All About Edinburgh
Search Results
Search this site
403 results found with an empty search
- Edinburgh Chocolate Making Activity
Edinburgh Chocolate Making Activities indulge making youn chocolate then it an activity to enjoy Chocolate Making Edinburgh Activity learn about how chocolate is made where it comes from. See From the bean to a bar Advertise your business here limited to one business Activities Chocolate Making The Chocolatarium 3-5 Cranston Street Edinburgh EH8 8BE +(44) 131 556 7005 Thinking Chocolate 0131 305 2690 COCO Chocolatier 24 West Telferton EH7 6UL 0131 228 4526
- Falkirk Atrtractions | Scotland | All About Edinburgh
Falkirk Attractions Scotland where you can see the Largest Horse Sculpture worldwide, Rosebank Distillery, The Kelpies and the Falkirk Wheel a barge lift. The Antonine Wall Roman Fort. Graves of Famous people, Battlesite Memorials, Callendar House and the Avon Viaduct (Larges in Scotland). Falkirk Attractions Scotland The Kelpies The Kelpies were officially opened by HRH Princess Anne on the 8th July 2015. A kelpie is a shape-shifting water spirit that take on the shape of a horse which resides in lakes and pools. The Kelpies are the largest pair of equine sculptures in the world and stand in the Helix Park, where the new extension to the Forth and Clyde Canal is located. At a height of 100 feet (30 mtrs) a memorial to the horses of Scotland that worked the land and pulled barges along the canals. The Kelpies & Helix Park The Graveyard at Falkirk Trinity Church Falkirk Trinity Church stands on the original site of the ‘Faw Kirk’, the first church erected in the town of Falkirk. This where the name of the town derives Falkirk. The graveyard of Falkirk Trinity Church has many memorials from the Battle of Falkirk 1298 (A defeat by the English in a battle of the First War of Scottish Independence). Led by King Edward I of England, the English army defeated by the Scots lead by Bonnie Prince Charlie at the Battle of Falkirk on 17 January 1746 which was prior to the massacre at Culloden in 16th April of the same year. Sir John De Graeme Grave The Trinity Graveyard is the resting place of Sir John De Graeme, William Wallace’s close friend, and right-hand man. Sir John De Graeme was killed in action during the Battle of Falkirk on 22 July 1298. William Wallace is said to have carried his body to its present resting place at the Faw Kirk Graveyard. A replica of the broadsword Sir John De Graeme carried into war has been attached to his tombs wrought-iron enclosure. Sir John De Graeme Trinity Church Falkirk Sir John De Graeme Memorial Fountain The Memorial Fountain was built in 1912 on the site where Sir John De Graeme, William Wallace's loyal knight and close friend died in the battle of Falkirk in 1298. Falkirk Steeple Heritage Centre The present Steeple is the third steeple the first was built circa 1590 a new Tolbooth and prison was built in 1663 and demolished in 1803 the present Steeple was completed in 1814 and is over 140 feet high (43 mtrs) High. The Heritage centre tells the story of the area circa last 400 years. Also in the heritage centre is the bell that was made in 1697. Take the guided tour of the centre Rosebank Distillery O n the opening of the Forth & Clyde canal in 1790, the connection between Edinburgh in the east and Glasgow in the west of Scotland gave a safe route for goods and people from coast to coast. Many Distilleries were built along the canal banks, Rosebank was one of them in the village of Camelon. Rosebank Distillery Rosebank Distillery, Camelon Rd, Falkirk FK1 5SQ The Rankine Family The Distillery was founded by James Rankine, a merchant of the town. The Rosebank distillery is the only surviving among all the distilleries opened along the canal. James Rankine purchased the maltings of the old Camelon distillery in 1840, his son then demolished the Camelon site and rebuilt it in 1868 as the now Rosebank Distillery. Rosebank was closed in 1993. It continued to produce whisky for the conglomerate owner and the quality was lost to blends now after many years it has been rescued by an independent Ian Macleod Distillers in 2017. The Rosebank Distillery is back distilling great whiskies. Take a Tour and buy the whisky with the money you would have spent on transport to the highland distilleries, you will not be disappointed. The Falkirk Wheel The Falkirk Wheel is the only fully rotating boat lift in the world and joins the Forth and Clyde Canal (Built 1790 is circa 35 miles (57km) long) and The Union Canal (built 1822 is circa 31 miles (51km) long), replacing the staircase of 11 locks which were dismantled in 1933. The Falkirk Wheel was opened in 2002 by Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II and at a height of 115 Feet (35 mtrs). The Basin of the Union Canal is at Fountain Quay in Edinburgh ends in Grangemouth where the Falkirk Wheel stands, and joins the Forth & Clyde Canal which ends at the River Clyde at Bowling in Glasgow. There is a Cycle Route 754 which is traffic-free from Edinburgh to Glasgow which follows the Canals. Rough Castle Rough Castle was one of 16 known forts along the Antonine Wall, The wall formed the north-western frontier of the Roman Empire. Rough Castle can be reached on foot (about 15 minutes) from the Falkirk Wheel, a signposted path from the visitor centre will get you there. This is where the tallest surviving section of rampart, Defensive Lilia pits and many ditches and gateways can be seen. The Battle of Falkirk Muir Monument The Battle of Falkirk Muir, which was the second Battle of Falkirk on 17 January 1746, a defeat for the English. This was the last Jacobite success prior to Culloden and their final defeat. The battle site is currently marked by a monument, erected in 1927 situated on the South Muir on the edge of the Bantaskine estate. Falkirk Tunnel The Falkirk Tunnel built as part of the Union Canal connecting Edinburgh and Glasgow was completed in 1822. It was constructed as a tunnel rather than over land, as William Forbes owner of Callendar House objected as it would spoil his view from his house. This the longest canal tunnel in Scotland measures in length over 2000 foot (630 metres) and was carved through solid rock. It is now illuminated and with a path to allow people to walk through the tunnel. Found behind Falkirk High Station and is accessible via a well-marked path along the canal. Falkirk Memorial Cairn The Battle of Falkirk 1298 Memorial Cairn erected in 2007 to the memory of the men who fought with William Wallace against the English at the battle of Falkirk. The cairn positioned on the battlefield which is now part of Callendar House Park. Callendar House Callender House and grounds were in possession of the Callendar family circa 1240 it then changed ownership in 1346 to the Livingstone family, in 1783 William Forbes became owner and the descendant are still owners today. The Tower house is the oldest part of what now looks like a French château. Over the centuries it has been extended and modernised. It present look was given to the property circa 1870. The extensive grounds and has many things to see including a pond and ice House. There are many historic things to see in the park dating back to the building of the Antonine Wall in 142 AD. In the house a Library hold the archives of Falkirk and a Georgian Kitchen still in use. Outlander TV series to place here and the grounds hold a golf course and children’s play area The Antonine Wall The Antonine Wall was a Roman defensive wall, which was built across central Scotland from Bo’ness on the shores of the Firth of Forth to Old Kilpatrick on the Firth of Clyde. 37 miles long with 16 forts. Completed 162 AD. The Wall was the north western frontier of the Roman Empire. There are a number of other areas where the wall is still visible Rough Castle, Kinneil Estate, Polmont Hill, Seabegs Wood and Watling Lodge. Forbes Mausoleum A mausoleum was built after the death of William Forbes the first, which took the form of a circular Doric temple 45ft tall. Above the door you can see a panel with a Greek inscription: ӨNHTA TA TΩN ӨNHTΩN KAI ΠANTA IҐAPEPXETAI HMAΣHN ΔE MH AΛΛ HMEIΣ ATTA ΠAPEPXOMEӨA. The translation: “Mortals; possessions are mortal, and all things pass us by; if not, at any rate we pass them by”. The first occupant was William Forbes the First in 1816 one year after his death, then the wife of William Forbes the second, Rose O’Hara in 1866. Later occupants include Colonel Charles Forbes in 1948 and William Dudley Forbes in 1977. West Quarter Do 'cot This was the Do 'cot of the Lairds House that was the source of fresh meet for the house with spaces for hundreds of pairs of pigeons. The estate and its mansion house inherited by Dame Helenore Livingstone. A panel above the dovecot’s door shows the arms of Sir William and his wife Dame Helenore Livingstone and the date 1647. They built a new mansion house nearby, but probably not this dovecot. Wallacestone Monument The Wallace Monument commemorates the first Battle of Falkirk, which took place on 22 July 1298 William Wallace resigned as Guardian of Scotland. The position Wallace stood, seeing the English armies approach from Linlithgow. The memorial Stone erected in 1810, replaced the original stone which also contained a Latin inscription “Here he stood”, with a panoramic view of the Forth Valley and beyond. The Avon Aqueduct The Avon Aqueduct (Linlithgow) is the largest of three major aqueducts along the Union Canal. The others are the Almond (Lin’s Mill) Aqueduct (Ratho) and the Slateford Aqueduct (Longstone) over the Water of Leith. All three Aqueducts are built to the same design. Constructed 1821, 247 metres long and 86 feet (26 metres) high, it is the longest and tallest aqueduct in Scotland. It is also the second longest in Britain. Kinneil (Palace) House The Lands of Kinneil Estate are said to have been awarded to the first of the Hamilton's after the Battle of Bannockburn (1314) by Robert the Bruce. The original Tower House was built circa 1550. It was later blown up. In the early 17th century it was rebuilt and extended in 1677. The House was left empty from 1822 an has become a ruin. Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway Museum Scotland’s largest railway museum situated in Bo'ness this is a must for the railway and train enthusiasts. The Railway Museum has many historic locomotives, carriages and wagons, model trains. It also has displays and photographs of the railways in Scotland. Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway and Steam Locomotive Trips Enjoy 70 minutes on the Steam Train over a 10 mile return journey along the Firth of Forth Estuary from Bo’ness to Manuel, with a 10 minute stop in Manuel. There is an on-train buffet and afternoon tea is served on most Saturday and Sunday afternoons. The train has been used in films and the Outlander series. There is also Thomas the Tank Engine Train and a Santa Claus train trip. Dunmore Pineapple The “Dunmore Pineapple” was built in 1761 as a summer house for his wife, which gave views of the walled gardens. The Pineapple is circa 46 feet (14 mtrs) in height. The Pineapple was added to the property in 1777 after John Murray, the 4th Earl of Dunmore return from Virginia in summer of 1776 where he served as the last British Governor of the Colony. It open to the public through the National Trust for Scotland and can be found in Dunmore Park Airth Scotland. Bannockburn The Rotunda and Flag Pole Bannockburn The rotunda was built to commemorate the 650th anniversary of the battle of Bannockburn in 1964. The flag pole was place where Robert the Bruce raised his standard and a commemorative pole was first erected here in 1870. Borestone Location Bannockburn Written in the circle the words Location of the Borestone where by tradition Robert Bruce raised his standard in 1314. Battle of Bannockburn Battle Ground BANNOCKBURN BATTLE SITE KING ROBERT ASSEMBLED HIS ARMY HERE TO GUARD THE POINT WHERE THE ROMAN ROAD ENTERED THE NEW PARK. CARTHROPES WERE SET IN NUMEROUS PITS ON BOTH SIDES OF THE ROMAN ROAD ALONG THE BANNOCKBURN. THE ENGLISH CAVALRY ARRIVED AT THE FORD ON SUNDAY 23 JUNE 1314. BRUCE KILLED DE BOHUN NEARBY. THE SCOTS FORCED THE CAVALRY BACK OVER THE BANNOCK BURN MAKING IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR EDWARD II TO REACH STIRLING CASTLE BY THE NEW PARK Battle of Bannockburn Cairn BATTLE OF BANNOCKBURN FOR GOD AND ST ANDREW ______________________ ROBERT THE BRUCE KING OF SCOTS PLANTED HIS STANDARD NEAR THIS SPOT WHEN THE SCOTTISH PATRIOTS UNDER HIS COMMAND VANQUISHED THE ARMY OF EDWARD II OF ENGLAND AT THE BATTLE OF BANNOCKBURN 24TH JUNE - 1314 "WE FIGHT NOT FOR GLORY NOR FOR WEALTH, NOR HONOUR BUT ONLY AND ALONE WE FIGHT FOR FREEDOM WHICH NO GOOD MAN SURRENDERS BUT WITH HIS LIFE." Wanlockhead Leadhills Attractions
- Hotels Edinburgh | Accommodation | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh has over 180 hotels of ratings up to 5 stars. Many of the hotels are in the city centre with over 20 that ar chain hotels Travelodge Premier Inn Ibus Novotels Holday Inns and Malmasion Hotels. There are also a number of private chains. Hotels Edinburgh Edinburgh Hotels List produced is in Post code order the lowest post code is EH1 which is the city centre up to EH28 which is Edinburgh Airport. The EH post code is for the Edinburgh area and is defined by distance from the old Post Office building at the East end of Princes Street. close to Waverley Rail Station See the map with the Red markers for EH1 Hotels. When contacting Hotels from outside UK please replace the first 0 with +44 (WhatsApp is free) There are 34 hotels in EH1 Edinburgh City Centre Hotels Edinburgh Radisson Collection Hotel 2 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 6666 Hotels Edinburgh Motel One 18 Market Street Edinburgh EH1 1BL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 0730 Hotels Edinburgh Market Street Hotel 6 Market Street Edinburgh EH1 1DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 322 9229 Hotels Edinburgh Leonardo Royal Edinburgh 43 Jeffery Street Edinburgh EH1 1DH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 200 3300 Hotels Edinburgh Hotel Du Vin Hotel 19 Bristo Place Edinburgh EH1 1EZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 247 4900 Hotels Edinburgh Ibis Hotel 77 South Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1HN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 292 0001 Hotels Edinburgh Stay Central Hotel 139 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 622 6801 Hotels Edinburgh Inn on the Royal Mile 82 High Street Edinburgh EH1 1LL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9940 Hotels Edinburgh Holiday Inn Express Royal Mile 300 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1NA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 524 8400 Hotels Edinburgh Fraser Suites 24 St. Giles Street Edinburgh EH1 1PT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 7200 Hotels Edinburgh Ibis Hotel 6 Hunter Square Edinburgh EH1 1QW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 240 7000 Hotels Edinburgh Carlton Hilton Hotel 20 North Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1SD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 472 3000 Hotels Edinburgh Travelodge Central 33 St Mary's Street Edinburgh EH1 1TA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 984 6137 Hotels Edinburgh Radisson Blu Hotel 80 High Street Edinburgh EH1 1TH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 473 6590 Hotels Edinburgh Scotsman Hotel 51 North Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1YT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5565 Hotels Edinburgh Waldorph Astoria Caledonian 4 Princes Street Edinburgh EH1 2AB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 222 8888 Hotels Edinburgh Rutland Hotel 15 Rutland Street Edinburgh EH1 2AE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 3402 St Christopher's Hotel 13 Market Street Edinburgh EH1 1DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1446 Hotels Edinburgh Apex International Hotel 35 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2HS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0845 365 0000 Hotels Edinburgh Apex City Hotel 61 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2JF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0845 365 0000 Hotels Edinburgh Grassmarket Hotel 94 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2JR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 2299 Hotels Edinburgh Glasshouse Hotel 2 Greenside Place Edinburgh EH1 3AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 525 8200 Hotels Edinburgh Courtyard by Marriot 3 Baxter's Place Edinburgh EH1 3AF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 526 3778 Hotels Edinburgh W Hotel 1 St James Square Edinburgh EH1 3AX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 388 8000 Hotels Edinburgh Travelodge Waterloo 17 Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3BG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 984 6445 Hotels Edinburgh Apex Waterloo Hotel 23 Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3BH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 441 0440 Hotels Edinburgh Parliament House Hotel 15 Calton Hill Edinburgh EH1 3BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 478 4000 Hotels Edinburgh York House Hotel 27 York Place Edinburgh EH1 3HP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 6222 Hotels Edinburgh The Place 28 York Place Edinburgh EH1 3HU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 7575 Hotels Edinburgh Premier Inn 44 York Place Edinburgh EH1 3HU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0333 234 6473 Hotels Edinburgh Indigo Hotel 51 York Place Edinburgh EH1 3JD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5577 Hotels Edinburgh Holiday Inn Express City Centre 12 Picardy Place Edinburgh EH1 3JT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 2300 Hotels Edinburgh Regent House Hotel 3 Forth Street Edinburgh EH1 3JX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1616 Hotels Edinburgh Albany Hotel 39 Albany Street Edinburgh EH1 3QY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 0397 Hotels Edinburgh Broughton Hotel 37 Broughton Place Edinburgh EH1 3RR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 9792 There are 24 Hotels in EH2 Edinburgh City Centre Hotels in Edinburgh in post code EH2 are situated on Princes Street and the or iginal New Town area. All are in walking distance of the Old Town and Edinburgh Castle See the map with the Purple markers. Hotels Edinburgh Ibis Hotel 19 St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 1AU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 292 0200 Hotels Edinburgh Frederick House Hotel 42 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1999 Hotels Edinburgh Travelodge Central Queen Street 30 Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 1JX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 984 6143 Hotels Edinburgh No53 Hotel 53 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1LH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 2752 Hotels Edinburgh Rabble Hotel 55a Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1LH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 622 7800 Hotels Edinburgh Motel One 6 Princes Street Edinburgh EH2 2AN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 0730 Hotels Edinburgh Travelodge Central Prince Street 1 Meuse Lane Edinburgh EH2 2BY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 559 1855 Malmaison Hotel 21 St Andrews Square Edinburgh EH2 1AY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 370 4600 Hotels Edinburgh Old Waverley Hotel 43 Princes Street Edinburgh EH2 2BY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4648 Hotels Edinburgh Mercure Mount Royal 54 Princes Street Edinburgh EH2 2DG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 342 1013 Hotels Edinburgh Balmoral Hotel 1 Princes Street Edinburgh EH2 2EQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 2414 Hotels Edinburgh Premier Inn Hub Rose Street South Lane Edinburgh EH2 2NN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0333 321 3104 Hotels Edinburgh Travelodge 37 Rose Street Edinburgh EH2 2NH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 984 6441 Hotels Edinburgh InterContinental Edinburgh George Hotel 19 George Street Edinburgh EH2 2PB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1251 Hotels Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel 16 George Street Edinburgh EH2 2PF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 270 3900 Gleneagles Townhouse Hotel 3St Andrews Square Edinburgh EH2 2AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 322 3780 Hotels Edinburgh Premier Inn Waverley 24 Rose Street Edinburgh EH2 2QA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0330 175 9010 Hotels Edinburgh Yotel Hotel 68-73 Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 4NA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 526 4950 Hotels Edinburgh Premier Inn 121 Princes Street Edinburgh EH2 4AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0333 321 9267 EasyHotel 125a Princes Street Edinburgh EH2 4AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 5303 Hotels Edinburgh Angels Share Hotel 9 Hope Street Edinburgh EH2 4EL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 247 7000 Hotels Edinburgh Kimpton Hotel Charlotte Square 38 Charlotte Square Edinburgh EH2 4HQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 240 5500 Hotels Edinburgh Tigerlily Hotel 125 George Street Edinburgh EH2 4JN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 5005 Edinburgh Grand 42 St Andrews Square Edinburgh EH2 2AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 230 0570 Eden Locke Hotel 127 George Street Edinburgh EH2 4JN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0330 056 3363 There is a selection of 33 Hotels All are in walking distance to the main attractions and City Centre These Hotels are on the Map with Yellow markers Bonham Hotel 35 Drumsheugh Gardens Edinburgh EH3 7RN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 6050 Hotels Edinburgh Melvin House Hotel 3 Rothesay Terrace Edinburgh EH3 7RY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 5084 Hotels Edinburgh Royal Scots Hotel 29 Abercromby Place Edinburgh EH3 6QE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4270 Hotels Edinburgh Britannia Hotel 69 Belford Road Edinburgh EH4 3DG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 221 0243 Hotels Edinburgh Mercure Edinburgh Quay 38 Gardener’s Crescent Edinburgh EH3 8DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 663 0627 Hotels Edinburgh Premier Inn Haymarket Torphican Street Edinburgh EH3 8JB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 357 4516 Hotels Edinburgh Double Tree by Hilton 34 Bread Street Edinburgh EH3 9AF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 5555 Hotels Edinburgh Premier Inn Central 82 Lauriston Place Edinburgh EH3 9AU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0870 990 6610 Hotels Edinburgh Novotel Edinburgh Centre 80 Lauriston Place Edinburgh EH3 9DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 656 3500 Hotels Edinburgh Moxy Fountainbridge Hotel 2 Freer Gait Edinburgh EH3 9FR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 378 2013 Brewdog Dog House Hotel 5 New Street Edinburgh EH8 8BH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 290 2300 KM Hotel and Apartments 5-9 Richmond Place Edinburgh EH8 9ST City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 131 651 2117 Brooks Hotel 70-72 Grove Street Edinburgh EH3 8AP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 3628 Hotels Edinburgh Residence Inn by Marriot 36 Simpson Loan Edinburgh EH3 9GG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 7150 Hotels Edinburgh Leonardo Hotel 79 Lauriston Place Edinburgh EH3 9HZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 622 7979 Hotels Edinburgh Sheraton Grand Hotel 1 Festival Square Edinburgh EH3 9SR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 9131 Hotels Edinburgh Marriot Holyrood Hotel 81 Holyrood Road Edinburgh EH8 8AU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 550 4500 Hotels Edinburgh Premier Inn Royal Mile 33 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0333 234 6430 Hotels Edinburgh Premier Inn Hub 37 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 202 6671 Hotels Edinburgh Ten Hill Place Hotel 10 Hill Place Edinburgh EH8 9DS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 662 2080 Hotels Edinburgh Travelodge Eglington 24 Eglington Crescent Edinburgh EH12 5BY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 984 6365 Stay City Apart Hotel 11 Brandfield Street Edinburgh EH3 8AS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 6651 Hotels Edinburgh Haymarket Hub Hotel 7 Clifton Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5DR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 347 9700 Hotels Edinburgh The Hoxton Hotel 5 - 21, Grosvenor Street Edinburgh EH12 5EF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 297 2840 Hotels Edinburgh Grosvenor Gardens Hotel 1 Grosvenor Gardens Edinburgh EH12 5EF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 313 3415 Hotels Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel 1 Coates Gardens Edinburgh EH12 5LG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 1775 Hotels Edinburgh Lairg Hotel 11 Coates Gardens Edinburgh EH12 5LG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 1050 Hotels Edinburgh Four Points by Sheraton 90 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5LQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 385 9077 Hotels Edinburgh Point A Edinburgh Hotel 152 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 526 4500 Hotels Edinburgh Hampton by Hilton West End 166 Fountainbridge Edinburgh EH3 9RX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 526 4530 Hotels Edinburgh VOCO Haymarket 46 Torphichen Street Edinburgh EH3 8JB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 378 1999 Hotels Edinburgh Leonardo Royal 1 Morrison Link Edinburgh EH3 8DN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 460 4600 Hotels Edinburgh Adagio Apart Hotel 231 Canongate Edinburgh EH8 8BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 322 8299 Hotels Edinburgh No 32 Hotel 32 Coates Gardens Edinburgh EH12 5LE City of Edinburgh Scotland EH12 5LE 0131 337 7077 Guest House B&B
- Edinburgh Weddings | Fascinators & Hats | All About Edinburgh
Wedding hats and Wedding Fascinators, find the ideal headdress for the wedding, clips and bands dress your head and stand out from the rest. The hat will make you stand out from the rest. Edinburgh Wedding Fascinators - Hats - Clips - Combs Wedding Hats Specialist Milliners Wedding Fascinators, Combs & Clips Wedding Hats Sally Ann Provan Hat Studio 7 Beaverhall Road Edinburgh EH7 4JE City of Edinburgh Scotland 07931 773410
- Haddington Town | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Haddington Attractions East Lothian Haddington was a important town and over the years has been burnt down and flooded on more than one occasion. Haddington originally was in Northumbria up until circa 900 AD when the border between Scotland and England was moved to bring it into Scotland. St Martin’s Kirk in the Nungate was built 1178 which is now the oldest standing building in Haddington. The once Palace of Haddington was abandoned in 1216 when Haddington was burnt by the English invaders. In 1198 King Alexander II of Scotland was born in Haddington. John Knox Protestant reformer was born in Haddington or nearby circa 1510. Haddington’s new Town Hall was built in 1748 and in 1817 the Waterloo Bridge near the Poldrate Mill was opened. In 1846 Haddington’s railway station opens to the public. linking with Edinburgh and closed in 1949. The twin steel arched Victoria Bridge was built in 1898 and the largest hoard of Roman artefacts (outside Rome) were found on nearby Traprain Hill in 1919 and can be seen in the National Museum of Scotland in Edinburgh. In 1965 Haddington was twinned with Aubigny sur Nère in France. St Martins Kirk Haddington East Lothian St Martin’s Kirk was built in 1178. It belonged to the Cistercian Nunnery of St Mary’s which was situated about one mile to the east of this site. The church was probably used by both nuns and the people of Haddington. Originally consisting of a nave and chancel at the east end. Only nave now remains. In the thirteenth century the six buttresses were added to the outer walls to take the weight of a new barrel vault. The area above the vault provided a second storey. The purpose of the square holes in the walls is unclear. Although it is possible that they were used for scaffolding (or the struts that held the upper floor up). Some Time after the reformation the church fell out of use and it is thought, although no visible sign exists. The area surrounding it was used for burials until the nineteenth century. Poldrate Mill Tynebank Haddington Poldrate Mill in Haddington is a modern mill built 1842 (Poldrate the area) on the site of the medieval Kirk Mill circa 1530 known as the east mill, situated near the Tyne River at the Waterloo Bridge. Nungate Bridge Haddington The first bridge built over the River Tyne in Haddington was in 1282. The Nungate Bridge is built on the same site built circa 1560 after the previous bridge was bombarded in the siege in 1548 when most of Haddington burned. The Nungate bridge as its predecessor was the main route from the south into Haddington (now a foot bridge). The bridge was a place many criminals were shacked to with jougs’ iron manacle that went around the neck. St Mary’s Church Haddington In 1375 the building of St Mary’s Church began and was completed in 1462. In 1548-9 the church was in ruins due to the siege of Haddington. At John Knox insistence the church was rebuilt in 1561. Further renovations and improvements have been made over the centuries to what you see today. There are many things to see, which include; Lauderdale Aisle and Tomb, Jane Welsh Carlyle memorial stone. Stain Glass windows depicting; The Sepulchre, Vision of St John the Divine, Christ and the Woman of Samaria, The Good Woman, The Crucifixion with the Virgin and St John, St Margaret and St Helen Divine Wisdom, The Herald Angel appears to the Shepherds, Christ as the Good Shepherd, The Ascension, Christ and the Sea of Galilee, Gethsemane and Emmaus. Wemyss Family Grave Haddington East Lothian Francis Charteris, became Charteris-Wemyss-Douglas 8th Earl of Wemyss & 4th Earl of March was born in 1772 as Frances Charteris and died 1853 at his home at Gosford House East Lothian Haddington War Memorial Haddington East Lothian Haddington war memorial at the gates to St Mary's Church was unveiled circa 1920. To commemorate all the local men and women who gave their lives in the defence of Britain in the World Wars Amisfield House Remains Francis Charteris bought a property called Newmills near Haddington circa 1715, and renamed it Amisfield after the family estate near Dumfries. On the land they built Amisfield House in 1755, a classic mansion house with a walled garden, a summer house known as the Banqueting House and stables. All that remains are ruins of the the summerhouse, Gothic Garden House, cascade pump house and stables. The gates with Lodges built circa 1720. and the walled garden circa 1786 are still in tact. However, the main house was demolished in 1928. The grounds have been used as Haddington Golf Course since 1865. Amisfield House East Gate and lodges Amisfield House Stables 1785 Amisfield House Summer House (Banqueting House) 1755 The Summerhouse was used as a banqueting hall and was were the Charteris family would entertain guests. A bowling green was once to the rear of the house with statues surrounding it. Unfortunately a flood of the Tyne in 1775 washed the statues away and destroyed the bowling green. Amisfield Gothic House This is a Gothic style House was built in 1766 by one of the most renowned builder | Stonemasons of the time Robert Milne from Edinburgh. Built for the then owners of the House and Lands the Charteris family. Amisfield Walled Garden Amisfield House walled garden (1783) is eight acre, one of the largest walled gardens in Scotland. The walls of the garden stand at 16 feet (4.9 m) and in each corner are circular pavilions. Note; The Ancient Fraternity of Gardeners of East Lothian was established in 1676 the oldest gardeners fraternity known. Amisfield House Cascade & Pump House The River Tyne flows through the grounds of Amisfield in Haddington. Amisfield House and grounds are now a golf course the house was demolished in 1928 as it had stood empty for years. The pump house may have previously been an Ice House which was a common place for all large houses. Samson Fountain Court Street Haddington The drinking fountain in Court Street Haddington with a statue of Samson at the apex was originally erected in 1924 At that time it was only the centre piece with four drinking cups on chains. It was then surrounded by a pond in 1998 and the cups removed. Haddington Corn Exchange The Corn Exchange was built in 1854 and is one of the largest Corn Exchanges to be built in Scotland. Tweeddale Monument Haddington Field Marshal George Hay, 8th Marquess of Tweeddale born 1787 at Yester House educated at the Royal High School in Edinburgh and became a full time soldier in 1804 and was awarded many honours throughout his career. On his fathers death in 1804 he became 16th Lord Hay of Yester. Earl of Tweeddale. 8th Marquess of Tweeddale. 8th Earl of Gifford. 8th Viscount of Walden. He was appointed Knight, Order of the Thistle (K.T.) in 1820 He held the office of Lord-Lieutenant of Haddingtonshire between 1823 till is death. He became Governor of Madras India in 1842-46 and retired from active service in 1848 when he returned to Yester House. He gained the rank of Field Marshal in 1875. While at home in Yester House he died of injuries sustained in a fire in 1876. He was honour in 1881 with the monument that stands in Court Street Haddington for his services in both times of war and peace. Goats of Haddington The Goats were sculpted by Dyre Vaa of Norway in 1978 The symbol of the Goat is on the coat of arms and the seal of Haddington thought to have been first adopted in 1296 when there were numerous goat farms in the area. Custom Stone Haddington Custom Stone of Haddington stood in the High Street and has been moved to the gardens behind the old George Hotel(Falkos). There are setts in the road where the Custom stone once sat. The plaque reads; This ancient stone was for | centuries the seat of the tacksman (Tax) | When petty customs were levied | in the Burgh. Mercat Cross Haddington A goat appears on the seal and on the coat of arms of Haddington it also is on the top of the mercat cross where the unicorn stands on most other mercat crosses throughout Scotland. The earliest documentary reference occurs in the reign of William the Lion (1165–1214), when it was decreed that “all merchandises sal be presentit at the mercat and mercat croce of burghis”. As William the Lion was a resident of Haddington, the mercat cross in the High Street could have been the first. John Gray Centre Haddington The John Gray Centre is the library, originally founded by Rev. John grey in 1688 and now is the heritage hub and museum of East Lothian. There is 700 years of manuscripts books and images all relating to the history of East Lothian. The new building opened in 2012 John Gray Plaques Haddington At the entrance to the Centre on the wall is a plaque to John Gray which reads; Mr John Gray Minister of the Gospel at Aberlady,for the regard he had for the town of Haddington. The place of his nativity did mortify this library for the community also did mortify the sum of 3000 merks scots. Appointed the annual rent thereof to charitable uses agreeable to his will under ye management of magistrates & town clerk thereof he departed this life in tear 1717. The red plaque reads; The story of John Gray Centre Began over 400 years ago, but who was John Gray? John was born in Haddington in 1684, the son of a merchant. He became a Presbyterian minister in 1667 and minister of Aberlady in 1684. During his life he collected a library of around 900 books which he left, together with money for their upkeep, to the people of Haddington on the death of his wife in 1717. His library was one of the first in Britain made freely available to the public and is now housed in the National Library of Scotland. The Centre has been named after John Gray in recognition of his gift to the people of Haddington. Carlyle House Museum Haddington Jane Welsh was born in Haddington in 1801 daughter of Dr John Welsh. She became one of the great letter writers of her age. She married essayist Thomas Carlyle in 1826. The house has been restored and is now the Jane Welsh Carlyle Museum. which tells the life of Jane before and after marriage. Mitchell’s Close Haddington Mitchell’s Close are 17th century buildings that have survived from the period, a true look back into the past. Royal Palace King William I Haddington Alexander II, son of King William I was born in Haddington Palace 1198. In 1214 King John attacked Haddington and burned it to the ground leaving very few buildings. The royal Place was saved but was vacated two years later. The present building is the County Building which was built in 1832 and stands on the site of the medieval palace of King William I remnants and foundations of which were found when excavating to build the county building in 1830. The plaque on the wall reads; This is the site of The Royal Palace occupied by King William the Lion and here his son Alexander II of Scotland was born 24th August 1198. Ferguson Monument Haddington Robert Ferguson of Raith was born in 1767 he was a landowner with estates in Haddingtonshire and Dysart Burghs. He became a member of parliament in 1835 for East Lothian and was also Lord Lieutenant of Fife in 1837. He after an affair married Lady Elgin of Dirleton. Lord Elgin of Elgin Marbles fame was the husband she divorced. John Knox Institute Haddington In 1880 the Knox Memorial Institute to house the grammar school of Haddington was completed with a statue of John Knox in the centre tower. Later to be known as Knox Academy. John Knox a Scottish minister, theologian, and writer was a leader of the country’s Reformation, which in 1572 under James IV approved the reformation settlement of which founded the Presbyterian Church of Scotland in 1560. John Knox was born in Haddingtonshire in 1513. Other information states he was born in 1505 (Thomas Carlyle). Gifford Gate John Knox Birthplace John Knox House was at Gifford gate near Haddington opposite the parish church on the far bank of the River Tyne. Thomas Carlyle easiest and historian husband of a local girl Jane Welsh (14 January 1801 – 21 April 1866) a Scottish writer had a tree planted where John Knox house once stood. John Knox Tree Plaque The Plaque reads; Near this spot stood the house in which was born John Knox AD 1505. An oak tree was planted on 29th March 1881 at the request of the late Thomas Carlyle. Lady Kitty’s Do’cot and Garden Lady Kitty’s Do’cot was built in 1771. Named after Lady Catherine Charteris (born 1722) who had a walled garden built in the same period. Lady Charteris was of Francis Charteris, 7th Earl of Wemyss (Buried in Gosford Estate in a Mausoleum designed after the Great Pyramid at Giza) substantial land owner of Haddingtonshire. They had 6 children and Catherine lived until 1786 (64). The Do’cot was a feature of most wealthy home owners which provided fresh meat in the form of pigeons. Haddington House St Mary's Pleasant Gardens East Lothian Haddington House was built circa 1650. THE INSCRIPTION above the door would have been put there when Al AO Haddington and dates from 1648. Alexander Maitland renovated the house IN 1680 and installed the present doorway which has a date of 1680 his initials AM and his wife’s KC, Katherine Cunninghame. A traditional mark of ownership. The gardens were restored by the 14th Duke of Hamilton and gifted to the Haddington Garden Trust to allow everyone to benefit from the gardens. Sir George Taylor Plaque Haddington House Haddington East Lothian Sir George Taylor plaque reads; Sir George Taylor DSC LLD FRS FRSE VHM SHM 15 February 1904 - 12 November 1993 Director Royal Botanic Gardens Kew 1956 - 1971 Chairman Haddington Garden Trust 1973 - 1990 Waterloo Bridge Haddington East Lothian The Waterloo Bridge near the Poldrate Mill was completed in 1817. The foundation stone of the Waterloo Bridge was laid on the anniversary of the Battle of Waterloo in 1815 and was named after the Battle ‘Waterloo’. Normandy Garden The Normandy Memorial in the old bowling green area was erected in 2004. The gardens were once a bowling green which opened in 1749 after moving from its original place in Haddington, where Lawn bowls were first played circa 1660. The area is now a World War II memorial to the Normandy Landings. Commemorative Trees Haddington King Edward VII and Alexandra of Denmark Coronation Trees 1902 Commemorative Trees Haddington The tree on the side of the River Tyne near Poldrate is one of many trees planted at the time the plaque at the foot of this tree reads; The tree was planted to commemorate the coronation of Her Majesty Queen Victoria on the 28th June 1838. Commemorative trees Haddington King George V and Queen Mary Commemorative Trees Haddington 1911 Victoria Bridge Haddington The twin steel arched Victoria Bridge was built in 1898 named to commemorate Queen Victoria’s diamond jubilee which had taken place in 1897. An excellent early example of a provincial steel arch bridge, similar to the North Bridge in Edinburgh but on a smaller scale. Haddington Town House Haddington Town House was built in 1748 and designed by William Adam Town House steeple had to be replaced in 1831. The bell in the steeple rings each day as a curfew at 10 in the evening and it then rings again at the end of curfew at 7 in the morning. The curfew-bell has rung since 1532. Within the Town House were a council chamber a jail and court and a clock was added to the tower in 1835. Samuel Smiles Haddington Samuel Smiles was born in Haddington in 1812. He was a government reformer and author of many books including “Self Help” which became a worldwide success. He was also the author of George Stephenson’s biography, the inventor of the locomotive and the modern railways. Self Help was published in 1859 the same year as Charles Darwin’s Origin of the Species. The plaque where he was born reads; Samuel Smiles, born in Haddington, lived in this house, Author of “Self Help” and other books. He died Kensington 1904. Falko (George Hotel) Haddington East Lothian One of the older properties still being used in Haddington, Falko (George Hotel) stands in Market Lane previously George Wynd. The building being a coaching station and Post Office circa 1700 and an Inn owned by a James Fairbairn IN 1764. It has been called The George and Dragon and George Inn circa 1850. Cyclists Touring Club The Cyclists Touring Club plaque signifies the previous Headquarters of the Cyclists Touring Club now Cycling UK. A wheel with 3 wings and the initials CTC. Haddington Railway Station The Rail Station in Haddington has long been closed and all that remains is the ticket office. The rail line opened on 22 June 1846 and took passengers to Longniddry Station where they would change trains to the Edinburgh Train. The final passengers embarked on the last train from Haddington in December 1949. Summerfield House Haddington East Lothian Summerfield House that stands in the Sidegate Haddington was built circa 1780. This shows a typical house of a wealthy merchant. With coach houses (garages) at both sides of the house. Flour and Malt Mill Haddington East Lothian There has been a mill on this site since circa 1410. It has changed ownership on several occasions. In 1897 the mills were operated by John Montgomery tin the production of malt flour for baking 'Bermaline' bread, a famous Health food. The present company has continued operations of the mills producing cereals (Scottish Flour and Malt from wheat and barley). PureMalt products are distributed worldwide. Old Bank House Haddington East Lothian There are two historic buildings close together on the Hargate, Old Bank House and Sunnybank also known as Tenterfield House. Tenterfield House was originally Sunnybank once owned and occupied by the Donaldson family and sold to Archibald Todrick on his marriage to Katherine Howden in 1812. Sunnybank (Tenterfield House) Haddington East Lothian Hay Donaldson was the Town Clerk and solicitor (writer of the signet) who previously lived at Sunny Bank and moved to Old Bank House and ran the Bank of Scotland Offices from 1783. Handing over to Archibald Todrick in 1803. County Police Station Haddington East Lothian The Haddington Police Station in Court Street previously Weston House built 1833 by William Burn. The Building was the former Court House. It became the Police Station when the police moved to the building in 1954. Lennoxlove House Haddington East Lothian Lennoxlove (Castle) House grounds and gardens are one of the must see Houses and gardens to see in Scotland with history over eight centuries. The estate was originally named Lethington and was owned by Robert Maitland of Thirlestane from 1345. The original Tower built in 1345 still stands as the south west corner of the present Lennoxlove House. The south face of the house was completed in 1644 when a further tower was built at the east end. There has been further changes to the house over the centuries and different owners. The present owners purchased the Lennoxlove House in 1947 by Sir Douglas Douglas-Hamilton. The house is open to visitors by guided tours. With many centuries of history and historic artefacts as well as paintings by the masters lie Van Dyke and Scottish painters such as Raeburn. The 400+ acres of walled gardens have an ornate sundial, a tree over 650 years old and the architecture from the 16th century. Skid Hill Haddington East Lothian Skid Hill once the site of an Iron age fort circa 800 BC, at the summit of the 600 foot (185 mtr) hill, which is the highest point of the Garleton Hill range. Not far from the Hopetoun Monument on Byre's Hill. Skid hill is now a disused quarry. Hopetoun Monument Byre's Hill Haddington East Lothian The Hopetoun Monument is 95 feet (29 m) tall. Situated on Byres Hill near Haddington, the monument was erected in 1824 in memory of John Hope, 4th Earl of Hopetoun The foundation stone was laid on May 3, 1824. There is an inscription on the monument which states: “This monument was erected to the memory of the Great and Good John, Fourth Earl of Hopetoun by his affectionate and grateful tenantry in East Lothian. “MDCCCXXIV” 1824. Haddington Abbey In 1138 the lands of Haddington were given to Ada de Warenne (became wife of Robert I son). The estate on the north-east of Haddington that formed part of the lands belonging to the Abbey of Haddington (The Abbey of Haddington was founded in 1178 by Ada de Warenne a Northumbrian Countess) were sold circa 1568 to William Maitland of Lethington, who in turn sold it in 1681 to Colonel James Stanfield an officer in Cromwell’s Army. He became the Member of Parliament for East lothian and established New Mills Cloth factory in the existing Waulk Mill on the River Tyne. He then built New Mills House the same year. New Mills was renamed circa 1715 to Amisfield and the demolished and a new house was built named Amisfield House in 1755 for Francis Charteris (later 7th Earl of Wemyss). The Google map shows top centre where the Abbey once Stood, below the Abbey Bridge and Amisfield Walled Garden. Abbey Bridge Haddington East Lothian The Abbey is no longer their but the Abbey Bridge that the young Queen, her mother and nobles of France and Scotland crossed to sign the treaty remains across the River Tyne not far from where the Abbey once Stood. The Abbey Bridge was built over the River Tyne to give access to the Abbey of Haddington. The stone bridge could have been built circa 1450 replacing a wooden bridge. A pathway at the side of the Tyne follows the river to East Linton 6 miles towards the sea. Treaty of Haddington 1548 The reformation saw the end to the priory in 1567. There are no remains of the Abbey but a tree stands on the site where the Abbey once stood. After the Battle of Pinkie Cleuch Lord Somerset set siege to Haddington in hope to seize the young Mary Queen of Scots (5 years old). To save the Queen from the English her mother (Mary of Guise) made a pact with the French to send her daughter to France to marry the Dauphin, the young French prince. This secured an alliance between the Scots and French against the English when the Treaty of Haddington was signed at the Abbey of Haddington on 7th July 1548. Mary was sent to France and later married the Dauphin, however the marriage did not last long as the prince died in his teens and Mary returned to Scotland. Next - Humbie
- Newhaven Area | Shops & Busnesses | All About Edinburgh
Newhaven area was once a small fishing and boat building village. The village main street still stands across from the harbour where the cruise ships now dock to allow 1000's of visitor to visit Edinburgh. There are a number of fish restaurants and hotels at the harbour. Newhaven Area Shops & Businesses Edinburgh Streets that are in this area are; Lindsay Road, Anchorfield, Newhaven Place, Sandpiper Drive, Pier Place, Newhaven Main Street, Annfield, Starbank Road, Laverockbank Road Newhaven History and Attractions Advertise Your Business Here NEWHAVEN PLACE Brewers Fayre Bar Restaurant 51 Newhaven Place Edinburgh EH6 4TX 0131 555 1570 Premier Inn 53 Newhaven Place Edinburgh EH6 4TX 0871 527 8360 David Lloyd Gym and Health Club 55 Newhaven Place Edinburgh EH6 4TX 0345 125 7016 SANDPIPER DRIVE Asda Supermarket 2 Sandpiper Drive Edinburgh EH6 6QJ 0131 561 2300 STARBANK ROAD Masons Bakers 1 Starbank Road Edinburgh EH5 3BN 0131 552 4711 Advertise Your Business Here PIER PLACE, NEWHAVEN The Lighthouse Restaurant 3 Pier Place Edinburgh EH6 4LP 0131 467 8628 Welch Fishmongers 23 Pier Place Edinburgh EH6 4LP 0131 552 5883 Pier Brasserie - Bar & Grill 25a Pier Place Edinburgh EH6 4LP 0131 552 4356 Loch Fyne Restaurant 25 Pier Place Edinburgh EH6 4LP 0131 559 5390 LAVEROCKBANK ROAD Starbank Inn 64 Laverockbank Road Edinburgh EH5 3BZ 0131 552 4141 NEWHAVEN MAIN STREET Perfectly Paris Hair 7 Newhaven Main Street Edinburgh EH6 4LJ 0131 552 1313 Wok Inn Newhaven Road Edinburgh EH6 4LH The Harbour Inn 4-6 Fishmarket Square Newhaven Edinburgh EH6 4LW Advertise Your Business Here ANCHORFIELD Prom Bar 2 - 3 Anchorfield Edinburgh EH6 4JG Savour Chinese Takeaway 6 Anchorfield Edinburgh EH6 4JG Steele Hair & Beauty 7 Anchorfield Edinburgh EH6 4JG The Haven Café Bistro 9 Anchorfield Edinburgh EH6 4JG 0131 467 7513 ANNFIELD Dimsum Box Restaurant 3 Annfield Edinburgh EH6 4JF Basils Restaurant 9 Annfield Edinburgh EH6 4JF 0131 552 1670 LINDSAY ROAD Rishis Indian Aroma 100 Lindsay Road Edinburgh EH6 4TZ Next - Shopping Malls & Retail Parks
- St Andrew Square | Shops & Businesses | All About Edinburgh
St Andrew Square is at the east end of George Street in Edinburgh with shops, restaurants, cafes, banks, Places to Stay, history and Designer Stores a garden, national bus station tram stop and taxi ranks only a shore walk from the main train station it has everything. St Andrew Square Businesses & Shops Edinburgh Designer Retail Store, Pubs and Restaurants, Places to Stay and all other businesses and places of interest The Streets covered on this page are; St Andrew Square, South St Andrew Street, North St Andrew Street, West Register Street North St David Street, South St David Street and Meuse Lane. St Andrews Square History & Attractions View More Sainsbury Local Store 9-10 St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 2AF City of Edinburgh Scotland ATM, Cash Machine Royal Bank of Scotland 36 St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 2AD City of Edinburgh Scotland Adam and Co Bank 25 St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 1AF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 8484 Bank of Scotland 38 St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 2AD City of Edinburgh Scotland Amarone Italian Restaurant 12-13 St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 2AF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 523 1140 Statue Sir John Hope Of Hopetoun St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 2AD City of Edinburgh Scotland View More Guildford Arms 1 West Register Street Edinburgh EH2 2AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4312 New Register House 3 West Register Street Edinburgh EH2 2AA City Of Edinburgh Scotland Hair By Marnie 7 West 7 West Register Street Edinburgh EH2 2AA City of Edinburgh Scotland Snax 15 West Register Street Edinburgh EH2 2AA City Of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 8688 Penny Black 17 West Register Street Edinburgh EH2 2AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1106 Café Royal Oyster Bar 17a West Register Street Edinburgh EH2 2AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1884 Tattu Chinese Restaurant 18 West Register Street Edinburgh EH2 2AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 1922 Voodoo Rooms 19A West Register Street Edinburgh EH2 2AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 7060 Lady Libertine Bar Restaurant 25 West Register Street Edinburgh EH2 2AA City Of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 322 1020 View More View More Tiles Bar Restaurant 1 St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 2BD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 1507 The Refinery Cuisine: Scottish 5 St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 2BD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0333 210 0017 Restaurant Coffee Republic St Andrew Square Garden Edinburgh EH2 2BD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 000 0000 4th Floor Restaurant Harvey Nichols 32 St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 2AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 524 8838 Wagamama Cuisines: Japanese, Asian St Andrew Square Unit 5 Edinburgh EH2 2BD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 285 4787 Amarone Edinburgh Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European 13 St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 2AF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 523 1171 Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh City 21-22 St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 1AY 0131 370 4600 Hotel ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre 19 St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 1AU 0131 292 0200 The Edinburgh Grand 42 St Andrews Square Edinburgh EH2 2AD 0131 230 0570 The Register Club Restaurant and Bar 42 St Andrew Square Floor 4 Edinburgh EH2 2AD +44 (0) 131 230 0571 Harvey Nichols Fourth Floor Restaurant Cuisine: British 30-34 St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 2AD 0131 524 8388 The Ivy on the Square Cuisine: British 6 St. Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 2BD 0131 526 4777 Gaucho- Edinburgh Cuisines: Steakhouse, Argentinian, Grill 4A St. Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 BD 0131 278 3410 Dishoom Edinburgh Cuisine: Indian 3A St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 2BD 0131 202 6406 The Square 17 North St Andrew Street Edinburgh EH2 1HJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Kenneth kim Hairdressing 16 North St Andrew Street Edinburgh EH2 1HJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Zest Indian Restaurant 15 North St Andrew Street Edinburgh EH2 1HJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Computershare Ltd 4 North St Andrew Street Edinburgh EH2 1HJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Bus Station National Bu Services 2 North St Andrew Street Edinburgh EH2 1HJ City of Edinburgh Scotland WH Smith Edinburgh Bus Station 2 North St Andrew Street Edinburgh EH2 1HJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 5003 Monsoon & Accessorize 6 South St David Street Edinburgh EH2 2BW City of Edinburgh Scotland Tk Maxx Unit 1 South St David Street Edinburgh EH2 2BW City of Edinburgh Scotland Vapiano Pizza Restaurant 7 South St David Street Edinburgh EH2 2BD City of Edinburgh Scotland Consulate General of Romania 7-9 North St David Street Edinburgh EH2 1AW City of Edinburgh Scotland View More Franco Manca Pizza Restaurant 19 South St Andrew Street Edinburgh EH2 2AU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 560 1329 KFC Restaurant 7 South St Andrew Street Edinburgh EH2 2AU City of Edinburgh Scotland McDonald's 1-5 S St Andrew Street Edinburgh EH2 2AU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 9348 Charlie Miller Hair 8 South St Andrew Street Edinburgh EH2 2AZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9898 Saigon Saigon 14 South St Andrew Street Edinburgh EH2 2AZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 3737 Wahaca Edinburgh 16 South St Andrew Street Edinburgh EH2 2AZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 202 6850 Premier Inn Meuse Lane Edinburgh EH2 2BY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 559 1855 Next - Multrees Walk Shops & Businesses
- Cricket Clubs | Edinburgh Lothian Borders | All About Edinburgh
Looking to play cricket from beginners to the Laras Edinburgh Cricket Club Teams welcome all new and old timers to be bowled over cricket nets and practice EDINBURGH CRICKET CLUB TEAMS CRICKET IN SCOTLAND EDINBURGH - EAST LOTHIAN WEST LOTHIAN - SCOTTISH BORDERS SPORTS EDINBURGH CRICKET Boroughmuir Cricket Club Meggetland Sports Centre Colinton Road Edinburgh EH14 1AS City of Edinburgh Scotland boroughmuircc@gmail.com Carlton Cricket Club Grange Loan Edinburgh EH9 2EE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 667 9547 secretary@caltoncc.co.uk Drummond Trinity Cricket Club Inverleith Park Arboretum Road Edinburgh EH3 5NZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh South Cricket Club Inch Park Gilmerton Road Edinburgh EH16 5UF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 664 3511 tjdchalke@gmail.com Edinburgh University Staff Cricket Club University Playing Fields Peffermill Road Edinburgh EH15 5LL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 667 7541 EDINBURGH CRICKET Grange Cricket Club Portgower Place Edinburgh EH4 1HQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 2148 Holy Cross Cricket Club Inverleith Park Arboretum Place Edinburgh EH3 5NY City of Edinburgh Scotland secretary@holycrosscricket.co.uk Kirk Brae Cricket Club Double Hedges Park Edinburgh EH16 6TS City of Edinburgh Scotland kirk.brae.cc@hotmail.co.uk Leith F.A.B. Cricket Club Leith Links Edinburgh EH6 7QR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 554 5832 Marchmont Cricket Club Duddingston Playing Grounds Duddingston Road West Edinburgh EH15 3QE City of Edinburgh Scotland marchmontccsecretary@yahoo.co.uk EDINBURGH CRICKET Murrayfield Dafs Cricket Club Roseburn Park Roseburn Crescent Edinburgh EH12 5XN City of Edinburgh Scotland 07730 074 174 Police Scotland Cricket Club Fettes Avenue Edinburgh EH4 1RB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 311 3131 Royal High Corstorphine Cricket Club The Pavilion East Barnton Avenue Edinburgh EH4 6JP City of Edinburgh Scotland 07811 250 342 Woodcutters Cricket Club New Field Playing Fields Kinnear Road Edinburgh EH4 1EP City of Edinburgh Scotland 07712 666327 Stewarts Melville Royal High Cricket Club Inverleith Ferry Road Edinburgh EH5 2DW City of Edinburgh Scotland 07905 478 072 SCOTTISH BORDERS CRICKET Gala Cricket Club Meigle Park Manse Street Galashiels TD1 1NE Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 757387 Hawick and Wilton Cricket Club Buccleuch Park Buccleuch Road Hawick TD7 5DN Scottish Borders Scotland 01450 373934 Kelso Cricket Club Shedden Park Shedden Park Road Kelso TD5 7AJ Scottish Borders Scotland 07799766189 Peebles County Cricket Club Whitestone Park Walkershaugh Peebles EH45 8GL Scottish Borders Scotland St Boswells Cricket Club The Green Buccleuch Place St Boswells TD6 0ET Scottish Borders Scotland secretary@stboswellscricketclub.org WEST LOTHIAN CRICKET Livingston Cricket Club Murieston Valley Livingston EH54 9HB West Lothian Scotland 07749 395248 West Lothian County Cricket Association Boghall Cricket Ground Edinburgh Road Linlithgow EH49 6AB West Lothian Scotland 01506 844650 tpvorster@yahoo.co.uk EAST LOTHIAN CRICKET Tranent Cricket Club Tcg Tranent Cricket Ground Meadowmill Sports Centre Tranent EH33 1LZ East Lothian Scotland 01875 619 079 Haddington Cricket Club Neilson Park Mill Wynd Haddington EH41 4DB East Lothian Scotland 0774 059 3586 Musselburgh Cricket Club Lewisvale Park Double Dykes Musselburgh EH21 7TF East Lothian Scotland Stenton And Tyninghame Cricket Club Tyninghame Park Main Street Tyninghame Village EH42 1XL Midlothian Scotland 07891 702 582 Preston Village Cricket Club Polwarth Oval Preston Road Prestonpans EH32 9EN East Lothian Scotland 07751494465
- Visit Scotland | Midlothian | All About Edinburgh
Midlothian has many estates with Castles a Palace and museums, Rosslyn Chapel and Newbattle Abbey National Mining Museum and Statues Memorial and the larges artificial Ski Slop in Europe. Midlothian Attractions Midlothian is also on the boundary of Edinburgh and has many attractions. Castles, Mansion Houses, Museums and Country Parks. Dalhousie Castle, Oxenfoord Castle Borthwick Castle, Crichton Castle Dalkeith Palace, Newbattle Abbey Melville Castle and Arniston House. Rosslyn Chapel, Roslin Castle National Mining Museum Corn Exchange Museum Vogrie House and Country Park, Dalkeith Country Park Dalkeith Museum, St Nicholas Church Dalkeith Tolbooth Stewarts Brewery Water Tower House Robert Burns Fountain Cousland Smiddy Cousland Castle Ruins Temple Village Midlothian Penicuik House Pentland Hills Dryden Tower Hillend Ski Slop Bilston Glen Miners Memorial Canter by Andy Scott @ Bush Estate DALHOUSIE CASTLE The Ramsay (de Ramesie) family of Dalhousie (Dalwolsie) Castle Have been owners of the Castle and Lands since Coming from Huntingdon with David I in 1140. There is evidence that the Castle was first built circa 1230. The Ramsay family have been linked to many famous times, at the Battle of Bannockburn 1314, the signing of the declaration of Arbroath 1320, the siege of Dunbar in 1338, the Battle of Flodden Field 1513 and the Gowrie conspiracy of 1600, Dalhousie Castle was sold by the Ramsay’s in 1972 and has been a Hotel since. Many of the original parts to the Castle still remain and is a unique place to stay or have a wedding. Dalhousie Birds of Prey A truly unique experience that is available at Dalhousie Castle is the Falconry area where there are many birds of prey. Kestrels, Owls, Hawks and Eagles. Have one fly to your gloved hand something that is unforgettable . CRICHTON CASTLE Crichton Castle was built by Thomas de Crichton (Thomas de Kreitton) circa 1260. The castle still stands all be it a ruin. The Crichton family had one of the first baronies near Edinburgh was formed from the lands of Kreitton and is mentioned in charters of the early 12th century. VOGRIE HOUSE and COUNTRY PARK The original Vogrie house was built circa 1870 by James Dewar the whisky distiller and opened as a country park in 1980. Vogrie House like many old mansions and castle is said to be haunted. A property has been on the site since early 15th century when the Menzies family were owners. A truly magnificent area to have a day out. There is an adventure play area and toddlers play park, a miniature railway, guided nature walks, Café, many country paths for walking, cycling or horse riding. VOGRIE COUNTRY PARK Vogrie Park Midlothian Giants Chairs Vogrie Park Midlothian Gigantic Bicycle Vogrie Park Midlothian Vogrie House Vogrie House Golf course. Vogrie Segway Adventure Trail BORTHWICK CASTLE Borthwick Castle, is one of the best preserved Tower Houses in Scotland. Built circa 1430 by Sir William de Borthwick. It was built on the previous the Mote of Locherwart. Built in the 13th century by the Locherwart. Melville Castle Melville Castle named after the first owner Galfrid De Melville Circa 1150. Melville Castle was also said to have been for a time owned by David Rizzio and Mary Queen of Scots often visited. Other Royals that have visited the castle are George IV in 1828 and in 1842 Queen Victoria visited Melville Castle when she was on her tour of Scotland. It is said that a ghost has been seen on many occasions and it is thought to be Queen Mary looking for David Rizzio. Melville Castle can be found at the very east end of Gilmerton Road at Melville Gate on the road to Dalkeith. The Dundas family crest which can be seen above the main entrance to Melville Castle THE MOTTO ON THE FAMILY CREST BELOW THE SHIELD (TRANSLATION) QUOD POTUI PERFECI (I HAVE DONE WHAT I COULD TO THE BEST OF MY ABILITY) INSCRIBED ABOVE THE LION'S HEAD (TRANSLATION) ESSAYEZ (KEEP TRYING) ARNISTON HOUSE George Dundas, 16th Laird of Dundas Castle, and his wife Katherine bought the land in 1571 for their son James. At that time a Tower House stood on the lands. The mansion House that can be seen today was designed by William Adam. The only part of the old tower that remains is the Oak Room. The Mansion took almost 10 years to complete circa 1730 and is said to be “one of the most important Georgian country houses in Scotland”. James Dundas was born in 1570 and was educated at St. Andrew's University. He died in 1628 and is buried within the vestry Borthwick Church. His son Sir James Dundas became 1st Lord of Arniston 1620 - 1679 his son Robert Dundas 2nd Lord Arniston 1650 – 1726, Robert Dundas 3rd Lord Arniston, 1685 – 1783, Henry Dundas born 1742 1st Viscount Melville 18th child of 19 to Robert Dundas 3rd Lord Arniston step brother to Robert Dundas 4th Lord Arniston. Henry Dundas was to become the most powerful person in Britain. He died in his bed in Melville Castle 29 May 1811 and was buried in Lasswade Parish church. Robert Dundas 4th Lord Arniston, 1713 – 1787, Robert Dundas 5th Lord Arniston (6th June 1758 died 17 June 1819). The title continued as Baronet from 1898 until the death of the last male heir, Thomas Calderwood Dundas who died in 1970 when the title died out. The present owner Althea Dundas-Bekker. NEWBATTLE ABBEY and GARDENS Newbattle Abbey a Cistercian Monastery was founded in 1140 by King David I. Newbattle Abbey was also where a council of Nobles met in 1320 and drafted a parchment (letter) to Pope John XXII asking him to recognise Scotland’s independence as a country and acknowledge Robert the Bruce as the lawful king. (The letter was, The Declaration of Arbroath). Mark Kerr made the old Abbey into a family home after taking it from the Monk in 1560. The Kerr Family were an important and influential family in Scotland becoming the Earls of Lothian and in 1701 the Marquis of Lothian. It was in the Kerr family until the 1930s when Newbattle Abbey was changed to an adult residential college. In 1937it was gifted to the people of Scotland. ST NICHOLAS CHURCH and VAULT The original section of the church was built in the early 15th century Sir James Douglas (The Black Douglas), 1st Earl of Morton, and his wife Princess Joanna, daughter of James I are the effigies on the tomb next to the door to the Buccleuch Burial Vault. Look up at the gargoyles on the church walls. DALKEITH PALACE DALKEITH Original owners were the Grahams Lord William de Graham, of Abercorn and Dalkeith was first of the Graham family mentioned living in Dalkeith where he died in 1139. The Castle was destroyed in 1547 by an English Army. It then became the Douglas family stronghold. It was finally sold to the Buccleuch family in circa 1640. James Douglas 4th Earl of Morton who became the Regents of Scotland in 1572 ruled Scotland on behalf of James VI infant son of Mary Queen of Scots. There has been many occupiers of what was Dalkeith Castle renamed circa 1700. No less than in 1650, Oliver Cromwell's Commander, General Monk, Cromwell's Governor in Scotland made Dalkeith Palace his headquarters. The Earl of Morton was executed 1581 in Edinburgh on the Maiden a guillotine which stood at the foot of the Canongate which was said he had brought up from England. (can be seen in National Museum of Scotland) The Duke of Buccleuch is still the owner of the estate. Dalkeith Palace Orangery The Orangery at Dalkeith Palace was built circa 1830 at the time it was the state of the art Orangery with under-floor heating and it provided fresh fruit for the Palace. DALKEITH CORN EXCHANGE / MUSEUM The Dalkeith Corn Exchange was built in 1854 and was the largest corn market in Scotland’s. The Corn Exchange was also where both Gladstone and Churchhill both made speeches, it later became a ballroom where up to 800 could dance the night away. It now houses the museum for Dalkeith, managed by the Dalkeith History Society. The public entrance to the museum is in St Andrew Street which is at the back of the building. DALKEITH TOLBOOTH The last Man Hung in Dalkeith was William Thomson on March 1, 1827. Sentenced to hang for highway robbery a large crowd gathered in front of the Tolbooth see the hanging which lasted circa 45 minutes. Leaving William Thomson Hanging for around 30 minutes to ensure he was dead. The last hanging in Scotland took place in Aberdeen in 1963 a Henry John Burnett. WATER TOWER HOUSE The Water Tower was constructed for the Edinburgh Water Company in 1879. It is an octagonal polychrome brick water tower it was no longer required and was left empty form around 1946. Gerry Goldwyre and his wife purchased the Water Tower and converted it into a home. In 1994 Gerry won MasterChef. ROBERT BURNS FOUNTAIN The Burns Memorial Drinking Fountain was commissioned in 1896 by the Dalkeith Burns Club to mark the centenary of the death of Robert Burns and was paid for by the residents of Dalkeith. It was erected in Dalkeith’s High Street in 1899 and moved locations on several occasions but has now been returned to the High Street. The structure has four columns with a domed canopy. Known locally as the “Burns Monument”, it was not in fact installed until 1899 and, for many years after, was one of the main focal points in Dalkeith High Street. SINCLAIR’S of ROSLIN Henry Sinclair was born in Roslin Castle in 1345 and it is claimed that he travelled to lands west of the large ocean in 1398 making him the first to discover the Americas, Henry Sinclair was Lord of Shetland, 1st Earl of Orkney, Baron of Roslin and Grand Master Knights Templar. The Sinclair family were world travellers and fought in battles worldwide. When Henry Sinclair and his men were in the Americas one of the party Sir James Gunn died and a grave stone was carved and placed in his memory. This stone still remains now known as Prospect Hill, located in Westford, Massachusetts. This is known as the Westford Knight. ROSLIN CASTLE Roslin Castle is only 200 yards from Rosslyn Chapel the castle has been forgotten about but is worth a visit now a partial ruin it was originally built circa 1300 and has had a very turbulent history. There are stories of ghosts on horseback and a hound that prowls the woods around the castle. ROSSLYN CHAPEL The Earl and Countess of Rosslyn are the present owners of Rosslyn Chapel which was founded by their descendants in 1446. It has been brought to the attention of the world by the book and film The Da Vinci Code. Visit the chapel and grounds and take the tour which will tell you all about Rosslyn Chapel. Old Rosslyn Inn Next to Rosslyn Chapel was a resting place for travellers There has been many notable travellers stayed the night including Edward VII, Robert Burns, Walter Scott, William Wordsworth and his wife, Alexander Naysmith and Dr Johnson and James Boswell COUSLAND SMIDDY The Cousland Smiddy (Blacksmiths) on this site since circa 1700 attached a butt ‘n’ ben circa 1735 a small place to live. A later Blacksmiths cottage circa 1820 and a new workshop circa 1940. NATIONAL MINING MUSEUM SCOTLAND The National Coal Mining Museum opened in 1984. The Lady Victoria Colliery, was first mined in 1895. It closed its production in 1981. The Lady Victoria Colliery is the best preserved Victorian collier in Europe a place to see what people had to endure to bring coal to people's homes. BOY ON A PIT PONY The sculpture of a horse with a small boy on its back and a miner leading the Pit Pony in memory of all the miners that worked in the pits from childhood. DRYDEN TOWER Stands on the summit of a hill which gives views as far as the Forth Estuary. Dryden Tower built circa 1850 by the owners of Dryden House (Demolished) was for viewing their lands and shipping moving up and down the Firth of Forth. OXENFOORD CASTLE The original Tower House was inherited by Lady Dalrymple in 1799. Robert Adam, design a larger mansion house incorporating the Tower House at that time. The tower house built in the 12th century. The property was owned by the Dalrymple’s of Stair in 1760. It was used as a girls’ private boarding school for over 50 years and closed in 1984. It is now a private residence of the Dalrymple family. The castle can be booked for Private & Corporate Events and Weddings. BILSTON GLEN MINERS MEMORIAL Bilston Glen was a monster of coal mining, which began in the area circa 1685. At its height of production there was circa 2000 workers with up to a million tons of coal per year. The memorial in the centre of Loanhead is to the miners who died in the production of coal. MIDLOTHIAN ARTIFICIAL SKI SLOPS All year round Skiing and Snow Boarding The Ski slop is situated on the Pentland Hills On the outskirts of Edinburgh and is open to all. Opened in the 1960's it has been used for the training of the Olympic ski and boarders since 2010 There is a ski lift and floodlighting for evening use. COUSLAND CASTLE (Tower House) Records show that there has been a structure on the site circa 1200. The Castle was burned in 1529. Following the Battle of Pinkie in 1547, the castle was partially destroyed by Edward Seymour, Duke of Somerset. It was rebuilt and has passed through many families and was still in use in the 18th century Pathhead War Memorial CANTER by Andy Scott Unveiled by HRH Princess Royal in 2018 at the new veterinary building on the University of Edinburgh's Bush Estate TEMPLE VILLAGE MIDLOTHIAN The historic village of Temple, headquarters in Scotland of the Knights Templar from 1153 to circa 1310. The old Kirk is built prior to 1153. The village was originally known as Balantrodoch before 1570. It is known that King David I of Scotland, granted the manor and chapel of Balantrodoch to the Order of the Knights Templar in 1153. Old gravestones showing carved symbols of skull and crossbones, associated with death and the Knights Templar. Others gravestone carvings, the trowel and egg timer, and the symbol of the compass and set square are associate with the Freemasons PENICUIK HOUSE The Grounds of Penicuik House were in the same family for over 300 years. The Barony of Penicuik was acquired by John Clerk in 1654. The first house being Newbigging House which was demolished in 1761 and the present house Penicuik House was built. The house was extended with two large wings in 1857. Sadly a fire left the house as a ruin on the 16 June 1899. The only option was to convert the Stables to a new house in 1900. Penicuik House Preservation Trust (PHPT) has now restored the original Penicuik House that was burnt down in 1899 to its external magnificence. THE NEWBATTLE VIADUCT LOTHIANBRIDGE The Lothian Bridge has 23 arches which spans the River Esk. The Lothian Bridge Viaduct was built to join collieries in 1847 and carried the rail line from Edinburgh to Carlisle before closing in 1972. It is now being used for the Border railway linking Edinburgh with the Scottish Borders. HAWTHORNDEN CASTLE Hawthorndean Castle dates from the 15th century, The land owned by The Douglas's a powerful family with Royal connections. The poet Sir William Drummond of Hawthorndean , was born here. Visitors in 1618 by English poet Ben Jonson . In the following century Dr Johnson visited Hawthornden. This house has been much altered, including a major modernisation of the mid-19th century. The arms of the Abernethy family were installed above a door in 1795, by Dr William Abernethy Drummond , Bishop of Edinburgh . The bishop also added a memorial in honour of his ancestors Sir William Drummond and Sir Lawrence Abernethy of Hawthornden. Hawthornden Castle was owned by the Drummonds until the early 1970s. It was left to the butler when the last Drummond died, then sold to Douglas Adamson, a well known and respected fine art and antiques dealer from Edinburgh, and his family, who turned it back into a home. The house was also open to the public. The Adamson family lived there until the mid-1980s when Douglas Adamson died. The Castle was then sold to Drue Heinz , the widow of H. J. Heinz II . making it into a sanctuary for writers to peacefully live and work, called the Hawthorndean Literary Retreat There are a number of man-made caves in the cliffs beneath the castle. One cave serves as a doocot , with 370 compartments. There is a tradition that King Robert the Bruce and Sir Alexander Ramsay of Dalhousie once found shelter in the caves underneath it. Another cave nearby is known as Wallace's Cave , after William Wallace . West Lothian Attractions
- King's Stables Road | Grassmarket | All About Edinburgh
King's Stables Road where King James IV had stables and where Jousting tournaments took place between Knights of all countries. Access to Princes Street Gardens King’s Stables Road Grassmarket Edinburgh King’s Stables Road joins the Old town at the Grassmarket, with the New Town at Lothian Road, towering over King's Stables Road to the east is Edinburgh Castle and the Castle Rock. To the west is a car park where the Stables once stood and West Port Suburbs where Burke and Hare the murders once lived. The Kings Bridge which stretches over the King’s Stables Road is where the old town is joined to the New Town at Johnston Terrace and Castle Terrace. The street name originates from when the Stables of the King were on the west side of the street. You will also find the west gate entrance to West Princes Street Gardens in King’s Stables Road and the entrance to St Cuthbert’s Church. There is a Cottage that stands in King's Stables Road (King's Stables Cottage) to the east the only building in the street on that side. Royal Jousting Tournaments Chapel Wynd King's Stables Road Edinburgh Beneath the Castle walls the Royal Jousting Tournaments once took place. This was the ultimate test for Knights from many countries. Held by King James IV (last king to died in battle1513. During the reign of the Chivalrous and splendid James IV (who was crowned in Kelso) Edinburgh became celebrated throughout all Europe as the scene of Knightly feats. The favourite place for Royal tournaments was a spot of ground just below the Castle rock and near the King’s stables. There, James in particular, assembled the nobles by proclamation, for jousting, offering such meeds of honour as a golden-head lance, or similar favours. Presented by his own hand or that of some beautiful woman. Knights came from all countries to take part in these jousts. During the reign of James the IV Edinburgh became the resort of men high in every department of science and art circa 1500. The information has been taken from Volume 1 page 35 Old and New Edinburgh Commemoration of royal jousting tournaments during reign of James IV (1483 - 1513) King's Bridge King’s Stables Road Grassmarket Edinburgh King’s Bridge was built over 3 years by Thomas Hamilton, 1829-32 and opened in 1833 to give access from the old town by Johnston Terrace, the the west approach road, to the growing new town to the west. This bridge has four obelisk two on each side that dominates the central arch where the road goes through. The King's Stables Road from Lothian Road is one way and no access is available from the Grassmarket to Lothian Road by car. St Cuthbert's R.C. Church Edinburgh St Cuthbert's Church can be access from King's Stables Road. St Cuthbert is believed to have founded a church by the side of the Nor Loch at the foot of the Castle Rock. It is believed a church has stood on this site since 850 AD, making it Edinburgh’s oldest church building, history mentions St. Cuthbert’s church as far back as 1127. The Church steeple has been in place since 1789. The famous mathematician and inventor, John Napier is buried in the grave yard. In the graveyard are a number of famous people that help shape Edinburgh. Sir Henry Raeburn Painter, James Donaldson founder of Donaldson’s School, Catherine Sinclair author and Philanthropist main funder of the Scott Monument. Bum the Vagabond Dog King's Stables Road West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh Edinburgh and San Diego, California share a twinning link with a difference. Each city is home to a historic famous dog. Edinburgh has Greyfriars Bobby who died in 1872 at the age of 16 years and San Diego has Bum the vagabond dog who died in 1898 age 12 years. Bum can be found at the gate to West Princes Street Gardens of King Stable Road and Bobby stands in George IV Bridge at the top of Candlemaker’s Row, near the entrance to Greyfriars Kirk yard. Bum has now moved to the graveyard at St Cuthbert's Church King’s Stables Cottage King’s Stables Road Grassmarket Edinburgh The now called King's Stables Cottage was built circa 1835 as a school house to teach trades to the many poor of Edinburgh part of the St Cuthbert's church poorhouse system. It is now a cottage to let for visitors to Edinburgh. A unique place to stay next to Edinburgh Castle a Graveyard and Princes Street Gardens. Next - University of Edinburgh
- Whittingehame Vllage | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Whittingehame Attractions East Lothian Whittingehame House East Lothian Balfour Family Whittingehame Estate near Haddington East Lothian was purchased by James Balfour in 1817 when he had Whittingehame House built. He also had the village moved as it obstructed his view from his new house. James Balfour’s grandson Arthur Balfour, who was born in Whittingehame House served as Prime Minister from 1902 to 1905. As Foreign Secretary during the First World War he issued the “Balfour Declaration” which later led to the establishment of a Jewish homeland in Palestine. Viscount Traprain (Earl of Balfour) change Whittingehame House into a school between 1939 and 1941 for Jewish refugee children. Circa 200 children attended the school over the period. It then returned to a family home and then in 1950 for circa 10 years it was used as a school once again before being renovated into separate apartments. Whittingehame Parish Church East Lothian Whittingehame is a small village between Haddington and Dunbar just south of East Linton. The first church in the area was established by St Cuthbert circa 660, near Luggate (no remains of the church can be seen). In 1225 a new church at Whittingehame was built dedicated by the Bishop of St Andrews on 7 May 1245. After time the church needed replaced and in 1722 a new church was built. In 1820 James Balfour rebuilt the church which can be seen today. Whittingehame most famous resident was Arthur Balfour (Prime Minister of Britain) who is buried in the family aisle in the church. Whittingehame Tower In 1372 George de Dunbar, 10th Earl of March, gave to James Douglas of Dalkeith, (2nd Earl of Douglas and Mar) the manor of Whittingehame. The Douglas family remained owners over the next 300 years as the property transferred on marriage. Elizabeth (1632–1668) daughter of Sir Arthur Douglas married Alexander Seton in 1652 and their daughter also Elizabeth married William Hay of Duns in 1695. They in turn sold the lands and property to James Balfour 1817. Whittingehame Arboretum Whittingehame arboretum has many different varieties of tree, The oldest is over 700 years old a Yew tree that radius is enormous. Other trees are the Blue Gum one of the earliest trees planted in 1846. There is a Monkey Puzzle tree, beech trees, Acer pseudoplatanus 'Variegatum' and Lebanese Cedar. Whittingehame Yew Tree The Whittingehame Yew tree over 700 years old and 60 foot (19 mtrs) high. One of a few Yew trees that can be seen in the Lothians others are in Colinton where Robert Louis Stevenson would play on a swing in the churchyard. Ormiston Yew probably the Whittingehame Walled Garden The walled garden was maintained by Miss Alice Balfour while living at Whittingehame here husband, Lord 1905 Lord Arthur James Balfour (1st Earl of Balfour) had a Temple built outside the garden wall in 1905. He also installed Large gates to the walled garden. Lady Eleanor's Cottage, a 19th century Gothic cottage There is also a wellhead in the garden of the Tower and the Balfour palm tree crest appears on the garden gate dated 1956. Whittingehame Gothic Cottage Lady Eleanor's Cottage, was built in 1833 after the village had been moved by her husband. There is also a wellhead in the garden of the Tower and the Balfour palm tree crest appears on the garden gate dated 1956. Whittingehame War Memorial East Lothian The 1st World War memorial stands opposite the driveway to the Whittingehame Parish Church to commemorate the lives lost in the 1st World War. The Whittingehame War Memorial was unveiled by Arthur Balfour, Prime Minister, 1st earl of Balfour of Whittingehame and Viscount Traprain was born July 25, 1848 in Whittingehame House in 1920. The fallen named are; George Burgess, George Calder, James Gray, David Jarvis, James Jarvis, Peter Jarvis, William Keiller, William McLachlan, James Robertson, Charles Russell, David Stoddart Balfour Monument East Lothian The Obelisk stands on a high point over looking Whittingehame erected by the Yeoman Cavalry in 1858 Erected to the memory of James Maitland Balfour of Whittingehame, Major Commandant of the East Lothian Yeomanry Cavalry by the officers and non-commissioned officers of that Corps in testimony of their great respect and esteem of him as a Commanding Officer, of their affectionate regard for him as an amiable and able country gentleman and of their deep and lasting regret for his premature removal from among them. MDCCCLVIII Next - East Lothian Coastal Towns Villages
- Dirleton Village | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Dirleton famous for its Castle and Gardens from the 11th century. Also signs of an ironage settlement, with its old Kirk and on the Golf Coast witha golden sand beach ideal for a holiday. Dirleton Village East Lothian Coast Dirleton Castle Dirleton Village East Lothian Coast Before Dirleton Village was built there is evidence of an iron age settlement and a fortification on Craig’s Hill. On receiving the titles to the lands around the present village of Dirleton from David the 1st the Anglo Norman de Vaux family settled in the area. Dirleton Castle was built in the mid to late 1100s. John l de Vaux, Dirleton (John de Vallibus) lived between 1140 -1187 and died in Dirleton. Therefor the Castle was built in this period. The De Vaux towers an addition to the castle were built cica 1240 by his son Johannes de Vallibus. Dirleton Castle Dirleton Village East Lothian Coast Dirleton Castle as all large homes and Castles had a Do'cot. This was a house for pigeons to give fresh meat for the table. Always taking the younger birds as they were more tender. This is one of Scotland's best examples and could nest up to 1000 birds Dirleton Castle Gardens Dirleton Village East Lothian Coast The gardens in Dirleton Castle were laid out in the 19th century with the popular topiary trees and bushes and sculptured flower beds and many different tree types. Prior to the gardens there had been a bowling green. The gardens have continuously been developed through the Victorian times. There is a small museum in the tower at the entrance to the attraction. Dirleton Kirk Dirleton Village East Lothian Coast Dirleton Kirk (church) was built in 1612 at the time the village was being developed and the church in Gullane where everyone used, was no long practical. There is stain glass window in the kirk which depicts St Francis and the Animals. He was granted the lands of Dirleton in 1631 and became the fist Earl of Dirleton in 1646. He was a very wealthy landowner and merchant (probably the riches man in Britain) and was in the royal courts of both James VI and I, and Charles I. He died in 1652. Sir James Maxwell, 1st and only Earl of Dirleton is buried here. Pipers Stone Dirleton Village East Lothian Coast The Piper's Stone is the remains of stone cross situated in the centre of Dirleton village. Possible a cross which signified where the news or any proclamations were announced to the village residents. There is no defining age or when it was erected but could have been destroyed by Cromwell's army in 1651. Dirleton War Memorial Dirleton Village East Lothian Coast The memorial cross was dedicated to 31 men from Dirleton who gave their lives in the First World War. It was unveiled on Sunday 10th October 1920. A further four names have been added due to them giving their lives in the 2nd World War. The inscription read; To the deathless memory of the sons of Dirleton parish who laid down their lives in the Great War 1914 - 1918 The Cross was designed by Sir Robert Lorimer who also designed the Scottish National War Memorial in Edinburgh Castle. Yellowcraigs Beach Dirleton Village East Lothian Coast Yellowcraigs Beach and Fidra island are the site depicted in Robert Louis Stevenson’s novel Treasure Island. The lighthouse was design and built by Thomas Stevenson in 1885 Robert's father. The lighthouse became audible in 1929 when the Stevensons invented the talking beacon. The beach photo extends from Fidra Island, to in the far distance right, the Bass Rock. Next - North Berwick
- Leith Attractions | History and Tours | All About Edinburgh
Leith Edinburgh Suburb attractions from the 11th to 19th centuries. First written rules of Golf. Tourist attractions at the shore restaurants and shops, Royal Yacht Britannia, cruise ships Dock. Sunday Market and a host of history. Leith Edinburgh History, Attractions and Activities Leith Area Edinburgh Leith area Edinburgh or originally inverlet ‘the mouth of the Water of Leith’ which was two villages one on each side of the river estuary North and South Leith which were first joined by a bridge in 1493 and the oldest building that remains is St Ninian’s at the shore. Leith was chartered to Edinburgh by Robert the Bruce in 1329 giving the powers of Edinburgh control of Leith. In 1920 Leith became a part of Edinburgh. The Leith Area Timeline The first recorded mention of Leith was in 1143, when the area near the river estuary was granted to the Holyrood monks by David I. Known by the name Inverlet. Edward II mentions Leith in 1313 before the Battle of Bannockburn. The incorporation of institution of the Mariners’ happened in Leith 1380. Leith became a ship building area circa 1520. The French invaded Leith in 1548 for 12 years they took control. Finally in 1560 after many battles and a siege the French left Leith in the wake of destroying what they could. Mary Queen of Scots returned to Scotland from France in 1560 at the shore in Leith. The final outbreak of the black death or bubonic plague, (a acquired from the bite of an infected flea) took hold in Edinburgh and Leith, 1645. With circa 2,600 deaths of people living in South Leith (75% of the population). Huts were built on Leith Links where whole families were isolate to reduce the spread of infection. Cromwell took control of Leith in 1650 and had a base at the Citadel. Leith Area 17th Century On The Bank of Leith opened in 1806 with its own Leith currency. King George VI set foot on Scottish soil at the Shore invited by Sir Walter Scott in 1822. The “Leith Act” was passed by Parliament in 1827. Leith Nautical College was opened in 1855 The building resembling a ship. The Leith Improvement Act was passed in 1880. A free home for retired Sailors’ was built in 1883 at the Shore. Now the building is a Hotel. The first trains arrived in Leith when Leith Central station opened at the junction of Leith Walk and Duke Street in 1903. Finally Leith became a part of Edinburgh in 1920. James Simpson (1830–1894) was a highly influential 19th-century Scottish architect who served as the Burgh Assessor and Town Architect of Leith. He designed Leith and its important buildings. Queen Victoria Kirkgate Leith This Statue was to commemorate the reign of Queen Victoria and her visit to Leith in 1842. She died in 1901. It is also a war memorial to the memory of the Scots Guards from the area that died in the Boar War. It was unveiled by Lord Rosebery who was the Liberal Prime Minister 1894-5 and the ceremony was watched by a crowd of over 20,000 people. Leith became a part of Edinburgh in 1920. The meaning of Leith is broad river. Trinity House Museum Leith Edinburgh The original mariner’s house built in 1555 on this site was an Almshouse for the retired and poor that wished to stay within the seafaring community. The present building replacing the original Almshouse was built in 1816. Explore Trinity house and see the treasures the mariners returned home with from their travels. There are old marine maps, navigation equipment and ships models. There are also paintings and manuscripts that tell the stories of the sailors of the 14th century to this day. Trinity House Museum South Leith Parish Church Leith Edinburgh The first church built was St Mary’s in 1483, over the centuries famous people have used the church such as Mary of Guise and Oliver Cromwell. The church has been used as a prison and the General Assembly was held here. Many parts of the church have been replaced since first built, with the ceiling being replace during the renovations of 1847, a Hammer beam ceiling was installed which is still present and will take your breath away. St Mary’s Star of the Sea Church Leith Edinburgh St Mary Star of the Sea was built mainly due to the emigration of Irish families due to the potato famine between 1845 and 1849. Many Irish Catholics families came to Leith and there was a lack of Catholic churches to satisfy the large congregations. The Church of St Mary Star of the Sea was Completed in 1854 and is within the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of St Andrews and Edinburgh. Leith Town Hall Leith Edinburgh The Town Hall and Sheriff Court on the corner of Constitution Street and Queens Charlotte Street was built in 1828. A new Town Hall was open in 1929 after leith joined Edinburgh but was nearly destroyed by bombings in 1941 during the 2nd World War. The Town Hall was Converted to police and burgh offices in 1868, becoming the Leith Police headquarters. Merging with Edinburgh Police in 1920 when Leith became part of Edinburgh. S. M. J. & Co (established 1840, incorporated 1899) Over front door, also on building are Stone Plaques 5 - 6 Quality Street (Street change name in 1967 Maritime Street ) 1893 Javance (Uncover) Spe vires augentur (Our powers are augmented by hope ) S. M. J. & Co was a historic cooperage and warehousing company of Leith, 5-6 Maritime Street, which served as their headquarters and bonded warehouse. They were a coopers, making wooden barrels for the whisky and wine industry in Leith. Leith Assembly Rooms Exchange Building Leith Edinburgh The exchange buildings were built by subscription as a meeting place for merchants, which included the Assembly Rooms that opened in 1783 and an extension in 1810 which was the Leith Exchange. This was where everything from commerce to entertainment was centred. A Leith Hero Eric “Winkle” Brown Leith Edinburgh Eric Melrose Brown 21 January 1919 – 21 February 2016. Eric was born in Leith Area a port outside of Edinburgh. Captain Eric Melrose Brown known as Winkle due to his slight stature was an amazing man and record holder. His father was a pilot and as a young boy Eric was involved in aviation. Captain Eric Brown’s first flight was on his fathers’ knee. He became Britain’s most decorated test pilot in the Royal Air Force. Flying 487 different types of aircraft. He was also the first person to land a plane on an aircraft carrier. He saw Jesse Owens in the 1936 Olympics, witnessed the horrors of Belsen and awarded and the CBE, MBE and OBE. He was to continue flying aircraft until he was 70 years old. He also was a published author of books and lived till he was 97 years of age. Robert Burns Statue Leith Edinburgh Robert Burns died at the age of 37. He was known as the Ploughman poet. He is widely regarded as the national poet of Scotland. Burns was born two miles south of Ayr, in Alloway South Ayrshire, Scotland. Robert Burns was the eldest of seven children. He travelled the world and had many love interests and had 9 children. Robert Burns is buried in St. Michael’s Churchyard, Dumfries, Scotland. Robert Burns’ brother Gilbert Burns (1760 – 1827) and mother, Agnes Broun 17 March 1732 – 14 January 1820 (and later his sister Annabella) moved to Bolton East Lothian from Ayrshire. Gilbert oversaw the building of the new Bolton parish church which was completed in 1809. The cottage at Grant’s Brae is no longer there, the house was demolished and a roadside monument stands in its place. No more than one hundred yards northeast lies the drinking well used by the Burns family. It was lovingly restored in 1932 and dedicated to Agnes Broun. The dedication states: “Drink of the pure crystals and not only be ye succoured but also refreshed in the mind. To the mortal and immortal memory and in noble tribute to her, who not only gave a son to Scotland but to the whole world and whose own doctrines he preached to humanity that we might learn? Burns 1759 – 1796 “The priest-like father reads the sacred page – from scenes like these old Scotia’s grandeur springs, that makes her loved at home, revered abroad:” “I there wi something did forgather, that pat me in an eerie swither:” Presented by Robert Meikle “When Vulcan gies his bellows breath an plowmen gather wi’ their graith” “In order, on the clean hearth-stane the luggies three are ranged:” Hallow’een Presented by William Tulloch Leith Bank Building Leith Edinburgh Leith Bank was established in 1792 and printed Leith bank notes and was trading from its purpose built premises at 25 Bernard Street from 1806. It was common place for towns in Scotland to print their own money. The funding came from local wealth merchants. Leith Bank did not stay open long as it closed due to lack of funds in 1842. Leith Union Bank Leith Edinburgh Union Bank of Scotland in Leith (1871): the Union Bank of Scotland built a branch at 28 Bernard Street, The Union Bank of Scotland, the Glasgow Union Bank was formed in 1830, the Glasgow Union Bank taking over many smaller local Scottish banks to form the Union Bank of Scotland based in Leith until the merger of the Union Bank with the Bank of Scotland in 1954. Reverend John Home Leith Edinburgh Reverend John Home was a poet and playwright and was born in Maritime Street Leith in 1722. He is remember for his play Douglas which was first performed in the Playhouse Theatre Canongate in 1756 Robertson Sanderson & Co 11-14 Maritime Street (previously Quality Street until 1967) Original building 11 and 12 was built 1892 as a warehouse in 1900 13 + 14 were added for a wine and spirit merchant Robertson Sanderson & Co. The Renaissance-style architecture, of 13 – 14 features a dome, ashlar frontage. Acanthus leaves and grapes, and the head of Bacchus, the Roman god of wine. Two shields one with (R.S. & Co Ltd). And the other (EST’D 1846) In May 1863 William Sanderson after obtaining licences made his first recipe. A whisky mixture of Glenlivet, Pitlochry and grain whiskies. In 1822 he put samples of almost one hundred of his blends in separate small numbered vats and invited experts to choose which they liked the best. All chose the vat numbered 69. Sanderson’s VAT69 became the premier grade blend of Sanderson’s. North British Distillery in Gorgie Edinburgh Grain Whisky producer which is still open and working today was Established in 1885 by William Sanderson Read more about the Sanderson dynasty on https://leithlocalhistorysociety.org.uk/william-sanderson-son-ltd/ Corn Exchange Leith Edinburgh The Corn Exchange building was built in 1861 marketing hall to deal with the sale and purchase of agricultural goods. The building has a frieze which runs down the Constitution Street side of the building which depicts cherubs at work in the agricultural services. The frieze was sculpted by John Rhind. West Bowling Green Street Bridge Leith Edinburgh William Beatson was the engineer that built the bridge in west Bowling Green Street in 1886. It is a Single span bridge with a single cobbled road which spans the Water of Leith. The road is now pedestrian only and can be accessed from The Quilts or west Bowling Green Street. Leith Fort Leith Edinburgh In 1779 Leith was threatened by a fleet of ships led by John Paul Jones, (a native Scot from Galloway) Known as the Father of the United States Navy. The attack was thwarted by the weather and Leith survived. A Fort, manned by the Royal Artillery, was then constructed in North Leith to defend against future attacks. Leith fort was designed by James Craig of Edinburgh and the Fort was constructed in 1780. The Royal Artillery occupied the fort in 1793. The Fort was increased in size during the Napoleonic War to accommodate French prisoners. Leith Fort saw no action and was manned with a battalion until 1957. All that remains of the fort is part of the walls and the two gate houses. There are also a number of canon still on site. Norwegian Seaman’s Church Leith Norwegian Seaman’s Church Leith was built in 1868 by Johan Storjohn a divinity graduate from Bergen Norway who arrived in Edinburgh in 1863 and could not find a church for Scandinavian people. At the time there were many Scandinavian sailors as the whaling fleet of Christian Salvesen was registered in Leith. Norwegian King Olav V visited the church in 1962. Miracle at Sea Norwegian Church Leith “Vim Stone” In the Garden of the Church is a stone named the “Vim Stone”. The stone was named after a Norwegian ship which ran aground in 1937 and was letting in water and would have sunk with loss of life. The rocks the ship hit, part broke off and plugged the hole and saved the ship, which finished its journey to Leith. . The sailors on the ship removed the rock fragment and took it to the church, where it can be seen in the garden to this day. The inscription reads DENNE STEN FRA NORGES BUNN BRAGTE ‘VIM’ SOM GIKK PA GRUNN David Kilpatrick Public School Leith Memorial Stone David Kilpatrick School was built between 1913 and 1915 and was first used as a barracks before becoming a school in 1919, which it was its original purpose. The inscription on the memorial stone reads: “David Kilpatrick” Public School, Leith. The Memorial Stone of this public school was laid on 27th September 1913 by the Right Honourable R.C. Munro Ferguson P.C. L.L.D. M.P. For Leith District of Burghs members of the school board. Rev. David Kilpatrick (Chairman) Mrs. Elizabeth Logan Calder, Mr. James Murphy, Mr. J. Duncan Cran, Rev. M. O’Reilly, Mrs. Janet Cruickshank, Rev. James M. Stott M.A., Mr. James Dempster, Mr. Thomas Scott, Mr. John Garden, Mr. Wm. L. Sharp, Miss Clarice M. McNab, Mr George W. Tait S.S.C. Mr Frank J. Trotter, clerk and treasurer, Mr George Craig, licentiate, R.I.B.A., architect. The building was ready for occupancy on 1st September, 1915; but owing to the premises being required for military purposes in connection with the great European war, they were not fully utilised for educational work until 2nd September 1919. Leith Town Hall Complex Leith Town Hall Complex consists of Thomas Morton Hall a venue that holds upto 200 people. The Theatre which concerts and weddings are held plus the public Library building. Thomas Morton Hall Leith Thomas Morton was born in Leith in October 1781 and became a shipbuilder. Opening his own company. In 1818 Thomas Morton was the inventor of the slipway, a way to haul ships in and out of the water. Thomas Morton lived at 1 Pilrig Place Leith. He died in 1832 and is buried in South Leith church burial grounds. The hall that is part of the Town Hall Complex was named in his memory. Leith Theatre The Leith Theatre complex was a gift fro Edinburgh Council when Leith became a part of Edinburgh in 1920. After many years of building the theatre opened in 1932. With the complex being bombed in 1941 the theatre did not open again until 1961 when renovations and rebuild was complete. The theatre building now operates by a trust and is a creative hub for all. Leith Public Library The Library was built in 1929 and bombed in 1941 then rebuilt and opened in 1955. Mount Falcon Battery Site Leith Edinburgh This is said to be where Officer Falcon had an artillery battery in the siege of Leith in 1560 prior to the French disregarding Leith due to Mary Queen of Scots intervention. There were 3 battery's The other two were Mount Pelham and Mount Somerset, known today as Giant's Brae in Leith Links The Protestant and English forces gun mounts to bombard the fortifications of the French army. The bombardment, and naval blockade and resulted in the French forces surrendering and signing the Treaty of Treaty of Leith, on 6 July 1560 between representatives of Queen Elizabeth I of England, the Scottish Lords of the Congregation, and King Francis II of France and Mary, Queen of Scots. This was the end of the Auld Alliance and all French troops were sent from the British Isles Leith Provident Buildings Leith Edinburgh The Leith Provident Co-operative Society built their first department store in 1911 on Great Junction Street Leith Gurdwara Nanak Leith Edinburgh The first Sikh families to arrive in Edinburgh were in 1958 from the Punjab. The Sikh place of worship is a Gurdwara and the first Gurdwara was a house in Leith in 1964. In 1976 the present Gurdwara was opened at 1 Sheriff Brae Edinburgh. Previous to the Gurdwara it was St Thomas’s Church which was built in 1843. The Sikh religion was founded by Guru Nanak, he was born in 1469 A.D. It is believed that the Sikh religion was first preached in 1496 in the Punjab by Guru Nanak. Dr Andrew Bell School Leith Edinburgh Dr Bell's School Junction Street Leith was built in 1838 and acquired by Leith school board in 1882 from the Bell Trust. Dr Andrew Bell founded schools worldwide using the educational system that he founded. Andrew Bell was born in St Andrews in 1753. He became a Scottish Episcopalian priest and teacher who pioneered the Madras System of Education. He was founder of The Madras College St Andrews. More on St Andrews on www.allaboutedinburgh.co.uk/st-andrews-attractions He first was a teacher in the Americas during the 1770’s. He returned to Britain in 1871 and was a minister at Episcopal Chapel in Leith. Leith Swimming Baths Leith Edinburgh Leith swimming baths is a part of the original Bell’s School which was acquired by the Leith school board in 1896. Leith Vaults Leith Edinburgh The oldest warehouse and cellar for wine in the Leith Area is the Vaults previously known as the Black Vaults. The oldest part of the Vaults now is 1682, but were on this site much earlier possibly circa 1540. Porters’ Stone Leith Edinburgh The Porters Stone or Stingmans Plaque was originally in Tolbooth Wynd before it was moved to Sugarhouse Close Leith, then was put for safekeeping in the National Museum Edinburgh, the copy in Henderson street of the original carving 1670 gives a picture of how wines and spirits were transported from Leith. Leith was the main supplier of Wine to Edinburgh with circa 250,000 p.a. The Stingmen were the workers at the warehouse that moved the barrels of wine. Leith Improvement Scheme Memorial Stone First Artisans Dwellings Henderson Street was built as part of the Leith Improvement Scheme, a Bill which became an Act of Parliament known as the Artisans and Labourers Dwellings Act, Henderson Street was named after Dr John Henderson the lord Provost of Leith from 1875 to 1881 The area Henderson street was built on was previously over a dozen close’s which had terrible living conditions. 1563 The year 1563 was significant due to the Siege of Leith. This was the end of the twelve-year occupation of French troops at the port of Leith. The siege of 1559 was by the Scottish Protestant nobles and English forces under Queen Elizabeth I. The French troops left peacefully under the terms of a treaty signed by all three nations (Scotland, England, and France). Leith Links First Written Rules of Golf Leith Links is where the first rules of golf where written in 1744 for a golf tournament, 13 rules in all. There had only been 5 rules players had played to before. The oldest golf course to be mentioned in history is in fact Bruntsfield Links with the oldest golf club house the Golf Tavern. Which is where the Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers were first based as were the oldest golfing society the Burghers (Royal Burgess Golfing Society) incorporated in 1735. Leith Links course has the honour of the first official tournament to rules. Link - Golf Rules and History Giants’ Brae Leith Links Edinburgh The are two small hills on Leith Links which both have names, the one pictured is “Giant’s Brae” or “Somerset's Battery”, the other being Lady Fyfe’s Brae or Pelham's Battery these were said to be constructed as artillery mounds dated from 1560 when the siege of Leith took place Pilrig House Leith Area Edinburgh The original Pilrig House was owned by Sir Patrick Moneypenny and he sold the land to Gilbert Kirkwood in 1623 who rebuilt the house in 1638. The Balfour family purchased the house in 1718. James Balfour’s great-grandson was Robert Louis (Balfour) Stevenson, Robert’s father married a member of the Balfour family and his great grandfather was born in Pilrig house in 1777. The Balfour family remained in Pilrig House till 1941. In 1971 a fire destroyed the house but luckily the history of the house and owners were seen to be important enough for the house to be rebuilt and restored to its original look in 1982 when the work started and is now complete Professor John Barlow Blue Plaque Professor John Barlow eminent Quaker scientist. Professor of Anatomy and Physiology at the Royal Veterinary College Edinburgh. He was a highly respected member of the Edinburgh scientific community. Much loved member of the Religious Society of Friends. Husband of Eliza Nicholson (1813-1894) and father of Alfred (1851-1899). He was a leading Quaker pacifist and first manager of the Bourneville Village Trust. John Henry Barlow (1855-1924) lived here 1851-1856. Next - Leith Shore Edinburgh
- George IV Bridge | Shops & Businesses | All About Edinburgh
George IV Bridge Edinburgh has a junction with the Royal Mile. With Cafes one of which is where Harry Potter was written. Shops local and tourist, accommodation, Greyfriars Bobby, National Musem of Scotland an the French Consulate with a great Bistrot. All the streets are the old town Edinburgh. George IV Bridge Area Shops, Food, Drink, Entertainment, Accommodation Streets on this page include George IV Bridge, Greyfriars Place, Forrest Road, Forrest Hill, Chamber Street, Merchant Street and Guthrie Street. George IV Bridge History & Attractions George IV Bridge Shops Advertise Your Business Here GEORGE IV BRIDGE EDINBURGH Restaurant Cucina's Restaurant 1 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 240 1666 Hotel G & V 's Hotel 1 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 6666 Restaurant Ondine Restaurant 2 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1888 3 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1AG City of Edinburgh Scotland Library Central Library 7 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1AG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 242 8000 Takeaway Deli Global 11 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 3690 College Wallace College 12 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 3634 Restaurant Outsider Restaurant 15 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 3131 Advertise Your Business Here GEORGE IV BRIDGE EDINBURGH Restaurant Vittoria On the Bridge Restaurant 19 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1740 Restaurant Elephant House Café Bistro 21 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 5355 Café Bistro Patisserie Valerie 24 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 2092 Bar and Club Frankenstein Bar and Night Club 26 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 662 1818 Bistro Café Florentine 27 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 9150 Book Shop McCall Barbour’s Books 28 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4816 Souvenir and Gifts Bridge Express 30 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 929 7832 Takeaway Pizza Paradise 32 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 6706 Advertise Your Business Here GEORGE IV BRIDGE EDINBURGH Restaurant Lucano and Ross Café Bistro 37 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 6690 Restaurant Cellar Door Restaurant 44 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 4155 Newsagent Paper Rack 45 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3461 Takeaway Yum Yum 48 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Restaurant Villager Restaurant 49 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 2781 Takeaway Uncle's 51 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 261 6398 Bar & Restaurant George IV Bar 54 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 6936 Library National Library of Scotland 58 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 623 3700 Café Café National Library 58 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 623 3700 Greyfriars Kirk Museum Greyfriars Graveyard Tour Greyfriars Shops GREYFRIARS PLACE EDINBURGH Gift Shop Creepy wee shop in the Graveyard Greyfriars Place Edinburgh EH1 2QQ City of Edinburgh 0131 225 9044 Church Greyfriars Kirk Greyfriars Place Edinburgh EH1 2QQ City of Edinburgh 0131 225 1900 Museum Greyfriars Museum Greyfriars Place Edinburgh EH1 2QQ City of Edinburgh 0131 225 1900 Advertise Your Business Here ADVERTISE HERE GREYFRIARS PLACE EDINBURGH Art Shop Greyfriars Art Shop 1 Greyfriars Place Edinburgh EH1 2QQ City of Edinburgh 0131 225 4600 Jewellery and Gifts Joe Cool jewellery and Gifts 3 Greyfriars Place Edinburgh EH1 2QQ City of Edinburgh 0131 225 4881 Sandwich Bar Bobby's Sandwich Bar 4 Greyfriars Place Edinburgh EH1 2QQ City of Edinburgh 0131 225 8328 Chamber Street History & Attractions Chamber Street Shops Advertise Your Business Here CHAMBER STREET EDINBURGH Bar and Restaurant Biblos Restaurant 1 Chamber Street Edinburgh EH11HU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 7177 Night Club and Bar The Jazz Bar 1a Chamber Street Edinburgh EH1 1HR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 4298 Electrical Store Richer Sounds 1b Chamber Street Edinburgh EH1 1HR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0333 900 0026 Edinburgh University Adam House 3 Chamber Street Edinburgh EH1 1HR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 651 2120 Law Courts Procurator Fiscal 25 Chamber Street Edinburgh EH1 1LA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0845 561 3875 CHAMBER STREET EDINBURGH Law Courts Sheriff Court 27 Chamber Street Edinburgh EH1 1LB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 2525 Law Courts Crown Court 29 Chamber Street Edinburgh EH1 1LB City of Edinburgh Scotland Restaurant Tower Restaurant National Museum Chamber Street Edinburgh EH1 1JF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3003 Night Club Cocktail Bar Revolution Cocktail Bar & Night Club 30a Chamber Street Edinburgh EH1 1HU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 5679 GUTHRIE STREET EDINBURGH Hostel Euro Hostel 4 Guthrie Street Edinburgh EH1 1JT City of Edinburgh 0845 490 0461 Night Club Mash House 37 Guthrie Street Edinburgh EH1 1JG City of Edinburgh 0131 220 2987 Advertise Your Business Here CHAMBER STREET EDINBURGH Restaurant Nando's Restaurant 32a Chamber Street Edinburgh EH1 1JB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 0710 National Museum of Scotland Museum of Antiquities Chamber Street Edinburgh EH1 1JF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0300 123 6789 National Museum of Scotland Chamber Street Edinburgh EH1 1JF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0300 123 6789 Restaurant Tower Restaurant Chamber Street Edinburgh EH1 1JF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3003 FORREST HILL EDINBURGH Apartments Self Catering Apartment 3-6 Forrest Hill Edinburgh EH1 2QL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 555 2596 Forrest Road Shops ADVERTISE HERE FORREST ROAD EDINBURGH Restaurant Mums Great Comfort Food 4a Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 260 9806 Soup Café Union of Genius 8 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 4436 Restaurant Cappadocia Restaurant 10 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 3234 Pub McSorleys 14 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 5954 Restaurant Koyama Restaurant 20 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 3DX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 6555 Kauai Café Diner Deli 26 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QN City of Edinburgh Scotland Rudi's Deli 30 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 6434 Doctors Bar and Diner 32 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 2251819 ADVERTISE HERE FORREST ROAD EDINBURGH Computer Repairs Simply fixit 1 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 549 8820 Barbers The Golden Scissors Barbers 3 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 5414 Sushi Stop 7 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QH City of Edinburgh Scotland Subway Sandwich Shop 11 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QH City of Edinburgh Scotland Bowls 13 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QH City of Edinburgh Scotland Newsagent Forrest Road News 24 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QN City of Edinburgh Scotland Namaste Kathmandu Restaurant 17 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 2273 Che Takeaway 21 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QH City of Edinburgh Scotland Sandy Bells Bar 25 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 2751 ADVERTISE HERE FORREST ROAD EDINBURGH Travel Agent STA Travel 27 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 261 5771 Post Office 33 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3957 Greggs Baker 43 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 3953 Mackenzie and Co Chemist 45 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 7770 Civerinos Slice Pizzeria 49 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 7770 Travel Agent Flight Centre 53 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 6868 Bar Burrito 55 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 6868 Paolozzi Restaurant 59 -61 Forrest Road Edinburgh EH1 2QP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 259 0047 ADVERTISE HERE ADVERTISE HERE ADVERTISE HERE Candlemakers' Row shops CANDLEMAKERS'ROW EDINBURGH Closed 4 Lochrin Buildings Edinburgh EH3 9NB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 466 1883 Bobby's Café 21 Candlemaker Row Edinburgh EH1 2QG City of Edinburgh Scotland Little Ox Gallery 23 Candlemaker Row Edinburgh EH1 2QG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 0474 Love Hate Tattoo 27 Candlemaker Row Edinburgh EH1 2QG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 0973 Greyfriars Bobby 30 Candlemaker Row Edinburgh EH1 2QE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 8328 Oz Bar 33 Candlemaker Row Edinburgh EH1 2QG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 7190 Pi-Ku Collective 39 Candlemaker Row Edinburgh EH1 2QB City of Edinburgh Scotland Joyce Forsyth 42 Candlemaker Row Edinburgh EH1 2QE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 4112 CANDLEMAKERS' ROW EDINBURGH Hannah Zakari 43 Candlemaker Row Edinburgh EH1 2QB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 516 3264 Tang’s 44 Candlemaker Row Edinburgh EH1 2QE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 5000 Transreal 46 Candlemaker Row Edinburgh EH1 2QE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 6266 Venus Fly Trap Tattoos 50 Candlemaker Row Edinburgh EH1 2QE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 4971 Still Life 54 Candlemaker Row Edinburgh EH1 2QE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 8524 Avizandum 56 Candlemaker Row Edinburgh EH1 2QE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 3373 Maple Arts 62 Candlemaker Row Edinburgh EH1 2QE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 1096 Grassmarket Community Project 86 Candlemaker Row Edinburgh EH1 2QE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3626 MERCHANT STREET EDINBURGH Divino Wine Bar Restaurant 5 Merchant Street Edinburgh EH1 2QD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1770 Drop Kick Murphy's 7 Merchant Street Edinburgh EH1 2QD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 2002 The Wee Hostel 9 Merchant Street Edinburgh EH1 2QD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 5152 Bobby's Bunkhouse 9a Merchant Street Edinburgh EH1 2QD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 5152 Merchants 17 Merchant Street Edinburgh EH1 2QD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4009 Next - Grassmarket Shops & Businesses
- George Street | Edinburgh New Town | All About Edinburgh
George Street Edinburgh New Town the centre of Edinburgh's New Town named after George III who had the new town built due to overcrowding. George Street has Everything visitors to Edinburgh are looking for. George Street Edinburgh Hanover Street & Frederick Street Edinburgh Edinburgh George Street built as the main Street of the Edinburgh New Town and named after King George III runs parallel with Princes Street to the south and Queen Street to the north. George Street has become the main Street for Edinburgh's nightlife, dinning drinking and shopping with Statues, historic Buildings, Churches, Monuments and a Square and gardens at each end. Crossing over George Street from north to south are Hanover Street, Frederick Street and Castle Street. Thomas Chalmers George Street Edinburgh Thomas Chalmers 17 March 1780 – 31 May 1847 Thomas Chalmers was a Scottish minister, professor of theology, political economist, and a leader of the Free Church of Scotland. He has been called, "Scotland's greatest nineteenth-century churchman". He was highly regarded during his lifetime as a natural theologian. Thomas Chalmers died in his house in Morningside Edinburgh. Thomas Chalmers was interred in the Grange Cemetery. Thomas Chalmers Statue Grand Lodge of Scotland George Street Edinburgh Freemasons Hall situated at 96 George Street is the worldwide Head Office of the Grand Lodge of Scotland. Freemasonry began in Scotland and is the oldest secular fraternal society in the world. It was recorded in Scotland before 1598. Foundation Stone 1858. William Pitt the Younger George Street Edinburgh William Pitt (28 May 1759 – 23 January 1806) was a Tory politician and is the youngest Prime Minister that has served in Great Britain at the age 24. William Pitt the younger’s father, William Pitt the Elder, also served as Prime Minister of Great Britain in 1766. William Pitt used the younger to differentiate between himself and his father. William Pitt was prime minister at the time of the war with France and he was also friends with William Wilberforce and encouraged him to fight to abolish the slave trade in Britain, which he was successful in doing. Unfortunately, it was one year after William Pitt’s death that by act of parliament The Slave Trade Act of 1807 was agreed. The Assembly Rooms George Street Edinburgh The Assembly Rooms opened in 1787, the Assembly Rooms were created as a meeting place, a place to be entertained and a place Royalty used for banquets. The Edinburgh Festival Fringe used it for shows and the centre for meeting after the shows. The 18th century building has survived and is still used for the same purpose since its opening in 1787. There has been a wide range of distinguished guests and historical events. The building has been renovated and returned to its former glory, the interior architectural significance preserved and enhanced. A ballroom, music hall, drawing rooms, crush hall, restaurant and café provide elegant backdrops for all occasions. King George IV George Street Edinburgh George IV Statue A statue of George IV stands in George Street at the junction of Hanover Street the area once named George Circle was unveiled on 26 November 1831. To commemorate the visit of King George IV on Thursday 15th August 1822 and departed from Queensferry on Thursday 29th August 1822. George IV Bridge Edinburgh was named after the King in memory of his visit in 1822. Royal Society of Edinburgh George Street Edinburgh The RSE was created in 1783 by Royal Charter for “the advancement of learning and useful knowledge”. As many professional bodies and societies of Edinburgh the first meetings of their organisations were held in rooms in the Edinburgh University Old College. The Royal Society of Edinburgh was no different they began with meetings in the library wing in 1807 then moved to another popular meeting place in the day the Physicians Hall in George street eventually moving after short stays in other places to the present building in George Street in 1909. The Royal Society of Edinburgh is a registered charity in Scotland for education and providing the public benefit throughout Scotland. St Andrew's and St George's West Church George Street Edinburgh ST Andrew's Church George Street Edinburgh was built in 1784 and named after St. Andrew Square. St George's Church in Charlotte Square Edinburgh was built in St George Square, renamed Charlotte Square after King George the III’s wife Charlotte and was united with St Andrew church Edinburgh in 1964, forming St Andrew and St George. In 2010 it was also united with the St Andrew west church in Shandwick Place Edinburgh and became St Andrew and St George West Church. Also a place that Rod Stewart Singer and entertainer had his child christened. Royal Caledonian Horticultural Society Plaque George Street Edinburgh Scotland’s Royal Caledonian Horticultural Society Plaque George Street Edinburgh is on the site where Scotland’s Royal Caledonian Horticultural Society was founded.in 1809 by Dr Andrew Duncan. It became the Royal Caledonian Horticultural Society in 1778 by charter of George III. This was the original site of the Royal College of Physicians. This was also a previous site of the Physic Garden from 1675 -1763. George Street Edinburgh James Clark Maxwell James Clark Maxwell was born in 1831 at 14 India Street Edinburgh and died in 1879. James Clerk Maxwell was one of the greatest scientists that ever lived. He was the scientist who discovered, the theory of electromagnetism. He is named as the father of modern physics. He also made essential contributions to mathematics, astronomy and engineering. Radio, television, radar and communications, all derive from Maxwell's discovery. Albert Einstein said: "The special theory of relativity owes its origins to Maxwell's equations of the electromagnetic field”. Ivan Tolstoy, in his biography of Maxwell, wrote: “Maxwell's importance in the history of scientific thought is comparable to Einstein’s (whom he inspired)” maxwell Statue Below are a number of occupants of George Street from over 100 years previous 3 Major Fraser 5 William Creech 19 Caledonian Insurance 25 James Ferrier 32 Francis Grant 45 Blackwood's Bookshop 47 Wilkie of Foulden 75 Anne Rutherford (Walter Scott's mother) 78 Sir John Hay 86 Sir William Forbes 89 Gray and Sons Hardware 1902 92 Lord Jeffrey 93 A Melrose & Co Grocers 1780 98 Grand Lodge Scotland 101 Union Bank 1874 108 Sir Walter Scott 1797 116 Archibald Colquhoun Lord Advocate of Scotland 1807 117 Butters of Pitlochry 122 Murray of Henderland 123 Sir John Watson Gordon President of RSA 128 Mercantile Bank of India London & China 133 Sir John Sinclair of Ulbster Frederick Street Frederick Street Edinburgh Frederick Street runs north to south crossing George Street starting at Princes Street and ending at Queen Street. Named after King George III father Frederick. There are retail shops. Pubs, night clubs, restaurants and residences. At the junction of George Street a statue of William Pitt the Younger Prime Minister of Britain. The junction with Princes Street and Frederick Street is the best place for a picture of the Edinburgh Castle. The Cavalryman and Horse on the Princes Street Gardens side at the foot of Frederick Street is a memorial to the Royal Scots Greys Cavalry Regiment . Hanover Street Edinburgh Hanover Street is in the centre of princes street going north with retail shopping, restaurants, pubs and night clubs originally residential with a number of businesses. Hanover Street was named by King George III after the Royal House of Hanover. King George IV stands looking down Hanover Street in Highland Dress a stipulation made by Sir Walter Scott when he invited the king to Edinburgh in 1822. Hanover Street starts at Princes Street and ends at Queen Street. Hanover Street Alexander Bain Electric Clock and Telegraph Inventor Alexander Bain had a workshop at 21 Hanover Street Edinburgh for circa 4 years from 1844, with inventions of the chemical telegraph and electric fire alarms and the electric clock which he patented in 1841. Merchant’s Hall Hanover Street Edinburgh Merchant Company of Edinburgh The Merchant Company of Edinburgh was established in 1681. The previous name was the Guidry before it became a society. Their first meeting hall was in the Cowgate Edinburgh and they then moved to Hunter Square before moving to its final home of Hanover Street. The Merchant Company was a watch dog for Edinburgh looking after the concerns and needs of the people. Over time the wealthy would leave their estates to be administered by the Merchant Company by way of a trust. This resulted in with well-judged investments the Merchant Company become the largest land owners in Scotland. The Merchant Company in 1694 with a donation from Mary Erskine a widow, which established Mary Erskine School. With other donations and bequests and trusts, further education facilities were opened, George Watson’s College in 1741, George Watson was an accountant, and merchant banker and the first accountant of the Bank of Scotland, James Gillespie’s High School in 1803, James Gillespie was a local Tobacconist in the High Street Edinburgh and Daniel Stewart held an appointment in the Court of Exchequer, Daniel Stewart’s College in 1855 which is now ESMS (Erskine, Stewart, Melville Schools). John Watson’s School in built in 1828 at 75 Belford Road next to the Dean Cemetery. The Edinburgh Chamber of Commerce was established as an off shoot of the Merchant’s Society of Edinburgh in 1786. Next - North Castle Street
- 4x4 off road driving Edinburgh | Information | All About Edinburgh
Activities and thing to do in and around edinburgh 4x4 off road driving edinburgh experience motor sports, high octain thrills accommodation venues 4 x 4 Off Road Driving Edinburgh OFF ROAD DRIVING IN 4 X4 LAND ROVERS Back to Activities Advertise your Business Here 4x4 Off-Road Driving Ronnie Dale 4 x 4 Driving School Abbey St Bathens Duns TD11 3RU Scottish Borders Scotland 01361 840244 info@ronniedale4x4.co.uk 4x4 Off-Road Driving Winton House B6355 Pencaitland EH34 5AT East Lothian Scotland 01875 340 222 enquiries@wintonhouse.co.uk 4x4 Off-Road Driving Dundas Castle South Queensferry Edinburgh EH29 9EN Scotland 0131 319 2039 4x4 Off-Road Driving Fastrax Off-Road Veere Park Dunfermline KY12 8NE Fife Scotland 01383 880300 4x4 Off-Road Driving Perthshire Off Road Driving Centre Back Row Perth PH2 9LY Perth and Kinross Scotland 01738 851185 4x4 Off-Road Driving MadMax Adventures Whitemoss Farm Kirknewton, EH27 8DA West Lothian Scotland 0131 333 0066
- Wedding Venues | Scottish Borders | All About Edinburgh
Wedding Venues Scottish Borders Wedding Venues from a castle or church, in a balloon, or ancient ruin or stately home, Do not look any further here is a comprehensive list of wedding venues and contact details for Edinburgh the lothians and Scottish Borders. Wedding Venues Scottish Borders Everything you need for a wedding in the Scottish Borders The Top Venues Full contact Details SCOTTISH BORDERS WEDDING VENUES Wedding Venues Cringletie House Hotel Edinburgh Road Peebles EH45 8PL Scottish Borders Scotland 01721 725750 Wedding Venues Gretna Wedding Bureau 131 Central Avenue Gretna Green DG16 5AQ Scottish Borders Scotland 01461 338 008 Wedding Venues GunsGreen House Gunsgreen Quay Eyemouth TD14 5SD Scottish Borders Scotland 01890 752 062 Wedding Venues Mansfield House Hotel Hawick Weensland Road Hawick TD9 8LB Scottish Borders Scotland 01450 360 400 Wedding Venues Cross Keys Hotel The Square Kelso TD5 7HL Scottish Borders Scotland 01573 223 303 Wedding Venues Melrose Abbey Abbey Street Melrose TD6 9LG Scottish Borders Scotland 0131 668 8686 Wedding Venues Kippielaw House Kippielaw Estate Melrose TD6 9HF Scottish Borders Scotland 01835 822 790 Wedding Venues Harmony House and Garden St Mary's Road Melrose TD6 9LJ Scottish Borders Scotland 0131 458 0200 Wedding Venues Oxenfoord Castle A68 left after Cranstoun Church Pathhead EH37 5UB Scottish Borders Scotland 01875 320 844 SCOTTISH BORDERS WEDDING VENUES Wedding Venues Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Cardrona Peebles EH45 8NE Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 831 144 Wedding Venues Barony Castle Eddleston Peebles EH45 8QW Scottish Borders Scotland 01721 730 395 Wedding Venues Traquair House Innerleithen Peebles EH44 6PW Scottish Borders Scotland 01968 830 323 Wedding Venues Peebles Hydro Innerleithen Road Peebles EH45 8LX Scottish Borders Scotland 01764 651 846 Wedding Venues Aikwood Tower B7009 by Ettrick Water Selkirk TD7 5HJ Scottish Borders Scotland 01750 700 500 Wedding Venues Haining (The) Castle Street Selkirk TD7 5AA Scottish Borders Scotland 07896 881 559 Wedding Venues Best Western Philipburn Country House Hotel Linglie Road Selkirk TD7 5LS Scottish Borders Scotland 01750 720 747 Wedding Venues Dryburgh Abbey Hotel Dryburgh Abbey St Boswells TD6 0RQ Scottish Borders Scotland 01835 8222261 Wedding Venues Buccleuch Arms The Green St Boswells TD6 0EW Scottish Borders Scotland 01835 822 243
- West Princes Street Gardens | New Town | All About Edinburgh
West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh New Town is on the southside of Princes Street with statues, memorial, Bandstand, Fountain, childrens play park and outdoor Cafe. West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh Edinburgh New Town Attractions Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh The public park in the centre of Edinburgh in the shadow of Edinburgh Castle. Princes Street is approximately 2 klms in length with shops on one side and gardens on the other. Before the gardens were formed a Loch (Lake) surrounded the Castle Rock. The Nor Loch stretched from under the North Bridge where the Waverley Station is now situated to the far end of the Castle Rock at Kings Stables Road. The draining of the Nor Loch was required due to the fact that it had been heavily polluted from centuries of sewage draining downhill from the Old Town. The draining of the Nor Loch began in 1759 and The Gardens were created in the 1820s. In the 1840s the railway was built in the valley, and Waverley Station opened in its present form in 1854. West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh Old Secret Door into Edinburgh Castle The rulers of Scotland from 1371 John Graham 1st Viscount Dundee climbed up the castle rock to meet with the Duke of Gordon, Governor of Edinburgh Castle in March 1689 and a follower of James VII. John Graham led the Jacobite army at the battle of Killiecrankie in July of 1689 and died in the battle. (see the book Kidnapped by the author Robert Louis Stevenson). Gordon’s greatest success in defeating William of Orange’s government troops in the first Jacobite uprising. The Stuarts had ruled Scotland from the 1371 under Robert II, Robert III, James I, James II, James III, James IV, James V, Mary Queen of Scots and in 1603 James VI of Scotland also became James I of England and Ireland. Then came Charles I and Charles II, then James VII of Scotland and James II of England and Ireland, Mary II and finally Anne of Great Britain and Ireland who was the last Stuart monarch. On her death in 1714, George I became king. The Treaty of Union came into effect on 1 May 1707. The Stuarts did not give up and with Bonnie Prince Charlie as a leader he would battle with the English to give the Stuart’s the monarchy back. In 1745 at the battle of Prestonpans the Jacobite’s led by Bonnie Prince Charlie defeated the English and continued on to London to regain the throne. They advanced as far as Derby before returning to Scotland with the might of the whole English army, that had returned from battles in France in pursuit and within 7 months it ended at the battle of Culloden and the final defeat of the Jacobite army and the fight for the throne of Britain for the Stuarts. St Cuthbert's R.C. Church Edinburgh St Cuthbert is believed to have founded a church by the side of the Nor Loch at the foot of the Castle Rock. It is believed a church has stood on this site since 850 AD, making it Edinburgh's oldest church building. History mentions St. Cuthbert's church as far back as 1127. The Church steeple has been in place since 1789. The famous mathematician and inventor, John Napier is buried in the graveyard. In the graveyard are a number of famous people that help shape Edinburgh. Sir Henry Raeburn Painter, James Donaldson founder of Donaldson's School, Cathrine Sinclair author and Philanthropist main funder of the Scott Monument. Edinburgh Castle Well House Tower & St Margaret’s Well The well house and tower can be found at the foot of the Castle rock at the west end of Princes Street Gardens behind the Norwegian Boulder. There has been water supplied to the Castle from the mid 1000’s. The tower and well-house is named after Malcolm III’s wife, Margaret, later to become Saint Margaret as in the Chapel in the Castle. The Water Tower House could have been built in the mid to late 1300’s and the well as early as 1060. The inscription on the fountain reads THE FOUNTAIN OF THE ANCIENT WELLHOUSE TOWER CELEBRATED IN THE HISTORY OF THE CASTLE SINCE THE TIME OF SAINT MARGARET QUEEN OF SCOTLAND IN THE ELEVENTH CENTURY History of the Woodlands and the Gardens The inscription on the plaque reads; During the reign of David 1st (1124 – 1153) this area was used for tournaments, hunting and hawking. Historically it is probable that the landscape would have been dominated by Oak (Quercus robur), Birch (Betula pendula and Scots Pine (Pinus sylvestris) with some cherry (Prunus avium), Alder (Alnus glutinosa and Elm Ulmus glabra). The area to the east of the bridge illustrates the vegetation of the pine forests of North-East Scotland. The area to the west of the bridge is typical of the woodland which would have existed during the reign of David 1st on this type of site. In the middle of the 15th century this area was flooded to form part of the Nor Loch and serve as the northern section of the city’s defences until the mid-18th century. The area was drained 1790 – 1820 and the Gardens constructed Thomas Guthrie Statue West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh Thomas Guthrie was the founder of the first Ragged Industrial School in Scotland in 1847. His first introduction to the idea of Ragged Schools was in 1841, when he was the Parish Minister of St. John’s Church in Edinburgh. His first school was in Ramsay Lane and was for the poor and destitute children of Edinburgh. Thomas Guthrie died in 1873 and was buried in The Grange Cemetery Edinburgh. Ragged Schools were free education for the poor and homeless children. James Young Simpson Statue West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh James Young Simpson (7 June 1811 – 6 May 1870) discovered the anaesthetic power of chloroform and introduced anaesthesia to childbirth. Simpson was elected a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in 1863. On 4th November, 1847 Simpson first used chloroform. It was first used as an anaesthetic to help ease the pain during childbirth. Queen Victoria used chloroform during the delivery of Prince Leopold in 1853. Simpson was the first man to be knighted by the Scottish Court of the Lord Lyon for services to medicine. "Victo Dolore" (pain conquered) is the inscription on Simpson’s coat of arms. Simpson died at his home in Edinburgh at the age of fifty-eight. A burial spot in Westminster Abbey was offered to his family, but they declined and instead buried Simpson closer to home in Warriston Cemetery, Edinburgh. On the day of Simpson's funeral, a Scottish holiday was declared, including the banks and stock markets, with over 100,000 citizens lining the funeral cortege on its way to the cemetery, while over 1,700 colleagues and business leaders took part in the procession itself. James Young Simpson Lived in 52 Queen Street Edinburgh for over 25 years. His first practice was at 2 Deanhaugh Street in Stockbridge across the road from where he lived with his brother at 1 Raeburn Place above his brother's bakery. Ross Fountain West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh The Ross Fountain stands in West Princes Street Gardens with a backdrop of the Edinburgh Castle. This is a well painted and photographed fountain but very few have it actually with water flowing from it. The Ross Fountain is an ornate iron fountain from the 19th Century. Figures depicted on the fountain include mermaids and four females, depicting science, the arts, poetry, and industry. A final female figure stands at the apex of the fountain. It was displayed at The Great Exhibition in London in 1862 where it was seen by philanthropist and gun-maker Daniel Ross, who bought and donated it to the City of Edinburgh. The fountain has been in Edinburgh since 1869. It was transported to Edinburgh from London in pieces and reassembled on its arrival. Regimental Lion Commemorative Monument West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh King Charles III who serves as Colonel-in-Chief of the Royal Regiment of Scotland, unveiled a monument of a Lion to commemorate the 20th anniversary of the Royal Regiment of Scotland. The Lion sites in West Princes Street Gardens near to the Ross Fountain. Norwegian Memorial Boulder West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh The massive boulder situated a short distance from the Ross Fountain was a gift from the Norwegian people to commemorate friendships forged during the Second World War, when large numbers of Norwegians found refuge in Scotland. Scots American War Memorial West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh "The Call 1914", was erected in 1927 and shows a kilted infantryman looking towards the Castle. Behind the statue is a frieze showing queues of men answering the call by following the pipe band. The memorial was given by Scottish Americans to honour Scots who had served in the First World War. At the bottom of the frieze are lines from E. A. Mackintosh's poem "A Creed": " If it be life that waits I shall live forever unconquered; if death I shall die at last strong in my pride and free." Robert Louis Stevenson Stone West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh The Robert Louis Stevenson Stone can be found close to the Norwegian boulder in west Princes Street Gardens. There are many memorials to Robert Louis Stevenson all around Edinburgh, his birthplace was Howard Place and he lived with his parents in Heriot Row the family home. Wojtec the Bear West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh Wojtec 1947 – 1963 lived in Edinburgh Zoo for 16 years. Wojtec (little hero) the Siberian bear was adopted by the Polish free army and accompanied them wherever they were deployed. Wojtec became an official member of the Polish Free Army and became a hero at the Battle of Monte Casino in the 2nd World War in 1944. Wojtec was a Brown Bear and died at the age of 21 in Edinburgh Zoo. The memorial can be seen in West Princes Street Gardens beside the path at the Frederick Street entrance. Below the Scots Grey Cavalryman. The Royal Scots Greys Cavalry Regiment Memorial Memorial West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh The Equine statue can be found in West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh at the foot of Frederick Street. The Royal Scots Greys were a cavalry regiment of the British Army from 1678–1971. Part of their standard is the eagle that was taken from the French standard seized at Waterloo by Sergeant Charles Ewart . The Royal Scots Greys fought along side the Light brigade at the Battle of Waterloo on 18th June 1815. The full story is in The Royal Mile Edinburgh, Edinburgh Castle Esplanade and the Royal Mile Booklet read the story of Sergeant Charles Ewart. The Genius of Architecture West Princes Street Gardens This statue shows a crowned woman with two male kilted children at her feet. One, shows plans for approval whilst the other kneels to apply mortar to a pillar. It represents the crowning of the theory and practice of Art. The Ross Bandstand West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh The Ross Bandstand in West Princes Street Gardens is a venue for concerts and many other outdoor events, with a capacity to hold 2000 people. The Ross Bandstand was first built in 1877 and gifted to the city of Edinburgh by William Henry Ross. The current Ross Bandstand and terraced area was redeveloped in 1935 and is in use throughout the year and is the venue for the orchestra for the Festival fireworks displays. Basketball was also played here in 1948, The Scottish Cup Final and 1000+ watched the Olympic Basketball team from the USA. Allan Ramsay Statue West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh Allan Ramsay was a trained Wigmaker and poet. The statue of Allan Ramsay is wearing a night cap, in the act of writing. He holds a book in his left hand and a pencil in his right. He is on a pedestal decorated with portraits of Lord Murray (north side), who had the statue erected in memory of his great uncle, Mrs Ramsay his wife (west side), General Ramsay his father (south side) and Lady Campbell and Mrs Malcolm his daughters (east side). For the last 15 years of his life he lived in Ramsay Lodge an octagonal house on the Castle Hill. Now in Ramsay Garden which was a later development of the Lodge House. The white house is visible on the hill behind the statue on Ramsay Garden. In 1725 he was instrumental in opening the first lending library in the High Street near to St Giles Cathedral. This was the first lending library in Britain. Allan Ramsay Allan Ramsay was born in Lanarkshire in the west of Scotland on 15 October 1686. He died at the age of 71 on 7th January 1758 in Edinburgh. Allan Ramsay was a pioneer in the use of the Scots Language in contemporary poetry. Allan Ramsay first came to Edinburgh at the beginning of the year 1700. Allan first job was a wig maker’s apprentice He established the Jacobite Literary Society in 1712 In his writing he used pen names which were, first Isaac Bickerstaff and then Gawin Douglas, he changed his occupation in 1721 and became a bookseller which he retired from in 1740. He is buried in Greyfriars Kirkyard. Alan Ramsay West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh's Floral Clock West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh The floral clock is believed to be the oldest floral clock in the world. Edinburgh's first floral clock was created on this site in 1903 and has been planted annually since. In 1905 a mechanism was added to reproduce the sound of a cuckoo, every fifteen minutes. The sound was produced by two organ bellows and organ pipes, but there was no model cuckoo to be seen. By 1950, the sound of the cuckoo had become almost drowned by the noise of nearby traffic, so a new cuckoo sound system including loudspeaker, was installed. A model cuckoo was also added which appears every fifteen minutes. The Royal Scots Memorial West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh The aim of the monument is to portray in stone and bronze the history of the Regiment from its earliest beginnings to modern times. Follow the medallions around the memorial and read the inscription that runs above the medallions in a continuous panel with a dedicatory quotation taken from the famous declaration of Arbroath. "It is not for glory or riches, neither is it for honour that we fight, but it is for the sake of liberty alone, which no true man loseth, but at the cost of his own life. Given at Arbroath by the Barons, free tenants and the whole community of the Kingdom of Scotland in the year 1320." The bronze plaque on the left of the picture is the badge of the Regiment. THIS MONUMENT WAS ERECTED UNDER THE BEQUEST OF CAMPBELL SMITH S.S.C. EDINBURGH A PIONEER OF THE ROYAL SCOTS CLUB AND A GREAT FRIEND OF THE REGIMENT. IT WAS UNVEILED BY H.R.H THE PRINCESS ROYAL C.I G.C.V.O. G.B.E. T.D. COLONEL-IN-CHIEF ON THE 26TH OF JULY IN THE FIRST YEAR OF THE REIGN OF QUEEN ELIZABETH II ON 28TH MARCH 2006, 373 YEARS TO THE DAY SINCE KING CHARLES I SIGNED THE WARRANT TO RAISE THE REGIMENT, THE ROYAL SCOTS THE ROYAL REGIMENT MERGED WITH THE OTHER SURVIVING SCOTTISH INFANTRY REGIMENTS TO FORM THE ROYAL REGIMENT OF SCOTLAND. OUR UNBROKEN HISTORY AND SERVICE TO SOVEREIGN AND COUNTRY LIVES ON IN THE 1ST BATTALION OF THE NEW REGIMENT. In west Princes Street Gardens there are a number of trees that have been planted by groups commemorating history which are spread over the area near to the Ross Bandstand. Seven areas of trees and a further 15 different memorials consisting of statues stones boulder and the Ross Fountain and Ross Bandstand both should be protected as historic monuments. The Holocaust Tree West Princes Street Gardens The holocaust Tree planted beside the Royal Scots Memorial in West Princes Street Gardens is in memory of the 6 million Jews and all other innocent victims of the Holocaust. The Plaque at the foot of the tree reads; Planted by the children of the Edinburgh Hebrew Congregation in memory of the six million Jews and all the other innocent victims who perished in thee Holocaust 27 January 2001 (The first national holocaust day) 3rd Shevat 5761. Belsen Commemorative Stone West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh The stone laid on the 14th May 1995 is to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the liberation of Belsen Concentration camp by the British Army. In memory of the 6 million Jews and all other innocent victims killed by the Nazi atrocities in the 2nd World War and those who came together in the united forces to liberate Europe from fascism. “May their suffering not have been in vain” Anne Frank Memorial Tree West Princes Street Gardens Edinburgh Planted by the Children of the | Edinburgh Hebrew Congregation | in memory of | ANNE FRANK | who died in Bergen-Belsen | in March 1945 aged 15 years. Tu B’Shevat (The Jewish New Year for Trees) 5761 | 8th February 2001 Anne Frank was born on 12th June 1929 in Frankfurt, Germany Adolf Hitler came to power in Germany of 1933 as the leader of the Nazi Party. Anne Frank and her family moved to Amsterdam to escape the anti-Semitic feelings the Nazi party promoted. In 1940 the Germans invaded Holland and on the 6th July Anne Frank and her family went into hiding. 4 years of Hiding without going outside Anne Frank and her family were found by the German Police on the 4th August 1944. After a short time in the Westerbork transit camp on the 3rd September 1944 they were transferred to Auschwitz concentration camp. Anne Frank her sister and mother were treated as slaves. Anne had her hair shaved of and was tattooed with an identity number. Anne and her sister were separated from their mother and sent to Belsen Camp. That is where Anne Frank and her sister died. Anne Frank was 15 years old. They were buried in a mass grave. For more on Anne Frank see Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl. The golden jubilee Tree The golden jubilee of the national association of round tables of Great Britain and northern Ireland. For the people of Edinburgh to commemorate Tree Time in Craigmillar 1991 International Workers’ Memorial Day Tree International Workers’ Memorial Day a day of mourning takes place annually around the world on 28th April. A day of remembrance for workers killed, disabled, injured or made unwell by their work. Tree Time in Craigmillar 1991 For the people of Edinburgh to commemorate Tree Time in Craigmillar 1991 Royal Scots 350th Anniversary Trees This Norway Maple was present by The Royal Scots Regiment in 1963 to commemorate the 350th anniversary of the raising of the regiment. West Princes Street Gardens Railway Footbridge Access to the south side of the rail lines. Edinburgh Castle Water Tower and St Margaret’s Well is by the bridge behind the Ross Bandstand. The Mound - Bank Street - North Bank Street - Mound Place
- Grassmarket | Attractions | All About Edinburgh
Grassmarket attractions Guide has all the history and attractions in the Gassmarket. Murders, Hangings, Riots, famous people, pubs, restaurants, shops, hotels apartments and cafes. Also included is the West Port, West Bow and King's Stable Road. Grassmarket Attractions Edinburgh The Grassmarket Area was where people from all over brought their livestock to sell at market. Cattle, horses, sheep and goats. There were many market stalls which would sell homemade and Homegrown goods. The Grassmarket is the oldest market area recorded in British history and has been written about since circa 1370. It was James the 3rd who first gave charter to a weekly market in 1477. This Grassmarket area was first paved in 1543 from the West Port to the Upper Bow. Today there is a weekly Saturday Market with all kinds of goods. From early morning to late afternoon there is a hive of activity. The Grassmarket has one road that runs through for traffic and the rest of the area is pedestrianised with outside drinking and eating areas for all the family. The Grassmarket was built on what was part of the south loch which was drained in the early 14th century. It became a cattle market shortly after and was officially one on Edinburgh's main markets under the ordinance of James III in 1477. There were many taverns and Inns to satisfy the thirst of the cattle traders and farm hands who brought their animals to market. In 1560 the Corn Market was moved from the corner of Marlin’s Wynd to the east end of the Grassmarket. The Gallows stood at the foot of the West Bow from 1660, near to where the Corn Market was situated. This became the main gallows for executions in Edinburgh until the last hanging on the 4th February 1874. when the gallows moved back to the High Street. The animal market took place here up to 1911. Two of the taverns still remain The Last Drop where it was said the person to be hanged would get his last drink. The other is Maggie Dickson’s a famous story of how the law was changed from the sentence being ‘to be hanged’ to ‘to be hanged till dead’ As Maggie was hung and didn’t die. North Side of the Grassmarket 1830 -2019 Grassmarket 500th Anniversary Plaque This plaque was unveiled |on the 3rd of October 1977 by the | Rt. Hon. Kenneth Borthwick. | Lord Provost of the City of Edinburgh | To commemorate the 500th anniversary | of a reorganisation of Edinburgh markets. | Authorised by King James III. | on the 3rd of October 1477. | The Cattle Market was situated at | the western end of the Grassmarket | and in King’s Stables Road | this are was then just outside the Burgh. The White Hart Inn Grassmarket Edinburgh The White Hart Inn Edinburgh was established in 1516, The White Hart Inn is one of the oldest and most historic pubs in Edinburgh. Past visitors have included the poets Robert Burns and William Wordsworth. The murderers Burke and Hare also were regulars in the pub in the late 1820s, as this is where they were to lure their victims back to their nearby lodgings, where they were murdered and their bodies sold to Dr Knox for medical research and study by students of the University medical school. During the First World War, on 2 April 1916, a German Zeppelin bombing raid was mounted over Edinburgh. During the bombing, a bomb exploded on the pavement outside a Public House, injuring four, one of whom died of shrapnel injuries. Zeppelin Airship Paving Slab Grassmarket Edinburgh This Stone marks the site of a bomb dropped from Zeppelin Airship L14 on the night of 2nd April 1916 on that night 2 Zeppelin Airships dropped bomb on Leith and Edinburgh. Some of the places they were dropped in Edinburgh were; 39 Lauriston Place, 183 Causewayside, Marchmont Crescent, Belford Place, Lothian Road, the Castle Rock near the king’s Bridge, 16 Marshall Street, Nicolson Street, 69 St Leonards Hill, Royal Infirmary at Lauriston and Coltbridge Gardens. There were a number of deaths and injured plus substantial damage to property. Grassmarket Mission Grassmarket Edinburgh The Grassmarket Mission was founded by James Fairbairn in 1886. In 1930, the Mission purchased the building next door (at 96 Grassmarket) and constructed a new Mission Hall Alexander Barrie, was appointed Superintendent in 1916, Mission became known colloquially as “The Barries”. The Mission was there to help the poor and needy of the Grassmarket in 1989 the decision was made to sell the Mission Halls. The Grassmarket Community Project was incorporated and funded by The Grassmarket Mission in 2010 and is still going strong. The Plaque reads; Grassmarket Mission | Undenominational | Erected in Memory of | James Fairbairn | Founder and First Superintendent | Of This Mission | Died 3rd ay 1894 | “His works Do Follow Him “. The Grassmarket Gallows Grassmarket Edinburgh The Grassmarket Edinburgh 1477 to 1911 was one of Edinburgh’s main markets for horse and cattle. The Grassmarket was also a setting for public executions. under Scots Law at that time, as she had served her punishment, she was free to go. Only later the words “until dead” were added to the sentence of hanging. You can find the pub named after her just a few yards from where she was hanged. The shadow of a gibbet is marked on the paving stones where the former gallows were. The inscription around the stone reads; On this Spot many Martyrs and Covenanters died for the Protestant Faith Margaret Dickson ‘Half hang it Maggie Dickson’ One famous execution in 1724 was of a Margaret Dickson of Inveresk a young women separated from her husband. (She was to be known as ‘Half hang it Maggie Dickson’). Her crime was concealment of pregnancy in the case of a dead child. (Not to be her husbands). She was said to have killed and disposed of the child’s body. Her execution was carried out by the hangman, after hanging for the prescribed time she was put into a coffin which the lid was nailed firmly closed. A fight broke out between the friends of Maggie and ae surgeon’s apprentices who wanted the body for investigation a regular thing in these times. Her friends were successful and took the coffin on a wheelbarrow but the uneven roads caused shaking and banging of the coffin and at Peffermill her friends herd banging on the coffin and found Maggie to be alive. By the time they arrived in Musselburgh she walked the final distance to her home at Inveresk. Maggie had served her sentence of hanging and lived a long life and had several children. When Maggie went out people would look at her and shout out to her “half hang it Maggie” when she walked past them in the street. Last Man Executed in Grassmarket Inscription on the pavement reads; The last person to be hanged from the Grassmarket gallows was James Andrews on the 4th February 1784. the names and dates of others hanged are on the steel boards. The Grassmarket Cross THIS CROSS (ORIGINALLY A CRUCIFIX) WAS AT ONE TIME IMPOSED UPON THE WALL OF THE HOUSE WHICH STOOD IMMEDIATELY OPPOSITE THE SITE OF THE GALLOWS IN THE GRASSMARKET USED FOR PUBLIC EXECUTIONS. IT WAS THE LAST OBJECT TO BE SEEN BY THE SUFFERERS BEFORE DEATH. AMONG OTHERS WHO WERE EXECUTED AT THE SPOT WERE MANY WHO SUFFERED FOR CONSCIENCE SAKE. NOT IMPROBABLY SOME MEMBERS OF THIS CONGREGATION. IT IS NOT UNTRUE THEREFORE TO DESCRIBE IT AS A MARTYR’S CROSS AND NOT UNFITTING THAT IT SHOULD FIND PLACE HERE. WHEN THE HOUSE WAS DEMOLISHED THE CROSS WAS GIVEN TO ROBERT FARQUHAR SHAW STEWART WHOSE FAMILY PRESENTED IT TO OLD SAINT PAUL’S. Grassmarket Cross Captain John Porteous Lynching Grassmarket Edinburgh Captain John Porteous Lynching in 1736 after 10 years being Captain of the City Guard John Porteous was lynched on 7 September 1736. Three smugglers/robbers were caught and imprisoned for carrying out a robbery. William Hall, George Robertson and Andrew Wilson. At their trial William Hall was sentenced to transportation to the colonies for life, but Andrew Wilson and George Robertson were sentenced to hang and were imprisoned in the Tolbooth in Edinburgh’s High Street awaiting execution. George Robertson escaped and made his way out of Britain. However, Andrew Wilson was publicly hanged in the Grassmarket in April of 1736. As events unfolded a riot started and the City guard was called out, led by Captain John Porteous. Due to the rioting Captain John Porteous instructed his men to fire above the heads of the crowd this made the riot even more heated, the shots had killed onlookers who were at their windows of their houses. With the crowd getting even more violent, Captain Porteous gave the order to shoot into the crowd and more were killed. Later that day Captain John Porteous was arrested and charged with murder. At his trial on 5 July 1736, he was convicted by a unanimous decision and found guilty of murder and sentenced to death. The execution took place in the Grassmarket on 8 Sept. 1736. Door Lintel Grassmarket Edinburgh 71 Grassmarket The Lintel above the door Inscription: 1889 VITAM (LIFE) DIRIGAT (DIRECT) Prior to this building there were housing for the Knights Templar. Old Grassmarket Dwelling This is one of the oldest inscriptions in the Grassmarket dated 1634. The tenement originally owned in 1634 and inscribed 'Blessed be God for all his Giftis' between initials IL and GK, standing for James Lightbodie and his wife Geillis Kniblo. A Scottish custom for the newlyweds to inscribe their initials above the door of their house and the date they married or moved in. The Beehive Inn Grassmarket Edinburgh Death Cell Door Calton Jail Edinburgh The actual door of the death cell that was in the Calton Jail in Regent Road can be found on the first floor of the Beehive Inn. The Flodden Wall Grassmarket Edinburgh From Granny Green Steps across to The Vennel in the west end of the Grassmarket is where the Flodden Wall stood as a protection against invading armies. The Flodden Wall is the name given to the defensive wall which was built to surround the City of Edinburgh in 1513. The pictures below show the Flodden Wall as it is today. The first part of the wall visible is in The Vennel and the final part still standing is in The Pleasance. It was in 1513 that the Scots waged a disastrous attack on the English at Flodden Field. James IV was killed in the action, along with 10,000 other Scots. The Flodden Wall was built to defend Edinburgh from English attacks. Many parts of the wall survive to this day. The wall starts at the Castle goes down Granny Green Steps to the Grassmarket across the Grassmarket to the Vennel Steps where you can find the ‘Flodden Tower’ where the Flodden wall joins the Telfer Wall. This extension was to protect the Heriot Hospital, now Heriot’s School. John Taillefer was the master mason who built and named the Telfer Wall (1628 – 1636). At the corner of Lauriston Place and Heriot Place turn left and follow Heriot’s School wall until you reach a further part of the Telfer Wall. Continue round into Forrest Road where there is a plaque on the wall. This is where the wall would have crossed to the Bristo Gate on your right. Continue on and you will come to Greyfriar’s Kirkyard where there are many interesting things to see including parts of the Telfer Wall and where it joins with The Flodden Wall. Click on title in blue to get the Flodden Wall Old Edinburgh Flodden Wall New Greyfriars Mission Buildings Grassmarket Edinburgh The Greyfriars Mission building was built in 1884 as a part of the Robertson Memorial Mission Buildings. The three buildings were a church a shop and housing. The wall tablet Inscription reads New Greyfriars Mission Buildings to the glory of God and in loving memory of the Rev. William Robertson DD, for nearly 40 years minister of this Parish. AD 1884. The Church building is now a bar restaurant and brewery. Castle Wynd South Castle Wynd South is a path and steps that gives access to Johnston Terrace from the Grassmarket. The Steps are named after Patrick Geddes (biologist, sociologist, geographer, and philanthropist) Best known as a town planner. A further set of steps Castle Wynd North gives access to Castlehill and the entrance to Edinburgh Castle. Heriot Bridge Grassmarket Edinburgh Heriot Bridge in the Grassmarket was an access road to Heriot Hospital (school) when it opened in 1628. The Heriot Bridge has long since been block by other school buildings. Heriot’s when built had its main entrance facing the Castle and then the Old Town of Edinburgh as Heriots School stood outside the city walls. Grassmarket Regulars The infamous Burke and Hare who lured women from the pubs of the Grassmarket to murder them and sell their bodies to Dr Knox of the Medical School for use in autopsies for the students. Link to West Port Murders Next - Cowgate
- St Andrew Square | New Town | All About Edinburgh
St Andrews Square Edinburgh New Town. St Andrews Square named after Saint Andrew. The Square has Gardens and outdoor Cafe. This area has top restaurants hotels serviced apartments, Designer shops and is 5 minutes to Waverley Rail Station St Andrew Square Edinburgh New Town Attractions St Andrews Square is one of two Squares built to the original design of the New Town area in Edinburgh. St Andrew Square Edinburgh St Andrew Square part of the original design of the new Town which was built between 1759 and 1835. The gardens in St Andrew Square were completed in 1778, now with an outdoor licensed café, it is a great place to relax after a long hard day at the shops, before making your way home. The Bus Station, Rail station, Tram stop and Taxi Rank are all close by. St Andrews Square has many top restaurants, designer shops, hotels and serviced apartments. Henry Dundas Monument St Andrew Square Edinburgh HENRY DUNDAS (1st VISCOUNT MELVILLE) 1742 – 1811 (pictured left) 'The Uncrowned King of Scotland’. The column in St Andrew Square is in his memory. Henry Dundas was born in Dalkeith, south east of Edinburgh into a family distinguished for its legal and political talent. Henry Dundas was educated at the High School of Edinburgh and then the University of Edinburgh. Henry Dundas was elected a Member of Parliament for Edinburgh. He was appointed Lord Advocate in 1777 and, Secretary of State for the Home Department in 1791. He was also Treasurer to the Navy (1782-1800). Dundas was elected Deputy Governor of the Bank of Scotland (1779) and Governor in (1790), the post he held until his death. He wielded enormous power throughout Britain and its dominions, hence his epithet: THE UNCROWNED KING OF SCOTLAND. He was also instrumental in having the slavery act slowed down by adding the word gradual to the act. On 23 Feb 1807 William Wilberforce finally had slavery made illegal, but it was a further 30 years before 'emancipation' of all the slaves in the British colonies. Henry Dundas Statue Henry Dundas was the last person to be impeached in the United Kingdom in 1806, for misappropriation of public money. Although acquitted, he never held public office again. Many places around the world have been named after Henry Dundas including the town of Dundas in southern Ontario Canada. Dundas House St Andrew Square Edinburgh On the east side of the St Andrew Square stands the impressive mansion of Dundas House. Henry Dundas had this house built and was the home of Sir Lawrence Dundas in 1774, Dundas House became the head office of The Royal Bank of Scotland in 1825. The monument in the centre of the garden is of Sir John Hope, 4th Earl of Hopetoun, colonel of the 92nd Gordon Highlanders. David Hume’s House St Andrew Square Edinburgh David Hume lived at 21 South St David Street from 1771-1776 with a view of St Andrew Square. Located on the south west corner of the square. Unfortunately, this is no longer in view as a development has replaced it. T.K. MAX Edinburgh to Granton Railway St Andrews Square Edinburgh The trams on the East side of St Andrew Square run over the old railway route that took passengers and goods from the once named Canal Street Station (Waverley Station) to Granton Harbour. The track was on such a steep hill that it was pulled up the tracks by horses. Known as the Scotland Street Tunnel it opened in May of 1847 and closed in 1868 due to modernisation and other routes. The Entrance can still be seen at Scotland Street Park below Scotland Street. Scotland Street SCOTLAND STREET TUNNEL Multree's Hill Edinburgh You will also find the entrance to Edinburgh's main bus station and Multrees Walk where you will find the designer shops. This area was built on an area previously called Multrees Hill before the new Town was built. Lord Henry Brougham Birthplace House of Lord Brougham St Andrew Square Edinburgh Lord Henry Brougham was born on the 19th September 1778 in St Andrew Square Edinburgh and died aged 89 in Cannes France. Henry Brougham was a prominent lawyer, writer and scientist and became famous in 1820 due to his successful defence of Queen Caroline in the legal case between the Queen and her husband King George IV who wanted to divorce her. Henry Brougham became Lord Chancellor in 1830 and was made Baron Brougham, a member of the Abolitionists, he wished to end slavery. In 1807 a bill in parliament saw an end to the slave trade, but not to slavery. He help to have slavery abolished altogether in 1833 with an Act of parliament. Henry Brougham was Lord Chancellor for 5 years before being replaced by Charles Pepys. In 1834 Lord Brougham fell in love with an area in France called Cannes a small fishing village. He built a house on a plot of land overlooking the sea and invited many wealthy and influential friends to visit, who in turn also built houses and the area became a wealthy and popular tourist destination. Circa 1860 a train station was opened which brought more visitors and the birth of Cannes France was laid. The people of Cannes erected a statue to Lard Brougham to honour what he had done for Cannes. He invented the Brougham Carriage and was elected Chancellor of Edinburgh University In 1859. Lion Sculpture St Andrews Square Gardens The Lion Sculpture by Ronald Rae Fellow of the Royal Society of Sculptors, born in Ayr on the West coast of Scotland in 1946 he has hand carved many different animals one of which is on the promenade at Cramond . The large granite block that the Lion is sculpted from came from the quarry at Correnie Aberdeenshire. and has been in St Andrew’s Square Garden since 2010. Douglas Hotel St Andrew Square Edinburgh The Douglas Hotel where royalty stayed and Walter Scott stayed on his return from Italy, 2 days prior to his death at Abbotsford, his house in Melrose in the Scottish Borders. Previously Dun’s Hotel built circa 1780 then changed to the Douglas circa 1800 the main Hotel in Edinburgh 34 and 35 St Andrew Square. Next - Thistle Street & Thistle Court The Eighth Earl of Dalhousie 37-39 St Andrews Square The Eighth Earl of Dalhousie. George Ramsay (1730 –1787). He served as a Lord of Police (1775–82) and the monarch's personal representative to the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland 1777-1782. He purchased the house 37 -39 St Andrews Square 1785 from John Young, as a town house for the family Residence. The 8th Earl died in 1787, his wife, remained in the property until her death in 1807. The 9th Earl sold the property to the British Linen Company. They redesigned the front of the building in 1848 and commissioned Alexander Handyside Ritchie to build six monumental Corinthian columns and six elaborate statues to symbolise agriculture, manufacturing, commerce, science, architecture and navigation. Paddington Bear St Andrew Square Edinburgh Edinburgh was chosen as one of the 23 locations worldwide for the official Paddington Bear trail.



