top of page

All About Edinburgh

Search Results

Search this site

403 results found with an empty search

  • Waverley Bridge | Shops & Businesses | All About Edinburgh

    Edinburgh Waverley rail station is surrounded in shops and businesses with entrances - exits in Princes Street, Waverley Bridge, Market Street, Calton Road and car parking in New Street. You will fiind Hotels Hostels and apartments and all types of shops and businesses. Waverley Train Station Area Shops Edinburgh The streets that surround Edinburgh's main Rail Stations (Waverley) are Market Street, East Market Street, Waverley Bridge New Street, Calton Road and the East end of Princes Street. There is also the Waverley Mall which can be access from the rail Station. Waterloo Place is also at the east end of Princes Street. Waverley Bridge History and Attractions Waverley Bridge Shops Edinburgh the Waverley Bridge has two entrances to the main Waverley rail station. It also has entrance to the Waverley Mall. The present Waverley Bridge was built in 1896. The Waverley Mall has over 30 shops including coffee shops and fast food outlets and restaurants. Waverley Bridge Shops Waverley Rail Station Entrance The Booking Office Bar Restaurant 17 Waverley Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1BQ 0131 558 1003 Travel Hub Transport Information Centre 31 Waverley Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1BQ Information on all Transport Local and National Bus and Rail Tours Taxis All About Edinburgh All Transport Info New Look Waverley Mall Waverley Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1BQ Tartan House of Scotland Waverley Mall Waverley Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1BQ Sainsburys Supermarket Waverley Mall Waverley Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1BQ The Whisky Shop Unit 23 Waverley Mall Waverley Bridge Edinburgh Gleneagles of Scotland Waverley Mall Waverley Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1BQ The Body Shop Waverley Mall Waverley Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1BQ Starbucks Coffee Waverley Mall Waverley Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1BQ Eurochange Waverley Mall Waverley Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1BQ Market Street Shops MARKET STREET Shops, restaurants, pubs, hotels, backpackers, Cafes, Galleries, Waverley Train Station Entrance to Waverley Station from Market Street Market Street History and Attractions Advertise Here More Details City Art Centre Café Market street Edinburgh EH1 1DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 529 3993 City Art Centre Market street Edinburgh EH1 1DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 529 3993 St Christopher's Inns Market street Edinburgh EH1 1DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1446 Jake's Place Market street Edinburgh EH1 1DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1446 Market Street Hotel (Hilton) Carlton Hotel Collection Market Street Edinburgh EH1 1DE City of Edinburgh Scotland Waverley Rail Station Entrance Motel One Market Street Edinburgh EH1 1BL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 0730 Belushi’s Bar Hotel Market Street Edinburgh EH1 1DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1446 Doric Restaurant and Bar Market Street Edinburgh EH1 1HE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1084 Hebrides Market street Edinburgh EH1 1DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 4213 Belushi's Bar 34 Market Street Edinburgh EH1 1DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1446 St Christopher's Inns Backpacker's Hostel Market street Edinburgh EH1 1DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1446 The Edinburgh Dungeon Market street Edinburgh EH1 1DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 240 1001 Advertise Here More Details The Fruit Market Gallery Market street Edinburgh EH1 1DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 2383 Waverley Train Station Market street Edinburgh EH1 1DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0345 758 5960 Scotsman Spa and Health Club Market street Edinburgh EH1 1DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 622 3800 Brewhemia Market street Edinburgh EH1 1DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 9560 Champagne Bar and Restaurant Nor Loft Market Street Edinburgh EH1 1DE City of Edinburgh Scotland East Market Street Edinburgh Shops, restaurants, pubs, hotels, Cafes, Galleries, Waverley Train Station East Market Street Shops Advertise Here More Details Construction Company Union Project 1 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FR City of Edinburgh Scotland 01475 741 088 Café and Sandwich Bar Gannet and Guga 4 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FR City of Edinburgh Scotland Nail Workshop Buff Concept 6 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FR City of Edinburgh Scotland Tempo Tea Bar 7 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FR City of Edinburgh Scotland Your RGB Events Ltd 9 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FR City of Edinburgh Scotland Advertise Here More Details Juice Bar Juice Warrior 11 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FR City of Edinburgh Scotland Art Gallery Mudo Art 13 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FR City of Edinburgh Scotland Café Baba Budan Coffee 15 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FR City of Edinburgh Scotland Fashion 6 Yard Box 17 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 6411 Gift Shop Elk and Wolf 19 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FR City of Edinburgh Scotland Advertise Here More Details Makeup Studio Lauran Gollan Makeup Studio 21 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FS City of Edinburgh Scotland Hotel Premier Inn 37 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0333 321 3104 Café Costa Coffee 37 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FR City of Edinburgh Scotland Restaurant Hub Brasserie 37 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8FR City of Edinburgh Scotland Ranoq Indian Restaurant Cranston Street Edinburgh EH8 City of Edinburgh Scotland New Street Edinburgh New Street Edinburgh Car Park Waverley Station Public Car Park undercover New Street Edinburgh EH8 8BH Car Rental Enterprise Car Rental Level 2 Car Park New Street Edinburgh EH8 8BH Calton Road Calton Road Edinburgh Bar - Restaurant accommodation - attractions Waverley Rail Station Entrance Bunker Bar 2-6 Calton Road Edinburgh EH8 8DL Waterloo Place Waterloo Place Edinburgh Bar - Restaurant accommodation - attractions Travelodge Waterloo 3 Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3BG 0871 984 6445 Waterloo Bar 7 Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3BG 0131 556 7597 Hong Fu Noodle Bar 7a Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3BG 0131 556 7597 Town & City Newsagents 9 Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH13BG 0131-556 7581 Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 27 Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3BH 0131 441 0440 Howies 29 Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3BQ 0131 556 5766 Calton Hill Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3BQ Waterloo P lace Edinburgh Bar - Restaurant accommodation - attractions Old Calton Burial Ground Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3EG The Gym Group 2 Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3EG 0330 056 3918 Amazon Development Centre 6 Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3EG Rabbies Trail burners Ltd 6 Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3EG 0131 226 3133 Factory Gyms 6 Waterloo place Edinburgh EH1 3EG 0131 557 2242 Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy Service Limited. The Stamp Office, 10 Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3EG Princes Street Suite 16 Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3EG 0131 558 1600 Next - Broughton Area Shops

  • Humbie Village | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh

    Humbie Attractions East Lothian Humbie Village East Lothian Humbie Village is in the furthest corner of East Lothian adjoining Midlothian and Berwickshire. Humbie is a small rural village with the Humbie Hub at its heart. The village shop, post office and café are the centre of the village life. Humbie was part of the Barony of Keith and was once called Keith Hundeby. Humbie Do'cot East Lothian Humbie Do'cot is near the entrance to Humbie kirk. The Do'cot may have stood here for hundreds of years before renovations took place. Humbie Parish Church East Lothian Humbie Parish Church was rebuilt in 1800 but a church has stood on this spot for over a hundred and fifty years prior to that date. The 'chancel' was added in 1932. Memorials in the churchyard include a heraldic tablet of the Borthwicks of Whitburgh of the early 17th century. The now cottage to the right of the arch hedge once was stables. Further down the road at the Kirk Bridge is where you can enter the Church woods where you have a choice of paths to follow in a loop. Broun Family Aisle Humbie East Lothian The village war memorial dates from 1921 and was designed by Sir Robert Lorimer. The plaque reads; This Aisle has been erected by Archibald Broun of Johnstounburn. " Lieu of the burial place of his family within the church. Which in deference to the feeling of the parishioners. He has now closed A.D. MDCCCLXIV (1864). And I heard a voice from heaven saying unto me Blessed are the dead.Which die in the lord. Revelations XIV. Humbie Village Church Graveyard East Lothian Grave Stones memorials Humbie Churchyard Shield with cross Borthwick on inscriptions, The grave stone which looks like being part of an ancient wall has inscriptions of James Skirven and his wife and children dates from 1644. Shillinghill, Children's Village. East Lothian Built in 1905 to provide holiday accommodation for disabled children, the village takes the form of a series of arts and crafts style cottages, several of which were named after their generous sponsors, built next to a school-house and dining hall with its impressive bell-tower. The village has been redeveloped and extended as private housing from c.2008. Humbie War Memorial East Lothian The village war memorial dates from 1921 and was designed by Sir Robert Lorimer. Humbie Kirk Bridge East Lothian The Humbie Kirk Bridge has been in existence since 1645 when it Was first built. This being the main route from the borders towns to Edinburgh from the south west. Keith Marischal House Keith Marischal House can be found close to Humbie, built in 1589 by the Keith family. William Keith being the Grand Marischal of Scotland was to serve as custodian of the Royal Regalia of Scotland, and to protect the king's person when attending parliament. Sir Charles Annand Fraser KCVO WS DL FRSE East Lothian Sir Charles Annand Fraser was born in Humbie East Lothian in 1928. His father was son of the Very Revd John Fraser MBE. The Moderator of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland in 1958-59. Educated to a high standard he became a solicitor and a partner in one of Edinburgh's to legal firms. From there he was successful throughout his life. His wife Lady Ann Fraser is a well renowned botanical artist. They have developed one of the top gardens (Shepherd House) in the UK at there home in Inveresk East Lothian. The lands of Keith and Humbie were held by Simon Fraser of Keith. Fraser signed a charter in 1191, which could be the first written records of the area. Information Board Humbie Woods East Lothian Next - Inveresk

  • Places to Stay | Accommodation | All About Edinburgh

    Places to stay in Edinburgh. Accommodation of all kinds Glamping, Airbnb, Hotels, Apartments (Self Catering and Serviced), Guest Houses, Hotels, backpackers, Caravan and Camp sites there is something for everyone and all budgets for a one night stay or longer. Places to Stay Accommodation for Edinburgh Visitors Golfers and Tourists There are many types of accommodation, from the five star Hotel to hostels and backpackers residence. What you can find here are contact details for a selection of Edinburgh St Andrews Dundee East Lothian Hotels and Guest Houses Edinburgh is well known as a destination worldwide, with visitors all year round. This website has been translated into a number of languages to help the none English speaking visitors. Guest Houses BnB's Hotels Edinburgh Hotels St Andrews Hotels Near Golf Courses

  • Contact Enquiries | Transfers Tours | All About Edinburgh

    Contact Enquiries All About Edinburgh and Travel Tour Scotland for tours, golf transport - Airport Transfers All About Edinburgh Walking Tours and Day Tours of Scotland. Mobile +44 7539 867 587 On WhatsApp all calls free include International calls Enquiry / Contact All About Edinburgh Travel Tour Scotland Looking for information on airport transfers, Golf Transfers Tours of all kinds Enquire below Tours or Transfers Complete your details and we will respond to your request. or call + 44 (0) 7539867587 or Email: allaboutedinburgh@gmail.com Address: All About Edinburgh 93 South Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1HN For publications Souvenirs + Cashmere + Clothing Walking Tours + Transfers Email: allaboutedinburgh@gmail.com First name* Last name* Email* Phone* Enquiry Options* Golf Transfer (s) Airport Transfer(s) Tours around Scotland City Walking Tour Other Pick Up Date* Number of Passengers* Number of Bags* Additional Information* Submit

  • Lothian Attractions | Activities | All About Edinburgh

    Edinburgh is the center of the Lothians. See the attractions around Scotland's Capital City with centuries of History. This is a destination for all the family. Golf, History, Attractions and Activities for all. Lothian Attractions East Lothian Midlothian West Lothian The Lothian area consists of East Lothian, Midlothian, West Lothian and the Edinburgh Area This section looks at the East, Mid and West Lothian towns and villages. East Lothian Towns and Villages East Lothian Tours East Lothian has a border with Edinburgh, Midlothian and Scottish Borders. There are many great place to visit. On the coast you have many historic places, battle sites, beaches, castles, estates and golf courses. Also there are many visitor attractions which include Glenkinchie Distillery, Belhaven Brewery, NB Gin Distillery, Forth Island Boat Trips, Gosford House, Archerfield Walled Garden, Prestonpans Battle site, Fox Lake Water Park, Willow Walk and Fairy Wood, Dirleton Castle and Gardens, National Flight Museum, The Scottish Seabird and Wild Life Centre New Hailes House and East Links Family Park Midlothian Attractions Midlothian has many great place to visit. Here are just a few, large historic houses, Dalkeith Country Park, Vogrie Park, Rosslyn Chapel and Castle, National Mining Museum, Pentland Hills National Park, Crichton Castle, Roslin Glen, Arniston House, Dalkeith Museum, Stewarts Brewery, Dalhousie Castle, Hillend Artificial Boarding and Ski Slop, Falconry Scotland and golf courses. West Lothian Attractions West Lothian is a place of many historic sites. Linlithgow Palace, birth place of Mary Queen of Scots, Blackness Castle a Castle stronghold where many Films have been made, The House of Binns a Mansion House built in 1624. St Michael's Church, Linlithgow Museum, Cairnpapple Hill Neolithic site, Torphichen Preceptory, Scottish Korean War Memorial, Midhope Castle, Hopetoun House and Museum of Scottish Shale Oil Industry. Tour Enquiries

  • Robert Burns | Attractions | All About Edinburgh

    Robert Burns Story in Writers' Museum with artifacts, busts, statues and manuscripts pictures, and personal items about the great poet. From Ayrshire his birthplace to Dumfries where he died. Robert Burns The Ploughman Poet Robert Burns Robert Burns was the eldest of seven children. He travelled the world and had many love interests and had 9 children. Robert Burns is buried in St. Michael’s Churchyard, Dumfries, Scotland. Robert Burns was born in Alloway 25 January 1759. At 7 years he moved with parents in 1766 to Mount Oliphant farm, southeast of Alloway. He began to write poetry in 1774. In 1777 he moved to Lochlea, near Tarbolton, where they stayed until 1784 when they moved to the Mossgiel farm at Mauchline Ayrshire. Mauchline is where he met Jean Armour who he married in 1788. The story of a poet begins with a rejected job in Jamaica as he sold copies of his poems known as the Kilmarnock edition which sold out through undoubted help from his fellow masons. He then received an invite to Edinburgh from Henry Mackenzie and Dr Blacklock in 1786 after they had read Robert Burns poems. Robert Burns First Edinburgh Lodging On arrival in Edinburgh the actual close Robert Burns Lived in was called Baxter’s Close, but has not survived. This was where Dr Thomas Blacklock (The Blind Poet) brought Burns from Ayrshire. The first edition of his poems being reviewed by Henry Mackenzie. Blacklock and Mackenzie were taken by his poems, the invitation was sent for him to come to Edinburgh. Robert Burns came to Edinburgh and was introduced to the wealthy and prominent merchants of Edinburgh which began his success as a poet. Burns Supper and Poems His birthday is celebrated every year worldwide when people come together at a Burns Supper. A dinner to celebrate the life of Robert Burns. Traditionally Haggis neeps and tatties are the menu with drams of whisky. Finally before the food is served a ceremony is performed called “Address to a Haggis” and a Grace is also performed. Robert Burns Sir Walter Scott 1786 The one and only time Robert Burns and Sir Walter Scott met was in the house of Professor Adam Ferguson in Sciennes House Place, also present were Adam Smith, Dugald Stewart and Joseph Black. This was a meeting place of the hierarchy of Edinburgh society. Inscription reads, “This tablet commemorates | The meeting | of Robert Burns and | Sir Walter Scott | which took place here | In the winter of 1786”. Robert Burns Writers’ Museum The Writer’s Museum is dedicated to the lives and work of Scotland’s great literary figures. Rare collections include early editions, manuscripts, portraits, photographs, and personal belongings of Robert Burns, Sir Walter Scott and Robert Louis Stevenson. Writers' Museum Robert Burns Makars’ Court Slab Robert Burns 1759 – 1796 Poet Born in Alloway Inscription on slab; Man to Man the world o’er shall brithers be for a’ that Robert Burns Monument Regent Road Edinburgh Robert Burns was born on Monday 25 January 1759 and died on Thursday 21st July 1796. The Robert Burns Memorial can be found opposite the Royal High School in Regent Road. Robert Burns died at the age of 37 and is the nation’s most famous poet. The Mauchlin Stane Robert Burns click on image for more details Robert Burns Grassmarket The White Hart Inn Edinburgh was established in 1516, The White Hart Inn is one of the oldest and most historic pubs in Edinburgh. Past visitors have included the poets Robert Burns and William Wordsworth. Robert Burns Masonic Lodge Freemasons Robert Burns was initiated an Entered Apprentice in Lodge St. David, Tarbolton on 4 July 1781. He became a master mason on lst October 1781 of the same lodge. He was made an honorary member of Lodge Kilmarnock Kilwinning St. John October 1786. Inaugurated Poet Laureate Lodge Canongate Kilwinning, 1 March 1787. Robert Burns was exalted a companion in the Holy Royal Arch Degree in May 1787 and Knights Templar at St. Ebbe's Lodge, Eyemouth. On the 24th June 1788 he joined Lodge St. Andrew, In Dumfries. In 1792, he was elected Senior Warden.

  • Cowgate Attractions Edinburgh | All About Edinburgh

    Cowgate Grassmarket was the road in to Edinburgh from the east. This was the way the farmers brought their stock to market Now it is the hub of pubs, restaurants, accommodation, within walking distance of all the attractions, historic sites and Royal Mile attractions and Edinburgh Castle. Cowgate Attractions Edinburgh Cowgate Grassmarket Edinburgh was the road in to Edinburgh from the east. previously the south Loch before drained circa 1300. Named after the gate in the Flodden wall that surrounded Edinburgh. The Gate was the way the farmers brought their stock (Cow's) to market. Through the Cow gate of the City Wall (Flodden Wall). Now it is the hub of pubs, restaurants, clubs accommodation, within walking distance of all the attractions, historic sites, Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. There are some places that still exist in the Cowgate from Edinburgh's History; The Magdalen Chapel, James Connolly birthplace, St Patrick's Church, One of George Heriot's Schools, Tailors Hall, The first bridge to spa the Cowgate (South Bridge), the vaults created by the bridge that once were used as shops The history of Edinburgh is vast and I have hopefully given a good account of it on this site. Cowgate Port + St Mary’s Port St Mary’s Port across the Pleasance from Heriot’s Hospital to a building at the head of Back of Canongate South (now Holyrood Road). Cowgate Port across the Cowgate from Heriot’s Hospital to buildings on North of Cowgate. Heriot’s Hospital (School) Cowgate Edinburgh Heriot’s Hospital (School) a building on the corner of the Cowgate and Pleasance in Edinburgh. It was built after the wall and Cowgate Port were removed for development and it is possible the stone from the wall and port were used to build the Hospital (school). This building is still standing originally built between 1838, the clock face has a date of 1840 and on the front of the building is an inscription George Heriot's | Hospital | School | 1838. This one of seven schools opened by the governors of Heriot’s school to give free education to poor children throughout the city. St Patrick's R.C. Cowgate Edinburgh St Patrick’s Edinburgh was built in 1774. It was first Presbyterian then Episcopal and finally in 1856 it opened as a Catholic church to serve the growing Irish community in Edinburgh. There were reported to be 2600 attend the first service. In 1869 Canon Edward Hannan established the Catholic Young Men’s Society (CYMS) and started a football team to help the Irish Catholic community from Edinburgh’s Southside mix with the larger Edinburgh Catholic community. It was decided after many different names were rejected that the football club should be named Hibernian after the Roman name for Ireland. The Hibernian Football Club have been a part of Edinburgh sporting history ever since. Cardinal Beaton Cowgate Edinburgh Cardinal David Beaton’s Palace At the south west corner of Blackfriars Wynd and the boundary of the Cowgate stood the Archbishops Palace at the foot of Toddrick’s Wynd. Built in an L shape with a Porte-cochere giving access to a courtyard at the back. James (Bethune) Beaton lived here. The next resident was David Beaton nephew of James the Archbishop. The next to be resident was the High School of Edinburgh (Grammar Skule) prior to the new school building being completed where Blackfriars Monastery once stood. In February 1567 Mary Queen of Scots with her court went to the Cardinals Palace, where she had super before returning to Holyrood. This was the night Bothwell and accomplices made their way down Toddrick’s Wynd to Kirk o Field. The night Lord Darnley was murdered at Kirk o Field. The Palace and grounds were divided into lots where mostly poor Irish immigrants lived. Cardinal Beaton Plaque Cowgate Edinburgh David Beaton was born in 1494 and died in 1546. On 20 December 1539 David Beaton was made a Cardinal by Pope Paul III. Cardinal Beaton became a regent for Mary Queen of Scots and appointed himself the Chancellor of Scotland in 1543. He was disliked by most but was in favour with the royals of both France and Britain. He had many mistresses and 20 illegitimate children. He was arrested for fraud and the cause of the rough wooing, Henry the VIII invasion of Scotland. First Printing Press Black Knight This plaque donates the place where the first printing of a book in Scotland took place. The printers Walter Chepman and Andrew Myllar printed the first book in 1508 after being granted a licence by King (James IV) a year earlier. The printers stood in the Cowgate at the foot of Blackfriars Street near to Cardinal Beaton’s House. Robert Louis Stevenson Plaque Cowgate Edinburgh “To look over the South Bridge and see the Cowgate below full of crying hawkers, is to view one rank of society from mother in a twinkling of an eye”. Robert Louis Stevenson 1878. The plaque can be found on the wall of the Rowantree a Venue in the Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NN near the South Bridge. South Bridge Bridges over Cowgate The South Bridge was constructed circa 1788, due to the ground and valleys the bridge was constructed with 19 arches. The arch that spans the Cowgate is the only one that is visible. Underground can be seen vaults that were made due to the bridge. The vaults were occupied by tradesmen, shops and taverns the first underground shopping mall. Due to the conditions of the vaults with lack of light and air, the vaults were soon abandoned. Cowgate to St Mary’s Street Cowgate to George IV Bridge Underground Vaults The South Bridge was constructed circa 1788 due to the ground and valleys the bridge was constructed with 19 arches. The arch that spans the Cowgate is the only one that is visible. Underground can be seen vaults that were made due to the bridge. The vaults were occupied by tradesmen, shops and taverns the first underground shopping mall. This did not last due to the conditions of the vaults with lack of light and air, the vaults were soon abandoned. It is not known when the vaults complex was closed down, with some suggesting as early as c. 1835 and others as late as c. 1875. Written records regarding the vaults during their slum use are virtually non-existent. There are areas within The Caves that are the building remains of what was Adam Square, which was demolished to make way for the erection of the South Bridge. The original terracotta floor tiles, a hearth stone, and what remains of a fireplace, were found in one of the rooms within The Caves whilst it was being excavated. In another room, within The Caves, a well was found. South Bridge started in 1785, when the 19 arches to support it were built. The vaults, chambers and tunnels underneath it were walled in and sectioned off the descending levels. By 1788, when South Bridge was officially opened, approximately 120 vaults, or rooms, were ready. Blair Street Blair Street was formed when the South Bridge was being built in 1768. To give access to the Cowgate from the High Street, at that time Marlin’s Wynd and Pebble's Wynd were demolished in 1785 with the west side of Niddry Street. Blair Street as Hunter Square was named after Lord Provost Sir James Hunter Blair. Marlin’s (Merlyoune) Wynd Marlin’s Wynd is below the level of the present streets as Mary King’s Close is. Marlin’s Wynd was to the west of the Tron Kirk and ran down to the Cowgate. Named after John Merlyoune (Marlin), who was in charge of paving the High Street. He requested in memory of his work that he would be buried underneath the paving stones. He was buried at the head of the Wynd (which was named after him) by paving stones in the shape of a grave. Other writings mention that the High Street was paved in 1532 by two brothers John and Bartoulme Foliot. Also a John Merlyoune was first to pave Marlin's Wynd 1542. Free Cowgate Church (Stramash) Church built in 1859, was built by Edinburgh architect Patrick Wilson. The panel above the door reads; 'Erected and endowed from funds bequeathed by William Whyte Edinburgh MDCCCLXI’. Guthrie Street | College Wynd Guthrie Street was built to replace College Wynd and was named after Dr Thomas Guthrie the founder of the first Ragged School in 1841, which can be seen in Ramsay Lane of Castlehill Royal Mile Edinburgh. Guthrie Street is a link between Chambers Street and the Cowgate Edinburgh. There are steps from Chamber Street to Guthrie Street which was previously West College Street before Chamber Street was built. Walter Scott was born in College Wynd which was demolished and replaced with modern housing. The plaque can be seen on the wall at the corner of Guthrie Street and Chambers Street is to signify the location of the house where Sir Walter Scott was born in August 1771. Walter Scott's Birthplace Stone Guthrie Street Edinburgh Old Fishmarket Close Swift’s Wynd Carmichael's Close The Fish market was one of the casualties of the Great 1824 fire as it was destroyed. This close was originally known as Swift's Wynd a narrow street joining the Cowgate to High Street, the name recorded as far back as 1539. Alexander Swift owned a cellar at the head of the close and John Swift, a tenement. It then became Carmichael's Close in 1722 after Mr William Carmichael, advocate that lived there with his family. It was later renamed Fishmarket Close due to the fish market that was once active there. George Heriot known as “Jinglin’ Geordie”, the kings Jeweller and the founder of George Heriot’s Hospital (school), also lived in the close. This was also a close that housed the first firefighting appliance. At the foot of the Close on the west side was a property that was provided by the Council for the executioner. This gave the executioner easy access to both the Lawnmarket and Grassmarket place of Execution by hanging or beheading. The house also provided a prison room for the condemned on the night before their demise. Cowgate Tailors Hall Tailor's Hall Cowgate Edinburgh The Incorporation of Tailors of the Canongate records go back as far as 1438 (National records of Scotland). The incorporation of Tailors purchased land in the Cowgate in 1620. The site was where they built their meeting hall which was completed by the next year. In February 1638 a draft copy of the National Covenant was approved in the Tailor’s Hall with signatures from over 200 clergy. It was changed into a Playhouse, circa 1725 the building purchased 1755 and was extended in 1757 by the Argyle Brewery by the way of an upper floor. The buildings are now a bar and accommodation.. The National Covenant was first signed at Greyfriars churchyard Edinburgh on the 28th of February 1638 before travelling the country for signatures. George IV Bridge Spanning Cowgate Edinburgh The George IV Bridge was completed in 1832 which started from the Lawnmarket and was a continuation of Bank Street and the Mound. Many houses and closes were demolished to make way for the bridges to enable easy connections to south Edinburgh. The offices of the Merchants Company of Edinburgh was where the arch of the George IV Bridge stands now. This was where the first ladies school was established by a gift from Mary Erskine in 1694, known as the Merchant Maiden Hospital. James Connolly Birthplace James Connolly was born in Edinburgh at 107 Cowgate on 5 June 1868. The first time he stood on Irish soil was as a British soldier at the age of fourteen. He was the secretary of the Scottish Socialist Federation in 1892 aged 24. He also founded the Irish Socialist Republican Party whose aims were to secure the national and economic freedom of the Irish people. He started a weekly newspaper, the Workers’ Republic and the first publication was issued in August of 1898. At the age of 46 in 1914 he became Acting General Secretary of Irish Transport and General Workers Union. He formed an Anti-War Committee and as the leader he Committed the Labour movement to oppose recruitment and conscription to the British Army ‘we serve neither King nor Kaiser, but Ireland’. When the Secret military council of the I.R.B. Decided on an armed rising in 1916, Connolly took part in the preparations and in 1916 he had become convinced that a nationalist revolution was the only way to free Ireland from what he saw as imperial and capitalist oppression. He was sentenced to death for his part in the uprising and was executed in Kilmainham Jail Dublin 12 May 1916. Merchants of Edinburgh – Merchant Maidens Hospital Merchant Company of Edinburgh The Merchant Company of Edinburgh was established in 1681. The previous name was the Guidry before it became a society. Their first meeting hall was in the Cowgate Edinburgh and they then moved to Hunter Square before moving to its final home of Hanover Street. The Merchant Company was a watch dog for Edinburgh looking after the concerns and needs of the people. Over time the wealthy would leave their estates to be administered by the Merchant Company by way of a trust. This resulted in with well-judged investments the Merchant Company become the largest land owners in Scotland. The Merchant Company in 1694 with a donation from Mary Erskine a widow, which established Mary Erskine School. With other donations and bequests and trusts, further education facilities were opened, George Watson’s College in 1741, George Watson was an accountant, and merchant banker and the first accountant of the Bank of Scotland, James Gillespie’s High School in 1803, James Gillespie was a local Tobacconist in the High Street Edinburgh and Daniel Stewart held an appointment in the Court of Exchequer, Daniel Stewart’s College in 1855 which is now ESMS (Erskine, Stewart, Melville Schools). John Watson’s School in built in 1828 at 75 Belford Road next to the Dean Cemetery. The Edinburgh Chamber of Commerce was established as an off shoot of the Merchant’s Society of Edinburgh in 1786. Magdalen Chapel Cowgate The Magdalen Chapel was built by Michael Macquhane and his wife Michael died in 1537 and his wife managed the completion of the chapel in 1542. The Magdalen Chapel was a chapel and Hospital for the poor. The Incorporation of Hammermen took over the running of the building in 1547. On the plaque above the door show their initials MM. JR. and the date of Janet Rynd's death 1553. The Chapel was a place of worship and also the guild Hall for the incorporation of Hammermen. The Hammermen were metal workers and tradesmen who became the trustees of the Chapel and attached building a hospital, which is now a hostel. Inside the Chapel is an amazing stain glass window which features the Royal Arms of Scotland, the Arms of Mary of Guise, Mary Queen of Scots. mother Also still in the Chapel is the Deacon of the Hammermen's Guild of Edinburgh chair which was made in 1708. There are many other artefacts from Scottish history on display in the Chapel please arrange a visit as there is much to see. Medical Missionary Society | Livingstone House Edinburgh Medical Missionary Society moved into 39 Cowgate in 1858 which was then owned by the Scottish Reformation Society. The EMMS (Edinburgh Medical Missionary Society and Livingstone Institute) rebuilt in 1877 and operated a dispensary for the local people. The building occupied from the corner of Candlemakers' Row to the Magdalen Chapel. Above the entrance on the corner are 13 carved heads. The building housed a dispensary, waiting rooms, lecture theatre, students' bedrooms (the Livingston Residence), a working men's club and 3 shops. Grapes Frog Plums Knight’s Templar Thistle Acorns English Rose Devil Cowgatehead Free Church The Gothic church was founded in 1861 with money from William Whyte’s will. William Whyte bookseller to the Queen Dowager Adelaide wife of William IV. The stone panel on the tower above the door reads; 'Erected and endowed from funds bequeathed by William Whyte Edinburgh MDCCCLXI Inside Magdalen Chapel

  • Edinburgh Assault Course Over Water | iZone | All About Edinburgh

    Edinburgh Assault Course Over Water stay on the ropes and out of the water great for all ages and group parties Assault Course Over Water Edinburgh This asault course is a combination a balance and strength. Balancing on low rope course over water. This rope challenge has no safety ropes to keep you on just a wet end to your challenge. There are 4 levels from beginner to hard. Can you complete the course to the safety of the tower without having a wet end. great for all the family. Activities Ropes Assault Course Over water CrossFit East Rocks Fox Lake Hedderwick Hill Stables Dunbar EH42 1XF East Lothian Scotland 07834424496

  • Enquiry / Contact | Transfers | Tours | All About Edinburgh

    Enquiry / Contact All About Edinburgh for Tours of Scotland, tours from Edinburgh, golf transport - Airport Transfers, Walking Tours and Day Tours of Scotland. Get the most popular Tours, Highlands, Loch Ness, Glenfinnan bus tours at great prices. Enquiry / Contact All About Edinburgh Travel Tour Scotland Looking for information on Airport transfers or Golf Transfers Tours of all kinds Enquire below Golf Transfers or Airport Transfers Complete your details below and we will respond to your request. or call WhatsApp + 44 (0) 7539867587 or Email: allaboutedinburgh@gmail.com All About Edinburgh 93 South Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1HN For All About Edinburgh publications Souvenirs + Cashmere + Clothing Walking Tours + Transfers Email: allaboutedinburgh@gmail.com Full name* Number of Passengers* Phone* Email* Single choice* Golf Transfer Airport Transfer Other Transfers Walking Tours Bus Tour Pick Up Address* Pick up Date* Pick Up Time* Time : Hours Minutes Destination Address* Further details of your enquiry* Submit

  • Car Parking | Car Parks | All About Edinburgh

    Edinburgh Car Parking all the car parks and places to park from street parking to private car parks There are bays for parking on the streets which are pay to park except on a Sunday when it is free to park and parking is also available on single yellow lines free on Sundays. Edinburgh Car Parking Parking your car in Edinburgh is becoming more and more difficult due to the volume of vehicles in the city streets. There are parking bays in most street which you can park up to 4 hours and the Car parks below longer periods. Parking From 18.30 on Saturday until 12.30 p.m. Sunday is free of charge on the street bays, and parking is also allowed on single yellow lines free of charge during these times. If in doubt about parking on the street side kerb there are signs that inform you of what is allowed in the specific areas. Travel & Transfers Transfers from the Airport, Rail Station or Hotel Luggage Delivery Luxury vehicles Tours Advance Enquiry & Bookings Edinburgh Car Parking Edinburgh Car Parks Radisson Public Car Park Undercover Blackfriar’s Street Edinburgh EH1 1TH Scotland 0131 5579797 Edinburgh Car Parks Euro Car Parks 7 Broughton Road Edinburgh EH7 4EW Scotland 0131 222 7820 Edinburgh Car Parks NCP Public Car Park Multi Story Castle Terrace Edinburgh EH1 2EW Scotland 0345 050 7080 Edinburgh Car Parks St Margaret’s Loch Arthur Seat Car Park free Holyrood Park Dukes Walk Edinburgh EH8 7AT Scotland 0131 668 8600 Edinburgh Car Parks Fountain Park Public Car Park 124 Dundee Street Edinburgh EH11 1AF Scotland 0131 228 9784 Edinburgh Car Parks Omni Centre Public Car Park Q Park Greenside Row Edinburgh EH1 3AN Scotland 0131 558 3518 Enquiries Bookings Prices Edinburgh Car Parking Edinburgh Car Parks Sheraton Public Car Park Undercover Sheraton West Approach Edinburgh EH3 9SU Scotland 0131 229 9131 Edinburgh Car Parks NCP Public Car Park 2 St John's Hill Edinburgh EH8 9UL Scotland 0345 050 7080 Edinburgh Car Parks Easi Park Hermits Croft St Leonard's Street Edinburgh EH8 9SW Scotland 0131 200 2323 Edinburgh Car Parks Travel Lodge 33 St Mary's Street Edinburgh EH1 1TA Scotland 0844 332 1236 Edinburgh Car Parks Calton Hill Car Park Calton Hill Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH7 5BL Scotland 0131 563 6163 Edinburgh Car Parking Edinburgh Car Parks Dynamic Earth Car Park 1 Holyrood Gait Edinburgh EH8 8AS Scotland ‪0131 550 7800 Edinburgh Car Parks RCP Parking Ltd Argyle House King's Stables Lane Edinburgh EH1 2LQ Scotland 01603 620 720 Edinburgh Car Parks Waverley Station Public Car Park Undercover New Street Edinburgh EH8 8BH Scotland 0345 222 4224 Edinburgh Car Parks Ocean Terminal Public Car Park Undercover Ocean Drive Edinburgh EH6 6JJ Scotland 0131 555 8888 Edinburgh Car Parks NCP Car Park Princes Exchange Riego Street Edinburgh EH3 9BL Scotland 08457 21 31 41 Edinburgh Car Parks Scottish Widows Public Car Park Undercover Semple Street Edinburgh EH3 9AU Scotland 0345 050 7080 Edinburgh Airport Car Parks Edinburgh Airport Car Parks EDINBURGH INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT CAR PARKS Edinburgh Airport Car Parks Premiair Airport Parking 49 Eastfield Road Edinburgh EH28 8LS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 297 0777 Edinburgh Airport Car Parks NCP Scotpark Airport Parking 49 Eastfield Road Edinburgh EH28 8LS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0345 050 7080 Edinburgh Airport Car Parks Flying Scot Airport Parking 3 Eastfield Road Edinburgh EH28 8LS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 333 3445 Edinburgh Airport Car Parks Plane Airport Parking Gogar Bridge Road Edinburgh EH12 9DN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0844 770 3040 Edinburgh Airport Car Parks Parking Long Stay Airport Parking Gogar Bridge Road Edinburgh EH12 9DN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 317 1350 EDINBURGH INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT CAR PARKS Edinburgh Airport Car Parks Low Cost Airport Parking Gogar Bridge Road Edinburgh EH12 9DN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 333 0091 Edinburgh Airport Car Parks Park and Fly meet and greet Airport Parking 20 Harvest Road Newbridge EH28 8LH Midlothian Scotland 0800 747 777 Edinburgh Airport Car Parks Maple Manor meet and greet Airport Parking 20 Harvest Road Newbridge EH28 8LH Midlothian Scotland 03 333 222 333 Edinburgh Airport Car Parks Secure Airparks Airport Parking 100 Ingilston Road Edinburgh EH28 8AU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 333 3377 Edinburgh Airport Car Parks Royal Highland Centre Airport Parking Ingilston Road Newbridge EH28 8NB Midlothian Scotland 0131 333 0091 EDINBURGH INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT CAR PARKS Edinburgh Airport Car Parks Meteor Airport Parking Jubilee Road Edinburgh EH12 9DN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0870 060 1001 Edinburgh Airport Car Parks Plane Airport Parking Jubilee Road Edinburgh EH12 9DN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0844 770 3040 Edinburgh Airport Car Parks BCP Airport Parking Lochend Road Newbridge EH29 9EA Midlothian Scotland 0131 549 9781 Edinburgh Airport Car Parks Low Cost Airport Parking 18 Queen Anne Drive Ratho Station EH28 8PL Midlothian Scotland 0131 333 0091 Edinburgh Airport Car Parks Flying Scot Airport Parking 18 Queen Anne Drive Ratho Station EH28 8PL Midlothian Scotland 0131 333 3445 Next - Filling Stations | Motor Fuel

  • Wedding Lingerie | wedding Wear | All About Edinburgh

    Wedding lingerie find the under wear of your choice to thrill your groom on his first night of marriage stockings, garters, basques and more..... Be the best dressed for your wedding and wedding night. Edinburgh Wedding Lingerie Wedding Lingerie|Beautiful bridal Lingerie| Wedding day Underwear Wedding Lingerie can be purchased in most high quality department stores and a number of Bridal Shops Wedding Lingerie Lovebysusie 35 Dean Street Edinburgh EH4 1LN City of Edinburgh Scotland 07765 245768 Wedding Lingerie Pepperberry 17 Multrees Walk Edinburgh EH1 3 City of Edinburgh Scotland

  • Glasgow | Golf Courses | All About Edinburgh

    Glasgow Golf Courses in the largest populated city in Scotland has many golf clubs. Glasgow Golf Club founded in 1787 the worlds 9th oldest club. Glasgow area includes Kilsyth, Kirkintilloch, Cumbernauld and East Kilbride. Glasgow Golf Courses Glasgow is the largest populated city in Scotland. The g post code covers many areas which include Glasgow, kilsyth, Kirkintilloch, Cumbernauld, and East Kilbride Glasgow Golf Club is the 9th oldest in the world, and has two golf courses, a course in Ayrshire at the Gailes and in Glasgow Bearsden. Scotland's Golf Course Map Golf & Airport Transfers Knightswood Golf Course 137a Archerhill Road Glasgow G13 3NJ +44 141 276 0700 Sandyhills Golf Club 223 Sandyhills Road Glasgow G32 9NA +44 141 778 1179 Haggs Castle Golf Club 70 Dumbreck Road Bellahouston Glasgow G41 4SN +44 141 427 1157 Cowglen Golf Club 301 Barrhead Road Glasgow G43 1AU +44 141 649 9401 Pollok Golf Club 90 Barrhead Road Bellahouston Glasgow G43 1BG +44 141 632 1080 Williamwood Golf Club 690 Clarkston Road Clarkston Glasgow G44 3YR +44 141 637 1783 Rouken Glen Golf Course Stewarton Road Glasgow G46 7UZ +44 141 465 1518 Windyhill Golf Club Baljaffray Road Bearsden Glasgow G61 4QQ +44 141 942 2349 Bearsden Golf Club Bearsden Glasgow G61 4BP +44 141 406 1856 Douglas Park Golf Club Bearsden Glasgow G61 2TJ +44 141 942 0985 Glasgow Golf Club Killermont Avenue Bearsden Glasgow G61 2TW +44 141 942 2011 The Bishopbriggs Golf Club Brackenbrae Road Bishopbriggs Glasgow G64 2DX +44 141 772 8938 Littlehill Golf Course Auchinairn Road Bishopbriggs Glasgow G64 1UT +44 141 276 0704 Kilsyth Lennox Golf Club Tak-Ma-Doon Road Kilsyth North Lanarkshire G65 0RS 01236 824115 Hayston Golf Club Campsie Road Kirkintilloch Glasgow G66 1RN +44 141 775 0723 Kirkintilloch Golf Club Campsie Road Kirkintilloch Glasgow G66 1RN +44 141 776 1256 Footgolf Cumbernauld Palacerigg Road Cumbernauld G67 3HU +44 7871 936148 Palacerigg Golf Club Palacerigg Country Park Cumbernauld G67 3HU +44 1236 734969 Dullatur Golf Club 1a Glen Douglas Drive Cumbernauld Glasgow G68 0DW +44 1236 723230 Crow Wood Golf Club Garnkirk House Cumbernauld Road Chryston Glasgow G69 9JF +44 141 779 4954 Cambuslang Golf Club 30 Westburn Drive Cambuslang Glasgow G72 7NA +44 141 641 3130 Cathkin Braes Golf Club Cathkin Road Rutherglen Glasgow G73 4SE +44 141 634 6605 East Kilbride Golf Club Chapelside Road East Kilbride Glasgow G74 4PH +44 1355 581800 Langlands Golf Club Langlands Road East Kilbride Glasgow G75 9DW +44 1355 224685 Bonnyton Golf Club Kirkton Moor Road Eaglesham Glasgow G76 0QA +44 1355 303030 Cathcart Castle Golf Club Mearns Road Clarkston Glasgow G76 7YL +44 141 638 9449 Mearns Castle Golf Academy Waterfoot Road Glasgow G77 5RR +44 141 644 8200 Fereneze Golf Club Fereneze Avenue Barrhead Glasgow G78 1HJ +44 141 881 1519 Caldwell Golf Club Lochlibo Road Glasgow G78 4AU +44 1505 850366 Clydebank & District Golf Club Glasgow Road Hardgate Clydebank G81 5QY +44 1389 383831 Dalmuir Municipal Golf Course 2 Overtoun Drive Clydebank G81 3RE +44 141 952 6372

  • Writers' Museum | Royal Mile | All About Edinburgh

    Explore The Writers' Museum attraction in Lady Stair's House off the Lawnmarket, Royal Mile Edinburgh. It covers the lives of Robert Burns, Sir Walter Scott and Robert Louis Stevenson with many artifacts used throughout their lives. With free entry don't miss this family attraction. Writers Museum Royal Mile Edinburgh Free Entry Attraction Lady Stair's House Lawnmarket Royal Mile Edinburgh The Writers’ Museum is housed in Lady Stair’s House which was built in 1622. This was originally called Lady Gray’s Close the widow of Lord William Gray who was the wealthiest merchant of the time. After his death the house was sold to the Earl of Stair and the house was renamed after his wife on his death Lady Stair’s House. Explore the rich literary history of Edinburgh at the Writers' Museum, located in the enchanting Lady Stair's House on the Lawnmarket Royal Mile. This captivating attraction celebrates the lives and works of Scotland's most celebrated writers, including Robert Burns, Sir Walter Scott, and Robert Louis Stevenson. Dive into engaging exhibits and discover the stories behind their timeless contributions to literature. A visit here is a must for any book lover or history enthusiast! The Writer’s Museum is dedicated to the lives and work of Scotland’s great literary figures. Rare collections include early editions, manuscripts, portraits, photographs, and personal belongings of Robert Burns, Sir Walter Scott and Robert Louis Stevenson. The Writers' Museum is on two floors with rooms dedicated to each of the famous authors, writers, poets. On the main floor on entry there is busts of the three Robert Burns, Robert Louis Stevenson and Sir Walter Scott. There is a replica of the Scott Monument and many documents, pictures, books and personal items of the three. The Writers' Museum Robert Louis Stevenson Room The Writers' Museum Robert Burns Room The Writers' Museum The Writers' museum is a memorial to the three famous writers who had ties to both Edinburgh and Scotland. Robert Burns Robert Burns was born in Ayrshire on the 25 January 1759 and died in Dumfries on the 21 July 1796 where he is buried in the church close to where he lived. Sir Walter Scott Sir Walter Scott was born in Edinburgh on the 15 August 1771 and died on the 21 September 1832 and is buried in Dryburgh Abbey near his home Abbotsford in the Scottish Borders. Robert Louis Stevenson Robert Louis Stevenson was born in Edinburgh on the 13 November 1850 and died on 3 December 1894 and buried on Mount Vaea, Upolu, Western Samoa. Next | Back to Lawnmarket

  • Bureau de exchange | Currancy Exchanges | All About Edinburgh

    Need to change your cash to Euros, Dollars or other currancy? Holiday money, visitors looking for Sterling Edinburgh Bureau de exchanges & currency exchanges are all listed here address and contact detail around Edinburgh. Edinburgh Bureau De Change (Edinburgh Currency Exchange) Looking to change your Euros Dollars or other currency to the British pound or get your holiday money Here are the Edinburgh outlets to Help Edinburgh Bureau De Change Bureau De Change TUI Bureau de Change Unit 14 Cameron Toll Shopping Centre Edinburgh EH16 5PB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0845 0713688 Bureau De Change Sainsbury Blackhall 185 Craigleith Road Edinburgh EH4 2EB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 0704 Bureau De Change The Xchange Business Ltd 11 Glenfinlas Street Edinburgh EH3 6AQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0800 9531384 Bureau De Change No1 Currency 207 High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1PE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 0080 Bureau De Change TUI Bureaux de Change Kinnaird Retail Park Edinburgh EH15 3RD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0844 5614657 Bureau De Change Marks & Spencer Unit 6 Kinnaird Retail Park Edinburgh EH15 3RD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 669 1707 Bureau De Change Sainsbury Cameron Toll 6 Lady Road Edinburgh EH16 5PB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 666 5200 Edinburgh Bureau De Change Bureau De Change Sainsbury Unit 9-10 Moray Park Edinburgh EH7 5TS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 656 9377 Bureau De Change Digital & Money 55 Nicolson Street Edinburgh EH8 9BZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 662 9411 Bureau De Change TUI Bureau de Change Unit 20a Ocean Terminal Edinburgh EH6 6JJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0845 0713807 Bureau De Change Eurochange Waverley Mall Edinburgh EH1 1BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 285 6365 Bureau De Change M & S 54 Princes Street Edinburgh EH2 2DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 01312252301 Tesco Travel Money Corstorphine Extra Meadow Place Road Edinburgh EH12 7UQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0345 677 9193 Bureau De Change Cash Converters 368 Leith Walk Edinburgh EH7 4PE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 554 2266 Edinburgh Bureau De Change Bureau De Change No1 Currency 34-35 Queensferry Street Edinburgh EH2 4QS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 9400 Bureau De Change Cash Converters 21 South Clerk Street Edinburgh EH8 9JD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 662 8200 Bureau De Change TUI Bureau de Change 38 Gyle shopping Mall South Gyle Broadway Edinburgh EH12 9JT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0845 0713764 Bureau De Change Euroc hange Gyle shopping Mall South Gyle Broadway Edinburgh EH12 9JT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 285 6363 Bureau De Change M & S South Gyle Shopping Centre South Gyle Broadway Edinburgh EH12 9JT City of Edinburgh Scotland 01313171333 Bureau De Change ICE Edinburgh Airport Jubilee Road Edinburgh EH12 9DN City of Edinburgh Scotland 020 3437 0749 Bureau De Change ICE Platform 1 Waverley Railway Station Edinburgh EH1 1BB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 1387 Bureau De Change Sainsbury Murrayfield 39 Westfield Road Edinburgh EH11 2QW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 347 8560 Western Union

  • Edinburgh Champagne or Wine Tasting | Actvities | All About Edinburgh

    How many times have you picked a bottle of wine or champagne of the shelf in a shop to get home, taste it and send it to the sink. Well why not take a wine tasting experience to find out more about the tastes of wines and the one to pick that you will enjoy. Find the wines at under £10. Edinburgh Champagne - Wine Tasting How many times have you picked a bottle of wine or champagne of the shelf in a shop to get home taste it and send it to the sink. Well why not take a wine tasting experience to find out more about the tastes of wines and the one to pick that you will enjoy. This does not mean paying over the odds for a bottle of wine. There are many wines under £10 that are wonderful. Its knowing which one to select. Advertise your business here Wine & Champagne Tasting Wine Unearthed Apex Grassmarket Hotel 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS Scotland 0345 2998652 Advertise your business here Wine & Champagne Tasting Adams Suite The Crowne Plaza Hotel 18 Royal Terrace Edinburgh EH7 5AQ Scotland 0131 603 3865 Advertise your business here Wine & Champagne Tasting Hotel du Vin 11 Bristo Place Edinburgh EH1 1EZ. Scotland 0131 603 3865 Wine & Champagne Tasting Winton House Winton House Estate Pencaitland EH34 5AT East Lothian Scotland 01875 340 222 Back to Activities

  • Midlothian | Golf Courses | All About Edinburgh

    The Midlothian golf courses are all parkland and have many twist and turns. All are very challenging with club houses that cater good food and the 19th hole beverage friendly and welcoming. Glencorse, Broomieknowe, Newbattle, Melville, Kingsacre, Vogrie Park all open to public. Midlothian Golf Courses The Midlothian golf courses are parkland courses and are very testing. There are 9 hole courses which are very enjoyable if you do not have time for 18 holes. There are also a number of driving ranges all are open to none members. Glencorse Golf Course Milton Bridge Penicuik EH26 0RD Midlothian Scotland 01968 677177 The Course and More Broomieknowe Golf Course 36 Golf Course Road Bonnyrigg EH19 2HZ Midlothian Scotland 0131 663 9317 The Course and More Newbattle Golf Course Abbey Road Dalkeith EH22 3AD Midlothian Scotland 0131 660 1631 The Course and More Scotland's Golf Course Map Golf & Airport Transfers Melville Golf Centre (9 hole) Melville Dykes Road Lasswade EH18 1AN Midlothian Scotland 0131 663 8038 The Course and More Whitehill House Golf Course Whitehill House 2 Carnethie Street Rosewell Midlothian EH24 9AS Scotland 0131 440 0594 The Course and More Kingsacre Golf Course Melville Mains Lasswade EH18 1AU Midlothian Scotland 0131 663 3456 The Course and More West Lothian Golf Courses

  • Leith Shore | Edinburgh Suburb | All About Edinburgh

    Leith was once a thriving sea port with many whisky bonds and a seperate town from Edinburgh. Leith since 1920 is part of Edinburgh. Many attractions date from the 15th to 19th centuries. withh shore side restaurants and cafes visit leith for a gret time. Leith Shore Edinburgh Attractions In 1827 Leith became a Burgh as Edinburgh was, this lasted for a short time as in 1920 Edinburgh took over. Leith was first mentioned in history in 1143 when King David I granted the monks lands at ‘Inverlet’ He also had a harbour built at the Shore for personal use. Leith has been a very important area due to its position on the forth and closeness to Edinburgh. The port of Leith has been attached by Spanish, French, English and American ships over the years and eventually taken by Edinburgh in 1920. Take a trip to the redeveloped area of the commercial quayside just over the bridge at the Shore, where you will find many types of open air restaurants and just a short stroll away from the Royal Yacht Britannia and the indoor shopping mall Ocean Terminal. On a Sunday there is an outdoor market. In 1813 a Mr William Crawford opened a small biscuit Shop on the Shore Leith eventually merging with McVities circa 1960. King’s Landing Shore Leith Edinburgh Attractions The King’s Landing is the historic occasion of George the IV becoming the first monarch to stand on Scottish shores since Charles II in 1651. It came about by an invitation from Sir Walter Scott on a suggestion by Henry Dundas, (a very powerful politician at the time). The King’s Landing was at the Shore of Leith a port just outside Edinburgh on Thursday 15th August 1822 The plaques can be seen on the Shore on where he set foot on the shore and the other on the wall opposite the plaque. The Wall Plaque reads; OPPOSITE THIS SPOT KING GEORGE IV LANDED | ON 15th AUGUST 1822. AN HISTORIC VISIT | ARRANGED MAINLY BY SIR WALTER SCOTT | FOR THE BICENTENARY OF WHOSE BIRTH | THIS PLAQUE WAS ERECTED | LEITH CIVIC TRUST August 1971 King's Landing The Signal Tower Shore Leith Edinburgh Attractions The Signal Tower built in 1685 had sails of a windmill. The stone tower you can see today was originally higher by at least two further floors. The battlements were built during the Napoleonic war when the tower became the signal tower relaying flag messages to incoming ships The Sailor’s Home Shore Leith The Sailors Home built in 1883 was accommodation for sailors whose ships were in port. Look for the angel above the door an emblem for the seaman’s mission, now a luxury hotel. The Memorial to merchant seamen can be seen in front of the building. Merchant Seamen’s Memorial Tower Shore Leith The Memorial takes the form of a 5.5 metre sandstone column featuring seafaring scenes in bronze relief. It is possible to see navigators with charts, a ship’s cook, stokers, engineers, and seamen hauling lines. The Shore was chosen as the location for this new Memorial because Leith was Scotland’s premier port for more than 300 years, and served as Edinburgh’s trading port for more than 700 years. In addition, the Memorial recognises the 132 years of service dedicated to the Merchant Navy by Leith Nautical College (1855-1987) and its training ship, “Dolphin” (1944- 1979). Four shelves on the the working seamen showing their different duties. Musician’s Memorial Spiral Sculpture Shore Leith This sculpture of grey slate is a memorial to three musicians and was designed by the sculptor James Parker from Galloway Scotland. Thomas (Tam) Bennett Sim White He was a Blues and Jazz singer, TV personality and film actor. He was In many TV dramas and soaps performed on Top of the Pops. He was born in Grassmarket Edinburgh he went to the same secondary school (Darrock Academy) as Sean (007) Connery Raymond (Boz) Burrell He was born in Holbeach England. He was a musician, singer-songwriter and Guitar player. He played with Ritchie Blackmore, King Crimson, Bad Company and Tam White. Derek “Dell Boy” Allen The Gates of Leith Shore Leith The Gates of Leith stand with two cannon from the 16th century once part of the artillery that protected the Leith Docks from invaders. In the centre a bust of Governor John Hunter, son of a Leith ship master and second in command aboard H.M.S. Sirius when they found the colony of New South Wales in 1788. Governor John Hunter Bust Shore Leith Vice Admiral |John Hunter R.N.| 1737-1821 Captain John Hunter was captain of the HMS Sirius and later became the 2nd Governor of New South Wales Australia from 1795 returning to Britain in 1800. New South Wales was the penal outpost of the British Empire. As a professional sailor John Hunter was involved in the American War of Independence and took part in Chesapeake and Sandy Hook He was appointed third lieutenant of his flagship HMS Victory and he received his first command in 1782. John Hunter ended his career as a Vice-Admiral and spent his final years in Leith in 6 Cassels Place (43 Leith Walk near the corner of Kirk Street) before returning to London where he died in 1821. The inscription on the plaque reads; Governor John Hunter | Governor of New South Wales 1795 – 1800 | Born Leith 29th August 1737 Died London 13th March 1821 | John Hunter, son of a Leith Ship Master, was Second in | command aboard H.M.S. Sirius to Governor Arthur Phillip | Who Founded the Colony in January 1788. He Returned to be | The Colony’s Second Governor and Conducted its Government | with Sense, Duty, And Humanity. | This bust was donated to the Scots Australian Council in | Edinburgh by its Sculptor, Victor Cusack, and the Scottish | Australian Heritage Council in Sydney and was unveiled on | 28th August 1994, by The Rt. Hon. Norman Irons, the | Lord Provost of the City of Edinburgh, and his | Excellency, The Hon. Neal Blewett, High | Commissioner for Australia. HMS SIRIUS HMS Sirius built in Newhaven Leith Edinburgh, was the flagship of the First Fleet. The HMS Sirius set out from Portsmouth, England, in 1787 to establish the first European colony in New South Wales, Australia. Lighthouse Beacon Shore Leith The original position of the lighthouse beacon was in Burntisland, Fife (1876) and was moved to its present position in 1990. The roman numerals that can be seen on the front of the lighthouse show the date when it was first used. Sandy Irvine Robertson OBE Shore Leith Wine merchant, charity promoter and founder of the Scottish Business Achievements Awards Trust. After his premature death, his friends commissioned a bronze statue which sits on the waterfront at the estuary of the Water of Leith. Behind is a harpoon gun from Port Leith Whaling Station, and the Victoria Swing Bridge that was built in 1874. Christian Salvesen Harpoon Gun Shore Leith 1851 Christian Salvesen arrived in Leith and set up in business as a shipowner and broker, later the family started the whaling from Leith in 1906 and by 1911 Christian Salvesen & Co had become the largest whaling company in the world. Whale Oil was a very important commodity as it was used for the oil for lamps, machine lubrication, margarine, soap and glycerine for explosives. The gun came from one of the whale catchers run by the Salvesen Company which was registered in Leith Victoria Swing Bridge Shore Leith This bridge formerly carried a road, railway crossing and footpaths and was the largest swing bridge in Great Britain. The original Victoria Swing Bridge across the Inner Harbour linked the Albert Dock to the Victoria Dock and was built in 1874. The bridge is now static and is used as a footpath to cross the mouth of the Water of Leith. Fingal Luxury Hotel Fingal was built in 1963 by Blythswood Shipbuilding Company, Scotstoun Glasgow. As steam tender vessel for the Northern Lighthouse Board. The ship was registered in Leith and based for most of its life in Oban (30 years) and 6 years in Stromness, Orkney. The ship on its retirement was sold in 2000 and moored in Cornwall. In 2014 the Britannia trust purchased the vessel which had been renamed Windsor Castle and brought it back to Leith. The ship is 239.01 feet (72.85 m) in length. Its breadth: Beam to Beam is 40.35 feet (12.30 m) and Depth 8.50 feet (5.64 m). The Name has reverted back to Fingal and is now a Luxury five star hotel, moored at the Alexandra Dock in the Port of Leith. Royal Yacht Britannia Ocean Terminal Leith The Royal Yacht Britannia is the former Royal Yacht of the British monarch Queen Elizabeth II. The ship is now permanently moored at Ocean Terminal in Edinburgh. The Britannia is the 83rd vessel since the first Royal yacht owned by King Charles II in 1660. It is the second Royal yacht to bear the name Britannia, the first being the famous racing cutter built for the Prince of Wales in 1893. Have a day out and look around the famous Yacht. Now the rich and famous hire the ship for the evening for dinner parties. Royal Yacht Britannia Antony Gormley Statue Leith Jetty Antony Gormley is a renowned British sculptor with works that are displayed over the word from New Zealand Hong Kong and the U.S.A and all around the UK. The iconic Angel of the North to statues a man 6 of which are around Edinburgh. I have named this one for the birds. Kinloch Anderson Museum Kinloch Anderson Heritage Room Museum Kinloch Anderson was started in 1868 by William Anderson and his two sons in Edinburgh’s George Street. It has Royal warrants of appointment and is a global name in tailoring. The Museum tells the story of the Kinloch Anderson Family business from its start in 1868. The Citadel Archway Leith Shore The Citadel Archway is the only remains of Leith Citadel built by Oliver Cromwell’s troops in 1656. Located next to what was St Ninian’s Church. When the Citadel was first built it stood alone next to the beach. Leith was fought over by the English and French and eventually a treaty was signed. The Citadel was a fortification where retreating troops would go when the main walls of the city defences were breached. Leith Citadel was one of the largest as its location to Edinburgh made it an important site to control. The other Citadels that were built were in Perth Inverness, Ayr and (Inverlochy) now Fort William. In 1827 Leith became an independent Parliamentary Burgh which lasted less than 100 years as in 1920 it became a part of Edinburgh. The first recorded mention of Leith was in 1143. Leith was so important that even the American Navy under John Paul Jones tried to capture the port of Leith. Commercial Quay Leith Shore Take a trip to the redeveloped area of the commercial quayside just over the bridge at the Shore, where you will find many types of open air restaurants and just a short stroll away from the Royal Yacht Britannia and the indoor shopping mall Ocean Terminal. Customs House Leith Shore The coat of arms over the entrance of the Customs House is that of King George III. The Leith Customs House was built circa 1811 to house and control the goods being brought into Leith by the many ships that traded around the world. All Captains had to declare there cargo and pay a duty. The customs Houses were at every port and have been in operation circa 1390. The customs house of Leith was previously at Trinity House where the maritime museum is now situated. The King’s Wark Shore Leith The King’s Wark has history from circa 1430 when it was built by order of James I. In 1590 King James VI, his wife the Queen, Princess Anne of Denmark, resided there for five nights. In 1606 the King’s Wark and lands were gifted to Bernard Lindsay by James VI, The King’s Wark was known to be rebuilt and extended by Mr Bernard Lindsay in 1613 with a tennis court and four Taverns, one for the King and a cellar for the King’s wines. In 1649 it became a weigh House for hemp and iron. The thoroughfare was known as Bernard’s Nook but in 1806 when improvements were being made the new thoroughfare was named Bernard Street after Bernard Lindsay. Queen’s Landing Shore Leith Edinburgh Attractions This Plaque commemorates the landing in Leith of Mary Stuart, Queen of Scots upon her return from France on 19th August 1561. Mary Stuart (Mary Queen of Scots) was born on 8 December 1542. She was the queen of Scotland from December 1542 until July 1567. An infant Queen due to her father King James V death 6 days after her birth. Her reign ended on a forced abdication by Scottish nobles in 1567 at Carberry. Mary’s cousin Queen Elizabeth I had her arrested and she spent the rest of her life as a prisoner until her execution in 1587. Queens Landing Lamb’s House Leith Lamb’s House was built in 1610, was one of the finest merchant’s houses in Scotland. It was built by a merchant called Andrew Lamb a member of the lamb family who lived in the Leith area for circa 200 years. As the date of May Queen of Scots landing was prior to this it is unlikely to be the same house. It is more likely to be the King’s Wark that she waited as this was for the upper class and royalty. Old Leith Bridge Leith North Leith and “St Leonard’s Lands” or what became South Leith were joined by a bridge that connected the two areas in 1493. This was the first Stone Bridge to be built over the inlet. Due to the shipbuilders operating upstream from the bridge and when the ships were ready to sail they would have to pass under the bridge, which stopped large ships from being built. The first bridge was replaced by a drawbridge which was built closer to the estuary. When shipbuilding stopped the bridge was replaced by what is in place today. St Ninian’s Chapel Shore Leith St Ninian’s Chapel was established in 1493 by Robert Ballantyne, Abbot of Holyrood. When the English were on the rampage burning and destroying churches and castles in Scotland 1560-1 St Ninian’s was not spared. In 1609 North Leith parish was a new parish and required a Church. The ruins of St Ninian’s became the possession of the people of north Leith who rebuilt the chapel which became the parish Church. The Church was extended in 1675. As Leith grew the church became to small for the congregation and a new church was built in Madeira Place in 1816. St Ninians building was used by other church groups until 1825 when it changed and was used for commercial purposes. The New North Leith Church was completed in 1816 designed by William Burn. In 1941 it was hit by a bomb which caused major damage. The repairs were completed by 1950 with seating for a congregation of 1300. On the wall above the main entrance, stone inscriptions read: Blessed Are | They Yet Heir | Yevord of God | And keep It | Luke XI | 1600 S.S. Explorer Shore Leith Docks Edinburgh The SS Explorer is the last surviving steam trawler in the world. It was a purpose built fishery research ship. She is on the National Historic Ships. Launched on 21 June 1955. SS Explorer went out of service in 1984. The SS Explorer was a fishery research Ship which was to investigate fish breeding and feeding grounds which could establish fishing levels and types of fish that would suit the British markets. This would enable fishing boats to be more productive. The SS Explorer has been in Leith docks since 1996 being restored for historic purposes and would be a unique museum. She was one of the last ship of it kind registered to the port of Leith. Next - Newhaven Edinburgh

  • Fife Golf Courses | All About Edinburgh

    Fife Golf Courses The area known locally as the Kingdom of Fife is situated between the Firth of Forth (Edinburgh) and the River Tay (Dundee) There are many great golf courses in the area. Most well known to all is St Andrews the home of golf. For St Andrews golf courses click the link below. Golf & Airport Transfers Thornton Golf Course Station Road Thornton Kirkcaldy KY1 4DW Fife +44 1592 771 111 Dunnikier Park Golf Course Dunnikier Country Park Kirkcaldy KY1 3LP Fife +44 1592 261 599 Kirkcaldy Golf Course Balwearie Road Kirkcaldy KY2 5LT Fife +44 1592 205 240 Aberdour Golf Course Seaside Place Aberdour KY3 0TX Fife +44 1383 860 256 Kinghorn Golf Course Burntisland Road Kinghorn KY3 9RS Fife +44 1592 890 345 Dodhead Golf Course 10 Dallas Avenue Burntisland KY3 9ET Fife +44 1592 872 116 Burntisland Golf club 10 Dallas Avenue Burntisland KY3 9ET Fife +44 1592 872 116 Cowdenbeath Golf Course Seco Place KY4 8PF Fife +44 1383 513 079 Lochore Meadows Golf Course Lochore Meadows Country Park Lochore KY5 8BA Fife +44 1592 583 672 Lochgelly Golf Course Cartmore Road Lochgelly KY5 9PB Fife +44 1592 782 589 Auchterderran Golf Course Woodend Road Lochgelly KY5 0NH Fife +44 1592 721 572 Glenrothes Golf Course Golf Course Road Glenrothes KY6 2LA Fife +44 1592 750 063 St Andrews Golf Courses Leslie Golf Course Leslie Glenrothes KY6 3EZ Fife +44 1592 620 040 Balbirnie Park Golf Course Markinch Glenrothes KY7 6NR Fife +44 1592 612 095 Scoonie Golf Course North Links Leven KY8 4SP Fife +44 1333 423 437 Lundin Golf Course Golf Road Lundin Links Leven KY8 6BA Fife +44 1333 320 202 Leven Links Golf Course Promenade Leven KY8 4HS Fife +44 1333 421 390 Dumbarnie Golf Links, Upper Largo KY8 6JQ Fife +44 1334 845945 Charleton Golf Course Charleton House Colinsburgh Leven KY9 1HG Fife +44 1333 340 505 Elie Golf Course Golf Club Lane, Elie KY9 1AS Fife +44 1333 330301 Crail Golf Course, Crail Golfing Society, Anstruther KY10 3XN Fife +44 1333 450686 Anstruther Golf Course Shore Road Anstruther KY10 3DZ Fife +44 1592 782 589 Pitreavie Golf Course Queensferry Road Dunfermline KY11 8PR Fife +44 1383 722 591 Canmore Golf Course Venturefair Avenue Dunfermline KY12 0PE Fife +44 1383 724 969 Scotland's Golf Course Map Dunfermline Golf Course Cairneyhill Road Crossford Dunfermline KY12 8QW Fife +44 1383 723 534 Saline Golf Course Steelend Road Saline KY12 9LT Fife +44 1383 852 591 Kinross Golf Courses The Montgomery Golf Course The Bruce Golf Course 2 Muirs Kinross KY13 8AS Fife +44 1577 863 407 Milnathort Golf Course South Street Milnathort Kinross KY13 9XA Fife +44 1577 864 069 Burleigh Golf Course Milnathort Golf club South Street Milnathort KY13 9XA Fife +44 1577 864 069 Cupar Golf Course 19 Ceres Road Cupar KY15 5JT Fife +44 1334 653 549 Kingarrock Hickory Golf Hill of Tarvit Mansion House Cupar KY15 5PB Fife +44 1334 653 421 Elmwood Golf Course Stratheden Cupar KY15 5RS Fife +44 1334 658 780 Falkland Golf Course The Myre Falkland Cupar Fife KY15 7AA +44 01337 857 404 Ladybank Golf Course Ladybank Cupar KY15 7RA Fife +44 1337 830 814 Drumoig Golf Course Forgan Drive St Andrews KY16 0DW Fife +44 1382 541 800 St. Michaels Golf Course A919 Leuchars St Andrews KY16 0DX Fife +44 1334 838 666

  • Travel and Transfers | Tour Scotland | All About Edinburgh

    Travel and Scotland, Edinburgh airport transfers, transfers to Edinburgh, Whatever way you wish to travel you can find it here. private cars, Black Taxis, Buses, Car Rental, Trams, Private Hire, Uber, Airport Transfers, Bikes, boats and planes helicopters your visit to Edinburgh and Scotland will be a pleasure. Travel and Transfers Provide Information on Tours from Edinburgh Airport Transfers Bus & Train Services Golf Transport Bespoke Tours and Transfers Airport and Golf Transfers Local Taxi Service Edinburgh Airport Parking Travel and Transfers Scotland Helicopter | Transfers | Charters Golf Transfers Looking for transport to and from Scotland's Golf Courses. We can help with cars minibuses and coaches for all group sizes and individuals Walking Tours Edinburgh City Walking Tours New Town Old Town Royal Mile Dean Village and more... Coach Tours of Scotland Tours from Edinburgh 1/2 Day Tours | Day Tours Tours for 2 days or more With Local Transport around Scotland East Lothian, Edinburgh Fife, St Andrews Carnoustie, Aberdeen Inverness, Glasgow Ayrshire Group Transport Golf Transport Airport Transfers Local Taxis Sports Groups Enquiry / Contact Private Transport Hire Private Hire Cars Private hire cars are only available by phone booking in advance. Being picked up by a private hire car without a previous booking is illegal and mitigates any insurance cover. Private Hire prices are charge and can be fixed by a price that has been previously agreed. Edinburgh Trams Tram There is a tram service that is limited to a small route starting in the east of the city and ending at the airport. A service that has been designed to benefit individuals and couples travelling to the city centre from the airport. Enquiries Bookings Prices Trains - Edinburgh By Rail Edinburgh has two train stations Waverley which is the main Station and Haymarket which is linked to Waverley and trains going west stop here. The Train services has links all over Scotland East Lothian, Scottish Borders, Glasgow, Falkirk, Stirling, Aberdeen, Dundee and Inverness. With links to the major cities in England. Bespoke Travel Chauffeur Drive Executive Transport Group Transport Bespoke Tours Airport Transfers Driver Tour Guide Rail Stations & Train Services Tours & Tour Destinations Edinburgh City Car Parking Local and National Bus Services National and Local Bus Services The City of Edinburgh has a great transport structure with a local service that has fixed prices and takes you to all parts of the city and suburbs. There are also bus services to outer areas over 20 miles away. There is also a national bus station at the east of the city centre which links to all major cities in Scotland and England. Car Rental Car Rental Edinburgh has all the facilities for the independent traveller, with a car rental hub that is one of the largest in Europe based at Edinburgh Airport and many pick up and drop off hubs throughout Scotland. All the national rental companies have location in Edinburgh city centre. Cars, Vans, Mini Buses, SUV's, Winnebago and Caravans. Petrol Filling Stations Parking and Fuel Fuel stations are available in many areas and a guide to parking at the airport and in the city see link above.

  • Distillery & Brewery | Visitor Attractions | All About Edinburgh

    Edinburgh has a number of distilleries and Breweries that you can tour and taste the products. Tour the Rosebank Single Malt Distillery or a Brewery or visit a Whisky Experience in the city Centre. Eden Mill +Johnnie Walker both in City Centre. Distillery and Brewery Whisky and Bear Attractions and Tours The Beginning of whisky in 1505 the Guild of Barbers and Surgeons were granted distilling ‘Aqua Vitae’ Water of Life in Edinburgh by James IV of Scotland. Whatever part of Edinburgh you are in there would have been someone distilling spirits legally or illegally. Some of the names that will still be known today Distillers Company Limited was founded in Torphichen Street Edinburgh circa 1877 (now known as Diageo) George Ballantine, who founded Ballantine’s Whisky in Edinburgh Andrew Usher Jr founder of North British distillery 1880 which is still open in Gorgie Edinburgh John Haig in 1804 Bonnington Distillery William Sanderson & Sons VAT 69 from 1882. Whisky Distillery and Brewery Attractions and Tours Origins of Whisky Johnnie Walker Story Edinburgh has a long history with distilling and brewing. Once the largest brewery in Europe stood in Fountainbridge and Leith had whisky bond warehouses everywhere. All now gone. There are still a number of distilleries and micro breweries in Edinburgh and soon Edinburgh is to have the Johnnie Walker Experience on Princes Street Diageo's flagship visitor centre. Another recent addition in Edinburgh is Holyrood Distillery which started distilling again after almost 100 years. Here are two places one at the shore and the other near the city centre that I can recommend for a large selection of Malt Whiskies food and great atmosphere Teuchters Landing Malt Whisky Bar 1c Dock Place Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6LU Scotland Athletic Arms Locally known as 'Diggers' Malt Whisky Bar 1-3 Angle Park Terrace Edinburgh EH11 2JX Scotch Whisky Experience 354 Castlehill Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 2NE Eden Mill Whisky Experience 1A, Rutland Place, Edinburgh EH1 2AD Tartan Weaving Mill Whisky Experience 555 Castlehill Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 2ND Johnnie Walker Experience Princes Street West End Edinburgh Whisky Distillery Tours Scottish Single Malt Whisky Tours Six of the Best Single Malt Whiskies, already tried the Whisky now come to where it’s made, in the Highlands of Scotland. See where the water of life originates. From the Burn to the Bottle. Tour a Malt Whisky distillery and find out its history. Now the good part. Tasting the great nectar of Scotland. No Drinking and Driving. Rosebank Distillery Single Malt Whisky Camelon Road Falkirk FK1 5SQ ( Only 27 miles from Edinburgh ) Rosebank opened in 1840 by James Rankine on the banks of the Forth & Clyde Canal in the heart of the Lowlands. The distillery was founded by James Rankine a local wine merchant, and within forty years the Rankines were shipping their whisky around the world. Rosebank whisky is a non peated, triple distilled, Lowland Single Malt. It is considered one of the finest Lowland malt whiskies due to the fruity floral style produced through triple distillation. Tours of the Distillery and Tastings start from 75 minutes up to 3 hours. Macallan Distillery Single Malt Whisky Easter Elchies, Craigellachie AB38 9RX The Macallan single malt whisky licensed in 1824, distributed around the world. Made for centuries on the Macallan (Maghellan) Estate. The Macallan distillery is where the high quality single malt is made using oak casks that gives the unique taste no other whisky has. A taste not to be missed, arrange a tailor made tour of this unique distillery. Glenlivet Distillery Single Malt Whisky Castleton of Blairfindy, Ballindalloch AB37 9DB A name known around the world, Glenlivet near Ballindalloch, Moray, Scotland in the Sp eyside region. George IV on his visit to Scotland and drank the famous malt (illegal at that time). Glenlivet became the oldest legal distillery in the parish of Glenlivet. Producing single malt Scotch whisky under license since 1824. Whilst in Ballindalloch, why not visit the Ballindalloch Castle and Gardens since the 16th century. The water that makes Glenlivet special comes from ‘Josie's Well’, and other springs near the distillery. Glenfiddich Distillery Single Malt Whisky Dufftown, Banffshire AB55 4DH Glenfiddich Malt Whisky has been produced by the Grant family since its foundi ng in 1887. The Distillery was literally built by hand, by the family taking a year to build. Named by William Grant after the land purchased to build the distillery on ‘Glenfiddich’ Gaelic ‘Valley of The Deer’. The water source is from the famous Robbie Dhu Spring Glenmorangie Distillery Single Malt Whisky Tain, Glen Morangie, Ross-Shire IV19 1PZ William and Ann Matheson had a dream which they fulfilled in 1843, when they founded the Glenmorangie Distillery. The Tarlogie Springs are the source of the unique waters that give the fruity taste to Glenmorangie Malt Whisky. Glenmorangie Whisky has been produced on the site since its founding. Aberlour Distillery Single Malt Whisky Main Street, Aberlour AB38 9PJ Aberlour Distillery was first founded by the Grants in 1825 but in 1833 the built their own distillery in Rothes. Along came James Fleming, founding the present distillery in 1879. The whisky is aged in both ex-Sherry and ex-Bourbon casks giving unique flavours. Glenallachie Distillery Single Malt Whisky Glenallachie, Aberlour AB38 9LR This Distillery is young in comparison to the 1824 starts. However this is truly a Scottish Malt whisky Distillery. GlenAllachie Speyside Single malt Scotch whiskies Batch 4 of the10-year-old Cask Strength GlenAllachie Single Malt Whisky Won the World’s Best Single Malt at the 2021 World Whiskies Awards Eden Mill Distillery Guardbridge St Andrews The Eden Mill returns Whisky distilling to Guardbridge area of St Andrews that first started in 1655. Eden Mill on the Eden Estuary The River Eden has been used in distilling and brewing for over 200 years. The Eden Mill's distillery products include Premium Single Malt whisky and bourbon-aged Oak Gin, The top floor of the new distillery will be home to a bar where guests will be able to relax and enjoy the scenery and drinks. Take a tour of the new distillery (The Whisky experience or Gin Experience), Two different tours with different routes around the distillery. Finishing with a tasting of the produce. There is also a visitor centre in Edinburgh Belhaven Brewery Tour Belhaven Brewery was started by the Benedictine Monks circa 800 years ago and is the oldest brewery in Scotland. Belhaven is a successful independent brewery one of its kind in Scotland. Belhaven Visitor Experience and Shop where you can try the award winning Beers see where and how its made. Belhaven beers are all made from a fresh water source and the secret Belhaven yeast. Our top beers are Belhaven Best and Belhaven Black and a number of award winning craft beers and ales. Bellfield Brewery Ltd. 46 Stanley Place Edinburgh EH7 5TB Summerhall Barney's Brewery Tour 1 Summerhall Edinburgh EH9 1PL Edinburgh Beer Factory Unit 15 Bankhead Industrial Estate Edinburgh EH11 4EQ Stewart's Brewery Tour Stewart’s Brewery opened in 2004 by Steve Stewart and his wife Jo. With many craft beers enjoy a tour of the brewing facility and have a meal and buy some gifts. Don’t drink and drive. Find out all about Brewing in the 21st Century Shop, Taproom, Craft Beer Kitchen, Brewery Tour

bottom of page