. Midhope Castle Hopetoun Estate Outlander season 1, 2, 3 & 4 Lallybroch Castle is Jamie Fraser’s own “north-facing tower”, his clan’s ancestral home Walk down the path in the footsteps of Claire and Jamie. Midhope Castle a ruin of a 16th-century tower house. Midhope Castle UNDER RENOVATION, the Midhope Castle filming locations for Outlander are exterior shots only. Hopetoun House South Queensferry Outlander’s Season 1, 2, & 3 Hopetoun House, doubled as the stately home of the Duke of Sandringham in season one; Provided the backdrop for Parisian streets, the spare room in Jamie and Claire’s Paris apartment, The Hawkins Estate in season two and Ellesmere and the stables at Helwater in season three. Abercorn Church Hopetoun Estate Outlander season 4 Where Frank is buried in Boston. Bree at Frank’s grave after his car crash. Outlander East Lothian The Mart, East Linton Outlander season 5 The Mart is Wilmington Fight Club. Crowd gathered to gamble on a fight between two women who are in dispute. The re-introduction to Stephen Bonnet. Bonnet meets Niall Forbes by a mutual acquaintance. A gory duel to follow. Gosford House East Lothian Outlander’s Season 2 & 3 The grounds that surround mansion doubled as the Palace of Versailles in France in season two Also Helwater and Ellesmere in season three. The house is only open for visiting on certain days. Check before you travel. Private tours can also be arranged in advance. Preston Mill East Lothian Outlander’s Season 1 Preston Mill and Phantassie Do 'cot – one of the oldest working, water-driven meal mills in Scotland. It provided the backdrop for a number of scenes during the Jacobite Uprisings. Tyninghame Beach (Ravensheugh Sands) Outlander Season 5 Claire and Bree face Bonnet, and Roger fights and betters the pirate. Seacliffe Beach Outlander season 5 A fun mother-and-daughter shell-gathering, whale-watching and beach-racing day turned into a nightmare. Newhailes House Outlander Season 4 Newhailes House doubled as Governor Tryon’s home in North Carolina, where Jamie met to discuss business And when Jamie and Claire were introduced to Wilmington Society. Outlander Midlothian Arniston House Midlothian Outlander’s Season 4 Doubled as both the theatre entrance and lobby where Jamie and Claire attended a play in Wilmington With Governor Tryon, and where Claire’s medical skills saved Edward Fanning’s life. Flotterstone near Penicuik, part of the Pentland Hills Regional Park. Season 1 Cocknammon Rock, where Heughan and his men clash with the English. The scenery of the Pentlands south of Edinburgh are magnificent. Glencorse Old Kirk Midlothian Outlander’s Season 1 Glencorse Old Kirk where Claire and Jamie married in the grounds of Glencorse House at the foothills of the Pentland Hills, Roslin Glen Outlander season 1 Roslin Glen Gunpowder Mill, you can find the place where Jamie, Claire, Rupert, Murtagh, and Angus stop to water their horses. Outlander West Lothian Linlithgow Palace Linlithgow Outlander’s Season 1 The entrance and corridors of this palace were used as Wentworth Prison where Jamie was imprisoned. Blackness Castle Outlander’s Season 1 & 2 The 15th century fortress provided the setting for the Fort William headquarters of Black Jack Randall, Also featuring in the heart-wrenching scene of Jamie’s incarceration. Beecraigs Country Park West Lothian Outlander’s Season 4 Beecraigs 913-acre Country Park doubled as the North Carolina wilderness which Jamie and Claire rode through after leaving River Run. On the journey through the forest, they became separated during a thunder storm and Claire was haunted by the ghost of Otter-Tooth. Muiravonside Country Park Linlithgow Outlander’s Season 2 Located between Linlithgow and Falkirk, the park was a backdrop to the dramatic Battle of Prestonpans, Doubled as a British encampment and the English countryside. Outlander Fife Aberdour Castle Fife Outlander’s Season 1 12th century Aberdour Castle doubled as the fictional monastery where Claire and Murtagh Took Jamie to recover after his ordeal at the prison; The Old Kitchen and Long Gallery were used for filming. Falkland Fife Outlander’s Season 1, 2 & 4 First scenes of the TV series in the town of Falkland, which was used to portray 1940s Scotland in season one and 1960s Inverness in seasons two and four. The Covenanter Hotel stood in for the cosy Mrs. Baird’s Guesthouse; The Bruce Fountain featured when the ghost of Jamie looked up at Claire’s room; Fayre Earth Gift Shop doubled as Farrell’s Hardware and Furniture Store; Campbell’s Coffee House and Eatery was Campbell’s Coffee Shop in the show. Culross Fife Outlander’s Season 1, 2 & 4 Culross was used in several scenes: The Mercat Cross area was transformed into the fictional village of Cranesmuir where Geillis lived, Behind Culross Palace was where Claire’s herb garden at Castle Leoch was located in season one. The ruined church, which was the Black Kirk in season one, The town was also a backdrop to the Jacobite encampment and makeshift hospital scenes in season two It doubled as the location of Balriggan Cottage where Laoghaire and her daughter Joan lived in season four. Dysart Harbour Fife Outlander’s Season 2 Dysart Harbour was the port of Le Havre. The Reaper is berthed in Anstruther harbour, being restored by the Scottish Fisheries Museum Outlander Dumfries Drumlanrig Castle Dumfries & Galloway Outlander’s Season 2 17th century castle, situated near Thornhill The exterior, living rooms and bedrooms became Bellhurst Manor Outlander Falkirk Bo’ness & Kinneil Railway Bo’ness Outlander’s Season 1 The Bo’ness & Kinneil Railway was transformed into a wartime London railway station Claire and Frank said their goodbyes Gray Buchanan Park Polmont Outlander’s Season 4 This is where Jamie and Young Ian buried Gavin Hayes after he was hanged for stealing in Charleston, South Carolina. Please note there is no graveyard in the park. Known locally as Parkhill, the site has pretty woodland areas alongside the meandering Polmont Burn and large rolling parkland areas with mature tree avenues. Callendar House Falkirk Outlander’s Season 2 Callendar (14th century) house in grounds of Callendar Park The authentic Georgian working kitchen was used as part of Bellhurst Manor, The home of the Duke of Sandringham. Deanston Distillery Doune Outlander’s Season 2 Deanston Distillery provided the setting for Jamie’s cousin’s wine warehouse on the docks of Le Havre. Cambusmore Estate in Callander Outlander season 5 Cambusmore Estate around Cambusmore outside Callander Trossachs and Loch Lomond National Park. The estate has been the home of the current Clan Chief of Buchanan and his family for many generations. Loch Katrine Callander Outlander’s Season 2 The roads travelled by Roger and Brianna when they first got to know each other after meeting in Inverness. Outlander themed trip along Loch Katrine aboard the SS Sir Walter Scott Loch Katrine was the inspiration and setting for Sir Walter Scott's poem The Lady of the Lake Outlander Stirling Doune Castle Stirling Outlander’s Season 1 Doune Castle near Stirling played a leading role in the show, the fictional Castle Leoch. Home to Colum MacKenzie and his clan in the 18th century. It also featured in the 20th century episode when Claire and Frank visited the castle in ruins on a day trip. Cambusbarron Stirling Outlander season 5 Used for night filming of scenes including Duncan Lacroix / Murtagh and David Berry / Lord John Grey. Stirling University Stirling Outlander’s Season 3 & 4 The walkway between the university buildings doubled as the walkway at Boston Airport, Where Brianna met Roger off the plane from Scotland when he came to visit. Outlander Perthshire The Hermitage forest in Dunkeld. Outlander season 5 Hermitage forest was used for scenes that will reportedly feature in episodes eleven and twelve. The forest surrounds Ossian’s Hall and is a short walk from the car park. Dunkeld House Hotel Perthshire Outlander’s Season 4 Dunkeld House Hotel sits within 280 acres of woodland that doubled as the North Carolina wilderness where Jamie, Claire and Young Ian set off in search of Roger when he was sold to the Mohawk. Tibbermore Parish Church Perthshire Outlander’s Season 1 Tibbermore Parish Church featured as Cranesmuir Church for the scene of the infamous witch trial. Stand in Claire and Geillis’s footsteps in the pulpit. Drummond Castle Gardens Crieff Outlander’s Season 2 Standing in for the ornate park and orchard of the Palace of Versailles in France, Note: the castle is not open to the public. . Kinloch Rannoch Perthshire Outlander’s Season 1 Loch Rannoch and Kinloch Rannoch, in Highland Perthshire, was seen in the background as Claire and Frank enjoyed their second honeymoon, following the end of the war. Craigh Na Dun Outlander season The location of the ancient stone circle where Claire Randall now Jamie's Fraser's wife Claire Fraser, travel back in time from 1945 to 1745. The large cleft stone is the gate which a time traveller pass through. Outlander Highlands Perthshire Glen Coe Scotland Outlander Season 1 Opening credits Glen Coe is a famous Scottish landmark with snow Peak Mountains, rivers and waterfalls. Also nearby Glenfinnan Monument where Bonnie Prince Charlie raised his standard of the Jacobite uprising of 1745. The famous Glenfinnan Viaduct where the Harry Potter train can be seen on its journey between Fort William and Mallaig. Highland Folk Museum - Newtonmore Outlander Season 1 Dougal collecting the rent from the crofters. Outlander Paisley Thomas Coats Memorial Baptist Church Paisley Outlander season 5 Used for scenes set in the sixties, featuring Caitriona Balfe. Both the inside and outside of the church were used. Outlander Cumbernauld Ward park Studios Cumbernauld near Glasgow Season 5 + 6 Where season five and six are being filmed when not on location Outlander Glasgow George Square Glasgow Outlander’s Season 1 Historic George Square, a wonderful civic space in the very centre of Glasgow, turned into a 1940s set to film Frank’s spontaneous proposal to Claire. Glasgow Cathedral Glasgow Outlander’s Season 2 The crypt in the cathedral doubled as L’Hopital Des Anges in Paris where Claire volunteered to work. The cathedral has a rare timelessness to it and is a stunning example of Gothic architecture. It boasts one of the finest post-war collections of stained glass windows in Britain. The University Of Glasgow Outlander’s Season 3 & 4 The University of Glasgow doubled for Harvard University Frank taught as a professor and where Brianna visited him in his office. Established in 1451, the University of Glasgow is the 4th oldest in the English-speaking world. Kelvingrove Park Glasgow Outlander’s Season 3 Kelvingrove Park doubled for the Boston Park where Claire frequently took walks. The park also featured when she pushed Brianna in her pram, passing a man who was playing the bagpipes. Pollok Country Park Glasgow Outlander’s Season 1 & 2 Pollok Country Park doubled as the grounds surrounding the fictional Castle Leoch in season one. The park was the French countryside that the characters travelled through between Le Havre and Paris in season two. Queen’s Park in Glasgow Outlander season 5 Not known scenes but a lot going on Outlander Ayrshire Troon South Ayrshire Outlander’s Season 1 Troon was the setting for the scene where Claire, Jamie and Murtagh arrived at the coast and boarded a 17th century ship to deliver Jamie to France. Dean Castle East Ayrshire Outlander’s Season 2 Set in a wooded glen in Kilmarnock, this 14th century castle stood in for Beaufort Castle near Beauly in the Highlands. Claire and Jamie visited Lord Lovat at the castle to persuade him to send his men to aid Charles Stuart. Dunure Harbour South Ayrshire Outlander’s Season 3 & 4 Dunure Harbour played Ayr Harbour as Claire and Jamie left Scotland in pursuit of Young Ian. Dunure Castle featured as Silkie Island in season three. The harbour featured again in season four, where Brianna and Roger were reunited in Wilmington, North Carolina. South Lanarkshire Calder Glen Country Park Outlander’s Season 4 The park was used as a backdrop when Jamie took Willie on a hunting and fishing trip A recreational park, situated 30 minutes outside Glasgow, is home to a zoo, Nature trails, golf course, gardens and Torrance House
- Edinburgh Dance Studios | Learn To Dance | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh Dance Studios Dance for all ballet modern ballroom jazz pole the list is endless for fun or just exercise for Hen Party groups or individuals Edinburgh Dance Studios POLE DANCING, AEROBIC DANCE EXERCISE, TAP DANCING, BALLROOM DANCING, JAZZ OR ANY OTHER STYLE OF DANCE There are so many Dances that you can have fun Learning. Like to do Strictly Dancing or looking for something fun to do on a group outing? try hanging upside down by your legs only and make the pole yours. There are so many Dances that you can have fun Learning. Below are the dance schools and places for a day out. Activities Pole Dancing Can-Can Burlesque Cheerleading Lap Dancing Zumba Belly Dancing Tap Dancing Dirty Dancing Ballet Street Dance 60's. 70's, 80's Dance Exotic Temptations Dynam-nic Dance 4 Hutchison Terrace Edinburgh EH14 1QB 0131 443 0753 Waterfront Dance Studio Unit 4 Long Craig Rigg Edinburgh EH5 1QT 07772 504958 Live It Dance Studios 328 Gilmerton Road, Edinburgh EH17 7PT 07506 104422 Morningside Dance Academy 9B Grange Road Edinburgh EH9 1UQ 0131 668 4977 Dance For All 106 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AQ 0131 226 5533 Madame Peaches 2 St Margarets House London Road Edinburgh EH7 6AE City of Edinburgh Scotland 07801 482148 Goes Well Dance The Granary The Shore Edinburgh EH6 6QN City of Edinburgh 07940091638 anniegoes@hotmail.com Dance Classes Dance Masters Studios 40 Restalrig Drive Edinburgh EH7 6AF City of Edinburgh Scotland 07921 452898 Dance Base 14-16 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2JU 0131 225 5525 House Of Jack 19 Upper Arthur Street Edinburgh EH6 5DA 07740 867901 ashleyjackdance.com The Breakdance Academy 21 Dalkeith Road Edinburgh EH16 5BB 07805 947756 Millar's Strictly Dance Studio The Thomas Morton Hall 28-30Ferry Road Edinburgh EH6 4AE 01383 732135
- Greyfriars Kirk | Edinburgh Attraction | All About Edinburgh
Greyfriars Kirk and Museum is a historic place in Scotland not just as a church. The museum has anceint relics which include the first Stars and Strips on the White House a copy of the Covenant and anceint bibles and seals. The graveyard with famous people and stories of Ghosts and body snachers. Greyfriars Kirk Greyfriars Museum Edinburgh Attractions Greyfriars Kirk Greyfriars Kirk takes its name from the Franciscan friary which was previously on this site. Greyfriars Kirk building was completed in 1620 the first church to be constructed in Scotland following the Reformation. The signing of the National Covenant took place in Greyfriar’s Kirk on 28 February 1638. In a field nearby, in the 18th century 1200 Covenanters were imprisoned. A section of this field was incorporated into the churchyard as vaulted tombs and the area became known as the Covenanters' Prison. You will see enclosed vaults and metal fenced cages called mort safes as a deterrent to grave robbers taking the bodies from their resting place to use in the medical school for autopsy and scientific experiments. The famous grave robbers of the time were (Burke and Hare). Greyfriar’s Cemetery is said to be haunted by the ghost of 'Bloody' George Mackenzie who was buried here in 1691. His Spirit is said to cause bruising, bites and cuts on those who come into contact with the spirit or touch his tomb. Some visitors have reported feeling strange sensations. Take the ghost tour and find out for yourself. Don’t miss visiting Greyfriars Museum for the history and mystery of the graveyard and Kirk. Greyfriars Tolbooth Highland Kirk Museum There are many things to see and stories to be read in the museum like the an American flag that hung in the White House which was gift to the church as Greyfriars Kirk and the landing of the Pilgrim Fathers in the New World took place on Christmas Day 1620. Not to forget the famous dog Greyfriars Bobby. Greyfriars Museum and shop are open with free admission. There are guided tours available. The Notice board on entry to Greyfriars Graveyard read; In Greyfriars Church the national covenant was adopted and signed 28th February 1638. In the churchyard are objects of historical interest such as The Martyrs’ Monument towards the north east and the Covenanters’ Prison towards the south west also The graves of many Scotsmen and Citizens of Edinburgh Highland Kirk National Covenant (The Presbyterians) Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh The National Covenant signed in Greyfriars on the 28th February 1638 promised to defend Presbyterianism from intervention by the crown. Presbyterians in Scotland agreed to renew the King’s Confession of 1581, (basically a promised before God that they would accept the true religion and oppose Roman Catholicism) with two extra parts. These were a legal section listing over sixty acts of Parliament most of which were against Roman Catholicism. The Covenant was signed by almost all the people and Nobles of Scotland. Covenanting Swords The swords of Robert Trail minister of Greyfriars 1649 -1660, who accompanied, James Graham Marquis of Montrose, to his execution in 1650 and Daniel MacMichael a covenanter shot and killed at Durisdeer, Dumfriesshire in 1685. Robert Trail became minister of Greyfriars in 1949. He was arrested and imprisoned in 1660 and later banished to Holland for refusing to sign the oath of allegiance following the restoration of Charles II. Seal of Queen Victoria 1897 Seal of Queen Victoria attached to a parchment appointing William Montagu Hay 10th Marquess of Tweeddale as Lord High Commissioner to the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland in 1897. The office of Lord High Commissioner is one of the oldest in Scotland. It goes back to the early 17th century when James VI became James I of the United Kingdom in 1603. At the Union of the Crowns the King’s court moved to London and it was not so easy for him to attend the General Assembly, but a close relationship with the Church of Scotland was essential for the monarch and continues to be so today. The document states under the Treaty of Union, Queen Victoria’s seal is used in lieu of the Great Seal of Scotland. Mary Queen of Scots Greyfriars Monastery Original Monastery Doorway The grounds of the Franciscan monastery passed into the possession of Mary Queen of Scots after the Scottish Reformation of 1560. Mary then granted the grounds to the Edinburgh town council for the grounds to be use for burials. The original door lintel to the monastery can still be seen in the Greyfriars Graveyard. Greyfriars Bobby Portrait Greyfriars Museum Edinburgh Oil painting of Greyfriars Bobby in Greyfriars Museum, dated 1867. Painted by John McLeod who was born in Golspie, Sutherland in 1812. Greyfriars Bobby is an Icon of Edinburgh and Scotland and is known worldwide. The Statue stands at the junction of Candlemakers' Row, George IV Bridge and Greyfriars Place. Greyfriars Bobby's grave is at the gates to Greyfriars Kirk Museum and Burial Ground. United States Flag Greyfriars Museum Edinburgh. On Christmas Day 1620 the Kirk of the Greyfriars officially opened as a place of worship. In the same year fleeing persecution and seeking the pursuit of their religion free from interference by the state, the Pilgrim Fathers landed in Plymouth, Massachusetts and established the colony. The Stars and Strips once prominent above the White House in Washington D.C was presented to Greyfriars by the American Consul in Edinburgh. Its significance to commemorate Greyfriars Kirk’s 350th anniversary in 1970 and the landing of the Pilgrim Fathers in New England in 1620. Sir Walter Scott Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh This tablet was made and erected to the memory of Sir Walter Scott on his centenary by the young men of this kirk in which he himself worshipped as a young man. Lady Yester Memorial Grayfriars Kirk Edinburgh In memory of Margaret Lady Yester, by whose benefaction the church of Lady Yester was built in High School Wynd Edinburgh in 1644. This was demolished and a new church was built in 1803. See map by William Edgar 1765. (K) Marks the Lady Yester Kirk. The above tablet formally erected in Lady Yester’s church was transferred here when that church and parish were united with Greyfriars church and Parish in 1938. Greyfriars Kirk Communion Table St Francis Stigma reminder of the friars is a modern representation of the crossed hands of St Francis, with the stigmata, which stands above the cross behind the communion table at the east end of Greyfriars Kirk Hall. Peter Collins Organ Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Peter Collins died in 2015. He was a famous builder of organs, in his 40 years as a craftsman he built organs all over the UK and Europe. The Greyfriars organ was built in 1990 in conjunction with the late Michael Chibbett who was then the organist in Greyfriars Kirk. The Peter Collins organ is a magnificent musical instrument which overlooks the hall of the Kirk. A must see when in Edinburgh. Flodden Wall In Greyfriars Kirk Graveyard The Flodden wall can be seen through Greyfriars Graveyard. The old city wall was built for protection from the English invaders (1513) after the Scots Army suffered their heaviest defeat in battle to the English and where King James IV died in battle, King James IV was the last monarch to die in battle. Edinburgh Town Guard The City Guard’s main duty was to protect the city and maintain public order. Formed in 1679 with 40 men. Always present at civic gatherings and were led by the Lord Provost of Edinburgh. The Town Guard House was situated in the middle of the High Street west of the Tron Kirk in line with New Assembly Close. Information found on “the plan of the City and Castle of Edinburgh by William Edgar Architect 1765″. Records held in the National Library of Scotland. The Town Guard were disbanded in 1817 the last Captain of the Guard being James Burnet. The Edinburgh City Guard re-enactment group. The group recreate the Town Guard for ceremonies and recreate battles such as the Battle of Prestonpans annually. To find out more or join the Guard contact chairman, Arran Johnston (Ensign): arran_johnston@hotmail.com . Next - Grayfriars Graveyard
- Bus and Train Services | Transport | All About Edinburgh
Getting around Edinburgh and Scotland is easy. Edinburgh has a first class bus service that covers the whole city. Waverley Bridge has an information centre on all buses the national bus station is close by and the main rail station is also at Waverley Bridge. By bus or train you can cover Scotland Edinburgh Transport Local & National Bus Services Train Services Tram Service Buses National and Local The City of Edinburgh has a very good local bus service operated by Lothian transport. There are a number of transport shops throughout the city centre, where you can obtain bus timetables and route maps of all the services. There is a fixed fare system which is £1.80 per journey or you can purchase a day ticket or a monthly pass which could reduce your costs dependent on the volume of journeys you take. Bus Enquiries Lothian Buses 0131 555 6363 Scottish Border Buses 01896 754350 East Coast Buses 0131 555 6363 First Bus 0345 646 0707 Travel & Transfers Transfers from the Airport, Rail Station or Hotel Luggage Delivery Luxury vehicles Tours Advance Enquiry & Bookings +44 7539867587 Enquiries Bookings Prices Local Bus Service Edinburgh Lothian Buses Waverley Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland Bus Information 0131 555 6363 Customer Service 0131 554 4494 Stagecoach East Scotland Head Office: Our switchboard is open from 07:00 to 19:00, Monday to Friday. Telephone: 01383 660880 Fax: 01383 660877 Email: eastscotland.enquiries@stagecoachbus.com National Express Coaches St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 2EQ Enquiries 08717 81 81 81 National Bus Station 26 Elder Street Edinburgh EH1 3DX City of Edinburgh Scotland Enquiries 0131 652 5920 Passenger Access St Andrews Square North East Corner Next to Multrees Walk Scottish Citylink Buses Tickets 0871 266 3333 Calls cost 12p/minute from BT landlines plus network extras. Charges from other providers or mobiles may vary. General enquiries 0141 352 4444 (local rate) MegaBus Tickets Available from St Andrews Square Bus Station Customer Service 0871 266 3333 Edinburgh Rail Station and Train Companies Edinburgh Train Services Edinburgh is also fortunate in that they also have a very good train service that operates all over the United Kingdom. There are two main rail stations Haymarket in the west end of Edinburgh's city centre and Waverley in the east end of the city centre. The Waverley Rail Station is HQ for Edinburgh and all trains stop at this station. Waverley Train Stations Waverley Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1BB General station enquiries 03457 11 41 41 Tickets & travel information National Rail Enquiries 03457 48 49 50 Haymarket Train Station Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5EY Tickets & travel information National Rail Enquiries 03457 48 49 50 General station enquiries 0800 912 2901 Edinburgh Train Stations Waverley & Haymarket National Rail Enquiries 03457 48 49 50 Train Operators Scotrail Customer Service 0344 811 0141 East Coast Customer Service 03457 225 333 LNER Customer Service 03457 225 333 Cross Country Customer Service 03447 369 123 Transpennine Express Customer Service 0345 600 1671. Eurostar Customer Service 0343 218 6186 Edinburgh Trams Edinburgh Tram service, also operated by Edinburgh Transport, the route however is fixed and runs between Edinburgh Airport and York Place at the East end of the city centre. Edinburgh Tram 55 Annandale Street Edinburgh EH7 4AZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 475 0177 Next - Car Rental Edinburgh
- Edinburgh Spa Day Pamper Treatments | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh Spa Day Pamper Treatments treat yourself a great present hen Party or Stag Party group relax and treatments Edinburgh city centre Edinburgh Spa Day Pamper Treatments Health Spa and Pamper Day There are Spas in many locations mainly in hotels but there are a few that cover the original spa experience, health, relaxation and fitness programmes, nutritious health foods (carrot drinks etc). a number of treatments, educational lectures and hydrotherapy areas. The Hotel Spa is for the pamper day a swim, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, facial, massages, pedicure, manicure and glass of bubbly. Activities City of Edinburgh Spa Day Scotsman Hotel Market Street Edinburgh EH1 1TR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5565 Spa Day Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh Princes Street Edinburgh EH1 2AB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 222 8836 Spa Day Roxburghe Hotel 38 Charlotte Square Edinburgh EH2 4HQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 240 7137 Spa Day One Spa Sheraton 8 Conference Square Edinburgh EH3 8AN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 7777 Spa Day G & V Royal Mile Hotel George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 6666 Spa Day Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 81 Holyrood Road Edinburgh EH8 8AU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0844 879 9028 Spa Day Norton House Hotel & Spa Ingliston Edinburgh EH28 8LX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 333 1275 Scottish Borders Spa Day Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Horsburgh Ford Cardrona Peebles EH45 8NE Scottish Borders Scotland 0844 879 9024 Spa Day Stobo Castle B712 Stobo EH45 8NY Scottish Borders Scotland 01721 735 200 Spa Day Barony Castle Hotel & Spa Old Manse Road Eddleston EH45 8QW Scottish Borders Scotland 0844 980 2301 Spa Day Peebles Hydro Innerleithen Road Peebles Scotland EH45 8LX 01764 651846 East Lothian Spa Day Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa Cromwell Road North Berwick EH39 4LZ East Lothian Scotland 0844 879 9130 West Lothian Spa Day Macdonald Houstoun House A899 Uphall EH52 6JS West Lothian Scotland 01506 853 831
- Mound Edinburgh | Shops & Businesses | All About Edinburgh
Shops and Businesses in Bank Street - North Bank Street - The Mound - St Giles Street in the heart of Edinburgh near all the attraction. The Mound is Access from the Old Town to the New Town with great views over Edinburgh and a short walk to Edinburgh Castle. The Mound Area Bank Street - North Bank Street - The Mound - St Giles Street Shops - Pubs - Restaurants Cafés - Accommodation Mound Area History & Attractions Advertise Your Business Here More Details Café on the Mound 15 North Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LS City of Edinburgh Scotland Wash Bar 11 North Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 6193 Restaurant The Makars' Rest Bar and Grill 9 North Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1178 Restaurant Whiski Rooms 7 North Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 7224 Souvenir and Gift Shop Best in Scotland 2 North Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4434 Advertise Your Business Here More Details Makars' Mash Bar Restaurant 12 Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 622 7246 Chat time Internet Café 14 Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LN City of Edinburgh Scotland Restaurant Italian on Mound 15 Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 4400 Restaurant Zebra Coffee Co 16 Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 3444 Souvenir and Gift Shop I love Scotland 20 Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3800 The Mound Museum Mound Museum 1 The Mound Edinburgh EH1 1YZ City of Edinburgh Scotland St Giles Street Saint Giles Café & Bar 8 St Giles Street Edinburgh EH1 1PT City of Edinburgh Scotland Fraser Suites 12 - 22 St Giles Street Edinburgh EH1 1PT City of Edinburgh Scotland Broad Street Bistro Bistro and Bar 18 St Giles Street Edinburgh EH1 1PT City of Edinburgh Scotland Stocks 24 St. Giles Street Edinburgh EH1 1PT City of Edinburgh Scotland Kirks Bistro Bar 26 St. Giles Street Edinburgh EH1 1PT City of Edinburgh Scotland Link George IV Bridge Area Shops & Businesses
- Dean Cemetery | Attraction | All About Edinburgh
Dean Cemetry is famous for the people that are buried here Photography's pioneer, Builder of Glasgow, Confederate General, Biscut Maker, Lords Cockburn, Jeffrey Dean Cemetery Edinburgh David Octavius Hill Dean Cemetery Edinburgh David Octavius Hill and Robert Adamson circa 1845 pioneered many aspects of photography in Scotland. David was a Scottish painter and photographer. His studio was Rock Cottage on Calton Hill. Colonel Robert Smith Dean Cemetery Edinburgh An obelisk and stone plaque in memory of and Edinburgh born soldier who was a Colonel in the Confederate Army in Americas South. Stone plaque inscription COL. ROBERT A. SMITH / OF THE / 10TH MISSISSIPPI REGIMENT CONFEDERATE STATES ARMY / A NATIVE OF EDINBURGH / WHO FELL MORTALLY WOUNDED AT THE / BATTLE OF MUNFORDSVILLE / KENTUCKY / SEPTEMBER 14TH 1862 WHILE GALLANTLY LEADING IN THE / CHARGE OF FORT CRAIG / AGED 26 YEARS SPONSORED BY MURFREESBORO S.C.V.CAMP NO 33/ TENNESSEE Buchanan Dean Cemetery Edinburgh James Buchanan (1785–1857) was a Scottish businessman and philanthropist who was instrumental in building Glasgow. Born in Glasgow and lived his last years in Edinburgh’s New Town where his wife continued to live after his death. Lord Francis Jeffrey Dean Cemetery Edinburgh Lord Francis Jeffrey, born 23 Oct 1773 in Edinburgh, Scotland, died 26 Jan 1850 in Edinburgh buried in the Dean Cemetery. He was a literary critic and became a Judge. He was the editor of, The Edinburgh Review, a newspaper on British political and literary criticism in the early 19th century. His offices were in Buccleuch Place Edinburgh. James Falshaw Dean Cemetery Edinburgh James Falshaw was an engineer and helped build the railways around the UK. He lived in Edinburgh from the mid-1800s. He was Edinburgh’s Lord Provost from 1874 -77. He helped modernise the lothians and was knighted in 1876 and was involve in the building of the Forth Rail Bridge which still stands today as the main crossing of the Firth of Forth by rail. Nasmyth Dean Cemetery Edinburgh James Nasmyth born 47 York Place Edinburgh in 1808 became a Scottish engineer famed for inventing the steam hammer in 1842 and many other engineering firsts in his foundry in Manchester. He produced many tools and steam engines. His father Alex was a renowned Scottish artist. Alexander Nasmyth Artist Alexander Nasmyth born in 1758 in Edinburgh live at 47 York Place and was said to be the father of Scottish Landscape Painting. He Studied under Allan Ramsay and as a friend of Robert Burns he was fortunate enough to be the only one to paint a portrait of Robert Burns that exists today. only one to paint a portrait of Robert Burns that exists today. Lord Henry Cockburn Dean Cemetery Edinburgh See https://www.allaboutedinburgh.co.uk/bonaly-tower for info on Henry Cockburn Robert McVitie Dean Cemetery Edinburgh Robert McVitie (1854-1910) took over the running of the business from his father who died in 1884. That was when the company moved solely to Biscuits. The biscuit that is known by everyone is McVities Digestive, which was created in 1892. An Edinburgh man with the biggest name in biscuits. Lord Andrew Rutherfurd Dean Cemetery Edinburgh Andrew Rutherfurd was born at Bristo Port Edinburgh 1791. His home was to be Lauriston Castle and his townhouse was 9 St Colme Street, where he died in 1854. (Even in 1800s they had 2 houses). He studied law at the University of Edinburgh and became an advocate in 1812. He was appointed Solicitor General for Scotland in 1837 and in 1839 he was appointed Lord Advocate and Member of Parliament for Leith. He was also appointed the Rector of the University of Glasgow. James Stevenson Dean Cemetery Edinburgh James Stevenson born in Paisley on 28 April 1786 a Scottish merchant and philanthropist who was the father of two famous Scottish women, Flora Stevenson and Louisa Stevenson. In 1865 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh. He died at Home 13 Randolph Crescent in Edinburgh. Randolph Crescent the home of Flora Stevenson, Louisa Stevenson, and Elisa Stevenson in Edinburgh became one of the centres for women’s rights campaigning. They were founder members of the Ladies Educational Association. Flora Stevenson was elected onto the Governments School Board in 1873 and was so re-elected every year until her death in 1905. In her honour the Education board named a school after her which still is in use to this day. Louisa campaigned specifically for women to be allowed medical training and to qualify as doctors. She joined with Sophia Jex Blake to found the women’s medical college. Louisa later became a member of the executive committee of the National Union of Women’s suffrage society. Louisa Stevenson with Christian Guthrie Wright founded the Edinburgh School of Cookery in 1875 in Atholl Crescent Edinburgh. This school developed into The Queen Margaret University. James Hamilton Dean Cemetery Edinburgh James Hamilton, 9th Lord Belhaven and Stenton (1822–1893) His family can be traced back over 500 years to James Hamilton, 1st Lord Hamilton, by Janet Calderwood, and half-brother of James Hamilton, 1st Earl of Arran from whom the Dukes of Hamilton descend. Information from https://en.google-info.org/463879/1/lord-belhaven-and-stenton.html Sir Thomas Bouch Dean Cemetery Edinburgh The well-known saying ‘you botched it up’ was after Sir Thomas Bouch who built the original Tay Bridge which collapsed due to design faults, many were killed. Ironically, his Knighthood was for the building of the bridge. Sir Thomas Bouch 1822 –1880 a British railway engineer. He was born in Cumbria. He was the manager of the Edinburgh and Northern Railway and introduced the first roll-on/roll-off train ferry service in the world which left from Granton harbour taking trains over to Fife. William H Playfair Dean Cemetery Edinburgh William Henry Playfair was born in London to Scottish Parents in 1790. He studied at Edinburgh University graduating in 1809. He became the leading architect in Edinburgh. His neoclassical architecture can be seen all over Edinburgh. His buildings were how Edinburgh was called ‘The Athens of the North’. Most of his finest buildings are in or around Edinburgh. The Royal Scottish Academy building, The National Gallery of Scotland, Royal College of Surgeons, Donaldson's Hospital, St Stephen's Church New College on The Mound, City Observatory and Dugald Stewart Monument on Calton Hill. He died in 1857 leaving Edinburgh a as an architectural paradise known throughout the world. Next - Corstorphine Village
- Prestonpans | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Prestonpans a historic town with amazing history, 81 Witches, Totem poles, Famous battle site, Murels and the Prestonpans Tapestry, Bonnie Prince Charlie, Worlds first railway, salt pans and fishing. Prestonpans East Lothian Coast A Small Town A Large History The town of Prestonpans was originally named Althamer after a sailor who became shipwrecked circa 1060 and decided to stay with his shipmates as they had no way of returning home. It was the monks of Newbattle circa 1180 came and settled in the area and renamed it Priestatown. The name over the years changed due to the salt panning. Prestonpans was where one of the first post-reformation churches were built in Scotland circa 1600. Other things about Prestonpans are, the famous Battle of Prestonpans 1745 when Bonnie Prince Charlie and his Jacobite Army defeated the English which 7 months later ended the Stuart battle for the crown at Culloden. The Battle of Prestonpans Battle Story Prestonpans Battle Story is about how Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobite's defeated the English went as far as Derby before returning and then being defeated at Culloden. From victory to defeat took seven months 21st September 1745 (Prestonpans) 16th April 1746 Culloden. The Story boards which can be seen at the top of the Pyramid the battle site viewing platform on the B1361 on the East side of Prestonpans top road. Climb the pyramid and read the full story. The Pyramid marks the area where the Battle of Prestonpans took place in 1745. Bonnie Prince Charlie led the Jacobite Army in a triumph over the English. There is a story board at the summit of the Pyramid with the story of the Jacobite uprising and the route to glory and defeat. John Muir Way The John Muir way starts in Dunbar and finishes in Helensburgh on the west coast of Scotland. From North Berwick to the Musselburgh - Edinburgh border, the John Muir way follows the coast through all the small coastal villages. The route is great for walking or cycling. All the attractions of the towns and villages on the route can be seen on this site. Hamilton Family Prestonpans East Lothian The Hamilton’s have been the land owners of Preston from circa 1380. Circa 1620 Sir John Hamilton of Preston was granted the lands and barony of Preston and Prestonpans by King James VI. Sir Thomas Hamilton was created Lord Binning in 1613 and later in 1627 he became the 1st Earl of Haddington. While his brother Sir John Hamilton (1565 -1644) had a house built in Preston East Lothian in 1628 which he named Hamilton House. In 1663 Preston became a free burgh with the right to hold markets. Sir William Hamilton, 1st baronet, of Preston was born in 1647 and became a baronet of Nova Scotia in 1673. Sr William Alexander first to receive the ownership of Nova Scotia in 1625. Baron The Duke of Hamilton now resides at Lennoxlove House near Haddington. Inscription (above window) reads: praise be the lord my | Strenth and my redeimer (above the door) J.H K.S 1628 and the joint coat of arms of the Hamilton and Sympson families. On the Side Wall the three windows have inscriptions J (Shield) H 16 ( J H K S intertwined) 28 K (Shield) S the initials JH represent Sir John Hamilton who built the house in 1628. He originally named the house Magdalens’ House, as he was Lord Magdalen and the KS is for his wife Katherine Sympson. The Shields are of the Hamiltons and Sympsons. Northfield House Prestonpans Northfield House was built circa 1580 by George Hamilton the first owner and sold to Joseph Marjoribanks. A common stone above the door in these times were the owner’s initials and date normally called a marriage stone. In this case, the stone over the doorway with 1611 and the initials of J.M. (Joseph Marjoribanks) and M.S. (Marion Simpson) and the inscription ‘EXCEP THE LORD BVLD IN WANE BVLDS MAN’. Marjoribanks was a Burgess of Edinburgh. Northfield House Do’cot Northfield House Do’cot was were the owners of Northfield House would get fresh meat. All the large houses and estates would have a Do’cot this is a bee hive shaped Do’cot, where Preston Tower has a Cottage shaped Do’cot. They would take the young pigeons for food as they were the most tender. The pigeons still use the Do’cot to this day but they are not used as food. Prestongrange Church Prestonpans church was burnt down in 1544 and a new church was built in 1595. The present church was built in 1774 with parts of the previous Church. In the graveyard of Kirk Street in Prestonpans can be seen graves with dates from the 16th century. The tombstone below has an inscription born 1596 he died Feb 25 16 # # on the right and on the left John Hepburn. Above the door of the church is said to be the first ever mural. Thomas Alexander CB The Monument to Thomas Alexander CB stands in the gardens in front of Prestongrange Church on the south side of the High Street at Kirk Wynd. Thomas Alexander was born in Prestonpans in May 1812. He was an Army surgeon and took part in many campaigns and became the Director General of the Medical Department of the British Army. His main goals were to see improvements to the conditions the soldiers had to live in, especially during the Crimean war. The memorial was erected in 1862. Captain John Stuart The Grave in Prestongrange Churchyard of Captain John Stuart of Phisgul Galloway. Here lyeth the remains of John Stuart of Phisgul, a Galloway gentleman and Captain Lessel’s Reg’m’t, a man of true bravery who died honourably in defence of his King and country, and of civil and religious liberty, being barbarously murder’d by four Highlanders near the end of the Battle fought in the field of Preston on the 21st Sept 1745. The Gothenburg The Gothenburg in Prestonpans built in 1908 still runs under the original Gothenburg Public-house system. Where the majority of the income is given to charity to benefit the community. The system was originally started in Sweden in 1855 to control the consumption of alcohol. The Gothenberg also has a memorial to the 81 witches falsely accused of witchcraft. The Gothenburg is also home to the Prestonpans Tapestry. Prestoungrange Totem Poles The Totem Pole 32 foot high, that stands across from the Gothenburg was carved from a red cedar tree from Chemainus Vancouver Island British Columbia, Canada. The carvings give a pictorial story of the area and was erected in 2006 when the 6th Global Murals Conference took place in Prestonpans. Halfway up you can see the number 81 in memory of the Witches that were burnt unjustly and then pardoned in 2004. The other 3 Totem poles are caved from a log also given by Chemainus Vancouver Island British Columbia, Canada. and the mural of the Witches Trial can be seen in the play park. Preston Mercat Cross The Mercat Cross that stands in Prestonpans is the oldest remaining Mercat Cross in its original form and position in Scotland. Five Mercat Cross were built in the early 1600s all to the same design and for the same purpose, to make important civic announcements. Edinburgh’s Mercat Cross is still used for government proclamations that affected all of Scotland. An example, announcements concerning successions to the monarchy and the calling to parliament. There is an entrance to steps which bring you out at a platform where the announcements are read. The Unicorn is the ancient emblem of Scotland and stands at the top of the Mercat Cross. Robert Burns Memorial Garden Prestonpans East Lothian The Robert Burns Memorial Garden and Cairn that commemorates the 200th anniversary of Robert Burns death. The Tam O’Shanter mural can be found inside the Burns Gated shelter, next to the Robert Burns Memorial Cairn, in the Robert Burns memorial Garden. The inscriptions on the tablets read: That I for poor auld | Scotland’s sake | Some usefu’ plan or | beuk could make | Or sing a sang | at least. For a’ that, an’ a’ that, | It’s coming yet for a’ that, | That Man to Man, the world o’er, | Shall brothers be for a’ that. The Cairn was unveiled | On the 26th July 1996 | To commemorate | The bicentenary | Of the death of the poet | Robert Burns Robert Burns Memorial Shelter Prestonpans East Lothian The writing above the doorway reads “BETTER A WEE BUSH THAN NAE BIELD” The translation is “it is better to have some shelter than no shelter at all”. Robert Burns Garden Prestonpans East Lothian Kinetic Sculpture Prestonpans Robert Burns Memorial Garden Kinetic Sculpture Leslie Frank Chorley Prestonpans 'Old Harbour' The Prestonpans Harbour first known as New Haven was built by the monks of Newbattle Abbey as a shelter to fishermen and their boats in the mid 1500s. The name changed and finally was named after the land owners Morrison. (Morrison’s Haven in Prestongrange). Situated directly across from Prestongrange Museum. Prestongrange Mining Museum The Coal Mine of Prestongrange now a museum has been an important part I the history of not just Prestonpans but Dalkeith and Edinburgh. The monks from Newbattle Abbey were given the charter for the lands and started mining coal circa 1190. With many raw materials around the coast sand, kelp and clay, many industries started here which included brickwork, potteries, glass works and ceramics. The main supply of bricks to build Edinburgh’s New Town were provided from the brickwork which closed in 1975 after over 200 years of brick making. Salt was also refined here giving the name Salt Pans. The monks renamed the area Prieststown circa 1190 previously it was Althammer. seen below a carriage from the railway that transport the coal, Prestongrange Museum Cornish Beam Engine Cornish Beam Engine installed in 1874 and continued working until 1954 Prestonpans Town Hall Preston pans Town hall found in the centre of the main street is where you can find The Battle of Prestonpans Museum and Jacobite Heritage Centre Not to be missed check for opening times before travel The Town Hall opened in 1897 and above the main door can be seen the Prestonpans burgh crest, with the Mercat Cross in the centre, also reliefs of local industries. These included crossed anchor, mining pick and salt shovel, with a sheaf of barley with crossed sickles. Donating Salt panning, Mining, Fishing and Agriculture. Preston Tower and Gardens Preston Tower is no long accessible but can be seen from the beautiful well-kept gardens. The Tower was built in an L-shape in the late 1300s or early 1400s and was the home of the Hamiltons of Preston. The area around the Tower was once called Preston. Preston Tower has had a unlucky past, the Tower has been burnt 3 times 1544, 1650 and again in 1663 and has been vacant since. In the far corner of the gardens is a do’ cot which is still in use by the local pigeons. There is also a very impressive laburnum arch and well manicured gardens. Prestonpans Mural Trail The Prestonpans murals show the history of the area and the Murals Trail starts at the Gothenburg and winds its way around the streets of Prestonpans. There are over 30 Murals to see and include John Knox, The Witches Gate, Sir Walter Scott and Robert Burns Tam O Shanter . There is also a number of things to see in the Burns Memorial Garden. The Shrine Prestonpans East Lothian The memorial on the same road to the Prestonpans Battle site is the Shrine, not far from the cairn for the Battle of Prestonpans. The sculpture is of two miners digging for coal in a mine shaft and was created by a local stonemason Gardner. Coal mining was a major industry in the area from circa 1200 to 1964 when the East Lothian mines were closed (Meadowmill and Bellyford). Prestonpans War Memorial The memorial of a soldier in the Royal Scots uniform was unveiled in April 1922. The memorial is dedicated to the fallen in World War I and World War II. There is also a bronze plaque Dedicated to the memory of those who laid down their lives in the defence of democracy in Spain between 1936 -1939 with a quote from Byron “they never fail who die in a great cause.” A simple inscription on the memorial reads; “To the glorious memory of the men of this parish who gave their lives for their country 1914-1918, 1939-1945” Spanish Civil War Memorial Prestonpans East Lothian The bronze plaque beside Prestonpans War Memorial in High Street Prestonpans reads; ‘Dedicated to the memory of those who laid down their lives in the defence of democracy. Spain 1936 -1939.’ It also includes a quote from the poet Byron: “They never fail who die in a great cause.” 3 men from Prestonpans fought in in the Spanish Civil War one of whom John Gilmour was unfortunately killed in Feb 1937 Athena Sculpture Prestonpans East Lothian The sculpture commemorates the 81 residents of Prestonpans East Lothian, who were executed for witchcraft in the 16th century. The totem pole at the shore also is a memorial and more about the withes can be seen in The Goth This is one of many sculptures by Andy Scott the sculptor who created the world famous Kelpies in the Helix Park in Grangemouth Royal Musselburgh Golf Club Royal Musselburgh Golf Club play for the Old Club Cup first won in 1774 by Thomas McMillan, which make it the oldest golf club trophy still competitively played for in the world to this day. A golf club was formed in 1760 by a group of local enthusiasts and played over the old Musselburgh course. Royal Musselburgh Golf Club had their first club house at 9 Links Place, now, 9 Balcarres Road Musselburgh. Prestongrange House has a long history and a building has been on the site since circa 1185 when it was known as Newbattle Grange. The Present building has been renovated and extended through 5 centuries and became the home to the Royal Musselburgh Golf Club in 1926. The North British Railway Tavern The North British Railway Tavern was first a dwelling House, an asylum, a soldiers barracks, built 1628 possibly one of the oldest buildings in Prestonpans. Prestonpans Tapestry The Prestonpans Tapestry has 104 tapestry panels that tell the journey of Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobite army against the mighty army of the English in 1745, the final Jacobite uprising. The tapestry was first viewed in July 2010 and has been on show across the UK and in France. The Tapestry was designed by Andrew Crummy and was created by Dorie Wilkie and a small core team plus over 200 crafts people. This is a historic document that should be on show all year round to remind people of the Scottish culture. Chase to Culloden Also the might of the English government forces were at their backs led by the King’s son the Duke of Cumberland, so they continued further into the highlands. On the 16th April 1746 the English caught up with the Jacobite army and on Culloden field the Jacobite army was wiped out and the remainder scattered throughout the Highlands. Charles eluded the English and on the 19 September fled to France where he remained till his death. Ruthven Barracks, near Kingussie is where the Highland army gathered in 1746 after the battle of Culloden only to be told to disband, bringing an end to the last Jacobite rising. Ban on Tartan Cumberland took measures to stop the clans from uniting again and with an act of parliament in 1746 the wearing of tartan except as a uniform for officers and soldiers in the British Army was banned. Tartan became popular again in 1822 with George IV wearing full tartan dress a prerequisite of his visit to Scotland arranged by Sir Walter Scott and Henry Dundas. When George the IV stepped on Scottish land at Leith it was the first regaining monarch to stand on Scottish soil since King Charles I for his Scottish coronation in 1633. Battle of Prestonpans Bankton House Bankton House was originally called Olivestob and built by the Monks of Newbattle circa 1130. The house changed hands over the years, owned by many of the rich and powerful of the time. the Ker’s of Newbattle, Seton’s, Hamilton’s and Colonel James Gardiner purchased the house circa 1730 as his family home. and that is where he died at the end of the Battle of Prestonpans which took place on the lands to the east and north of the house. Battle of Prestonpans Bankton Do'cot The Bankton Doocot is a visitor attraction and once inside the story of James Gardiner of Bankton House will be told. Which includes Battle Prestonpans 1745. Battle of Prestonpans Colonel James Gardiner’s Obelisk The Obelisk stands near to Bankton House his family home in Prestonpans. Colonel James Gardiner was one of Sir John Cope’s Dragoon commanders at the battle of Prestonpans in 1745. James Gardiner was born in Carriden West Lothian in 1687 and became a career soldier in the British Army as was his father. He died gallantly due to wound sustained on the 21st of September 1745 at the Battle of Prestonpans, when battling against the Jacobite army of Bonnie Prince Charlie. Bankton House was where Colonel Gardiner was taken and subsequently died of his wounds sustained in the battle. Battle of Prestonpans The Thorntree Memorial Stone The Thorntree Memorial Stone stands in the vicinity of where Colonel Gardiner was to be fatally injured beside a Thorntree. Near to Bankton House can be seen a monument which was erected in 1853 in Colonel Gardiner’s memory. The inscription reads; During the Battle of Prestonpans fought on 21st September 1745 Colonel Gardiner of Bankton was fatally injured beneath a Hawthorn tree in this area. The inscription at the foot of the triangular stones reads; “The Battle was fought between the Jacobite’s” “Led by Bonnie Prince Charlie and” “The Gov’t forces led by Johnnie Cope” Harlawhill House Prestonpans Harlawhill House was first owned by the Hamilton’s of Preston the Hamilton’s being the major land owners of the area circa 1350 till 1701 on Sir Robert Hamilton of Preston’s death. The Harlawhill House built circa 1640 has little history. The Fowler’s Robert and son John once owned the house and it then was passed to his sister’s son Robert Hislop who became sole owner. The house overlooked their Brewery which stood on the High Street and Harlawhill which was owned by the Fowlers and Hislops . The grave and tombstone can be found in the old cemetery in Prestonpans. The Fowler Brewery was established circa 1720 by Robert Fowler. Who was succeeded by his son, John Fowler died who died in 1839 and the business passed to his nephew Robert Hislop, who remained the sole proprietor until he sold the business in 1865. John Fowler Brewer in Prestonpans Born 9 July 1756 Died 13 July 1839 Robert Hislop Born 7 June 1789 Died 16 January 1872 His Wife Ann Buchan Sydserff 19 May 1801 Died 31 March 1879 And their children Francis Hislop Born 26 August 1826 Died 12 March 1860 Robert Hislop Born 25 March 1831 Died 8 July 1830 Phemie George & Charlie who died in infancy John Fowler Hislop born 18 October 1823 died 6 August 1894 Drummore (Drummohr) House Prestonpans Sir Hew Dalrymple purchase the lands of Westpans in 1733. The house was demolished during the English invasion circa 1745. A new larger house was built by Lord Drummore (Sir Hew Dalrymple) in 1753. The estate was later passed to his son David Dalrymple (Lord Westhall) in 1755. David Dalrymple sold the estate to Rev Robert Finlay of Wallyford in 1762. Who then sold it on to the Aitchison family in 1808. William Aitcheson was wealthy land owner and Distiller and had 9 children Colonel William Aitcheson his son inherited the property in 1846. Circa 1880 renovations were carried out by the new owner and since then the house has had many uses one of which in 1928 Loretto School purchased the estate which was where the Loretto girl’s school was established. Translation DEO PATRIAE AICIS To God My Country and Friends DEO PATRIAE AICIS SEISE The Flow and Greatly Independant Live Next - Cockenzie - Port seton
- Edinburgh | Golf Courses | All About Edinburgh
Golf Courses Edinburgh if you are looking to Play Golf in Edinburgh. Here are all the golf courses in the Edinburgh area with full contact details, Location map, course details Book a tee time for the course of your choice. Edinburgh Golf Courses Edinburgh (Leith) is were the first golf was played to written rules in 1744. When only two Golf Courses existed one in Edinburgh Bruntsfield and one in Leith. Leith was not part of Edinburgh until 1920. Now there are over 20 courses council owned and private. All can be played by booking in advance. Click on link below for more details on each golf course in Edinburgh. Baberton Golf Course Duddingston Golf Course Merchants Golf Course Ratho Park Golf Course Turnhouse Golf Course Bruntsfield Links Golf Course Gogarburn Golf Course Mortonhall Golf Course Ravelston Golf Course 6 Council Golf Courses Craigmillar Park Golf Course Prestonfield Golf Course Murrayfield Golf Course Royal Burgess Golf Course Free Golf Dalmahoy Golf Courses Liberton Golf Course Kingsknowe Golf Course Swanston Golf Course Golf Transfers Scotland's Golf Course Map Golf & Airport Transfers Back to Golf in Scotland Golf Courses Edinburgh Baberton Golf Course Baberton Golf Course Contact Details: Pro Shop : Description of Course 18 Hole Park Land Golf Course White Tees 6016 Yards Par 70 Yellow Tees 5746 Yards Par 69 Red Tees 5550 Yards Par 74 History Baberton Golf Club was constituted on 31 May 1893 The first course was designed by Willie Park Jnr (Open Champion 1887 1889) opened 9 hole course 15th July 1893. Ben Sayers and James Braid were also part of the golf course design at later dates. Head PGA Professional Iain Lowdean Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Bruntsfield Links Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par 71 6,500 yards Parkland Course History Original designed by Willie Park Jnr and redesigned by Dr Alistair Mackenzie (1922), James Braid (1930) and Fred Hawtree (1974). Mackenzie & Ebert 2017-18. Bruntsfield Links Golf Society was founded in 1761 the 4th oldest club in the world Visitor Information PGA Professional - Alan Wright - Assistant - Joe Bryce Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Bruntsfield Golf Course Craigmillar Golf Course Craigmillar Park Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par 70 - 18 Hole 5828 yards Parkland Course History Original designed by James Braid in 1927 Craigmillar Park Golf Club was founded on 12th Jan 1895 Visitor Information PGA Professional - David Patrick & Shaun McAllister Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Dalmahoy Country Club Contact Details : Description of Course Parkland Course Dalmahoy (East) Blue Par 74 7334 yards White Par 72 6956 Yellow Par 71 6684 Red Par 74 6011 Dalmahoy (West) White Par 68 Yellow Par 68 Red Par 69 History The first course was designed by James Braid in 1927 (6,664 yards, Par 72) The House was built in 1725 and designed by William Adam Visitor Information PGA Professional - Scott Dixon Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Dalmahoy Golf courses Duddingston Golf Course Duddingston Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Gogarburn Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Gogarburn Golf Course Kingsknowe Golf Course Kingsknowe Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Liberton Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Liberton Golf Course Merchants Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Merchants Golf Course Mortonhall Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Mortonhall Golf Course Murrayfield Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Murrayfield Golf Course Prestonfield Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Prestonfield Golf Course Ratho Park Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Ratho Park Golf Course Ravelston Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Ravelston Golf Course Royal Burgess Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Royal Burgess Golf Course Swanston Golf Course Swanston New Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Turnhouse Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Turnhouse Golf Course Edinburgh Council Local Authority Golf Courses Braid hills Golf Course Braidhills Approach Edinburgh EH10 6JY 0131 447 6666 Carrickknowe Golf Course Glendevon Park Edinburgh EH12 5XB 0131 337 1096 Silverknowes Golf Course Silverknowes Road Edinburgh EH4 5ET 0131 336 3843 Braid Hills Princes Golf Course Braid Hills Drive Edinburgh EH10 6JY 0131 447 3568 Craigentinny Golf Course Fillyside Road Edinburgh EH7 6RG 0131 554 7501 Portobello Golf Course Stanley Street Edinburgh EH15 1JJ 0131 669 4361 6 Council Golf Courses Back to list
- Stockbridge Area | Shops & Businesses | All About Edinburgh
Stockbridge Area Edinburgh west of Canonmills and north of Edinburgh's city centre with restaurants pubs, cafes, Sunday Market the water of leith and mineral spring St Bernard's Well Falshaw Bridge and Fettes College this is a village within a city with great shopping small independent shops. STOCKBRIDGE AREA SHOPS EDINBURGH Retail Stores, Restaurants, Pubs, Activities, Accommodation Stockbridge the northern part of Edinburgh's new town and like a small village in a large city. Stockbridge History and Attractions The streets of the area are; Deanhaugh Street, Dean Street, Raeburn Place North West Circus Place, Henderson Row, Hamilton Place, Kerr Street, Bakers Street Dean Bank Lane, Granville Place, Comely Bank Road, Comleybank, St Vincent Street St Stephen Street, South East Circus Place, Howe Street Comely Bank Terrace, Comely Bank Place, NORTH WEST CIRCUS PLACE The Pantry Restaurant 1 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6ST City of Edinburgh Scotland Dick's Edinburgh Fashion 3 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6ST City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 6220 Original Tile Shop 4 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6ST City of Edinburgh Scotland Patisserie Florentin 5 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 0225 Aesop Beauty 6 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SW City of Edinburgh Scotland Jeffery's Interiors 8 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SW City of Edinburgh Scotland Royal Bank of Scotland plc 12 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland 03457 242424 Zanzero 14 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 0333 Boscollo Bathrooms 17 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland Eden Fashion 18 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland Farrow and Ball 20 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland Ian Smith Design 21 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland Vincent Bell Hair 23 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland Sculleries of Stockbridge 25 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Vino Wines 26 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Floatarium 29 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Spanish Fine Foods 30 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Spud 31 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Coulter's Letting Agent 32 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Stockbridge Pharmacy 35 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 9150 RAEBURN PLACE Field Grill House 1 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 9977 Stockbridge Tap Restaurant 2 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 343 3000 Willow Boutique 5 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Stockbridge Tap Restaurant 6 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Capelli Hair 7 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland St Bernard's Bar 10 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 2655 Cetty and Doig Opticians 11 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Ann Smith Jeweler 12 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Russel & Aitken LLP 16 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 202 0600 Domino's Pizza 17 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HU City of Edinburgh Scotland Coco Chocolatier 20 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Lucie Fenton Gallery 20a Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Subway 21 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Abacus Blinds 22 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Timpson’s 23 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Sergio Tosoralli Tailor / Couture 26 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Goll Hair 26a Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Greggs Bakery 27a Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 3326377 Henderson Art 28 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Madalea Patisserie 29a Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland GLANVILLE PLACE Caffe Nero 4 Glanville Place Edinburgh EH3 6SZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Sharon Robertson Hair 3 Glanville Place Edinburgh EH3 6SZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Stockbridge Newsagent 1 Glanville Place Edinburgh EH3 6SZ City of Edinburgh Scotland BAKER'S PLACE I J Mellis Cheese 6 Baker's Place Edinburgh EH3 6SY City of Edinburgh Scotland Stockbridge Kitchen Café 8 Baker's Place Edinburgh EH3 6SY City of Edinburgh Scotland Starbucks 10 Baker's Place Edinburgh EH3 6SY City of Edinburgh Scotland SOUTH EAST CIRCUS PLACE Doubtfire Gallery 1 South East Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 6540 COMELYBANK Bank of Scotland 43 Comelybank Edinburgh EH4 1AF City of Edinburgh Scotland COMELY BANK PLACE Gentlemens Club 43 Comely Bank Place Edinburgh EH4 1ER City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 3247 COMELY BANK TERRACE Dean Bowling Club 18 Comely Bank Terrace Edinburgh EH4 1AS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 0015 COMELY BANK ROAD Scran and Scallie 1 Comely Bank Road Edinburgh EH4 1DT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 6281 Franco's Fish Bar 7 Comely Bank Road Edinburgh EH4 1DR City of Edinburgh Scotland Northwood Properties 13 Comely Bank Road Edinburgh EH4 1DR City of Edinburgh Scotland Crombie & Co Property Management 15 Comely Bank Road Edinburgh EH4 1DS City of Edinburgh Scotland Bob's Barbers 69 Comely Bank Road Edinburgh EH4 1AW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 7119 DEAN STREET Good Brothers Wine Bar 4 Dean Street Edinburgh EH4 1LW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 315 3311 KERR STREET Sunday Market Kerr Street Edinburgh EH3 6SZ City of Edinburgh Scotland DEAN BANK LANE Lancers 1 Restaurant Dean Bank Lane Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 3444 RAEBURN PLACE William Hill Bookmaker 31 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Banks Flowers 32 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Maxi’s 33 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HX City of Edinburgh Scotland Geluja 34 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Poppin Up 37 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Scot Mid 41 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Write Stuff 43 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Shanaz Takeaway 45 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Gallery Mirages 46 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Kim McGregor Hair 47 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Henri Café 48 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Daisy Cheynes 51 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Street Box 53 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Costa Coffee 54 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Pekoe Tea of Edinburgh 55 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HX City of Edinburgh Scotland Caoba 56 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Wo man Kind Beauty 58 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Carson Hardware 62 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Electric Signs 63 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Alterations 65 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Herbie of Edinburgh 66 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland DEANHAUGH STREET Pizza Express 1 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 7229 Rafael’s 2 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 1469 Peter's Yard 3 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LU City of Edinburgh Scotland Gordon Fraser Hair 4 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland Lloyds Pharmacy 7 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 5721 Saorsa Art Gallery 8 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 343 1126 Tariq's Grocers 11 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LU City of Edinburgh Scotland Bank of Scotland 13 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LU City of Edinburgh Scotland Just Dogs 14 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland Liggy’s Cake Company 18 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 2223 Grounds Coffee 20 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland Veritas Restaurant 24 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 315 2860 Ping On 26 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 3621 Pastel De Nata 33 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LR City of Edinburgh Scotland Boombarbers 34 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 315 3313 Sainsbury Local 35 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LR City of Edinburgh Scotland Sabor Criollo 36 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland Hectors 47 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 343 1735 ST VINCENT STREET St Vincent Bar 11 St Vincent Street Edinburgh EH3 6SW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 7447 RAEBURN PLACE Flavours Holidays 69 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Costcutter 70 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland G.P.O 74 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland George Bowes Butchers 75 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Good Village Chinese Takeaway 76 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Rock Paper Scissors Barber 77 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Gift 78 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Armstrong Fishmonger 80 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Vet Surgery 82 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Goodfellow and Stevens Cakes 86 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland James Wilson Interiors 88 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Jimmy Martin Travel 94 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Café Plum 96 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Calzeat Fashion 98 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Pasa Barbers 100 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Artisan Roast Café 102A Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HH City of Edinburgh Scotland New town Dry Cleaners 104 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HH City of Edinburgh Scotland Rollo Restaurant 108 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Pizza Hut 110 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Raeburn Hotel 112 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 7000 ST STEPHEN STREET Bailie Bar 2 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4673 Bells Diner 7 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 8116 Rice King 11 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 5213 Sing Thai 42 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 5877 Saint (The) Bar 44 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 9009 Blue Parrot Cantina 49 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 2941 Stockbridge 54 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 6766 Anna Harper Lettings 63 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 202 0495 Golden Hare Books 68 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 1396 Antiquary Inn 72 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 2858 Flaubert Gallery 74 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 5007 Karen's Unicorn 112 St Stephens Sreet Edinburgh EH3 5AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 6659 Bruce Rae Property Management 110b St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AQ City of Edinburgh Scotland HAMILTON PLACE Edinburgh Property Letting Services 8 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AU City of Edinburgh Scotland Stockbridge Library 11 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland Hamilton's Bar and Restaurant 16 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 8513 Gorgeous Hair Salon 33 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 343 1152 Theatre Workshop 34 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 7942 Skylark Café 42 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH 3 5AZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4444 Whistling Tortoise 42a Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH 3 5AZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Alpine Bikes 48 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland Alpha Art Gallery 52 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 3066 Scot Mid 56 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 3066 Capital Credit Union 62 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland Ronde Cycles 68 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland HENDERSON ROW Lezzetli 1 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland L'alba Dora 5 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland Anima Restaurant 7 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland Licks Cake Shop 17 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland Bamboo Boutique 19 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 3116 New Town Deli 23 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland Lisa V Beauty 27 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland Reiss Hair 29 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland Wendy's Ice Cream 31 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland Physio Centre Palaties and Yoga 38 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DN City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Academy 54 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4603 Royal London Insurance 57 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DL City of Edinburgh Scotland Row66 Hair 66 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Benjamin's Barber 68 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Adam Pottery Studio 76 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 3978 HOWE STREET EDINBURGH Edinburgh Ski Club 2 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Gamefish 4 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Homer Interiors 8 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Edina Paint Co 10 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Albany Dental Care 12a Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Connolly Hair 16 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Papavero Italian Restaurant 18 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland George Pirie Antiques 22 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland six degrees north Bar 24 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland HOWE STREET EDINBURGH One Below Cellar Bar 24a Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland Sally Salon Services 26 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland Sainsbury's Local 28 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland Future Property Auctions 32 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Handbag Heaven 36 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Urban Hair 38 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Hadden Rankin Property Management 40 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Nova Pizza Restaurant 42 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Newsagent 46 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Ruan Siam Restaurant 48 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland HOWE STREET EDINBURGH Steedman Accountants 7 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland LGBT Health 9 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland Bon Papillon Gallery 15 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland Pronta Print 17 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland McAree Brother Knitting 19 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland Simpson Marwick Solicitors 19b Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland Leo's Bakery 23a Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TF City of Edinburgh Scotland Lonsdale and Dutch 23b Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TF City of Edinburgh Scotland Next - Constitution Street Businesses
- Greyfriars Graveyard | Ghost Tours | All About Edinburgh
Greyfriars Graveyard Tour attractions of the famous residents of Edinburgh that were buried in the Greyfriars Kirk Graveyard. Stories of Ghosts and supernatural events when walking past tombs and graves of the departed. The first grave at the gates Greyfriars Bobby dog icon of Edinburgh. Greyfriars Graveyard Tour Greyfriars Kirk Graveyard Edinburgh Greyfriars Graveyard Tour is my selection of the famous residents of Edinburgh that were buried in the Greyfriars Kirk Graveyard. Greyfriars Kirk opened in 1620 the graveyard was in existence as a municipal burial ground from 1562. The Friars were given the lands circa 1470 and the original friary was destroyed by the Reformers in 1559. Stories of Ghosts and and supernatural events when walking past Mausoleums, Tombs and Graves of the departed. The first grave at the gates Greyfriars Bobby dog icon of Edinburgh. The Judge who sentenced 100's to death, Tom Riddle A.K.A Lord Voldemort (Harry Potter), John Porteous hanged, James Borthwick the tombstone with the skeleton from 1675, Allan Ramsay Poet, Joseph Black, William Creech and Mary Erskine, George Watson, James Craig (architect), John Bayne. This was where the affluent were interned. Look inside the Kirk where the museum can be found. Greyfriars Graveyard Tour Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh John Kay 1742 – 1826 Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh John Kay is buried in Grayfriars Burial Ground Edinburgh. He was a well-known figure around Edinburgh Born in 1742 in Dalkeith Midlothian. He began his working life at 13 becoming an apprentice to the local Barber. At 19 he moved to a Barbers shop in Edinburgh. He loved sketching and painting. His free time was taken up in what was to become what he was remember by. John Kay was a painter of miniatures and caricaturist. Through his paintings and Sketches the people of Edinburgh through the Enlightenment are still visible due to John Kay. There is a plaque on the wall in the High Street Edinburgh where he lived (Geddes’ Entry). John Kay died in Edinburgh on 21 February 1826 and was laid to rest in Grayfriars Burial Ground. Many of his caricature drawings were purchased by the subject he had drawn in the sole purpose of being able to destroy it. William McGonagall (Professor Minerva McGonagall) Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh William McGonagall is also buried in Grayfriars burial ground. Known in his time as the world’s worst poet me died in South College Street Edinburgh. He wrote circa 200 poems, which including as some of the worst ever written in English literature. William was born in 1825 and lived most of his life in Dundee. He performed in front of the rich and famous and royalty a very popular literary figure of his time. Sir William Topaz McGonagall inspirational name of the head of Gryffindor House, Professor Minerva McGonagall. His grave stone can be found in the far left corner of Grayfriars near to Heriot's School (Hogwarts) Gates. Greyfriars Bobby Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Greyfriars Bobby was a Skye terrier who became known in 19th-century Edinburgh after spending 14 years guarding the grave of his owner, John Gray. Bobby himself died in 1872. A year later a statue was erected at the top of Candlemaker Row across from the Greyfriars Kirkyard. There is also a red granite headstone in Greyfriars kirkyard near the gate. Have a stroll around the Greyfriars Kirkyard and see many famous and powerful people of old Edinburgh. Greyfriars Bobby died 14th January 1872 age 16 years. Let his loyalty and devotion be a lesson to us all. James Borthwick James Borthwick of Stow was the world's first Apothecary Surgeon he was born in 1615 and died in 1675. In 1657 he became the first apothecary Surgeon and teacher of anatomy George Mackenzie (The Covenanter’s Judge) Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Rosehaugh Close (now Melrose Close named after Sir George MacKenzie of Rosehaugh King’s Advocate. Sir George McKenzie (George Bloody Mackenzie) is still known today due to his tomb in Greyfriars which is said to be haunted. George Mackenzie was the judge that sentenced the Covenanters to death. The spirit of George MacKenzie is said to cause bruising, bites and cuts on those who come into contact with the spirit or touch his tomb. Some visitors have reported feeling strange sensations. The Poltergeist seems to only attack people that are in the Covenanters Prison area which is now kept locked. Contact the kirk museum regards entry. Robert Chieslie Greyfriars Graveyard Walter Chieslie of Dalry built Dalry House (Orwell Place Edinburgh) in 1661 he was father to Robert Chieslie, who became was Lord Provost of Edinburgh in 1694 -96. He was one of the Darien Scheme investors who lost a fortune and died in the Edinburgh Asylum at Bristo. He is buried in Grayfriars burial ground in the mausoleum of Advocate George ‘Bloody’ MacKenzie. His brother John is also interned in the same tomb. John was guilty of murdering Lord Carnwath. This is the most hunted grave in Greyfriars with three ghosts. Sir Robert Sibbald 1641 – 1722 Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Sir Robert Sibbald was Physician to King Charles II and first Professor of Medicine in the University of Edinburgh, President of the Royal College of Physicians 1648 – 1685 and co-founder of the Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. Thomas Riddell (Riddle) Lord Voldemort Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Tom Marvolo Riddle known to be a Dark Wizard and enemy of Harry Potter. Tom Marvolo Riddle, was born and raised in a Muggle orphanage, but eventually attended Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry (1938-1945). He changed his name to Lord Voldemort. It is said the character’s name was inspired by the tombstone in Grayfriars burial ground. Covenanters Prison (The Presbyterians) Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh The National Covenant signed in Greyfriars in 1638, promised to defend Presbyterianism from intervention by the crown. Through the gates is the part of the Greyfriar’s Kirkyard which was once in 1679 a prison for more than 1000 supporters of the National Covenant, who had been defeated by Government forces at the Battle of Bothwell Bridge 22 June 1679. They were imprisoned for more than 4 months with little or no food and no shelter, some were tried and executed, others died in prison, some escaped and others were set free after signing a bond of loyalty to the crown. In November 1679 the remaining 257 prisoners were taken to Leith and place aboard a ship that was bound for the American Colonies, however all but 48 were drowned when the ship was wrecked of the coast of Orkney. Nine of the 48 were said to have escaped. The area of the prison was much larger than it is now as it took in where houses have been built and new graves were installed here in 1705 when the graveyard required more space for the Edinburgh people. The Covenanters (Presbyterians) immigrated to North America in the early 1700s and William Tennant founded the Log College in Neshaminy Pennsylvania in 1735. The Covenanters of North America became the members of the reformed Presbyterian Church. The inscription on the plaque at the side of the gates to the Covenanters’ Prison reads; THE COVENANTERS’ PRISON Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Behind these gates lies part of the Greyfriars Kirkyard which was used in 1679 as a prison for more than one thousand supporters of the National Covenant who had been defeated by Government forces at the battle of Bothwell Brig on 22 June. For more than four months these men were held here without any shelter, each man being allowed 4 ounces of bread a day. Kindly citizens were sometimes able to give them more food. Some of the prisoners died here, some were tried and executed for treason, some escaped, and some were freed after signing a bond of loyalty to the Crown. All those who were persecuted and died for their support of the National Covenant in the reigns of Charles II and James VII are commemorated by the Martyrs’ Memorial on the north-eastern wall of the Kirkyard. The Covenant, which was first signed in Greyfriars Kirk in 1638, promised to defend Presbyterianism from intervention by the Crown. In November 1679 the remaining 257 men, who had been sentenced to transportation overseas, were taken to Leith and placed on board a ship bound for the American colonies; nearly all were drowned when this ship was wrecked in the Orkney islands (where there is a monument in their memory), but 48 of the prisoners survived. The section of the Kirkyard used to imprison the Covenanters lay outside the existing south wall, and included the area now covered by buildings on Forrest Row. The area behind the gate was laid out for burials in 1705 and contains many fine monuments, but these did not exist at the time of the prison. This plaque has been provided by the Greyfriars Kirkyard Trust with the support of the Scottish Covenanter Memorials Association. In the Covenanter's Prison Mary Erskine Greyfriars Graveyard Mary Erskine married in 1661, a writer of the signet (advocate). He unfortunately died 10 years later. Mary remarried Chemist with his own apothecary but he also died prematurely. With the money she had accumulated she opened a bank and amassed a large fortune, which she gifted money to the Edinburgh Merchant Company who establish the first hospital (boarding school) for girls, named The Merchant Maidens Hospital which opened in the Cowgate in the Merchants Hall which was situated where the arch of the George IV Bridge now stands in 1694. In 1704 she opened a further Hospital for girls, The Trades Maiden Hospital. Its first location was on Jamaica Street next to Argyll Square (Chamber Street and West College Street). It remained there until 1855, when it moved out to a villa named Rillbank. Edinburgh Sick Children’s Hospital now occupies the site. In 1892 it moved again to Ashfield, on Grange Loan. At the west corner of Blackford Avenue. The latest move was to 61 Melville Street in 1975 and its new home was renamed Ashfield in commemoration of its former premises. In the Covenanter's Prison James Hutton Greyfriars Graveyard James Hutton was born in Edinburgh in 1726 and died in Edinburgh 1797 age 70 years. At the age of 14 years he became a student of the University of Edinburgh he went on to travel to France where he became a doctor of medicine. He then went to London and then returned to Edinburgh. He continued the study of the Earth as geology and meteorology were his great interest. Hutton was part of the Edinburgh Enlightenment and as a scientist was regularly seen with Adam Smith, David Hume John Playfair and Joseph Black another famous scientist. His magnum opus was the theory of the earth which made the foundations to Geology James Hutton has been known as the Father of Modern Geology. Joseph Black Greyfriars Graveyard Joseph Black was a physicist and chemist who discovered magnesium, latent heat, specific heat, and carbon dioxide. In 1757 Joseph Black was appointed Regius Professor of the Practice of Medicine at the University of Glasgow and in 1766 he became Professor of Medicine and Chemistry at the University of Edinburgh. Both the University of Edinburgh and Glasgow have chemistry buildings named after him. Joseph Black was part of the Edinburgh Enlightenment and was at the gathering when Sir Walter Scott and Robert Burns met for the only time. In the Covenanter's Prison Joseph Black’s Plaque The inscription reads, "Joseph Black, Doctor of Medicine,-born in France, but a British subject, his father being a native of Ireland, and his mother of Scotland,-first a student in the University of Glasgow, and afterwards in that of Edinburgh, was a most distinguished Professor of Chemistry in both Universities; a felicitous interpreter of nature; acute, cautious, and skilful in research; eloquent in description; the first discoverer of carbonic acid and latent heat,- died in the 71st year of his age, AD 1799. His friends, who were wont to esteem his worth and abilities, have sought to mark out the spot which contains his body by this marble, as long as it shall last." Joseph Black's death in 1799. William Creech FRSE Greyfriars Graveyard William Creech was the main book publisher in Edinburgh. He was also a printer, bookseller, politician and Edinburgh’s Lord Provost in 1811. He was also a freemason and friends with Dr T Blacklock and Henry MacKenzie, both invited Robert Burns to Edinburgh. They introduced William Creech to Burns and he became his publisher and published the first Edinburgh edition of Robert Burns' poems 650 copies sold out in the first day to lodge members. William Adam Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh William Adam was born in Fife in 1689 and was one of Scotland’s greatest architects and he could also be said to be one of the first true entrepreneurs with many varied business interests. He died in 1747 and his son John Adam designed and built the family mausoleum in 1753 in Grayfriars. One of his best house designs that he built was for Robert Dundas when he built Arniston house for the Viscount in 1726. Mort Safes Greyfriars Graveyard Mort safes were a form of cage over a grave to stop the grave robbers from taking the bodies and selling them to the Medical College to be used to teach the students human anatomy. This was before the 1832 Anatomy Act regulated the legal supply of corpses for medical science. Captain John Porteous Greyfriars Graveyard The killing of John Porteous Captain of the City Guard. Three robbers were caught and imprisoned for carrying out a robbery. William Hall, George Robertson and Andrew Wilson. At their trial William Hall was sentenced to transportation to the colonies for life, but Andrew Wilson and George Robertson were sentenced to hang and were imprisoned in the Tolbooth in Edinburgh’s High Street awaiting execution. George Robertson escaped and made his way out of Britain. However, Andrew Wilson was to be publicly hanged in the Grassmarket in April of 1736. On the day of the execution a riot began and the City guard was called out, led by Captain John Porteous. Due to the rioting Captain John Porteous instructed his men to fire above the heads of the crowd, this made the riot even more heated, the shots from the city guard had hit and killed onlookers that were watching the proceedings from their windows. With the crowd getting even more violent, Captain Porteous gave the order to shoot into the crowd, which resulted in more deaths. Later that day Captain John Porteous was arrested and charged with murder. At his trial on 5 July 1736, he was convicted by a unanimous decision and found guilty of murder and sentenced to death. The execution took place in the Grassmarket on 8 September 1736. Walter Geikie Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Walter Geikie was born in 1795 a deaf painter and founder of the first deaf church and deaf society. His true memorial can be seen in our city art galleries and in the quality of life and dignity accorded to deaf citizens of Edinburgh today. Walter Geikie loved to sketch street scenes in ink and of real life. Union Carbide Gas Disaster Memorial Plaque Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh In memory of almost 4000 deaths and 40,000 people disabled maimed or suffering serious illness from the gas leak in December 1984 in Bhopal India. "never think you stand alone" George Buchanan 1506 - 1582 Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh George Buchanan, was born in Stirling in 1506 and died in Edinburgh in 1582. He followed the Calvinist theory throughout his life. A Humanist scholar, fluent in Latin, he travelled and was a teacher in France and Portugal. Teaching both Mary Queen of Scots and her son King James VI. He was a renowned writer of poetry, plays and other literary works. He was the Keeper of the Privy Seal. He also conspired with Elizabeth I to have Mary Queen of Scots arrested which led to her execution. His work ‘Rerum Scoticarum historia’ (The History of Scotland) completed just prior to his death in 1582 Allan Ramsay (1686–1758) Greyfriars Graveyard Allan Ramsay was a trained Wigmaker and poet. He died in Ramsay Lodge, Ramsay Garden on Castlehill where he spent the last years of his life. In 1725 he opened the first lending library in the High Street Edinburgh which was the first lending library in Britain. Allan was born in Lanarkshire in the west of Scotland on 15 October 1686. He died on 7th January 1758. Allan Ramsay established the Jacobite Literary Society in 1712. He became a bookseller in 1721 which he retired from in 1740. He is remember mostly for being a pioneer in the use of the Scots Language in contemporary poetry. James Craig Greyfriars Graveyard James Craig was the winning architect of the design for Edinburgh’s new town a competition held by King George III. He was only 23 years of age when he won but never saw the end result as he died prior to its completion. John Byrne Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh John Byrne’s tomb is built into the wall of Grayfriars burial ground. John Byrne He was a writer to the signet (solicitor to the King) and a wealthy landowner. He was born in (1620) Pitcarlie Fife which is just north of Auchtermuchty. The Tomb was built by his surviving wife in 1684 three years after his death. George Watson Greyfriars Graveyard George Watson was born in Edinburgh in 1654 and had a long and successful career as an accountant and merchant banker. He became the first accountant of the Bank of Scotland. On his death he bequeathed money to the Edinburgh Merchant Company to open a Hospital (boarding School) for the poor children of Edinburgh. The School is still in existence to this day. George Watson died on 3 April 1723. This memorial was erected | In 1991 to mark the 250th | Anniversary of the opening | of George Watson’s Hospital and the 120th anniversary | of George Watson’s Ladies’ | College the forerunners | of | George Watson’s College. George Watson who founded the College was born in Edinburgh in 1654 and died in 1723. The School opened in 1741 in Lauriston Place opposite George Heriot’s School. The Boys school moved to its present building in Colinton Road in 1932. George Foulis of Ravelstoun Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh George Foulis purchased the Ravelstoun Estate in 1620. Where he built a tower house in 1622 where he lived with his wife Janet Bannatyne. An inscription on a lintel reads GF- NE QUID NIMIS 1622 JB. These inscriptions are found on most old houses showing the initials of the owners, when they moved in, or when they married. In this case (GF) George Foulis NE QUID NIMIS (Nothing in excess) 1622 year house built (JB) Janet Bannatyne. In the grounds is Ravelston Tower, the stair-tower of Old Ravelston House. George Foulis, laird of Ravelstoun (Ravelston) was born in 1569 the second son of Sir James Foulis of Colinton. George Foulis became a Bailie (Councillor) of the city of Edinburgh. He married Janet Bannatyne (1603). George Foulis died in 1633 and is buried in Grayfriars Burial Ground. Covenanters' Memorial Monument Grayfriars Kirk Edinburgh Halt, passenger, take heed what you do see This tomb doth shew, for what sane men did do Here lies interr’d the dust of those who stood ‘Gainst perjury, resisting unto blood. Adhering to the Covenant, and laws Establishing the same, which was the cause Then lives were sacrificed unto the lust Of Prelatists abjured. Though here their dust Lies mixt with murderers, and other crew Whom justice justly did to death pursue. But as for them, no cause was to be found Worthy of death, but only they were found. Constant and stedfast zealous as For the Prerogative of CHRIST their KING. Which truths were sealed by famous Guthrie’s head And all along to Mr Renwick’s blood They did endure the wrath of [?enemies] Reproaches torments deaths and injustice But yet they‘re those who and now triumph in glory with the LAMB. From May 27th 1661, that the most noble Marquis of Argyle was beheaded, to the 17 th of Febry 1688 that Mr James Renwick suffered, were one way or other Murdered and Destroyed for the same Cause, about Eighteen thousand of whom were execute in Edinburgh about a Hundred of Noblemen, Gentlemen, Minister, and Others noble Martyrs for JESUS CHRIST. The most of them lie here. A stone open bible once stood below the inscription. The Plaque shows what was written on the open pages. Rev.VI.9 AND WHEN HE HAD OPENED THE FIFTH SEAL, I SAW UNDER THE ALTER THE SOULS OF THEM THAT WERE SLAIN FOR, THE WORD OF GOD, AND FOR THE TESTIMONT WHICH THEY HELD; AND THEY CRIED WITH A LOUD VOICE, SAYING, HOW LONG, O LORD, HOLY AND TRUE, DOST THOU NOT JUDGE & AVENGE OUR BLOOD ON THEM THAT DWELL ON THE EARTH? AND WHITE ROBES WERE GIVEN TO EVERY ONE OF THEM AND IT WAS SAID UNTO THEM THAT THEY SHOULD REST YET FOR A LITTLE SEASON UN TIL THERE FELLOW-SERVANTS ALSO AND THEIR BRETHREN, THAT SHOULD BE KILLED AS THEY WERE, SHOULD BE FULFILLED. REV.VII.14. THESE ARE THEY WHICH CAME OUT OF GREAT TRIBULATION, AND HAVE WASHED THEIR ROBES, AND MADE THEM WHITE IN THE BLOOD OF THE LAMB. CHAP.2nd.10. BE THOU FAITHFUL UNTO DEATH, AND I WILL GIVE THEE A CROWN OF LIFE. Next - Candlemakers' Row
- Edinburgh New Town | Architecture | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh New town, Edinburgh architecture and its history. Edinburgh New Town Attractions, Shops, Restaurants, Cafes, Hotels and Apartments. Nightlife and activities. Sunday Markets Edinburgh's New Town has it all. Edinburgh New Town Attractions The New Town in Edinburgh was the idea of King George III and the design he decided on was originally 3 main streets with 2 Squares one in the East and one in the west at each end of George Street. With 4 streets crossing vertically from Princes Street to Queen Street. Click on the buttons below to see what's in each of the streets. Edinburgh New Town Attractions The naming of “The New Town” In 1759 King George III had a new town built as an extension of Edinburgh City, as the over population of the old town streets had become unliveable. A bridge was built as an access to where the new town would be built (North Bridge). Where the area of the Nor Loch once covered, Waverley Rail Station and Princes Street Gardens are now. When the plans for the new town were agreed the King named the streets with the main street after himself (George Street). The other streets of the new town were named after as follows: Queen Street, after his wife the Queen: St. Giles Street after the city’s patron saint, St. Giles St. Andrews Square after the patron saint of Scotland and George Square after the patron saint of England. The smaller street between George Street and Queen Street is named Thistle Street after (Scotland’s national emblem) Street Between George Street and St. Giles Street is named Rose Street after (England’s national emblem). King George, after consideration, rejected the name St. Giles Street as St Giles being the patron saint of lepers and also the name of a slum area on the edge of the City of London. It was renamed Princes Street after his sons, the three Princes. The name of St. George Square was also changed to Charlotte Square after his wife Charlotte the Queen as there was already a George Square just outside the old town. Thistle Street was split into three separate street names, from the west end. It became Young Street then Hill Street after the architects who built the new town with the final part remaining Thistle Street now half the length of Rose Street. The three streets running across the main street completing the new town area, Castle Street named for the view of the castle, Frederick Street after the king’s father Frederick and Hanover Street was after the Royal house of Hanover. The main access to the new town was by the North Bridge. The Nor Loch was drained and the debris from the excavations of the new town were piled up in the middle of the now dry bed of the loch and formed the mound the only other access from the old town to the new town. The gardens were then formed on both sides of the mound in the dry bed where the loch had been at the foot of Edinburgh Castle, running the length of Princes Street. The first buildings in the New Town to be built were in Rose Court, at the east end of Thistle Street in 1767, now called Thistle Court, this building can still be seen today. Calton Hill Waterloo Place Regent Road History Attractions West Princes Street Gardens History Attractions George Street Hanover Street Frederick Street History Attractions North Bridge History Attractions Cockburn Street History Attractions Stockbridge Edinburgh History Attractions New Town West Edinburgh History Attractions St Andrews Square Thistle Court History Attractions Princes Street History Attractions The Mound Bank Street - North Bank Street Mound Place - St Giles Street History Attractions Waverley Bridge History Attractions Charlotte Square North Charlotte Street History Attractions Edinburgh New Town North History Attractions New Town North East Edinburgh History Attractions Queen Street History Attractions East Princes Street Gardens History Attractions Castle Street North Castle Street History Attractions Market Street East Market Street History Attractions Lothian Road History Attractions Edinburgh Royal Botanic Gardens History Attractions New Town North West Edinburgh History Attractions Next - Calton Hill - Waterloo Place - Regent Road
- Whisky Shops Edinburgh | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh has many shops that sell a brands of whisky. The selection of blended and malt whiskies and place you can try before you buy, specialty shops that only sell whisky and many supermarkets with cut price malts and blended all the best names and some small distilleries. Whisky Shops Edinburgh Looking for a Scottish Malt Whisky without going to a distillery? There are many shops in Edinburgh where you can taste the product before you buy. Whisky connoisseurs will get a experts view of the whiskies on sale without paying a high premium for a special whisky. Special reserves and whisky from the cask all available in the whisky shops of Edinburgh. There are also pubs that have a varied and wide selection of whisky if you want to make a night of it. Always remember over 18 yrs only and drink responsibly Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Cadenhead’s Whisky Shop Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5864 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Tartan Weaving Mill Castle Hill Royal Mile Edinburgh EHI 2NE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 2477 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Whiskey World Cockburn Street Edinburgh EH1 1PB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 2134 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Royal Mile Whiskies High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1PW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3383 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Black Stag Whisky Ltd Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 278 3588 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Jeffrey Street Whisky and Tobacco Jeffrey Street Edinburgh EH1 1DT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9930 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops The Whiski Rooms North Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1532 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops The Scotch Malt Whisky Society Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 1JX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 2044 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Robert Graham Whisky & Cigars Rose Street Edinburgh EH2 4AZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1874 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops The Whisky Shop Victoria Street Edinburgh EH1 2JW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4666 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Whisky Shop Waverley Mall Waverley Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5688 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Glenkinchie Distillery Pencaitland East Lothian EH34 5ET City of Edinburgh Scotland 01875 342 012 Shops in Edinburgh Castle Edinburgh
- Visit Scotland | Scottish Border Towns | All About Edinburgh
The Scottish Border towns are a hidden gem with Castles famous people, historic Homes, Abbeys, Home of Mary Queen of Scots (Jedburgh) and Sir Walter Scott (Abbotsford) Mongo Park (Selkirk) Rugby Legend Bill McLaren (Hawick). Scottish Border Towns Scottish Borders Attractions and Towns History, Attractions, Famous People & Stories. The Scottish Border region has the famous river Tweed that carves its way from west to East with all the water from the hills flowing into it as it makes its way to the North Sea at Berwick- Upon-Tweed. The last circa 180 miles of the Tweed is marks the Border between Scotland and England. One of the most scenic spots is the bridge that crosses over the Tweed at Coldstream at the Scottish side a house stands where English couples would runaway to be married (This was before Gretna Green was used). The Marriage house still stands in the middle of nowhere as it is between the Welcome to Scotland sign and you are leaving England sign. The main Border towns are situated in the central area of the Scottish Borders. A road that runs from just outside Edinburgh in the east starting from the A720 which will take you 50 minutes to the main area or by train on the Borders Railway from Waverley Station to Tweedbank which is close to Abbotsford House, where Sir Walter Scott once lived. The main towns in the Borders are Melrose Galashiels, Selkirk, Hawick, Jedburgh, Kelso, Newtown St. Boswells, St Boswells, Peebles, Coldstream and Tweedbank . While visiting the Borders carry on to Moffat which is in Dumfries and Galloway where you can buy the famous Moffat Toffee. Just on the Border of Scotland and England. Also the highest village in Scotland is Wanlockhead where the gold of the Honours of Scotland came from. Innerleithen Ancrum Duns Gordon Lauder Coldstream I have selected attractions from many of the scottish border towns. However for a full guide of all the attractions in all the Scottish Borders towns I have provided a link here Scottish Border Attractions Melrose / Dryburgh Leaderfoot Jedburgh Hawick Kelso Selkirk Galashiels Other Scottish Borders Towns are Coldingham - Eyemouth - St Abbs - Peebles Newtown St Boswells - Carlops - Cockburnspath - Traquair - Cringletie - Galashiels Berwick upon Tweed Biggar Bowden Cockburnspath Crawfordjohn Earlston Kirk Yetholm Langholm Newcastleton Newtown St Boswells Peebles St Abbs Head St Boswells Teviothead Tweed Valley Walkerburn Yarrow Water and Ettrick Water Ancrum Scottish Borders Attractions Harestanes Countryside Park and Visitor Centre Finding Harestanes, from the A68, at the turning almost opposite the road to Ancrum, take the B6400 (signposted to Nisbet) and take the right turn after about 700m and follow the signs. There is a free carpark. Harestanes is a place for all the family with a adventure play park for children of all ages and great walks and scenery. Harestanes is on St Cuthbert’s Way, the ultimate walkway from the borders into England 100 Klm (63 miles) of shear bliss. Before starting your walk plan ahead make sure you are well equipped for a long walk. Waterloo Monument Peniel Heugh where the Waterloo Monument 150-foot Doric tower, built over 10 years and completed in 1827 by The 6th Marquis of Lothian, on behalf of his tenants. The monument commemorate the Duke of Wellington’s victory over Napoleon Bonaparte at the Battle of Waterloo 1815. Access to the Waterloo Monument at Lothian Estates Office Bonjedward, Jedburgh Scottish Borders TD8 6UF Tel: 01835 862201 Email: evie@lothianestates.co.uk To hire the keys to Peniel Heugh/Waterloo Monument visit our office on a weekday to collect them for £5. We are open 8:45am - 5pm Monday to Friday. Duns Scottish Borders Attractions Duns in the Scottish Borders history goes back to the start of the 13th century (1210). here is a castle a museum dedicated to Jim Clark motor racing champion and a cairn to John Duns Scotus, the most important philosopher-theologians of his time. Lauder Scottish Borders Attractions Lauder is a small town on the road between Edinburgh and the heart of the Scottish Borders. On the same route Thirlestane Castle, the Maitland Family home of Dukes and Earls for over 500 years. A true 16th century castle with its own family ghost haunting chambers. Tour the castle and see this magnificent home of the 18th Earl of Lauderdale. Coldstream Scottish Borders Attractions Coldstream is a town that sits on the river Tweed on the border between Scotland and England. Due to Coldstreams location it was the original place where young couples would cross the border to be married. Coldstream has many attractions museums and galleries and located on the English side is the Flodden Battle site, where the Scottish forces were defeated by the English in 1513 where the last King was killed in battle. The only bridge at the time was the Twizel Bridge that spanned the Tweed which marked the boundary of the the two countries. Gordon Scottish Borders Attractions Gordon is the location of Mellerstain House and Gardens is one for the architectural buffs, as it is said to be the finest work of Robert Adam son of William Adam Scotland's number one architect of his time. His son Robert Scottish neoclassical architect, interior designer and furniture designer followed in his fathers footsteps to be a renowned architect. Greenknowe Tower classed as an ancient monument was home of James Seton one of the most powerful families in Scotland. Innerleithen Scottish Borders Attractions Innerleithen was the Scottish Borders Spa town with a mineral spring of St Ronan's Well. Close to Innerleithen is Traquair House said to be the oldest inhabited house in Scotland. Robert Smail’s printing works in working condition from circa 1900 it is an Industrial Heritage museum. Dumfries Attractions
- Scotland | Day Tours | All About Edinburgh
Looking for a day out and visit all the attractions in East Lothian, Dumfries, Rosslyn Chapel, Stirling, The Kelpies, Bannockburn, Falkirk Wheel, St Andrews, Outlander Village, Edinburgh. Tour Rosebank Single Malt Distillery and taste whisky you'll never forget. Day Tours Scotland Central Scotland Tour Edinburgh to Stirling Tour Central Scotland and see the sites on the way to Stirling once the capital of Scotland Starting at the West End of Edinburgh you will visit South Queensferry where a ferry took people across the the water to Fife for over 300 years and a view of the 3 bridges. On to Blackness Castle where Outlander, Robert the Bruce and Mary Queen of Scots films were made, Linlithgow Palace (site of Outlander and Robert the Bruce). and St Michael’s Church , then Callendar House and Park a link to the history The History Jar The Falkirk Wheel is a barge lift that replaces 18 Lochs taking barges from one level to another, Rosebank Distillery Opened by James Rankine from 1840's Lowland Malt Whisky Distillers The Kelpies two horses heads sculpted from steel, which signify the joining of the two main Scottish canals. Bannockburn visitors Centre and Battle Site, where Scotland first gain independence from England, Stirling Castle stands on a rock as Edinburgh Castle on an extinct volcano, it was also the home of Mary Queen of Scots and where she was crowned. The Wallace Monument , National Monument of Scotland. Cambuskenneth Abbey James III Tomb and Home. On the tour entrance to sites are not included. Shorter trips can be designed for each group. North Berwick Day Out North Berwick and Villages Tour East Lothian North Berwick is a holiday destination with harbour, boat trips, churches, ruins, golf courses, shops, restaurants, bars, ruins, two beaches and castles a great day out or a longer holiday. Only 45 minutes from Edinburgh with many things to see on the way. From Edinburgh to North Berwick and return. Spend 5 hours sightseeing shopping or sunbathing on one of the two golden sand beaches. Climb Berwick Law (Hill) 600 foot high. Enquiry / Contact Rosslyn Chapel 1/2 Day Tour This tour will take you to Rosslyn Chapel wait and return the cost of entering the Chapel is not included the chapel tour is conducted by the attraction and last up to 2 hours. You can also visit the Castle which is a short walk. The walk is not suitable to people with walking difficulties. On the Journey to and from the chapel we will point out places that are not usually seen by tourists. photo stops will be included. This tour is priced on time and not number of passengers (up to 6 passengers) The trip will take be up to 5 hours. Travel time 30 minutes each way. 3 hours at Roslin. Enquiry / Contact Burns Dumfries Tour Dumfries has a fascinating history. It is the largest town in the region. Dumfries was founded as a Royal Burgh in 1186 and was on the border of England Galloway was actually in England until 1234. In 1306 Robert the Bruce killed John III Comyn, Lord of Badenoch Guardian of Scotland in Greyfriars Church Dumfries before become King of Scotland. Greyfriars Dumfries was rebuilt in circa 1870 across from where the original church was. There is a great deal of thing to see in Dumfries connected with Robert Burns, a statue, his mausoleum in St Michael's Churchyard, his house at 24 Burns Street and Robert Burns Centre. There are 2 further museums, Dumfries Museum with Camera Obscura and Old Bridge House Museum. We will also visit Robert Burns first family home Ellisland Farm where he stayed with his wife Jean. Travel time to Dumfries 2 hrs 15 mins, (82 miles - 133 Klms) each way. Stops - Biggar and Moffat. Enquiry / Contact
- Tyninghame Village | All About Edinburgh
Tyninghame Village named after monks circa 700AD (village of the dwellers by the Tyne) With a main House village hall River Estuary(Tyne) golden sand beaches situated between North Berwick and Dunbar. Tyninghame Attractions East Lothian Tyninghame Smithy East Lothian St Baldred, first came to the area circa 700 AD and opened a monastery and religious community. The Monastery was attacked by Danes in 941 and was left in ruins. Circ 1150 a church was built close to the estuary of the River Tyne and soon there was a village which was named Tyninghame or "village of the dwellers by the Tyne". Tyninghame House East Lothian Tyninghame was given in a charter to the monks of St Cuthberts in 1094. The Lands around Tyninghame became the property of the Earls of Haddington in 1628 and later circa 1700 the 6th Earl and his with landscaped the area by planting trees. A year later the village was demolished by the Earl and moved as he felt it spoilt the view from his house. The 9th Earl modernised the house having turrets and spires added circa 1830. Tyninghame Village Hall East Lothian he Tyninghame village hall is at the centre of this small idyllic village in East Lothian. The VIllage was was moved in from its original position by the Laird of the big house as it was spoiling his view. The village hall was built circa 1840 originally the old bakers house. Tyne River Estuary East Lothian It rises in the Moorfoot Hills in Midlothian near Tynehead and runs approximately 30 miles to its estuary with the firth of forth near Tyninghame, where the village originally got its name. The remains of the old church which was built at the mouth of the Tyne is now just a ruin. Tyninghame Beach East Lothian This must be one of Scotland's top beaches with golden sand and a fantastic view of the Bass Rock. Tyninghame Beach sits between St Baldred's Cradle and Limetree each on the east coast Take a turn towards the sea at Newmains cOttages on the A198 follow the road to Scougall campsite. St Baldred's Cradle East Lothian St Baldred's Cradle at Ravensheugh Sands is the rocky (outcrop) headland where an ancient cairn (stone mound) can be seen. this is a great view point for the east coast. This is a great geological place to see down the centuries in the rock formation. Kirklandhill Standing Stone East Lothian Kirklandhill standing stone is one of two standing stones next to each other on the A1 both are in the region of 11 foot where most standing stones are about 9 foot in height. Kirkland Standing Stone is (11 foot) 3.35m high. Next - Dunbar
- Broughton Area | Edinburgh New Town | All About Edinburgh
Broughton Area Edinburgh New Town is the north eastern extention of the new town. Once a small Barony on the outskirts of Edinburgh now in the Heart of Edinburgh east end shopping and night life. Broughton Area New Town East A further extension of the new town. Top of Leith, Picardy Place, Baxter Place, Greenside, Broughton Street, Forth Street, East London Street, Mansfield Place, Broughton Road Scotland Street, East Claremont Street Historic Sites, Stories And Attractions Broughton Area You will find the sites of statues, monuments, Buildings, Plaques and Sculptures. St Mary’s Cathedral St Mary’s Edinburgh is the cathedral church of the archdiocese of St Andrew and Edinburgh and the first masses were held in August 1814. The Cathedral is the setting for the solemn mass for the opening of the Edinburgh Festival. In 1982 Pope John Paul II visited the Cathedral and prayed at the shrine of Saint Andrew which can be seen within the church building. Professor Sir Eduardo Luigi Paolozzi Sculptors Broughton Area New Town East Edinburgh The Foot, The Hand and the Ankle is a sculpture in three-pieces that stand outside St Mary's Roman Catholic Cathedral at the top of Leith Walk. Professor Sir Eduardo Luigi Paolozzi sculptor, was born at 6 Crown Place in 1924. His family came from the Monte Cassino area of Italy. He was knighted in 1989 and sadly died in April 2005 at 81 years. Ken Buchanan MBE Broughton Area New Town East Edinburgh Ken Buchanan has ben honoured by Edinburgh with a statue which stands next to St Mary's Cathedral at the foot of Leith Street Edinburgh. Ken Buchanan was born 28 June 1945 and he became the undisputed Lightweight Champion of the World in 1971. Just how good he was, Ken Buchanan the American Boxing Writers' Association fighter of the year in 1970. 1969 and 1971 winner was Joe Frazier. The plaque at the feet of Ken Buchanan reads: Ken Buchanan of Edinburgh is regarded as one of Britain's greatest ever boxers. A genuine international star who topped the bill ahead of Mohammad Ali at Madison Square Garden, He defeated Ismael Laguna in Puerto Rico on 26th September 1970 to become world lightweight boxing champion. On 12 February 1971 he also defeated Ruben Navarro in Los Angeles to become undisputed lightweight champion of the World. An immensely talented and skilled craftsman who fought the very best of his generation and gave pleasure to millions as Scotland's first truly global fighter, Ken was elected to the international boxing hall of fame in the year 2000 in recognition of his outstanding achievements. This statue was commissioned by the Ken Buchanan MBE foundation and was unveiled by the former Lord Provosts of the city of Edinburgh Frank Ross and Donald Wilson on 14th August 2022. The trustees of the foundation would like to thank all the many people of Edinburgh beyond whose generosity made this statue possible. Picardy Place New Town East Picardy Place Broughton Area New Town East Edinburgh Sir Arthur Conan Doyle The Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Centre can be found at 25 Palmerston Place where The Edinburgh Association of Spiritualists is based and where you can see mediums at work. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was a strong believer in the afterlife. Arthur Conan Doyle’s also lived at 23 George Square Edinburgh (1876 - 1880). Sir Walter Scott was brought up 2 doors down where his parents had the family home. Sherlock Holmes Sir Arthur Ignatius Conan Doyle was born on 22 May 1859, 11 Picardy Place Edinburgh. The statue stands where his house used to stand Conan Doyle was a novelist, short story writer, poet and doctor of medicine. He is most famous for the stories about the detective Sherlock Holmes. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was deeply involved in Spiritualism and the Occult. He declared early on in his life that he believed in life after death and the communication with those who passed away. He died in 1930. His last words were addressed to his wife. He whispered "You are wonderful." Greenside Place Broughton Area New Town East Two Giraffe Sculptures The Giraffes are made of scrap metal from motorbikes and cars and stand proudly outside the Omni Centre. The giraffe’s official title is “Dreaming Spires” but they have been nicknamed Martha and Gilbert. Greenside Place New Town East Baxter's Place Broughton Area New Town East Edinburgh Robert Stevenson Stevenson House Baxter's Place New Town East Robert Stevenson was a famous engineer and grandfather to Robert Louis Stevenson the famous writer. He lived at 1 Baxter's Place where the Marriott Group have renovated the houses and made them into a magnificent 4 Star Hotel where a bust of Robert Stevenson now stands. Robert Stevenson built many of the lighthouses that stand around the shores of Britain. He also built bridges of which his last was the Regent bridge that joined the east to Princes Street over what was Leith Wynd the only road to the New Town from the east. Forth Street New Town East Forth Street Broughton Area New Town East Edinburgh Hart Street Studios Edinburgh This is where the Flower of Scotland Writers the Corries had their music studio. Albany Street North New Town Edinburgh Deaf and Dumb Church Edinburgh Albany Street New Town East Broughton Street New Town East Edinburgh Barony Bar Broughton Street New Town East The Barony stands on land which was once part of the ancient “Barony of Broughton in the parish of St Cuthbert's in the Shire of Edinburgh”, an area notorious in the days gone by as a haunt for witches and followers of the “Black Arts”. Indeed Broughton Street itself is built where formally there once stood thatched cottages, one reputedly to have been called the “Witches Howf” and dungeons which at one time held worshippers of the “Black Arts” while they awaited execution. The building which currently houses the Barony was part of a five story corner basement bit built in 1830 by Walter Burns, an upholsterer and David Chalmers, a Baker, who both traded from the premises. The building has seen many tradesmen including J Stewart, surgeon; John Murdock, grocer; James Walker, guilder; W & G Williams, marble cutters; and John Moffat, stationer to name a few. In 1919, John McLaughlin Wine and spirit merchant bought the licensed house premises and cellars at 83 / 85 Broughton Street from Jordan Sinclair for £1100, having already acquired the other half in 1896. It was then purchased in 1944 by Thomas Urquhart Forsyth who I year later purchased number 81. The combined properties were then sold to William Younger & Co in 1955 with title transferring to Scottish brewers in 1959. In 1966 the secretary of state for Scotland listed the property as a “building of special architectural and historic interest”. T &J Bernard London Street North New Town Edinburgh The Icelandic National Anthem The Icelandic National Anthem was composed and written in 1874 at 15 London Street Edinburgh by Sveinbjorn Sveinbjornsson the composer and Mattias Jochumsson the Poet. London Street New Town East Anne Redpath (Artist) Edinburgh Anne Redpath lived in London Street in the north east of the New Town from 1952 -1965 East London Street East London Street New Town East Edinburgh Gayfield House A local builder built Gayfield House circa 1763 and sold it to Lord Thomas Erskine in 1765, who died a year later when the property became the residence of David the 6th Earl of Leven In 1873 the house became a veterinary school which moved to become the Veterinary School a part of the University of Liverpool. Gayfield House was sold to William Cockburn merchant in 1904. It has been a laundry a garage for car repairs and in 1990 in became derelict. A builder saved it from demolition and restored the house to its former glory. (18 East London Street Edinburgh) Manssfield Place Mansfield Place New Town East Edinburgh Mansfield Traquair Centre Known as “Edinburgh’s Sistine Chapel”. due to its grand neo-Romanesque architecture and murals. The Traquair centre was a Catholic Apostolic Church built in 1893. The centre is named after the area and the Irish Arts and Crafts artist Phoebe Anna Traquair. You can see more of her work in Colinton Village. The centre is also a very busy wedding venue. East Claremont Street East Claremont Street New Town East Edinburgh Thomas David Anderson Thomas David Anderson discovered Nova Aurigae and then found Nova Persei circa 1,500 light-years from Earth both from his home in East London Street. A Nova is any of a class of exploding stars whose luminosity temporarily increases from several thousand to as much as 100,000 times its normal level. Thomas D Anderson was presented by the Royal Society of Edinburgh with the prestigious Gunning Victoria Jubilee Prize for his discovery. Thomas Anderson went on to make further discoveries, circa 50 variable stars, which did not include Nova Aquilae in 1918 and comet 17P/Holmes in 1892. Scotland Street Scotland Street New Town East Edinburgh In Scotland Street is a closed archway which trains used to come out of. The rail line ran from Waverley to Granton harbour and the tunnel was known as the Scotland Street Tunnel. It opened in May of 1847 and closed in 1868 due to modernisation and other routes. The Entrance can still be seen at Scotland Street Park below Scotland Street. Broughton Street Broughton Road New Town East Edinburgh Powderhall Stables Broughton Edinburgh was once where Powderhall Refuse Depot stables and offices were. The Victorian building was built in 1893 when household rubbish was collected by horse-drawn carts. A lot of which was ash from the coal fires. This could be the origin of the name Powderhall, as all the ash was deposited behind the building. The Stables were also used when visiting cavalry were at the Edinburgh International Festival. Broughton is part of the New Town North but has borders with Leith Walk and Pilrig Street which once was outside Edinburgh (1920). Canonmills Area Attractions
- Canongate North | Royal Mile | All About Edinburgh
The Canongate was once seperate from Edinburgh. See all the attractions and history on the the northside of the Canongate. Where the Queen goes to church(Canongate Kirk) and where Golfersland stood. A Fudge Factory and Old White Horse Close. Canongate North Edinburgh Attractions Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh is named after the canons of Holyrood Abbey and the Scots word gait meaning “road”. The Canongate was a small district outside the Edinburgh City Walls. The lands and village of Herbegare, where the Abbey of Holyrood was built was given to the monks by King David I in 1128 and a road that extended from Herbegare, to the St John's Cross, this was known as Canon gait. Houses soon were built on both sides of the road and in time the name of Herbegare was lost and the name Canongate was taken in its place. The Canongate had walls around the town which was to define the town with gates that were closed at night (Watergate). This however was no protection against invaders and the Canongate area was burnt to the ground on several occasions first by Richard II circa 1380 then 1544, 1642, 1649, and finally by Cromwell and his army in 1651. Leith (Leytht) Wynd Cranston Street Edinburgh Leith Wynd or Leytht Wynd (1514) was a road that started on the North Side of the Nether Bow Gate at Cranston Street and continued to the back of the Canongate (Calton Road) near to the entrance of Waverley Station on Calton Road and was used by the coaches to London. I have included Leith Wynd in the Close’s of the Royal Mile as I felt that it gives an idea of how difficult it was to get into Edinburgh prior to the New Town and the draining of the Nor’ Loch. From the Head of the Canongate Leith Wynd traveled down to the foot of Caton Hll then west around the calton Hill to joint leith street. The Canongate Christian Institute The Canongate Christian Institute at 2 Cranston Street, Edinburgh, was a Christian mission opening circa 1878. This was a place of worship for the old town. It held gospel meetings and services until its closure in 1930. Mid Common Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Mid Common Close is one of three closes at the head of the Canongate. The other two were west common close and east common close neither survive. This was previously named Vietch’s Close. West Common Close was High School Close and East Common Close was Logan’s Close each of the close’s gave common access to the High School. These closes were like small communities in very narrow streets with up to 100+ family homes each of the closes were previously known by other names as the owners would dictate the close name. Morocco Land Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The sculpture of a Moor faces forward with arms down at his sides supporting a blank shield. The sculpture was moved from its original position on an adjoining building when the present building was being redeveloped. The story of how the land (building) was named is that a young man Andrew Grey, an Edinburgh resident, was sentenced to death for rioting. He fled to Morocco and after a number of years made his fortune and returned home and was involved in saving the life of the daughter of the Provost who was perilously ill with the plague (presumably for this his sentence was commuted). He ended up marrying her and they made their home in the building where the little statue was erected. This came to be known to the locals as “Morocco Land”. New Street Royal Mile Edinburgh New Street or Young Street as it was first named after Dr Thomas Young who owned the Land. The access at the Canongate was private with chains and locks to prevent unwanted visitors to the street. In 1786 it was deemed a public street but was still chained until 1819 when the chains were taken away and access was available to all from the Canongate to Back of the Canongate North or now Calton Road. At the foot of New Street is a Doorway (Jacob’s ladder) to steps that will take you to Regent Road close to the Burns Memorial and the Calton Hill. The east side of New Street was the New Street Gasworks which was established in 1818. One of the first Gas Works in Britain. New Street was previously called Young Street (circa 1760) after Dr Thomas Young Professor of Midwifery at University of Edinburgh who lived on the east side at the Canongate junction. New Street was where the wealthy lived in detached houses with gardens. Names such as Dr Young, Lord Kames, Sir David Dalrymple, Lord Hailes, Lady Betty Anstruther, Miss Ramsay, daughter of the poet Allan Ramsay. This was a private street which had security chains attached to post to stop traffic. It became a public right of way in 1819 giving access from Canongate back of Canongate (Calton Road). Sibbald Walk Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Sibbald Walk was completed in 2017 with renovation to the housing and land which is now a Square with a Marketplace. Keeping with the tradition of the area. Named after Robert Sibbald who was the inspiration behind the Physic Garden (Royal Botanic Gardens) which lay at the foot of Leith Wynd and Calton Road not far from the foot of New Street Shoemakers’ Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Shoemakers’ Close is an old house built in 1725, four stories high in which the shoemakers used to hold their meetings. Over the entrance door is the shoemakers’ coat of arms cut in stone, a crown and rounding knife. Inscribed on the tablet is; 1725 blessed is he | that wisely do | TH the poor man’s | case consider Bible Land (1677) Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Bible Land is the name given to the land (building) on the Canongate which has the sculpture of an open book above the front door which contains part of Psalm 133 “Behold how good a thing it is and how becoming well together such as brethren are in unity to dwell”. There is also the following text “It is an honour for men to cease from strife. Bible Land was built for the Incorporation of Cordiner’s in 1677. The Cordiner’s were leather craftsman who were incorporated in 1544. Gladstone’s Court Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Gladstone Court was previously Bowling Green Close as a Bowling Green was through the archway. Later Magdalene Asylum was built where the Bowling Green was. Magdalene Asylum was for fallen women of Edinburgh. Edinburgh Royal Magdalene Asylum was founded in the Canongate in 1797. This was in Magdalene’s Entry. Magdalene Asylum then moved to the west of Edinburgh in 1842. (Springwell House). Magdalene’s Entry was renamed in honour of the Prime Minister William E Gladstone who was the Prime Minister of Britain on four occasions. There is also a memorial statue in Coates Crescent Garden and a street on the south side near The Meadows (Gladstone Terrace). Look for the concrete stone with Old Well inscribed on it. This is where the people of the Court would get there water for drinking and washing. More on Gladstone Memorial Old Tolbooth Wynd Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Old Tolbooth Wynd was named after the Tolbooth where tolls were paid for road use and other charges. First mention of the Tolbooth of the Canongate was in 1477. It was later extended in 1591 and was the municipal centre and Jail for the residents of the Canongate. The People’s Story museum opened in 1989 telling the history of the people and area. The inscription on the wall reads; S.L.B (Sir Lewis Bellenden) PATRIAE ET POSTERIS (Country and Posterity). The triangle above the Canongate coat of arms shield with date 1128 inscription reads; James VI | IVSTICIA ET PIETAS VALIDE SVNT PRINCIPIS ARCES ( Justice and Compassion are the Fortification of King) Tolbooth Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Tolbooth is a late 15th century building. It served only the Burgh of Canongate. A bronze wall tablet can be seen with the Canongate coat-of-arms and date 1128. The Tolbooth was the town’s jail and administrative centre. The western part of the Royal Mile the High Street was in Edinburgh and had its own Tolbooth which is no longer there. Its place is marked by the Heart of Midlothian. You can find a Tolbooth in most towns to this day but none are used as jails. The large bronze plaque is a memorial who died in the world wars. The People’s Story Museum Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Canongate Tolbooth is home to The People’s Story Museum, telling the story all about the people who have lived in Edinburgh from its beginning. People's Story Canongate Kirk Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The present Canongate Kirk building opened in 1691. The first building now in ruins beside Holyrood House opened in 1128. This 17th century Canongate Kirk was designed by James Smith, The Canongate Kirk is unique among Scottish churches of this period. Buried in the churchyard are several famous Scots including the economist Adam Smith. The Queen, when in residence at the Palace of Holyrood House, will use this as her local place to worship. Princess Anne’s Daughter (Zara Philips) married England rugby union captain Mike Tindal here in June 2011. Canongate Kirk More About - Canongate Kirk Mercat Cross Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Mercat Cross originally stood in the middle of the road outside the Tolbooth and was moved next to the Tolbooth in the 1730s to make way for the increasing traffic. The Mercat Cross was moved to its present location in the early 1950s. Every town (Burgh) in Scotland had a Mercat cross, which would stand in the middle of a market square and on occasion be the place people would be chain for a crime and have rotten fruit and vegetables thrown at them by passers-by. The Cross was used as a pillory and had Jougs (neck and leg irons attached). Robert Fergusson Plaque inscription reads; Robert Fergusson was born just up the road in Cap & Feather Close (now demolished). He studied at the Royal High School, Dundee Grammar School and the University of St. Andrews. The death of his father cut short his life as a student. To support his widowed mother and family he returned home to Edinburgh in 1772 and took an ill-paid job as a copyist clerk in the Commissary Office. His poetic career lasted just three years. In 1774 he injured himself falling down a flight of steps and was incarcerated in the Edinburgh Bedlam as a madman. Despite his early death, he died at the tender age of 24, he packed an intense outburst of creative energy into the last years of his life. His poetry in Scots expresses the character spirit and very taste and smell of the Edinburgh of his day. Fergusson is so much the poet of Edinburgh that later figures including Robert Burns, R.L.Stevenson and Robert Garioch all acknowledged him as one of the sources of their inspiration. He is buried in this graveyard. He was nine years older than Robert Burns but they never met. Robert Burns on arriving in Edinburgh found Robert Fergusson had been buried here in a pauper's grave. He paid for the gravestone which you can see if you walk round the left-hand side of the church. Read on... "The Dark Days", "Caller Oysters", "To The Tron Kirk Bell" and "Auld Reikie Will Tak Yer Mind Into the Mirk O' Lang Syne" Plaque presented to our friends the people of Scotland, by the Burns Society of the City of New York and St. Andrew's Society of the State of New York. Canongate Kirk Burial Ground Royal Mile Edinburgh Among the people who are interred. in the Canongate graveyard are Adam Smith Economist and author of The Wealth of Nations, Sir William Fettes Lord Provost of Edinburgh, Tea and Wine Merchant and founder of Fettes College, Agnes MacAlees (CLARINDA) Robert Burns one true love – the love affair was to last until their death, David Rizzio Mary Queen of Scots private secretary, Robert Fergusson Royal Poet and inspiration to Robert Burns. David Riccio (Rizzio) Grave David Rizzio (Riccio) born 1533 – died 1566. Mary Queen of Scots’ private secretary and confidante, David Rizzio, was assassinated in the Palace of Holyrood House by Mary’s husband, Lord Darnley and a group of his allies on the 9th March 1566. This was his first steps to take over and rule as King. It was a short power struggle as Lord Darnley was murdered on the 10th February 1567, less than one year later. David Rizzio was of Italian descent from near Turin and was known as David Rizzio, David Riccio or David Rizzo. Adam Smith 1723 – 1790 Grave Adam Smith lived in Panmure House in Lochend Close in the Canongate and is buried in the Canongate Kirk Graveyard, behind the Canongate Kirk. Adam Smith was a Scottish moral philosopher and a pioneer of political economy. He was one of the key figures of the Scottish Enlightenment. In 1776 The Wealth of Nations, is considered his magnum opus and the first modern work of economics. Smith is cited as the father of modern economics. In 2009 Adam Smith was named among the “Greatest Scots” of all time, in a vote run by Scottish television. The inscription on the paving stone outside Canongate Kirk reads: HERE WITHIN THE CHURCHYARD | OF | CANONGATE KIRK | IS THE GRAVE | OF | ADAM SMITH | 1723 – 1790 | BORN IN KIRKCALDY FIFE | INTERNATIONALLY RENOWNED | ECONOMIST | AUTHOR OF | “THE WEALTH OF NATIONS” Robert Fergusson (Poet) Grave Robert Fergusson was the inspiration to Robert Burns to make him the poet he turned out to be. Robert Fergusson died at the age of 24 in 1774. Robert Burns, to show how much respect he had for his fellow artist, paid for his headstone and wrote his inscription. No sculptur’d marble here, nor pompus lie, No story’d urn nor animated bust; This simple stone directs pale Scotia’s way To pour her sorrows o’er her poet’s dust. Agnes Maclehose (Clarinda) Grave Agnes Maclehose (CRAIG) Agnes Maclehose (1759-1841) was known as Nancy. Nancy first came to Edinburgh to live in Potterrow near the corner with Marshall Street after her husband left her to make his fortune in Jamaica. Robert Burns first meet with Nancy on the 4th December 1787 at afternoon tea and the assignation started. Mishap and misfortune stopped them from meeting for some time but they wrote to each other regularly. The love affair was to last until their death but their last meeting was in December of 1791 when Nancy left for Jamaica to be with her now wealthy husband. Read the famous letters written with code names Nancy being (Clarinda), Rabbie being (Sylvander) and not to forget the love song to Nancy `Ae Fond Kiss’. Sir William Fettes Grave Tomb Sir William Fettes was born in 1750 and died in his home in Charlotte Square Edinburgh. A wealthy land owner with several estates, his main estate at Comleybank where Fettes School was built with money left in his estate to give free education to the poor fatherless children of Edinburgh. It was a boy’s only school until it went fully co-educational in 1981. William Fettes was knighted in 1804 and was Lord Provost of Edinburgh on 2 occasions. Dunbar’s Close and Gardens Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Dunbar’s Close was named after the owner of the tenement at that time, an Edinburgh lawyer David Dunbar. Take a walk through Dunbar’s Close for a look at a 17th century style garden with views of Calton hill, the Nelson Monument and Burns memorial in the background. On your right of the gates as you enter are Cadell House and Panmure House, the latter is where Adam Smith lived and died (1772-1790). Dunbar’s Close and Gardens Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Mushroom Trust Plaque reads; Dunbar Close Garden was laid out in the character of an Edinburgh 17th century garden in 1977 when it was donated by The Mushroom Trust of the City of old Edinburgh. Panmure Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Panmure House, is where the Jacobite Earl of Panmure had his town house and later the Countess of Aberdeen occupied the house before Adam Smith lived and died here from 1772 till 1790. Adam Smith is buried in the Canongate Kirk Graveyard and his statue is in the High Street near to St Giles Cathedral. The poppies on the gates were to show that this was the access to the Lady Haig Poppy factory between 1931– 1965. Access to Panmure house is at 115 Canongate Little Lochend Close. Cadell House Panmure Close CanongateEdinburgh William Cadell was born in 1668 and died in 1728. He was an Edinburgh merchant and freeman of Edinburgh. William Cadell’s grandson was a founder of the Carron Company Iron Works of Falkirk. The largest iron works of its type in Europe for circa 100 years. Cadell house was restored and converted to apartments in 1954. Panmure House Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Panmure House is now a museum, visitor attraction. The house was built circa 1685 for the Earls of Panmure as a town house with their main residence in Panbride Angus. Adam Smith purchased the property in 1776 after the death of his mother who he lived with in Kirkcaldy (this is where he wrote "The Wealth of Nation") from 1767. He lived in Panmure House till his death in 1790. Panmure House Lochend Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Lochend Close has two entrances and at one time there was Little Lochend Close and Lochend Close Lochend comes from being at the end of Calton Crags and the Nor Loch which was at that time in the parish of Restalrig. This name was given by the owner of the house at the end of the close William Ferguson of Loch end Restalrig. Also entrance to Panmure House. Reid’s Court Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Reid’s Court takes its name from Edinburgh brewer and magistrate Andrew Reid who lived here in the 1770s. The house was first the home to Lord Advocate Sir John Nisbet and was built in 1624. It is now the Manse where the minister of the Canongate Kirk lives. Campbell’s Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Campbell’s Close previously Rae’s Close. Campbell’s Close was named after George Campbell Bailie of the Canongate. Known as Campbell’s Land there were many famous lived here Archbishop of St Andrews Arthur Ross and the 13th and 14th Earl of Morton. Brown’s Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The name of the Close comes from a Joseph Brown who was a baker and had premises further up the Canongate. He purchase Paterson’s Land (Golfer’s Land) which was a tenement and land from John Paterson who built the tenement with proceeds from a Golf match. Golfer's Land (Brown's Close) Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Brown’s Close or Golfer’s Land is a tenement building purchased with winnings from a 4 ball golf match between Baillie John Paterson and The Duke of York (King James VII) and two English noblemen. During the 1600s two English noblemen attached to the court of the Duke of York (to be King James VII) were challenged by the Duke to a golf match on Leith Links. The Duke’s partner was shoemaker John Paterson a descendent from a long line of golfers. The English noblemen were beaten and the Duke rewarded Paterson with the stakes that had been played for, which enabled Paterson to build a tenement building which he called Golfer’s Land. The building is no longer on the site as it was demolished in 1960. In 1664 Charles I (The Duke’s father) bestowed on the Duke of York the American provinces previously controlled by the Dutch now renamed in his honour, New York. The Duke succeeded to the crown in 1685, and died in 1701. In 1688, his wife Queen Mary gave birth to a son who was later to be father to Bonnie Prince Charlie. Golfer's Land Plaque On this site stood the tenement known as Golfer’s | Land. It was built in the 17th Century by the bailie John | Paterson. The golfer with, it is said, his share of | the stake from a Golf match when he partnered | The Duke of York (afterwards James VII) against two | English noblemen. The bronze coat of arms is a | copy of a stone carving which was built into | Golfers Land. Another panel with Latin inscription | by Dr Pitcairne, which may be seen in the courtyard | to the rear. Links the Paterson family with the | building and the name of golf. The Plaque with the coat of arms that shows a hand holding a golf club above a helmet and shield with three stars and three Swans the Paterson Coat of arms and an inscription that reads: (Top) Far and Sure (Foot) I HATE NO PERSON, an anagram of "John Patersone." Whitefoord House Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Whitefoord House ids part of Galloway's Entry where the Earl of Winton’s’ town mansion, better known as Lord Seytoun’s lodging in the Canongate. In front of the mansion, in which Sir Walter Scott lays some of the scenes of the “Abbot”. There was a tavern built chiefly of lath and plaster, known as “Jenny Ha’s”. The landlady was famous for her claret. Gay, the poet, is said to have frequented the tavern during his short stay in Edinburgh. It was a custom for the merchants and distinguished gentlemen of Edinburgh to adjourn after dinner parties, to enjoy claret and merrymaking at Jenny Ha’s. Forsyth’s Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Forsyth’s Close was a Coach Maker’s Yard owned by Alexander Forsyth who purchased the land in 1719 and passed on to his son also Alexander who was a coach maker in London. Forsyth’s Close now gives entry to Whitefoord House. Galloway’s Entry Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh John Galloway owned land and had a stable, Alexander Galloway also had Stables. The land of Forsyth’s Close and Galloway’s Entry with a now missing Ramsay’s Close all seem to have had stables on the land with two main Houses Callendar House to the west and Whitefoord House on the east both now veterans residence Whitefoord House being the site where the Earl of Winton had a mansion house which became known as Lord Seytoun’s Lodgings. The Plaque at the main entrance to the building reads; In memory of Charles M Pelham Burn First Chairman of this institution to whose personal influence and exertions is mainly due to the successful establishment of this residence for Veterans of the Navy and Army to whom its hospitality might be acceptable in the days of their old age and necessity. White Horse Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The original owner of the land where White Horse Close stands was a Laurence Ord who built houses stables and a tavern (Ord’s Tavern) in a courtyard that was gated to the south and was named Laurence Ord’s Close. This was once where the Royal Mews was situated and Queen Mary kept her Horse which was a palomino (White Horse). The origin of the close being called White Horse Close. Laurence Ord sold the land and buildings to a John Mitchell in 1695 and he then sold it on to Nicol Graham in 1745 who in turn sold it on to John Davidson in 1752. On the walls in White Horse Close look for the plaques of William Dick founder of the Edinburgh veterinary college (The Royal Dick Vet) and Ord’s Tavern. The plaque can be found on the wall of the house at the back of the courtyard where the Inn was. This area was also said to have been used in 1745 by the officers of the Jacobite army prior to the battle of Prestonpans lead by Bonnie Prince Charlie. White Horse Close Ord's Inn (Tavern) The White Horse Inn at the back of White Horse Close (Ord’s Tavern) in the Canongate is where a plaque denotes that this was the first point when leaving by coach to London. This is not correct as records show that the coaches left from the Head of the Canongate, there is a White Horse Inn at the top of the Canongate which is connected to Boyd’s Entry and Boyd’s Close in St Mary Street or White Horse Close as it was often Called. There once was an entrance in the Canongate Boyd’s Close now Gullan’s Close and an entrance from Boyd’s Entry as there had to be stables for the horses and a place for the coaches. Boyd’s Entry is the original starting point for the coach and horses. There are a number of plaques that have been put up stating this, also when Boyd advertised the Inn for sale, it was advertised with stables for 100 horses and 20 coaches. The first coaches set of for London in 1712. William Dick (Plaque) White Horse Close Canongate Edinburgh The founder of the Edinburgh Veterinary College William Dick was born in 1793 in White Horse Close in the Canongate. William Dick was educated at Mr Kesson’s school in Shakespeare Square which was located at the east end of Edinburgh at the foot of the North Bridge. The square was demolished in 1860. The first veterinary College was in Clyde Street on the site of where the present bus station is now. The College moved to the site of Summerhall, William Dick the Veterinary Science department is now at the Bush Estate. In 1906, the College was named the Royal (Dick) Veterinary College and became part of the University of Edinburgh in 1951. The Girth Cross Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Girth Cross just like the Mercat Cross in the High Street, was a place for public proclamations, and executions. One of the most famous to take place here was that of the beautiful Jean Livingston (Lady Warriston), daughter to the Laird of Dunipace and wife of John Kincaid of Warriston. On the 2nd July 1600 she had Robert Weir, a servant of her father, batter her husband to death, an idea given to her by her nurse. Both the nurse and Lady Warriston were arrested and convicted of the murder of her husband, John Kincaid of Warriston. The nurse was burned on the Castlehill at 4 o’clock in the morning and at the same time Lady Warriston was beheaded by the “Maiden” (early type of guillotine) at the Girth Cross at the foot of the Canongate. This device, which can still be seen at the National Museum of Scotland in Chambers Street, Edinburgh, claimed over 150 victims during its period of use, including, Regent James Douglas 4th Earl of Morton, who originally introduced the “Maiden” from France. The servant Robert Weir was broken on the Breaking Wheel in 1603 for his crime (a brutal and agonising death). Russell House Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Russell House was named after Sir Robert Russell for all the effort he took to have the building saved for posterity. This is an example of a 17th Century tenement that the local Edinburgh people of the time would have live in. The Canongate was founded in 1140. King David I gave permission to the Canons of Holyrood Abbey to create the Burgh and it became part of Edinburgh in 1856. Above the doorway on the lintel is inscribed WL MA 1697 this could be from another building as it was common for reuse of stone work. The initials would represent the name of the owner of the property and his intended wife and the date of their marriage). Russell House was built on what was the site of St Thomas’s Hospital built in 1541 by George Crichton. Watergate Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Water Gate (Water Yett) was found at the foot of the Canongate on the north side near to White Horse Close. It was named the Watergate as a pond for watering horse dominated the area. There was a gated archway that stood across the road adjoining the buildings on the Canongate to the ones at the Abbey, some called Abbey Gate. The gate was locked at night for security. Next - Canongate Southside This is a list of the closes, entry's and courts that were in the Canongate prior to 1600. Some of the closes could have up to 250 people living in them. There are many different name signs in the Royal Mile each with a specific meaning. Wynd A narrow roadway open at both ends with housing on each side Street A Wynd that has been widened. Close A passageway to a courtyard or to another street which had housing of both sides Entry A way into a closed courtyard which had housing around the open courtyard Court A closed area with housing around the open courtyard Port A Gateway Canongate Northside Close's of the past and the ones that still remain Flesh Market Close Couls Close West Common Close Mid Common Close East Common Close Rae’s Close Morrocco’s Close Seton’s Close Kinloch’s Close Ayr Bank Close Jack’s Close Jack’s Court Shoemaker’s Close Bowling Green Close Aitken’s Close Tolbooth Wynd Bakehouse Close Dunbar’s Close Panmuir Close Brown’s Close Monro’s Close Lochend’s Close Reid’s Yard Campbell’s Close Sommervile’s Close, Malloch’s Close Forsyth’s Close Galloway’s Close Ramsay’s Close Duncan’s Close White Horse Close Next - Canongate South
- Musselburgh | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Musselburgh is famous for Golf Fishing and Horse Racing. Musselburgh is home to Open champions and golf history. Walter Scott and the first fishing net makers. Also the estuary of the river Esk. Musselburgh East Lothian Coast The Honest Toun In 1201 the nation’s nobility gathered there to pledge allegiance to the future Alexander II, aged just 4, in the presence of his father William the Lion. In the fourteenth century, the Regent of Scotland died in Musselburgh after a long illness during which he was cared for by the local people. When his successor offered to reward the people, they refused saying that they were only doing their duty. Thus, the townspeople became famed for their honesty: since then Musselburgh has been known as the ‘Honest Toun. The New Bridge seen below was built in 1806 and designed by John Rennie the Elder a Scottish civil engineer born in 1761 in Phantassie, near East Linton Musselburgh Mile Stone Musselburgh known as ‘The Honest Toun.’ is the first town of East Lothian to the south east of the City of Edinburgh approximately 5 miles (9 Klm). Carved on the Stone below: 5 Miles from the General Post Office Edinburgh | erected to regulate the post horse duties |payable | by hackney coaches |1821 |first restored in 1933 | restored by |Musselburgh and Fisherrow |CO-OP 1998. The Mussel in Musselburgh The Mussel in Musselburgh is a 12 feet high mussel shell sculpted from stainless Steel which can be seen on the Edinburgh Road on the main road into Musselburgh. Musselburgh was associated with mussels and oysters along with sea fishing from its beginnings. The River Forth was at one time, one of the riches Oyster beds sin the UK. The name Musselburgh deriving from the place for mussel’s referring to the shellfish, and burgh derived from Place. The original settlement and harbour in the present Burgh was between the high ground of Inveresk and the River Esk up the river at the old bridge. When the roman army occupied Inveresk from 142 A.D. – 163 A.D. the shore line of the Firth of Forth was 500 metres inland from its present position. Boats could navigate up the Esk River as far as the Roman Bridge. In the 13th century the town centre had shifted to the lands of Pinkie the jurisdiction of the Abbots of Dunfermline who were granted a charter in 1070 by King Malcolm III. The town centre has been here for 700 years. River Esk Estuary Musselburgh East Lothian The River Esk estuary is in Musselburgh East Lothian and flows from two separate sources. The first (the north Esk) is from the Pentland Hills near Carlops, West Lothian and the second (the south Esk) from the west slopes of Blackhope Scar in the Moorfoot Hills in the Scottish Borders. They join together just outside Dalkeith in Midlothian and finish at the Firth of Forth in Musselburgh. The River Esk at one time was the border between Scotland and England. The images below show, looking down the Esk from Musselburgh and The Esk estuary with Arthur Seat in the distance. Roman Bridge Musselburgh East Lothian The original Roman Bridge over the river Esk is said to have been built by the Romans in the 6th century and a bridge has been in the same position since that time, all be it the bridge has been rebuilt in part and a third arch has been added. The bridge is still in use as it originally was, a foot bridge that the Romans used the Jacobite’s, Bonnie Prince Charlie in 1745 and also the English during the reformation and Cromwell. Musselburgh is believed to be one of the oldest towns in Scotland becoming a Burgh in 1354 and became a Royal Burgh in 1632 and was first quoted as The Honest Toun” in 1332 after attending to the Regent at no cost. (see plaque on Musselburgh Mercat Cross. Roman Archer Statue “Musselburgh Silver Arrow” On the west bank of the River Esk near to the Roman Bridge a sculpture of a bronze Archer can be seen. The Musselburgh Archer is a life size figure of a roman warrior from the invasion of Scotland in 80 AD. The sculpture also depicts the historic archery competition “The Musselburgh Silver Arrow” circa 1600. The Silver arrow was competed for on Musselburgh links annually by the members of the Royal Company of Archers. The winner receiving a sliver arrow which he would keep for one year and attach a medal of gold or silver with his name and date before returning the arrow. The actual date the competition started is vague with minutes of meetings stating 1603, but prior to that date winners of one dated 101 with two prior to that. Brunton Theatre Musselburgh East Lothian Musselburgh was bequeathed more than ½ million pounds in 1951 from the estate of John D Brunton, the son of the founder of Brunton Wire Works to provide halls and other municipal buildings’ which was constructed between 1964 and 1970 known as The Brunton Halls. The Brunton Theatre and Halls in Musselburgh, is the community hub of Musselburgh where many activities take place. It is also available to hire for private and corporate functions weddings and conferences. Within 20 minutes of Edinburgh by taxi and 10 minutes by train it is perfectly positioned. The Queen Mother opened the building 1971. Musselburgh Tolbooth and Tower Musselburgh East Lothian Musselburgh Tolbooth was built in 1496 and the tower is the only original part that still survives. The original clock was gift by the Dutch. In 1544 the Earl of Hertford Edward Seymour 1st Duke of Somerset on Henry VIII orders was sent to Burn Edinburgh and whatever on the way. This was an attack by the English sea-borne army and the first major action of the war of the Rough Wooing. Musselburgh was burnt but the tower of the Tolbooth survived. The Tolbooth was built adjoining the tower in 1590. The Building was built from the remnants of the chapel and hermitage of Our Lady of Leureit, which was used as a hospital for the dead and wounded at the Battle of Pinkie in 1547. The Chapel and Hermitage was destroyed as many other places of worship were destroyed during the Reformation in 1544. Open Champions Plaque Tolbooth Musselburgh At the top of the steps of the Tolbooth in Musselburgh is a Bronze plaque which reads; ROLL OF HONOUR | OPEN GOLF CHAMPIONS | WILLIE PARK Senior 1860, 1863 1866 1875 | all at Prestwick | MUNGO PARK 1874 | at Musselburgh | BOB FERGUSON 1880, 1881, 1882 | Musselburgh, Prestwick, St Andrews | DAVID (DEACON) BROWN 1885 | Musselburgh | WILLIE PARK Junior 1887, 1889 | Prestwick and Musselburgh Sir Walter Scott Musselburgh East Lothian Sir Walter Scott lived in Musselburgh and at 57 High Street Prestonpans circa 1800 while on duty as the Quarter Master of the Edinburgh Light Horse. He was injured why on Portobello Beach where the Edinburgh Light Horse drilled. While recovering he completed “The Lay of the last Minstrel”. The plaque above reads; SIR WALTER SCOTT CREATED HONORARY BURGESS | OF MUSSELBURGH 25th MARCH 1799 RESIDED IN | THE HONEST TOUN PERIODICALLY FROM 1797 – 1808 | WHILE ON DUTY AS QUARTERMASTER OF THE EDINBURGH | LIGHT HORSE AND THERE WROTE MANY STANZAS OF THE LAY OF | THE LAST MINSTREL AND OF MARMION | SCOTT CENTENARY 1932 Musselburgh Mercat Cross Musselburgh East Lothian The Musselburgh Mercat Cross dates from circa 1740 and stands on the site of the original medieval cross. At the top of the pillar stands a lion holding a shield with the Musselburgh Coat of Arms inscribed on it. The mercat cross was where public proclamations would be announced to the residents of the towns. There were a row of houses that stood facing the present west side of the High Street from the Tolbooth to the east gate pillars. This is where amongst others, The Regent had a house and Sir Walter Scott also lived here in Musselburgh when he was Quarter Master of the Edinburgh Light Horse. The Plaque reads; NEAR THIS SPOT STOOD TILL THE EARLY | PART OF THE NINETEENTH CENTURY THE | HOUSE IN WHICH THERE DIED ON 20th JULY | 1332 THOMAS RANDOLPH, EARL OF MORAY | REGENT OF SCOTLAND | ACCORDING TO TRADITION THE MOTTO | “HONESTATS” ADOPTED BY THE BURGH | IS DERIVED FROM THE TRIBUTE PAID TO THE | CITIZENS FOR THEIR CARE OF THE DYING | REGENT BY DONALD, EARL OF MAR | HIS SUCCESSOR IN THE REGENCY | REVEILED 20th JULY 1932 | DAVID LOWE, PROVOST Fisherrow Harbour Musselburgh East Lothian Evidence of the existence of a harbour here circa 1600 with many boats listed in the 1620s working from here. However it is said the first harbour was positioned at the mouth of the River Esk remembering the shore line circa 1500 was 500 yards inland from its present position. Rebuilding took place in 1806 and 1850. St Peter’s at the Gate Musselburgh East Lothian St Peter’s Church in Musselburgh stand at the old East Gates to Musselburgh. St Peter’s Church was built circa 1862. The pillars that stand at both sides of the road once held the east gates to Musselburgh. The Pillars were moved further apart to make way for the present road. Hay-Weights Clock Musselburgh East Lothian The Hay-weights clock stood on top of a kiosk on the corner of the road where the Brunton Halls now stands, a landmark known by all which marked the site of the municipal weighbridge. The clock faces are now at the gazebo on Mall Avenue and the original clock workings are in the clock at Eskmills. Musselburgh Museum East Lothian The Musselburgh Museum tells the story of the area since it was formed as a settlement over 1000 years ago based tt the estuary of the River esk and Firth of Forth. Electric Bridge Musselburgh East Lothian The Electric Bridge was built by the Cockenzie power Station to enable the turbines to be transported without using the high street and crossing the bridge which would not hold their weight The electric bridge only opens on Musselburgh race-days as the town council refused to buy the bridge from Cockenzie power station. The power station previously an icon on the River Forth due to twin its chimneys, was demolished in 2015. David MacBeth Moir Monument Musselburgh East Lothian David Macbeth Moir was born in Musselburgh in 1798 and became a medical doctor gaining a degree from the Edinburgh medical School of Edinburgh University in 1816. He was also an accomplished poet. There is a memorial statue that stands at the side of the River Esk near Musselburgh High Street which was erected in 1853. David Macbeth Moir worked in his medical practice in Musselburgh for 35 years till his death in 1851. David Wright Drinking Fountain Musselburgh East Lothian The War Memorial fountain was unveiled on Remembrance Sunday 2000. This commemoration is to the residents of Musselburgh who did not return from World War II over 200 residents. Musselburgh Beaches East Lothian Musselburgh has two beaches one is at the westside of the harbour and the other at the east side. Musselburgh BMX Track East Lothian BMX track can be found at the end of Balcarres Road at the side of the racecourse in Musselburgh. 17th Century Coaching Inn Musselburgh East Lothian No.7 High Street Musselburgh was built as Carriage Inn in circa 1650 and later became the French Ambassador's House Through the gated arch are a row of Stables, which originally would have been used to change the horses on the coaches. On the front elevation can be seen stone carvings of a Thistle, Rose, Fleur-de-lis and one other representing Scotland, England, France and other The Seton Crest was a crescent shape as seen on the Pinkie Do'cot . Musselburgh Racecourse Musselburgh Golf Links Musselburgh Links is situated in the middle of the Musselburgh Racecourse. There is written evidence of golf being played on Musselburgh Links on 2 March 1672 but in other books of history it is said that Mary Queen of Scots played at the links circa 1560. The Musselburgh Links held the Open Golf Championships in 1874, 1877, 1880, 1883, 1886, 1889. The Claret Jug was first played for at St Andrews in 1873. Golf is also mentioned in Parliament in 1457. With golf being played on Bruntsfield Links Edinburgh prior to that date. Golf History Musselburgh East Lothian Golf has been played on Musselburgh Links from 1672. Due to over crowding of courses in Edinburgh The Royal Burgess Golfing Society (Old Golf Club in World) of Edinburgh moved to 10 Links Place now Balcarres Road Musselburgh in 1875. Now used by Musselburgh Links “Old Course Golf Club” founded 1982. Musselburgh Links is where the Open Golf Championship was played in 1874 and on 5 further occasions. The Open was held from 1860-72 at Prestwick Golf Club. Musselburgh Golf Club 9 Links Place now Balcarres Road Musselburgh golf course was the first club house at Musselburgh Links 1872. Became Royal Musselburgh Golf Club (6h Oldest in world) in 1876. The world's first golfing competition for women took place in Musselburgh in 1811. The Golf hole was first cut to the present diameter by Blacksmith Robert Gay from Musselburgh in 1829 and became the official size in 1893. British Open Golf Champions Musselburgh East Lothian The first open golf Championship was held in 1860, was played over 3 rounds of golf consisting of 12 holes per round. Willie Park beat Tom Morris to become champion. All the named winners on the plaque were local Musselburgh born. Bob Ferguson had a shot named the “Musselburgh Iron” using his putter from of the green. Old Musselburgh Course in the middle of the Race Course was the venue for the Open Championship on six occasions. Willie Park Snr. First Open Golf Champion Willie Park Snr, 1833-1903 was the winner of the first Open Golf Championship and a further three Open Golf Championships lived and died in Musselburgh at No 23 Ravensheugh where the plaque has been erected in his honour. First US Open Golf Champion This plaque also honours two further great Musselburgh golfers. Willie Dunn Jnr First unofficial U.S Open Champion and Willie Campbell was runner-up He became the first Golf professional at Brookline County Club in Massachusetts USA. Willie Campbell Professional Golfer Willie Campbell was a Scottish professional golfer. He emigrated to America in 1894. He finished in sixth place in the first US Open Championship held on Friday, 4 October 1895 at Newport Golf Club in Newport, Rhode Island, America. Willie Dunn Jnr Willie Dunn Jnr son of a club and ball maker, started work at 13 as an apprentice club maker to his brother Tom. Willie Dunn first match was against Ben Sayers at age 15, also his first success. After taking part in the Open championship in 1883-84 and 86 he joined his brother in France at the Biarritz golf club which his brother designed and worked at. Willie Dunn Jnr. remained at Biarritz for around six years. He later moved to the US where he designed golf courses and took park in the first unofficial US Open played at Southampton Long Island New York which he won. The first official US Open was played the next year 1895 in Newport, Rhode Island, where Willie Dunn was second to Horace Rawlins. Musselburgh Lagoons East Lothian In 1964 the electricity board built a sea wall on the east side at the mouth of the Esk River which formed four lagoons. The area was used by Cockenzie Power Station to dump fly-ash. The area soon became a habitat for many birds and wildlife. You will find many species of sea birds who have adopted the area for nesting. Two of the four lagoons have been filled and one has been formed into a series of scrapes and high tide roost that are part of a nature reserve. They give great views for ornithologists throughout the year. The uniqueness of the area attracts many species of bird with a list at over 220 difference species. Musselburgh Lagoons is now rated as one of the top site in Britain. The final lagoon attracts fewer birds and the freshwater pond also attracts ducks and other species that are attracted to freshwater. This is most definitely a site that all true birders should visit both in summer and winter. Eskmills Musselburgh Colonel James Paterson Inventor 1821 The original mills were where fishing nets were made by the inventor of a machine for tying knots for the manufacture of fishing nets. This mill became the number one net producer in the world. Stuart House Stuart House is the man building in Eskmills built in 1867 which was where the spinning and weaving was carried out. Archibald Hope was one of two brothers who owned Eskmills. Stuart House is named after the land owner Sir Archibald Hope a wealthy merchant and coal colliery owner. The Clock is powered by the mechanism previously from the Hay-weights Clock a previous Musselburgh icon. The weighbridge is in courtyard outside the dispatch warehouse. The restaurant that is in the Eskmills courtyard was originally built as offices for the Stuart brothers the original building was renovated into the present building with a new dome. Old Engine house built 1857 Archibald Hope House Eskmills Stuart House Eskmills North House Eskmills Stuart Offices Eskmills Clock Tower Eskmills Adam Ferguson House Eskmills Fishing Net Machine Inventor Musselburgh East Lothian Col James Paterson a local man of Musselburgh returned home circa 1810 and invented a machine capable of tying knots in fishing nets in 1812. On James Paterson’s death his company and patent were bought by J.W. Stewart in 1849 who established a new factory at Esk net mill Musselburgh. The company became the number one manufacturer of nets in the world with over 800 workers and worldwide sales. With the introduction of man-made fibres and new technology the factory declined and closed in 1979 The company was purchased and is now situated in Eyemouth. Newhailes House Palladian Villa Musselburgh Sir Alexander Seton, Viscount Kingston, heirs sold the lands of Hailes which included the then ruined castle to David Dalrymple in 1700. David Dalrymple (Lord Hailes) purchased the Whitehill estate in 1709. The house was originally built by James Smith architect in 1686. The house was renamed New Hailes after Hailes Castle. David Dalrymple was the fifth and youngest son of James Dalrymple, 1st Viscount of Stair. New Hailes House was famous for its library quote by Dr Johnson “the most learned room in Europe.” The House remained in the Dalrymple family until Lady Antonia Dalrymple sold it to The National Trust in 1996. Newhailes Estate Nature Walk Newhailes House Musselburgh Newhailes house estate and woods has a nature trail with the Brunstane Burn and a number of attractions throughout the woodlands and grasslands. Earl of Stair's Obelisk Newhailes House Musselburgh On your walk through the estate nature trail lookout for the Earl of Stair's Obelisk a historic monument dates 1746. There are inscriptions on all four sides which read; Sir John Dalrymple Earl of Stair's Obelisk Newhailes House Musselburgh The Earl of Stair's Obelisk stands in Newhailes House Gardens. The Stair's Obelisk has inscriptions on all sides. The translations are bracketed. MDCCXLIII (1743) DE TINCEN (NO DIPPING) |HIS STONE WAS RENEWED FOR PRESERVATION BY THE RIGHT HON SIR CHARLES DALRYMPLE BART. AD 1907 | LICUISSET (ALLOWED). JOANNI (SIR JOHN) COMITI DE STAIR (EARL OF STAIR) DE PATRIA ET PRINCIPE (THE HOMELAND AND PRINCIPLE) OPTIME MERITO (SECOND MERIT) VIVENTI (LIVING) POSITUM (POST) MDCCXLVI 1746 MDCCXX (1720) PRUBA PERTINACIA (PRUBA DEFIANCE) CALPE (GIBRALTAR) SERVATA (OBSERVING) CUM (THE) PORTU MAGONIS (GRAND PORT) MDCCXV (1715) INSIGNI DILIGENTIA (REMARKABLE DILIGENCE) ET (AND) SUMMA APUD PRO REGEM (SUPREME AS KING) GALLIAE (IN FRANCE) CONCILIATA GRATIA (GRACE WON THE ENEMY) SPE ET CONSILIO FRUSTRAVIT (HOPE AND PLANNING POINTLESS) Newhailes Summerhouse Newhailes House Musselburgh The summerhouse was built circa 1750 Newhailes Curling Pond Newhailes House Musselburgh The Curling Pool is not visible but is a metre underground It was used by the Viscount and family in the winter. Picture from info board National Trust of Scotland Newhailes Shell Grotto Newhailes House Musselburgh Newhailes House Shell Grotto completed in 1774 Grottos were secluded places designed to evoke reflection on the cycle of life and death. The Grotto was covered in shells from as far as the East Indies. Newhailes Do’cot Newhailes House Musselburgh Newhailes House Do'cot was where the family would get fresh meat. This was a feature of all large wealthy households. Pigeons would nest inside upto 1000 and the gamekeeper would take the young birds for the kitchen of the main house. Newhailes House Children’s Activity Area Newhailes House Musselburgh Newhailes House Children's Play area swings, climbing, shutes, roundabout, zipwire, great for all ages. Pinkie House Musselburgh Sir Alexander Seton born in Seton 1555 son of 7th Lord Seton purchased Pinkie House in 1593 after becoming Lord President of the Court of Session. The house was a ruin after the battle of Pinkie Cleuch 1547. He rebuilt the former mansion which had also been a hospital into what can be seen today one of very few residences that have been unspoiled. Pinkie house was a place that the young prince Charles later to be Charles I spent much of his childhood. The House changed hands through the years until 1951 when it became the property of Loretto School. The fountain was built circa 1607 which stands outside the main door to Pinkie House, possibly to commemorate his marriage to Margaret Hay. The oldest part of Pinkie house that remained from before it part destruction in 1547 is the main tower circa 1130 built by the Abbots of Dunfermline. Pinkie House Doo’cot Musselburgh East Lothian The Pinkie Do’cot built by the Alexander Seton after his marriage to Margaret Hay with the initials on a stone tablet and date unreadable the letters AS MH intertwined. With a crown above. The other tablet has one of three crescents (the crest of the Seton family) topped by a crown. Next - Prestonpans






