All About Edinburgh
Search Results
Search this site
403 results found with an empty search
- Private Health Care | Clinics Hospitals | All About Edinburgh
Looking for Edinburgh Private Clinics Hospitals, Medical Health Care? A comprehensive list of Private Hospitals and Clinics and NHS clinics in Edinburgh are listed below. For all private health care needs or for NHS clinics fll postal addresses and contact numbers. NHS CLINICS PRIVATE HOSPITALS & CLINICS EDINBURGH Looking for private health care hospitals clinics or NHS Clinics the details of all the hospitals, clinics private or NHS contact details are below. Edinburgh Information Medical Health NHS Clinics Medical Health NHSClinics Gay Men's Health 10 Union Street Edinburgh EH1 3LU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 9444 Medical Health NHS Clinics Edinburgh Sleep Centre 8 Albany Street Edinburgh EH1 3QB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0207 725 0523 Medical Health NHS Clinics Brougham Foot Clinic 13 Brougham Street Edinburgh EH3 9JS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 6283 Medical Health NHS Clinics Dental Emergency Clinic 3 Chalmers Street Edinburgh EH3 9EW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 536 4800 Medical Health NHS Clinics Cowgate Clinic 20 Cowgate Edinburgh EH1 1JX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 240 2810 Medical Health NHS Clinics Minor Injuries Clinic NHS Crewe Road South Edinburgh EH4 2XU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 5371330 Medical Health NHS Clinics Family Planning Clinic 18 Dean Terrace Edinburgh EH4 1NL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 7941 Medical Health NHS Clinics Ferry Road Foot Clinic 49 Ferry Road Edinburgh EH6 4AF City of Edinburgh Scotland 07841 459 977 Medical Health NHS Clinics Medical Health NHS Clinics Blood Transfusion Centre 41 Lauriston Place Edinburgh EH3 9HA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 536 1000 Medical Health NHS Clinics Blood Donor Centre 41 Lauriston Place Edinburgh EH3 9HB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0345 90 90 999 Medical Health NHS Clinics Chest Clinic 51 Little France Crescent Edinburgh EH16 4SA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 536 1000 Medical Health NHS Clinics Abbeyhill Foot Care 41 London Road Edinburgh EH7 5SW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 661 4196 Medical Health NHS Clinics Andrew Duncan Clinic 151 Morningside Terrace Edinburgh EH10 5HF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 537 6000 Medical Health Hospice St Columba's Hospice 15 Boswall Road Edinburgh EH5 3RW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 551 1381 Medical Health Hospice Marie Curie Hospice 45 Frogston Road West Edinburgh EH10 7DR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 445 2141 PRIVATE HOSPITALS Medical Health Private Hospitals The Edinburgh Clinic 40 Colinton Road Edinburgh EH10 5BT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 447 2340 Medical Health Private Hospitals Spire Murrayfield Hospital 122 Corstorphine Road Edinburgh EH12 6UD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 334 0363 Medical Health Private Hospitals Spire Shawfair Park Hospital 10 Easter Shawfair Edinburgh EH22 1FE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 654 5600 Medical Health Private Hospitals Spire Hospital Livingston 1c Fairways Business Park Deer Park Avenue Livingston EH54 8AF West Lothian Scotland 01506 448 181
- Visit Scotland | Stirling | All About Edinburgh
Stirling once the capital of Scotland and home to Kings and Mary Queen of Scots, who was crowned in the castle in 1543 (9 months of age). Stirling Castle sites high on a volcanic rock with magnificent views. Stirling Attractions Scotland Visit Stirling Attractions Stirling Scotland Attraction Stirling Scotland Stirling was and important area with a castle looking over many miles and with a great view of the river forth, which was once the border of Scotland and Northumbria England. The old stirling bridge was important as it was the easiest place to cross the river. Stirling was so important the town changed hands many times firstly when it was used to release William I from the English in 1174. The town became less important when the King left Stirling as a residence moving to England. The castles of Edinburgh and Stirling had the same influences. With the sons of Malcolm III. Alexander I dedicated a chapel in Stirling 1110 and David I his brother dedicated St Margret's chapel in Edinburgh 1130. Alexander died in Stirling Castle 1124. Stirling Castle Attractions Royal Palace Attractions Battle of Stirling Bridge Memorial Stone The inscription on the stone reads; On 11th September William Wallace and Andrew De Moray led the Scots in Victory against the English at the Battle of Stirling Bridge. The bridge is a modern structure with four arches. On Wallace’s instructions a carpenter John Wright removes pins causing the bridge to collapse, thereby ensuring victory. Thereafter all first born sons of the Wright family are nick named “Pin” until the last of them dies in 1900. The victory was almost unthinkable, England had the greatest fighting machine in the known world and could not have foreseen that a “peasant army of spearmen” would be any threat to them. Old City Wall Stirling Stirling was the Royal Court of the Stuart’s and was a target for the English Kings. In 1547 a wall was built around the town to protect it from English invaders after the disastrous battle at Musselburgh (The Battle of Pinkie Cleuch). There is a wall walk which gives amazing views of the countryside and Old Stirling Town. The wall is up to 8 meters high and 2 meters thick. Stirling Wolf Wooden Carving The Wolf of Stirling has been its protector for over 1000 years when a band of Vikings came in the dead of night to take the town, but were chased off by a pack of Wolves. The Wolf is in the Stirling coat of arms and can be seen on the mercat cross and tolbooth as well as other buildings in Stirling. Claymore and Targe Stirling The Claymore and Targe were weapons used in battle for over 300 years 14-17 hundred. A claymore is a two handed sword like the one William Wallace used. The Targe is a small round shield for the head of the Vikings Rob Roy MacGregor Statue Stirling Rob MacGregor was born in 1671 in Glengyle in the Trossachs in sight of Ben Lomond. He fought in many battles for the Jacobite cause. He was a cattle rustler and outlaw that became an icon due to Daniel Defoe publishing the novel “Highland Rogue” in 1723, and 3 years later the book caused him to become a hero of the people and by public acclaim Rob Roy received a Royal Pardon. A redheaded Scotsman with an entrepreneurial skill turning to crime and becoming a hero. He died of old age in Balquhidder Glen in 1734 Stirling Tolbooth Clock Tower The first Tolbooth built circa 1530 was demolished in 1689 and replaced by the present Tolbooth was built circa 1704 in Jail Wynd, Stirling where it stands today. With extensions in 1785 and 1808 when a jail and courthouse were included. The tower was the prison for offenders prior to being hanged at the gallows outside the Tolbooth. The dead were buried under the Tolbooth and their ghost are said to haunt the building to this day. Hardie and Baird Plaque Murdered in Stirling In 1813 in protest at their reduced standard of living 40,000 weavers went on strike for over two months. A dispute that only ended when the government arrested the leaders of their union and forced the men back to work. Andrew Hardie and John Baird were tried for their beliefs. At their trial the judge said "you Andrew Hardie and John Beard can hold out little or no hope of mercy as you are the leaders". He then made an example of them and sentenced them to death. They were betrayed for their views and beliefs and by the establishment that they had sought to reform. The rest of the rebels were sentenced to be transported overseas to penal colonies in New South Wales and Tasmania Baird and Hardie were executed on 8th September 1813 in front of a crowd of 2000 people. They were left hanging for over 30 minutes and then decapitated. Stirling Mercat Cross A Mercat Cross has stood close to the Tolbooth since it was built circa 1530 and in 1704 the present building was completed The cross was take away in 1792 and was re-erected in 1891. A Mercat (Market) Cross was the centre of the town where a market would be held and any news was proclaimed from the Cross. The Stirling people call the unicorn on the top of the cross ‘The Puggy’. The Unicorn is the only original part of the first Mercat Cross. Old Stirling Jail House Stirling The Old Town Jail was first opened in 1847 to replace the Old Tolbooth which was dubbed the worst jail in Britain. Take the Jail tour and hope there are no ghosts. Beheading Stone Stirling On “Mote Hill” is the beheading Stone and cannon. This was the site of a Pictish Fort. Circa 1400 heads have rolled of the stone, most famously in 1425 Murdoch, Duke of Albany lost his head on the order of King James I. Marks that can be seen on the stone come from the Axe of the Executioner. The Stone is in a protective cage and stands on a hill that overlooks Stirling Stirling Castle Scotland Stirling Castle Scotland as Edinburgh Castle Scotland stands on a Volcanic Rock that overlooks the city. This castle was where the Stuarts preferred to live. James II was here from childhood and was the place of a horrific murder in 1452 when James II stabbed the eighth Earl of Douglas to death for plotting against him. Mary Queen of Scots spent her first years as a child in the castle before going to France. Her coronation also was performed Stirling Castle’s Chapel Royal in 1543. For all the attractions and history of Stirling Castle go to Argyll’s Lodging Stirling Argyll’s Lodging named by the owner Archibald Campbell 9th Earl of Argyll. Built circa 1630 with further extensions circa 1670 is regarded as the most important town house of its period in Scotland that has survived. It is possible a house was on this site in the 16th century and replaced by the present building. n 1666 the site was purchased by Archibald, 9th Earl of Argyll. It was sold by the John Campbell 4th Duke of Argyll in 1764, and is now owned by the Crown. Duke of Argyll also holds the hereditary titles of chief of Clan Campbell and Master of the Household of Scotland. Mar’s Wark Stirling Mar’s Wark was an impressive mansion house built by the Regent of Scotland the Earl of Mar in 1571. The Earl died the next year and the building was never completed. The House has been a ruin since 1777 with no roof. Holy Rude Stirling The church of Holy Rude was built in 1129 and is the second oldest building in Stirling. Founded by David I as was Holyrood Abbey in Edinburgh. The meaning of “Holy Rude” is Holy Cross. In 1405 the great fire of Stirling engulf the church and most of Stirling. A new church was built in 1414 A plaque on the floor marks the spot where King James VI was baptised in 1567. Mary Queen of Scots, worshipped in the Holy Rude John Knox preached in Holy Rude The Coronation of James VI took place in Holy Rude Stirling. It is said that Holy Rude is the only church in the United Kingdom other than Westminster Abbey still in use to have held a coronation. The Pyramid built by Drummond in 1863, is dedicated to all those who suffered martyrdom in the cause of civil and religious liberty in Scotland. Holy Rude Burial Grounds The Holy Rude Burial Grounds are extensive and have many interesting graves and memorials. Margaret Wilson 18 executed by drowning in Solway Firth for not renouncing her Protestant faith. 3 Statues Alexander Henderson John Knox Andrew Melville Martyr's Monument Pyramid The Pyramid built by Drummond in 1863, is dedicated to all those who suffered martyrdom in the cause of civil and religious liberty in Scotland. Robert Burns Statue Stirling The statue of Robert Burns stands on the Dumbarton Road with Rob Roy MacGregor standing behind and the cold city wall towering over them both. It was gifted to Stirling by the Provost David Bayne. Erected in 1914 at the time the foundation stone of the Municipal building was laid. A bronze figure of Robert Burns on a granite plinth. There are also bronze plaques with three illustrations of Burns work ‘The Vision’, ‘Cottar’s Saturday Night’ and ‘Tam O’Shanter’ with Robert Burns at the plough. Robert Burns first visited Stirling in August 1787. Cowane’s House Stirling This was one of the largest houses in Stirling. Owned by the Cowane family Burgess of Stirling. John Cowane was born in St Mary’s Wynd Stirling in 1570 to a highly respected Burgess and merchant of Stirling. Supplier to the Royal Household. John work for his father until his father’s death in 1617 when he took over the business which stood in Broad Street the main area of Stirling at the time. The son John Cowane was the most powerful individual in Stirling a money lender, landlord, and held the most powerful position on the council (Chairman Dean of Guild). He was the man that also gave his wealth back to the people in the form of Cowane’s Trust. The Hospital he built has a statue of him which is known locally as ‘Old Staney breeks’. He had a son out of wedlock who relied on his father for everything. He died in 1633 leaving everything in a trust. Cowane’s Hospital (Guild Hall) Stirling On the Death of John Cowane in his will he left sums of money to many charities and to Holy Rude his church. His larges bequest was of 40.000 to build a hospital (Almshouse). The Hospital was built circa 1640 later a statue was added and is said to come alive at Hogmanay (to much drink me think). The statue was removed for renovations and is due back before Hogmanay 2019. Stirling’s Merchant Guild was occupants of the hospital from 1724. The Hospital was used as a Guild Hall It was used for its purpose (hospital) in 1832 during the cholera epidemic which killed around one-third of Stirling’s population. The Hospital as a historic monument is being renovated. (April 2019). Before Renovations John Cowane Statue After Renovations Bruce of Auchenbowie’s House Stirling Bruce of Auchenbowie House in St. John Street, was built in by Robert Bruce of Auchenbowie as a town house. He was Provost of the burgh in 1555-56. In 1555 he built the Lairds House now Auchenbowie House at Auchenbowie, Stirling Lord Darnley’s House Stirling What is called Darnley’s House was the townhouse of Alexander Erskine’s of Gogar who was the keeper of the Keys to Stirling Castle. Alexander was removed from his post in 1578. Previous to Erskine building a house here circa 1590 was a tavern which Darnley was known to frequent. It is more likely that Darnley had resided here as a guest. Lord Darnley born 1545 died Edinburgh 1567. Was the second husband of Mary, Queen of Scots and the father of the future James VI of Scotland and 1st of England. Boys Club Stirling The building was restyled in 1929 for use by the Boys Clubs of Stirling. This was originally where the Flesh Market stood 1740 N.L.S Map Castle and town of Stirling. The Market was still present in 1860 map of Stirling. Municipal Building Stirling Provost David Bayne had the Municipal Building in Stirling built in 1914. The foundation stone was laid on 11th July 1914 by King George V. The building was officially opened in 1918 in March of the same year. Inside is a stain glass window of Alexander II presenting the town’s charter in 1226. Stirling Public Library The central public library opened in 1904 built with (£6000), funds donated by Andrew Carnegie a multi-millionaire who was born in Dunfermline Fife on condition that the council adopt the free libraries act. Stirling Clock Tower Provost David Bayne was a grocer and a member of the Stirling Town Council for 21 years. I his time he donated the clock that stands on the roundabout in 1910, when most people had no watches. This was an important part of people in Stirling’s lives. He also had the municipal building built and donated the statue of Robert Burns to the city. Sir Henry Campbell-Bannerman Sir Henry Campbell-Bannerman bronze statue erected in 1913 from Glasgow and never lived in Stirling. He was the Liberal MP in Stirling from 1868 in 1905 and 1908 he was also the Prime Minister the first man to officially bear the title. George Christie Stirling's Lord Provost George Christie was remembered as the man who made Stirling as it is today. He was the Lord Provost of the Royal Burgh of Stirling from 1870 – 1879. A freemason of distinction at lodge No. 30. He died suddenly in 1904. The Clock memorial was completed in 1906 to honour all his achievement. The Stirling War Memorial The War Memorial was erected in 1922 to commemorate those who fell during the Great War. (The First World War). The Golden Lion The Golden Lion Hotel opened in 1786 and was famed for Robert Burns wrote a verse "Here Stewarts once in triumph reigned, and law for Scotland's weal ordained, but know unroofed their palace stands, their sceptre fallen to other hands. The Cannon The two Cannon that stand were purchased by the council in 1904. A similar pair stand on Gowan Hill. Barras yet - Burgh Port This marks the location of the South Gate in the old Stirling Wall which was the main entrance to Stirling for over 300 years. It was demolished circa 1770. Stirling Bowling Club Established in 1858, Stirling Bowling Club was established in 1858. The club house was designed by architect William Simpson and opened in 1866. Albert Halls Stirling Simpson also designed the Albert Halls on the same road in 1881 and opened in October 1883. William Wallace Statue Stirling William Wallace was the peoples champion and became the guardian of Scotland in 1298. King Edward met William Wallace at Falkirk three months later and defeated him but Wallace escaped and went into hiding, where he remained till caught at Robroyston by Sir John Monteith in August 1305. Monteith a Scotsman handed him over to Edward I. William Wallace was tried for treason, which Wallace denied. He said “I have never sworn allegiance to the English king”. This did nothing for his innocence and he was executed on 23 August, where he was hung, drawn and quartered. His head was placed on London Bridge, and his limbs displayed in Newcastle, Berwick, Stirling and Perth. The Black Boy Fountain Stirling Gallows Public executions in Stirling were usually handled by the hangman or staff man as he was known. Previously in the 17th-century executions took place at the mailing gallows where the black boy fountain now stands. The Black Boy Fountain is in Alan Park and was erected as a memorial to those from Stirling who died in the Black Plague. The plague circa 1370 killed almost half of the people who lived in Stirling. The fountain was erected 1849. It was also the place that was known as the 'Gallous Mailing'. Where many executions took place. The White House Stirling The White House Clan & Craft Gift Shop near the entrance to Stirling Castle. The building was originally built circa 1715 for the workers building fortifications for the castle against invaders. It is uncertain of its uses in history but has stood here for circa 300 years. Stirling Arms Plaque Stirling Lettering on the plaque reads; ‘Sterlini’ (Stirling) ‘Oppidum’ (main settlement or Town) with what could be the Wolf on top as the Library and Albert Halls both have shields with the same inscription and wolf. The Bastion and Thieves’ Pot Stirling Attractions The Old city wall has two Bastions that remain standing, one of which is below ground. The Port Street bastion, now stands enclosed within the modern 'Thistles' shopping centre. Standing 9 foot in height 7m. The Bastion is a defensive tower and bottle Dungeon (The Thieves' Pot), originally guarding Stirling’s Town Wall. The internal chamber is where you will be told of the past the history of the tower and the gorrie tails of the jail and its inmates. Wallace Monument Scotland's National Monument Stirling National Wallace Monument was built between 1861 and 1869. The Wallace Monument is a 67 metre tower with three exhibitions within the Monument. The first floor is The Hall of Arms, second floor is the Hall of Heroes the third floor is The Royal Chamber and then there is a balcony around The Crown at the top of the building with amazing views. There is a spiral staircase with 246 steps that takes you to each exhibit and to the top. Cambuskenneth Abbey Stirling The Abbey at Cambuskenneth has only the bell tower that still remains standing but is well worth a visit. It is situated between Stirling Castle and the Wallace monument. Cambuskenneth Abbey was founded in 1140 and dedicated to the Virgin Mary. The Abbey was originally named the Abbey of St Mary of Stirling or Stirling Abbey. The abbey was similar to Holyrood Abbey in Edinburgh as it was close to the Castle and a road joined the abbey to the Castle. Cambuskenneth Abbey Royal Tomb King James III and Princess Margaret of Denmark’s Tomb. The Graveyard is of high importance as Margaret of Denmark wife of King James III was buried here in 1486. When James III was killed at the Battle of Sauchieburn his body was brought to the Abbey to be buried beside his wife. The tomb can be seen beside the Cambuskenneth Abbey graveyard. Stirling Smith Art Gallery and Museum The Stirling Smith Art Gallery and Museum was founded in 1874. A bequest left by Thomas S Smith who died in 1869. The original name was 'The Smith Institute for the people of Stirling, Dunblane and Kinbuick'. Today it is a cultural centre of Stirling with a museum Art Gallery and library which is a memorial to the life and work of Robert Bontine Cunninghame Graham. The museum covers Stirling from prehistoric times to the present. With artefacts from through the centuries. Below are views of some of what can be seen in the Galleries. There is a coffee shop Entry to the Museum and Gallery is free. Oldest Football in World The oldest football in the world can be seen in the Stirling Smith Art Gallery and Museum in Stirling Scotland. Thought to be a football purchased for James IV on 11th April 1497. The ball was found behind panels in the Queen's Bedchamber in Stirling Castle in the late 1970's when renovation work was carried out. Gallery II exhibits go through the ages with a likeness of William Wallace, a history of music busts of famous people, Pewter and Silver and many other artefacts. Gallery II currently displays our art collection, with many of the works by our founder, Thomas Stuart Smith. The has a Tiger, Mickey Mouse and other sculptures. The that are in it are part of our current exhibition, The Perfect Foil by Robert Mach. They do not form part of the permanent collection. The verse that was written by Poet Robert Burns when Staying in Stirling in the Golden Lion This mosaic is outside the The Stirling Smith Art Gallery and Museum. Midlothian Attractions
- Cycle Edinbugh | Bike Hire | All About Edinburgh
Cycling Scotland, Safe Cyles routes, The best place to cycle is on non motorised traffic roads. Portobello Promenade for one. Mountain Biking is for the it and fearless a great sport with excitement and fun. Cycle with care and motorists give space to the bikes. Cycle Edinburgh Scotland Bike Hire Here are a number of cycle ways that are free from motor transport. There is also many place to go mountain biking see the 7 Stanes mountain bike trails and the Pentland hill trails. Bike Hire for a cheap way to see Edinburgh. Hire a bike by the hour or day Back to Activities Cycle Tours Scotland Cycle Round Arthur Seat Holyrood Park the roads around Arthur seat are great on a Sunday as they are closed to all motor traffic after 8.30 am. Hire a Bike by the Hour in Edinburgh The Meadows and Bruntsfield Links Safe and easy cycling for the family with designated path for cyclist and no motorised vehicles. Portobello Promenade Portobello Promenade from Seafield to Joppa no motors just people and cyclists and sea views. Cramond - Granton Cramond Village to Silverknowes Esplanade is a very safe cycle way for all the family a wide flat surface with no traffic and great views. From Silverknowes follow the promenade to the old gas storage where best to go back as it joins the west Shore Road. NCR754 Fountainbridge - Glasgow The longest Route where the ships once came from the Caribbean to Edinburgh. The Union Canal starts at Fountainbridge and after the steps at Viewforth the track at the side of the canal takes you as far as Bowling Harbour Milton Glasgow 65 miles - 6 hours. Find the route on google; National Cycle Route (NCR754). Getting home is easy a train station is near (0.5 MILE) that will take you to Glasgow Queen Street (Change) train to Edinburgh Waverley. Cycle Scotland Bike Hire 29 Blackfriars Street Edinburgh EH1 1NB 0131 556 5560 Edinburgh Cycle Hire Just Eat Cycles 5B Carron Place Edinburgh EH6 7RE 0131 278 3000 BIKETRAX Bike Hire 11 - 13 Lochrin Place Edinburgh EH3 9QX 0131 228 6633 Mountain Biking Scotland The 7 Stanes Mountain Bike Trails The best in the Uk Pentland Hills Mountain Bike Trails 70 + trails to choose Flotterstone Blackhill Bonaly The Howe Glentress Mountain Bike Trail On the Innerleithen Road near Peebles Newcastleton Mountain Bike Trail Past Hawick on the B6357 Top quality trails Tartan Bicycle Hire Edinburgh Drop off + Pick up Service Call Johann +44 (0)7973940924 Leith Cycle Co Bike Hire 276 Leith Walk Edinburgh EH6 5BX 0131 467 7775 Pedal Forth Bike Hire 17 East Cromwell Street Edinburgh EH6 6HD 0131 554 9990
- Spott Village | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Spott Attractions East Lothian Spott Village East Lothian Spott village grew around the estate of Spott House circa 1280 The war memorial in Spott dates from 1920 and was designed by Sir Robert Lorimer Spott House East Lothian Spott (Spote) was a Tower House until redesigned circa 1840. It is believed that a tower has been on this site prior to 1300. Spott House was visited by many famous people throughout history. One which was James VI when he was treated to a banquet at Spott in October 1600 by the then owner Sir George Home, 1st Earl of Dunbar. The present house which has been changed over the centuries dependent on the owners of the time. This present house was restored circa 2000. Witches Stone East Lothian Spott was where the last executions of the Scottish witch-hunts of the 17th and 18th centuries, when several witches were executed at Spott Loan in October 1705 by burning. St John's Holy Well Spott East Lothian This spring water well dedicated to St John was sacred to the monks of Coldinghame and an annual pilgrimage was made by the monks. The Monks present in Coldingham circa 1098 and the Knights Templars presence at Coldingham could be how the well was named. This holy well is located across the road from Spott House on the slop near the burn 100 m north west of the church. Spott Parish Church Spott church has little known about it but may have been a chapel for the occupants of Spott House. There is recorded history of a Chapel / Church in Spott from before 1500. The building at the gate was used by a watchman to deter bodysnatchers. The ‘jougs’ still hanging outside the east door, this was used in stopping offenders of the church from attending the service, whereby the individual was held by the neck while the church service took place. A common practice at the time. for more on the church history go to their website www.spottchurch.org.uk . Doon Hill East Lothian Doon Hill is on of the most important historic finds in Britain. A settlement on Doon Hill was found in 1964 and it is believed to be of two separate dwellings built in two different times, the first dated, Earlier Neolithic (Late Stone Age) Around 6,000 years and the later believed to be Bronze Age about 2000 years ago. There is also evidence of Bronze age Graves and a structure (possible Chapel). Doon Hill is where Leslie camped over night with his covenanter Army on the 2nd September 1650 before Cromwell's army crushed the Scots fighting for the English throne for Charles II of Scotland. The monument marking the Battle site can be found on the A1087 Dunbar road off the A1 going south. Broomhouse Stone East Lothian Broomhouse Standing stone made of red sandstone at 9 ft high stands overlooking the sea on a hill. Visible on the stones surface is three cup marks believed to be inscriptions and are seen on many Standing stones. The standing stone could date back to Iron age as many Iron age site have been discovered in East Lothian. Battle of Dunbar 1296 John Balliol became King of Scots in 1292 after arbitration by Edward I who decided that Balliol would be helpful to him at a later date. However this did not happen due to the demands of Edward John rebelled and a war ensued. On the 27 April 1296 an English force which was part of the army that had Dunbar under siege defeated the army of Scots at the Spott burn prior to Edward I arrival with the main English forces on the 28th April when Dunbar Castle surrendered to Edward I. John Balliol King of Scots was forced to abdicate on the 8th July at Montrose, where he was stripped of his Royal regalia leaving the Scottish Throne vacant. It was only 10 months before William Wallace humiliated the same English Army at Stirling Bridge and sent the English running. Next - Stenton Village
- Edinburgh Athletics running guide | Marathon | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh Athletics running guide Running Jumping throwing individual team or group activity any age edinburgh free venue meadows or ash tracks Edinburgh Athletics Running Guide Athletics in Edinburgh Lothians and Scottish Borders Running Tracks, and Multi Sports Stadia SPORTS Portobello Running Club Tumbles Portobello 20 Westbank Street Edinburgh EH15 1DR admin@portobellorunners.co.uk Beach Running Cross Country Road Running Hill Running Ultra Distances Corstorphine AAC Saughton Running Track Stevenson Drive Edinburgh EH11 3HB secretary@caac.org.uk Track & Field Cross Country Disability Athletics Road Running Hill Running Ultra Distances Gala Harriers Tweedbank Outdoor Sports Complex Tweedbank Industrial Estate Tweedbank Galashiels TD1 3RS 01896 752 907 president@galaharriers.co.uk Cross Country Disability Athletics Road Running Hill Running Track & Field Ultra Distances Ferranti Athletics Club The Meadows Melville Drive Edinburgh City of Edinburgh EH9 9EX Eddie McDonald liz.eddie@hotmail.co.uk 0131 258 9479 Cross Country Road Running Hill Running University of Edinburgh Athletics Club Centre for Sport and Exercise Pleasance Edinburgh EH8 9TJ euhhsecretary@gmail.com Cross Country Disability Athletics Road Running Hill Running Track & Field Ultra Distances Hunters Bog Trotters Athletics Club East Meadows Melville Drive Edinburgh EH9 1JU RYPT@lineone.net 0131 441 6219 Cross Country Road Running Hill Running Ultra Distances Sri Chinmoy Athletic Club Meadows Melville Drive Edinburgh EH9 1JU tarit@runandbecome.com 0131 467 3977 Cross Country Road Running Hill Running Ultra Distances Edinburgh Athletics Club Meadowbank Sports Centre London Road Edinburgh EH7 6AE secretary@edinburghac.org.uk Track & Field Cross Country Disability Athletics Road Running Hill Running Track & Field Ultra Distances Musselburgh and District Athletics Club Pinkie Playing Fields Musselburgh EH21 7HA fionajgreer@hotmail.com 07955 337 993 Track & Field Cross Country Disability Athletics Road Running Hill Running Ultra Distances Musselburgh and District Athletics Club Meadowmill Sports Centre Tranent EH33 1LZ fionajgreer@hotmail.com 07955 337 993 Track & Field Cross Country Disability Athletics Road Running Hill Running Ultra Distances Dunbar Running Club Hallhill Centre Kellie Road Dunbar EH42 1RF Dunbar.running@gmail.com 01368 840381 Track & Field Cross Country Disability Athletics Road Running Hill Running Ultra Distances
- Edinburgh Hovercrafting Activity
Edinburgh Hovercrafting Activity float over the ground or water at high speeds in a solo hovercraft EDINBURGH HOVERCRAFTING ACTIVITY Hovercrafting in a single seater Hovercraft floating on land or sea at high speed. Race against your friends all equipment supplied With a purpose built circuit drive on a cushion of air in the mini hovercraft a one of challenge. Activities Winton Castle Pencaitland East Lothian EH34 5AT Scotland 01875 340 222 Craigluscar Activities Craigluscar Farm Dunfermline Fife KY12 9HT 01383 738 429
- St Andrews | St Mary's Quad | All About Edinburgh
St Mary's Quad is a courtyard area with historic buildings all around Statue of the founder of the University a large tree and other historic sites plus amuseumand library. The oldest part of the University. St Mary's Quad St Andrews St Mary's College St Andrews. St Mary's College, founded a College of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary and is the home of the Faculty and School of Divinity within the University of St Andrews in Scotland. The college is located on South Street, on the present site of the King James library and Parliament Hall, to the immediate east of the present St Marys College buildings. Parts of the original college buildings were incorporated into the King James library and adjoining structures in the nineteenth century. St Johns College was reinstated by Cardinal David Beaton under the name the "New College of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary" or "St Mary's College" in 1538. At its foundation in 1538 St Mary's was intended to be a College for instruction in Divinity, Law, and Medicine, as well as in Arts, but its career on this extensive scale was short-lived. Under a new foundation and erection, confirmed by Parliament in 1579, it was set apart for the study of Theology only, and it has remained a Divinity College ever since. St Mary's College retains much of its original sixteenth-century buildings, specifically the north and West ranges. St Andrews University St Mary's Quad St Andrews St Andrews University founded in 1413 is the oldest University in Scotland. St John's College of the University of St Andrews as a constituent college was founded circa 1420. Precursor to the present-day St Mary's College St Mary's Quad Archway St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews "In principio erat verbum" Latin phrase that means "In the beginning was the Word" The quote above the main entrance on South Street to St Mary's Quad St Andrews King James Library St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews King James Library History St Mary’s College Library, and Parliament Hall, where the Scottish parliament was held in 1645-46. The common library in St Andrews was founded by King James VI & I in 1612. With gifts from The Royal family, Archbishop of Canterbury and Royal Librarian. It was not until 1642 that the building on South Street which now houses the King James Library, opened as a library. The Upper Hall was allocated to Regis Professor James Gregory as his workplace from 1668-1674. In 1773 the library was extended and re-modelled to what King James Library is today. In 1976 due to the volume of students and books a new Library building was opened on North Street in 1976. Archbishop James Beaton's House St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews Archbishop James Beaton the founder of St Mary's College in 1538. Previous to that he also became Chancellor of Scotland (1515) a very powerful man of the time. Born in Raith, Fife, Scotland in 1477 and died in St Andrews Castle 1539. Principals House St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews Part of the oldest remaining buildings of St Mary’s college. Archbishop John Hamilton Founders House and Tower St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews John Hamilton Built the Founders house and tower circa 1550 Hamilton Tower Coat of Arms St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews The coat of arms above the tower door, now weathered is Archbishop John Hamilton's Mary's Sundial St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews The large stone pillar sundial outside the Hamilton Building. Muriel Duncan (Bird Bath) St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews Close to the Sundial a stone bird bath was placed by Muriel Duncan, the first woman lecturer at St Andrews circa 1916. Bishop Wardlaw Statue St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews Henry Wardlaw was a founder of the university. The Statue was unveiled on the 29 June 2013 The statue depicts Bishop Henry Wardlaw in full Episcopal vestments displaying the Papal Bull on the day that it arrived in St Andrews in his raised right hand. He is carrying his crozier in his left hand. Bell Pettigrew Museum St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews Access through Gardens in St Mary’s Quad South Street The Pettigrew Museum opened in 1838 by the Literary and Philosophical Society. A partnership between, University and town. In 1912 the museum had to be moved from Upper College Hall to the New Bell Pettigrew Museum. The Bell Pettigrew Museum of Natural History is open to everyone during term breaks. Entry is free. Queen Mary's Hazel Tree St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews The Hazel thorn tree said to have been planted by Mary, Queen of Scots, during her many visits to St. Andrews circa 1560. Great Holm Oak Tree St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews Oak Tree (Quercus ilex) planted 1740 in St Mary’s Quadrangle Original Boundary Gateway St Mary's Quad St Andrews Henry Wardlaw was a founder of the university. The ruined archway is the original boundary Gateway circa 1420. The fire of 1727 destroyed the buildings on the southern side of the quad. St Mary's Do'cot St Mary's Quad South Street St Andrews A Do'cot was a source of fresh meat
- Scottish Rugby Clubs | Pro 14 Teams | All Abut Edinburgh
Scottish Rugby clubs guide Pro 14 clubs, 6 Nations Home Stadia. A guide and contact details of rugby teams and clubs in Edinburgh, East Lothian, West Lothian, Midlothian and Scottish Borders. SRU find a club or follow a team. SCOTTISH RUGBY GUIDE Scottish Rugby Clubs Regional & National Teams Edinburgh, Midlothian East Lothian, West Lothian Scottish Borders 6 Nations International Teams All Sports EDINBURGH RUGBY CLUBS Inverleith RFC Arboretum Arboretum Road Edinburgh EH3 5PN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 5523123 Email www.inverleithrugby.co.uk Boroughmuir RFC Meggetland Colinton Road Edinburgh EH14 1AS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 443 7571 hello@boroughmuirsports.co.uk Broughton RFC Wardie Park Granton Road Edinburgh EH5 3NJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 552 6780 Email www.broughtonrugby.co.uk Currie RFC Malleny Park Balerno Edinburgh EH14 7AF City of Edinburgh Scotland TEL Email www.currierugby.org Edinburgh Academical FC Comleybank park Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HQ City of Edinburgh Scotland TEL secretary@edinburghaccies.com www.edinburghaccies.com Edinburgh Northern RFC Inverleith Park East Fettes Avenue Edinburgh EH4 1DN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 3911 Edinburgh RFC Murrayfield Stadium Roseburn Street Edinburgh EH12 5PJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 346 5252 info@edinburghrugby.org www.edinburghrugby.org Edinburgh University RFC Peffermill playing fields Peffermill Road Edinburgh EH8 9TJ City of Edinburgh Scotland www.edunirugby.co.uk Forrester RFC Forrester Park South Gyle Access Edinburgh EH12 9FR City of Edinburgh Scotland Tel: 0131 3346981 enquires@forrester-rfc.co.uk www.forrester-rfc.co.uk Heriot's RFC Goldenacre Bangholm Terrace Edinburgh EH3 5QN City of Edinburgh Scotland shine@thelimelight.org.uk www.heriotsrugbyclub.co.uk Leith Rugby Club Leith Academy Academy Park Edinburgh EH6 8JQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 554 1111 LeithRFC@gmail.com Liberton FP RFC kirk Brae Playing Fields Double Hedges Road Edinburgh EH16 6TS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 6643226 Moray House RFC Jack Kane Sports Centre Niddrie Mains Road Edinburgh EH16 4ND City of Edinburgh Scotland Murrayfield Wanderers FC Murrayfield Stadium Roseburn Street Edinburgh EH12 5PH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 8993 info@murrayfieldwanderers.co.uk www.murrayfieldwanderers.co.uk Portobello FP RFC Duddingston Road West Cavalry Park Edinburgh EH15 3QN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 661 4554 barry.a.sinclair@talk21.com Royal Dick Veterinary College RFC Peffermill playing fieds Peffermill Road Edinburgh EH16 5LL City of Edinburgh Scotland Royal High Corstorphine RFC Union Park Saughton Road North Edinburgh EH12 7DY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 334 8063 president@rhcrugby.co.uk www.rhcrugby.co.uk Royal High Cougars Union Park Carrick Knowe Parkway Edinburgh EH12 7EF City of Edinburgh Scotland Stewart's Melville FP RFC Inverleith Ferry Road Edinburgh EH5 2DW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 551 2331 Email www.stewmelrugby.com Trinity Academicals RFC Bangholm Craighall Gardens Edinburgh EH6 4AR City of Edinburgh Scotland Watsonians FC Myreside Myreside Road Edinburgh EH10 5DB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 447 9151 Email www.watsoniansrugby.com 6 NATIONS RUGBY TEAMS Scotland RFU Murrayfield Stadium Roseburn Street Edinburgh EH12 5PJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 346 5000 info@sru.org.uk www.scottishrugby.org Ireland RFU Aviva Stadium Lansdowne Road Dublin 4 Dublin Ireland +353(0) 915 61568 info@irishrugby.ie www.irishrugby.ie Italy RFU Stadio Olimpico Via Foro Italico Rome 135 Rome Italy +39 0645213114 @ acimbrico@federugby.it www.federugby.it France RFU Stade de France Zac de Cornillion Nord Saint-Denis Paris France 01 69 63 65 11 www.ffr.fr England RFU Twickenham Stadium Whitton Road London TW2 7BA London England 0208 892 8877 info@rfu.com www.rfu.com Wales RFU Millennium Stadium Westgate Street Cardiff CF10 1NS Cardiff Wales 0844 249 1999 info@wru.co.uk www.wru.co.uk WEST LOTHIAN RUGBY TEAMS Bo'ness Rugby Club Bo'ness Recreation Centre Gauze Road Bo'ness EH51 9QB West Lothian Scotland Linlithgow RFC Mains Park Mains Road Linlithgow EH49 6DB West Lothian Scotland 01506 845087 mail@rugby.linlithgow.com www.rugby.linlithgow.com Livingston RFC Almond Park Craigshill Livingston EH54 5NP West Lothian Scotland 01506 434695 Email www.livingstonrugbyclub.com Queensferry Rugby Football Club Queensferry Dundas Avenue South Queensferry EH30 9JN West Lothian SCOTTISH BORDERS RUGBY TEAMS Berwick RFC Derwent water Terrace Scremerston Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2QY Scottish Borders Scotland www.berwickrugbyclub.co.uk Biggar RFC Biggar Rugby Club Hartree mill Biggar ML12 6QS Scottish Borders Scotland 01899 221219 www.biggarrfc.org.uk Duns RFC Castle Park Langton gate Duns TD11 3QQ Scottish Borders Scotland 07866 703 716 derekwsimpson@btinternet.com Earlston RFC The Haugh Mill Road Earlston TD4 6DG Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 849601 www.earlstonrfc.org.uk Gala RFC G Arena Netherdale Nether Road Galashiels TD1 3HE Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 755145 info@ galarfc.com www.galarfc.com Gala Star Vet 3G Arena Nether Road Galashiels TD1 3HE Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 800 340 Gala YM 3G Arena Nether Road Galashiels TD1 3HE Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 800 340 Hawick Harlequins RFC Wilton Lodge Park Wilton Lodge Park Road Hawick TD9 7JL Scottish Borders Scotland hawickharlequins@btinternet.com www.hawickharlequinsrfc.co.uk Hawick Linden RFC Volunteer Park Buccleuch Road Hawick TD9 0EH Scottish Borders Scotland Hawick RFC Mansfield Park Mansfield Road Hawick TD9 8AW Scottish Borders Scotland 01450 370707 secretary@hawickrfc.co.uk www.hawickrfc.co.uk Hawick YM RFC Rugby Football & Social Club Orrock Place Hawick TD9 0HQ Scottish Borders Scotland 01450 373179 www.hawickymrfc.co.uk EAST LOTHIAN RUGBY TEAMS Dunbar RFC Hallhill Sports Centre Kellie Road Dunbar EH42 1RF East Lothian Scotland 01368 864011 www.dunbar-rfc.org.uk Haddington RFC Neilson Park Mill Wynd Haddington EH41 4DB East Lothian Scotland 01620 823702 www.haddingtonrfc.co.uk Musselburgh RFC Park Stoneyhill Farm Road Musselburgh EH21 6RN East Lothian Scotland 0131 665 3435 www.musselburghrfc.com North Berwick RFC Recreation Park Dunbar Road North Berwick EH39 4DG East Lothian Scotland 0620 893 503 www.northberwickrfc.co.uk Preston Lodge RFC Pennypit Park Rope Walk Prestonpans EH32 9BE East Lothian Scotland 01875 813798 Ross High RFC Ross High Playing Fields Blawearie Road Tranent EH33 2DB East Lothian Scotland 01875 611645 rugby@rosshighrfc.co.uk www.rosshighrfc.co.uk MIDLOTHIAN RUGBY TEAMS Dalkeith RFC Park Eskbank Road Dalkeith EH22 3BQ Midlothian Scotland www.dalkeithrfc.co.uk Lasswade RFC Hawthornden Rosewell Road Bonnyrigg EH19 3PR Midlothian Scotland 0131 663 8452 lasswaderfc@btconnect.com www.lasswaderfc.co.uk Penicuik RFC Old Pavilion Public Park Penicuik EH26 8AU Midlothian Scotland 01968 676771 info@penicuikrugby.org www.penicuikrugby.org SCOTTISH BORDERS RUGBY TEAMS Jedburgh Thistle RFC Lothian Park Howdenburn Drive Jedburgh TD8 6NP Scottish Borders Scotland Jed-Forest RFC Riverside Park Bonjedward Jedburgh TD8 6UE Scottish Borders Scotland www.jedforestrfc.com Kelso RFC Poynder Park Poynder Place Kelso TD5 7EH Scottish Borders Scotland 01573-224300/ 223773 rugby@kelsorfc.co.uk www.kelsorfc.co.uk Langholm RFC Langholm Milntown Langholm DG13 0HG Scottish Borders Scotland 013873 81670 Melrose RFC The Greenyards High Street Melrose TD6 9SA Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 823424 rugby@melrose.bordernet.co.uk www.melroserugby.bordernet.co.uk Moffat RFC The Holm Selkirk Road Moffat DG10 9JQ Scottish Borders Scotland 01683220 003 ewanbell@nhs.net www.moffatramsrfc.org Peebles RFC Park Eastgate Peebles EH45 8AD Scottish Borders Scotland 01721 720494 peeblesrfc@talktalk.net www.peeblesrfc.org Selkirk RFC PHIL PARK Tower Street Selkirk TD7 4LS Scottish Borders Scotland www.selkirkrfc.com St Boswells RFC Jenny Moore's Road St Boswells Melrose TD6 0AL Scottish Borders Scotland Walkerburn RFC Park Montgomery Street Innerleithen EH44 6JP Scottish Borders Scotland secretary@walkerburnrugby.org.uk www.wakerburnrugby.org.uk
- Textiles | Scottish Crafts | All About Edinburgh
Canongate Jersey and Crafts shop in the Royal mile Edinburgh for authentic Scottish handmade goods. Specialise in textiles both Celtic Pictish Crafts. Canongate Jerseys & Crafts Canongate Royal Mile, 164 - 166, Canongate, Edinburgh, EH8 8DD Telephone +44(0)131 557 2967 Welcome to Canongate Jerseys & Crafts. We are a small, family-run business established in the Canongate, Edinburgh since 1978. We specialise in Celtic and Pictish art in knitwear, textiles and crafts. Our stock, which is all made in Scotland - mainly by small independent craftworkers, or small businesses. We also produce a range of hand-knitted or hand-framed knitwear, designed and made exclusively for sale in our shop. When you are in Edinburgh visit us in our Shop in at 164 - 166 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD Heather & Julie We have in stock a range of exclusive knitwear for men and women, designed by Heather, with traditional and original designs inspired by the rock art of Scotland. We also offer a made to measure service at no extra cost, but we can only offer this service to customers in the shop. We sell various textiles made in Scotland. Handknitting from the Shetland Isles, renowned for their Fair-Isle patterns, includes ladies wear in jerseys, gloves, hats and scarves. Hand-woven Harris tweed includes wraps, bags, purses, scarves and even slippers. Also, a large range of throws, wraps, serapes, scarves and cushion covers in chenille by Calzeat - a feast of colour. All our crafts are sourced here in Scotland, mainly from small local businesses or individual craftworkers. back to top Next - Places to Visit
- Royal Botanic Gardens | Edinburgh Attractions | All About Edinburgh
Royal Botanic Garden (RGBE) for short has one of the largest collection of plants from around the world. In grounds of over 70 acres with glass houses, rock gardens, Japanese garden, arboritum with squirrels and birds. With a restaurant, shop and cafe its a great place to spend the day Free Entry Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh The Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh was first sited at Holyrood Park beside Holyrood Abbey in 1670. It moved to near Leith Wynd in 1675 which stretch from where Cranston Street off the Royal Mile is now to Calton Road. The Physic Garden which was removed due to Waverley Station being built 1763 spent a period of time in Leith Walk 1763 -1820 where it remained before finally moving to its present location at Inverleith in 1820. The Gardens were the imagination of two doctors Andrew Balfour who look after the Royal Gardens at Holyrood House Edinburgh 1695 and Robert Sibbald physician who collected plant specimens from all over Europe when on their travels, which were look after in the Physic Garden. The two Gardens coming together in 1820 at Inverleith. In the early 1900s a plant hunter George Forrest introduced over 10,000 specimens and the gardens continue to grow to this day. The Cottage in Leith can now be seen in the Royal Botanic Gardens grounds, as it has been rebuilt as it was in Leith. There is also a night light show annually within the Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. Royal Botanic Gardens 20a Inverleith Row Edinburgh Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh East Gate Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh John Hope West Gate The Glass Houses Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. The large glass house in the Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh (RBGE) was opening by HRH Princess Margaret on 25th October 1967, further glass houses were opened to store the many different varieties of plants and flowers. Rock Garden Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh The Rock Garden has a collection of over 5,000 plants from mountain, Mediterranean and Arctic climates around the world. There are concentrations of plants from China, Europe, Japan, Nepal, North and South America and South Africa. Britain’s Tallest Palm House Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh The Temperate Palm house in Edinburgh's Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh opened in 1858 and was the tallest in the UK. It became one of the must see things of its time in the UK as most people had never travelled overseas and the plants and trees were a massive attraction. Inverleith House Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. Inverleith House was built in 1774 for Sir James Rocheid and his family on his estate, which would have covered Inverleith Park, Botanic Gardens and part of Stockbridge. The Botanic Gardens today stands on most of the Rocheid estate. In 1877 the Botanic Gardens took over all but Inverleith Park of the estate. ( Front and rear The Gardeners Cottage Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. The Botanic Gardens Cottage stood at Shrub hill of Leith Walk and was taken brick by brick and rebuilt in the botanic gardens. The Cottage was the lead gardener's house and entrance to the gardens The cottage was designed by the leading architects of the time James Craig and John Adam and built in 1765. The cottage also had a classroom to tech Botany to Edinburgh students. The Gardeners Cottage Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. There are two plaques with inscriptions. In honour of ALL THE PEOPLE who have tended this place with care, passion and dedication. their legacy lives all around us. The Botanic Cottage Built Leith Walk 1765 Rebuilt Inverleith 2015. To the memory of John Williamson who during twenty years of faithful service as Principal Gardener in this place was no less respected for the good qualities suited to his station in life than esteemed for eminent skill in his profession this monument is erected by John Hope1781 Removed from the Botanic Garden Leith Walk September 1823 Old Beech Hedge Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. The Old Beech hedge stands at circa 8m (156 ft) in Height and 165 m (535 ft) in length. First planted in 1906 with 200 young beech trees, today only 158 trees are in the Hedge. Thought to be one of the oldest hedges in Scotland at over 110 years. HRH Queen Mother's Garden Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. This area is dedicated to the late Queen Mother and has over 10.000 plants. The centre Labyrinth is formed with interlocking E space as her name Elizabeth. With a pavilion trees hedge and flowers it is a remarkable memorial to a great Lady. Caledonian Hall Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. The Royal Caledonian Horticultural Society built the Caledonian Hall in 1841 to hold flower shows. 20 years later it had a change of use to a Herbarium, scientific reference collection of preserved plants which now has over 3 million specimens. Alpine House Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. The Alpine House provides a strict dry environment for plants All the plants are growing in clay pots and the Alpine House has a manmade climate to imitate the mountainous windy conditions where the plants would naturally grow. Chinese Hillside Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. The Chinese Hillside garden is planted to recreate a natural Chinese hillside garden setting with over 1600 plants found in the south west of China. The garden opened in 1997 and is the largest collection of Chinese plants growing outside China. Edinburgh New Town Lilian Alcock (Nora Lilian Scott) Lilian Scott was born in August 1874 and married Nathaniel Alcock in 1905 a professor of physiology at McGill University in Canada. Lilian was the first government plant pathologist appointed in Scotland. She was the pioneer of the study of seed pathology and was honoured in 1935 with and MBE. She was appointed plant pathologist in Department of Agriculture for Scotland at Royal Botanic Garden in 1924 till her retirement in 1937. The plaque can be seen on the wall of 20a Inverleith Row Edinburgh. Aeolian Harp Pavilion Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. Aeolian Harp Pavilion was design and built in 2003 to commemorate an old Elm tree that had to be cut down due to contracting Dutch Elm Disease. Garden of Tranquillity Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. The Garden of Tranquillity is behind the East Gate Lodge. This garden was structured through donations and lottery funding for the use of all the people that wish to use it. Edinburgh New Town Inverleith Row Sibbald House The house named after Robert Sibbald who was born 15 April 1641 in Fife Scotland. He qualified as a physician in 1662, and his aim was to improve the faculties of medicine in Scotland. He with his cousin Andrew Balfour created a Physic Garden in 1670 with circa 1000 medicinal plants. Sibbald and Balfour went on to establish the College of Physicians in 1681. The Physic Garden went on to be the Royal Botanic Gardens in Edinburgh. A year later in 1682 Robert Sibbald was appointed Geographer Royal for Scotland. He died in 1722 make his life's work to the medical profession and the intellectual life of Edinburgh. He is buried in Greyfriars Kirkyard. Edinburgh New Town North East Edinburgh Statues
- Gilmerton and Liberton | All About Edinburgh
Liberton and Gilmerton were originally small hamlets (villages) south of Edinburgh. There are a few places to visit Liberton House Liberton Tower. Gilmerton Cove a secret cave network and the Butterfly and Insect World at Dobbies. Gilmerton and Liberton Liberton Tower & Liberton House The Liberton area in the south of Edinburgh derives its name from ‘lepers town', A Leper colony previously located in this area. The Little family were land owners here from circa 1590 first owning Liberton Tower then building Liberton House. Liberton Tower has grand furnished period interior over three floors and also an outside walkway. Liberton House is a mansion House with a Do'cot. Liberton House is haunted and sightings of ghostly apparitions have been seen and also voices in the night. Liberton Tower & Liberton House The Little family owned Liberton Tower from circa 1590, built circa 1450. William Little (Litil) younger brother of Clement both with association to the founding of the University of Edinburgh. William Little (Litil) was a Burgess and Lord Provost of Edinburgh built Liberton House circa 1600. Liberton Tower had been abandoned by circa 1610. There are inscriptions of 1675 and 1683 on Liberton House which was when the house was extended by decedents. There is also a Do’cot which all large houses had to provide fresh meat from the birds occupying the do’cot. Gilmerton Cove (Caves) Edinburgh Attractions The mystery of the Gilmerton Cove a secret hideout for the Knights Templar or an illegal drinking den. It is believed the caves were dug in early 1720s by a local blacksmith as a house. Go down the caves and decide for yourself. They can be found at 16 Drum Street Gilmerton. A small village that stood south of Edinburgh. This cave was dug out of rock by one George Paterson, a smithy. Completed in 1724 after five years hard labour, as reads the inscription on one of the chimney-heads. There are several compartments and were lived in by Paterson and his wife for many years. Gilmerton Cove Liberton Kirk There has been a religious building on this site from as far back as the 8th century. There is evidence of a chapel here, as mention was made in the Great Charter of Holyrood, signed in 1143. Liberton Kirk was not the first church on this site. the foundation stone of this building was laid in 1815 the old church being knocked down the previous year. Rev James Grant Plaque and Memorial Stone James Grant became the parish minister in August 1789 and dies in June 1831 and is remains are interned in the tower of the church. Erected in memorial of the long serving minister of almost 42 years Living Stones Cairn On the bicentenary of Liberton Kirk a stone cairn was erected at the south west corner of the church Its stones are a symbol of the church's “living stones” the people who continue to be the church of Jesus Christ in this place even though buildings change. Dr Guthrie’s Ragged School What is Guthrie Court nursing home was originally opened in 1887 as a Ragged School which replaced the first ragged school on Castlehill. The plaque reads; Founded by Dr Guthrie in Edinburgh 1847 transferred to Liberton 1887. Liberton Inn Edinburgh "Reuben Butler's House" The block of buildings have been at the centre of the old Liberton Village for centuries. The building at one time housed Liberton School and the master's house (Reuben Butler) from circa 1780 to 1889 when a new school was built. Reuben Butler, the sweetheart of Jennie Deans, in Walter Scott's 'Heart of Midlothian'. The corner building has been an In since circa 1850 and the rest was sold to a ironmonger in 1889 before it became a part of the Inn. a few years later. Melville Castle Edinburgh Melville Castle named after the first owner Galfrid De Melville Circa 1150. Melville Castle was also said to have been for a time owned by David Rizzio and Mary Queen of Scots often visited. Other Royals that have visited the castle are George IV in 1828 and in 1842 Queen Victoria visited Melville Castle when she was on her tour of Scotland. It is said that a ghost has been seen on many occasions and it is thought to be Queen Mary looking for David Rizzio. Melville Castle can be found at the very east end of Gilmerton Road at Melville Gate on the road to Dalkeith. The Dundas family crest which can be seen above the main entrance to Melville Castle THE MOTTO ON THE FAMILY CREST BELOW THE SHIELD (TRANSLATION) QUOD POTUI PERFECI (I HAVE DONE WHAT I COULD TO THE BEST OF MY ABILITY) INSCRIBED ABOVE THE LION'S HEAD (TRANSLATION) ESSAYEZ (KEEP TRYING) Butterfly World Butterfly and Insect World Edinburgh Attractions. Take a walk in the Reptile Room lizards, chameleons and giant snakes. See the Bugs and Beasties spiders, stick insects and, frogs and walk round while hundreds of multi coloured Butterflies flutter around you THIS ATTRACTION HAS CLOSED AFTER 40 YEARS Next - Golf Scotland
- Wedding Planners | Weddings | All About Edinburgh
Have your wedding plans taken away from your responsibility and let someone else take the strain wedding planners can get it done. They will help you get the wedding of your dreams without the hassel. They ahave the power and contacts to make it spacial. Wedding Planners Edinburgh The Wedding Planner can arrange Engagement to Marriage, Engagement Rings, Wedding Venues Hen Night, Stag Night, Spa Day, Wedding Bands, Wedding Stationery, Wedding Cars, Wedding Dresses, Bridesmaid Dresses, Wedding Day Flowers, Groom and Best mans Wedding Day Kilt or Suit Hire, Wedding Day Makeover Hair Dressers, Barbers, Nail Sculpture, Makeup Artist.
- Broughton Area | Shops & Businesses | All About Edinburgh
The Broughton Area is from the East end of Princes Street towards Leith. There is a multipex cinema and indoor food mall, many restaurants night clubs, bars hotels and other accommodation. The Playhouse Theatre and free outdoor basketball court. Close to city centre shops and attractions. BROUGHTON AREA EDINBURGH TOP OF LEITH SHOPS Retail Stores, Restaurants, Cafes, Accommodation, Night Clubs, Takeaways, Car Rental, Cinemas, Activities, Attractions The Streets in this area are; York Place, Picardy Place, Antigua Street, Union Place, Union Street, Leith Street, Greenside Place, Greenside Street, Greenside Row, Baxter's Place, Annandale Street Broughton Street, Albany Street, Forth Street, East London Street, Mansfield Place, London Street, Dublin Street Northumberland Place, Northumberland Street, Claremont Crescent, East Claremont Street Broughton History and Attractions LEITH STREET Newsroom Bar 5 Leith Street Edinburgh EH1 3AT City of Edinburgh Scotland Access Point 17 Leith Street Edinburgh EH1 3AT City of Edinburgh Scotland Central News 27 Leith Street Edinburgh EH1 3AT City of Edinburgh Scotland Emma Roy Bridal 31 Leith Street Edinburgh EH1 3AT City of Edinburgh Scotland Barish Café 37 Leith Street Edinburgh EH1 3AT City of Edinburgh Scotland B Kilted Kilt Hire 39 Leith Street Edinburgh EH1 3AT City of Edinburgh Scotland Deli Fresco 41 Leith Street Edinburgh EH1 3AT City of Edinburgh Scotland Black Bull Pub 43 Leith Street Edinburgh EH1 3AT City of Edinburgh Scotland ANNANDALE STREET Enterprise Car Rental 12 Annandale Street Edinburgh EH7 4AN 0131 557 0000 Lothian Trams & Buses 55 Annandale Street Edinburgh EH7 4AZ 0131 475 0177 GREENSIDE STREET Omni Centre 28 Greenside Street Edinburgh EH1 3AT City of Edinburgh Scotland Cosmo Restaurant Omni Centre Greenside Street Edinburgh EH1 3AN City of Edinburgh Scotland Filling Station Omni Centre Greenside Street Edinburgh EH1 3AN City of Edinburgh Scotland Franky and Benny's Omni Centre Greenside Street Edinburgh EH1 3AN City of Edinburgh Scotland Lloyd's No1 Bar Omni Centre Greenside Street Edinburgh EH1 3AN City of Edinburgh Scotland Nandos Restaurant Omni Centre Greenside Street Edinburgh EH1 3AN City of Edinburgh Scotland The Slug and Lettuce Omni Centre Greenside Street Edinburgh EH1 3AN City of Edinburgh Scotland Toni Macaroni Omni Centre Greenside Street Edinburgh EH1 3AN City of Edinburgh Scotland Virgin Active Health Club and Gym Omni Centre Greenside Street Edinburgh EH1 3AN City of Edinburgh Scotland Vue Cinema Omni Centre Greenside Street Edinburgh EH1 3AN City of Edinburgh Scotland GREENSIDE PLACE CC B looms 23 Greenside Place Edinburgh EH1 3AA City of Edinburgh Scotland Glasshouse Hotel 2 Greenside Place Edinburgh EH1 3AA City of Edinburgh Scotland Café Habanna 22 Greenside Place Edinburgh EH1 3AA City of Edinburgh Scotland Playhouse Theatre 18 Greenside Place Edinburgh EH1 3AA City of Edinburgh Scotland The Boards Restaurant 20 Greenside Place Edinburgh EH1 3AA City of Edinburgh Scotland Theatre Royal Bar 25 Greenside Place Edinburgh EH1 3AA City of Edinburgh Scotland Greenside Row Sixt Car Rental Greenside Row Edinburgh EH1 3AN 0844 576 0767 NORTHUMBERLAND PLACE Star Bar 1 Northumberland Place Edinburgh EH3 6LQ 0131 539 8070 NORTHUMBERLAND STREET Wally Dug 32 Northumberland Street Edinburgh EH3 6LS 0131 558 1593 Arden Property Management 35 Northumberland Street Edinburgh EH3 6LR 0131 516 8159 YORK PLACE Troon Fashion 1 York Place Edinburgh EH1 3EB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 4045 Blunted Barbers 1a York Place Edinburgh EH1 3EB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 8474 Fortitude Café 3c York Place Edinburgh EH1 3EB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 3063 Night Cap Bar and Restaurant 3 York Place Edinburgh EH1 3EB City of Edinburgh Scotland Genting Casino 5b York Place Edinburgh EH1 3EB City of Edinburgh Scotland Stringers 7 York Place Edinburgh EH1 3EB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 5432 York Place Hotel 28 York Place Edinburgh EH1 3EP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 7575 The Place Bar and Restaurant 34 York Place Edinburgh EH1 3HU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 7575 Premier Inn 44 York Place Edinburgh EH1 3HU City of Edinburgh Scotland Turquoise Thistle Restaurant 53 York Place Edinburgh EH1 3JD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5577 Indigo Hotel 59 York Place Edinburgh EH1 3JD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5577 Conan Doyle Pub and Restaurant York Place Edinburgh EH1 3JB City of Edinburgh Scotland PICARDY PLACE Bank of Scotland 6 Picardy Place Edinburgh EH1 3JT City of Edinburgh Scotland Picardy Place Bar & Restaurant 14 Picardy Place Edinburgh EH1 3JT City of Edinburgh Scotland The Wine House 1821 4 Picardy Place Edinburgh EH1 3JT City of Edinburgh Scotland Hertz Car Rental 10 Picardy Place Edinburgh EH1 3JT City of Edinburgh Scotland Holiday Inn Express 16 Picardy Place Edinburgh EH1 3JT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 2300 Neilson's Solicitors 2a Picardy Place Edinburgh EH1 3JT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5522 Tesco 8 Picardy Place Edinburgh EH1 3JT City of Edinburgh Scotland The Street 2b Picardy Place Edinburgh EH1 3JT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4272 UNION PLACE Giuliano's Restaurant 18 Union Place Edinburgh EH1 3NQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 6590 Passage to India 20 Union Place Edinburgh EH1 3NQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4547 Giuliano's Fish and Chips 22 Union Place Edinburgh EH1 3NQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 7771 Shezan Restaurant 25 Union Place Edinburgh EH1 3NQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 5098 UNION STREET MCM Hair 4A Union Street Edinburgh EH1 3LU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 2117 Phuket Pavilion 8 Union Street Edinburgh EH1 3LU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4323 BAXTER'S PLACE Marriott Residences Stevenson House Baxter's Place Edinburgh EH1 3AF City of Edinburgh Scotland Planet Bar 6 Baxter's Place Edinburgh EH1 3AF City of Edinburgh Scotland Taste of Italy Restaurant 9 Baxter's Place Edinburgh EH1 3AF City of Edinburgh Scotland ANTIGUA STREET Ada Turkish Restaurant 9a Antigua Street Edinburgh EH1 3NH City of Edinburgh Scotland Café Marlane Restaurant 13 Antigua Street Edinburgh EH1 3NH City of Edinburgh Scotland Deep Sea Takeaway 2 Antigua Street Edinburgh EH1 3NH City of Edinburgh Scotland Khushi's Restaurant 10 Antigua Street Edinburgh EH1 3NH City of Edinburgh Scotland Mamma Roma Bistro Café 4 Antigua Street Edinburgh EH1 3NH City of Edinburgh Scotland Mamma Roma Restaurant 7 Antigua Street Edinburgh EH1 3NH City of Edinburgh Scotland Picture Frame 8 Antigua Street Edinburgh EH1 3NH City of Edinburgh Scotland Pomegranate Restaurant 1 Antigua Street Edinburgh EH1 3NH City of Edinburgh Scotland Power House Fitness 14 Antigua Street Edinburgh EH1 3NH City of Edinburgh Scotland ELDER STREET Edinburgh Bus Station 2 Elder Street Edinburgh EH1 3DX City of Edinburgh Scotland Jack Brown Eye Care 30 Elder Street Edinburgh EH1 3DX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 3531 Elder York Guest House 38 Elder Street Edinburgh EH1 3DX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1926 FORTH STREET Natural Selection Foods 2a Forth Street Edinburgh EH1 3LD City of Edinburgh Scotland Thomson House Atom Consultants 4a Forth Street Edinburgh EH1 3LD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 8470 Edinburgh Yoga Rooms 5 Forth Street Edinburgh EH1 3JX City of Edinburgh Scotland Burger Meats Bun 1 Forth Street Edinburgh EH1 3JX City of Edinburgh Scotland Regent House Hotel 3 Forth Street Edinburgh EH1 3JX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1616 ABERCROMBIE PLACE Karens Unicorn 8 Abercrombie Place Edinburgh EH3 6LB 0131 558 8420 Inchgrove House 17a Abercromby Place Edinburgh EH3 6QE 0131 225 4343 Gerald Della-Porta 21b Abercromby Place Edinburgh EH3 6QE 0131 558 7017 Royal Scots Club 29 Abercrombie Place Edinburgh EH3 6QE 0131 556 4270 Open Eye Gallery 34 Abercromby Place Edinburgh EH3 6QE 0131 557 1020 Fitness First 30 Abercrombie Place Edinburgh EH3 6QE 0131 558 7887 EAST LONDON STREET TriBeca Bar and Grill 7 East London Street Edinburgh EH7 4BN City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Nursery 13 East London Street Edinburgh EH7 4BN City of Edinburgh Scotland Avis Car Rental 24 East London Street Edinburgh EH7 4BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland Budget Car Rental 24 East London Street Edinburgh EH7 4BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland MANSFIELD PLACE Mansfield Traquair Centre 15 Mansfield Place Edinburgh EH3 8BB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 555 8474 Move Freely Physo 9 Mansfield Place Edinburgh EH3 6NB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 4404 CLAREMONT CRESCENT Elas Guest House 10 Claremont Crescent Edinburgh EH7 4HX 0131 556 1929 Claremont Hotel 15 Claremont Crescent Edinburgh EH7 4HX 0131 556 1487 LONDON STREET Ox Gastro Pub 51 London Street Edinburgh EH3 6LX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9808 Moleta Munro Lighting 47 London Street Edinburgh EH3 6LX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4800 London Street Sauna 41 London Street Edinburgh EH3 6LX City of Edinburgh Scotland Life Story Fashion 53 London Street Edinburgh EH3 6LX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 9699 EAST CLAREMONT STREET Claremont Guest House 2 East Claremont Street Edinburgh EH7 4JP 0131 558 7868 Bellevue Guest House 8 East Claremont Street Edinburgh EH7 4JP 0131 556 4862 Stuart Guest House 12 East Claremont Street Edinburgh EH7 4JP 0131 557 9030 A Flat in Town 36 East Claremont Street Edinburgh EH7 4JR 0131 652 7393 Tankard Guest House 40 East Claremont Street Edinburgh EH7 4JR 0131 556 4218 McCrae's B'n'B 44 East Claremont Street Edinburgh EH7 4JR 0131 556 2610 Spitaki Greek Taverna 133 East Claremont Street Edinburgh EH7 4JA 0131 556 5562 BROUGHTON STREET Basement 12 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 0097 Rollo Bar Restaurant 14 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 477 2724 Something Fishy 18 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RH City of Edinburgh Scotland Café Piccante Takaway 19 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3JU City of Edinburgh Scotland Chequers Takeaway 20 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RH City of Edinburgh Scotland Egg Hair and Beauty 23 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3JU City of Edinburgh Scotland The Assay Office 24 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RH City of Edinburgh Scotland Mathers Bar 25 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3JU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 6754 Simpson and Marwick 26 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SB City of Edinburgh Scotland Greggs Bakery 27 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3JU City of Edinburgh Scotland 01315560854 Broughton News Agency 28 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 5566812 Ladbrokes Bookmaker 29 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3JU City of Edinburgh Scotland Vino 30 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SB City of Edinburgh Scotland Educated Flea Restaurant 32 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3BS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 8092 Edens Kitchen 32c Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 6588 Boombarbers 34 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 6363 Real Foods 35 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3JU City of Edinburgh Scotland Seasons Café 36 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SB City of Edinburgh Scotland Blue Morpho 36a Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SB City of Edinburgh Scotland BROUGHTON STREET Treacle Café Bistro 39 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3JU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 0627 Paige Connor Hair 40 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SA City of Edinburgh Scotland New Town Deli 42 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 3837 Firth of Forth Bistro 43 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3JU City of Edinburgh Scotland Nice Stuff 44 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SA City of Edinburgh Scotland Soderger Bakery 45 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3JU City of Edinburgh Scotland Phoenix Bar 46 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 0234 48 Below Club 46a Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 0234 Den of Iniquity Tattoo Parlor 47 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3EJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Concrete Wardrobe 48 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SA City of Edinburgh Scotland Essential Therapy 49 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3EJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Villeneuve Wines 49a Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3EJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Shamoon's Newsagent 50 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SA City of Edinburgh Scotland Smoke Stack 53 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3EJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 6032 Joey D 54 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SA City of Edinburgh Scotland Kathy's Knitts 54a Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SA City of Edinburgh Scotland Le' scargos Bleu 56 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 1600 Pickles 56a Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 5005 Artisan Roast 57 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0759 059 0667 BROUGHTON STREET Nom De Plum Cafe 60 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3SA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 478 1372 Broughton Property Management 61 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Allan Hair 67 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Coco on Broughton 71 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Nursery 71a Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Asti Restaurant 73 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 9156 Rapido Takeaway 77 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Barony Bar 85 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 2874 Narcissus Flowers 87 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Olive Branch Bistro 91 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 6RX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 8589 Curiouser Prints and Frames 93 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 6RX City of Edinburgh Scotland Crombies Butchers 95 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 6RX City of Edinburgh Scotland Apple Pharmacy 105 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1054 Lamesley Bridal 109 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 01315 566 384 Art House 111 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Dragonfly Gifts 111a Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Cask And Barrel Bar 115 Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 3132 St Mary's R.C.Cathedral Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3JD City of Edinburgh Scotland St Paul's & St George's Broughton Street Edinburgh EH1 3RH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1335 Dublin Street DUBLIN STREET Mosko Hairdressers 9 Dublin Street Edinburgh EH1 3PG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 6968 The Square Sandwich Bar 7 Dublin Street Edinburgh EH1 3PG City of Edinburgh Scotland Connell & Connell WS 10 Dublin Street Edinburgh EH1 3PR City of Edinburgh Scotland DUBLIN STREET New Town Bar 26b Dublin Street Edinburgh EH3 6NN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 538 7775 Stac Polly 29 Dublin Street Edinburgh EH3 6NL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 2231 Bus Station Backpackers 30a Dublin Street Edinburgh EH3 6NN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 467 3241 ALBANY STREET The Magnum Bar & Restaurant 1 Albany Street Edinburgh EH1 3QB City of Edinburgh Scotland Phoenix Fitness 31b Albany Street Edinburgh EH1 3QN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 8711 Ballantrae Albany Hotel 39 Albany Street Edinburgh EH1 3QY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 2959 ALBANY STREET Serap Couture Bridal Shop 4 Albany Street EH1 3QB Edinburgh City Of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 8388 Hudson House 8 Albany Street Edinburgh EH1 3QB City of Edinburgh Scotland Next - Canomills Shops & Businesses
- North Berwick | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
North Berwick with 2 golf courses, 2 magnificant golden sand beaches, holiday accommodtion, regular trains from Edinburgh 30 minutes away and plenty for the kids putting play areas tennis and basketball courts. See you soon. North Berwick East Lothian Coast Berwick Law North Berwick North Berwick Law, Law being an ancient word for rounded hill. North Berwick Law is a Volcanic plug over 300 million years old as the Castle rock is in Edinburgh. The first evidence of buildings on the Law is a Iron Age Hill Fort and further buildings date from the mid 1500s, 1800s and 1900s The first whale bones were erected on the North Berwick Law in 1709. Berwick Law due to its position on the east coast can be seen for 10s of miles, a good place to see it from is the Calton Hill in Edinburgh which shows how it was a important lookout for ships that were looking to invade Edinburgh. The hill is only just over 600 feet to the top 187 meters. The summit stone reads “live for the moment North Berwick East Lothian is 28 miles (45 klms) from Edinburgh a 45 minute drive or a 30 minute train ride. Once a small fishing village that has grown into a small town by the sea, with golden sand beaches, golf courses, great walks and historic places to visit. This was the holiday destination of Robert Louis Stevenson as his grandfather owned a house 'Anchor Villa' No.10 West Bay Road. It was demolished and replaced by another house. St Andrew’s Auld Kirk North Berwick East Lothian Coast St Andrew’s Kirk was a major site in the 12th century as pilgrims from all over Britain would visit this church prior to continuing their journey to St Andrews the home of Christianity in Scotland. The first Church on this site was circa 750 BC. It is thought that in the 12th century the Kirk was built by the Earl of Fife who owned the coastal lands around North Berwick as well as a castle that overlooked the East Bay. The Kirk at the harbour was abandoned in 1652 after a great storm and below is the porch which is all that remains. It is said that a ferry that took pilgrims over the water landed at Earlsferry in Fife as the Queens ferry would travel across the water to the areas called Queensferry on the other side of Edinburgh. The pilgrims believed that all their sins would be forgiven and any illnesses healed if the prayed in-front of St Andrew’s bones. Anchor Green North Berwick East Lothian Coast Circa 1590 it is said that 200 witches danced around Anchor Green while listening to the Devil preach from the pulpit. The witches were trying to summoned a store to sink the ships of James VI. A servant girl, Gelie Duncan was tortured until she confessed to the happenings. Gelie Duncan and many others were burned at the stake in Edinburgh for their part in the ritual. The old St Andrews burial ground is where the present seabird centre stands now. When the old burial ground which lay where the Seabird centre stands now was excavated, coffins were found dating back over 300 years. Red Celtic Memorial Cross North Berwick East Lothian Coast The red granite cross in front of the Seabird Centre is a memorial to Catherine Watson. The inscription reads: “Erected in memory of Catherine Watson of Glasgow, aged 19 who drowned in the East Bay, 27th July 1889 while rescuing a drowning boy. The child was saved, the brave girl was taken” It was created by her fellow art students. Following a drowning accident in 1889 Sir Walter Hamilton-Dalrymple initiated a subscription for a memorial cross to be erected on Anchor Green. The Red Granite Celtic Cross, with the inscription ‘ Erected in memory of Catherine Watson of Glasgow, aged 19 who drowned in the East Bay, 27th July 1889 while rescuing a drowning boy. The child was saved, the brave girl was taken.’ The memorial was designed by S. McGlashen in 1890. RNLI & Air Force Coastal Command North Berwick East Lothian Two memorials to the long service of the people that watch out for all in distress at see The RNLI lifeboat Crews and the pilots of the Royal Air Force Coastal Command North Berwick East Lothian. Robert Louis Stevenson Lane North Berwick East Lothian Robert Stevenson the engineer and lighthouse builder had a summerhouse in North Berwick and his grandson Robert Louis Stevenson the Author and poet spent his summers in North Berwick. The locals have made a lane in the centre of the High Street a memorial to the Stevensons with pictures and writings and a mural on the walls of the lane. Ben Sayers Putting Green North Berwick East Lothian Ben Sayers the golf company was founded in 1873 and is the oldest in the world. Ben Sayers was born in Fox Lane in Leith on the 23rd June 1856. He started making golf balls at the age of 20 he also player in many golf open championships. Ben’s wife was the only employee and made upto twelve dozen golf balls a day. Davie Strath a Scottish professional Golfer and ball maker died in 1879, his mould and ball making machine came up for auction, James Law bought it for Ben Sayers, which began a career in golf manufacturing. The first clubs Ben invented were the ‘Benny’ and ‘jigger’ In 1898 was when Ben Sayers described himself as a ‘golf club manufacturer’ prior to that he called himself a ball maker. Ben Sayers died in 1917. Making clubs and balls opening golf clubs and designing golf courses worldwide. A man of great stature standing at 5′ 3″ tall (1.6 mtrs). The statue of Ben Sayers stands at the edge of the first putting green which opened 14 June 1920 Five Islands @ North Berwick The Five islands of North Berwick are The Bass Rock, Lamb, Craigleith, Fidra and May all All have their own story. Link to Islands North Berwick Island Compass On the harbour there is a compass which shows the position of the islands and their names North Berwick Coastal Communities Museum The Coastal Communities Museum in North Berwick covers the history of the area from the Romans and when it was part of Northumbria, the Cromwell invasion and the prison on the bass rock in the Jacobite times. The history of East Lothian is long and full of places to visit Castles, Roman Forts, Flight Museum , Birthplace of the Scottish Flag (Saltire). Doocot Bass Rock Farm North Berwick East Lothian Round Doocot found on Bass Rock Farm at the east side of Berwick Law built circa 1750 was a fresh meat source. Taking the young pigeons for tender meat. Still used by Pigeons but not for human consumption. Green Golf Plaque Heritage Trail North Berwick East Lothian Arnaud Massy was the first non-Briton to win the Open Championship In 1907 and remains the only French golfer to have won any of the four 'Major' events. There are 47 plaques on walls around North Berwick commemorating golfers, course designers, Course Architects, Amateur and Professional Golfers. Scottish Seabird Centre North Berwick East Lothian The Scottish Seabird Centre was opened on the 21 May 2000 by HRH Prince Charles. The Seabird Centre has boat trips around the islands giving a tour that is second to none. Things to see on the trip are birds, Puffin, Gannet, Kittiwake, Cormorant, Tern, Gull and many more species, also wildlife include Dolphin, whales, and seals. There is a Lobster Hatchery and for people not wishing a trip on the water, there is live camera feeds attached to computers to enable everyone to see what’s happening on the islands. The Bass Rock has the largest Gannet colony in the world and was described by Sir David Attenborough as the 12 wonder of the natural world. Memorial Fountain The fountain was erected in the memory of Isabella Catherine Lewis 1939 North Berwick Beaches There are two golden sandy beaches in North Berwick both are safe for swimming and water sports. The west beach is backed onto the Golf Course and the east beach (Milsey beach) has a sea pool safe for children to swim in. With shops restaurant and accommodation all within 5 minutes walk a great place for all the family to holiday. This was a favourite place for the Stevenson family (Robert Louis Stevenson). Just up the coast was where he got the idea for Treasure Island see Fidra Island at Yellowcraigs at Dirleton. Lobster Hatchery North Berwick Lobsters are important to the ecosystem and are also a food that is eaten around the world. The present stocks of Lobster in the Scandinavian and Mediterranean seas have collapsed and we wish to rectify the problem. The Lobster Hatchery is just one of the methods in replenishing stocks of Lobster. The Hatchery has returned over 14,000 young lobster into the Firth of Forth. Go and see the work that is being done to replenish stocks, St Andrews Kirk Potts North Berwick St andrews Kirk Potts taking over from the Kirk at the harbour opened circa 1675 but took until circa 1825 to be complete. By the mid 1800's it became to small for the town and it held its last service in 1883 The St Andrews Blackadder Church opened in 1883. All three Kirks (churches) had the same bell. It rang at the harbour then the potts and finally it was replaced in 1928 after ringing in the blackadder. The bell can be seen outside the St Andrews Blackadder church. One of the oldest bells in Scotland. St Andrews Blackadder Church North Berwick John Blackadder was minister in Dumfriesshire. He was outspoken against the appointment of bishops in the Church of Scotland. In 1662 he was thrown out of his parish and he moved to Edinburgh. He spent most of his time travelling and preaching in open-air where people would gather to her his sermons. (Open air preaching, conventicle, was illegal until 1689). He became very popular all over the south of Scotland. The government forces arrested John Blackadder in 1681 for his conventicles church assemblies in the outdoors. He was convicted and set to the prison on the Bass Rock. He died while a prisoner on the Bass Rock in 1685. While imprisoned he spent his time writing his memoirs. Bass Rock Prison As he died in the parish of St Andrew he was taken to St Andrews Kirk Potts for burial. On the formation of the Free Church of Scotland in 1843. A group of parishioners in North Berwick decided to name their new church, Blackadder Church in 1845 after the preacher John Blackadder and in 1989 the parishes of St Andrew and Blackadder were united to form the present parish of St Andrew Blackadder. His grave still stands in St Andrews Kirk Potts. John Blackadder Gravestone Inscription Here lies the body of Mr John Blackadder, minister of the gospel at Troqueer, in Galloway, who died on the Bass, after five years' imprisonment, Anno Dom. 1685, and of his age 63 years. Blest John, for Jesus' sake, in Patmos bound, His prison Bethel, Patmos Pisgah found, So the bless'd John, on yonder rock confined,- His body suffer'd, but no chains could bind His heaven-aspiring soul; while day by day, As from Mount Pisgah's top, he did survey The promised land, and view'd the crown by faith, Laid up for those who faithful are till death. Grace formed him in the Christian Hero's mould - Meek in his own concerns in's Master's bold; Passions to Reason chained, Prudence did lead - Zeal warmed his breast, and Reason cool'd his head. Five years on the lone rock, yet sweet abode, He Enoch-like enjoyed, and walk'd with God; Till, by long living on this heavenly food, His soul by love grew up too great, too good To be confined to jail, or flesh and blood. Death broke his fetters off, then swift he fled From sin and sorrow, and by angels led, Enter'd the mansions of eternal joy; - Blest soul, thy warfare's done, praise, love, enjoy. His dust here rests, till Jesus come again, - Even so, blest Jesus, come come, Lord Amen. Fred Marr North Berwick East Lothian Fred Marr was Mr North Berwick, a fisherman and boatman. He spent his life taking passengers on boat trips and showing them the wonders of the islands around his home of North Berwick. In 1970 when he purchased the Sula I, and upgrading to two years later to Sula II. The Marr family ran the tour boat for 50 years before retiring. A bronze plaque can be seen near the harbour in his honour. The inscription read; Fred Marr 1923-2008 Fred was a fisherman, boatman to the Northern Lighthouse Board conservationist guardian of the Bass Rock Gannets and rescuer of countless orphaned chicks. For over 50 years passengers from all over the world sailed with Fred to the Bass Rock and neighbouring islands, most famously on the clinker- built Sula II. Fred was widely known and well respected. He will be remembered for his seamanship, his knowledge of local islands and for his kindness and integrity. A proud family man, Fred gave much and asked for little. North Berwick Harbour Old Swimming Pool A harbour at North Berwick has been in existence circa 1150 when ferries would take passengers to Fife on their pilgrimage to St Andrews. An outdoor swimming pool opened on the east side of the harbour on the 8th August 1900. Scottish swimmers and Olympic champions of the past, Ellen King (my primary school teacher at Bruntsfied Edinburgh) and Jean McDowall were both regular swimmers at the old outdoor swimming pool. Ellen King (1909-1994) was a winner of two Olympic medals and three Commonwealth Games medals and also held world records. The outdoor pool at North Berwick was the place to be seen with swimmers and divers from all over the world taking part in exhibitions. North Berwick Castle Castle Hill North Berwick East Lothian On 'Castle Hill' North Berwick, a castle was built by the MacDuff family of Fife, known as North Berwick castle. The castle was held by three noble families, the MacDuff, the Stewart and the Lauders. Originally built in the 13th century as a wooden motte and bailey and later the Lauder family built a stone tower with a defensive enclosure circa 1380, which was abandoned when they moved to a castle they built on the Bass Rock circa 1410. There are no remains of the original castle at Misley but from the Castle Hill top are amazing views. Castle Hill Views North Berwick East Lothian Information board top of Castlehill North Berwick and present view October 2020. Edward VII Coronation Tree North Berwick East Lothian The Sycamore tree in Quality Street at the east end of North Berwick High Street was planted by King Edward the VII on the 10th October 1902 to commemorate the Royal visit to North Berwick in the year of his coronation. North Berwick Mercat Cross The first mention of the Mercat Cross was in September 1751 when the Magistrates decided to reposition the Cross to a more appropriate location. The next mention was in December 1770 : "Taking into consideration the ruinous condition of the Cross and inconvenient situation of it, the Council have agreed that it shall be removed and put up a new at the east end of the Toune House, also that the stair up to the Council Chamber being much failed, agree that it should be completely made up and repaired." The Lodge Wall Tower House Lodge Gardens North Berwick East Lothian The Lodge and Wall Tower House are at the entrance to the Lodge Grounds. The lands became the possession of Sir William Dick 1640 and then moved to Sir Hew Dalrymple his ancestor. Lord North Berwick (Hew Dalrymple), president of the court of session on 7 June 1698 and died in the position on 1 February 1737. The Lodge and grounds were built and constructed by his son. The Lodge grounds in North Berwick town centre is a great place to spend time walking through the different gardens. The first garden has many flowers a sundial, an aviary, rose garden and glass houses. The gardens have many standing stones and wide open spaces. There are many different types of trees a lavender garden and a children’s play park. There is also a memorial to the Japanese surrender in 1945. Next -Tantallon - Auldhame
- Dunbar | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Dunbar famous for a battle and the birthplace of John Muir. The start of the John Muir way, winvention of the Spiral propeller, 3 harbours, and a Castle ruin that was burnt down on several occasions. ACastle has been here since before the Romans came to Britain. Dunbar Town East Lothian Coast Dunbar Town East Lothian Coast Dunbar is one of six towns in East Lothian and was part of Northumbria until 1018. Dunbar became a royal burgh in 1369. It has three harbours and is a fishing village with a long history going back to circa 850 AD. The Town grew around the Castle which was of strategic importance over the centuries. The Castle was destroyed in 1568 as many castles and important buildings were by the English led by Cromwell. The Town has a famous son who became the founder of the national parks in America and the John Muir Way is a route from Dunbar to Helensburgh of circa 134 miles which was the route taken by John Muir on his way to the ship that would take him to the new world. Dunbar Castle Dunbar East Lothian Coast Dunbar Castle, the First timber fort was occupied by the Votanidi tribe, a tribe that controlled the east of Scotland and England between the River Forth and Humber during the roman invasions. Then came Kenneth MacAlpin King of Pics and First King of Scots who owned the castle in 849 AD. Circa 1070 it was in the hands of the Earl of Cumbria. It was not until 1018 that Dunbar was in Scotland as the border was moved to the present position at that time. By circa 1200 it had become a substantial fortification and when King John attempted to take the castle in 1214 but failed. The castle was lost to the English army of Edward I in 1296. The next 200 plus years saw the castle change hands between the Scots and English on several occasions and in this time it was almost destroyed. In 1567 following the Battle of Carberry Hill, the castle was destroyed by an Act of Parliament, and has been a ruin ever since. Dunbar Battery Dunbar East Lothian Coast The battery was built to protect the entrance of the forth and Dunbar against attack from ships. Dunbar had been attacked on two occasions during the American War of Independence 1779 and 1781 so the battery was built. In 1914 became a hospital for wounded soldiers of the 1st World War. The roof was blown off in a storm in 1936 and demolished in 1937. Iit was renovated in 2016-17 and reopened in 2017. The Timeline Path Dunbar Battery Dunbar East Lothian Coast 1781 The Battery is built to protect Dunbar against American Raiders. 1815 The military outpost is abandoned at the end of the wars with France. 1822 Gunfire from the Battery welcomes King George IV to Scotland. 1874 Am isolation hospital for infectious diseases is built within the walls. 1927 the hospital is converted into emergency housing. 1937 The hospital building is demolished after a storm and fire. 2017 the Battery reopens as a place for everyone to enjoy. The Door to Dunbar. For centuries the sea was the main way in and out of Dunbar. Inside of the Battery Sea Cubes by Donald Urquhart Rock Formations View of the “Long Steeple” left Next “Round Steeple” and the small group of three are “The Yetts” from the Battery. Robert Wilson Inventor of the Spiral Propeller 1827 Dunbar East Lothian Coast Robert Wilson was born in September 1803. As a boy he developed a method to propel boats through water at speed. His idea came from windmill blades, at nine years old he had propelled a boat with rotary skulls. By the age of 24 he had boats being propelled on the River Forth. The Earl of Lauderdale seeing what he had achieved took his invention to the Admiralty, who showed no interest. Robert Wilson was never recognised in his lifetime for his invention. Pettit Smith and Ericsson are often credited but everyone knows the truth. John Muir Way Dunbar East Lothian The John Muir Way is a path stretching from coast to coast across Scotland. The route traces his steps from Dunbar on the east coast to Helensburgh on the west coast. Where he embarked on his journey to the new land (America). Follow his route from Edinburgh to Dunbar on the shores of the Firth of Forth ( Edinburgh to Prestonpans 16 km (10 miles) Prestonpans to North Berwick 25 km (16 miles) North Berwick to Dunbar 23 km (15 miles). John Muir Statue High Street Dunbar East Lothian John Muir was born on the 21 April 1838 in Dunbar, East Lothian, Scotland and died on the 24 December 1914 at the age of 76 in Los Angeles, California, U.S.A. He became the Father of American national parks and champion of world conservation and was forever a Scot. John Muir was naturalist, environmental philosopher and author. John Muir immigrated with his mother and father and brothers and sisters in 1849 at the age of 11 years. He went on to be a national icon and was named the "patron saint of the American wilderness". John Muir Plaque Dunbar East Lothian The plaque on the statue of John Muir as a boy that stands in Dunbar High Street is inscribed; John Muir (1838-1914) “Around my native town of Dunbar, I loved to wander in the fields, to hear the birds sing and along the seashore to gaze and wonder at the shells and seaweeds, eels and crabs in the pools amongst the rocks when the tide was low; and best of all to watch the waves in awful storms thundering on the black headlands and craggy ruins of the Old Dunbar Castle when the sea and the sky, the waves and the clouds, were mingled together as one”. John Muir Brown Bear The has been erected in memory of John Muir who was born in Dunbar. Andy Scott the sculptor who came to recognition with the world famous Kelpies Sculptures has created another masterpiece. It stands off the A1 road, take the exit to Asda at the Spott Roundabout Dunbar and the first opening on the left at the garden centre it is 200 yards along a path. The Bear that I have called Dyn after an old spelling of Dunbar (Dynbaer) Dyn Greek meaning power or force. The 5 metre high bear is a powerful sculpture to a great man John Muir. A Tribute to John Muir Dunbar East Lothian. The plaque on the base of the gigantic Brown Bear reads; This plaque was unveiled by Mrs Brenda McNeil to commemorate the completion of this Brown Bear sculpture, paying tribute to Dunbar-born naturalist John Muir (1838-1914) who plated a key role in the establishment of National Parks in the U.S.A and around the world. Commissioned by Hallhill Developments Ltd Sculptor: Andy Scott 19th November 2019 John Muir Birthplace Museum. John Muir was born in Dunbar East Lothian in 1838 and spent most of his childhood exploring the coastline of East Lothian before the Muir family immigrated to USA (Wisconsin) in 1849. He continued exploring and in 1867 walked circa 1000 miles across America to the Gulf of Mexico. In 1894 he published his first book ‘The Mountains of California’. In his life he travelled in every continent on the planet returning to Scotland on several occasions. He was the founder of National Parks in the U.S. and died at the age of 76 years always remembering his routes a true Scot to the end. Dunbar’s Harbours The first harbour in Dunbar was at the mouth of the Biel Water in 1370. Cromwell Harbour built circa 1570 is where the ships landed with supplies for Cromwell’s army after Cromwell had taken Dunbar on the 3rd September 1650. He marched on Edinburgh and took the castle with his army barracked in Holyrood. Victoria Harbour opened in 1842. The Harbour Gate Dunbar The gate between the old Harbour and Victoria Harbour The Fisherman’s Monument The Fisherman’s Monument was erected in 1856. It was dedicated to the fishermen of Dunbar and has a barometer on the front with a carrera marble carving of fisher folk at the harbour side. The monument stands at the land side of Cromwell Harbour Dunbar. The inscription reads; “Presented to the fishermen of Dunbar, to whose perilous industry the burgh owes so much of its prosperity”. The carved relief depicts “A fisherman in his boat, while his wife points to the barometer below and begs him not to sail. In the boat an old women points to a dark cloudy sky, while two boys prepare to cast off”. The Fisherman’s Monument The plaque on the harbour wall reads; “O weel, may the boatie row, That wins the Bairnie’s bread !”. Extract from “The Boatie Rows” by John Ewen (1741-1821) Oh weel may the boatie row | An muckle may she speed | Weel may the boatie row | That wins oor bairnies’ breid | The boatie rows, the boatie rows, | The boatie rows fu weel, | An’ muckle luck maintain the boat, | The murlin an the creel | We dropped oor lines in Largo Bay | An fishes we got nine, | There’s three t’ bile an three t’ fry, | An three t’ bait the line | When Sandy, Jock and Janetie | Are up an gotten lear | They’ll help t’ gar the boatie row | An lighten a’ oor cares Oh weel may the boatie row | That fills a heavy creel | An helps t’ clad oor bairns an’ aa | An buys oor porridge meal. Meanings of some words: Gar: make Lear: learning Murlin: a round narrow-mouthed basket used by fishermen Dunbar Artillery The Gun on the hill overlooking Dunbar Harbour is a 25 Pounder Q F Mark II gun which was the type used to fire the signal at Edinburgh Castle daily at One O’clock until the 30th of November 2001. It was then changed to a more modern gun. The Dunbar gun has been on the hill as a memorial to the Second World War since 2005. The Canon from circa 1600 that helped to protect the Castle from the English. Dunbar Town House Museum The Dunbar town house museum and gallery has a distinctive tower and clock and has been the centre of Dunbar life since circa 1530. The building previously the Tolbooth (jail and courthouse) was built in the early to mid-16th century. The building now house the museum and gallery telling the story of Dunbar back through the centuries. Outside you can see the old Mercat Cross which stood across the road. On the corner of the High Street and West Port. There is also a statue of Dunbar’s’ famous John Muir who was born in Dunbar in 1838. Dunbar Mercat Cross The original mercat cross stood at the High Street junction with West Port the setts make a black cross in the road where the cross once stood. It was removed in the 18th century. Part of the present cross was discovered in the garden of a local bank. It was rebuilt with other stones and erected here in 1912 at the Town house museum. Lauderdale House (Dunbar House) Dunbar House a Georgian house that stand at the end of Dunbar High Street was built (1734) by James Fall. James a wealthy merchant and Baillie of Dunbar for 8 years and Member of Parliament from 1731 -1743. After his death his son Robert took charge of the family business and through bad judgement was sequestrated in 1788. This allowed the Earl of Lauderdale to take control the house and lands. The central body of the house was the original build and the two wings and central pillars were an extension to the house, which were made by the Earl of Lauderdale in 1792 and designed by Robert Adam. In 1859 taken by the Government for the Haddingtonshire Militia. Wesleyan Chapel Dunbar The Wesleyan Chapel in Dunbar is the oldest Methodist Church in Scotland. The Church inscription states it was erected in 1764 and that John Wesley preached her around that time. The first Methodist preacher to be appointed to Dunbar was William Ellis, in 1766. Jubilee Fountain Dunbar East Lothian The cast iron Jubilee Fountain is to commemorate the official inauguration of a new water supply to Dunbar on 14th March 1896. The Jubilee Fountain named, due to 1897 to be Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee, stood in Bayswell Park. The fountain was moved to its present position and replaced by a gas light and horse trough. Creel Loaders Statue Dunbar East Lothian Creel Loaders relate to the two men that had to put the baskets (creel) on the back of the fish wives who would carry it as far as the border towns to sell the catch. This was in addition to looking after their children and cleaning the fish before selling it. Girl with Swan Statue Dunbar East Lothian The statue of a girl with a swan was unveiled in 1998 and can be found outside Lauderdale House in Dunbar. By Fife sculptor David Annand, Dr Thomas Reginald Badger Dunbar East Lothian Tom Badger served as a doctor with RNLI in Dunbar for 26 years and was a local GP for 30 years. Sadly he died in August 2010, and a memorial bench has been built in his memory overlooking the Victoria Harbour and Dunbar Castle. The Dunbar Lifeboat Station was Established in 1808 and has saved many lives and has had many honours bestowed upon it. A man that served his community and others for a lifetime. Dunbar Memorial Obelisk Dunbar East Lothian The Obelisk was erected to honour the Lothians and Berwickshire Yeomanry and their participation in the Second Boer War (1899-1902). It also honours the Yeomanry that fell in the First World War (1914-1918) Second World War (1939-1945). The National War Memorial in Edinburgh Castle has records of all the fallen in the wars. Dunbar Parish Church East Lothian The first collegiate church to be established in the Lothians stood on the present church site in 1342. Ths church was removed in 1819 a further Gothic church was built and opened in April 1821. This church was unfortunate as it went on fire in 1987 and was again rebuilt and opened again in Nov 1991. Not to be missed is the monument to Sir George Home Earl of Dunbar which can be seen in Dunbar Parish Church George Home, Earl of Dunbar died in 1611. He was knighted by James VI and became Earl of Dunbar in 1605 George Home is shown kneeling in prayer The Earl of Dunbar died in 1610 in London. When the church was rebuilt a new origin was installed which was imported from the United States. The cross that stands at the window, which fire damage is visible, was made from beams of the previous church. the manse is a comfortable residence, built in 1767. Battle of Dunbar 1650 Memorial Stone East Lothian Battle of Dunbar took place on the 3rd September 1650, a major battle between Scotland and England in Wars of the Three Kingdoms. This is the battle Cromwell and English Parliamentary forces defeated Leslie and the Scots Covenanter Army supporters of King Charles II. The fight for the Crown of England for Charles II of Scotland. This was a short battle of 2-3 hours where 1000-3000 Scots were killed and 8000-10000 taken prisoner, with the English losses reported as just minimal a score dead and three score injured. Trinitarians Monastery Dunbar East Lothian The Trinitarians Monastery or Red Friars Monastery ruins still stand in Dunbar town centre first built circa 1220. All that remains is a tower which was converted into a Do'cot 1716. War Memorial Cross Dunbar East Lothian Dunbar War Memorial Celtic Cross Inscription; IN MEMORY OF THOSE FROM THE BURGH & PARISH OF DUNBAR WHO GAVE THEIR LIVES IN THE GREAT WAR 1914-1918 "THEIR NAME LIVETH FOR EVERMORE" The cross was erected in 1921, in memory of the fallen in the Ist and 2nd World Wars East Links Park Dunbar East Lothian West Barns and Belhaven was an industrial area with Flax mills 1790, cotton-factory 1815, a distillery and foundries now the area is a suburb of Dunbar at East Links West Barns there is an Adventure Park with all types of animals and a petting zoo. Belhaven has a famous Brewery which you can take a tour. Belhaven Beach, golden sand safe water and water sports. Belhaven Beach Dunbar East Lothian Belhaven Beach, golden sand safe water and water sports. Surfing, Stand Up Paddleboarding,Snorkeling, cliff jumping, Open water Swimming John Muir Country Park Dunbar East Lothian Belhaven Brewery Dunbar East Lothian Belhaven Brewery is the oldest operating brewery in Scotland. The Brewing started by the Benedictine Monks circa 800 years ago. There is a lintel on the Brewhouse with the date 1719 engraved on it. From 1719 the John Johnstone, then his heirs owned the Brewery until 1815. Then Ellis Dudgeon the husband to a Johnstone took over and the brewery traded under the name of Dudgeon & Co, a name retained for more than a 150 years. Ellis Dudgeon died in 1876 and was succeeded in turn by his son-in-law Alexander Hunter, a maltster from nearby Musselburgh. The Hunter family remained until they sold in 1972. The brewery was sold and in the following 20 years went through hard times before a management buyout in 1993. Guided by Stuart Ross it became a profitable and successful independent brewery once again. The Brewery was sold to Greene King (Founded in 1799) in 2005 and is still doing well. Broxmouth House and Park East Lothian Broxmouth House and Park was present prior to 1662 as shown on map Johanne Adair of the Lothians. (A house and walled Garden). This is believed to be where Cromwell had stayed in 1650 when burning Scotland. Most places that Cromwell occupied were burnt or destroyed. The 1st Duke of Roxburghe (John Ker) was to be given subsequent titles one of which was Viscount Broxmouth in 1707. Prior to 1707 there was no title Duke of Roxburghe. Brooksmyth (Broxmouth) was plotted on the map 1715 of Nicolas Sanson see NLS Maps. The house built for the Duke and Duchess of Roxburghe circa 1730 on the area once occupied by the earlier building. There are many things to see at Broxmouth Park, which include a tombstone of Sir William Douglas, Cromwell’s Mound on which Oliver Cromwell instructed his army at Doon Hill. A cedar Tree planted by Queen Victoria. An ice-house, in an earth mound close to the Lake side. Iron Gates, Walled Garden, Observatory, South Lodge and water features Broxmouth Observatory Foxlake Adventure Park Dunbar East Lothian Foxlake An adventure area with the centre attraction a manmade Lake for water activities. Foxlake Low Ropes Assault Course Try the low ropes assault course over water choose from the 3 different levels of difficulty. Safety equipment & wetsuit included bring your own foot ware, (which will get wet). 50 minute sessions Foxlake Wakeboarding Wakeboard over water pulled at high speed by an overhead zipwire. Never tried before don't worry qualified instructors are on site to get you up and boarding. Safety equipment & wetsuit included bring your own foot ware, (which will get wet). Age restriction 6+, 15 minute sessions Foxlake Zip Wire Trail Zip Wire Trail fly through the trees on the zipline at 30 foot from the ground. There are two zip wires side by side so you don't have to go solo. The zip wire course take circa 2 hours to complete with all safety equipment supplied. Age, Height, and weight restrictions for safety apply. Foxlake Ringo Rides Not in the sea with the motorboat but in the lake pulled by an overhead wire Give the same excitement and speed as when on the sea. up to 3 adults or 4 children per ride. Safety equipment & wetsuit included bring your own foot ware, (which will get wet). 15 minutes per session Foxlake Segway Trail A Segway is a two-wheeled, self-balancing personal transporter. Don't worry if you've not used one before full experienced instructors are on hand to make sure you can get the best out of your segway. With full instruction on safety and controls. 20 min instruction and 40 minutes on the segway trail. Age limits apply subject to terms and conditions. Foxlake Cafe Food and drink available all day.
- Bolton Village | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Bolton Village East Lothian is close to Haddington and is famous for the family that lived and died there. Agnes Broun mother of Robert Burns, his brother and sister. Bolton Village East Lothian Bolton East Lothian was known to be owned by Sir John Halliburton in 1389 The Parish Church was first erected circa 1244 under the superiority of the Canons of Holyrood Abbey. The church became a ruin and a new church was built by Gilbert Burns brother of Robert Burns. Bolton Church Graveyard Bolton East Lothian The Grave of Gilbert Burns and his children Isabella, Agnes and Janet his mother Agnes Broun and sister Annabella. Bolton Do’cot Bolton East Lothian The Doo’cot in Bolton is directly across from the Old Parish Church where the family of Robert Burns are Buried. Grant’s Brae Bolton East Lothian Bolton near Haddington East Lothian was where Robert Burns’ family stayed (mother and brother and later sister). Robert Burns’ brother Gilbert Burns (1760 – 1827) and mother, Agnes Broun 17 March 1732 – 14 January 1820 (and later his sister Annabella) moved to Bolton East Lothian from Ayrshire. Gilbert oversaw the building of the new Bolton parish church which was completed in 1809. The cottage at Grant’s Brae is no longer there, the house was demolished and a roadside monument stands in its place. No more than one hundred yards northeast lies the drinking well used by the Burns family. It was lovingly restored in 1932 and dedicated to Agnes Broun. The dedication states: “Drink of the pure crystals and not only be ye succoured but also refreshed in the mind. To the mortal and immortal memory and in noble tribute to her, who not only gave a son to Scotland but to the whole world and whose own doctrines he preached to humanity that we might learn?”. The words from the monument at Grant’s Brae; NEAR THIS SPOT STOOD THE HOUSE IN WHICH | LIVED AND DIED | THE MOTHER | BROTHER AND SISTER OF SCOTLAND’S NATIONAL POET ROBERT BURNS The Well Grant’s Brae Bolton East Lothian Where Robert Burns mother Agnes Burns (nee Broun) collected the water for the household needs. The house where she lived (Grants Brae) with her son Gilbert and daughter Annabella, brother and sister of Robert Burns is near to Bolton East Lothian. Agnes Burns died 14 January 1820 age 88 years and is buried in Bolton Church yard as are Gilbert, Annabella and Gilbert’s daughter War Memorial Fountain Bolton East Lothian The war memorial is to those who fell in the first world war 10 from Bolton and in the second world war a further 4. Next - Colstoun
- Castlehill | Royal Mile | All About Edinburgh
About Edinburgh and the Castlehill, Royal Mile, Edinburgh. A short road leading to Edinburgh Castle with many attractionsand places to visit. One of the oldest streets in Edinburgh dating befor the 14th century. All About Edinburgh has everything at your fingertips. Castlehill Attractions Royal Mile Edinburgh All About Edinburgh Castlehill Edinburgh is a short road that begins at the Castle Esplanade and ends at the Tolbooth Kirk. The gothic spire being the highest point in central Edinburgh constructed between 1842 and 1845, now the headquarters International Festival society. The other attractions in the street are the; Camera Obscura & World of Illusions, (One of the oldest tourist attractions in the city), Cannonball House, Its name derived from the cannonball embedded in the outside wall of the house. Witches Well, where over 300 witches were burned at the stake. The Scottish Whisky Experience, where you can see how whisky is made and try one of the many whiskies available. The Scottish Weaving Mill previously the reservoir for Edinburgh, now a retail outlet with the best selection of Scottish goods available, also see Tartan being made on the only working looms in the city. The All About Edinburgh books are available in store the best guide to the whole of Edinburgh. Castlehill Royal Mile Edinburgh Witches Well Castlehill Royal Mile Edinburgh The site of the Witches Well is situated at the top of Castlehill on the west wall of The Tartan Weaving Mill where an iron wall fountain commemorates the place where over three hundred women were burned at the stake, accused of being witches in the 16th Century. There were more Witch burnings carried out at Castlehill than anywhere else in Europe. Witches Well Plaque Castlehill Royal Mile Edinburgh This fountain, designed by John Duncan, R.S.A is near the site on which many witches were burned at the stake. The wicked head and serene head signify that some used their exceptional knowledge for evil purposes while others were misunderstood and wished their kind nothing but good. The serpent has the dual significance of evil and wisdom. The foxglove spray further emphasises the dual purpose of many common objects. The plaque was unveiled in 1894 Castle Wynd Royal Mile North Steps Castle Wynd North Royal Mile Castlehill Edinburgh is a set of steps with housing on the east side that begins at Castlehill next to the Edinburgh Castle Esplanade and ends in Johnston Terrace Edinburgh. The House at the top of Castle Wynd North is Cannonball House which has survived through 3 sieges of Edinburgh Castle in 1650 by Cromwell, in 1689 by William of Orange and by the rebel Jacobite Army in 1745, when General Preston shot Cannon from the Half moon battery at the rebels a cannonball lodge in the wall and remains there to this day. At the foot of the steps directly across the road (Johnston Terrace) is Castle Wynd South steps which ends at the Grassmarket a pedestrian precinct with bars, restaurants and shops. Edinburgh Reservoir Tartan Weaving Mill Castlehill Royal Mile Edinburgh This is an opportunity to see the full story of kilt making, from the wool on the sheep via the weaving of the tartan cloth to the making of the kilt. Try out the weaving loom for yourself, or dress up in ancient Scottish costume for a souvenir photograph. The picture on the left shows the Tartan Weaving Mill from Ramsay Garden, below a sword that would have been used at the time of William Wallace. See the armoury in the Tartan Weaving Mill. Tartan Weaving Mill Tartan Weaving Mill (On 5 floors) Scottish Goods / Café / Whisky Tasting Cannonball House Castlehill Royal Mile Edinburgh Can you spot the cannon ball embedded in the wall. The story is that the cannon ball was carefully placed here by engineers to mark the height above sea-level of the fresh springs which provided Edinburgh with its first piped supply of fresh water, in about 1621. The cannon ball can be seen embedded in the wall above the first-floor window in Castle Wynd North. On the opposite side where the Tartan Weaving Mill is now, was the site of a reservoir that served the well heads in the old town of Edinburgh. In 1991 the reservoir was no longer required and is now conserved as the Edinburgh Tartan Weaving Mill. The Cannonball The cannonball embedded in the wall can be seen from the steps that go down to Johnstone Terrace from Castlehill. Legend has it that in 1745 the castle garrison fired the cannon ball at Bonnie Prince Charlie’s encampment at Dunsapie Loch but missed and hit the house. Patrick Geddes Heritage Trail Castlehill Royal Mile Edinburgh Patrick Geddes (1854 – 1932) was an Educator, Conservationist, Town Planner, Philosopher, Sociologist, Biologist, Botanist and Ecologist. Born in Ballater, Royal Deeside. The Edinburgh Patrick Geddes Heritage Trail was produced by the Sir Patrick Geddes Memorial Trust in the year 2000. You can you can find out more from the Patrick Geddes Trust. Next - go to Ramsay Garden and Lane Camera Obscura Castlehill Royal Mile Camera Obscura (Outlook Tower) World of Illusion. The Camera Obscura (Outlook Tower was one of the original tourist attractions in 1850s Edinburgh, the first attraction being the Walter Scott Monument. The Camera Obscura gives an amazing live panoramic view of the city of Edinburgh. See the people in Edinburgh walking about the streets below and pick them up in your hand. The telescopes let you view amazing rooftop views of the city. It was named the Outlook Tower in 1892. Take a walk around the outside walkway at the top of the Tower for more amazing views. Castlehill Attractions The Scotch Whisky Experience Castlehill School Royal Mile Edinburgh Castle hill Primary School opened in 1889 and is now closed as a school. The front of the school can be seen from Johnston Terrace Edinburgh. The building now houses The Scottish Whisky Experience which is entered from the Castlehill across from Ramsay Lane. The Scottish Whisky Experience tells the story of the history of whisky making, from the stills in the hills to the world wide industry of today. See possibly the world’s largest collection of Scotch whisky and the chance to taste the nectar of Scotland. The whisky experts will help you find the ideal whiskies for your individual taste in the McIntyre whisky gallery. There is also a chance to shop for the whisky you love. No driving afterwards. Tasting over 18 years of age only). Scots Whisky Experience Skinner's Close Royal Mile Castlehill Edinburgh Skinner’s Close was the originally Built by the Incorporation of Skinner’s and Furriers and a William Brown Skinner had a house in the close. It was also the site of Fortunes tavern before moving Old Stamp Office Close then to Nicholson Square and finally to St Andrew’s Square. Fortune’s Tavern was a place for the well-heeled and gentlemen of Edinburgh. This close was demolished to make way for the present building the Camera Obscura circa 1850 Semple's Close Royal Mile Castlehill Edinburgh Semple’s Close was named after the owner Lords Semple of Castle Semple (SEMPILL). The mansion was originally built for Lady Semple in 1638. Lord Hugh Semple Purchase a property next door to increase the size of his present residence in 1743. A military officer, Major in the Cameronians, Commander of the Black Watch and Colonel of the Edinburgh Regiment and commanded the left wing of the Hanoverian Army at Culloden. Inscription above door of Semple’s Mansion PRAISED BE THE LORD, MY GOD, MY STRENTH & MY REDEEMER ANNO DOM 1638. Boswell's Court Royal Mile Castlehill Edinburgh Boswell Court Castlehill is the site of the famous Witchery Restaurant and Lodging. Named after Dr Boswell the owner circa 1690 and previously known as Lowthian’s Land , but it is said that the Earl of Boswell also resided here. What can be seen on a lintel over a door in the close is the inscription “O LORD IN THE IS AL MI TRAIST” Jollie's Close Royal Mile Castlehill Edinburgh Jollie’s Close named after the land and building in Castlehill owned by Patrick Jollie, and later by Alexander Jollie who was a writer in 1859. Now part of the Witchery hotel apartments which is based in Boswell’s Court Castlehill. Castlehill Royal Mile Palace and Chapel Mary of Guise The first building you will walk past on the Castehill is the site where Mary of Guise had her Palace (pictured). Mary of Guise was the daughter of Antoinette of Bourbon and Claud Count of Guise. Mary of Guise married King James V in 1538. They had a daughter born in Linlithgow Palace in 1542 and at a week old became the Queen of Scotland on her father’s death. Her name was Mary. (Mary Queen of Scots).The building was also used as the Scottish Parliament in 1990s. Marie de Guise died in June 1560. The English and French, agreed the Treaty of Edinburgh. The military forces of both withdrew from Scotland which allowed the Scottish people to govern themselves. A Scottish Parliament was formed in Edinburgh on 10 July 1560, attended by 14 Earls, 6 Bishops, 19 Lords, 21 Abbots, 22 Burgh Commissioners, and over 100 Lairds. On the 24 August the Scottish parliament passed a series of Acts that entirely destroyed the Roman Church in Scotland. The celebration of mass was made illegal and was punishable by many things including death. Palace and Chapel Mary of Guise Castlehill Royal Mile Highland Kirk The Hub The International Festival HQ stands at the foot of Castlehill and at the top of the Lawnmarket. The Hub’s spire is the highest point in central Edinburgh. The building was constructed around 1845 as the Victoria Hall to house the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland. In 1929 the Church of Scotland ceased to use the building and it became a temporary home for a variety of congregations. It was named the Highland Tolbooth and then St John’s Church in 1956 and finally closed in the early part of the 1980s. In 1999 the building was transformed into The Hub, offices and a performance space for the Edinburgh International Festival. Sir Rudolf Bing founding Director of Edinburgh International Festival 1947 Blue Plaque at d0or. Next - Johnston Terrace Edinburgh
- Edinburgh Equestrian Centres | Horse Racing | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh Equestrian Centres Horse Racing pony trekking horse riding show jumping for all levels and ages one ride to courses all equipment provided Equestrian Centres & Race Courses Equestrian Centres - Horse Racing - Pony and Trap Racing Edinburgh, East Lothian, Midlothian, West Lothian and Scottish Borders Sports Activities Equestrian Centres Edinburgh Equestrian Horse Riding School and Stables Tower Farm Riding Stables Liberton Drive Edinburgh EH16 6NS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 664 3375 Equestrian Centres Scottish Borders Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Dryden Riding Centre A7 south of Selkirk Selkirk TD7 4NP Scottish Borders Scotland 07831 355674 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Bailey Mill Trekking Centre B6318 Newcastleton TD9 0TR Scottish Borders Scotland 01697 748 617 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Cowdenknowes Equestrian Centre B6356 south of Earlston Earlston TD4 6AA Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 848020 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Peebles Hydro Stables Innerleithen Road Peebles EH45 8BQ Scottish Borders Scotland 01721 721 325 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Hazeldean Riding Centre Knowetownhead Hawick TD9 8RU Scottish Borders Scotland 01450 870419 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Langlee Riding School Langlee Jedburgh TD8 6PB Scottish Borders Scotland 01835 862 560 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Linglie Stables Linglie Road Selkirk TD7 5LT Scottish Borders Scotland 01361 840239 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Nenthorn Equestrian Centre Nenthorn Kelso TD5 7RY Scottish Borders Scotland 01573 228270 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Ferniehirst Mill Lodge Riding Centre Oxnam Jedburgh TD8 6PQ Scottish Borders Scotland 01835 863 279 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Kailzie Equestrian Centre Peebles EH45 9HT Scottish Borders Scotland 01721 729121 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Ian Stark Equestrian Centre A7 south of Selkirk Selkirk TD7 4NP Scottish Borders Scotland 01750 20202 Equestrian Centres Midlothian Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Pentland Hills Icelandic's Carlops Penicuik EH26 9NL Mid Lothian Scotland 01968 661 095 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Edinburgh Lasswade Riding Centre Kevock Road Lasswade EH18 1HX Mid Lothian Scotland 0131 663 7676 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Edinburgh Equestrian Centre Salters Road Dalkeith EH22 2NJ Midlothian Scotland 0131 654 2563 Equestrian Centres West Lothian Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Houston Farm Riding School Houston Mains Holdings Uphall EH52 6JX West Lothian Scotland 01506 811 351 Equestrian Centres East Lothian Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Seacliffe Stables Auldhame North Berwick EH39 5PP East Lothian Scotland 07768 627 547 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Appin Equestrian Centre Drem North Berwick EH39 5BL East Lothian Scotland 01620 880366 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Harelaw Equestrian Centre Harelaw Farm Cottages Longniddry EH32 0PH East Lothian Scotland 01875 853 559 Equestrian Centre Horse Riding School and Stables Whiteloch Farm Riding & Trekking Stables Whiteloch Road Macmerry EH33 1PQ East Lothian Scotland 01875 613 662 Horse Racing Horse Racing - Pony and Trap Racing Edinburgh East Lothian and Scottish Borders East Lothian Racecourse Horse Racing Musselburgh Race Course Linkfield Road Musselburgh EH21 7RG East Lothian Scotland 0131 665 2859 Scottish Borders Racecourse Horse Racing Kelso Race Course Golf Course Road Kelso TD5 7SX Scottish Borders Scotland 01668 280 800
- Leaderfoot | 3 Bridges | All About Edinburgh
Leader foot is unique with 3 bridges built 1778, 1865 and 1973 all crossing the River Tweed a 19 span Viaduct, old stone bridge and the present A68 Road. not to forget the poetry stones. Leaderfoot Bridges Scottish Borders DRYGRANGE VIADUCT (LEADERFOOT VIADUCT) The magnificent structure that crosses the river Tweed is the Drygrange Viaduct a nineteen span, single track railway viaduct. Which was built in 1865 the 19 sandstone arches measures 40 feet (13m) span. The highest pillar is 114 feet tall above the water level. OLD DRYGRANGE BRIDGE Drygrange Bridge, at Leaderfoot was built circa 1778. A 4-span rubble bridge which was an engineering first when it was built. This was the original crossing for the main A68 road which takes you to England. This was thought to have been built where an old roman bridge stood and before that a ferry crossing. NEW DRYGRANGE BRIDGE The New Drygrange Bridge was opened in 1973 to carry the A68 highway over the River Tweed just up from the conflux with the Leader Water. Poetry Stones The river runs from west to east Roads south to north From bank to bank three bridges span Three centuries worth Before these the fly-boat brae led down to its ferry near the ghost-line of the roman way on the outward journey builders pay attention to the piers so the arch can spring taking you far from what you see to what you’re not yet seeing salmond sandstone pillar rise above leaderfoot the meeting of the two singing streams by leafy Ravenswood for when the Tweed is running high from wintery moor and moss Old Drygrange Bridge is standing here to carry you across. River Tweed Scottish Borders The River Tweed, depicts the Border between Scotland and England. The River Tweed is 97 miles (156 km) long and flows west to east across the Scottish Borders into England. At one time there were hundreds of mills that used the rivers power to manufacture cloth. The most famous thing linked to the River Tweed is Salmon, generating vast income for the local region. It is one of the best Salmon fishing rivers in Scotland.
- Castle Street | Shops and Businesses | All About Edinburgh
Castle Street for restaurants, cafes, Takeaways retail stores, fashion, and attractions. The first Scottish American Mortgage Company opened here and on the North side of Castle Street is the House of Sir Walter Scott. Wind in the Willows writer Kenneth Graham was born here. Castle Street Edinburgh & North Castle Street Shops - Businesses - Food - Drink - Accommodation Castle Street History & Attractions Advertise Your Business Here More Details Advertise Your Business Here More Details Advertise Your Business Here More Details CASTLE STREET Edinburgh New Town High & Mighty 4 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3DW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0800 2988083 Edinburgh New Town Castello Coffee Co 7a Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3AH City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh New Town Ted and Muffy Shoes 8 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3DW City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh New Town Virgin Money 9 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3AH City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh New Town Castle Thai Spa 9a Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3AH City of Edinburgh Scotland CASTLE STREET Edinburgh New Town Costa Coffee Café 13a Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3AH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 1637 Edinburgh New Town Pizza Hut Restaurant 15 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3AH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 2801 Edinburgh New Town Orchid Lodge Restaurant 15A Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3AH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 2505 Edinburgh New Town TSB Bank 19 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3AF City of Edinburgh Scotland 01312 262 696 Edinburgh New Town Golden Dragon Restaurant 21 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3DN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 7327 CASTLE STREET Edinburgh New Town Amber Rose Restaurant / Bar 22a Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3HT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1224 Edinburgh New Town Treasure Trove Wool Shop 23a Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3DN City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh New Town Pret A Manger Café 25 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3DN City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh New Town TGI Friday Restaurant 26 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3HT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0844 372 7927 Edinburgh New Town Room in the City Apartments 30 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3HT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 5784 CASTLE STREET Edinburgh New Town Kenneth Grahame Plaque 32 Castle Street Edinburgh H2 3HT City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh New Town Badger & Co Pub Restaurant 32 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3HT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 5430 Edinburgh New Town Thomas Pink Ltd 32a Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3HT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4264 Edinburgh New Town Chaophraya Restaurant 33 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3DN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 7614 Edinburgh New Town Castle Guest House 38 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3HT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1975 North Castle Street Edinburgh Shops - Businesses - accommodation North Castle Street History & Attractions Advertise Your Business Here More Details Advertise Your Business Here More Details Advertise Your Business Here More Details NORTH CASTLE STREET Edinburgh New Town Tonic Lounge Bar 34a North Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 6431 Edinburgh New Town Castle Guest House 38 Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3HT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1975 Edinburgh New Town Sir Walter Scott’s Home 39 North Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3DN City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh New Town Murray Snell LLP 40 North Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 626 6625 Edinburgh New Town Time 4 Thai Restaurant 45 North Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3BG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 8822 NORTH CASTLE STREET Edinburgh New Town Guild & Guild WS Solicitors 51 North Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3LJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 9155 Edinburgh New Town Honours Restaurant 58a North castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3LU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 8514 Edinburgh New Town Spanish Consulate General 63 North Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3LJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 1843 Edinburgh New Town Waka Café 67 North Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3LJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh New Town Mark Greenaway Restaurant 69 North Castle Street Edinburgh EH2 3LJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1155 Next - West End Village



