All About Edinburgh
Search Results
Search this site
403 results found with an empty search
- Edinburgh Education and Learning | Information | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh Education and Learning schools from pre school to University private or council for everyone Edinburgh Education and Learning Looking for a school local authority of private, whatever the educational type Primary Schools, High Schools, Nursery Schools, Colleges, Universities, Community Education Centres, Special Needs Schools, Private Tutors, English Language Schools, Independent Private Schools. Edinburgh Information Pre School / Nursery Schools Independent Private Schools Colleges Further Education Primary Schools Community Education Centres English Language Schools High Schools Special Needs Schools Universities
- Tranent Town | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Tranent Attractions East Lothian Tranent is a small town in East Lothian and is one of the oldest towns in East Lothian. In 1722 the first rail line (Tranent to Cockenzie Waggonway) took coal from the coal pits of Tranent to the harbour at Cockenzie . It was drawn by horses on a wooden track, the first in Scotland. Once an important coal mining town, mined by the monks of Newbattle in the 12th century. The town must have been settled prior to 1150 as the old parish church dates from 1145. Massacre of Tranent Statue Tranent East Lothian The Massacre of Tranent took place in 1797, when 12 local people were killed by soldiers after group of locals were protesting against conscription into the British Army. Jackie Crookston holding the drum on the memorial to those who died. The Statue stands in Civic Square on the High Street in Tranent. Tranent Tower Tranent East Lothian Tranent Tower was built circa 1542 on the Seton estate where the Valance family lived leasing the tower from Lord Seton before they later purchased it and where the family remained until the nineteenth century. The family grave can be sen in the old Tranent parish church burial ground. Setoun Do'cot There is a lectern-type do’cot 1587 near Tranent old parish church, which was constructed to house 1122 pairs of pigeons in nesting boxes. A do’cot was where people would get fresh meat. Taking the young pigeons as they were the most tender. Inscribed above the door of the Do’cot reads; DAVID SETOUN, 1587. Cockenzie House was built for David (Setoun) Seton circa 1600. David (Setoun) Seton was known for his involvement in the trials of witches at Tranent. Parish Church & Graveyard Tranent East Lothian A chapel is said to have been founded here by monks in the 8th century. Tranent Parish Church dates from 1145. The present church was built 1799 and opened in 1800 and was modernisation again 1954. John Caddell was blamed for his part in the Tranent Massacre (object to the conscription of Scots into the British Militia) of 1797 and is buried in Old Tranent Parish Church. The first vicar of Tranent whose name is recorded as John in 1222. Tranent Parish Church Graves The Table stone memorial grave of Captain George Hutchison R.N is prominent as related to the Seton family. Captain George Hutchison, R.N. was uncle to the Misses Hutchison, living at Seton Lodge, Tranent, in 1889. Captain William Hutchison, who was Governor of Cape Coast Castle in Africa, and died when at home in Tranent on a visit in 1832. The most famous slave “castle,” the Cape Coast Castle, Built in 1653 circa 10 million slaves were transported from here to the new World. Tranent Parish Church Graves The Headstone depicts a Jacobite soldier buried here after the Battle of Prestonpans 1745. Tranent East Lothian George Seton Grave Memorial to George Seton, of the family of St. Germains, Bailie of Tranent: Bailie George Seton, Farmer at Seton, Died the 10th day of May 1760, aged 82. You err, O reader, if you should expect Big swelling words, immodesty, respect How short man's life, 'las, while we live we To know man's life, keep death still in your eye. — To the memory Of Catherine Turnbull, relict of George Seton, Farmer in Seton, who died Oct. 5th, 1766, Aged 73 years. Tranent East Lothian Town Clock In the civic square of Tranent next to the Massacre of Tranent memorial statue stand the towns time piece Tranent East Lothian War Memorial The Tranent war memorial commemorates the people of Tranent who were killed or did not return (missing) in the two World Wars. Tranent Primitive Methodist Church The Primitive Methodist Church was built in 1870. This group was of the working class all looking for social justice and self-worth. The preacher's travelled around the countryside and were also known as ‘Ranters’, for their enthusiastic preaching. The first preachers in Scotland, stood at the the site of the Grassmarket gallows in April 1826 and gave their first sermon. East Lothian Primitive Methodists came and went with the mining accept for Cockenzie built in 1878 by the fisher folk who raised capital to build their chapel, which is still open for worship today. A P O G I A Place of Great Importance This project was lead by the community and the work was carried out by David Wilson a stone artist from Perth. Miners Tallies were to keep a record of the number down the pits. The Tallies are insert in the line of cairns at the entrance to the ne community greenspace. Next - Traprain Area
- Robert Burns | Dumfies | All About Edinburgh
Dumfries is where Robert Burns Lived and is buried. There are many attractions to see in Dumfries which has the River Nith. There are museums the Robert Burns Centre a great place for a day out. Dumfries Attractions Dumfries was founded as a Royal Burgh in 1186 and is a place to spend the day, seeing all the attractions, a place that Robert Burns called home. Things to see include, Robert Burns House Mausoleum, Rose Garden Grave and Statue, Devorgilla Bridge, Old Bridge Museum, Midsteeple, Victoria Cross recipients memorial Dumfries Museum & Camera Obscura Aviation Museum, Robert Burns Centre Moat Brae House and Garden Greyfriars Church and the Savings Bank. Explore Scotland with All About Edinburgh! We are passionate about helping you make the most of your trip to Scotland with our wide range of airport transfers and golf transport services. Let us show you the best of Scotland The list below is the attractions pinpointed on the map of Dumfries and Galloway Devorgilla Bridge There has been a bridge over the River Nith since circa 1265. A stone bridge replaced the original wooden structure circa 1460. The Devorgilla Bridge named after Lady Devorgilla of Galloway niece of William the Lion. Her son was to become king (John Baliol) in 1292. She had many structures and buildings built, one of which is the Sweetheart Abbey circa 1274 the last Cistercian abbey to be founded in Scotland. Lady Devorgilla was one of the most influential women of her age in Britain born 1210 and died 1290. Buried in Sweetheart Abbey near Dumfries. Old Bridge House The House at the end of Devorgilla Bridge also known as "The House at Bridgend" was built in 1660 and is the oldest remaining house in Dumfries. The House has had many uses a meeting hall, house, tavern and now a museum with many interesting artefacts. Savings Bank Founder Dr Henry Duncan was the founder of the Savings Bank Movement in 1810. Born in 1774 he moved to Ruthwell in 1799 as the Parish minister. The first Savings bank was opened eleven years later in the present cottage were the museum is situated in Ruthwell, Dumfries, DG1 4NN today. The savings bank he opened was the forerunner for the TSB and all savings bank worldwide. Robert Burns Dumfries Robert Burns first moved to Dumfries when he came on the visit in 1787. Dumfries Town Council made him an honorary Burgess. In May 1793 the family moved to a better quality house in Mill Street now called Burns Street where he wrote songs which included “my love is like a red, red Rose” and “man’s a man for all that” His days in Dumfries were spent as an excise man usually dressed in a decent suit of dark clothes. He had a distinguished head with large dark brown eyes and a high forehead, his features were hard and he had a slight stoop. At nearly 5 foot 10 ins (1.8 m) in height he was well known around town. Robert Burns died in Dumfries in his house in Mill Street on the 21st July 1796. Robert Burns and family lived in Bank Street Dumfries. He was employed to collect taxes, The garden across from the house has The poem Red Red Rose on a stone plinth and there are 2 murals on the wall. Jean Armour and Son Statue Robert Burns Statue Dumfries The Robert Burns statue erected to his memory in Dumfries was unveiled by Lord Roseberry on the 6th April 1882 and is sculptured from Sicilian Marble. Jean Armour was born in Mauchline Ayrshire on (25 February 1765 and died 26 March 1834). She married Robert Burns on 5 August 1788. She was known as the "Belle of Mauchline". They moved to Ellisland Farm where they stayed for 5 years until 1791 when they moved to Dumfries, where they stayed till their deaths. Greyfriars Church Dumfries On what was the site of Dumfries Castle which was destroyed circa 1320 the First Church was built in 1772. The present Greyfriars Church was built in 1868, which overlooks the site of the famous murder in the original Church of the Greyfriars, committed by Robert the Bruce over the crown of Scotland, John III Comyn Lord of Badenoch in 1306. This was the beginning of the war of Independence that finish at Bannockburn. The plaque on the site of where the murder took place is at the bus stop across from the Robert Burns Statue. Old Greyfriars Church (Previous site Plaque) inscription: Here stood the monastery of Grey Friars where on Thursday 10th February 1306 ROBERT THE BRUCE aided by SIR ROGER KIRKPATRICK Slew THE RED COMYN and opened the final stage of the war for Scottish Independence which ended victoriously on The Field of BANNOCKBURN 1314 "I MAC SICCAR" Erected by the citizens of Dumfries & The Saltire Society Charles 3rd Duke of Queensberry and Dover Monument The column of about 30 feet high (9.7 m). On one side of the pedestal is a device representing a female figure leaning on an urn and on another side of the same is the following inscription Plaque inscription This Column Sacred to the memory of Charles Duke of Queensberry and Dover Was erected by The County of Dumfries. As a monument of their veneration for the character of that illustrious nobleman: Whose exalted virtues rendered him the ornament of society and whose numerous acts of public beneficence and private charity endeared him to his country Ob. 22nd Oct. 1778; Aet. 80". Midsteeple Dumfries The town-house or Midsteeple, which was built in 1705-8. There are two carved panels. One is of the royal arms of Scotland, with unicorn supporters. The lower panel shows the winged figure of St Michael, patron of the burgh. These carvings are circa 1650. There were a further 2 built into the wall in 1909 which were from the old prison circa 1580. One has the initials H R (Herbert Raining) and R MK (Robert MacKinnell) with a pair of shackles and a bow and arrow and the word BAILLIES, who held that office in the 1570s. The other shows a shield bearing a chevron between three fleurs-de-lys, with the town 's motto A LORJ BURNE. 1830, and a cast-iron distance-plate of 1827. Last Hanging in Scotland Buccleuch Street Dumfries The last man to be publicly hanged in Scotland, was Robert Smith on Buccleuch Street Dumfries 12 May 1868. His death mask is on public display in Dumfries Museum. Mary Timney (27-year-old) on the 29 April 1862, also at Buccleuch Street in Dumfries was the last woman to be publicly executed in Scotland. Norway House Norge Hus 1940 - 1945 This is to commemorate the site of the former Norway House Headquarters and cultural Centre of the exiled Norwegians in Dumfries during the second World War erected in lasting friendship between our nations. June 2005 Robert Burns Rock Dumfries Robert Burns Rock was unveiled by HRH Princess Royal on 9th July 2013 to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II Ca' the Yowes Robert Burns Memorial Stone ("Drive the ewes to the hills") is a Scottish folk song by Robert Burns from 1794 St Michael’s and South Parish Church St. Michaels Church in 1746. This is where Robert Burns was buried and now is where his Mausoleum can be seen. St Michael's Church Graveyard Map of Graves of Friends of Robert Burns Robert Burns Grave and Mausoleum The building of the mausoleum was completed in September 1817. The monument inside the mausoleum is the statue of the Muse Coila (Coila was the muse of Robert Burns, who he created as a poetic device for his poem The Vision) She floats above Burns with his plough. Robert Burns and his to sons were reinterred (1817) under the floor of the new mausoleum. His wife Jean Armour is also buried in the mausoleum ( March 1834) , and his son Robert, (May 1857). Robert Burns Original Grave Camera Obscura and Museum The highest point in the town of Dumfries Corbelly Hill was once in a separate area known as Maxwelltown. Where a large windmill stood, built in 1798. A Camera Obscura was installed in 1836 and opened 2 years later. This is said to be the oldest working Camera Obscura in the world. The museum was built in 1862 using the windmill tower as the Camera Obscura. The museum was attached to the tower and houses many interesting exhibits including a bicycle made in 1839 by Kirkpatrick Macmillan the inventor of the rear-wheel driven bicycle. Also a cast of the original skull of Robert the Bruce from Dunfermline Abbey. Outside the museum is a cannon and a Open octagonal painted stone Tuscan temple to John Sinclair with statues of Old Mortality And His Pony. Dr John Sinclair On 25th October 1840, Dr. John Sinclair was thrown from a horse drawn gig between Southampton and Titchfield and died of his injuries. He was buried in the Portsmouth Garrison Chapel graveyard. The previous day he had won a raffle for a statue of Old Mortality and his Pony, based on the characters in the Sir Walter Scott novel of the same name. His parents erected the statue as a memorial, which can still be seen as part of Dumfries Museum in Scotland Russian cannon captured during the Crimean War circa 1855. Maxwelltown War Memorial The inscription on the front is, “Pro Patria in memory of the men of Maxwelltown and the Parish of Troqueer who fell in the Great War 1914-1919.” Private James Mackenzie V.C. 2ND BATTALION SCOTS GUARDS, KILLED IN ACTION AT ROUGES BANCS, FRANCE, 19TH DECEMBER, 1914, AGED 27, WHILE RESCUING A WOUNDED COMRADE UNDER HEAVY FIRE. FOR A SIMILAR ACT OF CONSPICUOUS BRAVERY ON THE SAME DAY HE WAS AWARDED THE VICTORIA CROSS. James Edward Tait VC MC James Edward Tait (1888-1918) was born on 27th May 1888 in Maxwelltown (Dumfries) James Tait received the Military Cross for his conduct on 9th April 1917, the day the Canadian Corps attacked and captured Vimy Ridge in France. Lieutenant James Tait earned the Victoria Cross posthumously for his actions while serving with the 78th Infantry Battalion, CEF during the first four days of the Battle of Amiens, 8th to 11th August 1918. Robert Burns Ellisland Farm Robert Burns and family moved to the house in Dumfries in 1793 from the farm they leased after leaving Edinburgh 5 years before. Visit the farm on the way to Dumfries for a look at where Robert burns wrote many famous songs and poems John Paul Jones John Paul Jones (1747-1792) from Arbigland near Kirkbean, is credited with founding the Us navy in 1775. He joined the Russian navy in 1788 and also attacked Leith at the head of a French Force flying the American flag . In 1777 sailing “ the Ranger “ his capture of the British vessel “Drake “ off the Irish Coast is America’s first recorded naval triumph . He was honoured by the US congress and Ennobled by the French before dying in Paris aged 45 and was later re-interred in Annapolis, Maryland , USA. Fife Attractions Robert Burns Centre Burgh Church Norway House Dumfries Academy Lochfoot Fountain John Paul Jones Birthplace Museum John Paul Jones was a Revolutionary War hero known as the father of the U.S. Navy. Born in Arbigland Kirkcudbright Scotland in 6th July 1747, John Paul joined the British Merchant Marine at the age of 13 at the age of 27 he fled to America as he murdered a sailor in self-defence on the island of Tobago. Arriving in America he added Jones to his name to hide his identity. He joined the Continental Navy and became the scourge of the British Navy, when the Continental Navy disbanded in 1787 he joined the Russian Navy. He ended his life in France and died in Paris in 1792. His remains were eventually found in a disused cemetery in Paris and return to America. He lies at rest in a tomb inside the chapel of the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, Maryland. There has been 5 US naval war ships named after John Paul Jones the last being the USS John Paul Jones (DDG-53) built in 1991.
- Canongate South | Royal Mile | All About Edinburgh
Canongate Southside has many attractions and historic buildings. Kilwinning Freemasons Lodge where Robert Burns attended. The Poetry Library with free entry and the first whisky bottler Cadenheads where there are many rare whiskies. Also arts and crafts shops. Canongate South Edinburgh Attractions Canongate South Edinburgh is all the attractions, famous residents through history, the historic buildings and places to visit on the South side of the Canongate in the Royal Mile Edinburgh. This page takes you from the top of the Canongate on the south side at the White Horse Inn to the Scottish Parliament Building at the foot of the Canongate. The area around where the Palace of Holyrood House is now was once a small village called Herbergare, where the Abbey of Holyrood was built and was given to the monks by King David I in 1128 and a road that extended from Herbergare, to the Nether Bow Port was known as Canon gait. Canongate Southside Gullan’s Close Gibb's Entry Pirrie's Close Chessel’s Court Plainstane Close Weir’s Close Playhouse Close Old Playhouse Close St John’s Pend St John’s Street Sugarhouse Close Bakehouse Close Wilson’s Court Cooper’s Close Crichton’s Close Bull’s Close Reid’s Close Vallence’s Entry Canongate South Edinburgh Attractions The White Horse Inn Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The White Horse Inn is the oldest Inn in the Canongate Edinburgh with the stables at the rear with entry from Gullan’s Close. The coaches left from what was known as Boyd’s Inn. The other entrance for the coaches and horses was from Boyd’s Entry a short distance down St Mary’s Wynd, Boyd’s Inn, was the starting point the long journey by coach to London. The main dropping off point for the coaches from London was Boyd’s Close off Boyd’s Entry, at the back of the White Horse Inn. The White Horse Inn was the place that runaway couples from England came to be married and many weddings were carried out here. Boyd’s Inn consisted of a house for entertainment, stables for over 100 horses and sheds for over 20 carriages and rooms for the guests. This was the first 5 star lodging in Edinburgh the proprietor being James Boyd. James Boyd sold the White Horse Inn in 1776 to retire. Gullan’s Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Gullan’s Close at the side of the White Horse Inn was the fourth close on the south side of the Canongate prior to 1869 when the First three closes of the Canongate were demolished under the improvement Act of 1867 replaced by a tenement. Gullan’s Close was previously Halliburton’s Close and James Boyd the Innkeeper owned property on the west side of Halliburton’s Close(White Horse Inn) (James Boyd the Innkeeper was a gambler and was about to lose everything when he had good fortune with a run of winnings on a white Horse hence where the name The White Horse Inn derived). The White Horse Inn was also famous for runaway couples from England that wished to marry. It was also the Start and finish to the coach trip to and from London. Gullan’s Close named after James Gullan who had stables led to the Stables where the coaches and Horses for the London coach journey where stabled. (100 horses and 20 carriages). Gibb’s Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Gibb’s Close named after Robert Gibb who had stables at the foot of Halliburton’s Close. One of the residents of Gibb’s close was Constantine Burke the brother of the murderer William Burke and this was the place the murder of Mary Paterson took place. Her body was transported to Dr Knox who paid for the body for his experiments. Burke and Hare resided in Tanner’s Close (Portsburgh) in the West Port in a lodging House the place they carried out many of their evil deeds. Pirrie’s Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Pirrie’s Close or as on old maps, Perries Close, were the lands of Elizabeth Murray and Alexander Pirie and the Pirie family stayed here for generations and Thomas Pirrie built a Brewery in the Close. Pirrie’s Close was once called Fuird’s Close after Alexander and John Fruid and their descendants. The Close was first Known as Kinnaird’s Close and was then sold to Alexander Fuird. Chessel’s Court Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Chessel’s Court was built in 1748 as mansion apartments for the architect Archibald Chessel and in 1769 became the Excise Office and was the scene of an armed robbery in 1788 by the notorious William Deacon Brodie and his gang. The robbery failed and Deacon Brodie was eventually caught and executed on the gallows in the High Street that he designed. To the Left of Chessel’s Court once ran Plain Stone Close (Plainstane Close). The plaque has been attached to a wall on the right side. Details of all the closes from the past can be seen on maps held by the National Library of Scotland link to get you there fast. Plainstane Close was named as the close had been paved. http://maps.nls.uk Weir’s Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Weir’s Close Royal Mile Canongate Edinburgh was the home of George Chalmers founder of Chalmers Hospital which opened to patients in 1864 on the lower floors the upper floors were opened to fee paying patients in 1872. The plaque reads; In proud and grateful memory of George Chalmers 1773 - 1838 Master Plumber who lived and worked near this site. Founder of Chalmers Hospital Old Playhouse Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Old Playhouse Close Royal Mile Canongate Edinburgh was the entrance to the Playhouse Theatre where famous actors, actresses, singers and performers would ply their trade from 1747 – 1767. The tragedy DOUGLAS was first performed here in 1756 written by John Home minister and playwright. On the Lintel above the door of the tenement to the east in the close the inscription reads; AJ JEHOVA DEDIT | HOSPITIUM TERRIS CAELICA REGNA DABIT | ANNO JS James Laidlaw Maxwell James Laidlaw Maxwell, MA MD. Was born on 18th March 1836 in the Canongate. He was a pioneer missionary of Taiwan Laidlaw established Taiwan's Qiho Medical Clinic and the Fucheng Presbyterian Hospital which became the Sin-Lau Hospital the first western medical hospital. He was first to translate the New Testament into Taiwanese in 1873, he died in 1921. Saint John’s Cross Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The cross of St John marks the spot on the Royal Mile Canongate Edinburgh where the boundary between Edinburgh and the Burgh of the Canongate was and also marks where the original St. John’s Cross was positioned. Moved to allow carriages which were becoming more popular to pass up and down the street. St John’s Pend Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh. The Knights of St John had their houses in this area. Go through the Archway which was created in 1767 and you will find the Masonic Lodge Canongate Kilwinning No 2 and the oldest masonic chapel in the world. This is where Robert Burns was affiliated and was crowned Poet Laureate. The archway below the Moray House tablet takes you to St John’s Street, also known as St John’s Pend this is where the first known masonic lodge was sited,(St John’s Lodge) date unknown. There are other Lodges that also claim to be the first lodge by way of minutes of meetings, but St John’s name has been synonymous with this area since the early 1500s. It is believed that the name was first used by the Knights of St John of Jerusalem who held property in this area. The entrance to the Canongate was built in 1768 and the houses in St John’s Street were occupied by noble families. On the west side was Canongate Lodge and Lodge Kilwinning No 2 further down was the mansion of Lord Wemyss and the nearest to the south back of Canongate (now Holyrood Road) was the Royal Maternity Hospital which was founded in 1835. On the east side of St John’s Street lived No1 Sir Charles Preston, No 3 Lord Blantyre, No 5 The Earl of Dalhousie, No 8 Andrew Carmichael last Earl of Hyndford, No 10 James Ballantyne (partner and confidant of Sir Walter Scott) This is where Walter Scott would discuss his forthcoming novels. Finally No 13 Lord Monboddo, a Judge and Linguist a friend of Robert Burns and David Hume and a well-known figure in all Edinburgh. This plaque reads; This Building now a part of | Moray House College was | erected 1755 and restored 1955. This plaque reads; ST JOHN’S PEND | THE KNIGHT’S OF ST JOHN | HAD THEIR HOUSES IN THIS | DISTRICT | THE ENTRANCE TO THE STREET | WAS BUILT IN 1763 | HOUSES OCCUPIED BY FAMOUS | FAMILIES AND OCCASIONALLY | BY SMOLLETT Tobias George Smollett Canongate Plaque Edinburgh This wall tablet reads; Tobias George Smollett | 1721 – 1771 | Stayed here at the house | of his sister Mrs Telfer | During the summer of 1766 St John’s Land Plaque Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh This wall tablet reads; This fine example of an 18th century Edinburgh tenement was erected by the Earls of Hopetoun who also built Hopetoun House. It remained in residential use until Moray House acquired the building in 1956 and installed classrooms, staff students and a fully equipped proscenium theatre. Tobias Smollett the novelist stayed with his sister in a flat which is now part of the theatre stage. It was here in 1766 that he wrote his last novel, “Humphry Clinker” in which tenement life is fully described. The building was originally six storeys high but today only five storeys are above ground. It takes its name from the adjoining St John’s Masonic Lodge. James Boswell was once president of the lodge and Robert Burns attended its meetings during his visit to Edinburgh in 1787-88. Masonic Lodge Canongate Kilwinning No.2 St John’s Street Royal Mile Edinburgh The Lodge Canongate, Kilwinning has had many famous brothers, Robert Burns the Poet and John Napier the inventor of the logarithms. At the first gate on the right entering from the Canongate, above a black door on the lintel, can be seen the words SAINT JOHN’S LODGE. The next building is Lodge Kilwinning No 2 this is named after the original lodge in Ayrshire which dates back to the building of Kilwinning Abbey in 1140, however the Abbey of Holyrood built in 1124, was also linked to the Freemasons and is older. The difference is, Lodge Mother Kilwinning in Ayrshire issued charters and warrants to Lodges wishing the privileges of freemasonry. In the High Street Hyndford’s Close (St David’s Lodge) is where Sir Walter Scott became a mason. Sir Godfrey Hilton Thomson Moray House College Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Sir Godfrey Hilton Thomson was an educational psychologist and the director of studies at Moray House College for 26 years and a pioneer of educational testing. Sir Godfrey Thomson’s plaque can be found in St John’s Pend in Canongate, Royal Mile, and Edinburgh. Sir Godfrey Thomson led the only IQ test to be held in Scotland testing took place in 1932 and 1947 of all 11 year old children. Lodge Canongate Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The first Lodge to request a charter was the Lodge Canongate. This was granted in December 1677 and is the first known example in the world of a Lodge being granted a Charter by an existing Lodge. The Chapel of St John is the oldest purpose built masonic meeting room in the world. The first Grand Lodge of Scotland was Lodge Canongate Kilwinning in 1735. The Head Office of the Grand Lodge of Scotland is at 96 George Street Edinburgh. The Lodge of Edinburgh (St Mary’s Chapel) No 1 has the oldest recorded meeting minutes dating back to 1598 and is still in existence in Hill Street Edinburgh today. James Laidlaw Maxwell James Laidlaw Maxwell, MA MD. Was born on 18th March 1836 in the Canongate. He was a pioneer missionary of Taiwan Laidlaw established Taiwan's Qiho Medical Clinic and the Fucheng Presbyterian Hospital which became the Sin-Lau Hospital the first western medical hospital. He was first to translate the New Testament into Taiwanese in 1873, he died in 1921. Old Moray House Old Moray House was built in the early 1600s. It is now a group of three buildings and a courtyard. The Regent’s House to the east was built before the mid-1600s and the new house to the south was built in 1755. Take a walk through the gates to see the buildings. The Moray House College has been on this site since 1848 and became Moray House College of Education in 1959. After merging with other colleges it is now part of the University of Edinburgh. Moray House was originally a mansion House built circa 1620 for Mary, Dowager Countess of Home. She was to host many famous dignitaries. Oliver Cromwell stayed when his army were in occupation of Holyroodhouse during his sacking of Edinburgh circa 1650. Due to the position of the balcony, the Marquis of Argyll and his party reportedly jeered the captured Royalist James Graham, 1st Marquis of Montrose, as he was paraded to his execution in 1650. An execution which Argyll met a few years later. The Cottage or Summer House on your right as you enter the gates is believed to be where the 1707 Act of Union between Scotland and England was signed. St John's Street Church The Church at the foot of St John’s Street west side was built on land owned by the Earl of Wemyss in 1882 to accommodate the congregation which worshipped in St Giles’ Cathedral. Building is now empty. Sugarhouse Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Sugarhouse Close with the archway to the sugar refinery to allow carts to carry the loads of sugar. The sugar refinery started circa 1750 and continued for over 100 years. In 1858 it became the site of the Holyrood brewery owned by William Younger & Co (William Younger and Co merged with William McEwan to become Scottish Brewers in 1931) the Holyrood Brewery closed in 1986 and the land was sold in 1990. Holyrood Brewery stretched from Gentle’s Close further down the Canongate to Sugarhouse Close). Bakehouse Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Bakehouse Close is a representation of a House of the 17th Century Canongate, Acheson House within the close was the residence of Sir Archibald Acheson and Margaret Hamilton from 1633 when it was built, it then was passed on to his son George Acheson. The Canongate became the area the wealthy of Edinburgh moved to as the Edinburgh Closes and Wynds were overpopulated, smelly and noisy. Bakehouse Close was used in the Outlander series, and runs under Huntly House next to Edinburgh Museum. Acheson House Bakehouse Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Acheson House was built in 1633 as a townhouse for Sir Archibald Acheson, who died a year later in 1634. Archibald Acheson was knighted by James I in 1620, made secretary of state for Scotland in 1627 during the reign of Charles I and a baronet of Nova Scotia in 1628. Acheson house was restored by the Marquess of Bute when he purchased the property from Edinburgh council in 1935 to save it from demolition. Huntly House Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Attraction In 1825 in the ‘Traditions of Edinburgh’ Robert Chambers calls Huntly House the ‘SPEAKING HOUSE’ because of the Latin inscriptions on the building’s exterior walls. There are five inscriptions, the original four inscriptions are from the 16th century and one added on renovation in the late 1920s early 1930s. The museum was housed in Huntly House before an extension was built where the entrance is now. The Building was originally the Marquis of Huntly’s House. Take a walk round and see the Scottish silver, pictures of old Edinburgh and maps of the building of the New Town. Free entry Huntly Hous Museum The Five Inscriptions on Stone carvings of the wall of Huntly House Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Read; THERE IS ANOTHER HOPE OF LIFE I AM OLD BUT RENEW MY YOUTH 1932 AS THOU ART MASTER OF MY TONGUE TO A STEADFAST HEART. MORTAL AFFAIRS ARE A SHADOW SO I AM MASTER OF MY EARS TODAY FOR ME TOMORROW FOR YOU 1570 Museum Of Edinburgh Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh You will find the Museum of Edinburgh in the Canongate. Inside the museum tells the story of Edinburgh from prehistoric times to the present day. Displays illustrate life in the Old and New Towns from the 1760s. Home to important collections of Edinburgh history, exhibits include Grayfriars Bobby’s collar, the National Covenant signed in 1638, and Scottish pottery. Museum of Edinburgh Wilson’s Court Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Wilson’s Court found between Bakehouse Close and Cooper’s Close was once circa 1650 A sandstone quarry which was filled in and a tenement now stands. Surrounding the court Holyrood Brewery was built. Andrew Berwick established a Brewery in Gentle’s Close circa 1820 which extended to around Cooper’s Close and Wilson’s Close. Wilson’s Close was named after a William Wilson who owned land in 1778 His three sons all immigrated to the West Indies as did one of his daughters who married a John Hamilton of Tobago. Philip the eldest son also of Tobago inherited the land in 1782 and later sold it to Alexander Gordon in 1796. Cooper’s Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Cooper’s Close was named after a wealthy merchant and engraver Richard Cooper in 1749 and owned further property in the High street. He also sold land to James Gentle of Gentle’s Close. The Cooper family has a connection to the close as a Margaret Cooper lived here in the 1840s Later Cooper’s Close was where the barrels were made and supplied to the breweries. Positioned in the middle of the Holyrood Brewery site. The first Brewery was at Holyrood Abbey and moved to the site of Horse Wynd now where the Scottish Parliament Stands. A Cooper is a skilled tradesman who makes or repairs casks and barrels for Breweries. Crichton’s Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Crichton’s Close when studying old maps (1813) of the Canongate seems to be on the site of the Carfrae Coach works of East Lothian a respected coach builder. In a earlier map (1765) the same site is named Crichton’s Coach works a possible clue to the Close’s name. The Close was named after Alexander Crichton Coach builder circa 1760. John Carfrae had purchased the coach works by 1799 and his son Thomas was still running the business in 1832. Scottish Poetry Library Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Scottish Poetry Library can be found in Crichton’s Close in the Canongate. One of only three Poetry Libraries in the United Kingdom. Started in Tweeddale Court in the High Street in 1984 and moved to its present home in June 1999. The Library has the largest collection of Poems in Scotland and if you are looking for the poem for a loved one or special occasion, you will find it here. There is a shop. Entry and use of the Poetry Library is Free. Do not go past go in and find the poem that reflects who you are. This is the only purpose built poetry Library in Europe and possible the world. Founder Tessa Ransford Plaque Inscription reads; SIC ITUR AD ASTRA (Thus one journeys to the stars) The New Scottish Poetry Library Ist Aug 1997 Poetry Library Bull’s Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Bull’s Close extended from the Canongate to the South Back of Canongate now known as Holyrood Road and was part of the land owned by the Holyrood Brewery (Scottish Brewers). Close named after one of its many owners a Robert Bull many wealthy owners when purchasing property (land) change the close’s name to their own. John Carfrae also owned houses in the Close which had access to his Coach works in Crichton Close. Milton House School Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Milton House School was built circa 1885 to educate the children of the Canongate area. The School was built on the site of Milton House, named after Lord Milton, (Andrew Fletcher) a famous judge of his time circa 1756 for who the house was built by the designer John Adam elder brother of the more famous architect Robert Adam. John Adam commission 4 wall panels for the original Milton Boarding School by William Delacour who died in Edinburgh 1767. Nisbet of Dirleton’s House 82-84 Royal Mile Canongate Edinburgh 82 – 84 Canongate was Nisbet of Dirleton’s House. The house with shop was originally built in 1624 by Lord Dirleton, Sir John Nisbet the Lord Advocate. A typical entrance stone to a 17th Century building. Nisbet of Dirleton’s House Stone Lintel above door with translation in brackets PAX (PEACE) INTRATIBUS (ENTERED) NISI DOMINS FRUSTRA (EXCEPT THE LORD IN VAIN) SALUS (SALVATION) EXEUNTIBUS (DEPARTING) Reid’s Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Reid’s Close named after Andrew Reid Brewer circa 1770 had a common entrance from the Canongate with Haddington Close (Earl of Haddington built a house here circa 1790) with separate entrances from Back of the Canongate south (Holyrood Road) Bailie Reid’s Close or Reid’s Close was the site of a new brewery opened by the Berwick’s circa 1860, on the site of their malting’s which operated for several years. They then sold it circa 1870 when it changed its name to the Reid’s Close Brewery. Reid’s Close is at the west side of the Scottish Parliament Building on the Canongate and is a quick way to get to Our Dynamic Earth at Holyrood Gait. Dynamic Earth Holyrood Gait Royal Mile Edinburgh Dynamic Earth is a science centre in Edinburgh. The centre opened in 1999. The building’s structure consists of a steel mast-supported membrane stretched over a steel skeleton. Dynamic Earth takes you on a journey through our planet’s past, present and future, with interactive exhibits and impressive technology, including a 4D and 3D experience. Beginning with the Big Bang, children and adults alike can witness the creation of the Earth, follow the planet through its evolution and even catch glimpses of the earth’s future. The best way by foot to get to Our Dynamic Earth is down Reid’s Close of the Canongate Royal Mile or by car Down Holyrood Road from the west and past the Palace of Holyrood House from the east. Dynamic Earth Vallence’s Entry Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Vallence’s Entry was named after Adam Vallange who owned land here. Once named Valentine’s Entry circa 1830 Adam Vallange was a barber by trade and his land stood next to the Duke of Queensberry’s Land. Queensberry House Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Duke of Queensberry resided in a stately mansion till his death in 1695 and his family continued residence until 1803. At that time it was changed into a hospital and in 1834 it became a refuge for the poor. In 1945 it became and Old peoples home and in 1997 the Scottish government closed the home and moved the residents to enable the Scottish Parliament building to be constructed. On the Pavement of the Canongate between Vallance’s Entry and Queensberry House is the Canongate Wellhead dated 1817. This would have been where the residence of the canongate would get their drinking water. The wealthy land owners would have caddies to fetch water from the wellhead to their houses. Scottish Parliament Building Wall On this land previous to the parliament Building, after Queensberry House, stood four close’s Cumming’s Close, Thomson’s Close, Penman’s Close and Charter’s Close. In Horse Wynd was a Brewery and prior to that was Lothian Hut a mansion House built by William Lothian 3rd Marquis of Lothian in 1750. The Lothian Hut (mansion House) was demolished in 1825 the last occupant being Dugald Stewart a Scottish philosopher and mathematician joint founder of the Royal Society of Edinburgh 1783. He was born in Edinburgh on the 22 November 1753 and died 11 June 1828. A memorial to Dugald Stewart stands on Calton Hill Edinburgh. Canongate Parliament Wall Plaques There are 22 plaques with a proverb or verse on the wall (20/02/2026) Andrew Fletcher Jackie Kay Norman MacCai Hugh MacDiarmid Hamish Henderson Next - Abbey Strand Attractions
- Hermitage of Braid | Edinburgh Hills | All About Edinburgh
The Braid Hills and Hermitage stretch from Morningside to Liberton with a golf course Braid Burn. With great Hill and country walks in Edinburgh City. Blackford Hills Hermitage of the Braids . The Blackford Hill is a nature reserve and can provide the whole family with many interesting things to do. There is a children’s play area and a pond that has many different birds (swans, geese and ducks and many more). Explore the hill and visit the Royal Observatory and see the stars in the sky. Follow the Braid Burn for some 2 miles or climb to the top of Blackford Hill (540 feet) for a great view of the city and coast. The main entrance is on Charterhall Road, you can also gain access from Observatory Road or Braid Road. Follow the Braid Burn through to the Hermitage at Morningside where it is a short walk to the Braid Hills, where the Braid Golf Course is situated. The Braid golf course is where the professional golfer Thomas Armour played as a boy before immigrating to America. HERMITAGE HOUSE BRAID HILLS EDINBURGH Old Hermitage House was built circa 1780. The House is now used as Headquarter of the City of Edinburgh Countryside Natural Heritage Service Visitor Centre. The first recorded owner of the area was the son of a Belgian knight called De Brad, in the 12th Century. The forest and hills were a popular place for hunting deer and Boar. The Braid Burn runs through the area. In 1937, the Hermitage was given to the people of Edinburgh city as a public park by the the owner John McDougal . The pillar in front of the house is a memorial to the gift given by him. The park opened to the public in 1938. The Do’cot was a place the occupants of the manor house could get fresh meat. As the pigeons were the source of fresh meat all year round. The walled garden would be stocked with vegetables, potatoes and herbs ENTRANCE BLACKFORD HILL NATURE RESERVE BLACKFORD POND Braid Hills Hotel Edinburgh Attraction The Braid Hills Hotel a historic building. was built in 1886 and has accommodated golfers for over a century. Originally a place for golfer to change (a locker room) with Boxes to rent. In 1894 two window were unveiled with stain glass figures of Ben Sayers and the brothers Hugh and Andrew Kirkaldy. Andrew in 1889 tied for first place in the Open losing to Willie Park Jr. in a playoff. He also was runner up in both 1879 and 1891. Hugh however won the open at St Andrews in 1891. There are also many other Paintings of famous people from Scotland's past in the hotel. Braid Hills Golf Course The Braid Hills golf course opened in 1889 and the first club to be part of the course was Harrison Golf Club founded in 1889 and remain at the course to this day. Western Golf Club founded in 1899 and are also based at the Braid Course was where Tommy Armour first joined a golf club in 1912 and his first competition win was in 1913 on the Braids golf course. Link to Thomas Armour Western Golf Club Braid Hills Western Golf Club founded in 1899 and are also based at the Braid Course was where Tommy Armour first joined a golf club in 1912 and his first competition win was in 1913 on the Braids golf course. Link to Thomas Armour Western Golf George Harrison Archway Braid Hills Edinburgh Sir George Harrison was born in 1812 Lord Provost of Edinburgh 1882-1885 and also founder of Harrisons of Edinburgh 1863 which are now in Exeter and Saville Row London. He died in 1885 and is buried in Warriston Cemetery. The Red sandstone arch next to the Craigmillar Park Golf Course at the foot of Observatory Road was erected in 1888 as the entrance to Blackford Hill, which George Harrison had been instrumental in purchasing as a public park for the city. The Blackford Hill opened as a public park 1884. The archway takes the form of three Roman arches. A large central archway over the road and at each side smaller arches to allow pedestrians. The Arch was built to commemorate Lord Provost George Harrison’s work for the people of the city of Edinburgh. On the centre of the structure at the top is a bronze medallion of George Harrison’s head. Below the medallion is an inscription that reads; IN COMMVNEM MVNICIPII REM DILIGENTIA IN SINGVLOS MVNICIPES BENIGNITAS IN OMNES HOMINES IVSTITIA ET FIDES On the left hand side tablet the inscription reads; BLACKFORD HILL | WAS AQUIRED & OPENED |TO THE PUBLIC BY THE | CITY OF EDINBURGH | 1884 | THE RT HON | SIR GEORGE HARRISON .LL.D | LORD PROVOST. On left hand side tablet the inscription reads; THIS ARCH IS ERECTED | 12TH SEPT 1888 | TO COMMEMORATE |THE WORK AND CHARACTER OF | GEORGE HARRISON | KT. MP. LL.D | WHOSE LIFE WAS DEVOTED | TO THE PUBLIC GOOD | BORN 1812 DIED 1885 Royal Observatory Blackford Hills The first Observatory in Edinburgh was founded in 1776 on Calton Hill by Thomas Short and was demolished in 1850 and moved to Castle Hill, the building where the Camera Obscura is now. The Gothic Tower was used for several years as the site of a new observatory before the City Observatory was built in 1818. In 1822 it became the Royal Observatory and moved to Blackford Hill in 1896 where it still stands. It has been a world leader in astronomy from then to this day. Royal Observatory HILLEND ARTIFICIAL SKI SLOP PENTLAND HILLS The Pentland Hills are a range of hills circa 20 miles long (33Klms) in the south of Edinburgh. Hillend being the beginning or end of the Pentland Hills has had an artificial ski slop open to the public since the 1960s and is the largest dry ski slop in Europe. There are activities for all ages Skiing, Snowboarding and Tubing with floodlights on all slops for evening use and a chairlift and towlines to get you to the top. You can hire equipment and visit the lodge or take the lift to the top for a fantastic view. A great day out for the whole family especially on hot days. Which are few and far between in our wonderful Scottish climate. Next - Marchmont - Grange
- Haymarket Area | Shops & Businesses | All About Edinburgh
Haymarket Area Edinburgh extends from the west end to Murrayfield with Shops, restaurants and Cafes main Taxi Rank, Tram Stop and Haymarket Rail Station all 5 minutes from Princes Street. Morrison Street has a 24/7 bakers for the late nights and early mornings. Hotels, apartments, B'n'B's all close HAYMARKET AREA EDINBURGH Shops - Pubs - Restaurants - Accommodation - Retail - Cafes Haymarket Terrace Morrison Street West Maitland Street Clifton Terrace Palmerston Place Grosvenor Crescent Torphichen Place Grosvenor Gardens Torphichen Street Haymarket History & Attractions Kew Terrace Edinburgh Accommodation & Businesses The Bathroom Company 8 Kew Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5JE City of Edinburgh Scotland 4KT Guest House 4 Kew Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5JE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 237 5356 Kew House & Apartments 1 Kew Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5JE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 313 0700 Edinburgh Lodge Hotel 6 Hampton Place Edinburgh EH12 5JD City of Edinburgh Scotland The Manor School of Ballet 8 Hampton Place Edinburgh EH12 5JD City of Edinburgh Scotland Hampton House 5 Hampton Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5JQ City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0131) 337 6169 West Coates Edinburgh Accommodation, Shops, Bars, Restaurants No 6 West Coates 6 West Coates Edinburgh EH12 5JG, City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 608 1619 Cumberland Hotel 1 West Coates Edinburgh EH12 5JQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 1198 The Dunstane Houses 4 West Coates Edinburgh EH12 5JQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 6169 Duthus Lodge 5 West Coates Edinburgh EH12 5JG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 346 7888 Skerries Seafood Restaurant 4 West Coates Edinburgh EH12 5JQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 6169 Coates Gardens Edinburgh Pirie's Hotel 4 Coates Gardens Edinburgh EH12 5LB 0131 337 1108 Argus Hotel 14 Coates Gardens Edinburgh EH12 5LB 0131 337 6159 Beresford Hotel 32 Coates Gardens Edinburgh EH12 5LE 0131 337 0850 St Valery Guest House 36 Coates Gardens Edinburgh EH12 5LE 0131 538 7054 Haymarket Hotel 1 Coates Gardens Edinburgh EH12 5L G0131 337 1775 Buchan Hotel / Haymarket 3 Coates Gardens Edinburgh EH12 5LG 0131 337 1045 Boisdale Hotel 9 Coates Gardens Edinburgh EH12 5LG 0131 337 1134 Lairg Hotel 11 Coates Gardens Edinburgh EH12 5LG 0131 337 1050 Clifton Terrace Edinburgh Shops, Bars, Restaurants, Accommodation, Clifton Terrace Clifton Terrace Edinburgh The Guards Hotel 1 Clifton Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5DR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 1002 Scots Guards Club 2 Clifton Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5DR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 1084 The Hostel 3 Clifton Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5DR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 313 1031 Tune Hotel 7 Clifton Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5DR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 347 9700 Clifton Terrace Edinburgh Platform 5 8 Clifton Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5DR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 347 1616 Station Takeaway 10 Clifton Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5DR City of Edinburgh Scotland Nicola Bald Photography 11 Clifton Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5DR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 510 1105 La Bruschetta 13 Clifton Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5DR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 467 7464 Palmerston Place Edinburgh Shops - Accommodation - Bars - Businesses Palmerston Place Palmerston Place Edinburgh Palmerston Lodge 25 Palmerston Place Edinburgh EH12 5AP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 5141 Muirs Estate Agents 31 Palmerston Place Edinburgh EH12 5AP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 3058 Westend Hotel 35 Palmerston Place Edinburgh EH12 5AU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3656 Palmerston Place Edinburgh Palmerston Suites 37 Palmerston Place Edinburgh EH12 5AU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1242 Elmslie's Ltd 44 Palmerston Place Edinburgh EH12 5BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 5484 The Language Institute 48 Palmerston Place Edinburgh EH12 5DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 6975 Morrison Street Edinburgh Accommodation, Bars, Cafes, Restaurants and Shops Morrison Street Morrison Street Edinburgh Sainsburys Store 3 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8BH City of Edinburgh Scotland Sheeben Restaurant 6 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8BH City of Edinburgh Scotland Shanghai 8 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 1288 Henry’s Cellar Bar 10 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 1288 Lebowskis 18 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 466 1779 Pronto Panini Bar 32 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 1848 Port Hamilton Nursery 69 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8BU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 1221 Cycle Republic 71 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8YJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Scottish Widows Bank 69 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8YJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0845 767 8910 Welby and Wright 79 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8BU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 4410 Les Amis Brasserie 89 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8BU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 7517 Rojava Kurdish Restaurant 97 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 5BX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131478 1222 Wee Coffee Bar 107 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8BX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 0443 Diana’s Nail Art 113 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8BX City of Edinburgh Scotland 07447 949346 Lotus Hair 115 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8BX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 1648 Rodi Restaurant 121 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8AJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 2727 Moroccan Barbers 127 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8AJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 07462 066 710 L'Choppe Café 129 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8AJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Secret Beuaty Garden 133 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8AJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Café Kiaris 142 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8BE City of Edinburgh Scotland Morrison Street Edinburgh Atria One 144 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 9EE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 260 4046 Morrisons Bakery 147 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8AG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 6470 EICC Edinburgh International Conference Centre 150 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 300 3000 Mckirdy’s 151 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8AG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 6660 Scottish Routes Tours 152 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 347 8886 Elite Chauffeur Services 152 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0845 222 0026 Atelier Restaurant 159 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8AG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 5040 Lee Laundry 165 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8AG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 516 2952 Thomsons Bar 182 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 5700 Carter's Tap Bar 185 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8DZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 623 70 23 Morrison Street Newsagent 188 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 553 1214 The Foxy Fiddler Bar & Kitchen 192 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 5676 Accha Oriental Food store 200 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 7070 Coyles Florist 200a Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 467 2369 Picture Perfect Beauty Salon 208 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Mclaren Ross Hair Studio 218 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 6311 Bobbie's Bookshop 220 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 538 7069 No1 Kebab 222 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 538 5050 Morrison Street Edinburgh No1 Kebab 222 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 538 5050 Special Whisky Shop 224 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 8188 Diamond Barbers 226 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 3993 Fountain Court 228 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 6022 Physis 230 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 478 4646 Milk 232 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 4098 Hobs Repro 234 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8EA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 3080 Diane's Pool Hall 244 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8DT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 467 7470 Rancho Steak House 244a Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8DT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 477 7047 Mind and Body 246 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8DT City of Edinburgh Scotland Chop Chop 248 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8DT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 1155 Pomo Pizzeria 250 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8DT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 7173 Kinnaird Guest Houses 252 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8DT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 0992 Jolly Botanist The 256 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8DT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 1949 Haymarket Dental 264 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8DT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 6633 Grove Bedding 266 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8DT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 1137 Peter Young Flooring 270 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8DT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 9733 Ignite 272 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8DT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 5666 Mallow Valley 278 Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8DT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 9951 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh and Haymarket Rail Station Accommodation, Bars, Cafes, Restaurants and Shops Haymarket Terrace Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh Ryrie's Bar 1 Haymarket Edinburgh EH12 5EY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 7582 Haymarket Rail Station 1 Hamarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5EA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0845 601 5929 Starbucks 1 Haymarket Station Edinburgh EH12 5EY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0845 601 5929 La Stazione 1 Haymarket Station Edinburgh EH12 5JZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 7592 M & S Food 1 Haymarket Station Edinburgh EH12 5JZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0845 601 5929 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh First XV 6 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5JZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 4746 Travel Shop 9 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5DR City of Edinburgh Scotland Gram Naked Café 16 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5JZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Bagpipe Company 20 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5JZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 346 1111 Sandwich Culture 24 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5JZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 1814 Caroline Murray Hair 26 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5JZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 313 1153 Premier Connections Recruitment 40 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5LA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 346 7636 Thrifty Car Rental 42 Haymarket Terace Edinburgh EH12 5LA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 1319 Miso - Sushi 44 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5LA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 7466 Fleurs De Fleur 46 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5LA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 3771 Szechuan Kitchen 46a Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5LA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 281 2592 Designer Cake Boutique 50 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5LA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 2851 The Kilt Hire Company 54 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5LA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 3333 Kung Fu Tea 58 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5LA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 8774 Jacob Bakery 62 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5LA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 347 8884 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh Caldow Salon 64 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5LA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 8922 Cucina LC 68 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5LQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 467 2671 Purdie & Co Ltd 69 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5HD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 346 7240 Zest Skin Spa 71 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5HD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 3366 Deluxe Cleaners 75 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5HD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 313 3166 Max 76 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5LQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 5387153 Drummond 81 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5HD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 313 1002 Fine Fellas 85 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5HD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 476 1419 Grange Lettings 86 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5LQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 346 4646 Lezzeti 87 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5HD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 9989 Navadhanya 88 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5LQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 2231 Apex Haymarket Hotel 90 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5LQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0845 365 0000 Metro West End Restaurant 90 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5LQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 474 3456 Scottish Enterprise 99 Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5HD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0845 607 8787 Grosvenor Street Grosvenor Gardens - Grosvenor Crescent Edinburgh Accommodation, Restaurants, Bars, Cafes, and Shops Grosvenor Street Grosvenor Street Edinburgh Omar Khayyam 1 Grosvenor Street Edinburgh EH12 5ED City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 703 1390 Le Patite Repas Café 2 Grosvenor Street Edinburgh EH12 5EG City of Edinburgh Scotland Hilton Grosvenor Hotel 5 Grosvenor Street Edinburgh EH12 5EF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 6001 Grosvenor Street Edinburgh Macpherson (Scotland) Ltd 5a Grosvenor Street Edinburgh EH12 5EB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4008 Scottish Premier Property Auctions 12/1 Grosvenor Street Edinburgh EH12 5EG City of Edinburgh Scotland Ritz Hotel 14 Grosvenor Street Edinburgh EH21 5EG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 4315 Grosvenor Gardens Edinburgh Grosvenor Gardens Hotel 1 Grosvenor Gardens Edinburgh EH12 5EF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 313 3415 Grosvenor Crescent Edinburgh Ballantrae Hotel @ Westend 6 Grosvenor Crescent Edinburgh EH12 5EP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 7033 St Mary's Music School 25 Grosvenor Crescent Edinburgh EH12 5EL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 538 7766 West Maitland Street Edinburgh Shops, Accommodation, Bars, Cafes, Restaurants West Maitland Street West Maitland Street Edinburgh Copy Made 3 West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland Post Office 4a West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland Tele Mortgages 5 West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland China Star 6a West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland Fast Frame 7 West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland City Centre Bed and Breakfast 7a West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland Pearwaa Thai Massage and Spa 7b West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland Khukuri Restaurant 8 West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland Total Nails 8a West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland Golden Grill 10 West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131229 5222 Uniq Electronics 10a West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland Haymarket Bar 11 West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland West Maitland Street Edinburgh Dimitris 16 West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland Greggs 17 West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 5109 Costcutters 18 West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland William Hill Bookmaker 19 West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland McColl's Newsagent 22 West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland Istanbul Barbers 24 West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 4968 TSB Bank 26 West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland Mercat Bar 28 West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland Gali Restaurant 29 West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3199 Boots Pharmacy 32 West Maitland Street Edinburgh City of Edinburgh Scotland Torphichen Street Torphichen Place Edinburgh Accommodation, Bars, Cafes, Restaurants and Shops Torphichen Street Torphichen Place Edinburgh Westend Police Station 3 Torphichen Place Edinburgh EH3 8DY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 2091 Blue Rapa Thai Restaurant 6 Torphichen Place Edinburgh EH3 8DU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 0447 The Mad Hatter Bar 8 Torphichen Place Edinburgh EH3 8DU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 6852 Noir Rouge Hairdressers 19 Torphichen Place Edinburgh EH3 8DY City of Edinburgh Scotland Chiropractic Clinic Torphichen Place Edinburgh EH3 8DU City of Edinburgh Scotland Palates on the Corner Torphichen Place Edinburgh EH3 8DU City of Edinburgh Scotland Torphichen Street Edinburgh Hub by Premier Inn Torphichen Street Edinburgh EH3 8HX City of Edinburgh Scotland Haymarket Apartments 6 Torphichen Street Edinburgh EH3 8JQ City of Edinburgh Scotland Choice Executive Travel 2 Torphichen Street Edinburgh EH3 8JQ City of Edinburgh Scotland Next - Dalry Road Businesses
- Canoeing Kayaking | Edinburgh Activities | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh Canal network offers canoeing Kayaking and Paddle Boarding. Also available at portobelllo beach on lochs and in the sea Edinburgh Canoeing and Kayaking Activities for all ages or try East Lothian for water activities www.abouteastlothian.co.uk Edinburgh Canoeing and Kayaking Activities Canals, Rivers, Sea, Lochs Kayaking and Canoeing Paddle Boarding Have a ay out on the water Kayaking or canoeing down a river canal or in the sea. Try the latest craze stand up paddle boarding standing on a surf board with a long paddle. Great fun for all the family. Activities East Lothian Activities Canoeing / Kayaking Canoeing / Kayaking Craiglockhart Sports Centre 177 Colinton Road Edinburgh EH14 1BZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 443 0101 Canoeing / Kayaking Forth Canoe Club Harrison Canal Bridge Harrison Road Edinburgh EH10 4LE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 9586 Paddle Boarding Stand up Paddle Boarding Treetops Langton View East Calder EH53 0RD West Lothian Scotland 07507 459 689 Cramond, Portobello, Ratho, Linlithgow, Union Canal Edinburgh Canoeing / Kayaking Canoeing / Kayaking Edinburgh University Water Sports Firbush Point Loch Tay Killin FK21 8SU Falkirk Scotland 0131 650 2954 Canoeing / Kayaking Portobello Sailing & Kayaking Club Promenade Portobello Edinburgh EH15 1HF City of Edinburgh Scotland 07932 159983
- Universities in Edinburgh | contact information | All About Edinburgh
Universities in Edinburgh for further education passed all your exams and would like to go to University all the contact details are here UNIVERSITIES EDINBURGH Edinburgh University Education Education & Learning UNIVERSITIES EDINBURGH Education Napier University Napier Craiglockhart Campus Colinton Road Edinburgh EH14 1DJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0333 900 6040 Education Napier University Napier Merchiston Campus Colinton Road Edinburgh EH10 4NS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 8791 Education Heriot Watt University Riccarton Mains Road Edinburgh EH14 4AS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 449 5111 Education Napier University Napier Sighthill Campus Sighthill Court Edinburgh EH11 4BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 455 3711 Education University of Edinburgh Moray House St John’s Street Edinburgh EH8 8AQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 651 6138 Education University of Edinburgh McEwan Hall Bristo Square Edinburgh EH8 9AL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 650 4381 Education University of Edinburgh Adam House Chamber Street Edinburgh EH1 1HR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 651 2120 Education University of Edinburgh Appleton Tower Crichton Street Edinburgh EH8 9LE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 650 8445 Education University of Edinburgh David Hume Tower George Square Edinburgh EH8 9JX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 650 8295 Education University of Edinburgh Pollock Halls Of Residence Holyrood Park Road Edinburgh EH16 5AY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 667 1971 UNIVERSITIES EDINBURGH Education University of Edinburgh Old Moray House Holyrood Road Edinburgh EH8 8AQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 651 6138 Education University of Edinburgh Edinburgh Art College Lauriston Place Edinburgh EH3 9DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 650 2306 Education University of Edinburgh Old College South Bridge Edinburgh EH8 9YL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 650 1000 Education University of Edinburgh Scottish Agricultural College West Mains Road Edinburgh EH9 3JG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 535 4000 Education University of Edinburgh James Clark Maxwell Building West Mains Road Edinburgh EH9 3JL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 650 5430 Education University of Edinburgh King's Buildings West Mains Road Edinburgh EH9 3JL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 650 5430 Education University of Edinburgh Easter Bush Research Consortium Easter Bush Campus Roslin EH25 9RG Midlothian Scotland 0131 445 4468 Education University of Edinburgh Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies Easter Bush Campus Roslin EH25 9RG Midlothian Scotland 0131 242 6460 Education Queen Margaret University Queen Margaret University Drive Musselburgh EH21 6UU Midlothian Scotland 0131 477 0000
- OldTown Wall | Walking Tour | All About Edinburgh
Walking tour of Edinburgh's Old City Wall. Flip book with all the history of the wall and where you can see the remains from 1427 - 1628. Start at Johnston Terrace (Granny Green Steps and finish the walk at the Tron Kikrk in the Royal Mile. also a link to all the history. Old City Wall Walking Tour Start the tour at Johnston Terrace Granny Green Steps Edinburgh End the walk at the Tron Kirk High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh. For all the sites and history click on the button below. there is also a flip book on this page. Old City Wall Walking Tour Old City Wall walking tour takes you on a journey around what was Edinburgh from 1560. The first wall being built was 1427 and after the battle of Flodden where the last reigning monarch was killed the wall was extended and fortified to protect Edinburgh from invading English armies. On the walk you will not only see what remains of the wall you will see what made Edinburgh great. Edinburgh was where kings and Queens, Lords and Ladies, lived. The education centre of the world and where many inventions that changed the world.
- Morningside Edinburgh | Attractions | All About Edinburgh
Morniningside once a small community south of Edinbuurgh overlooked by the Braid Hills. The area of the first purpose built Asylum in Edinburgh by Andrew Duncan a world leader in mental health. Take a walk around the streets of Morningside and see the many attractions. Morningside Attractions Edinburgh Morningside was a small village south of Edinburgh which consisted of a few cottages and farms. Originally part of the Burghmuir (a woodland and open ground where hunting took place) which stretched from the Pentland hills to the Meadows which was the Burgh Loch. Now Morningside is a suburb of Edinburgh increasing in size from when the railway Station opened in 1884. The suburban railway in Edinburgh went out of use in 1962 when it closed. The clock has been a icon of Morningside since it was originally erected in 1910. Morningside has eight churches all in the main thoroughfare, a religious area of Edinburgh There are many attractions in Morningside, from famous birthplaces to historic buildings, plaques, wall tablets and ancient standing stones. Napier Tower JOHN NAPIER John Napier was a great inventor and Mathematician lived in the Napier Tower that was built by Alexander Napier the second Laird of Merchiston around 1454. John Napier the 8th Laird of Merchiston was born here in 1550. John Napier is best known as the discoverer of logarithms (Napier’s bones) in 1614. The bones can be seen in the Scottish National Museum. John Napier also appears to have been the first to intentionally use the frenetic period as a decimal separator in his book Rabdologia published in 1617. Also found in the same book was reference to Napier’s bones, numbered rods which were used to perform multiplication and division of any number, also useful in navigation and astronomy. Napier Technical College was opened in 1964 named after John Napier and in 2009 became Edinburgh Napier University. Napier Tower serves as the seat for Clan Napier and stands on the Napier University campus in Colinton Road Edinburgh. The Bust is now on show in the main reception at Colinton. CLAN NAPIER CREST The Clan Napier Crest can be found above the main entrance of The Napier Tower in the Napier University campus in Colinton Road Edinburgh. The clan Coat of Arms are only allowed to be used by the clan chieftain. THE CLAN CREST IS: A dexter cubit arm, the hand grasping a Crescent Argent with birds holding the Clan Chiefs coat of arms. NAPIER FAMILY MOTTO The meaning of SANSTACHE a French word is (WITHOUT STAIN). The Hanging Stanes THE HANGING OF THOMAS KELLY AND HENRY O’NEIL EDINBURGH Edinburgh‘s passion for executing the guilty can be seen in the many places around the Edinburgh streets where executions took place, e.g. The Grassmarket, High Street, Castlehill and Canongate to name a few. The main three punishments were burning at the stake, hanging and the guillotine, always with large audiences in attendance. In some instances gallows were erected on the site of the incident as in the case of the Highwaymen Thomas Kelly and Henry O’Neil two Irish immigrants who robbed a traveller David Loch on his way to Edinburgh and were sentenced to death by hanging (January 1815). Thomas Kelly and Henry O’Neil were taken to the place of execution where temporary Gibbets had been erected on the site of the robbery and they hung side by side for their crime. The site can be seen in Braid Road Edinburgh 200 metres from the corner at Morningside Station where the two Squares marked in the road and a plaque on the pavement outside 66 Braid Road Edinburgh donate where the gallows stood. The Buck Stane The Buck Stane stands at just over 1.00m high by 0.38m at its widest and is 0.28m thick. It stands against a garden wall in a small alcove near the south end of Braid Road. The stone has an information plaque which can be seen on the wall. Tradition associates the Buck Stane with the Barony of Penicuik and the royal hunts on the Borough-Muir. The plaque also says that the stone marks the spot where the buckhounds were let loose when the King of Scotland hunted in the region. (The wording on the plaque) This march stone a relic of feudal times occupied a commanding site on the old roman road about 250 yards north from this spot by tradition the name was derived from the stone having marked the place where the buckhounds were unleashed when the king of Scotland hunted in this region. Queen Victoria Diamond Jubilee Wall Tablet The wall tablet is to commemorate Queen Victoria’s 60 years on the throne in 1897. Look up on the wall just above the shops, up from the Taxi rank in Morningside Road, the plaque is just above a street light. Thomas Armour Thomas Dickson Armour Tommy Armour 18 Balcarres Street Edinburgh Tommy Armour was born in Edinburgh 24 September 1896 and he died on 11 September 1968 Larchmont, New York. Nicknamed "The Silver Scot" due to his hair colour. He first played golf at the Braid Hills, a member of the Edinburgh Western Golf Club and Bruntsfield Links. Emigrated to the U.S.A as a teenager and became one of the great unremembered golfers. Winner of the US Open 1927, U.S.P.G.A 1930, British Open Championship 1931, Canadian Open champion in 1927, 1930 and 1934. A total of 25 wins on the P.G.A Tour. One of two professional golfers to win the grand slam of golf by 1931. (Walter Hagen was the other) Prior to the Masters Championship which first played in 1934. The Old Schoolhouse A small house with a clock built in 1823 as the village school house. In 1892 its use was changed as a new modern school opened, and it became a temporary church prior to Morningside Parish Church opening 1838. Edinburgh's Wild West Morningside Edinburgh There is a street in Morningside Edinburgh that was built as a Wild West town – everything you would expect a Cantina, Jail hotel and saloon There is also a Indian (Native American ) mural. Built in 1996 by a furniture company called the Great American indoors Royal Edinburgh Hospital The Royal Edinburgh Hospital was a plan of Dr Andrew Duncan who attended to the poet Robert Fergusson until his death in Bedlam, the Edinburgh Asylum at Bristo Place Edinburgh. He was so taken by the nature of Fergusson’s illness he petitioned parliament for funds to open a hospital to look after the mentally ill. Funds were received in 1806, and Andrew Duncan purchased a house and land in Morningside The building of The Edinburgh Lunatic Asylum was started in 1809 under Royal Charter and opened in 1813. Originally for fee paying patients only but later in 1842 the poor were admitted for no charge. When the Bedlam Asylum closed in 1844 the patients were transferred to Morningside. The Edinburgh Lunatic Asylum was renamed The Royal Edinburgh Hospital in 1922. A Clinic opened in 1965 named after Andrew Duncan. ANDREW DUNCAN born St Andrew’s 1744 Died Edinburgh 1828 and is buried in the Apse Church in Chapel Street Edinburgh. One of the world’s forgotten greats he was first to lecture in forensic medicine in Britain and published many journals on medicine. William Tuke 1732-1822, A Quaker in 1796 opened the York Retreat sanctuary for Quakers with mental illness. Phillipe Pinel 1745-1826, French physician. And known as "the father of modern psychiatry". Robert Gardiner Hill 1811-1878, Surgeon in mental Health who had restraints and the locking up of patients abolished. Dorothea Dix 1802-1887, Dorothea Lynde Dix was born America in 1802 and fought for the rights of the insane that had been incarcerated in prisons rather than being treated in hospitals(asylums)for their mental health problems she help open over 30 hospitals for the mentally ill. Florence Nightingale 1820-1910, nurse. Florence Nightingale was born in 1820, in Florence, Italy and died at home in London in 1920 she is known as the founder of nursing. THE MEMORIAL IS TO HONOUR THE FEW IN THERE PURSUIT OF HELPING THE MENTALLY ILL ON THE CENTENARY OF THE DEATH OF PHILLIPE PINEL UNVEILED 1931. Archibald Campbell Clark 1852-1901 He worked in Lochgilphead, Melrose and Edinburgh Asylums. He used electroconvulsive therapy and to control the behavior of his patients he was the first Doctor in Scotland to perform a lobotomy. THE CAIY STANE Edinburgh Attraction The Caiy Stane is located at the side of the walkway on the west side of Caiystane View, a short distance from the junction of Oxgangs Road, Edinburgh. The stone is red sandstone and stands 9 feet 3 inches high (2.75m) with a breadth of 5 foot 9 inches (1.60m). A row of six cup marks can be seen on the back of the prehistoric stone. The stone may have been erected before 3000 BC, as early as the Neolithic period, probably to denote a ritual or burial place. Records of cairns, cists and urns found in the immediate vicinity show that the hilltop continued to be used for burial in the Bronze Age. Discovery of these remains led to the supposition that Caiyside Hill was the site of a battle, suggested to have involved invading Romans, Danes (Vikings) or Cromwellians. The Caiy Stane (Kel Stane), Cat Stane or Camus Stane, was thought to have been a battle memorial stone. The Bore Stone The only folklore associated with this site relates to James IV before the battle of Flodden in 1513 when it is alleged that the Royal Standard was pitched in or on the stone when it lay on the Boroughmuir nearby. The Bore Stone stands on a pedestal built into the boundary wall of Morningside Parish Church Edinburgh which opened in 1838 and was the first purpose built church in Morningside.. The surface of the stone displays numerous cup-like markings, none of which are believed to be anything other than natural. After the battle the city wall was built to protect Edinburgh from the English Army. THE BORE STONE In which the royal standard was last pitched for the muster of the Scottish army on the Boroughmuir before the Battle of Flodden 1513 It long lay in the adjoining field, was then built into the wall near this spot, and finally placed here by Sir John Stuart Forbes of Pitsligo Bart. 1852 Highest and midmost was described The Royal Banner floating wide. The staff, a pine tree strong and straight Pitch’d deeply in a massive stone. Which still in memory is shown. Yet bent beneath the standard’s weight. Marmion. Comiston Spring Well House The water for Edinburgh old town was piped from the Springs at Comiston to Edinburgh reservoir on Castlehill, (Scottish Weaving Mill) and in turn fed the cisterns (Wellheads) in the West Bow, Lawnmarket and High street of Edinburgh. The well house tank was fed by 5 fresh water springs from around the nearby hills. The well house became obsolete in 1945 due to new modern water systems. The well house was built circa 1674. Inscription on the plaque reads; This Wellhouse, built around 1674, played an important part in the history and development of Edinburgh. It contains the collecting cistern for the "sweet waters" of the various Comiston springs which provided the city's first piped water supply. Comiston House The Comiston House was built in 1815 by the Lord Provost of Edinburgh Sir James Forrest. He was an Advocate and was created 1st Baronet of Comiston in 1838. Comiston Castle Tower Comiston Castle Tower has been mentioned in script and on maps since circa 1340. The only remains are the corner tower from circa 1610. This being a corner lookout tower of a walled Castle. John Adair’s Map 1682. Morningside Park Morningside Edinburgh Morningside Park off Balcarres Street in Morningside is an area of grass and wildflowers that were planted by local school children. In the park can be found a children’s play area with swings climbing frame slide and open area for games and a tennis court. There is a pleasant seating area for contemplation or reading a book. There is also a sculpture of Owls carved out of wood. Canaan House Edinburgh John Astley Ainslie was an independently wealthy man inheriting lands from his family. Unfortunately he did at the age of 26. With a close connection to his uncle he left is fortune to David Ainslie who never married, his will stating that money was to be used in building a hospital or institute for convalescents of the Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh. The Astley Ainslie Hospital in Edinburgh was built named after his Nephew. A painting of John hangs in Canaan House also David’s sheep breeding trophies are on display in the boardroom. Hermitage Braids and Blackford Hill
- St Andrews | North Street | All About Edinburgh
St Andrews North Street, is the main road into St Andrews, Place in North Street include St Andrews New Club, The Morris house, St Andrews War Memorial, Heritage Museum, St Salvator Quad and Chapel, Plaques and famous peoples birthplaces. North Street St Andrews North Street St Andrews North Street runs from the City Road to The Pends at the Cathedral. North Street is a main thoroughfare of St Andrews and is where you can find many attractions including St Salvator's Chapel and Tower. North Street St Andrews Attractions St Andrews War Memorial Gregory Lane opposite North Street St Andrews St Andrews War Memorial A Celtic cross with Sword of Sacrifice on the shaft, on a stepped base. With inscription on the shaft, PRO PATRIA 1914-1918, 1939-1945, TO THE GLORY OF GOD AND THE HONOURED MEMORY OF THE MEN OF ST ANDREWS WHO WITH COURAGE AND FAITH AT THEIR COUNTRY'S CALL LAID DOWN THEIR LIVES THAT WE WHO REMAIN MIGHT LIVE IN FREEDOM AND PEACE A Semi-circular wall to rear with bronze panels inscribed with names of 185 men who fell in WWI. The Statue was unveiled on the 23rd of September 1922 Attended by Field Marshal, Earl, Douglas Haig, KT, GCB, OM, GCVO, KCIE North Street St Andrews Attractions St Andrews Heritage Museum & Garden St Andrews Heritage Museum and Garden located at 12 North Street in a 17th century house with garden. The Museum and Garden is one of the oldest houses in the old town of St Andrews. The museum is all about St Andrews the people and their lives from the 1700s Our Garden is a hidden gem and, as well as a sensory garden and a variety of plants, visitors can enjoy exhibitions and installations throughout. Our dedicated an enthusiastic museum guides look forward to sharing the rich heritage of St Andrews. North Street St Andrews Attractions Jock Hutchison Plaque Jock Hutchison was born in St Andrews 06 June 1884 (John Waters Hutchison). He became a professional golfer and won the Open Championship at St Andrews over 36 holes by 9 strokes in 1921. The previous year he won the PGA Championship. He die, aged 93 in 1977. He won the inaugural PGA Seniors' Championship in 1937 and inductee of the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2011 North Street St Andrews Attractions Fitzroy Barometer Admiral Robert Fitzroy (5 July 1805 – 30 April 1865) Admiral Fitzroy was a famous meteorologist who made accurate weather forecasting a reality. He was Governor of New Zealand in 1843 till 1845. He was also the captain of HMS Beagle and invited Charles Darwin to be a scientific passenger on the voyage which lasted 5 years. This was to give Darwin his inspiration for ‘The Theory of Evolution’. North Street St Andrews Attractions Benjamin Franklin Plaque Honours bestowed upon Benjamin Franklin by St Andrews Scotland. The Plaque reads; "Benjamin Franklin. In 1759 the University of St. Andrews awarded an honorary doctor of laws degree to Benjamin Franklin and the city of St. Andrews granted him the freedom of the Burgh. This marker commemorates the conferring of these honours. Marked places by the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution October 2002" North Street St Andrews Attractions College Gate College Gate is entrance to St Andrews University Buildings North Street St Andrews Attractions Younger Hall St Andrews Younger Hall is the main venue for St Andrews University graduation ceremonies. James and Annie Younger, local philanthropists donated funds for the building which was opened in 1929 by HM Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother North Street St Andrews Attractions James Crichton's House 19 August 1560 – 3 July 1582 James Crichton was a most gifted individual, educated at St Andrews University completing the requirements for both his bachelor's and master's degrees by the age of 14. He became fluent in multiple languages and was accomplished in many of the arts and a master swordsman. His tutor was the scholar, politician and poet George Buchanan. James was a gifted prodigy, with a gift of perfect recall. He travelled to France then Italy where he eventually met his death by Vincenzo Gonzaga the son of the Duke of Mantua whom James was employed. At the age of 21. Known as "The Admirable Crichton" referred to by Charles Dickens. Many books have been written about him as he was admired by many. He has a society named after him, at St Andrews University, The James Crichton Society. North Street St Andrews Attractions Józef Kosacki Plaque Józef Stanislaw Kosacki (21 April 1909–26 April 1990) was a Polish professor, engineer, inventor, and an officer in the Polish Army during World War II, stationed in St Andrews Scotland. He invented the Polish Mine Detector. The Ardgowan Hotel was the HQ of the Polish army during the the world war. St Salvator's Chapel and Quad
- Wanlockhead | Leadhills | All About Edinburgh
Wanlockhead Leadhills highest village in Scottland, land owner Duke of Buccleuch, Gold panning, lead mining, hill walking, Museum, Visitor centre and village tour also highest Golf course in Scotland and pub. Wanlockhead Leadhills Wanlockhead Village Dumfries and Galloway, ML12 6UT Wanlockhead village has been mentioned in history as far back, when the Romans mined the lead for their armour and weapons. There are two villages over 450 meters up the hills of the Southern Uplands of Scotland, at a distance 2 miles apart and the reason for where they are situated can be explained by the rich variety of minerals to be found in the area of Wanlockhead and Leadhills which became known as "God's Treasure House in Scotland". The area has produced some of the world's purest gold (22.8 carats) which was used in the making of the Honours of Scotland (Scottish Crown Jewels) circa 1540. Wanlockhead The Highest Village in Scotland Wanlockhead is set in the Lowther Hills with summits of 2,400 feet and views of southern Scotland including the Mennock Pass were it starts its descent following the Mennock Burn, offering views of Scotland's famous scenery. The Wanlockhead Lochnell mine opened in 1710 and see the conditions the miners had to work in. The Wanlockhead Miners' subscription Library established in 1756, is one of the most important Libraries in Europe with books of the greats like Sir Walter Scott. Visit Wanlockhead Spend the day looking for gold, where the gold for the Scottish Crown Jewels were mined. Walk around Wanlockhead Village at 1531 feet (461m) above sea level a village that less than 170 people live and work. Wanlockhead has the highest Pub in Scotland Wanlockhead Inn 1531 feet (461m) above sea level Wanlockhead has the highest residential hotel in Scotland, sitting 1297 feet above sea level. Take a guided tour of the village and go into a real lead mine where people would work the mine face. The Wanlockhead Miners' subscription Library The Wanlockhead Miners' subscription Library established in 1756, is one of the most important Libraries in Europe with books of the greats like Sir Walter Scott. Robert Reid Poet born in 1850 immigrated to Montreal Canada in 1877. Panning For Gold Wanlockhead village Pan for gold in the nearby Wanlockhead streams. I have panned for gold, All equipment and clothing supplied it was a great day out In the Wanlockhead museum learn about the area and see many of the minerals taken from the hills. Leadhills Graveyard The village of Leadhills has produced many important people and a grave of possibly the oldest lived person in the world at the age of 147 years. John Taylor The world’s longest lived man at 133, his son's grave is inscribed that he was 147 years old when he died. John Taylor was born in Alston in Cumbria in 1637. Lived and worked as a miner in Scotland till retirement in 1752 at 114 years. William Symington Leadhills Village William Symington (1763 - 1831) was the inventor of steamboats, the first boat powered by steam was in 1788 the engine for which was built at the Old Manse, Wanlockhead. Leadhills Railway Britain's Highest Narrow Gauge Railway Leadhills is the home for Britain's highest narrow gauge railway, reaching 1,498 feet above sea level. There is also a museum and shop. Trips on the train take about 30 minutes. Leadhills Golf Club Highest golf course at 1394 feet above sea level Wanlockhead Day Out Visit Carlops, West Linton, Biggar, Leadhills and Wanlockhead
- Edinburgh | New Town West | All About Edinburgh
The extention of New town north was a success and the new town was also spreading east and West. with Haymarket rail station and the glasgow road many people set up home in the western area. This page concentrats on the attractions of the west of Edinburgh new town from the west end to Haymarket. Edinburgh New Town West Attractions Palmerston Place Edinburgh New Town West Attractions St Mary’s Episcopal Cathedral The actual name is The Cathedral Church of St Mary in Edinburgh. St Mary’s is Scotland’s Largest Cathedral and has been since 1879. St Mary’s is easily spotted on Edinburgh’s skyline due to being the only church with three spires. The Cathedral is dedicated to St Mary the Virgin. The highest tower is 90 meters in height and the other 2 are both 60 meters high. The Cathedral is open every day to all who wish to visit. If you continue past St Mary’s Cathedral down the hill you will come to the Belford Bridge and an entrance to the water of Leith walkway, over the bridge and round the corner are the Modern Art Galleries One and Two Palmerston Place Old Coates House Old Coates House was built between circa 1613 by John Byres and was restored in 1830 by Sir Patrick Walker. When Mary Walker died in 1870 she gifted the property to the Scottish Episcopal Church of Scotland which enabled a Cathedral to be built. In 1874 the foundation stone for the New St Mary’s Cathedral was laid by the Duke of Buccleuch and Queensberry, and the Cathedral was consecrated on 30th October 1879. The Chapter House and western spires were added in 1890.The Old Coates House was the home of the Cathedral Choir School, which became St Mary’s Music School in 1971. The Music School moved in 1995. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Centre The Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Centre was formed to provide for the physical, emotional and spiritual well-being of society and community needs in Edinburgh. This is a spiritual centre and you are able to get psychic and spiritual readings. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was a great believer of the afterlife and he wrote circa 20 books on the subject of spiritualism and the afterlife. For any believers in Spiritualism, psychic phenomena, paranormal research or ghosts take a read of Conan Doyle’s books as he truly believed. Take a break in the Arthur Conan Doyle tearoom at 25 Palmerston Place Edinburgh and feel the spirits. Chester Street Edinburgh New Town West Walpole Hall The Right Reverend George Henry Somerset Walpole was elected Bishop of Edinburgh in 1910 and remained in his post till his death in 1929. The Walpole hall was built in 1932 in memory of George Walpole DD Bishop of Edinburgh and is attached to the Song school. George Walpole was the Bishop of Edinburgh. Chester Street Melville Crescent Edinburgh New Town West Attractions Robert Dundas 2nd Viscount Melville The Statue of Robert Viscount Melville 1771 -1851 was erected in 1857 in Melville Crescent Edinburgh. Robert Dundas 2nd Viscount Melville, son of Henry Dundas (1st Viscount Melville), was born in Edinburgh and educated at Gottingen University Germany and the University of Edinburgh. He was a Member of Parliament, 1st Lord of the Admiralty, and Governor of the Bank of Scotland as his father before him. Robert Dundas was awarded the Knight of the Thistle in 1821. His home was Melville Castle where he died in 1851. Pictured is the Dundas family crest above outside the door of Melville Castle below. Melville Crescent Joseph Bell M.D The Real Sherlock Holmes Joseph Bell pioneer in forensic science was born in Edinburgh in 1837, great-grandson of Benjamin Bell, a forensic surgeon and detective. Joseph became a surgeon and in 1859 and went on to become a lecturer at Edinburgh University one of his students being Arthur Conan Doyle. To be Doyle’s inspiration for the character Sherlock Holmes. He purchased 2 Melville Crescent in 1883 where he lived till his death in 1911. This is also the site of the Japanese Sherlock Holmes Club. Melville Street Melville Street Edinburgh New Town West Attractions Sir Robert Lorimer Robert Lorimer lived at 21 Hill Street Edinburgh with his parents he was educated at Edinburgh Academy before going to the University of Edinburgh. In 1893 he formed his own Architectural practice. His family home was 54 Melville Street Edinburgh in the west new town of Edinburgh Robert Lorimer designed the new chapel for the Knights of the Thistle in St Giles Cathedral in 1911. The Scottish National War Memorial at Edinburgh Castle in 1919. He was knighted for his work in 1927 and died in 1929. Gladstone Memorial Coates Crescent Gardens Edinburgh New Town West Attractions Gladstone's Memorial Gladstone's Memorial stands in Coates Crescent of Shandwick Place at the west end of Princes Street at the tram stop. The memorial shows William Gladstone surrounded by women. The monument was constructed in 1917 and originally stood in St Andrew Square and was moved to Coates Crescent Gardens in 1955. Gladstone was a very important public figure in Britain. Born in 1809 Gladstone served as Prime Minister for four terms, being appointed to the post on 1868, 1880, 1886, and 1892. Gladstone founded a church foundation to help women prostitutes. He was affectionately known as the 'Grand Old Man' by his many supporters and as 'God's Only Mistake' by his enemies, especially Benjamin Disraeli, the then leader of the Conservative Party. West Coates West Coates Edinburgh New Town West Donaldson's (Hospital) School Donaldson's School was designed by William Playfair for James Donaldson in (1851), a wealth bookseller and printer that lived in Edinburgh in 1830. James Donaldson on his death left his fortune to build and maintain a building for the deaf and dumb of Edinburgh. The students in the school were both hearing and non hearing and this lead to the hearing students learning sign language and these students went on to teach sign language around the world. The School moved from Edinburgh to its present location in Linlithgow in 2007. Haymarket Haymarket Edinburgh New Town West Heart of Midlothian Memorial Clock The clock is in honoured memory of the players and members of the Heart of Midlothian football Club who lost their lives in the world wars and it was first unveiled in 1922 to commemorate the men that fell in the first world war. On the front panel of the memorial; ERECTED BY THE HEART OF MIDLOTHIAN FOOTBALL CLUB TO THE MEMORY OF THEIR PLAYERS AND MEMBERS WHO FELL IN THE GREAT WAR 1914 - 1919 On the back panel of the memorial; IN HONOURED MEMORY OF THE PLAYERS AND MEMBERS OF THE HEART OF MIDLOTHIAN FOOTBALL CLUB WHO LOST THEIR LIVES IN THE SECOND WORLD WAR 1939-1945 Haymarket Railway Station Haymarket the main Junction on the way out of Edinburgh to the west and Edinburgh International Airport. Under a mile from Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle. Haymarket Rail Station opened in 1842 as the main station to join Edinburgh and Glasgow. The rail line was then extended to join Canal Street Station now Waverley Station in 1846. The line went under ground before emerging at the side of the Edinburgh Castle Rock and what is now Princes Street Gardens Atholl Crescent Edinburgh New Town West Edinburgh School of Cookery Louisa Stevenson with Christian Guthrie Wright founded the Edinburgh School of Cookery in 1875 in Atholl Crescent Edinburgh. This school developed into The Queen Margaret University. The plaque reads; The Edinburgh College of domestic science founded in 1875 as the Edinburgh school of cookery and domestic economy. Moved to No.3 Atholl crescent in 1891. By 1970, when the college moved to Clermiston it occupied Nos. 1-8. No. 12 Nos 15-17 and was known around the world as “Atholl Crescent”. Atholl Crescent Rothesay Terrace Edinburgh New Town West Sir John Ritchie Findlay Rothesay Terrace (No3) is a Building of architectural renown, was owned by Sir John Ritchie Findlay (1st Baronet) owner of the Scotsman Newspaper. The House from the rear overlooks Well House on the water of Leith in Dean Village, which he had built for his staff. Rothesay Terrace Rothesay House School Rothesay Terrace (No1) was a private school (Rothesay House School) that occupied the premises from 1985 - 1957 Rothesay Place Edinburgh Dame Margaret Sinclair Rothesay Place Kinnear and Peddie, Terrace housing comprising unified façade of 3-storey and basement townhouses. At No. 16 Rothesay Place was where Dame Margaret Sinclair of Dunbeath lived. A true Jacobite lady of Scotland. Born in St John’s Street in the Canongate (a street of the wealthy) in 1794. Returning from a Ball her sedan chair bearers hats blew of and they chased after their hats leaving Margaret alone. Two gentlemen passing (The Duke of Argyll and Sir John Clerk of Penicuik) picked up the chair and took Margaret home. The days of chivalry long gone from Edinburgh. She married in 1821 to Sir John Sinclair of Barrock who became Sir John Sinclair Bart of Dunbeath (7th Baronet) in 1842 and lived with him in Caithness till his death in 1873, and then moved back to Edinburgh. When she died she was interned in the Chapel Royal at Holyrood in 1879. The last lady to be interned there. Rothesay Place Edinburgh Walker Street Walker Street Edinburgh New Town West Attractions Elsie Maud Inglis Elsie Inglis Graduated from Edinburgh University in 1899 after Sophia Jex-Blake who she had an ongoing rivalry with, as Sophia Jex Blake had been the leader of the Edinburgh group to get entry for women to Edinburgh medical School. Elsie Inglis Had a medical practice in the High Street Edinburgh and at 8 Walker Street. She founded the second woman’s Hospital in Edinburgh. She help found the Scottish Women’s Hospitals for Foreign Services in 1914 and took part in aiding soldiers in Serbia and Russia. She was returning home from war in 1917 when she died of cancer which she had known she had before the start of the war. Rutland Street Rutland Street Edinburgh New Town West Dr John Brown John Brown FRSE FRCPE born in Biggar in 1810 and he died at home in 1882 in Rutland Street Edinburgh. He was a renowned Scottish physician and essayist he was known for his essays and papers on art, medical history and biography. Lord Lister Lord Joseph Lister Charlotte Square Lord Lister lived with his father- in- law James Syme at No. 9 Charlotte Square for 7 years 1870-1877, Lord Lister also lived at 11 Rutland Street Edinburgh from 1856 -1860 Born in Upton Essex he introduced carbolic acid to sterilise surgical instruments. Carbolic Acid is now known as Phenol. Sir Walter Scott Sir Walter Scott's Last Main residence in Edinburgh was number 6 Shandwick Place the main house is by way of No.8 where he lived from 1828 -1830 prior to his moved to Abbotsford House in The Scottish Borders Lieutenant General Frances Dundas Francis Dundas died 15/1/1824 at 11 Shandwick Place Edinburgh Mary Dunlop Street Entertainer Mary Dunlop A character of Edinburgh. A street entertainer over 3 decades 1940s, 50s, and 1960s Never to be missed her white pony named Smokey, pulling a cart with a mechanical barrel organ around the streets. Of the West End, Rutland Square with her capuchin monkey on the organ. Nicknamed by the Edinburgh children "Monkey Mary" She had special place she was always seen on a Saturday morning outside St Giles. Everyone new she was around due to her unique mechanical jingles. On her Death in 1966 the Organ was put on display in the Museum of Childhood. Horse and Rider Sculpture by E Bridge The Horse and Rider Sculpture stands on a bridge in Edinburgh George IV Bridge Edinburgh
- Edinburgh Quad Bike Experience | Information | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh Quad bike experience Edinburgh Quad biking weekend activities Quad bike racing, Quad bike Trekking, over types of and and hills EDINBURGH QUAD BIKE EXPERIENCE Quad Bike Trekking, Off Road, In Groups, Racing Back to Activities Quad Biking Hopetoun Clays Pinetum Woods Nr Newton Village South Queensferry EH52 6QD West Lothian Scotland 0131 331 9940 Quad Biking MadMax Adventures Activity Centre Whitemoss Farm, Kirknewton, EH27 8DA West Lothian Scotland 0131 333 0066 Quad Biking Winton House B6355 Pencaitland EH34 5AT East Lothian Scotland 01875 340 222 enquiries@wintonhouse.co.uk Quad Biking Fastrax Circuit Inzievar Farm Oakley KY12 8EZ Fife Scotland 01383 880300 Quad Biking Quadsport UK Ltd 17a Main Street Bathgate EH48 3SA West Lothian Scotland 01501 750100 Quad Nation Dundas Castle South Queensferry Edinburgh EH29 9EN Scotland 0131 319 2039 Quad Biking Battlezone Dolphinton Burn Woodlands South Queensferry Edinburgh EH29 9EN 0131 2973157
- Portobello Edinburgh | All About Edinburgh
Portobello East of Edinburgh with its golden sand beach and prommenade and famous residents, Harry Lauder, Ned Barnie oldest channel swimmer, Hugh Millar, Ann Hopkirk, Dr Hugh DewarPottery Kilns, Coade Stones Figgate park, Portobello Edinburgh Places to visit historic site famous people and the Beach. Portobello Edinburgh The name Portobello comes from Portobello Hut, which was a hut built by a sailor called George Hamilton in 1742. He named it after a battle he fought in Panama in 1739, the Battle of Puerto Bello. The Portobello Hut was used as a stop for travellers on the coaches between Edinburgh and London, as it was the only building in the area The image below shows Portobello and the Beach under the Balmoral Tower Clock Walter Scott Monument looking East to West. PORTOBELLO BEACH Portobello was created as a burgh by Act of Parliament in 1833, and became a part of Edinburgh in 1896. It is a beach resort located three miles (5 km) to the east of the city centre of Edinburgh, with a promenade that stretches from Seafield on the outskirts of Leith to Joppa just outside Musselburgh. Portobello was at its peak as a resort in the late 19th century. Now Portobello Sailing and Rowing Club use the area for sailing kayaking and surfing. On the good summer days the beach is crowded with sun lovers and people out for a stroll along the promenade. Portobello grew from a small coastal village called Figgate (The estuary to the Figgate Burn still flows into the Forth) where smugglers and highwaymen would hideout. The name Portobello has been recorded in manuscripts as far back as 1739. PORTOBELLO POTTERIES A pottery factory has stood near the Figgate Burn in Portobello since 1770. These are the only surviving kilns of their kind in Scotland from a once thriving industry that goes back over 200 years. The pottery closed in 1972 and moved to a new factory in Crieff Perthshire. Hugh Miller Portobello High Street Edinburgh Hugh Miller born in 1802 became a stone mason but known as a geologist and palaeontologist and writer (The Old Red Sandstone and My Schools and Schoolmasters two of his publications) spent his last years in his house in Tower Street Portobello where he shot himself in 1856. His funeral was one of the largest Edinburgh had witnessed. He was the editor of a religious newspaper and a leading figure which led to the founding of the Free Church of Scotland. A great man and a true Scot. Plaque in High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh and Portobello High Street. There is a bust of Hugh Miller in the Hall of Heroes in the Wallace Monument, Stirling. SIR HARRY LAUDER Harry Lauder was born in the cottage 3 Bridge Street Portobello in 1870. Sir Harry Lauder was a world wide musical entertainer and three of his most famous songs were Roamin in the Gloamin, I Love a Lassie and Keep right on to the end of the road. Sir Harry Lauder was the highest paid entertainer of his time and the first UK artist to sell one million records. COADE PILLARS The pillars were originally in the garden of Argyle House Hope Lane Portobello. They are constructed from moulded blocks of Coade stone named after Eleanor Coade the inventor of the artificial stone which she called Litho di pyra (which is an ancient Greek word for stone twice fired). Her work can be seen all over the world and is on some of the most prominent buildings in the UK including Buckingham Palace. She died at the age of 98. Coade Stone is no longer used as Portland Cement was invented and the factory ceased trading in 1833. The Pillars can be seen in a garden of Portobello Promenade at the foot of John Street. WILLIAM (NED) BARNIE ENGLISH CHANNEL SWIMMER William Barnie known as Ned was the first Scotsman to swim the English Channel. At the age of 54 Ned was also the oldest person to swim the English Channel a record he held for 28 years. He was also the first to swim the English Channel in both directions (on the 28 July 1951 from England to France and on the 16 August 1951 from France to England) within the same year. The house where he lived has a plaque in his honour and can be found in Straiton Place, Portobello. SCIENCE TEACHER 1898 - 1983 ROCK COTTAGE Joppa was a major supplier of salt from the 1600s to 1953 when the last salter closed for business. Salt was extracted from the sea by evaporation on large metal pans heating the salt water which evaporated to leave the salt. The oldest House in the area Rock Cottage which was used by the salt workers. It was originally a lodge owned by a wealth landowner in the 1500s. THE TOWER The Tower at Portobello was built in 1785 by Mr James Cunningham from stones window sills and lintels from properties that were knocked down to allow the South Bridge in Edinburgh to be built. Sir William Russell Flint | Portobello Edinburgh Sir William Russell Flint died in December 1969, aged 89. He was born in Edinburgh on 4th April 1880 and went to school at Daniel Stewart’s College Edinburgh. He lived in Portobello with his parents for 14 years and became a worldwide known name and highly rated watercolourist. He also was the president of the Royal Society of Painters in Watercolours and was Knighted in 1947. Dr Hugh Dewar Memorial Fountain Abercorn Park Portobello Edinburgh Dr Hugh Dewar’s patient Jane Anderson, died the day after Dr Hugh Dewar made a house call to deliver Jane’s first child in February 1914. Dr Dewar while trying to remove the placenta and umbilical cord noticed a ‘cord’ which he proceeded to pull. It was found that he had in fact removed the mucous membrane lining of the large intestine. No one can understand how a medically qualified person could make such a mistake but he did and Jane Anderson died in agony aged 25 the next day. Dr Dewar was arrested but on the day before his trial for culpable homicide, he took his own life. The inscription on the fountain reads; “This fountain has been erected in remembrance of Dr Hugh Dewar, Portobello, by his grateful patients and numerous friends, who deplore the loss in the prime of manhood of a kind friend and skilful and beloved physician. His quiet charity was known to the needy. 1866-1914” John Gibson Lockhart Bellfield Street Portobello John Gibson Lockhart (1794 – 1854) Son in Law of Sir Walter Scott and author of Sir Walter Scott’s Biography. John Lockhart was a writer and editor. He lived in the house at 37 Bellfield Street Portobello in 1827 for a short time and was regularly visited by Sir Walter Scott. Helen Hopekirk Portobello Edinburgh Helen Hopekirk was born on 20 May 1856, Portobello High Street. Helen Hopekirk attended the Edinburgh Institution for the Education of Young Ladies at 23 Charlotte Square. Helen Hopekirk was best known as a pianist and teacher during her lifetime. Old Town Hall Portobello Edinburgh Portobello was a separate burgh from Edinburgh until in 1896 it was incorporated into Edinburgh by Act of Parliament. The first town hall was built in 1863, and is presently a Baptist Church 187 Portobello High Street, The second town hall opened in 1878 on Portobello High Street, which is now the Police Station. A new town hall opened in 1914 which is still in use. FIGGATE BURN POND AND PICNIC PARK The Figgate Burn is where the original name of the area now known as Portobello was named. The history books show a place called Figgate Muir a moor land with a beach front, with a burn (The Figgate Burn) running from the Duddingston Loch. Figgate was first mentioned in 1296 William Wallace met with troops on the Figgate Whins. The Figgate Burn Figgate Pond and Park Figgate Pond and Picnic Park The Figgate park has a pond with a walkway over part of it and it is a great way to see the wild life that is in the park. There are also carved sculptures that can be found. A place for a day out, with plenty of space for the children and with picnic tables provided, bring your lunch and have a picnic. Things to see around the Figgate Park, Wildlife, flowers and carvings Next - Niddrie - Newcraighall
- Inveresk Village | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Inveresk Attractions East Lothian Inveresk Village on the outskirts of Musselburgh in East Lothian was where a significant Roman Fort (Town) stood circa 120 A.D. or before. The settlement stretched over a mile to the east. This is also where the English camped (Led by Somerset) before the massacre of the Scots at Pinkie Cleuch in 1547. It was also used by Cromwell in 1650 when he was on a rampage burning Scotland. The latest famous person in the village was Maggie Dickson whose' fame was living after being hanged in Edinburgh for child murder circa 1720. Which changed the law from being Hanged, to being hanged till dead. St. Michael’s Parish Church East Lothian St. Michael’s Parish is an iconic building and can be seen from miles around. A church has been on this site from near the end of the Roman Empire in 550 AD. A new church was built in the early 16th century which was occupied by Cromwell, Somerset and Bonnie Prince Charlie. The St Michael's Church that can be seen now was built 1806. There are many things to see around the church and graveyard. Inveresk Lodge East Lothian The Lodge was built circa 1680 and the original gardens laid out circa 1850. Inveresk Lodge was the home of the Wedderburns for almost 150 years during that period Andrew Skiving of Athelstaneford. He was staying in Inveresk Lodge as a guest when he suddenly died in 1819. Archibald was a portrait painter and has a number of paintings in the National Gallery in Edinburgh. Inveresk Lodge Gardens East Lothian The gardens extend over 13 acres and were laid out from 1850 -1920 including a woodland of Elm, Oak, lime and a old Yew tree. There are many shrubs and flowers with a glasshouse and ponds. Te sundial dates from the mid 17th century. Inveresk War Memorial Cross East Lothian The Inveresk War Memorial stand at the gates to Inveresk parish church and is dedicated to First World War (1914-1918) , Second World War (1939-1945) On the Cross Shaft the inscription reads; IN MEMORY | THOSE | FROM THIS | PARISH WHO | GAVE THEIR | LIVES IN THE | GREAT WAR | 1914 - 1918 AND WHO BY | DYING LIVE | THIS STONE | IS RAISED On the Base th e inscription reads: REMEMBER THEM ALSO | WHO SUFFERED DEATH | 1939-1945 Inveresk House East Lothian Inveresk House is the oldest property in Inveresk built in 1597 and has believed to have had many famous guests over the centuries, Duke of Somerset, Oliver Cromwell, Bonnie Prince Charlie and Sir Walter Scott. Oliver Cromwell had his Headquarters in Inveresk House in 1650. Shepherd House Inveresk East Lothian The Shepherd House can be located on the corner of Crookston Road. Shepherd House was built circa 1690 and has one of the most famous gardens in Britain. The Fraser’s family's home since 1957. Sir Charles Fraser Honorary Member of The Merchant Company and a very successful businessman (Retired). Lady Ann Fraser is a Botanical Artist and amazing garden designer. Also see Humbie Village for more on the Frasers. Duke of Somerset Plaque Inveresk East Lothian Lewisvale Park stone pillar, forming part of a stone wall. After the death of Henry VIII in January 1547 the Duke of Somerset (Edward Seymour) became Protector of England until Prince Edward, later to be Edward VI came of age. Somerset lead an army and a fleet of ships into Scotland which resulted in the Battle of Pinkie Cleuch. Esk Grove Estate was his camp after the battle. Duke of Somerset's Encampment Inveresk East Lothian The wall stone inscribed with the words "The Protector Duke of Somerset Encamped here 9th September 1547". Lewisvale Park Inveresk East Lothian Lewisvale Park public park situated on the Inveresk road opposite Musselburgh High School. The land was purchased in 1910 by the Brown brothers from the Esk Grove Estate and they had a park and gardens laid. Which were opened in 1911 in memory of their deceased father. The Park was named Lewisvale after the Brown’s childhood home. The park has a secure children’s play area a bandstand, gardens and an aviary which is in a walled garden area. It also has a cricket Square and Tennis courts. There is a Lamppost which was erected in honour of Jessie Burns Musselburgh’s only Lady Provost,1974. The Post was moved to this position in 2000. The Bandstand was erected circa 1909 and was made in the Lion Foundry in Kirkintilloch “No 33 bandstand,1909”. Lady Lord Provost Musselburgh Lewisvale Park public park at the west entrance is a Lamppost which was erected in honour of Jessie Burns Musselburgh’s only Lady Provost,1974. The Post was moved to this position in 2000. Cricket Pitch & Pavilion Lewisvale Park Inveresk East Lothian The cricket Oval was part of the Roman ‘Colonia’ (civilian settlement) that grew around the Roman Fort of Inveresk. This settlement was the largest in Northern Britain. circa 140 AD. There has been many Roman artefacts found around this area. The most significant two alters (large stone slabs) with inscriptions and raised icons were found when the new cricket pavilion was being built. Also a grave stone of a cavalryman named Crescens. Next - Markle
- Saughton Rose Gardens | Saughton Park | All About Edinburgh
Saughton Rose Gardens open all year round with glass house and bandstand, sundial, statues, walled garden, topiary, Picnic area, Skateboard park, adventure play area open spaces for ball games and an athletics track this is a place to have hours of fun or become a horticulturalist. Saughton Rose Garden Winter Garden Edinburgh In the glasshouse you can see the bust of Gandhi, a statue the Universal Mother (Sakthi) and tropical plants. The gardens are a tranquil place to sit and contemplate. With award winning Rose Gardens, paths, walled gardens and ornamental flowers, Bandstand, picnic area, statues and not forgetting the glass houses where the winter garden gives the area flowers all year round. Saughton Gardens are a horticulturists dream. Saughton Rose Gardens Not just rose gardens but all types of plants bushes trees flowers hedges and Topiary. Saughton Park Bandstand This Bandstand is the original which was restored in 2018. The bandstand is one of five that are left worldwide. The bandstand was made in the Lion Foundry in Kirkintilloch Scotland in 1909. It had to be removed from its oroginal position in the park in 1987 due to its condition. Now restored it has been returned to the park from where it first was used to give many local people hours a music. Saughton Park Sundial The sundial in Saughton Gardens dates from the 17th century, and was restored in 1899. The inscriptions read; Inscriptions : Around second step from ground: BLESS | YE | THE | LORD | PRAISE | HIM | AND | MAGNIFY | HIM | FOR | EVER | O | YE | LIGHT | AND | DARKNESS On the four sides of the base the inscription reads: ALAS | HOW FLEETING | WHILE THOU | LOOKEST I FLY | GO ABOUT YOUR BUSINESS. 1899 MARK BUT | THE HOURS OF | SUNSHINE | GOD IS LIGHT HOW QUICKLY | THE PLEASANT DAYS | HAVE PASSED AWAY | TO DIE IS TO LIVE AS A SHADOW | SO DOTH LIFE | PASS | TAK TENT O TIME ERE TIME BE TINT Saughton Park Statues Mahatma Ghandi Bust Inscription reads : Mahatma Ghandi 1869-1948 Apostle of Non Violence This Statue was unveiled by His Excellency Inder Kumar Gujral Prime Minister of India in the presence of The Right Honourable Eric Milligan / Lord Provost of Edinburgh on 25 October 1997. Saughton Park Statues The Goddess Sakthi The plaque in front of statue reads: Presentation to the City of Edinburgh by Professor and Mrs N Rangabashyam goddess Sakthi or Ammam who may be regarded as the universal mother, and who in Hindu mythology is Parvathi, wife of lord Shiva Saughton Park Statues 'Dreamer of Peace' Statue by Kaivalya Torpy inspired by Sri Chinmoy Poet, Philosopher and Man of Peace. Founder of the 'Oneness Home Peace Run' There is also a mile long track in the Meadows Edinburgh Saughton Rose Gardens Picnic Area Saughton Rose Gardens Simba Memorial Garden and Tree Saughton Park & Skateboarding Area Saughton Park at one time had a 9 hole golf course, paddling pool and playing fields. In 1908 the Scottish National Exhibition was held in the park and in 1984 the Winter Garden was opened. In 2010 the largest outdoor skateboard park in Scotland was opened and later a children’s play area. There are also football pitches and a sports stadium with a running track. Don’t miss the shoe tree where the boarders hang their shoes for luck. Colinton Area
- Frederick Street | Shops & Businesses | All About Edinburgh
Frederick Street Edinburgh runs south - north from Princes Street to Queen Street with all city centre requirements, transport, pubs, restaurants, cafes, accommodation, shops and easy walking no need for a car. Edinburgh has plenty Taxis Buses and a tram. Frederick Street Edinburgh Businesses - Shops- Pubs - Restaurants -Cafes Frederick Street from princes Street in the south to Howe Street in the north is named after George III's father Frederick. Frederick street is west of Hanover street. Advertise Your Business Here More Details Advertise Your Business Here More Details Advertise Your Business Here More Details Frederick Street History and Attractions Edinburgh Frederick Street Radley 3 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2EY City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Frederick Street Pizza Hut 5 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2EY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 8187 Edinburgh Frederick Street Size Shoes 5a Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2EY City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Frederick Street Shuh 6 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2HB City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Frederick Street Hotel Chocolat 7 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2EY City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Frederick Street Thornton's 9 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2EY City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Frederick Street Dune 10 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2HB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4965 Edinburgh Frederick Street Xile 12 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2HB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3390 Edinburgh Frederick Street Berlitz Edinburgh 14 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2HB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 7198 Edinburgh Frederick Street North Face 16 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2HB City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Frederick Street Boozy Cow The 17 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2EY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 6055 Edinburgh Frederick Street Argento Jewellery 18 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2HB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 2202511 Edinburgh Frederick Street Skipton Building Society 19 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2EY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 2715 Edinburgh Frederick Street L' Occitane Perfumery 20 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2HB City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Frederick Street J Barbour & Sons Ltd 21 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2NE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1681 Edinburgh Frederick Street Mc Colls Edinburgh Fs 22 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2JR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 8888 Edinburgh Frederick Street Laing Watch Gallery 25 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2ND City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 243 9930 Edinburgh Frederick Street Macintyre's of Edinburgh, 26 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2JR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 4252 Edinburgh Frederick Street Chiquito 29 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2ND City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4579 Edinburgh Frederick Street Charlie Miller 39 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1141 Edinburgh Frederick Street Post Office 40 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EX City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Frederick Street Cairngorm Coffee 41a Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EP City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Frederick Street Eteaket Tea Room 41 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 2982 Edinburgh Frederick Street Frederick House Hotel 42 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1999 Edinburgh Frederick Street Café Rouge 43 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4515 Edinburgh Frederick Street Pure by Catriona Garforth 45 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EP City of Edinburgh Scotland 07531 120315 Edinburgh Frederick Street J Gibson Associates Ltd 45 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1ES City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 260 9994 Edinburgh Frederick Street Global School of English 45 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 2333 Edinburgh Frederick Street Hamilton School of English 45 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 440 3301 Edinburgh Frederick Street Ede and Ravenscroft Tailor 46 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EX City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Frederick Street Brora Ltd 48 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 6404 Edinburgh Frederick Street Beketex Bride 48a Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EX City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Frederick Street Queens Arms 49 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1045 Edinburgh Frederick Street Cote French Restaurant 51 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1LH City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Frederick Street Toni & Guy 52 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1LN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 5425 Edinburgh Frederick Street Angus Gordon 53 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1LH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1978 Edinburgh Frederick Street La P’tite Folie 61 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1LH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 7893 Edinburgh Frederick Street Eteaket 41a Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 2982 Edinburgh Frederick Street Lola Lo Bar 43a Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 2224 Edinburgh Frederick Street Berketex Bride Edinburgh 48a Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 7070 Edinburgh Frederick Street Balfour and Manson Solicitors 54 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1LS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 200 1200 Edinburgh Frederick Street Rick's Hotel and Bar 55a Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1LH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 622 7800 Edinburgh Frederick Street Belted 57A Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1HL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 2382 Edinburgh Frederick Street Wee Restaurant 61 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1HL City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Frederick Street Fingers Piano Bar 61a Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1HL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3026 Edinburgh Frederick Street Randolph School Of English 63 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1HL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131226 5004 Next - Castle Street & Castle Street North
- Castle Esplanade | Attractions | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh Castle Esplanade, where the Edinburgh Military Tattoo take place annually. With plaques, statues and memorials Look out from the Edinburgh Castle Esplanade and see the city to the north south east and west. The Free views of the city of Edinburgh. EDINBURGH CASTLE E SPLANADE Edinburgh Castle Esplanade has many memorial plaques and a statues looking at Edinburgh Castle from the Esplanade to the left is the Royal Palace where the flag pole with flag ar situated.and above the main entrance at the drawbridge id the Half Moon Battery to the right is the Forewell Battery and Mills Mount. Edinburgh Castle Esplanade Garrison Shield and Motto Edinburgh Castle Esplanade is the area for four weeks of the year the world famous Edinburgh Military Tattoo his held. During the months of July and August is the main showcase of Edinburgh. This is when The Fringe Festival and Edinburgh International Festival takes place and tourists from around the world can be seen in their 100s of thousands. Looking around the Esplanade you can see memorials, statues and plaques to the regiments and heroes of the past battles. There is one obelisk, one statue, 3 plaques, 3 crosses, a wall fountain and the Ewart grave. Below are photographs of all the things to see before entering Edinburgh Castle where there are many more things to see. St Margret's Chapel 3 Museums, Mons Meg a giant canon and the firing of the One O'clock Gun every day except Sunday. The motto “nemo me impune la cessit” no one attacks me with without punishment. Edinburgh Castle Esplanade Castle Drawbridge The drawbridge at the entrance to Edinburgh Castle spanning the moat which helped protect the Castle from intruders. On guard on either side of the drawbridge are statues, on the right is William Wallace and the left is Robert the Bruce when facing the castle. Above the gateway, can be seen the coat of arms and motto of the Regiment of Scotland, who were based at Edinburgh Castle until the amalgamation of the Scottish regiments in 2006. Edinburgh Castle Esplanade Robert the Bruce Statue King Robert the Bruce. On the left side facing the Edinburgh Castle drawbridge stands Robert I, known as Robert the Bruce, became King of Scots on 25 March 1306. At the Battle of Bannockburn in June 1314, he led a Scottish army and defeated the English army lead by Edward II. To confirm an independent Scottish monarchy in 1320 a letter was sent to Pope John XXII declaring that Robert the Bruce was their rightful monarch. This letter was the 'Declaration of Arbroath' and it asserted the antiquity of the Scottish people and their monarchy. In 1324 Robert the Bruce received papal recognition as king of an independent Scotland. Robert died on 7 June 1329. He was buried in Dunfermline Abbey and his heart is buried in Melrose Abbey. Edinburgh Castle Esplanade William Wallace Statue Sir William Wallace (Braveheart). On the right side facing the Edinburgh Castle drawbridge stands two mighty warriors. William Wallace was born circa 1270. At Stirling Bridge 1297 he defeated the English army. Around 1298 he was knighted and appointed 'guardian of the kingdom'. On the 22 July 1298, the Scottish army lead by Wallace battled the English arms of Edward I near Falkirk, the Scots were heavily defeated but Wallace escaped. Edward hated Wallace and put a price on his head. Wallace was finally captured on the 3 August 1305 in Robroyston, north of Glasgow and transported to London. He was charged and tried with treason, which he denied, saying he had never sworn allegiance to the English king. His execution was held on 23 August 1305, where he was hung, drawn and quartered. His head was placed on London Bridge, and his limbs displayed in Newcastle, Berwick, Stirling and Perth. Edinburgh Castle Esplanade Sir William Alexander Plaque First Baron of Nova Scotia In 1621, King James granted Sir William Alexander the land in North America between New England and Newfoundland, as Nova Scotia ("New Scotland"). To promote the settlement of Nova Scotia, the Baronetage of Nova Scotia was created in 1624. Scots Law, baronets had to "take sasine" by symbolically receiving the earth and stone of the land of which they were baronet. To make this possible, as Nova Scotia was so far away, the King declared that sasine could be taken either in Nova Scotia or, "at the Castle of Edinburgh as the most eminent and principal place of Scotland". Edinburgh Castle Esplanade The King’s Own Scottish Borderers Memorial On the 19th March 1689 David Leslie Earl of Leven gathered a regiment of soldiers within two hours to defend the City of Edinburgh. For Leven’s regiment’s gallantry in defending Edinburgh and later at the Battle of Killiecrankie with a resounding victory for the Jacobite’s lead by James VII of Scotland and II of England, the magistrates of Edinburgh gave the unique right of recruiting by the beat of the drum, marching through the Edinburgh streets with drums beating and flags flying and bayonets fixed. The regiment was later named The King’s Own Scottish Borderers. Edinburgh Castle Esplanade Field Marshal His Royal Highness Frederick Duke of York The Duke of York (1763-1827) was appointed Commander in Chief of the British Army in 1795. His parents King George III and his mother Queen Charlotte were instrumental in shaping Edinburgh’s New Town with streets named by and after them. King George III was the first King of Great Britain and Ireland. King George III King George III (George William Frederick) was born 4 June 1738 in London. He became king in October 1760 at 22. His wife was Charlotte and they had 16 children, 10 sons and 6 daughters and were married for 57 years. He died in January 1820 at 81. During his reign he had Edinburgh’s new town built and purchased Buckingham House in London in 1762 which later became Buckingham Palace. Edinburgh Castle Esplanade Scottish Horse Memorial Cross This is a memorial to the Scottish Horse Regiment who were killed during the South African War of 1901-2. Edinburgh Castle Esplanade The Runic Cross The Runic Cross was erected in 1862 for the memory of the officers, non-commissioned officers and private soldiers of the 78 highland regiment who died at the suppression of the First Relief of Lucknow in 1857 during the Indian Mutiny (1857-59). Eight men of the 78th Highland Regiment were awarded the Victoria Cross and the regiment also received the Victoria Cross during the campaign. The troubles started due to the bullets being covered with pig fat which they had to bite. Putting pork of any kind in their mouths is against the religious beliefs of Hindus and Muslims. Edinburgh Castle Esplanade 72nd Highlanders The Obelisk was erected in memory of the officers, Non-commissioned officers and men of the Duke of Albany's 72nd highlanders who died in the Afghan campaigns of 1878, 1879 and 1880. Edinburgh Castle Esplanade Ensign Ewart Memorial and Grave SERGEANT CHARLES EWART Battle of Waterloo 18th June 1815. In 1938 the actual remains of Ensign Ewart were re-interred on Edinburgh Castle’s Esplanade. (Pictured) battle date, the eagle standard of the French Army and memorial stone. Look behind the memorial stone and you can see his head stone. Edinburgh Castle Esplanade For the whole story of his heroic act click on this link SERGEANT CHARLES EWART Edinburgh Castle Esplanade The Princess Louise’s Argyllshire Highlanders. Fountain Princess Louise Her Royal Highness, Marchioness of Lorne, 9th Duchess of Argyll and Queen Victoria’s daughter. She had many honours bestowed upon her. The 91st Argyllshire Regiment name changed in her honour to 91st (Princess Louise's Argyllshire Highlanders) Regiment of Foot. She had a strong connection with Canada and a province (Alberta), a mountain (Alberta) and villages of Caroline and Alberta named after her. The inscription on the memorial Drinking Fountain above the trough reads; THE PRINCESS LOUISE’S ARGYLLSHIRE HIGHLANDERS. Edinburgh Castle Esplanade Gordon Highlanders This memorial is to the officers and men of the Gordon Highlanders who lost their lives in the South African war from 1899 to 1902 in Natal, Transvaal, Cape Colony and The Orange Free State. The Gordon Highlanders was an army infantry regiment from 1881 until 1994. The regiment took its name from the Clan Gordon and recruited principally from Aberdeen and the North-East of Scotland. Edinburgh Castle Esplanade 78th Highlanders Memorial Celtic Cross The Celtic Cross was erected in memory of Colonel Kenneth Douglas Mackenzie a member of the 92nd Highlanders for forty-two years. He died on duty in 1873. Next - Ensign Ewart Battle Story
- Edinburgh Football Teams Clubs | Information | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh Football Teams Clubs, male female, young, old, five a side, bubble, footgolf and the league teams from 7 yrs & up parks,pitches,contact, teams, clubs EDINBURGH FOOTBALL PITCHES FOOTBALL INDOOR and OUTDOOR 5 -A- SIDE FOOTBALL PITCHES SPORTS Football Power League 5 - A - side Bankhead Drive Edinburgh EH11 4EQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 442 2000 Football Saughton Pavilion Football Pitches 82 Stevenson Drive Edinburgh EH11 3BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 444 0422 Football St Marks Park Football Pitches Warriston Road Edinburgh EH7 4HN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 529 7061 Football Power League Football Pitches 10 West Bank Street Edinburgh EH15 1DR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 669 2266 Football Power League 5 - A -Side Westbank Street Edinburgh EH15 1DR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 669 2266 Football Hibernian Football Club Stadium 12 Albion Road Edinburgh EH7 5QG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 661 2159 Football Power League Bubble Football Bankhead Drive Edinburgh EH11 4EQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 442 2000 Football Power League Football Pitches 66 Bankhead Drive Edinburgh EH11 4EQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 442 2000 Football City Football Ground London Road Edinburgh EH7 6AE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9628 Football Tynecastle Football Stadium Mcleod Street Edinburgh EH11 2NL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0871 663 1874 Football Saughton Pavilion Athletics 82 Stevenson Drive Edinburgh EH11 3BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 444 0422 Football Power League Bubble Football Westbank Street Edinburgh EH15 1DR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 669 2266




