All About Edinburgh
Search Results
Search this site
403 results found with an empty search
- The Mound | Edinburgh New Town | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh New Town, The Mound Edinburgh, Royal Mile Bank Street and North Bank Street Edinburgh Historic facts famous people and buildings. Where the Edinburgh New Town and Old Town meet. The Mound Bank Street, North Bank Street Mound Place, St Giles Street Edinburgh The Mound Edinburgh The Mound in the centre of Edinburgh links the Old Town with the New Town. The Mound was originally the excavations from the building of the New town piled up in the middle of the area that had been Nor Loch. This eventually provided a further access to and from the Old and New Towns of Edinburgh. At the foot of the mound is access to West Princes Street Gardens and opposite can be found the Royal Scottish Academy of Art and slightly further up the mound is the National Gallery of Scotland. On the corner with Market Street stands a statue in memorial to the Black Watch. On mound Place is the New Library which was built in 1846. The Mound then joins North Bank Street and the Bank Street before Joining the Royal Mile. ROYAL SCOTTISH ACADEMY OF ART MOUND EDINBURGH The oldest and most prestigious academy of contemporary art in Scotland. The Royal Institution for the Encouragement of the Fine Arts in Scotland (RI) was founded in 1819. The Academy was founded in 1826 by eleven artists meeting in Edinburgh. Originally named the Scottish Academy, it became the Royal Scottish Academy on being granted a royal charter in 1838. The Royal Scottish Academy has been in the building on the corner of the Mound and Princes Street since 1911 The Academy is active in the promotion of young artists from Scotland's Colleges of Art and Architecture and takes a lead role in promoting living artists in Scotland. Royal Scottish Academy seen with the entrance from Princes Street. Royal Scottish Academy MOUND PRECINCT is a Large open air paved space at the foot of the Playfair steps which is used for street performers (jugglers, acrobats fire eaters etc.) during the summer. With its location in the centre of Princes Street it is an ideal place to arrange to meet before touring or visiting the galleries that surround the square. On the left of the picture is the Royal Scottish Academy of Art and at the back, the National Gallery of Scotland. National Gallery of Scotland Mound Edinburgh The National Gallery of Scotland was opened in 1859 on the Mound and is now home to Scotland's greatest collection of European paintings and sculpture from the Renaissance to Post-Impressionism. It also includes a comprehensive collection of the major names in Scottish art. National Gallery BLACK WATCH ON THE MOUND The 11-foot high bronze statue of a Black Watch soldier commemorates over 200 members of the Regiment who were killed or wounded in the South African War of 1900-02. The Black Watch, the oldest Highland Regiment, was formed by General Wade in 1739 to police the Highlands at a time when many of the clans harboured pro-Jacobite sympathies. THE ASSEMBLY HALL (NEW COLLEGE) MOUND PLACE EDINBURGH The Assembly Hall was built in 1846 as a Theological college, now the New College and a home for the Church of Scotland in 1929. The General Assembly is held here annually in May. This is also where in 1989 the majority of the Scottish members of parliament signed a document to claim the right for Scotland to have an independent parliament. The Assembly hall was used as a debating hall of the Scottish Parliament for 5 years between 1999 -2004. The Assembly Hall has also been used by the Edinburgh International Festival for many years. The Spire behind the Assembly Hall is The Hub on the Castlehill. In the main courtyard of the New College stands a statue of John Knox the leader of the protestant reformation and founder of the Presbyterian Church. Born in 1514 and died in 1572 his grave is in the car park of St Giles Cathedral. WRITERS' MUSEUM LADY STAIR'S PLACE MOUND ENTRANCE is in Lady Stair’s House which was built in 1662 in Lady Stair's Close, Lawnmarket, Royal Mile, Edinburgh, (named after Elizabeth Countess Dowager of Stair, a fashion icon of her time). Lady Stair’s House is dedicated to the lives and work of Scotland's great literary figures. Rare collections include early editions, manuscripts, portraits, photographs and personal belongings of Robert Burns, Sir Walter Scott and Robert L Stevenson. On paving stones and steps up from the mound and down from the Lawnmarket you will find inscriptions and verses. JAMES STUART BLACKIE NORTH BANK STREET EDINBURGH Look up above the shops on North Bank Street to see the window with the memorial to James Blackie a University of Edinburgh Professor in Greek and German. He left 250, 19th century Greek books to the University Library which are still being used by students today. He was born in Aberdeen and studied in Germany and Italy. He was the inspiration behind the founding of the Celtic chair of the University of Edinburgh. THE BANK MUSEUM BANK STREET EDINBURGH Opened in 2006 telling the story of money. Art & design, technology, crime, trade and security all feature in the story of money. Come in and see for yourself what 1 million pounds looks like. The Bank of Scotland is the second longest surviving bank in the United Kingdom and was established just 1 year after the Bank of England in 1695 by a Scotsman, William Paterson. The Bank of Scotland was founded by John Holland an Englishman. Bank Museum Dr Robert Philip Bank Street Edinburgh The worlds’ first tuberculosis dispensary was opened in Bank Street Edinburgh by Dr Robert Philip in 1887. Sir (Dr) (Professor) Robert Philip pioneered the management, prevention, detection and treatment of tuberculosis (TB). On the wall in Bank Street a blue Plaque reads "Near this place in 1887, Dr Robert Philip founded a tuberculosis dispensary, the first clinic in the world dedicated to fighting a disease of which he foretold Man's eventual mastery. That vision has brought hope to many lands." Tuberculosis (TB) was the biggest killer in the UK by the middle of the 19th century and due to Sir Robert Philip it has been almost eradicated. Sir Robert Philip died at home in 9 Palmerston Road, in the Grange area of Edinburgh, on the 25th January 1939. NEWS STEPS ST GILES STREET EDINBURGH The News Steps are next to The Bank of Scotland Building at the end of St Giles Street across from West Parliament Square in the High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh. The steps will take you to the Waverley Bridge and the train Station. Next - Market Street
- Queen Street | New Town | All About Edinburgh
Queen Street was the last buildings in the original New Town of Edinburgh with gardens on the north side of the street. The National Portrait Gallery was built in Queen Street by the founder aand owner of the Sctsman newspaper Sr R Queen Street Edinburgh Attractions Queen Street Edinburgh the last street in the planned New Town Edinburgh named after Queen Charlotte wife of George III. Thing to see and do in Queen Street. Home of James Young Simpson, Royal College of Physicians and Scottish National Portrait Gallery. East Gardens, Central Gardens and West Queen Street Gardens are between Queen Street and Heriot Row. For the owners of the properties in the two streets sole use. The first garden were East Queen Street Gardens laid out as a communal garden in 1814. Queen Street Scottish National Portrait Gallery The Scottish National Portrait Gallery in Queen Street houses many of the Scottish Masters and has many statues, busts, sculptures, art works modern and contemporary. With a cafe and many exhibits its a great place to spend a wet day. The Gallery opened on the 15th July 1889. Although the carving states 1890 (see below) Scottish National Portrait Gallery The Plaque on the west of the entrance reads; Dedicated to the | illustration of Scottish | history. This edifice the | gift to his native country | of John Ritchie Findlay | was erected anno domini 1890 | by the honourable the board | of trustees for manufactures | R Rowan Anderson LLD architect Scottish National Portrait Gallery Statues Queen Street Edinburgh Scottish National Portrait Gallery was built in the 1880 -89. All the portraits are from Scottish history, painted by a range of major European and American masters. The gallery also displays sculptures, miniatures and photographs. Unique visual history of Scotland told through the portraits of those who shaped it, from the 16th century to the present. They include Mary Queen of Scots, Sir Walter Scott, Robert Burns and Sean Connery. It also houses the National Photography Collection. Ist Viscount Duncan John Hunter George Buchanan Cardinal Beaton 2nd Duke of Argyll John Knox Sir Ralph Abercrombie David Hume Adam Smith Sir Henry Raeburn Ist Viscount Stair Gavin Douglas Sir David Lesley William Dunbar King James VI & I King Malcolm III King James I King Alexander III James Douglas King James V Earl of Moray Saint Margaret John Napier William Maitland John Lesley Kleio Daughter of Zeus William Wallace Mary Queen of Scots Robert the Bruce Bishop Gavin Douglas James Hutton Link to Inside the Portrait Gallery James Young Simpson 52 Queen Street (7 June 1811 – 6 May 1870) James Young Simpson discovered the anaesthetic power of chloroform and introduced anaesthesia to childbirth. Simpson was elected a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in 1863. On 4th November, 1847 Simpson first used chloroform. It was first used as an anaesthetic to help ease the pain during childbirth. Queen Victoria used chloroform during the delivery of Prince Leopold in 1853. Simpson was the first man to be knighted by the Scottish Court of the Lord Lyon for services to medicine. "Victo Dolore" (pain conquered) is the inscription on Simpson’s coat of arms. Simpson died at his home in Edinburgh at the age of fifty-eight. A burial spot in Westminster Abbey was offered to his family, but they declined and instead buried Simpson closer to home in Warriston Cemetery, Edinburgh. On the day of Simpson's funeral, a Scottish holiday was declared, including the banks and stock markets, with over 100,000 citizens lining the funeral cortege on its way to the cemetery, while over 1,700 colleagues and business leaders took part in the procession itself. James Young Simpson Lived in 52 Queen Street Edinburgh for over 25 years. Royal College of Physicians 8-9 Queen Street Edinburgh The Royal College of Physicians was given its Royal status in 1681 by Charles II and their first meeting hall was in Fountain Close in 1704. It moved to George Street before the present building No.9 foundation stone was laid in 1844 and No 8 was purchased in 1868 this building was one of the first to be built in Queen Street in 1774. The three statues are of Hygeia (daughter of Asclepius and Goddess of good health), Asclepius (Greek God of medicine and son of Apollo), and Hippocrates (ancient Greek physician). Two panels’ right and left of Hygeia show the winged lions at the lyre of Apollo. THE ROYAL COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS QUEEN STREET EDINBURGH WINGED LIONS AT THE LYRE OF APOLLO. Asclepius (Greek God of medicine) (Son of Apollo) Hippocrates (ancient Greek physician). Asclepius was a Greek god, healer and one of the Argonauts and his downfall was when he resurrected two mortals, Zeus was unhappy with his actions and slew Asclepius with a thunderbolt. Hippocrates Lived on the island of Kos, He was a Greek physician and is believed to be one of the most important figures in the history of medicine. Known as the "Father of Western Medicine" The Hippocratic Oath that doctors take is named after him. Hygeia (Daughter of Asclepius) (Goddess of good health) Hygiene Greek goddess of good health was a daughter and helper of the god of medicine Asclepius,and a friend to the goddess Aphrodite. Mary Erskine School Mary Erskine donated a sum of money from her husband’s estate to the Company of Merchants of Edinburgh, to have a school built to educate the poor children of Edinburgh Merchant families. The School (Hospital as they were called) named Merchant Maiden Hospital first opened in the Cowgate in 1694. It then moved to new premises on the corner of Bristo Street (now Bristo Place) and Lothian Street in 1706. As it grew it moved again to new premises in 1818 at the Lauriston area at the foot of Archibald Place. In 1871 moving once more to larger premises in the New town Queen Street and changing its name to Edinburgh Educational Institution for Young Ladies. It was renamed in 1889 to The Edinburgh Ladies’ College. In honour of Mary Erskine the school changes its name in 1944 to The Mary Erskine School and a final move to its present home at Ravelston in 1966. Inside Portrait Gallery Queen Street
- Edinburgh Royal Mile | Attractions | City Tours | Golf
All About Edinburgh is the No.1 information site for visitors to Edinburgh. History, Tours, Taxis, Maps, Hotels, golf courses, Activities, Walking Tours. Airport Transfers and Group Transport. All a visitor / Tourist to Edinburgh needs. One stop shop. Link to Edi Tours All About Edinburgh Visit Scotland The Ultimate Information Guide to Historic place and Attractions in Edinburgh St Andrews Stirling Lothian and Borders Free Walking Tour Royal Mile Edinburgh Maps Maps of the Castle to the Palace History and images of all The Closes 5 FREE MUSEUMS Visit Edinburgh Edinburgh's History and Attractions Free Information Guide Edinburgh Attractions Maps Mobile Friendly and Multilingual All About Edinburgh is a Search Engine guide to all the great things to see and do when you visit Edinburgh. Welcome to everything Edinburgh has to offer, both to the visitor and local resident, all in one convenient place. Whether you only wish to visit Edinburgh Castle or the Palace of Holyrood House, Walk the Royal Mile, or climb the ancient volcano Arthur Seat (Ard-Na-Said). Tour Scotland's Capital with Free Maps, Edinburgh Guide Books have it All See all the attractions or Tour Scotland from Edinburgh. Golf Transport Scotland Hotels Edinburgh All Scotland's Golf Courses Edinburgh Walking Tours Visit Scotland Visit Edinburgh Attractions Monuments Plaques and Inscriptions There are over 100 plaques in Edinburgh and many inscription at door entrances. Edinburgh in the 18th and 19th century were great believers in leaving memorials in forms of monuments to the people they believed to be the great and good. This monument is to honour Sir Walter Scott who was born and lived in Edinburgh. There is also a museum on the first floor of the monument. Tours of Scotland Tours from Edinburgh Highlands and Islands + TV and Film Locations See Edinburgh from the Sky Helicopter Tours Bus Tours around Scotland Day Tours - Bespoke Tours Place we Visit 1 Loch Ness, Glencoe + The Highlands 2 Glenfinnan Viaduct, Glencoe + Fort William 3 Kelpies Stirling Castle Loch Lomond + Trossachs 4 North Berwick, Alnwick Castle + Dunbar 5 Lochs & Castles of the West Highlands 6 East Lothian including Outlander locations 7 Kelpies Falkirk Wheel plus Distillery Tour 8 Falkland Palace St Andrews + photo stops 9 Dunfermline Culross Bannockburn Stirling 10 Perth Museum Scone Palace Dunkeld Pitlochry Email; traveltourscotland@gmail.com Call WhatsApp +44 7539 867 587 Enquiries | Contact 11 Edinburgh Walking Tours 1 The Old City Wall + the history of the streets 2 Southside famous people + Places 3 Cowgate + Grassmarket + New Town 4 Castle Hill, Lawnmarket + Greyfriars and More 5 Tron Square, Calton Hill, High Street Attractions 6 The New Town and Gardens People + Places 7 Dean Village + New Town West .... 8 Canongate – Horse Wynd – Abbey Strand 9 Upper High Street - History + People... 10 New Town West famous people + places 11 Leith Shore attarctions, Royal Yacht, Distillery pictured below three of the top places to visit Dean Village West Bow Greyfriars Outlander Locations in Scotland Visit Edinburgh Attractions Statues Edinburgh has many Statues in the streets on buildings and in museums and galleries. The statues are of people of achievement from Kings and Queens, Poets and Writers, Lord Provosts and Prime Ministers. This Statue is of James Clark Maxwell one of the greatest scientists that ever lived. Even Einstein’s said that he was inspired by Maxwell. Visit Edinburgh Attractions Edinburgh Golf Courses Golf History Tour Golf in Edinburgh is available to all, play free with your own clubs on the Oldest short course in the world Take a Golf History Tour, S ee the world's oldest golf course and first clubhouse. The first established Golf club, Where the first rules of golf were written. Where the first Golf competition was played to rules. From the west of Edinburgh to Musselburgh in East Lothian Over 40 golf courses near to Edinburgh it's a Golfers Dream Golf Transport Airport Transfers Luxury Minibus Hire Group Transport and Golf Transfers Looking for Golf Transport Airport Transfer Group Outing or Tours of the Highlands. See the Transport and Book Direct single passenger or large groups. Safe Friendly and Punctual high quality Transport at very competitive prices. Edinburgh Attractions Visit Edinburgh Festivals Edinburgh has many festivals each year from April till 31st December. Most importantly, The Edinburgh Military Tattoo that is staged at Edinburgh Castle a must see (Bucket List inclusion) extravaganza for the whole family of all ages. Also Children's Festivals and Running Festivals Visit Edinburgh Attractions Shops Royal Mile tourist stores selling everything from cigars, whisky, tartan goods, haggis, shortbread and souvenirs. Edinburgh City Centre is the place to shop. With designer shops, Boutique fashion stores selling Bags, shoes and clothes. All the expected high street names and unique local stores Before you buy whisky check out the Supermarkets. Tesco Asda Morrisons as they have great prices on all Whisky. Taste Malt Whisky 100's all in the Athletic Arms
- Thistle Street | Edinburgh New Town | All About Edinburgh
New Town Edinburgh Thistle Street Edinburgh the first house was built in Edinburgh's New Towns at the north west edge of St Andrews Square named Rose Court, built in 1767. It is now Thistle Court and Still in use today. Thistle Street Edinburgh New Town Attractions Thistle Street was one of the streets in the design plans of the New Town of 1759. It was to run parallel with Princes Street, George Street, and Queen street. Between George Street and Queen Street named after the Scottish emblem the Thistle of Scotland. However, the two architects that completed the New Town requested streets to be named after them and it was decided to reduce the length of Thistle Street to enable Mr Hill and Mr Young a street each thereafter Thistle street becoming from the west end, Young Street, Hill Street, then the remainder remaining Thistle Street as it is today. THE FIRST HOUSES BUILT IN NEW TOWN 1767 The houses can be found in thistle court at the east end of the New Town. Thistle Court was originally called Rose Court. George Street - Hanover Street - Frederick Street
- Prestonpans | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Prestonpans a historic town with amazing history, 81 Witches, Totem poles, Famous battle site, Murels and the Prestonpans Tapestry, Bonnie Prince Charlie, Worlds first railway, salt pans and fishing. Prestonpans East Lothian Coast A Small Town A Large History The town of Prestonpans was originally named Althamer after a sailor who became shipwrecked circa 1060 and decided to stay with his shipmates as they had no way of returning home. It was the monks of Newbattle circa 1180 came and settled in the area and renamed it Priestatown. The name over the years changed due to the salt panning. Prestonpans was where one of the first post-reformation churches were built in Scotland circa 1600. Other things about Prestonpans are, the famous Battle of Prestonpans 1745 when Bonnie Prince Charlie and his Jacobite Army defeated the English which 7 months later ended the Stuart battle for the crown at Culloden. The Battle of Prestonpans Battle Story Prestonpans Battle Story is about how Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobite's defeated the English went as far as Derby before returning and then being defeated at Culloden. From victory to defeat took seven months 21st September 1745 (Prestonpans) 16th April 1746 Culloden. The Story boards which can be seen at the top of the Pyramid the battle site viewing platform on the B1361 on the East side of Prestonpans top road. Climb the pyramid and read the full story. The Pyramid marks the area where the Battle of Prestonpans took place in 1745. Bonnie Prince Charlie led the Jacobite Army in a triumph over the English. There is a story board at the summit of the Pyramid with the story of the Jacobite uprising and the route to glory and defeat. John Muir Way The John Muir way starts in Dunbar and finishes in Helensburgh on the west coast of Scotland. From North Berwick to the Musselburgh - Edinburgh border, the John Muir way follows the coast through all the small coastal villages. The route is great for walking or cycling. All the attractions of the towns and villages on the route can be seen on this site. Hamilton Family Prestonpans East Lothian The Hamilton’s have been the land owners of Preston from circa 1380. Circa 1620 Sir John Hamilton of Preston was granted the lands and barony of Preston and Prestonpans by King James VI. Sir Thomas Hamilton was created Lord Binning in 1613 and later in 1627 he became the 1st Earl of Haddington. While his brother Sir John Hamilton (1565 -1644) had a house built in Preston East Lothian in 1628 which he named Hamilton House. In 1663 Preston became a free burgh with the right to hold markets. Sir William Hamilton, 1st baronet, of Preston was born in 1647 and became a baronet of Nova Scotia in 1673. Sr William Alexander first to receive the ownership of Nova Scotia in 1625. Baron The Duke of Hamilton now resides at Lennoxlove House near Haddington. Inscription (above window) reads: praise be the lord my | Strenth and my redeimer (above the door) J.H K.S 1628 and the joint coat of arms of the Hamilton and Sympson families. On the Side Wall the three windows have inscriptions J (Shield) H 16 ( J H K S intertwined) 28 K (Shield) S the initials JH represent Sir John Hamilton who built the house in 1628. He originally named the house Magdalens’ House, as he was Lord Magdalen and the KS is for his wife Katherine Sympson. The Shields are of the Hamiltons and Sympsons. Northfield House Prestonpans Northfield House was built circa 1580 by George Hamilton the first owner and sold to Joseph Marjoribanks. A common stone above the door in these times were the owner’s initials and date normally called a marriage stone. In this case, the stone over the doorway with 1611 and the initials of J.M. (Joseph Marjoribanks) and M.S. (Marion Simpson) and the inscription ‘EXCEP THE LORD BVLD IN WANE BVLDS MAN’. Marjoribanks was a Burgess of Edinburgh. Northfield House Do’cot Northfield House Do’cot was were the owners of Northfield House would get fresh meat. All the large houses and estates would have a Do’cot this is a bee hive shaped Do’cot, where Preston Tower has a Cottage shaped Do’cot. They would take the young pigeons for food as they were the most tender. The pigeons still use the Do’cot to this day but they are not used as food. Prestongrange Church Prestonpans church was burnt down in 1544 and a new church was built in 1595. The present church was built in 1774 with parts of the previous Church. In the graveyard of Kirk Street in Prestonpans can be seen graves with dates from the 16th century. The tombstone below has an inscription born 1596 he died Feb 25 16 # # on the right and on the left John Hepburn. Above the door of the church is said to be the first ever mural. Thomas Alexander CB The Monument to Thomas Alexander CB stands in the gardens in front of Prestongrange Church on the south side of the High Street at Kirk Wynd. Thomas Alexander was born in Prestonpans in May 1812. He was an Army surgeon and took part in many campaigns and became the Director General of the Medical Department of the British Army. His main goals were to see improvements to the conditions the soldiers had to live in, especially during the Crimean war. The memorial was erected in 1862. Captain John Stuart The Grave in Prestongrange Churchyard of Captain John Stuart of Phisgul Galloway. Here lyeth the remains of John Stuart of Phisgul, a Galloway gentleman and Captain Lessel’s Reg’m’t, a man of true bravery who died honourably in defence of his King and country, and of civil and religious liberty, being barbarously murder’d by four Highlanders near the end of the Battle fought in the field of Preston on the 21st Sept 1745. The Gothenburg The Gothenburg in Prestonpans built in 1908 still runs under the original Gothenburg Public-house system. Where the majority of the income is given to charity to benefit the community. The system was originally started in Sweden in 1855 to control the consumption of alcohol. The Gothenberg also has a memorial to the 81 witches falsely accused of witchcraft. The Gothenburg is also home to the Prestonpans Tapestry. Prestoungrange Totem Poles The Totem Pole 32 foot high, that stands across from the Gothenburg was carved from a red cedar tree from Chemainus Vancouver Island British Columbia, Canada. The carvings give a pictorial story of the area and was erected in 2006 when the 6th Global Murals Conference took place in Prestonpans. Halfway up you can see the number 81 in memory of the Witches that were burnt unjustly and then pardoned in 2004. The other 3 Totem poles are caved from a log also given by Chemainus Vancouver Island British Columbia, Canada. and the mural of the Witches Trial can be seen in the play park. Preston Mercat Cross The Mercat Cross that stands in Prestonpans is the oldest remaining Mercat Cross in its original form and position in Scotland. Five Mercat Cross were built in the early 1600s all to the same design and for the same purpose, to make important civic announcements. Edinburgh’s Mercat Cross is still used for government proclamations that affected all of Scotland. An example, announcements concerning successions to the monarchy and the calling to parliament. There is an entrance to steps which bring you out at a platform where the announcements are read. The Unicorn is the ancient emblem of Scotland and stands at the top of the Mercat Cross. Robert Burns Memorial Garden Prestonpans East Lothian The Robert Burns Memorial Garden and Cairn that commemorates the 200th anniversary of Robert Burns death. The Tam O’Shanter mural can be found inside the Burns Gated shelter, next to the Robert Burns Memorial Cairn, in the Robert Burns memorial Garden. The inscriptions on the tablets read: That I for poor auld | Scotland’s sake | Some usefu’ plan or | beuk could make | Or sing a sang | at least. For a’ that, an’ a’ that, | It’s coming yet for a’ that, | That Man to Man, the world o’er, | Shall brothers be for a’ that. The Cairn was unveiled | On the 26th July 1996 | To commemorate | The bicentenary | Of the death of the poet | Robert Burns Robert Burns Memorial Shelter Prestonpans East Lothian The writing above the doorway reads “BETTER A WEE BUSH THAN NAE BIELD” The translation is “it is better to have some shelter than no shelter at all”. Robert Burns Garden Prestonpans East Lothian Kinetic Sculpture Prestonpans Robert Burns Memorial Garden Kinetic Sculpture Leslie Frank Chorley Prestonpans 'Old Harbour' The Prestonpans Harbour first known as New Haven was built by the monks of Newbattle Abbey as a shelter to fishermen and their boats in the mid 1500s. The name changed and finally was named after the land owners Morrison. (Morrison’s Haven in Prestongrange). Situated directly across from Prestongrange Museum. Prestongrange Mining Museum The Coal Mine of Prestongrange now a museum has been an important part I the history of not just Prestonpans but Dalkeith and Edinburgh. The monks from Newbattle Abbey were given the charter for the lands and started mining coal circa 1190. With many raw materials around the coast sand, kelp and clay, many industries started here which included brickwork, potteries, glass works and ceramics. The main supply of bricks to build Edinburgh’s New Town were provided from the brickwork which closed in 1975 after over 200 years of brick making. Salt was also refined here giving the name Salt Pans. The monks renamed the area Prieststown circa 1190 previously it was Althammer. seen below a carriage from the railway that transport the coal, Prestongrange Museum Cornish Beam Engine Cornish Beam Engine installed in 1874 and continued working until 1954 Prestonpans Town Hall Preston pans Town hall found in the centre of the main street is where you can find The Battle of Prestonpans Museum and Jacobite Heritage Centre Not to be missed check for opening times before travel The Town Hall opened in 1897 and above the main door can be seen the Prestonpans burgh crest, with the Mercat Cross in the centre, also reliefs of local industries. These included crossed anchor, mining pick and salt shovel, with a sheaf of barley with crossed sickles. Donating Salt panning, Mining, Fishing and Agriculture. Preston Tower and Gardens Preston Tower is no long accessible but can be seen from the beautiful well-kept gardens. The Tower was built in an L-shape in the late 1300s or early 1400s and was the home of the Hamiltons of Preston. The area around the Tower was once called Preston. Preston Tower has had a unlucky past, the Tower has been burnt 3 times 1544, 1650 and again in 1663 and has been vacant since. In the far corner of the gardens is a do’ cot which is still in use by the local pigeons. There is also a very impressive laburnum arch and well manicured gardens. Prestonpans Mural Trail The Prestonpans murals show the history of the area and the Murals Trail starts at the Gothenburg and winds its way around the streets of Prestonpans. There are over 30 Murals to see and include John Knox, The Witches Gate, Sir Walter Scott and Robert Burns Tam O Shanter . There is also a number of things to see in the Burns Memorial Garden. The Shrine Prestonpans East Lothian The memorial on the same road to the Prestonpans Battle site is the Shrine, not far from the cairn for the Battle of Prestonpans. The sculpture is of two miners digging for coal in a mine shaft and was created by a local stonemason Gardner. Coal mining was a major industry in the area from circa 1200 to 1964 when the East Lothian mines were closed (Meadowmill and Bellyford). Prestonpans War Memorial The memorial of a soldier in the Royal Scots uniform was unveiled in April 1922. The memorial is dedicated to the fallen in World War I and World War II. There is also a bronze plaque Dedicated to the memory of those who laid down their lives in the defence of democracy in Spain between 1936 -1939 with a quote from Byron “they never fail who die in a great cause.” A simple inscription on the memorial reads; “To the glorious memory of the men of this parish who gave their lives for their country 1914-1918, 1939-1945” Spanish Civil War Memorial Prestonpans East Lothian The bronze plaque beside Prestonpans War Memorial in High Street Prestonpans reads; ‘Dedicated to the memory of those who laid down their lives in the defence of democracy. Spain 1936 -1939.’ It also includes a quote from the poet Byron: “They never fail who die in a great cause.” 3 men from Prestonpans fought in in the Spanish Civil War one of whom John Gilmour was unfortunately killed in Feb 1937 Athena Sculpture Prestonpans East Lothian The sculpture commemorates the 81 residents of Prestonpans East Lothian, who were executed for witchcraft in the 16th century. The totem pole at the shore also is a memorial and more about the withes can be seen in The Goth This is one of many sculptures by Andy Scott the sculptor who created the world famous Kelpies in the Helix Park in Grangemouth Royal Musselburgh Golf Club Royal Musselburgh Golf Club play for the Old Club Cup first won in 1774 by Thomas McMillan, which make it the oldest golf club trophy still competitively played for in the world to this day. A golf club was formed in 1760 by a group of local enthusiasts and played over the old Musselburgh course. Royal Musselburgh Golf Club had their first club house at 9 Links Place, now, 9 Balcarres Road Musselburgh. Prestongrange House has a long history and a building has been on the site since circa 1185 when it was known as Newbattle Grange. The Present building has been renovated and extended through 5 centuries and became the home to the Royal Musselburgh Golf Club in 1926. The North British Railway Tavern The North British Railway Tavern was first a dwelling House, an asylum, a soldiers barracks, built 1628 possibly one of the oldest buildings in Prestonpans. Prestonpans Tapestry The Prestonpans Tapestry has 104 tapestry panels that tell the journey of Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobite army against the mighty army of the English in 1745, the final Jacobite uprising. The tapestry was first viewed in July 2010 and has been on show across the UK and in France. The Tapestry was designed by Andrew Crummy and was created by Dorie Wilkie and a small core team plus over 200 crafts people. This is a historic document that should be on show all year round to remind people of the Scottish culture. Chase to Culloden Also the might of the English government forces were at their backs led by the King’s son the Duke of Cumberland, so they continued further into the highlands. On the 16th April 1746 the English caught up with the Jacobite army and on Culloden field the Jacobite army was wiped out and the remainder scattered throughout the Highlands. Charles eluded the English and on the 19 September fled to France where he remained till his death. Ruthven Barracks, near Kingussie is where the Highland army gathered in 1746 after the battle of Culloden only to be told to disband, bringing an end to the last Jacobite rising. Ban on Tartan Cumberland took measures to stop the clans from uniting again and with an act of parliament in 1746 the wearing of tartan except as a uniform for officers and soldiers in the British Army was banned. Tartan became popular again in 1822 with George IV wearing full tartan dress a prerequisite of his visit to Scotland arranged by Sir Walter Scott and Henry Dundas. When George the IV stepped on Scottish land at Leith it was the first regaining monarch to stand on Scottish soil since King Charles I for his Scottish coronation in 1633. Battle of Prestonpans Bankton House Bankton House was originally called Olivestob and built by the Monks of Newbattle circa 1130. The house changed hands over the years, owned by many of the rich and powerful of the time. the Ker’s of Newbattle, Seton’s, Hamilton’s and Colonel James Gardiner purchased the house circa 1730 as his family home. and that is where he died at the end of the Battle of Prestonpans which took place on the lands to the east and north of the house. Battle of Prestonpans Bankton Do'cot The Bankton Doocot is a visitor attraction and once inside the story of James Gardiner of Bankton House will be told. Which includes Battle Prestonpans 1745. Battle of Prestonpans Colonel James Gardiner’s Obelisk The Obelisk stands near to Bankton House his family home in Prestonpans. Colonel James Gardiner was one of Sir John Cope’s Dragoon commanders at the battle of Prestonpans in 1745. James Gardiner was born in Carriden West Lothian in 1687 and became a career soldier in the British Army as was his father. He died gallantly due to wound sustained on the 21st of September 1745 at the Battle of Prestonpans, when battling against the Jacobite army of Bonnie Prince Charlie. Bankton House was where Colonel Gardiner was taken and subsequently died of his wounds sustained in the battle. Battle of Prestonpans The Thorntree Memorial Stone The Thorntree Memorial Stone stands in the vicinity of where Colonel Gardiner was to be fatally injured beside a Thorntree. Near to Bankton House can be seen a monument which was erected in 1853 in Colonel Gardiner’s memory. The inscription reads; During the Battle of Prestonpans fought on 21st September 1745 Colonel Gardiner of Bankton was fatally injured beneath a Hawthorn tree in this area. The inscription at the foot of the triangular stones reads; “The Battle was fought between the Jacobite’s” “Led by Bonnie Prince Charlie and” “The Gov’t forces led by Johnnie Cope” Harlawhill House Prestonpans Harlawhill House was first owned by the Hamilton’s of Preston the Hamilton’s being the major land owners of the area circa 1350 till 1701 on Sir Robert Hamilton of Preston’s death. The Harlawhill House built circa 1640 has little history. The Fowler’s Robert and son John once owned the house and it then was passed to his sister’s son Robert Hislop who became sole owner. The house overlooked their Brewery which stood on the High Street and Harlawhill which was owned by the Fowlers and Hislops . The grave and tombstone can be found in the old cemetery in Prestonpans. The Fowler Brewery was established circa 1720 by Robert Fowler. Who was succeeded by his son, John Fowler died who died in 1839 and the business passed to his nephew Robert Hislop, who remained the sole proprietor until he sold the business in 1865. John Fowler Brewer in Prestonpans Born 9 July 1756 Died 13 July 1839 Robert Hislop Born 7 June 1789 Died 16 January 1872 His Wife Ann Buchan Sydserff 19 May 1801 Died 31 March 1879 And their children Francis Hislop Born 26 August 1826 Died 12 March 1860 Robert Hislop Born 25 March 1831 Died 8 July 1830 Phemie George & Charlie who died in infancy John Fowler Hislop born 18 October 1823 died 6 August 1894 Drummore (Drummohr) House Prestonpans Sir Hew Dalrymple purchase the lands of Westpans in 1733. The house was demolished during the English invasion circa 1745. A new larger house was built by Lord Drummore (Sir Hew Dalrymple) in 1753. The estate was later passed to his son David Dalrymple (Lord Westhall) in 1755. David Dalrymple sold the estate to Rev Robert Finlay of Wallyford in 1762. Who then sold it on to the Aitchison family in 1808. William Aitcheson was wealthy land owner and Distiller and had 9 children Colonel William Aitcheson his son inherited the property in 1846. Circa 1880 renovations were carried out by the new owner and since then the house has had many uses one of which in 1928 Loretto School purchased the estate which was where the Loretto girl’s school was established. Translation DEO PATRIAE AICIS To God My Country and Friends DEO PATRIAE AICIS SEISE The Flow and Greatly Independant Live Next - Cockenzie - Port seton
- Edinburgh | Golf Courses | All About Edinburgh
Golf Courses Edinburgh if you are looking to Play Golf in Edinburgh. Here are all the golf courses in the Edinburgh area with full contact details, Location map, course details Book a tee time for the course of your choice. Edinburgh Golf Courses Edinburgh (Leith) is were the first golf was played to written rules in 1744. When only two Golf Courses existed one in Edinburgh Bruntsfield and one in Leith. Leith was not part of Edinburgh until 1920. Now there are over 20 courses council owned and private. All can be played by booking in advance. Click on link below for more details on each golf course in Edinburgh. Baberton Golf Course Duddingston Golf Course Merchants Golf Course Ratho Park Golf Course Turnhouse Golf Course Bruntsfield Links Golf Course Gogarburn Golf Course Mortonhall Golf Course Ravelston Golf Course 6 Council Golf Courses Craigmillar Park Golf Course Prestonfield Golf Course Murrayfield Golf Course Royal Burgess Golf Course Free Golf Dalmahoy Golf Courses Liberton Golf Course Kingsknowe Golf Course Swanston Golf Course Golf Transfers Scotland's Golf Course Map Golf & Airport Transfers Back to Golf in Scotland Golf Courses Edinburgh Baberton Golf Course Baberton Golf Course Contact Details: Pro Shop : Description of Course 18 Hole Park Land Golf Course White Tees 6016 Yards Par 70 Yellow Tees 5746 Yards Par 69 Red Tees 5550 Yards Par 74 History Baberton Golf Club was constituted on 31 May 1893 The first course was designed by Willie Park Jnr (Open Champion 1887 1889) opened 9 hole course 15th July 1893. Ben Sayers and James Braid were also part of the golf course design at later dates. Head PGA Professional Iain Lowdean Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Bruntsfield Links Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par 71 6,500 yards Parkland Course History Original designed by Willie Park Jnr and redesigned by Dr Alistair Mackenzie (1922), James Braid (1930) and Fred Hawtree (1974). Mackenzie & Ebert 2017-18. Bruntsfield Links Golf Society was founded in 1761 the 4th oldest club in the world Visitor Information PGA Professional - Alan Wright - Assistant - Joe Bryce Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Bruntsfield Golf Course Craigmillar Golf Course Craigmillar Park Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par 70 - 18 Hole 5828 yards Parkland Course History Original designed by James Braid in 1927 Craigmillar Park Golf Club was founded on 12th Jan 1895 Visitor Information PGA Professional - David Patrick & Shaun McAllister Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Dalmahoy Country Club Contact Details : Description of Course Parkland Course Dalmahoy (East) Blue Par 74 7334 yards White Par 72 6956 Yellow Par 71 6684 Red Par 74 6011 Dalmahoy (West) White Par 68 Yellow Par 68 Red Par 69 History The first course was designed by James Braid in 1927 (6,664 yards, Par 72) The House was built in 1725 and designed by William Adam Visitor Information PGA Professional - Scott Dixon Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Dalmahoy Golf courses Duddingston Golf Course Duddingston Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Gogarburn Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Gogarburn Golf Course Kingsknowe Golf Course Kingsknowe Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Liberton Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Liberton Golf Course Merchants Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Merchants Golf Course Mortonhall Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Mortonhall Golf Course Murrayfield Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Murrayfield Golf Course Prestonfield Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Prestonfield Golf Course Ratho Park Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Ratho Park Golf Course Ravelston Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Ravelston Golf Course Royal Burgess Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Royal Burgess Golf Course Swanston Golf Course Swanston New Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Turnhouse Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Turnhouse Golf Course Edinburgh Council Local Authority Golf Courses Braid hills Golf Course Braidhills Approach Edinburgh EH10 6JY 0131 447 6666 Carrickknowe Golf Course Glendevon Park Edinburgh EH12 5XB 0131 337 1096 Silverknowes Golf Course Silverknowes Road Edinburgh EH4 5ET 0131 336 3843 Braid Hills Princes Golf Course Braid Hills Drive Edinburgh EH10 6JY 0131 447 3568 Craigentinny Golf Course Fillyside Road Edinburgh EH7 6RG 0131 554 7501 Portobello Golf Course Stanley Street Edinburgh EH15 1JJ 0131 669 4361 6 Council Golf Courses Back to list
- Stockbridge Area | Shops & Businesses | All About Edinburgh
Stockbridge Area Edinburgh west of Canonmills and north of Edinburgh's city centre with restaurants pubs, cafes, Sunday Market the water of leith and mineral spring St Bernard's Well Falshaw Bridge and Fettes College this is a village within a city with great shopping small independent shops. STOCKBRIDGE AREA SHOPS EDINBURGH Retail Stores, Restaurants, Pubs, Activities, Accommodation Stockbridge the northern part of Edinburgh's new town and like a small village in a large city. Stockbridge History and Attractions The streets of the area are; Deanhaugh Street, Dean Street, Raeburn Place North West Circus Place, Henderson Row, Hamilton Place, Kerr Street, Bakers Street Dean Bank Lane, Granville Place, Comely Bank Road, Comleybank, St Vincent Street St Stephen Street, South East Circus Place, Howe Street Comely Bank Terrace, Comely Bank Place, NORTH WEST CIRCUS PLACE The Pantry Restaurant 1 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6ST City of Edinburgh Scotland Dick's Edinburgh Fashion 3 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6ST City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 6220 Original Tile Shop 4 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6ST City of Edinburgh Scotland Patisserie Florentin 5 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 0225 Aesop Beauty 6 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SW City of Edinburgh Scotland Jeffery's Interiors 8 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SW City of Edinburgh Scotland Royal Bank of Scotland plc 12 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland 03457 242424 Zanzero 14 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 0333 Boscollo Bathrooms 17 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland Eden Fashion 18 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland Farrow and Ball 20 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland Ian Smith Design 21 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland Vincent Bell Hair 23 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland Sculleries of Stockbridge 25 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Vino Wines 26 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Floatarium 29 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Spanish Fine Foods 30 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Spud 31 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Coulter's Letting Agent 32 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Stockbridge Pharmacy 35 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 9150 RAEBURN PLACE Field Grill House 1 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 9977 Stockbridge Tap Restaurant 2 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 343 3000 Willow Boutique 5 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Stockbridge Tap Restaurant 6 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Capelli Hair 7 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland St Bernard's Bar 10 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 2655 Cetty and Doig Opticians 11 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Ann Smith Jeweler 12 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Russel & Aitken LLP 16 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 202 0600 Domino's Pizza 17 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HU City of Edinburgh Scotland Coco Chocolatier 20 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Lucie Fenton Gallery 20a Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Subway 21 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Abacus Blinds 22 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Timpson’s 23 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Sergio Tosoralli Tailor / Couture 26 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Goll Hair 26a Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Greggs Bakery 27a Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 3326377 Henderson Art 28 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Madalea Patisserie 29a Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland GLANVILLE PLACE Caffe Nero 4 Glanville Place Edinburgh EH3 6SZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Sharon Robertson Hair 3 Glanville Place Edinburgh EH3 6SZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Stockbridge Newsagent 1 Glanville Place Edinburgh EH3 6SZ City of Edinburgh Scotland BAKER'S PLACE I J Mellis Cheese 6 Baker's Place Edinburgh EH3 6SY City of Edinburgh Scotland Stockbridge Kitchen Café 8 Baker's Place Edinburgh EH3 6SY City of Edinburgh Scotland Starbucks 10 Baker's Place Edinburgh EH3 6SY City of Edinburgh Scotland SOUTH EAST CIRCUS PLACE Doubtfire Gallery 1 South East Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 6540 COMELYBANK Bank of Scotland 43 Comelybank Edinburgh EH4 1AF City of Edinburgh Scotland COMELY BANK PLACE Gentlemens Club 43 Comely Bank Place Edinburgh EH4 1ER City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 3247 COMELY BANK TERRACE Dean Bowling Club 18 Comely Bank Terrace Edinburgh EH4 1AS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 0015 COMELY BANK ROAD Scran and Scallie 1 Comely Bank Road Edinburgh EH4 1DT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 6281 Franco's Fish Bar 7 Comely Bank Road Edinburgh EH4 1DR City of Edinburgh Scotland Northwood Properties 13 Comely Bank Road Edinburgh EH4 1DR City of Edinburgh Scotland Crombie & Co Property Management 15 Comely Bank Road Edinburgh EH4 1DS City of Edinburgh Scotland Bob's Barbers 69 Comely Bank Road Edinburgh EH4 1AW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 7119 DEAN STREET Good Brothers Wine Bar 4 Dean Street Edinburgh EH4 1LW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 315 3311 KERR STREET Sunday Market Kerr Street Edinburgh EH3 6SZ City of Edinburgh Scotland DEAN BANK LANE Lancers 1 Restaurant Dean Bank Lane Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 3444 RAEBURN PLACE William Hill Bookmaker 31 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Banks Flowers 32 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Maxi’s 33 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HX City of Edinburgh Scotland Geluja 34 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Poppin Up 37 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Scot Mid 41 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Write Stuff 43 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Shanaz Takeaway 45 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Gallery Mirages 46 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Kim McGregor Hair 47 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Henri Café 48 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Daisy Cheynes 51 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Street Box 53 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Costa Coffee 54 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Pekoe Tea of Edinburgh 55 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HX City of Edinburgh Scotland Caoba 56 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Wo man Kind Beauty 58 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Carson Hardware 62 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Electric Signs 63 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Alterations 65 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Herbie of Edinburgh 66 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland DEANHAUGH STREET Pizza Express 1 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 7229 Rafael’s 2 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 1469 Peter's Yard 3 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LU City of Edinburgh Scotland Gordon Fraser Hair 4 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland Lloyds Pharmacy 7 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 5721 Saorsa Art Gallery 8 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 343 1126 Tariq's Grocers 11 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LU City of Edinburgh Scotland Bank of Scotland 13 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LU City of Edinburgh Scotland Just Dogs 14 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland Liggy’s Cake Company 18 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 2223 Grounds Coffee 20 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland Veritas Restaurant 24 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 315 2860 Ping On 26 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 3621 Pastel De Nata 33 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LR City of Edinburgh Scotland Boombarbers 34 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 315 3313 Sainsbury Local 35 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LR City of Edinburgh Scotland Sabor Criollo 36 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland Hectors 47 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 343 1735 ST VINCENT STREET St Vincent Bar 11 St Vincent Street Edinburgh EH3 6SW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 7447 RAEBURN PLACE Flavours Holidays 69 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Costcutter 70 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland G.P.O 74 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland George Bowes Butchers 75 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Good Village Chinese Takeaway 76 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Rock Paper Scissors Barber 77 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Gift 78 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Armstrong Fishmonger 80 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Vet Surgery 82 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Goodfellow and Stevens Cakes 86 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland James Wilson Interiors 88 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Jimmy Martin Travel 94 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Café Plum 96 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Calzeat Fashion 98 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Pasa Barbers 100 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Artisan Roast Café 102A Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HH City of Edinburgh Scotland New town Dry Cleaners 104 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HH City of Edinburgh Scotland Rollo Restaurant 108 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Pizza Hut 110 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Raeburn Hotel 112 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 7000 ST STEPHEN STREET Bailie Bar 2 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4673 Bells Diner 7 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 8116 Rice King 11 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 5213 Sing Thai 42 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 5877 Saint (The) Bar 44 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 9009 Blue Parrot Cantina 49 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 2941 Stockbridge 54 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 6766 Anna Harper Lettings 63 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 202 0495 Golden Hare Books 68 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 1396 Antiquary Inn 72 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 2858 Flaubert Gallery 74 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 5007 Karen's Unicorn 112 St Stephens Sreet Edinburgh EH3 5AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 6659 Bruce Rae Property Management 110b St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AQ City of Edinburgh Scotland HAMILTON PLACE Edinburgh Property Letting Services 8 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AU City of Edinburgh Scotland Stockbridge Library 11 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland Hamilton's Bar and Restaurant 16 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 8513 Gorgeous Hair Salon 33 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 343 1152 Theatre Workshop 34 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 7942 Skylark Café 42 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH 3 5AZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4444 Whistling Tortoise 42a Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH 3 5AZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Alpine Bikes 48 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland Alpha Art Gallery 52 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 3066 Scot Mid 56 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 3066 Capital Credit Union 62 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland Ronde Cycles 68 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland HENDERSON ROW Lezzetli 1 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland L'alba Dora 5 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland Anima Restaurant 7 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland Licks Cake Shop 17 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland Bamboo Boutique 19 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 3116 New Town Deli 23 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland Lisa V Beauty 27 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland Reiss Hair 29 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland Wendy's Ice Cream 31 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland Physio Centre Palaties and Yoga 38 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DN City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Academy 54 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4603 Royal London Insurance 57 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DL City of Edinburgh Scotland Row66 Hair 66 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Benjamin's Barber 68 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Adam Pottery Studio 76 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 3978 HOWE STREET EDINBURGH Edinburgh Ski Club 2 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Gamefish 4 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Homer Interiors 8 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Edina Paint Co 10 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Albany Dental Care 12a Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Connolly Hair 16 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Papavero Italian Restaurant 18 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland George Pirie Antiques 22 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland six degrees north Bar 24 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland HOWE STREET EDINBURGH One Below Cellar Bar 24a Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland Sally Salon Services 26 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland Sainsbury's Local 28 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland Future Property Auctions 32 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Handbag Heaven 36 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Urban Hair 38 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Hadden Rankin Property Management 40 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Nova Pizza Restaurant 42 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Newsagent 46 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Ruan Siam Restaurant 48 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland HOWE STREET EDINBURGH Steedman Accountants 7 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland LGBT Health 9 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland Bon Papillon Gallery 15 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland Pronta Print 17 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland McAree Brother Knitting 19 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland Simpson Marwick Solicitors 19b Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland Leo's Bakery 23a Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TF City of Edinburgh Scotland Lonsdale and Dutch 23b Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TF City of Edinburgh Scotland Next - Constitution Street Businesses
- Greyfriars Graveyard | Ghost Tours | All About Edinburgh
Greyfriars Graveyard Tour attractions of the famous residents of Edinburgh that were buried in the Greyfriars Kirk Graveyard. Stories of Ghosts and supernatural events when walking past tombs and graves of the departed. The first grave at the gates Greyfriars Bobby dog icon of Edinburgh. Greyfriars Graveyard Tour Greyfriars Kirk Graveyard Edinburgh Greyfriars Graveyard Tour is my selection of the famous residents of Edinburgh that were buried in the Greyfriars Kirk Graveyard. Greyfriars Kirk opened in 1620 the graveyard was in existence as a municipal burial ground from 1562. The Friars were given the lands circa 1470 and the original friary was destroyed by the Reformers in 1559. Stories of Ghosts and and supernatural events when walking past Mausoleums, Tombs and Graves of the departed. The first grave at the gates Greyfriars Bobby dog icon of Edinburgh. The Judge who sentenced 100's to death, Tom Riddle A.K.A Lord Voldemort (Harry Potter), John Porteous hanged, James Borthwick the tombstone with the skeleton from 1675, Allan Ramsay Poet, Joseph Black, William Creech and Mary Erskine, George Watson, James Craig (architect), John Bayne. This was where the affluent were interned. Look inside the Kirk where the museum can be found. Greyfriars Graveyard Tour Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh John Kay 1742 – 1826 Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh John Kay is buried in Grayfriars Burial Ground Edinburgh. He was a well-known figure around Edinburgh Born in 1742 in Dalkeith Midlothian. He began his working life at 13 becoming an apprentice to the local Barber. At 19 he moved to a Barbers shop in Edinburgh. He loved sketching and painting. His free time was taken up in what was to become what he was remember by. John Kay was a painter of miniatures and caricaturist. Through his paintings and Sketches the people of Edinburgh through the Enlightenment are still visible due to John Kay. There is a plaque on the wall in the High Street Edinburgh where he lived (Geddes’ Entry). John Kay died in Edinburgh on 21 February 1826 and was laid to rest in Grayfriars Burial Ground. Many of his caricature drawings were purchased by the subject he had drawn in the sole purpose of being able to destroy it. William McGonagall (Professor Minerva McGonagall) Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh William McGonagall is also buried in Grayfriars burial ground. Known in his time as the world’s worst poet me died in South College Street Edinburgh. He wrote circa 200 poems, which including as some of the worst ever written in English literature. William was born in 1825 and lived most of his life in Dundee. He performed in front of the rich and famous and royalty a very popular literary figure of his time. Sir William Topaz McGonagall inspirational name of the head of Gryffindor House, Professor Minerva McGonagall. His grave stone can be found in the far left corner of Grayfriars near to Heriot's School (Hogwarts) Gates. Greyfriars Bobby Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Greyfriars Bobby was a Skye terrier who became known in 19th-century Edinburgh after spending 14 years guarding the grave of his owner, John Gray. Bobby himself died in 1872. A year later a statue was erected at the top of Candlemaker Row across from the Greyfriars Kirkyard. There is also a red granite headstone in Greyfriars kirkyard near the gate. Have a stroll around the Greyfriars Kirkyard and see many famous and powerful people of old Edinburgh. Greyfriars Bobby died 14th January 1872 age 16 years. Let his loyalty and devotion be a lesson to us all. James Borthwick James Borthwick of Stow was the world's first Apothecary Surgeon he was born in 1615 and died in 1675. In 1657 he became the first apothecary Surgeon and teacher of anatomy George Mackenzie (The Covenanter’s Judge) Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Rosehaugh Close (now Melrose Close named after Sir George MacKenzie of Rosehaugh King’s Advocate. Sir George McKenzie (George Bloody Mackenzie) is still known today due to his tomb in Greyfriars which is said to be haunted. George Mackenzie was the judge that sentenced the Covenanters to death. The spirit of George MacKenzie is said to cause bruising, bites and cuts on those who come into contact with the spirit or touch his tomb. Some visitors have reported feeling strange sensations. The Poltergeist seems to only attack people that are in the Covenanters Prison area which is now kept locked. Contact the kirk museum regards entry. Robert Chieslie Greyfriars Graveyard Walter Chieslie of Dalry built Dalry House (Orwell Place Edinburgh) in 1661 he was father to Robert Chieslie, who became was Lord Provost of Edinburgh in 1694 -96. He was one of the Darien Scheme investors who lost a fortune and died in the Edinburgh Asylum at Bristo. He is buried in Grayfriars burial ground in the mausoleum of Advocate George ‘Bloody’ MacKenzie. His brother John is also interned in the same tomb. John was guilty of murdering Lord Carnwath. This is the most hunted grave in Greyfriars with three ghosts. Sir Robert Sibbald 1641 – 1722 Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Sir Robert Sibbald was Physician to King Charles II and first Professor of Medicine in the University of Edinburgh, President of the Royal College of Physicians 1648 – 1685 and co-founder of the Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. Thomas Riddell (Riddle) Lord Voldemort Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Tom Marvolo Riddle known to be a Dark Wizard and enemy of Harry Potter. Tom Marvolo Riddle, was born and raised in a Muggle orphanage, but eventually attended Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry (1938-1945). He changed his name to Lord Voldemort. It is said the character’s name was inspired by the tombstone in Grayfriars burial ground. Covenanters Prison (The Presbyterians) Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh The National Covenant signed in Greyfriars in 1638, promised to defend Presbyterianism from intervention by the crown. Through the gates is the part of the Greyfriar’s Kirkyard which was once in 1679 a prison for more than 1000 supporters of the National Covenant, who had been defeated by Government forces at the Battle of Bothwell Bridge 22 June 1679. They were imprisoned for more than 4 months with little or no food and no shelter, some were tried and executed, others died in prison, some escaped and others were set free after signing a bond of loyalty to the crown. In November 1679 the remaining 257 prisoners were taken to Leith and place aboard a ship that was bound for the American Colonies, however all but 48 were drowned when the ship was wrecked of the coast of Orkney. Nine of the 48 were said to have escaped. The area of the prison was much larger than it is now as it took in where houses have been built and new graves were installed here in 1705 when the graveyard required more space for the Edinburgh people. The Covenanters (Presbyterians) immigrated to North America in the early 1700s and William Tennant founded the Log College in Neshaminy Pennsylvania in 1735. The Covenanters of North America became the members of the reformed Presbyterian Church. The inscription on the plaque at the side of the gates to the Covenanters’ Prison reads; THE COVENANTERS’ PRISON Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Behind these gates lies part of the Greyfriars Kirkyard which was used in 1679 as a prison for more than one thousand supporters of the National Covenant who had been defeated by Government forces at the battle of Bothwell Brig on 22 June. For more than four months these men were held here without any shelter, each man being allowed 4 ounces of bread a day. Kindly citizens were sometimes able to give them more food. Some of the prisoners died here, some were tried and executed for treason, some escaped, and some were freed after signing a bond of loyalty to the Crown. All those who were persecuted and died for their support of the National Covenant in the reigns of Charles II and James VII are commemorated by the Martyrs’ Memorial on the north-eastern wall of the Kirkyard. The Covenant, which was first signed in Greyfriars Kirk in 1638, promised to defend Presbyterianism from intervention by the Crown. In November 1679 the remaining 257 men, who had been sentenced to transportation overseas, were taken to Leith and placed on board a ship bound for the American colonies; nearly all were drowned when this ship was wrecked in the Orkney islands (where there is a monument in their memory), but 48 of the prisoners survived. The section of the Kirkyard used to imprison the Covenanters lay outside the existing south wall, and included the area now covered by buildings on Forrest Row. The area behind the gate was laid out for burials in 1705 and contains many fine monuments, but these did not exist at the time of the prison. This plaque has been provided by the Greyfriars Kirkyard Trust with the support of the Scottish Covenanter Memorials Association. In the Covenanter's Prison Mary Erskine Greyfriars Graveyard Mary Erskine married in 1661, a writer of the signet (advocate). He unfortunately died 10 years later. Mary remarried Chemist with his own apothecary but he also died prematurely. With the money she had accumulated she opened a bank and amassed a large fortune, which she gifted money to the Edinburgh Merchant Company who establish the first hospital (boarding school) for girls, named The Merchant Maidens Hospital which opened in the Cowgate in the Merchants Hall which was situated where the arch of the George IV Bridge now stands in 1694. In 1704 she opened a further Hospital for girls, The Trades Maiden Hospital. Its first location was on Jamaica Street next to Argyll Square (Chamber Street and West College Street). It remained there until 1855, when it moved out to a villa named Rillbank. Edinburgh Sick Children’s Hospital now occupies the site. In 1892 it moved again to Ashfield, on Grange Loan. At the west corner of Blackford Avenue. The latest move was to 61 Melville Street in 1975 and its new home was renamed Ashfield in commemoration of its former premises. In the Covenanter's Prison James Hutton Greyfriars Graveyard James Hutton was born in Edinburgh in 1726 and died in Edinburgh 1797 age 70 years. At the age of 14 years he became a student of the University of Edinburgh he went on to travel to France where he became a doctor of medicine. He then went to London and then returned to Edinburgh. He continued the study of the Earth as geology and meteorology were his great interest. Hutton was part of the Edinburgh Enlightenment and as a scientist was regularly seen with Adam Smith, David Hume John Playfair and Joseph Black another famous scientist. His magnum opus was the theory of the earth which made the foundations to Geology James Hutton has been known as the Father of Modern Geology. Joseph Black Greyfriars Graveyard Joseph Black was a physicist and chemist who discovered magnesium, latent heat, specific heat, and carbon dioxide. In 1757 Joseph Black was appointed Regius Professor of the Practice of Medicine at the University of Glasgow and in 1766 he became Professor of Medicine and Chemistry at the University of Edinburgh. Both the University of Edinburgh and Glasgow have chemistry buildings named after him. Joseph Black was part of the Edinburgh Enlightenment and was at the gathering when Sir Walter Scott and Robert Burns met for the only time. In the Covenanter's Prison Joseph Black’s Plaque The inscription reads, "Joseph Black, Doctor of Medicine,-born in France, but a British subject, his father being a native of Ireland, and his mother of Scotland,-first a student in the University of Glasgow, and afterwards in that of Edinburgh, was a most distinguished Professor of Chemistry in both Universities; a felicitous interpreter of nature; acute, cautious, and skilful in research; eloquent in description; the first discoverer of carbonic acid and latent heat,- died in the 71st year of his age, AD 1799. His friends, who were wont to esteem his worth and abilities, have sought to mark out the spot which contains his body by this marble, as long as it shall last." Joseph Black's death in 1799. William Creech FRSE Greyfriars Graveyard William Creech was the main book publisher in Edinburgh. He was also a printer, bookseller, politician and Edinburgh’s Lord Provost in 1811. He was also a freemason and friends with Dr T Blacklock and Henry MacKenzie, both invited Robert Burns to Edinburgh. They introduced William Creech to Burns and he became his publisher and published the first Edinburgh edition of Robert Burns' poems 650 copies sold out in the first day to lodge members. William Adam Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh William Adam was born in Fife in 1689 and was one of Scotland’s greatest architects and he could also be said to be one of the first true entrepreneurs with many varied business interests. He died in 1747 and his son John Adam designed and built the family mausoleum in 1753 in Grayfriars. One of his best house designs that he built was for Robert Dundas when he built Arniston house for the Viscount in 1726. Mort Safes Greyfriars Graveyard Mort safes were a form of cage over a grave to stop the grave robbers from taking the bodies and selling them to the Medical College to be used to teach the students human anatomy. This was before the 1832 Anatomy Act regulated the legal supply of corpses for medical science. Captain John Porteous Greyfriars Graveyard The killing of John Porteous Captain of the City Guard. Three robbers were caught and imprisoned for carrying out a robbery. William Hall, George Robertson and Andrew Wilson. At their trial William Hall was sentenced to transportation to the colonies for life, but Andrew Wilson and George Robertson were sentenced to hang and were imprisoned in the Tolbooth in Edinburgh’s High Street awaiting execution. George Robertson escaped and made his way out of Britain. However, Andrew Wilson was to be publicly hanged in the Grassmarket in April of 1736. On the day of the execution a riot began and the City guard was called out, led by Captain John Porteous. Due to the rioting Captain John Porteous instructed his men to fire above the heads of the crowd, this made the riot even more heated, the shots from the city guard had hit and killed onlookers that were watching the proceedings from their windows. With the crowd getting even more violent, Captain Porteous gave the order to shoot into the crowd, which resulted in more deaths. Later that day Captain John Porteous was arrested and charged with murder. At his trial on 5 July 1736, he was convicted by a unanimous decision and found guilty of murder and sentenced to death. The execution took place in the Grassmarket on 8 September 1736. Walter Geikie Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Walter Geikie was born in 1795 a deaf painter and founder of the first deaf church and deaf society. His true memorial can be seen in our city art galleries and in the quality of life and dignity accorded to deaf citizens of Edinburgh today. Walter Geikie loved to sketch street scenes in ink and of real life. Union Carbide Gas Disaster Memorial Plaque Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh In memory of almost 4000 deaths and 40,000 people disabled maimed or suffering serious illness from the gas leak in December 1984 in Bhopal India. "never think you stand alone" George Buchanan 1506 - 1582 Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh George Buchanan, was born in Stirling in 1506 and died in Edinburgh in 1582. He followed the Calvinist theory throughout his life. A Humanist scholar, fluent in Latin, he travelled and was a teacher in France and Portugal. Teaching both Mary Queen of Scots and her son King James VI. He was a renowned writer of poetry, plays and other literary works. He was the Keeper of the Privy Seal. He also conspired with Elizabeth I to have Mary Queen of Scots arrested which led to her execution. His work ‘Rerum Scoticarum historia’ (The History of Scotland) completed just prior to his death in 1582 Allan Ramsay (1686–1758) Greyfriars Graveyard Allan Ramsay was a trained Wigmaker and poet. He died in Ramsay Lodge, Ramsay Garden on Castlehill where he spent the last years of his life. In 1725 he opened the first lending library in the High Street Edinburgh which was the first lending library in Britain. Allan was born in Lanarkshire in the west of Scotland on 15 October 1686. He died on 7th January 1758. Allan Ramsay established the Jacobite Literary Society in 1712. He became a bookseller in 1721 which he retired from in 1740. He is remember mostly for being a pioneer in the use of the Scots Language in contemporary poetry. James Craig Greyfriars Graveyard James Craig was the winning architect of the design for Edinburgh’s new town a competition held by King George III. He was only 23 years of age when he won but never saw the end result as he died prior to its completion. John Byrne Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh John Byrne’s tomb is built into the wall of Grayfriars burial ground. John Byrne He was a writer to the signet (solicitor to the King) and a wealthy landowner. He was born in (1620) Pitcarlie Fife which is just north of Auchtermuchty. The Tomb was built by his surviving wife in 1684 three years after his death. George Watson Greyfriars Graveyard George Watson was born in Edinburgh in 1654 and had a long and successful career as an accountant and merchant banker. He became the first accountant of the Bank of Scotland. On his death he bequeathed money to the Edinburgh Merchant Company to open a Hospital (boarding School) for the poor children of Edinburgh. The School is still in existence to this day. George Watson died on 3 April 1723. This memorial was erected | In 1991 to mark the 250th | Anniversary of the opening | of George Watson’s Hospital and the 120th anniversary | of George Watson’s Ladies’ | College the forerunners | of | George Watson’s College. George Watson who founded the College was born in Edinburgh in 1654 and died in 1723. The School opened in 1741 in Lauriston Place opposite George Heriot’s School. The Boys school moved to its present building in Colinton Road in 1932. George Foulis of Ravelstoun Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh George Foulis purchased the Ravelstoun Estate in 1620. Where he built a tower house in 1622 where he lived with his wife Janet Bannatyne. An inscription on a lintel reads GF- NE QUID NIMIS 1622 JB. These inscriptions are found on most old houses showing the initials of the owners, when they moved in, or when they married. In this case (GF) George Foulis NE QUID NIMIS (Nothing in excess) 1622 year house built (JB) Janet Bannatyne. In the grounds is Ravelston Tower, the stair-tower of Old Ravelston House. George Foulis, laird of Ravelstoun (Ravelston) was born in 1569 the second son of Sir James Foulis of Colinton. George Foulis became a Bailie (Councillor) of the city of Edinburgh. He married Janet Bannatyne (1603). George Foulis died in 1633 and is buried in Grayfriars Burial Ground. Covenanters' Memorial Monument Grayfriars Kirk Edinburgh Halt, passenger, take heed what you do see This tomb doth shew, for what sane men did do Here lies interr’d the dust of those who stood ‘Gainst perjury, resisting unto blood. Adhering to the Covenant, and laws Establishing the same, which was the cause Then lives were sacrificed unto the lust Of Prelatists abjured. Though here their dust Lies mixt with murderers, and other crew Whom justice justly did to death pursue. But as for them, no cause was to be found Worthy of death, but only they were found. Constant and stedfast zealous as For the Prerogative of CHRIST their KING. Which truths were sealed by famous Guthrie’s head And all along to Mr Renwick’s blood They did endure the wrath of [?enemies] Reproaches torments deaths and injustice But yet they‘re those who and now triumph in glory with the LAMB. From May 27th 1661, that the most noble Marquis of Argyle was beheaded, to the 17 th of Febry 1688 that Mr James Renwick suffered, were one way or other Murdered and Destroyed for the same Cause, about Eighteen thousand of whom were execute in Edinburgh about a Hundred of Noblemen, Gentlemen, Minister, and Others noble Martyrs for JESUS CHRIST. The most of them lie here. A stone open bible once stood below the inscription. The Plaque shows what was written on the open pages. Rev.VI.9 AND WHEN HE HAD OPENED THE FIFTH SEAL, I SAW UNDER THE ALTER THE SOULS OF THEM THAT WERE SLAIN FOR, THE WORD OF GOD, AND FOR THE TESTIMONT WHICH THEY HELD; AND THEY CRIED WITH A LOUD VOICE, SAYING, HOW LONG, O LORD, HOLY AND TRUE, DOST THOU NOT JUDGE & AVENGE OUR BLOOD ON THEM THAT DWELL ON THE EARTH? AND WHITE ROBES WERE GIVEN TO EVERY ONE OF THEM AND IT WAS SAID UNTO THEM THAT THEY SHOULD REST YET FOR A LITTLE SEASON UN TIL THERE FELLOW-SERVANTS ALSO AND THEIR BRETHREN, THAT SHOULD BE KILLED AS THEY WERE, SHOULD BE FULFILLED. REV.VII.14. THESE ARE THEY WHICH CAME OUT OF GREAT TRIBULATION, AND HAVE WASHED THEIR ROBES, AND MADE THEM WHITE IN THE BLOOD OF THE LAMB. CHAP.2nd.10. BE THOU FAITHFUL UNTO DEATH, AND I WILL GIVE THEE A CROWN OF LIFE. Next - Candlemakers' Row
- Edinburgh New Town | Architecture | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh New town, Edinburgh architecture and its history. Edinburgh New Town Attractions, Shops, Restaurants, Cafes, Hotels and Apartments. Nightlife and activities. Sunday Markets Edinburgh's New Town has it all. Edinburgh New Town Attractions The New Town in Edinburgh was the idea of King George III and the design he decided on was originally 3 main streets with 2 Squares one in the East and one in the west at each end of George Street. With 4 streets crossing vertically from Princes Street to Queen Street. Click on the buttons below to see what's in each of the streets. Edinburgh New Town Attractions The naming of “The New Town” In 1759 King George III had a new town built as an extension of Edinburgh City, as the over population of the old town streets had become unliveable. A bridge was built as an access to where the new town would be built (North Bridge). Where the area of the Nor Loch once covered, Waverley Rail Station and Princes Street Gardens are now. When the plans for the new town were agreed the King named the streets with the main street after himself (George Street). The other streets of the new town were named after as follows: Queen Street, after his wife the Queen: St. Giles Street after the city’s patron saint, St. Giles St. Andrews Square after the patron saint of Scotland and George Square after the patron saint of England. The smaller street between George Street and Queen Street is named Thistle Street after (Scotland’s national emblem) Street Between George Street and St. Giles Street is named Rose Street after (England’s national emblem). King George, after consideration, rejected the name St. Giles Street as St Giles being the patron saint of lepers and also the name of a slum area on the edge of the City of London. It was renamed Princes Street after his sons, the three Princes. The name of St. George Square was also changed to Charlotte Square after his wife Charlotte the Queen as there was already a George Square just outside the old town. Thistle Street was split into three separate street names, from the west end. It became Young Street then Hill Street after the architects who built the new town with the final part remaining Thistle Street now half the length of Rose Street. The three streets running across the main street completing the new town area, Castle Street named for the view of the castle, Frederick Street after the king’s father Frederick and Hanover Street was after the Royal house of Hanover. The main access to the new town was by the North Bridge. The Nor Loch was drained and the debris from the excavations of the new town were piled up in the middle of the now dry bed of the loch and formed the mound the only other access from the old town to the new town. The gardens were then formed on both sides of the mound in the dry bed where the loch had been at the foot of Edinburgh Castle, running the length of Princes Street. The first buildings in the New Town to be built were in Rose Court, at the east end of Thistle Street in 1767, now called Thistle Court, this building can still be seen today. Calton Hill Waterloo Place Regent Road History Attractions West Princes Street Gardens History Attractions George Street Hanover Street Frederick Street History Attractions North Bridge History Attractions Cockburn Street History Attractions Stockbridge Edinburgh History Attractions New Town West Edinburgh History Attractions St Andrews Square Thistle Court History Attractions Princes Street History Attractions The Mound Bank Street - North Bank Street Mound Place - St Giles Street History Attractions Waverley Bridge History Attractions Charlotte Square North Charlotte Street History Attractions Edinburgh New Town North History Attractions New Town North East Edinburgh History Attractions Queen Street History Attractions East Princes Street Gardens History Attractions Castle Street North Castle Street History Attractions Market Street East Market Street History Attractions Lothian Road History Attractions Edinburgh Royal Botanic Gardens History Attractions New Town North West Edinburgh History Attractions Next - Calton Hill - Waterloo Place - Regent Road
- Whisky Shops Edinburgh | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh has many shops that sell a brands of whisky. The selection of blended and malt whiskies and place you can try before you buy, specialty shops that only sell whisky and many supermarkets with cut price malts and blended all the best names and some small distilleries. Whisky Shops Edinburgh Looking for a Scottish Malt Whisky without going to a distillery? There are many shops in Edinburgh where you can taste the product before you buy. Whisky connoisseurs will get a experts view of the whiskies on sale without paying a high premium for a special whisky. Special reserves and whisky from the cask all available in the whisky shops of Edinburgh. There are also pubs that have a varied and wide selection of whisky if you want to make a night of it. Always remember over 18 yrs only and drink responsibly Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Cadenhead’s Whisky Shop Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5864 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Tartan Weaving Mill Castle Hill Royal Mile Edinburgh EHI 2NE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 2477 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Whiskey World Cockburn Street Edinburgh EH1 1PB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 2134 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Royal Mile Whiskies High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1PW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3383 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Black Stag Whisky Ltd Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 278 3588 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Jeffrey Street Whisky and Tobacco Jeffrey Street Edinburgh EH1 1DT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9930 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops The Whiski Rooms North Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1532 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops The Scotch Malt Whisky Society Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 1JX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 2044 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Robert Graham Whisky & Cigars Rose Street Edinburgh EH2 4AZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1874 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops The Whisky Shop Victoria Street Edinburgh EH1 2JW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4666 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Whisky Shop Waverley Mall Waverley Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5688 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Glenkinchie Distillery Pencaitland East Lothian EH34 5ET City of Edinburgh Scotland 01875 342 012 Shops in Edinburgh Castle Edinburgh
- Visit Scotland | Scottish Border Towns | All About Edinburgh
The Scottish Border towns are a hidden gem with Castles famous people, historic Homes, Abbeys, Home of Mary Queen of Scots (Jedburgh) and Sir Walter Scott (Abbotsford) Mongo Park (Selkirk) Rugby Legend Bill McLaren (Hawick). Scottish Border Towns Scottish Borders Attractions and Towns History, Attractions, Famous People & Stories. The Scottish Border region has the famous river Tweed that carves its way from west to East with all the water from the hills flowing into it as it makes its way to the North Sea at Berwick- Upon-Tweed. The last circa 180 miles of the Tweed is marks the Border between Scotland and England. One of the most scenic spots is the bridge that crosses over the Tweed at Coldstream at the Scottish side a house stands where English couples would runaway to be married (This was before Gretna Green was used). The Marriage house still stands in the middle of nowhere as it is between the Welcome to Scotland sign and you are leaving England sign. The main Border towns are situated in the central area of the Scottish Borders. A road that runs from just outside Edinburgh in the east starting from the A720 which will take you 50 minutes to the main area or by train on the Borders Railway from Waverley Station to Tweedbank which is close to Abbotsford House, where Sir Walter Scott once lived. The main towns in the Borders are Melrose Galashiels, Selkirk, Hawick, Jedburgh, Kelso, Newtown St. Boswells, St Boswells, Peebles, Coldstream and Tweedbank . While visiting the Borders carry on to Moffat which is in Dumfries and Galloway where you can buy the famous Moffat Toffee. Just on the Border of Scotland and England. Also the highest village in Scotland is Wanlockhead where the gold of the Honours of Scotland came from. Innerleithen Ancrum Duns Gordon Lauder Coldstream I have selected attractions from many of the scottish border towns. However for a full guide of all the attractions in all the Scottish Borders towns I have provided a link here Scottish Border Attractions Melrose / Dryburgh Leaderfoot Jedburgh Hawick Kelso Selkirk Galashiels Other Scottish Borders Towns are Coldingham - Eyemouth - St Abbs - Peebles Newtown St Boswells - Carlops - Cockburnspath - Traquair - Cringletie - Galashiels Berwick upon Tweed Biggar Bowden Cockburnspath Crawfordjohn Earlston Kirk Yetholm Langholm Newcastleton Newtown St Boswells Peebles St Abbs Head St Boswells Teviothead Tweed Valley Walkerburn Yarrow Water and Ettrick Water Ancrum Scottish Borders Attractions Harestanes Countryside Park and Visitor Centre Finding Harestanes, from the A68, at the turning almost opposite the road to Ancrum, take the B6400 (signposted to Nisbet) and take the right turn after about 700m and follow the signs. There is a free carpark. Harestanes is a place for all the family with a adventure play park for children of all ages and great walks and scenery. Harestanes is on St Cuthbert’s Way, the ultimate walkway from the borders into England 100 Klm (63 miles) of shear bliss. Before starting your walk plan ahead make sure you are well equipped for a long walk. Waterloo Monument Peniel Heugh where the Waterloo Monument 150-foot Doric tower, built over 10 years and completed in 1827 by The 6th Marquis of Lothian, on behalf of his tenants. The monument commemorate the Duke of Wellington’s victory over Napoleon Bonaparte at the Battle of Waterloo 1815. Access to the Waterloo Monument at Lothian Estates Office Bonjedward, Jedburgh Scottish Borders TD8 6UF Tel: 01835 862201 Email: evie@lothianestates.co.uk To hire the keys to Peniel Heugh/Waterloo Monument visit our office on a weekday to collect them for £5. We are open 8:45am - 5pm Monday to Friday. Duns Scottish Borders Attractions Duns in the Scottish Borders history goes back to the start of the 13th century (1210). here is a castle a museum dedicated to Jim Clark motor racing champion and a cairn to John Duns Scotus, the most important philosopher-theologians of his time. Lauder Scottish Borders Attractions Lauder is a small town on the road between Edinburgh and the heart of the Scottish Borders. On the same route Thirlestane Castle, the Maitland Family home of Dukes and Earls for over 500 years. A true 16th century castle with its own family ghost haunting chambers. Tour the castle and see this magnificent home of the 18th Earl of Lauderdale. Coldstream Scottish Borders Attractions Coldstream is a town that sits on the river Tweed on the border between Scotland and England. Due to Coldstreams location it was the original place where young couples would cross the border to be married. Coldstream has many attractions museums and galleries and located on the English side is the Flodden Battle site, where the Scottish forces were defeated by the English in 1513 where the last King was killed in battle. The only bridge at the time was the Twizel Bridge that spanned the Tweed which marked the boundary of the the two countries. Gordon Scottish Borders Attractions Gordon is the location of Mellerstain House and Gardens is one for the architectural buffs, as it is said to be the finest work of Robert Adam son of William Adam Scotland's number one architect of his time. His son Robert Scottish neoclassical architect, interior designer and furniture designer followed in his fathers footsteps to be a renowned architect. Greenknowe Tower classed as an ancient monument was home of James Seton one of the most powerful families in Scotland. Innerleithen Scottish Borders Attractions Innerleithen was the Scottish Borders Spa town with a mineral spring of St Ronan's Well. Close to Innerleithen is Traquair House said to be the oldest inhabited house in Scotland. Robert Smail’s printing works in working condition from circa 1900 it is an Industrial Heritage museum. Dumfries Attractions
- Scotland | Day Tours | All About Edinburgh
Looking for a day out and visit all the attractions in East Lothian, Dumfries, Rosslyn Chapel, Stirling, The Kelpies, Bannockburn, Falkirk Wheel, St Andrews, Outlander Village, Edinburgh. Tour Rosebank Single Malt Distillery and taste whisky you'll never forget. Day Tours Scotland Central Scotland Tour Edinburgh to Stirling Tour Central Scotland and see the sites on the way to Stirling once the capital of Scotland Starting at the West End of Edinburgh you will visit South Queensferry where a ferry took people across the the water to Fife for over 300 years and a view of the 3 bridges. On to Blackness Castle where Outlander, Robert the Bruce and Mary Queen of Scots films were made, Linlithgow Palace (site of Outlander and Robert the Bruce). and St Michael’s Church , then Callendar House and Park a link to the history The History Jar The Falkirk Wheel is a barge lift that replaces 18 Lochs taking barges from one level to another, Rosebank Distillery Opened by James Rankine from 1840's Lowland Malt Whisky Distillers The Kelpies two horses heads sculpted from steel, which signify the joining of the two main Scottish canals. Bannockburn visitors Centre and Battle Site, where Scotland first gain independence from England, Stirling Castle stands on a rock as Edinburgh Castle on an extinct volcano, it was also the home of Mary Queen of Scots and where she was crowned. The Wallace Monument , National Monument of Scotland. Cambuskenneth Abbey James III Tomb and Home. On the tour entrance to sites are not included. Shorter trips can be designed for each group. North Berwick Day Out North Berwick and Villages Tour East Lothian North Berwick is a holiday destination with harbour, boat trips, churches, ruins, golf courses, shops, restaurants, bars, ruins, two beaches and castles a great day out or a longer holiday. Only 45 minutes from Edinburgh with many things to see on the way. From Edinburgh to North Berwick and return. Spend 5 hours sightseeing shopping or sunbathing on one of the two golden sand beaches. Climb Berwick Law (Hill) 600 foot high. Enquiry / Contact Rosslyn Chapel 1/2 Day Tour This tour will take you to Rosslyn Chapel wait and return the cost of entering the Chapel is not included the chapel tour is conducted by the attraction and last up to 2 hours. You can also visit the Castle which is a short walk. The walk is not suitable to people with walking difficulties. On the Journey to and from the chapel we will point out places that are not usually seen by tourists. photo stops will be included. This tour is priced on time and not number of passengers (up to 6 passengers) The trip will take be up to 5 hours. Travel time 30 minutes each way. 3 hours at Roslin. Enquiry / Contact Burns Dumfries Tour Dumfries has a fascinating history. It is the largest town in the region. Dumfries was founded as a Royal Burgh in 1186 and was on the border of England Galloway was actually in England until 1234. In 1306 Robert the Bruce killed John III Comyn, Lord of Badenoch Guardian of Scotland in Greyfriars Church Dumfries before become King of Scotland. Greyfriars Dumfries was rebuilt in circa 1870 across from where the original church was. There is a great deal of thing to see in Dumfries connected with Robert Burns, a statue, his mausoleum in St Michael's Churchyard, his house at 24 Burns Street and Robert Burns Centre. There are 2 further museums, Dumfries Museum with Camera Obscura and Old Bridge House Museum. We will also visit Robert Burns first family home Ellisland Farm where he stayed with his wife Jean. Travel time to Dumfries 2 hrs 15 mins, (82 miles - 133 Klms) each way. Stops - Biggar and Moffat. Enquiry / Contact
- Tyninghame Village | All About Edinburgh
Tyninghame Village named after monks circa 700AD (village of the dwellers by the Tyne) With a main House village hall River Estuary(Tyne) golden sand beaches situated between North Berwick and Dunbar. Tyninghame Attractions East Lothian Tyninghame Smithy East Lothian St Baldred, first came to the area circa 700 AD and opened a monastery and religious community. The Monastery was attacked by Danes in 941 and was left in ruins. Circ 1150 a church was built close to the estuary of the River Tyne and soon there was a village which was named Tyninghame or "village of the dwellers by the Tyne". Tyninghame House East Lothian Tyninghame was given in a charter to the monks of St Cuthberts in 1094. The Lands around Tyninghame became the property of the Earls of Haddington in 1628 and later circa 1700 the 6th Earl and his with landscaped the area by planting trees. A year later the village was demolished by the Earl and moved as he felt it spoilt the view from his house. The 9th Earl modernised the house having turrets and spires added circa 1830. Tyninghame Village Hall East Lothian he Tyninghame village hall is at the centre of this small idyllic village in East Lothian. The VIllage was was moved in from its original position by the Laird of the big house as it was spoiling his view. The village hall was built circa 1840 originally the old bakers house. Tyne River Estuary East Lothian It rises in the Moorfoot Hills in Midlothian near Tynehead and runs approximately 30 miles to its estuary with the firth of forth near Tyninghame, where the village originally got its name. The remains of the old church which was built at the mouth of the Tyne is now just a ruin. Tyninghame Beach East Lothian This must be one of Scotland's top beaches with golden sand and a fantastic view of the Bass Rock. Tyninghame Beach sits between St Baldred's Cradle and Limetree each on the east coast Take a turn towards the sea at Newmains cOttages on the A198 follow the road to Scougall campsite. St Baldred's Cradle East Lothian St Baldred's Cradle at Ravensheugh Sands is the rocky (outcrop) headland where an ancient cairn (stone mound) can be seen. this is a great view point for the east coast. This is a great geological place to see down the centuries in the rock formation. Kirklandhill Standing Stone East Lothian Kirklandhill standing stone is one of two standing stones next to each other on the A1 both are in the region of 11 foot where most standing stones are about 9 foot in height. Kirkland Standing Stone is (11 foot) 3.35m high. Next - Dunbar
- Broughton Area | Edinburgh New Town | All About Edinburgh
Broughton Area Edinburgh New Town is the north eastern extention of the new town. Once a small Barony on the outskirts of Edinburgh now in the Heart of Edinburgh east end shopping and night life. Broughton Area New Town East A further extension of the new town. Top of Leith, Picardy Place, Baxter Place, Greenside, Broughton Street, Forth Street, East London Street, Mansfield Place, Broughton Road Scotland Street, East Claremont Street Historic Sites, Stories And Attractions Broughton Area You will find the sites of statues, monuments, Buildings, Plaques and Sculptures. St Mary’s Cathedral St Mary’s Edinburgh is the cathedral church of the archdiocese of St Andrew and Edinburgh and the first masses were held in August 1814. The Cathedral is the setting for the solemn mass for the opening of the Edinburgh Festival. In 1982 Pope John Paul II visited the Cathedral and prayed at the shrine of Saint Andrew which can be seen within the church building. Professor Sir Eduardo Luigi Paolozzi Sculptors Broughton Area New Town East Edinburgh The Foot, The Hand and the Ankle is a sculpture in three-pieces that stand outside St Mary's Roman Catholic Cathedral at the top of Leith Walk. Professor Sir Eduardo Luigi Paolozzi sculptor, was born at 6 Crown Place in 1924. His family came from the Monte Cassino area of Italy. He was knighted in 1989 and sadly died in April 2005 at 81 years. Ken Buchanan MBE Broughton Area New Town East Edinburgh Ken Buchanan has ben honoured by Edinburgh with a statue which stands next to St Mary's Cathedral at the foot of Leith Street Edinburgh. Ken Buchanan was born 28 June 1945 and he became the undisputed Lightweight Champion of the World in 1971. Just how good he was, Ken Buchanan the American Boxing Writers' Association fighter of the year in 1970. 1969 and 1971 winner was Joe Frazier. The plaque at the feet of Ken Buchanan reads: Ken Buchanan of Edinburgh is regarded as one of Britain's greatest ever boxers. A genuine international star who topped the bill ahead of Mohammad Ali at Madison Square Garden, He defeated Ismael Laguna in Puerto Rico on 26th September 1970 to become world lightweight boxing champion. On 12 February 1971 he also defeated Ruben Navarro in Los Angeles to become undisputed lightweight champion of the World. An immensely talented and skilled craftsman who fought the very best of his generation and gave pleasure to millions as Scotland's first truly global fighter, Ken was elected to the international boxing hall of fame in the year 2000 in recognition of his outstanding achievements. This statue was commissioned by the Ken Buchanan MBE foundation and was unveiled by the former Lord Provosts of the city of Edinburgh Frank Ross and Donald Wilson on 14th August 2022. The trustees of the foundation would like to thank all the many people of Edinburgh beyond whose generosity made this statue possible. Picardy Place New Town East Picardy Place Broughton Area New Town East Edinburgh Sir Arthur Conan Doyle The Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Centre can be found at 25 Palmerston Place where The Edinburgh Association of Spiritualists is based and where you can see mediums at work. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was a strong believer in the afterlife. Arthur Conan Doyle’s also lived at 23 George Square Edinburgh (1876 - 1880). Sir Walter Scott was brought up 2 doors down where his parents had the family home. Sherlock Holmes Sir Arthur Ignatius Conan Doyle was born on 22 May 1859, 11 Picardy Place Edinburgh. The statue stands where his house used to stand Conan Doyle was a novelist, short story writer, poet and doctor of medicine. He is most famous for the stories about the detective Sherlock Holmes. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was deeply involved in Spiritualism and the Occult. He declared early on in his life that he believed in life after death and the communication with those who passed away. He died in 1930. His last words were addressed to his wife. He whispered "You are wonderful." Greenside Place Broughton Area New Town East Two Giraffe Sculptures The Giraffes are made of scrap metal from motorbikes and cars and stand proudly outside the Omni Centre. The giraffe’s official title is “Dreaming Spires” but they have been nicknamed Martha and Gilbert. Greenside Place New Town East Baxter's Place Broughton Area New Town East Edinburgh Robert Stevenson Stevenson House Baxter's Place New Town East Robert Stevenson was a famous engineer and grandfather to Robert Louis Stevenson the famous writer. He lived at 1 Baxter's Place where the Marriott Group have renovated the houses and made them into a magnificent 4 Star Hotel where a bust of Robert Stevenson now stands. Robert Stevenson built many of the lighthouses that stand around the shores of Britain. He also built bridges of which his last was the Regent bridge that joined the east to Princes Street over what was Leith Wynd the only road to the New Town from the east. Forth Street New Town East Forth Street Broughton Area New Town East Edinburgh Hart Street Studios Edinburgh This is where the Flower of Scotland Writers the Corries had their music studio. Albany Street North New Town Edinburgh Deaf and Dumb Church Edinburgh Albany Street New Town East Broughton Street New Town East Edinburgh Barony Bar Broughton Street New Town East The Barony stands on land which was once part of the ancient “Barony of Broughton in the parish of St Cuthbert's in the Shire of Edinburgh”, an area notorious in the days gone by as a haunt for witches and followers of the “Black Arts”. Indeed Broughton Street itself is built where formally there once stood thatched cottages, one reputedly to have been called the “Witches Howf” and dungeons which at one time held worshippers of the “Black Arts” while they awaited execution. The building which currently houses the Barony was part of a five story corner basement bit built in 1830 by Walter Burns, an upholsterer and David Chalmers, a Baker, who both traded from the premises. The building has seen many tradesmen including J Stewart, surgeon; John Murdock, grocer; James Walker, guilder; W & G Williams, marble cutters; and John Moffat, stationer to name a few. In 1919, John McLaughlin Wine and spirit merchant bought the licensed house premises and cellars at 83 / 85 Broughton Street from Jordan Sinclair for £1100, having already acquired the other half in 1896. It was then purchased in 1944 by Thomas Urquhart Forsyth who I year later purchased number 81. The combined properties were then sold to William Younger & Co in 1955 with title transferring to Scottish brewers in 1959. In 1966 the secretary of state for Scotland listed the property as a “building of special architectural and historic interest”. T &J Bernard London Street North New Town Edinburgh The Icelandic National Anthem The Icelandic National Anthem was composed and written in 1874 at 15 London Street Edinburgh by Sveinbjorn Sveinbjornsson the composer and Mattias Jochumsson the Poet. London Street New Town East Anne Redpath (Artist) Edinburgh Anne Redpath lived in London Street in the north east of the New Town from 1952 -1965 East London Street East London Street New Town East Edinburgh Gayfield House A local builder built Gayfield House circa 1763 and sold it to Lord Thomas Erskine in 1765, who died a year later when the property became the residence of David the 6th Earl of Leven In 1873 the house became a veterinary school which moved to become the Veterinary School a part of the University of Liverpool. Gayfield House was sold to William Cockburn merchant in 1904. It has been a laundry a garage for car repairs and in 1990 in became derelict. A builder saved it from demolition and restored the house to its former glory. (18 East London Street Edinburgh) Manssfield Place Mansfield Place New Town East Edinburgh Mansfield Traquair Centre Known as “Edinburgh’s Sistine Chapel”. due to its grand neo-Romanesque architecture and murals. The Traquair centre was a Catholic Apostolic Church built in 1893. The centre is named after the area and the Irish Arts and Crafts artist Phoebe Anna Traquair. You can see more of her work in Colinton Village. The centre is also a very busy wedding venue. East Claremont Street East Claremont Street New Town East Edinburgh Thomas David Anderson Thomas David Anderson discovered Nova Aurigae and then found Nova Persei circa 1,500 light-years from Earth both from his home in East London Street. A Nova is any of a class of exploding stars whose luminosity temporarily increases from several thousand to as much as 100,000 times its normal level. Thomas D Anderson was presented by the Royal Society of Edinburgh with the prestigious Gunning Victoria Jubilee Prize for his discovery. Thomas Anderson went on to make further discoveries, circa 50 variable stars, which did not include Nova Aquilae in 1918 and comet 17P/Holmes in 1892. Scotland Street Scotland Street New Town East Edinburgh In Scotland Street is a closed archway which trains used to come out of. The rail line ran from Waverley to Granton harbour and the tunnel was known as the Scotland Street Tunnel. It opened in May of 1847 and closed in 1868 due to modernisation and other routes. The Entrance can still be seen at Scotland Street Park below Scotland Street. Broughton Street Broughton Road New Town East Edinburgh Powderhall Stables Broughton Edinburgh was once where Powderhall Refuse Depot stables and offices were. The Victorian building was built in 1893 when household rubbish was collected by horse-drawn carts. A lot of which was ash from the coal fires. This could be the origin of the name Powderhall, as all the ash was deposited behind the building. The Stables were also used when visiting cavalry were at the Edinburgh International Festival. Broughton is part of the New Town North but has borders with Leith Walk and Pilrig Street which once was outside Edinburgh (1920). Canonmills Area Attractions
- Canongate North | Royal Mile | All About Edinburgh
The Canongate was once seperate from Edinburgh. See all the attractions and history on the the northside of the Canongate. Where the Queen goes to church(Canongate Kirk) and where Golfersland stood. A Fudge Factory and Old White Horse Close. Canongate North Edinburgh Attractions Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh is named after the canons of Holyrood Abbey and the Scots word gait meaning “road”. The Canongate was a small district outside the Edinburgh City Walls. The lands and village of Herbegare, where the Abbey of Holyrood was built was given to the monks by King David I in 1128 and a road that extended from Herbegare, to the St John's Cross, this was known as Canon gait. Houses soon were built on both sides of the road and in time the name of Herbegare was lost and the name Canongate was taken in its place. The Canongate had walls around the town which was to define the town with gates that were closed at night (Watergate). This however was no protection against invaders and the Canongate area was burnt to the ground on several occasions first by Richard II circa 1380 then 1544, 1642, 1649, and finally by Cromwell and his army in 1651. Leith (Leytht) Wynd Cranston Street Edinburgh Leith Wynd or Leytht Wynd (1514) was a road that started on the North Side of the Nether Bow Gate at Cranston Street and continued to the back of the Canongate (Calton Road) near to the entrance of Waverley Station on Calton Road and was used by the coaches to London. I have included Leith Wynd in the Close’s of the Royal Mile as I felt that it gives an idea of how difficult it was to get into Edinburgh prior to the New Town and the draining of the Nor’ Loch. From the Head of the Canongate Leith Wynd traveled down to the foot of Caton Hll then west around the calton Hill to joint leith street. The Canongate Christian Institute The Canongate Christian Institute at 2 Cranston Street, Edinburgh, was a Christian mission opening circa 1878. This was a place of worship for the old town. It held gospel meetings and services until its closure in 1930. Mid Common Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Mid Common Close is one of three closes at the head of the Canongate. The other two were west common close and east common close neither survive. This was previously named Vietch’s Close. West Common Close was High School Close and East Common Close was Logan’s Close each of the close’s gave common access to the High School. These closes were like small communities in very narrow streets with up to 100+ family homes each of the closes were previously known by other names as the owners would dictate the close name. Morocco Land Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The sculpture of a Moor faces forward with arms down at his sides supporting a blank shield. The sculpture was moved from its original position on an adjoining building when the present building was being redeveloped. The story of how the land (building) was named is that a young man Andrew Grey, an Edinburgh resident, was sentenced to death for rioting. He fled to Morocco and after a number of years made his fortune and returned home and was involved in saving the life of the daughter of the Provost who was perilously ill with the plague (presumably for this his sentence was commuted). He ended up marrying her and they made their home in the building where the little statue was erected. This came to be known to the locals as “Morocco Land”. New Street Royal Mile Edinburgh New Street or Young Street as it was first named after Dr Thomas Young who owned the Land. The access at the Canongate was private with chains and locks to prevent unwanted visitors to the street. In 1786 it was deemed a public street but was still chained until 1819 when the chains were taken away and access was available to all from the Canongate to Back of the Canongate North or now Calton Road. At the foot of New Street is a Doorway (Jacob’s ladder) to steps that will take you to Regent Road close to the Burns Memorial and the Calton Hill. The east side of New Street was the New Street Gasworks which was established in 1818. One of the first Gas Works in Britain. New Street was previously called Young Street (circa 1760) after Dr Thomas Young Professor of Midwifery at University of Edinburgh who lived on the east side at the Canongate junction. New Street was where the wealthy lived in detached houses with gardens. Names such as Dr Young, Lord Kames, Sir David Dalrymple, Lord Hailes, Lady Betty Anstruther, Miss Ramsay, daughter of the poet Allan Ramsay. This was a private street which had security chains attached to post to stop traffic. It became a public right of way in 1819 giving access from Canongate back of Canongate (Calton Road). Sibbald Walk Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Sibbald Walk was completed in 2017 with renovation to the housing and land which is now a Square with a Marketplace. Keeping with the tradition of the area. Named after Robert Sibbald who was the inspiration behind the Physic Garden (Royal Botanic Gardens) which lay at the foot of Leith Wynd and Calton Road not far from the foot of New Street Shoemakers’ Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Shoemakers’ Close is an old house built in 1725, four stories high in which the shoemakers used to hold their meetings. Over the entrance door is the shoemakers’ coat of arms cut in stone, a crown and rounding knife. Inscribed on the tablet is; 1725 blessed is he | that wisely do | TH the poor man’s | case consider Bible Land (1677) Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Bible Land is the name given to the land (building) on the Canongate which has the sculpture of an open book above the front door which contains part of Psalm 133 “Behold how good a thing it is and how becoming well together such as brethren are in unity to dwell”. There is also the following text “It is an honour for men to cease from strife. Bible Land was built for the Incorporation of Cordiner’s in 1677. The Cordiner’s were leather craftsman who were incorporated in 1544. Gladstone’s Court Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Gladstone Court was previously Bowling Green Close as a Bowling Green was through the archway. Later Magdalene Asylum was built where the Bowling Green was. Magdalene Asylum was for fallen women of Edinburgh. Edinburgh Royal Magdalene Asylum was founded in the Canongate in 1797. This was in Magdalene’s Entry. Magdalene Asylum then moved to the west of Edinburgh in 1842. (Springwell House). Magdalene’s Entry was renamed in honour of the Prime Minister William E Gladstone who was the Prime Minister of Britain on four occasions. There is also a memorial statue in Coates Crescent Garden and a street on the south side near The Meadows (Gladstone Terrace). Look for the concrete stone with Old Well inscribed on it. This is where the people of the Court would get there water for drinking and washing. More on Gladstone Memorial Old Tolbooth Wynd Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Old Tolbooth Wynd was named after the Tolbooth where tolls were paid for road use and other charges. First mention of the Tolbooth of the Canongate was in 1477. It was later extended in 1591 and was the municipal centre and Jail for the residents of the Canongate. The People’s Story museum opened in 1989 telling the history of the people and area. The inscription on the wall reads; S.L.B (Sir Lewis Bellenden) PATRIAE ET POSTERIS (Country and Posterity). The triangle above the Canongate coat of arms shield with date 1128 inscription reads; James VI | IVSTICIA ET PIETAS VALIDE SVNT PRINCIPIS ARCES ( Justice and Compassion are the Fortification of King) Tolbooth Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Tolbooth is a late 15th century building. It served only the Burgh of Canongate. A bronze wall tablet can be seen with the Canongate coat-of-arms and date 1128. The Tolbooth was the town’s jail and administrative centre. The western part of the Royal Mile the High Street was in Edinburgh and had its own Tolbooth which is no longer there. Its place is marked by the Heart of Midlothian. You can find a Tolbooth in most towns to this day but none are used as jails. The large bronze plaque is a memorial who died in the world wars. The People’s Story Museum Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Canongate Tolbooth is home to The People’s Story Museum, telling the story all about the people who have lived in Edinburgh from its beginning. People's Story Canongate Kirk Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The present Canongate Kirk building opened in 1691. The first building now in ruins beside Holyrood House opened in 1128. This 17th century Canongate Kirk was designed by James Smith, The Canongate Kirk is unique among Scottish churches of this period. Buried in the churchyard are several famous Scots including the economist Adam Smith. The Queen, when in residence at the Palace of Holyrood House, will use this as her local place to worship. Princess Anne’s Daughter (Zara Philips) married England rugby union captain Mike Tindal here in June 2011. Canongate Kirk More About - Canongate Kirk Mercat Cross Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Mercat Cross originally stood in the middle of the road outside the Tolbooth and was moved next to the Tolbooth in the 1730s to make way for the increasing traffic. The Mercat Cross was moved to its present location in the early 1950s. Every town (Burgh) in Scotland had a Mercat cross, which would stand in the middle of a market square and on occasion be the place people would be chain for a crime and have rotten fruit and vegetables thrown at them by passers-by. The Cross was used as a pillory and had Jougs (neck and leg irons attached). Robert Fergusson Plaque inscription reads; Robert Fergusson was born just up the road in Cap & Feather Close (now demolished). He studied at the Royal High School, Dundee Grammar School and the University of St. Andrews. The death of his father cut short his life as a student. To support his widowed mother and family he returned home to Edinburgh in 1772 and took an ill-paid job as a copyist clerk in the Commissary Office. His poetic career lasted just three years. In 1774 he injured himself falling down a flight of steps and was incarcerated in the Edinburgh Bedlam as a madman. Despite his early death, he died at the tender age of 24, he packed an intense outburst of creative energy into the last years of his life. His poetry in Scots expresses the character spirit and very taste and smell of the Edinburgh of his day. Fergusson is so much the poet of Edinburgh that later figures including Robert Burns, R.L.Stevenson and Robert Garioch all acknowledged him as one of the sources of their inspiration. He is buried in this graveyard. He was nine years older than Robert Burns but they never met. Robert Burns on arriving in Edinburgh found Robert Fergusson had been buried here in a pauper's grave. He paid for the gravestone which you can see if you walk round the left-hand side of the church. Read on... "The Dark Days", "Caller Oysters", "To The Tron Kirk Bell" and "Auld Reikie Will Tak Yer Mind Into the Mirk O' Lang Syne" Plaque presented to our friends the people of Scotland, by the Burns Society of the City of New York and St. Andrew's Society of the State of New York. Canongate Kirk Burial Ground Royal Mile Edinburgh Among the people who are interred. in the Canongate graveyard are Adam Smith Economist and author of The Wealth of Nations, Sir William Fettes Lord Provost of Edinburgh, Tea and Wine Merchant and founder of Fettes College, Agnes MacAlees (CLARINDA) Robert Burns one true love – the love affair was to last until their death, David Rizzio Mary Queen of Scots private secretary, Robert Fergusson Royal Poet and inspiration to Robert Burns. David Riccio (Rizzio) Grave David Rizzio (Riccio) born 1533 – died 1566. Mary Queen of Scots’ private secretary and confidante, David Rizzio, was assassinated in the Palace of Holyrood House by Mary’s husband, Lord Darnley and a group of his allies on the 9th March 1566. This was his first steps to take over and rule as King. It was a short power struggle as Lord Darnley was murdered on the 10th February 1567, less than one year later. David Rizzio was of Italian descent from near Turin and was known as David Rizzio, David Riccio or David Rizzo. Adam Smith 1723 – 1790 Grave Adam Smith lived in Panmure House in Lochend Close in the Canongate and is buried in the Canongate Kirk Graveyard, behind the Canongate Kirk. Adam Smith was a Scottish moral philosopher and a pioneer of political economy. He was one of the key figures of the Scottish Enlightenment. In 1776 The Wealth of Nations, is considered his magnum opus and the first modern work of economics. Smith is cited as the father of modern economics. In 2009 Adam Smith was named among the “Greatest Scots” of all time, in a vote run by Scottish television. The inscription on the paving stone outside Canongate Kirk reads: HERE WITHIN THE CHURCHYARD | OF | CANONGATE KIRK | IS THE GRAVE | OF | ADAM SMITH | 1723 – 1790 | BORN IN KIRKCALDY FIFE | INTERNATIONALLY RENOWNED | ECONOMIST | AUTHOR OF | “THE WEALTH OF NATIONS” Robert Fergusson (Poet) Grave Robert Fergusson was the inspiration to Robert Burns to make him the poet he turned out to be. Robert Fergusson died at the age of 24 in 1774. Robert Burns, to show how much respect he had for his fellow artist, paid for his headstone and wrote his inscription. No sculptur’d marble here, nor pompus lie, No story’d urn nor animated bust; This simple stone directs pale Scotia’s way To pour her sorrows o’er her poet’s dust. Agnes Maclehose (Clarinda) Grave Agnes Maclehose (CRAIG) Agnes Maclehose (1759-1841) was known as Nancy. Nancy first came to Edinburgh to live in Potterrow near the corner with Marshall Street after her husband left her to make his fortune in Jamaica. Robert Burns first meet with Nancy on the 4th December 1787 at afternoon tea and the assignation started. Mishap and misfortune stopped them from meeting for some time but they wrote to each other regularly. The love affair was to last until their death but their last meeting was in December of 1791 when Nancy left for Jamaica to be with her now wealthy husband. Read the famous letters written with code names Nancy being (Clarinda), Rabbie being (Sylvander) and not to forget the love song to Nancy `Ae Fond Kiss’. Sir William Fettes Grave Tomb Sir William Fettes was born in 1750 and died in his home in Charlotte Square Edinburgh. A wealthy land owner with several estates, his main estate at Comleybank where Fettes School was built with money left in his estate to give free education to the poor fatherless children of Edinburgh. It was a boy’s only school until it went fully co-educational in 1981. William Fettes was knighted in 1804 and was Lord Provost of Edinburgh on 2 occasions. Dunbar’s Close and Gardens Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Dunbar’s Close was named after the owner of the tenement at that time, an Edinburgh lawyer David Dunbar. Take a walk through Dunbar’s Close for a look at a 17th century style garden with views of Calton hill, the Nelson Monument and Burns memorial in the background. On your right of the gates as you enter are Cadell House and Panmure House, the latter is where Adam Smith lived and died (1772-1790). Dunbar’s Close and Gardens Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Mushroom Trust Plaque reads; Dunbar Close Garden was laid out in the character of an Edinburgh 17th century garden in 1977 when it was donated by The Mushroom Trust of the City of old Edinburgh. Panmure Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Panmure House, is where the Jacobite Earl of Panmure had his town house and later the Countess of Aberdeen occupied the house before Adam Smith lived and died here from 1772 till 1790. Adam Smith is buried in the Canongate Kirk Graveyard and his statue is in the High Street near to St Giles Cathedral. The poppies on the gates were to show that this was the access to the Lady Haig Poppy factory between 1931– 1965. Access to Panmure house is at 115 Canongate Little Lochend Close. Cadell House Panmure Close CanongateEdinburgh William Cadell was born in 1668 and died in 1728. He was an Edinburgh merchant and freeman of Edinburgh. William Cadell’s grandson was a founder of the Carron Company Iron Works of Falkirk. The largest iron works of its type in Europe for circa 100 years. Cadell house was restored and converted to apartments in 1954. Panmure House Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Panmure House is now a museum, visitor attraction. The house was built circa 1685 for the Earls of Panmure as a town house with their main residence in Panbride Angus. Adam Smith purchased the property in 1776 after the death of his mother who he lived with in Kirkcaldy (this is where he wrote "The Wealth of Nation") from 1767. He lived in Panmure House till his death in 1790. Panmure House Lochend Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Lochend Close has two entrances and at one time there was Little Lochend Close and Lochend Close Lochend comes from being at the end of Calton Crags and the Nor Loch which was at that time in the parish of Restalrig. This name was given by the owner of the house at the end of the close William Ferguson of Loch end Restalrig. Also entrance to Panmure House. Reid’s Court Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Reid’s Court takes its name from Edinburgh brewer and magistrate Andrew Reid who lived here in the 1770s. The house was first the home to Lord Advocate Sir John Nisbet and was built in 1624. It is now the Manse where the minister of the Canongate Kirk lives. Campbell’s Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Campbell’s Close previously Rae’s Close. Campbell’s Close was named after George Campbell Bailie of the Canongate. Known as Campbell’s Land there were many famous lived here Archbishop of St Andrews Arthur Ross and the 13th and 14th Earl of Morton. Brown’s Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The name of the Close comes from a Joseph Brown who was a baker and had premises further up the Canongate. He purchase Paterson’s Land (Golfer’s Land) which was a tenement and land from John Paterson who built the tenement with proceeds from a Golf match. Golfer's Land (Brown's Close) Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Brown’s Close or Golfer’s Land is a tenement building purchased with winnings from a 4 ball golf match between Baillie John Paterson and The Duke of York (King James VII) and two English noblemen. During the 1600s two English noblemen attached to the court of the Duke of York (to be King James VII) were challenged by the Duke to a golf match on Leith Links. The Duke’s partner was shoemaker John Paterson a descendent from a long line of golfers. The English noblemen were beaten and the Duke rewarded Paterson with the stakes that had been played for, which enabled Paterson to build a tenement building which he called Golfer’s Land. The building is no longer on the site as it was demolished in 1960. In 1664 Charles I (The Duke’s father) bestowed on the Duke of York the American provinces previously controlled by the Dutch now renamed in his honour, New York. The Duke succeeded to the crown in 1685, and died in 1701. In 1688, his wife Queen Mary gave birth to a son who was later to be father to Bonnie Prince Charlie. Golfer's Land Plaque On this site stood the tenement known as Golfer’s | Land. It was built in the 17th Century by the bailie John | Paterson. The golfer with, it is said, his share of | the stake from a Golf match when he partnered | The Duke of York (afterwards James VII) against two | English noblemen. The bronze coat of arms is a | copy of a stone carving which was built into | Golfers Land. Another panel with Latin inscription | by Dr Pitcairne, which may be seen in the courtyard | to the rear. Links the Paterson family with the | building and the name of golf. The Plaque with the coat of arms that shows a hand holding a golf club above a helmet and shield with three stars and three Swans the Paterson Coat of arms and an inscription that reads: (Top) Far and Sure (Foot) I HATE NO PERSON, an anagram of "John Patersone." Whitefoord House Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Whitefoord House ids part of Galloway's Entry where the Earl of Winton’s’ town mansion, better known as Lord Seytoun’s lodging in the Canongate. In front of the mansion, in which Sir Walter Scott lays some of the scenes of the “Abbot”. There was a tavern built chiefly of lath and plaster, known as “Jenny Ha’s”. The landlady was famous for her claret. Gay, the poet, is said to have frequented the tavern during his short stay in Edinburgh. It was a custom for the merchants and distinguished gentlemen of Edinburgh to adjourn after dinner parties, to enjoy claret and merrymaking at Jenny Ha’s. Forsyth’s Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Forsyth’s Close was a Coach Maker’s Yard owned by Alexander Forsyth who purchased the land in 1719 and passed on to his son also Alexander who was a coach maker in London. Forsyth’s Close now gives entry to Whitefoord House. Galloway’s Entry Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh John Galloway owned land and had a stable, Alexander Galloway also had Stables. The land of Forsyth’s Close and Galloway’s Entry with a now missing Ramsay’s Close all seem to have had stables on the land with two main Houses Callendar House to the west and Whitefoord House on the east both now veterans residence Whitefoord House being the site where the Earl of Winton had a mansion house which became known as Lord Seytoun’s Lodgings. The Plaque at the main entrance to the building reads; In memory of Charles M Pelham Burn First Chairman of this institution to whose personal influence and exertions is mainly due to the successful establishment of this residence for Veterans of the Navy and Army to whom its hospitality might be acceptable in the days of their old age and necessity. White Horse Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The original owner of the land where White Horse Close stands was a Laurence Ord who built houses stables and a tavern (Ord’s Tavern) in a courtyard that was gated to the south and was named Laurence Ord’s Close. This was once where the Royal Mews was situated and Queen Mary kept her Horse which was a palomino (White Horse). The origin of the close being called White Horse Close. Laurence Ord sold the land and buildings to a John Mitchell in 1695 and he then sold it on to Nicol Graham in 1745 who in turn sold it on to John Davidson in 1752. On the walls in White Horse Close look for the plaques of William Dick founder of the Edinburgh veterinary college (The Royal Dick Vet) and Ord’s Tavern. The plaque can be found on the wall of the house at the back of the courtyard where the Inn was. This area was also said to have been used in 1745 by the officers of the Jacobite army prior to the battle of Prestonpans lead by Bonnie Prince Charlie. White Horse Close Ord's Inn (Tavern) The White Horse Inn at the back of White Horse Close (Ord’s Tavern) in the Canongate is where a plaque denotes that this was the first point when leaving by coach to London. This is not correct as records show that the coaches left from the Head of the Canongate, there is a White Horse Inn at the top of the Canongate which is connected to Boyd’s Entry and Boyd’s Close in St Mary Street or White Horse Close as it was often Called. There once was an entrance in the Canongate Boyd’s Close now Gullan’s Close and an entrance from Boyd’s Entry as there had to be stables for the horses and a place for the coaches. Boyd’s Entry is the original starting point for the coach and horses. There are a number of plaques that have been put up stating this, also when Boyd advertised the Inn for sale, it was advertised with stables for 100 horses and 20 coaches. The first coaches set of for London in 1712. William Dick (Plaque) White Horse Close Canongate Edinburgh The founder of the Edinburgh Veterinary College William Dick was born in 1793 in White Horse Close in the Canongate. William Dick was educated at Mr Kesson’s school in Shakespeare Square which was located at the east end of Edinburgh at the foot of the North Bridge. The square was demolished in 1860. The first veterinary College was in Clyde Street on the site of where the present bus station is now. The College moved to the site of Summerhall, William Dick the Veterinary Science department is now at the Bush Estate. In 1906, the College was named the Royal (Dick) Veterinary College and became part of the University of Edinburgh in 1951. The Girth Cross Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Girth Cross just like the Mercat Cross in the High Street, was a place for public proclamations, and executions. One of the most famous to take place here was that of the beautiful Jean Livingston (Lady Warriston), daughter to the Laird of Dunipace and wife of John Kincaid of Warriston. On the 2nd July 1600 she had Robert Weir, a servant of her father, batter her husband to death, an idea given to her by her nurse. Both the nurse and Lady Warriston were arrested and convicted of the murder of her husband, John Kincaid of Warriston. The nurse was burned on the Castlehill at 4 o’clock in the morning and at the same time Lady Warriston was beheaded by the “Maiden” (early type of guillotine) at the Girth Cross at the foot of the Canongate. This device, which can still be seen at the National Museum of Scotland in Chambers Street, Edinburgh, claimed over 150 victims during its period of use, including, Regent James Douglas 4th Earl of Morton, who originally introduced the “Maiden” from France. The servant Robert Weir was broken on the Breaking Wheel in 1603 for his crime (a brutal and agonising death). Russell House Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Russell House was named after Sir Robert Russell for all the effort he took to have the building saved for posterity. This is an example of a 17th Century tenement that the local Edinburgh people of the time would have live in. The Canongate was founded in 1140. King David I gave permission to the Canons of Holyrood Abbey to create the Burgh and it became part of Edinburgh in 1856. Above the doorway on the lintel is inscribed WL MA 1697 this could be from another building as it was common for reuse of stone work. The initials would represent the name of the owner of the property and his intended wife and the date of their marriage). Russell House was built on what was the site of St Thomas’s Hospital built in 1541 by George Crichton. Watergate Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Water Gate (Water Yett) was found at the foot of the Canongate on the north side near to White Horse Close. It was named the Watergate as a pond for watering horse dominated the area. There was a gated archway that stood across the road adjoining the buildings on the Canongate to the ones at the Abbey, some called Abbey Gate. The gate was locked at night for security. Next - Canongate Southside This is a list of the closes, entry's and courts that were in the Canongate prior to 1600. Some of the closes could have up to 250 people living in them. There are many different name signs in the Royal Mile each with a specific meaning. Wynd A narrow roadway open at both ends with housing on each side Street A Wynd that has been widened. Close A passageway to a courtyard or to another street which had housing of both sides Entry A way into a closed courtyard which had housing around the open courtyard Court A closed area with housing around the open courtyard Port A Gateway Canongate Northside Close's of the past and the ones that still remain Flesh Market Close Couls Close West Common Close Mid Common Close East Common Close Rae’s Close Morrocco’s Close Seton’s Close Kinloch’s Close Ayr Bank Close Jack’s Close Jack’s Court Shoemaker’s Close Bowling Green Close Aitken’s Close Tolbooth Wynd Bakehouse Close Dunbar’s Close Panmuir Close Brown’s Close Monro’s Close Lochend’s Close Reid’s Yard Campbell’s Close Sommervile’s Close, Malloch’s Close Forsyth’s Close Galloway’s Close Ramsay’s Close Duncan’s Close White Horse Close Next - Canongate South
- Musselburgh | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Musselburgh is famous for Golf Fishing and Horse Racing. Musselburgh is home to Open champions and golf history. Walter Scott and the first fishing net makers. Also the estuary of the river Esk. Musselburgh East Lothian Coast The Honest Toun In 1201 the nation’s nobility gathered there to pledge allegiance to the future Alexander II, aged just 4, in the presence of his father William the Lion. In the fourteenth century, the Regent of Scotland died in Musselburgh after a long illness during which he was cared for by the local people. When his successor offered to reward the people, they refused saying that they were only doing their duty. Thus, the townspeople became famed for their honesty: since then Musselburgh has been known as the ‘Honest Toun. The New Bridge seen below was built in 1806 and designed by John Rennie the Elder a Scottish civil engineer born in 1761 in Phantassie, near East Linton Musselburgh Mile Stone Musselburgh known as ‘The Honest Toun.’ is the first town of East Lothian to the south east of the City of Edinburgh approximately 5 miles (9 Klm). Carved on the Stone below: 5 Miles from the General Post Office Edinburgh | erected to regulate the post horse duties |payable | by hackney coaches |1821 |first restored in 1933 | restored by |Musselburgh and Fisherrow |CO-OP 1998. The Mussel in Musselburgh The Mussel in Musselburgh is a 12 feet high mussel shell sculpted from stainless Steel which can be seen on the Edinburgh Road on the main road into Musselburgh. Musselburgh was associated with mussels and oysters along with sea fishing from its beginnings. The River Forth was at one time, one of the riches Oyster beds sin the UK. The name Musselburgh deriving from the place for mussel’s referring to the shellfish, and burgh derived from Place. The original settlement and harbour in the present Burgh was between the high ground of Inveresk and the River Esk up the river at the old bridge. When the roman army occupied Inveresk from 142 A.D. – 163 A.D. the shore line of the Firth of Forth was 500 metres inland from its present position. Boats could navigate up the Esk River as far as the Roman Bridge. In the 13th century the town centre had shifted to the lands of Pinkie the jurisdiction of the Abbots of Dunfermline who were granted a charter in 1070 by King Malcolm III. The town centre has been here for 700 years. River Esk Estuary Musselburgh East Lothian The River Esk estuary is in Musselburgh East Lothian and flows from two separate sources. The first (the north Esk) is from the Pentland Hills near Carlops, West Lothian and the second (the south Esk) from the west slopes of Blackhope Scar in the Moorfoot Hills in the Scottish Borders. They join together just outside Dalkeith in Midlothian and finish at the Firth of Forth in Musselburgh. The River Esk at one time was the border between Scotland and England. The images below show, looking down the Esk from Musselburgh and The Esk estuary with Arthur Seat in the distance. Roman Bridge Musselburgh East Lothian The original Roman Bridge over the river Esk is said to have been built by the Romans in the 6th century and a bridge has been in the same position since that time, all be it the bridge has been rebuilt in part and a third arch has been added. The bridge is still in use as it originally was, a foot bridge that the Romans used the Jacobite’s, Bonnie Prince Charlie in 1745 and also the English during the reformation and Cromwell. Musselburgh is believed to be one of the oldest towns in Scotland becoming a Burgh in 1354 and became a Royal Burgh in 1632 and was first quoted as The Honest Toun” in 1332 after attending to the Regent at no cost. (see plaque on Musselburgh Mercat Cross. Roman Archer Statue “Musselburgh Silver Arrow” On the west bank of the River Esk near to the Roman Bridge a sculpture of a bronze Archer can be seen. The Musselburgh Archer is a life size figure of a roman warrior from the invasion of Scotland in 80 AD. The sculpture also depicts the historic archery competition “The Musselburgh Silver Arrow” circa 1600. The Silver arrow was competed for on Musselburgh links annually by the members of the Royal Company of Archers. The winner receiving a sliver arrow which he would keep for one year and attach a medal of gold or silver with his name and date before returning the arrow. The actual date the competition started is vague with minutes of meetings stating 1603, but prior to that date winners of one dated 101 with two prior to that. Brunton Theatre Musselburgh East Lothian Musselburgh was bequeathed more than ½ million pounds in 1951 from the estate of John D Brunton, the son of the founder of Brunton Wire Works to provide halls and other municipal buildings’ which was constructed between 1964 and 1970 known as The Brunton Halls. The Brunton Theatre and Halls in Musselburgh, is the community hub of Musselburgh where many activities take place. It is also available to hire for private and corporate functions weddings and conferences. Within 20 minutes of Edinburgh by taxi and 10 minutes by train it is perfectly positioned. The Queen Mother opened the building 1971. Musselburgh Tolbooth and Tower Musselburgh East Lothian Musselburgh Tolbooth was built in 1496 and the tower is the only original part that still survives. The original clock was gift by the Dutch. In 1544 the Earl of Hertford Edward Seymour 1st Duke of Somerset on Henry VIII orders was sent to Burn Edinburgh and whatever on the way. This was an attack by the English sea-borne army and the first major action of the war of the Rough Wooing. Musselburgh was burnt but the tower of the Tolbooth survived. The Tolbooth was built adjoining the tower in 1590. The Building was built from the remnants of the chapel and hermitage of Our Lady of Leureit, which was used as a hospital for the dead and wounded at the Battle of Pinkie in 1547. The Chapel and Hermitage was destroyed as many other places of worship were destroyed during the Reformation in 1544. Open Champions Plaque Tolbooth Musselburgh At the top of the steps of the Tolbooth in Musselburgh is a Bronze plaque which reads; ROLL OF HONOUR | OPEN GOLF CHAMPIONS | WILLIE PARK Senior 1860, 1863 1866 1875 | all at Prestwick | MUNGO PARK 1874 | at Musselburgh | BOB FERGUSON 1880, 1881, 1882 | Musselburgh, Prestwick, St Andrews | DAVID (DEACON) BROWN 1885 | Musselburgh | WILLIE PARK Junior 1887, 1889 | Prestwick and Musselburgh Sir Walter Scott Musselburgh East Lothian Sir Walter Scott lived in Musselburgh and at 57 High Street Prestonpans circa 1800 while on duty as the Quarter Master of the Edinburgh Light Horse. He was injured why on Portobello Beach where the Edinburgh Light Horse drilled. While recovering he completed “The Lay of the last Minstrel”. The plaque above reads; SIR WALTER SCOTT CREATED HONORARY BURGESS | OF MUSSELBURGH 25th MARCH 1799 RESIDED IN | THE HONEST TOUN PERIODICALLY FROM 1797 – 1808 | WHILE ON DUTY AS QUARTERMASTER OF THE EDINBURGH | LIGHT HORSE AND THERE WROTE MANY STANZAS OF THE LAY OF | THE LAST MINSTREL AND OF MARMION | SCOTT CENTENARY 1932 Musselburgh Mercat Cross Musselburgh East Lothian The Musselburgh Mercat Cross dates from circa 1740 and stands on the site of the original medieval cross. At the top of the pillar stands a lion holding a shield with the Musselburgh Coat of Arms inscribed on it. The mercat cross was where public proclamations would be announced to the residents of the towns. There were a row of houses that stood facing the present west side of the High Street from the Tolbooth to the east gate pillars. This is where amongst others, The Regent had a house and Sir Walter Scott also lived here in Musselburgh when he was Quarter Master of the Edinburgh Light Horse. The Plaque reads; NEAR THIS SPOT STOOD TILL THE EARLY | PART OF THE NINETEENTH CENTURY THE | HOUSE IN WHICH THERE DIED ON 20th JULY | 1332 THOMAS RANDOLPH, EARL OF MORAY | REGENT OF SCOTLAND | ACCORDING TO TRADITION THE MOTTO | “HONESTATS” ADOPTED BY THE BURGH | IS DERIVED FROM THE TRIBUTE PAID TO THE | CITIZENS FOR THEIR CARE OF THE DYING | REGENT BY DONALD, EARL OF MAR | HIS SUCCESSOR IN THE REGENCY | REVEILED 20th JULY 1932 | DAVID LOWE, PROVOST Fisherrow Harbour Musselburgh East Lothian Evidence of the existence of a harbour here circa 1600 with many boats listed in the 1620s working from here. However it is said the first harbour was positioned at the mouth of the River Esk remembering the shore line circa 1500 was 500 yards inland from its present position. Rebuilding took place in 1806 and 1850. St Peter’s at the Gate Musselburgh East Lothian St Peter’s Church in Musselburgh stand at the old East Gates to Musselburgh. St Peter’s Church was built circa 1862. The pillars that stand at both sides of the road once held the east gates to Musselburgh. The Pillars were moved further apart to make way for the present road. Hay-Weights Clock Musselburgh East Lothian The Hay-weights clock stood on top of a kiosk on the corner of the road where the Brunton Halls now stands, a landmark known by all which marked the site of the municipal weighbridge. The clock faces are now at the gazebo on Mall Avenue and the original clock workings are in the clock at Eskmills. Musselburgh Museum East Lothian The Musselburgh Museum tells the story of the area since it was formed as a settlement over 1000 years ago based tt the estuary of the River esk and Firth of Forth. Electric Bridge Musselburgh East Lothian The Electric Bridge was built by the Cockenzie power Station to enable the turbines to be transported without using the high street and crossing the bridge which would not hold their weight The electric bridge only opens on Musselburgh race-days as the town council refused to buy the bridge from Cockenzie power station. The power station previously an icon on the River Forth due to twin its chimneys, was demolished in 2015. David MacBeth Moir Monument Musselburgh East Lothian David Macbeth Moir was born in Musselburgh in 1798 and became a medical doctor gaining a degree from the Edinburgh medical School of Edinburgh University in 1816. He was also an accomplished poet. There is a memorial statue that stands at the side of the River Esk near Musselburgh High Street which was erected in 1853. David Macbeth Moir worked in his medical practice in Musselburgh for 35 years till his death in 1851. David Wright Drinking Fountain Musselburgh East Lothian The War Memorial fountain was unveiled on Remembrance Sunday 2000. This commemoration is to the residents of Musselburgh who did not return from World War II over 200 residents. Musselburgh Beaches East Lothian Musselburgh has two beaches one is at the westside of the harbour and the other at the east side. Musselburgh BMX Track East Lothian BMX track can be found at the end of Balcarres Road at the side of the racecourse in Musselburgh. 17th Century Coaching Inn Musselburgh East Lothian No.7 High Street Musselburgh was built as Carriage Inn in circa 1650 and later became the French Ambassador's House Through the gated arch are a row of Stables, which originally would have been used to change the horses on the coaches. On the front elevation can be seen stone carvings of a Thistle, Rose, Fleur-de-lis and one other representing Scotland, England, France and other The Seton Crest was a crescent shape as seen on the Pinkie Do'cot . Musselburgh Racecourse Musselburgh Golf Links Musselburgh Links is situated in the middle of the Musselburgh Racecourse. There is written evidence of golf being played on Musselburgh Links on 2 March 1672 but in other books of history it is said that Mary Queen of Scots played at the links circa 1560. The Musselburgh Links held the Open Golf Championships in 1874, 1877, 1880, 1883, 1886, 1889. The Claret Jug was first played for at St Andrews in 1873. Golf is also mentioned in Parliament in 1457. With golf being played on Bruntsfield Links Edinburgh prior to that date. Golf History Musselburgh East Lothian Golf has been played on Musselburgh Links from 1672. Due to over crowding of courses in Edinburgh The Royal Burgess Golfing Society (Old Golf Club in World) of Edinburgh moved to 10 Links Place now Balcarres Road Musselburgh in 1875. Now used by Musselburgh Links “Old Course Golf Club” founded 1982. Musselburgh Links is where the Open Golf Championship was played in 1874 and on 5 further occasions. The Open was held from 1860-72 at Prestwick Golf Club. Musselburgh Golf Club 9 Links Place now Balcarres Road Musselburgh golf course was the first club house at Musselburgh Links 1872. Became Royal Musselburgh Golf Club (6h Oldest in world) in 1876. The world's first golfing competition for women took place in Musselburgh in 1811. The Golf hole was first cut to the present diameter by Blacksmith Robert Gay from Musselburgh in 1829 and became the official size in 1893. British Open Golf Champions Musselburgh East Lothian The first open golf Championship was held in 1860, was played over 3 rounds of golf consisting of 12 holes per round. Willie Park beat Tom Morris to become champion. All the named winners on the plaque were local Musselburgh born. Bob Ferguson had a shot named the “Musselburgh Iron” using his putter from of the green. Old Musselburgh Course in the middle of the Race Course was the venue for the Open Championship on six occasions. Willie Park Snr. First Open Golf Champion Willie Park Snr, 1833-1903 was the winner of the first Open Golf Championship and a further three Open Golf Championships lived and died in Musselburgh at No 23 Ravensheugh where the plaque has been erected in his honour. First US Open Golf Champion This plaque also honours two further great Musselburgh golfers. Willie Dunn Jnr First unofficial U.S Open Champion and Willie Campbell was runner-up He became the first Golf professional at Brookline County Club in Massachusetts USA. Willie Campbell Professional Golfer Willie Campbell was a Scottish professional golfer. He emigrated to America in 1894. He finished in sixth place in the first US Open Championship held on Friday, 4 October 1895 at Newport Golf Club in Newport, Rhode Island, America. Willie Dunn Jnr Willie Dunn Jnr son of a club and ball maker, started work at 13 as an apprentice club maker to his brother Tom. Willie Dunn first match was against Ben Sayers at age 15, also his first success. After taking part in the Open championship in 1883-84 and 86 he joined his brother in France at the Biarritz golf club which his brother designed and worked at. Willie Dunn Jnr. remained at Biarritz for around six years. He later moved to the US where he designed golf courses and took park in the first unofficial US Open played at Southampton Long Island New York which he won. The first official US Open was played the next year 1895 in Newport, Rhode Island, where Willie Dunn was second to Horace Rawlins. Musselburgh Lagoons East Lothian In 1964 the electricity board built a sea wall on the east side at the mouth of the Esk River which formed four lagoons. The area was used by Cockenzie Power Station to dump fly-ash. The area soon became a habitat for many birds and wildlife. You will find many species of sea birds who have adopted the area for nesting. Two of the four lagoons have been filled and one has been formed into a series of scrapes and high tide roost that are part of a nature reserve. They give great views for ornithologists throughout the year. The uniqueness of the area attracts many species of bird with a list at over 220 difference species. Musselburgh Lagoons is now rated as one of the top site in Britain. The final lagoon attracts fewer birds and the freshwater pond also attracts ducks and other species that are attracted to freshwater. This is most definitely a site that all true birders should visit both in summer and winter. Eskmills Musselburgh Colonel James Paterson Inventor 1821 The original mills were where fishing nets were made by the inventor of a machine for tying knots for the manufacture of fishing nets. This mill became the number one net producer in the world. Stuart House Stuart House is the man building in Eskmills built in 1867 which was where the spinning and weaving was carried out. Archibald Hope was one of two brothers who owned Eskmills. Stuart House is named after the land owner Sir Archibald Hope a wealthy merchant and coal colliery owner. The Clock is powered by the mechanism previously from the Hay-weights Clock a previous Musselburgh icon. The weighbridge is in courtyard outside the dispatch warehouse. The restaurant that is in the Eskmills courtyard was originally built as offices for the Stuart brothers the original building was renovated into the present building with a new dome. Old Engine house built 1857 Archibald Hope House Eskmills Stuart House Eskmills North House Eskmills Stuart Offices Eskmills Clock Tower Eskmills Adam Ferguson House Eskmills Fishing Net Machine Inventor Musselburgh East Lothian Col James Paterson a local man of Musselburgh returned home circa 1810 and invented a machine capable of tying knots in fishing nets in 1812. On James Paterson’s death his company and patent were bought by J.W. Stewart in 1849 who established a new factory at Esk net mill Musselburgh. The company became the number one manufacturer of nets in the world with over 800 workers and worldwide sales. With the introduction of man-made fibres and new technology the factory declined and closed in 1979 The company was purchased and is now situated in Eyemouth. Newhailes House Palladian Villa Musselburgh Sir Alexander Seton, Viscount Kingston, heirs sold the lands of Hailes which included the then ruined castle to David Dalrymple in 1700. David Dalrymple (Lord Hailes) purchased the Whitehill estate in 1709. The house was originally built by James Smith architect in 1686. The house was renamed New Hailes after Hailes Castle. David Dalrymple was the fifth and youngest son of James Dalrymple, 1st Viscount of Stair. New Hailes House was famous for its library quote by Dr Johnson “the most learned room in Europe.” The House remained in the Dalrymple family until Lady Antonia Dalrymple sold it to The National Trust in 1996. Newhailes Estate Nature Walk Newhailes House Musselburgh Newhailes house estate and woods has a nature trail with the Brunstane Burn and a number of attractions throughout the woodlands and grasslands. Earl of Stair's Obelisk Newhailes House Musselburgh On your walk through the estate nature trail lookout for the Earl of Stair's Obelisk a historic monument dates 1746. There are inscriptions on all four sides which read; Sir John Dalrymple Earl of Stair's Obelisk Newhailes House Musselburgh The Earl of Stair's Obelisk stands in Newhailes House Gardens. The Stair's Obelisk has inscriptions on all sides. The translations are bracketed. MDCCXLIII (1743) DE TINCEN (NO DIPPING) |HIS STONE WAS RENEWED FOR PRESERVATION BY THE RIGHT HON SIR CHARLES DALRYMPLE BART. AD 1907 | LICUISSET (ALLOWED). JOANNI (SIR JOHN) COMITI DE STAIR (EARL OF STAIR) DE PATRIA ET PRINCIPE (THE HOMELAND AND PRINCIPLE) OPTIME MERITO (SECOND MERIT) VIVENTI (LIVING) POSITUM (POST) MDCCXLVI 1746 MDCCXX (1720) PRUBA PERTINACIA (PRUBA DEFIANCE) CALPE (GIBRALTAR) SERVATA (OBSERVING) CUM (THE) PORTU MAGONIS (GRAND PORT) MDCCXV (1715) INSIGNI DILIGENTIA (REMARKABLE DILIGENCE) ET (AND) SUMMA APUD PRO REGEM (SUPREME AS KING) GALLIAE (IN FRANCE) CONCILIATA GRATIA (GRACE WON THE ENEMY) SPE ET CONSILIO FRUSTRAVIT (HOPE AND PLANNING POINTLESS) Newhailes Summerhouse Newhailes House Musselburgh The summerhouse was built circa 1750 Newhailes Curling Pond Newhailes House Musselburgh The Curling Pool is not visible but is a metre underground It was used by the Viscount and family in the winter. Picture from info board National Trust of Scotland Newhailes Shell Grotto Newhailes House Musselburgh Newhailes House Shell Grotto completed in 1774 Grottos were secluded places designed to evoke reflection on the cycle of life and death. The Grotto was covered in shells from as far as the East Indies. Newhailes Do’cot Newhailes House Musselburgh Newhailes House Do'cot was where the family would get fresh meat. This was a feature of all large wealthy households. Pigeons would nest inside upto 1000 and the gamekeeper would take the young birds for the kitchen of the main house. Newhailes House Children’s Activity Area Newhailes House Musselburgh Newhailes House Children's Play area swings, climbing, shutes, roundabout, zipwire, great for all ages. Pinkie House Musselburgh Sir Alexander Seton born in Seton 1555 son of 7th Lord Seton purchased Pinkie House in 1593 after becoming Lord President of the Court of Session. The house was a ruin after the battle of Pinkie Cleuch 1547. He rebuilt the former mansion which had also been a hospital into what can be seen today one of very few residences that have been unspoiled. Pinkie house was a place that the young prince Charles later to be Charles I spent much of his childhood. The House changed hands through the years until 1951 when it became the property of Loretto School. The fountain was built circa 1607 which stands outside the main door to Pinkie House, possibly to commemorate his marriage to Margaret Hay. The oldest part of Pinkie house that remained from before it part destruction in 1547 is the main tower circa 1130 built by the Abbots of Dunfermline. Pinkie House Doo’cot Musselburgh East Lothian The Pinkie Do’cot built by the Alexander Seton after his marriage to Margaret Hay with the initials on a stone tablet and date unreadable the letters AS MH intertwined. With a crown above. The other tablet has one of three crescents (the crest of the Seton family) topped by a crown. Next - Prestonpans
- Edinburgh English Language Schools | Education | All About Edinburgh
Looking to gain a certificate in English Language A list of all the schools are here to help Queen Street Royal Mile and many more institues of learning English Language Schools Edinburgh Scotland Education & Learning Edinburgh English Language Schools are for students of other countries to pass examinations in the English Language. The schools are available to individuals and groups. English Language Schools Edinburgh Scotland English Language Schools Global School of English - Edinburgh Wemyss House 45 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EP Tel: +44(0) 131 226 2333 info@gse-edinburgh.com English Language Schools Kaplan International 9 Albyn Place Edinburgh EH2 4NG City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 220 4278 English Language Schools Edinburgh College Bankhead Avenue Edinburgh EH11 4DE City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 669 4400 English Language Schools Edinburgh School of Language 55 Broughton Road Edinburgh EH7 4EX City of Edinburgh Scotland +44(0) 131 510 0502 English Language Schools Edinburgh School of English 271 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 557 9200 English Language Schools F C I Edinburgh Fettes College Carrington Road Edinburgh EH4 1QX City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 311 6072 English Language Schools Alba English School 86-92 Causewayside Edinburgh EH9 1PY City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131668 4336 English Language Schools School of Language Sciences 3 Charles Street Edinburgh EH8 9AD City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 651 3083 English Language Schools Berlitz Edinburgh 14 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2HB City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 226 7198 English Language Schools Randolph School of English 63 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1HL City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131226 5004 English Language Schools Hamilton School of English 45 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EP City of Edinburgh Scotland +44(0) 131 440 3301 English Language Schools Wallace College 12 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EE City of Edinburgh Scotland +44(0)131 220 3634 English Language Schools Edinburgh Language Centre 62- 68 George Street Edinburgh EH2 2LR City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)2089390402 English Language Schools Oscars International 27a Haddington Place Edinburgh EH7 4AF City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131557 7505 English Language Schools Mckenzie School of English 6 John Place Edinburgh EH6 7EL City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 555 5315 English Language Schools English Language Academy 49 Melville Street Edinburgh EH3 7HL City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 226 6182 English Language Schools Edinburgh College 24 Milton Street East Edinburgh EH15 2PP City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 669 4400 English Language Schools The Language Institute Palmerston Place Edinburgh EH12 5DE City of Edinburgh Scotland +44(0)131 226 6975 English Language Schools Basil Paterson 66 Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 4NA City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 225 3802 English Language Schools Regent Edinburgh 65 Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 4NA City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 225 9888 English Language Schools H.W.U School of Languages 1 Riccarton Campus Edinburgh EH14 4AS City of Edinburgh Scotland +44(0)131 451 3542 English Language Schools Inlingua 40 Shandwick Place Edinburgh EH2 4RT City of Edinburgh Scotland +44(0)131 220 5119 English Language Schools Caledonian Language School 7 Torphichen Street Edinburgh EH3 8HX City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 229 2988 English Language Schools Edinburgh College 350 West Granton Road Edinburgh EH5 1GE City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0) 131 669 4400 English Language Schools Global School of English 41a York Place Edinburgh EH1 3HP City of Edinburgh Scotland +44(0) 131 478 7620 English Language Schools Hamilton School of English 41a York Place Edinburgh EH1 3HP City of Edinburgh Scotland +44(0) 131 440 3301 English Language Schools E C S Scotland 17 Young Street Edinburgh EH2 4HU City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131226 5262 English Language Schools Edinburgh College 46 Dalhousie Road Dalkeith EH22 3FR Midlothian Scotland +44 (0)131 669 4400
- Cycle Scotland | Cycling Tours | All About Edinburgh
Cycle Scotland Tours, bicycles, motor bike and tandums around Edinburgh and Scotland There is a cycle route & cycle tour for all levels. Group guided day Tours, get fit and see Edinburgh and Scotland from the road. Bicycles are fun with a friend or group Cyclists Touring Club BICYCLE RENTAL Edinburgh Bicycle Tours Guided Bike Tours of Edinburgh or bespoke Guided Bike tours of Scotland. Have an outdoor experience that will give you exercise and fresh air with a history lesson thrown in. or take a trip on a 3 wheel motor bike. Bikes are a great way to see the country stop wherever and continue to great destinations a bike can go most place and a lot of places a car or bus can't. Sunshine fresh air and exercise and touring all in one that's a bike tour. Just Look for the bike stands in the streets of Edinburgh and pay as you go hire. Ricky's Bicycle Tours 412 Morningside Road Edinburgh EH10 5HY Scotland Just Eat Cycles 89 Bike Stations Edinburgh Scotland Trike Tours Scotland Swanston Edinburgh EH10 6DT Scotland The Tartan Bicycle Company 136 Main Street Pathhead EH37 5PX Scotland Cycle Scotland 29 Blackfriars Street Edinburgh EH1 1NB Scotland Enquiry / Contact Next - Edinburgh Helicopter Tours
- Coulston Village | East Lothain | All About Edinburgh
Colstoun House in East Lothian is has been inhabited for over 900 years by the same family. With many stories of ghosts and strand happenings see about the Colstoun Pear. Colstoun Village East Lothian Colstoun House is, if not the oldest house in Scotland, it is the longest inhabited house by one family in Scotland, over 900 years in the same family. First Mention of Brun (Broun) (Brown) is Walter Le Brun, 1st of Colstoun and Glamilshiels circa 1116. This branch returning to France. The family are Broun's of Colstoun. Colstoun House is set in circa 2000 acres of land hidden in a wood centuries old. Colstoun Estate has many things to see and do on it. You can even stay here for a holiday. The first Broun (Brown) recorded to be born Colstoun House was a George Broun in 1438 from the Broun of Midmar Aberdeenshire. He died in Strathdon Aberdeenshire 1514. He had two sons, William Brown, born 1460 Coulston, East Lothian Scotland, James Broun, born 1493 Colstoun East Lothian Scotland Like all old Castles this one is no different with stories of many goings on, but the most famous is of the Colstoun Pear. When looking around the house you will see a Pear in every room. The Legend of the Colstoun Pear With more than one version of the Colstoun Pear legend this one maybe true. The Pear was a wedding gift from Sir Hugo de Gifford (Lord Yester) of Yester Castle. Hugo was said to be a warlock and the coven was below the Castle at Yester. Gifted to George Broun on his marriage to Hugo's daughter, On passing the the pear he informed his son-in-law that, good as the lass might be, her tocher (dowry) was still better, for while she could only be of use in her own day and generation, the pear, so long as it continued in the family, would cause it to flourish till the end of time. The pear was accordingly preserved with great care in a silver case by the fortunate recipient and his descendants. And it has been preserved in the silver box, reportedly remaining as fresh and luscious as the day it was picked. In 1692, Sir George Broun of Colstoun, 2nd Baronet, was to marry the highlander, Lady Elizabeth Mackenzie, daughter of George Mackenzie, 1st Earl of Cromarty. On their wedding night, Elizabeth dreamed of taking a bite of the pear (this was considered a bad omen by her father-in-law). When she was pregnant, the story goes, she developed a craving for the pear and ultimately couldn’t resist taking a bite. The pear immediately turned brown, hard and shriveled up like a walnut. Following the infamous "bite" of the pear, George fell into gambling and eventually lost so much money that he had to sell Colstoun to his brother, Robert. Sir George reportedly died penniless in Spain in 1718. The bad luck continued but the house remained safe in the family. It is believed still to be in the same silver box hidden away in the house to this day. Colstoun Walled Garden Colstoun House Next - Drem
- Cadenheads | Whisky Shop | All About Edinburgh
Cadenheads whisky shop oldest bottler of whisky in scotland shop taste whisky before you buy from the barrel also rum, gin and Cognac on the Royal Mile. CADENHEADS WHISKY SHOP EDINBURGH Cadenhead's Whisky Shop 172 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DF Telephone 44+ (0) 131 556 5864 CADENHEAD’S SCOTLAND'S OLDEST INDEPENDENT BOTTLER William Cadenhead Ltd, Wine and Spirit Merchants, were founded in 1842. They are Scotland's oldest independent bottler. The ethos of Cadenhead is they bottle from single casks at the natural malting strength. Visit the Whisky Shop in the Royal Mile 172 Canongate where you can try the whisky from the barrel before purchasing. Cadenhead also sell unique Old Raj Gin, Cognac and Rum. This is where you can buy that special drink of Scotland to take home and enjoy. Strictly over 18 years of age only. Cadenhead's is known more as the oldest bottler of Whisky in Scotland however they also have a selection of Cognac, Rums and Gin. Here are a few listed below, for more visit 172 Canongate and taste some specials from the barrel before you buy. Old Raj Gin 70cl, 46% ABV Cadenhead's Classic Gin 70cl, 50% ABV Nicaraguan Rum 70cl, 46% ABV Haitian Rum 70cl, 46% ABV Barbados Rum 70cl, 46% ABV Brazilian Rum 70cl, 46% ABV Cadenhead's Classic Lowland Pure Malt 70cl, 50% ABV Islay Blended Malt - Duthies (WM Cadenhead) 70cl, 46% ABV Robust Smoky Embers 23 Year Old - Cadenhead Creations 70cl, 54.30% ABV Campbeltown Blended Malt - Duthies (WM Cadenhead) 70cl, 46% ABV Cadenhead's Grande Champagne Cognac 70cl 57.9% ABV Next - Places to Visit





