All About Edinburgh
Search Results
Search this site
403 results found with an empty search
- The Mound | Edinburgh New Town | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh New Town, The Mound Edinburgh, Royal Mile Bank Street and North Bank Street Edinburgh Historic facts famous people and buildings. Where the Edinburgh New Town and Old Town meet. The Mound Bank Street, North Bank Street Mound Place, St Giles Street Edinburgh The Mound Edinburgh The Mound in the centre of Edinburgh links the Old Town with the New Town. The Mound was originally the excavations from the building of the New town piled up in the middle of the area that had been Nor Loch. This eventually provided a further access to and from the Old and New Towns of Edinburgh. At the foot of the mound is access to West Princes Street Gardens and opposite can be found the Royal Scottish Academy of Art and slightly further up the mound is the National Gallery of Scotland. On the corner with Market Street stands a statue in memorial to the Black Watch. On mound Place is the New Library which was built in 1846. The Mound then joins North Bank Street and the Bank Street before Joining the Royal Mile. ROYAL SCOTTISH ACADEMY OF ART MOUND EDINBURGH The oldest and most prestigious academy of contemporary art in Scotland. The Royal Institution for the Encouragement of the Fine Arts in Scotland (RI) was founded in 1819. The Academy was founded in 1826 by eleven artists meeting in Edinburgh. Originally named the Scottish Academy, it became the Royal Scottish Academy on being granted a royal charter in 1838. The Royal Scottish Academy has been in the building on the corner of the Mound and Princes Street since 1911 The Academy is active in the promotion of young artists from Scotland's Colleges of Art and Architecture and takes a lead role in promoting living artists in Scotland. Royal Scottish Academy seen with the entrance from Princes Street. Royal Scottish Academy MOUND PRECINCT is a Large open air paved space at the foot of the Playfair steps which is used for street performers (jugglers, acrobats fire eaters etc.) during the summer. With its location in the centre of Princes Street it is an ideal place to arrange to meet before touring or visiting the galleries that surround the square. On the left of the picture is the Royal Scottish Academy of Art and at the back, the National Gallery of Scotland. National Gallery of Scotland Mound Edinburgh The National Gallery of Scotland was opened in 1859 on the Mound and is now home to Scotland's greatest collection of European paintings and sculpture from the Renaissance to Post-Impressionism. It also includes a comprehensive collection of the major names in Scottish art. National Gallery BLACK WATCH ON THE MOUND The 11-foot high bronze statue of a Black Watch soldier commemorates over 200 members of the Regiment who were killed or wounded in the South African War of 1900-02. The Black Watch, the oldest Highland Regiment, was formed by General Wade in 1739 to police the Highlands at a time when many of the clans harboured pro-Jacobite sympathies. THE ASSEMBLY HALL (NEW COLLEGE) MOUND PLACE EDINBURGH The Assembly Hall was built in 1846 as a Theological college, now the New College and a home for the Church of Scotland in 1929. The General Assembly is held here annually in May. This is also where in 1989 the majority of the Scottish members of parliament signed a document to claim the right for Scotland to have an independent parliament. The Assembly hall was used as a debating hall of the Scottish Parliament for 5 years between 1999 -2004. The Assembly Hall has also been used by the Edinburgh International Festival for many years. The Spire behind the Assembly Hall is The Hub on the Castlehill. In the main courtyard of the New College stands a statue of John Knox the leader of the protestant reformation and founder of the Presbyterian Church. Born in 1514 and died in 1572 his grave is in the car park of St Giles Cathedral. WRITERS' MUSEUM LADY STAIR'S PLACE MOUND ENTRANCE is in Lady Stair’s House which was built in 1662 in Lady Stair's Close, Lawnmarket, Royal Mile, Edinburgh, (named after Elizabeth Countess Dowager of Stair, a fashion icon of her time). Lady Stair’s House is dedicated to the lives and work of Scotland's great literary figures. Rare collections include early editions, manuscripts, portraits, photographs and personal belongings of Robert Burns, Sir Walter Scott and Robert L Stevenson. On paving stones and steps up from the mound and down from the Lawnmarket you will find inscriptions and verses. JAMES STUART BLACKIE NORTH BANK STREET EDINBURGH Look up above the shops on North Bank Street to see the window with the memorial to James Blackie a University of Edinburgh Professor in Greek and German. He left 250, 19th century Greek books to the University Library which are still being used by students today. He was born in Aberdeen and studied in Germany and Italy. He was the inspiration behind the founding of the Celtic chair of the University of Edinburgh. THE BANK MUSEUM BANK STREET EDINBURGH Opened in 2006 telling the story of money. Art & design, technology, crime, trade and security all feature in the story of money. Come in and see for yourself what 1 million pounds looks like. The Bank of Scotland is the second longest surviving bank in the United Kingdom and was established just 1 year after the Bank of England in 1695 by a Scotsman, William Paterson. The Bank of Scotland was founded by John Holland an Englishman. Bank Museum Dr Robert Philip Bank Street Edinburgh The worlds’ first tuberculosis dispensary was opened in Bank Street Edinburgh by Dr Robert Philip in 1887. Sir (Dr) (Professor) Robert Philip pioneered the management, prevention, detection and treatment of tuberculosis (TB). On the wall in Bank Street a blue Plaque reads "Near this place in 1887, Dr Robert Philip founded a tuberculosis dispensary, the first clinic in the world dedicated to fighting a disease of which he foretold Man's eventual mastery. That vision has brought hope to many lands." Tuberculosis (TB) was the biggest killer in the UK by the middle of the 19th century and due to Sir Robert Philip it has been almost eradicated. Sir Robert Philip died at home in 9 Palmerston Road, in the Grange area of Edinburgh, on the 25th January 1939. NEWS STEPS ST GILES STREET EDINBURGH The News Steps are next to The Bank of Scotland Building at the end of St Giles Street across from West Parliament Square in the High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh. The steps will take you to the Waverley Bridge and the train Station. Next - Market Street
- Queen Street | New Town | All About Edinburgh
Queen Street was the last buildings in the original New Town of Edinburgh with gardens on the north side of the street. The National Portrait Gallery was built in Queen Street by the founder aand owner of the Sctsman newspaper Sr R Queen Street Edinburgh Attractions Queen Street Edinburgh the last street in the planned New Town Edinburgh named after Queen Charlotte wife of George III. Thing to see and do in Queen Street. Home of James Young Simpson, Royal College of Physicians and Scottish National Portrait Gallery. East Gardens, Central Gardens and West Queen Street Gardens are between Queen Street and Heriot Row. For the owners of the properties in the two streets sole use. The first garden were East Queen Street Gardens laid out as a communal garden in 1814. Queen Street Scottish National Portrait Gallery The Scottish National Portrait Gallery in Queen Street houses many of the Scottish Masters and has many statues, busts, sculptures, art works modern and contemporary. With a cafe and many exhibits its a great place to spend a wet day. The Gallery opened on the 15th July 1889. Although the carving states 1890 (see below) Scottish National Portrait Gallery The Plaque on the west of the entrance reads; Dedicated to the | illustration of Scottish | history. This edifice the | gift to his native country | of John Ritchie Findlay | was erected anno domini 1890 | by the honourable the board | of trustees for manufactures | R Rowan Anderson LLD architect Scottish National Portrait Gallery Statues Queen Street Edinburgh Scottish National Portrait Gallery was built in the 1880 -89. All the portraits are from Scottish history, painted by a range of major European and American masters. The gallery also displays sculptures, miniatures and photographs. Unique visual history of Scotland told through the portraits of those who shaped it, from the 16th century to the present. They include Mary Queen of Scots, Sir Walter Scott, Robert Burns and Sean Connery. It also houses the National Photography Collection. Ist Viscount Duncan John Hunter George Buchanan Cardinal Beaton 2nd Duke of Argyll John Knox Sir Ralph Abercrombie David Hume Adam Smith Sir Henry Raeburn Ist Viscount Stair Gavin Douglas Sir David Lesley William Dunbar King James VI & I King Malcolm III King James I King Alexander III James Douglas King James V Earl of Moray Saint Margaret John Napier William Maitland John Lesley Kleio Daughter of Zeus William Wallace Mary Queen of Scots Robert the Bruce Bishop Gavin Douglas James Hutton Link to Inside the Portrait Gallery James Young Simpson 52 Queen Street (7 June 1811 – 6 May 1870) James Young Simpson discovered the anaesthetic power of chloroform and introduced anaesthesia to childbirth. Simpson was elected a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in 1863. On 4th November, 1847 Simpson first used chloroform. It was first used as an anaesthetic to help ease the pain during childbirth. Queen Victoria used chloroform during the delivery of Prince Leopold in 1853. Simpson was the first man to be knighted by the Scottish Court of the Lord Lyon for services to medicine. "Victo Dolore" (pain conquered) is the inscription on Simpson’s coat of arms. Simpson died at his home in Edinburgh at the age of fifty-eight. A burial spot in Westminster Abbey was offered to his family, but they declined and instead buried Simpson closer to home in Warriston Cemetery, Edinburgh. On the day of Simpson's funeral, a Scottish holiday was declared, including the banks and stock markets, with over 100,000 citizens lining the funeral cortege on its way to the cemetery, while over 1,700 colleagues and business leaders took part in the procession itself. James Young Simpson Lived in 52 Queen Street Edinburgh for over 25 years. Royal College of Physicians 8-9 Queen Street Edinburgh The Royal College of Physicians was given its Royal status in 1681 by Charles II and their first meeting hall was in Fountain Close in 1704. It moved to George Street before the present building No.9 foundation stone was laid in 1844 and No 8 was purchased in 1868 this building was one of the first to be built in Queen Street in 1774. The three statues are of Hygeia (daughter of Asclepius and Goddess of good health), Asclepius (Greek God of medicine and son of Apollo), and Hippocrates (ancient Greek physician). Two panels’ right and left of Hygeia show the winged lions at the lyre of Apollo. THE ROYAL COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS QUEEN STREET EDINBURGH WINGED LIONS AT THE LYRE OF APOLLO. Asclepius (Greek God of medicine) (Son of Apollo) Hippocrates (ancient Greek physician). Asclepius was a Greek god, healer and one of the Argonauts and his downfall was when he resurrected two mortals, Zeus was unhappy with his actions and slew Asclepius with a thunderbolt. Hippocrates Lived on the island of Kos, He was a Greek physician and is believed to be one of the most important figures in the history of medicine. Known as the "Father of Western Medicine" The Hippocratic Oath that doctors take is named after him. Hygeia (Daughter of Asclepius) (Goddess of good health) Hygiene Greek goddess of good health was a daughter and helper of the god of medicine Asclepius,and a friend to the goddess Aphrodite. Mary Erskine School Mary Erskine donated a sum of money from her husband’s estate to the Company of Merchants of Edinburgh, to have a school built to educate the poor children of Edinburgh Merchant families. The School (Hospital as they were called) named Merchant Maiden Hospital first opened in the Cowgate in 1694. It then moved to new premises on the corner of Bristo Street (now Bristo Place) and Lothian Street in 1706. As it grew it moved again to new premises in 1818 at the Lauriston area at the foot of Archibald Place. In 1871 moving once more to larger premises in the New town Queen Street and changing its name to Edinburgh Educational Institution for Young Ladies. It was renamed in 1889 to The Edinburgh Ladies’ College. In honour of Mary Erskine the school changes its name in 1944 to The Mary Erskine School and a final move to its present home at Ravelston in 1966. Inside Portrait Gallery Queen Street
- Edinburgh Royal Mile | Attractions | City Tours | Golf
All About Edinburgh is the No.1 information site for visitors to Edinburgh. History, Tours, Taxis, Maps, Hotels, golf courses, Activities, Walking Tours. Airport Transfers and Group Transport. All a visitor / Tourist to Edinburgh needs. One stop shop. Link to Edi Tours All About Edinburgh Visit Scotland The Ultimate Information Guide to Historic place and Attractions in Edinburgh St Andrews Stirling Lothian and Borders Free Walking Tour Royal Mile Edinburgh Maps Maps of the Castle to the Palace History and images of all The Closes 5 FREE MUSEUMS Visit Edinburgh Edinburgh's History and Attractions Free Information Guide Edinburgh Attractions Maps Mobile Friendly and Multilingual All About Edinburgh is a Search Engine guide to all the great things to see and do when you visit Edinburgh. Welcome to everything Edinburgh has to offer, both to the visitor and local resident, all in one convenient place. Whether you only wish to visit Edinburgh Castle or the Palace of Holyrood House, Walk the Royal Mile, or climb the ancient volcano Arthur Seat (Ard-Na-Said). Tour Scotland's Capital with Free Maps, Edinburgh Guide Books have it All See all the attractions or Tour Scotland from Edinburgh. Golf Transport Scotland Hotels Edinburgh All Scotland's Golf Courses Edinburgh Walking Tours Visit Scotland Visit Edinburgh Attractions Monuments Plaques and Inscriptions There are over 100 plaques in Edinburgh and many inscription at door entrances. Edinburgh in the 18th and 19th century were great believers in leaving memorials in forms of monuments to the people they believed to be the great and good. This monument is to honour Sir Walter Scott who was born and lived in Edinburgh. There is also a museum on the first floor of the monument. Tours of Scotland Tours from Edinburgh Highlands and Islands + TV and Film Locations See Edinburgh from the Sky Helicopter Tours Bus Tours around Scotland Day Tours - Bespoke Tours Place we Visit 1 Loch Ness, Glencoe + The Highlands 2 Glenfinnan Viaduct, Glencoe + Fort William 3 Kelpies Stirling Castle Loch Lomond + Trossachs 4 North Berwick, Alnwick Castle + Dunbar 5 Lochs & Castles of the West Highlands 6 East Lothian including Outlander locations 7 Kelpies Falkirk Wheel plus Distillery Tour 8 Falkland Palace St Andrews + photo stops 9 Dunfermline Culross Bannockburn Stirling 10 Perth Museum Scone Palace Dunkeld Pitlochry Email; traveltourscotland@gmail.com Call WhatsApp +44 7539 867 587 Enquiries | Contact 11 Edinburgh Walking Tours 1 The Old City Wall + the history of the streets 2 Southside famous people + Places 3 Cowgate + Grassmarket + New Town 4 Castle Hill, Lawnmarket + Greyfriars and More 5 Tron Square, Calton Hill, High Street Attractions 6 The New Town and Gardens People + Places 7 Dean Village + New Town West .... 8 Canongate – Horse Wynd – Abbey Strand 9 Upper High Street - History + People... 10 New Town West famous people + places 11 Leith Shore attarctions, Royal Yacht, Distillery pictured below three of the top places to visit Dean Village West Bow Greyfriars Outlander Locations in Scotland Visit Edinburgh Attractions Statues Edinburgh has many Statues in the streets on buildings and in museums and galleries. The statues are of people of achievement from Kings and Queens, Poets and Writers, Lord Provosts and Prime Ministers. This Statue is of James Clark Maxwell one of the greatest scientists that ever lived. Even Einstein’s said that he was inspired by Maxwell. Visit Edinburgh Attractions Edinburgh Golf Courses Golf History Tour Golf in Edinburgh is available to all, play free with your own clubs on the Oldest short course in the world Take a Golf History Tour, S ee the world's oldest golf course and first clubhouse. The first established Golf club, Where the first rules of golf were written. Where the first Golf competition was played to rules. From the west of Edinburgh to Musselburgh in East Lothian Over 40 golf courses near to Edinburgh it's a Golfers Dream Golf Transport Airport Transfers Luxury Minibus Hire Group Transport and Golf Transfers Looking for Golf Transport Airport Transfer Group Outing or Tours of the Highlands. See the Transport and Book Direct single passenger or large groups. Safe Friendly and Punctual high quality Transport at very competitive prices. Edinburgh Attractions Visit Edinburgh Festivals Edinburgh has many festivals each year from April till 31st December. Most importantly, The Edinburgh Military Tattoo that is staged at Edinburgh Castle a must see (Bucket List inclusion) extravaganza for the whole family of all ages. Also Children's Festivals and Running Festivals Visit Edinburgh Attractions Shops Royal Mile tourist stores selling everything from cigars, whisky, tartan goods, haggis, shortbread and souvenirs. Edinburgh City Centre is the place to shop. With designer shops, Boutique fashion stores selling Bags, shoes and clothes. All the expected high street names and unique local stores Before you buy whisky check out the Supermarkets. Tesco Asda Morrisons as they have great prices on all Whisky. Taste Malt Whisky 100's all in the Athletic Arms
- Horse Wynd | Royal Mile | All About Edinburgh
Horse Wynd is a wynding road that starts at Holyrood Palace Royal Mile and finishes at Arthur Seat which is in the Queen's Park. Holyrood Palace, Queens Gallery and Scottish Parliament buildings are the only buildings in Horse Wynd. Horse Wynd Attractions Royal Mile Edinburgh Horse Wynd Attractions Horse Wynd Edinburgh was the first part of the road to London and where the Royal Coaches started their journey south to London. The journey would take approximately 13 days. Opposite the Palace is the site of the new Scottish Parliament building, continue round and you will arrive in the Queens Park where Arthur Seat can be climbed on the Radical Road for a magnificent view of Edinburgh, Lothians and the Forth Bridges. Also take the road around the hill and see the Lochs and St Anthony’s Chapel that stands above St Margaret’s Loch on the hill. Horse Wynd, Royal Mile, Queen's Gallery Edinburgh EH8 8DX Scotland Horse Wynd, Royal Mile, Queen's Gallery Shop Edinburgh EH8 8DX Scotland Horse Wynd, Royal Mile, Scottish Parliament Edinburgh EH99 1SP Scotland The King's Gallery Horse Wynd Edinburgh The Queen's Gallery opened in 2002 to house pictures, paintings and photographs of the queen her family and her travels around the world. This building was first erected in 1840s. Next door is the Queen's Gallery Shop. Queens Gallery Scottish Parliament Building Horse Wynd Edinburgh Scottish Parliament Building Royal Mile Horse Wynd Edinburgh was where the royal stables were located and later where the St Ann's Brewery was opened by A C Younger in 1786. Horse Wynd Edinburgh was also where the Royal Coaches would depart for London. The journey would take approximately 13 days. The New Scottish Parliament building stands opposite the Palace of Holyroodhouse. The Scottish Parliament Building construction commenced in June 1999 and the Members of the Scottish Parliament held their first debate in the new building on 7 September 2004. The formal opening by Queen Elizabeth took place on 9 October 2004. Take the free tour of the building. Parliament Scottish Parliament Building Horse Wynd Edinburgh The Scottish Parliament Building is sited on Horse Wynd. To the North Calton Hill and South Arthur Seat. West is Princes Street, Scott Monument and Edinburgh Castle. Take the free tour of the building. Open Monday - Saturday. Abbey Brewery Horse Wynd Edinburgh The Abbey Brewery was built on the site of the Lothian Hut a mansion were Dugald Stewart once lived before it was demolished in 1825 and with other land beside it, Mr Younger built the Abbey Brewery. The site of which was not to the taste of the Royals at the Palace of Holyrood and it is said a wall was built to disguise the edifice from the view of the Palace. The wall is now all that remains which can be seen from the Park at Arthur Seat. Lothian Hut Marquis of Lothian's Close Lothian Vale This was the town house of the family of the Marquis of Lothian it was built in 1750 by William, 3rd Marquis, and demolished 1825. The neighbouring house was Lothian Vale. The entry to it was by the Marquis of Lothian's Close It was the residence of Professor Dugald Stewart, as Lothian House. The property was acquired by William, 4th Marquis of Lothian, from the Governors of Heriot's Hospital, 26th February 1771 William John, 5th Marquis, 20th September 1800. The property was acquired by Wm. Younger, brewer, for brewery extensions, 1856. Next - Arthur Seat & King's Park
- Visit Scotland | West Lothian | All About Edinburgh
West Lothian has many attractions a Korean War Memorial Royal Palace, birth place of Mary Quen of Scots, Livingston New Town with shopping malls. Golf Courses, Outlander sites Blackness Castle Midhope Castle. West Lothian Linlithgow | Blackness | The Binns Midhope West Lothian Attractions Blackness Castle Blackness Castle was built in 1445 for the Crichton family one of Scotland's most powerful families. Blackness Castle was taken from the Crichton's in 1453 by the then king James II. This was a Castle that only Cromwell over came in 1650 during the rampage Cromwell led through Scotland burning everything he could. Blackness Castle was converted into a prison circa 1540 and was used to imprison the enemies of James V and held many famous prisoners of the crown Cardinal Beaton being the most famous. Covenanters and later war prisoners from the wars with France, Spain and America it ceased to be a prison circa 1850. The original entrance to the castle was blocked of circa 1550 and moved to face the sea making it harder to breach. The House of Binns The House of Binns has been home to the Dalyell’s for 400 years. This house was built circa 1620 by Thomas Dalyell a wealthy merchant from Edinburgh during the reign of King James VI and 1st, where he worked for the royal court in London. On massing his fortune he returned to Edinburgh and purchased the lands and manor house of the Binns. He then demolished the old manor house and built the present house. A fascinating house and well worth a visit. Linlithgow Cross Well The Cross Well or fountain where fresh spring water flowed is where the town Cross stood. The Fountain in the shape of a Crown was erected in 1807. The original Cross Well was built in 1628. The present Cross Well Fountain is an exact replica. St Michaels Church On 22nd May 1242, the Church of St Michael of Linlithgow was consecrated by the Bishop of St Andrews St Michael's church over the centuries has been burnt damaged used as a store house, stables and barracks. It has even been used by the University of Edinburgh during the plague. James IV, when visiting the church saw a ghost which warned him that no good would come of his exploits, and the Battle of Flodden Field and not to go. He was the last King to die in Battle. Mary Queen of Scots was christened in St Michaels next to Linlithgow Palace where she was born. St Michael’s Church Gothic Timber Pulpit This is a magnificent Church which has had many of the rulers of Scotland attend. The Gothic timber pulpit is surrounded by 3 carvings of Queens Elizabeth II, Mary Queen of Scots and St Margaret. St Michael’s Church Stain Glass Window St. Michael's Church on celebrating its 750th anniversary reinstalled a new stained glass window in the St. Katherine's Aisle. The window is designed around the theme of Pentecost and is a must see. Mary Queen of Scots Statue Mary Stuart or Mary I of Scotland. (Dec 1542 – Feb 1587) A Statue of Mary Queen of Scots stands in the grounds of Linlithgow Palace. Mary, daughter of King James V of Scotland. Was to became Queen, 6 days after she was born on the death of her father. Mary of Guise was her mother and had a Palace built in Edinburgh on the north side of Castlehill. Mary, Queen of Scots was born in Linlithgow Palace on 8 December 1542. Linlithgow Palace St Michael's Church In 1337 Edward III's English army set fire to Linlithgow, which was largely built of wood. In 1349 the Black Death (the plague) reached Scotland and killed a third of the population of Edinburgh. The King, his parliament and court took refuge in Linlithgow from Holyrood to escape the plague. There were more fires in 1411 and 1424 destroying most of the town. In 1424 James I returned from exile in England and built the Palace at Linlithgow, starting the work in 1425. James IV and James V, made changes to the Palace. James V making it a home for his wife Mary of Guise. James VI moved to London in 1603, where he added to his title James I of England. Linlithgow Palace Linlithgow Museum (Annet House) When in Linlithgow after seeing the Palace and St Michaels Church, go to the Annet House Museum which has many interesting exhibits including a scale model of the Linlithgow Cross which stands at the foot of the road to Linlithgow Palace. Another exhibit, is the flags of the Scotch Brigade, one of Scotland's oldest infantry regiments the exhibit that tells the story of Mary Queen of Scots and Linlithgow Palace. Regent Moray’s Assassination On January 23rd 1570 in Linlithgow, Scotland, James Stewart, 1st Earl of Moray, Regent of Scotland on his way through Linlithgow was shot and killed by James Hamilton of Bothwell Haugh. He was the first assassination by a firearm in recorded history. James Hamilton supported Mary Queen of Scots and fought against James Stewart, 1st Earl of Moray (Regent) at the battle of Langside. See the plaque on what was the Sherriff Court (now Court Residence) commemorating this event. A stain glass window can be seen of the Regent Moray shooting in St. Giles Edinburgh. The inscription on the plaque reads; On the street opposite this tablet James Stewart Earl of Murray Regent of Scotland Was shot by James Hamilton of Bothwell Haugh on 20th January 1570 Erected in 1875 The Winged St Michael Sculpture Linlithgow town's ancient burgh seal has the image of St Michael, and a dog (The Black Bitch). To commemorate the Burgh seal a sculpted bronze of each have been erected in Linlithgow. St Michael slaying a Dragon St Michael, is the patron saint of Linlithgow, and the Guardian Angel watching over the towns inhabitants. The ‘Black Bitch’ Sculpture A Hunting Dog The actual reason for the dog is not known but could be a dog that helped his master when his master was chained to a tree on the island in the Loch. On each of the sculptures are inscriptions of the granting of Linlithgow's original coats of arms by the Lord Lyon King of Arms on 16 July 1673. Ross Do’cot Linlithgow The Ross Do’cot was built in the 16th century by the Baron Ross of Halkhead, and can be seen opposite the Linlithgow Canal Centre. Midhope in Beginning Midhope Castle Outlander Jamie Fraser’s, family home called Lallybroch, or Broch Tuarach. Midhope Castle is a 16th-century tower house and walled garden with a 17th-century Do’cot. Located in Abercorn on the Hopetoun estate. Near to The Binns and Blackness Castle historic buildings. Midhope was owned by two sisters who both had separate homes in the late 1470’s after their father died Henry Graham of Mannerstoun without a male heir. One married Robert Livingstone and the other John Martyne. Over the next decades there were many names linked to the Midhope lands and property The Drummonds of Midhope, owned the Midhope in the 16th and 17th centuries, and Alexander Drummond built the tower in 1582 his initials AD with his wife’s MB (Marjorie Bruce) can be seen above the gateway. Cairnpapple Hill Neolithic Burial Site at Cairnpapple Hill first used circa 4000 BC. Go inside and see the centuries roll bye. Cairnpapple Hill in West Lothian between Bathgate and Torphichen is said to be the most important mainland archaeological site in Scotland. The Cairnpapple site was found in 1947. Bathgate West Lothian Bennie Museum Bathgate first known as Bathchet circa 1150 and through the ages changed slightly due to spelling errors. Bathgate is a commuting town now but had a past of great importance, the story of which can be found in the Bennie Museum, in the town centre. Torphichen Preceptory Scottish Korean War Memorial The Korean War Memorial in Scotland is located in West Lothian Soldiers from Scotland were part of the UK, the second largest force in the Korean War the first being the USA. During June 1950 to November 1953 a total of troops the United Kingdom deployed was 56,000 of which 1078 were killed in action, 2,674 wounded in action, 179 missing in action, and 977 prisoners of war. These figures were provided by the Korean Government. James Young (Paraffin) James Young invented the process of extracting, paraffin oil, paraffin wax, and crude oil from oil shale, which began an oil boom in West Lothian. The evidence still remains in the Bings that are pink shale waste, seen around west Lothian countryside. James Young (BP) James Young (1811-1883), engineer, founder of first commercial oil-works in the world and was regarded as the father of the petrochemical industry. The company set up by James Young circa 1860 is now part of a well-known company worldwide BP. For more information on James Young and the Shale Gas industry. Go To Museum of the Scottish Shale Oil industry Almond Valley Heritage Centre, Millfield, Livingston, West Lothian, EH54 7AR. The shale Oil Industry of Scotland ended circa 1960 the museum tells the story of the industry with many artefacts from years gone bye. Next Page Linlithgow Palace
- Wedding Hair | Nail & Beauty Salons | All About Edinburgh
Have everything done for you on your Wedding Hair Nails Beauty Makeup look your best by the professionals WEDDING HAIR NAILS BEAUTY PAMPER YOURSELF AND YOUR WEDDING PARTY BEFORE THE WEDDING IN EDINBURGH,LOTHIANS AND SCOTTISH BORDERS EDINBURGH Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty SBL Beauty Lounge Bread Street Edinburgh EH3 9AF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 622 7277 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Medusa Bread Street Edinburgh EH3 9AF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 622 7277 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Craig Davidson Hair Bruntsfield Place Edinburgh EH10 4DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 2488 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Jardine work Hairdressers East Fountainbridge Edinburgh EH3 9BH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 7761 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Neil Barton Hairdressing Elm Row Edinburgh EH7 4RR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 8118 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Charlie Miller Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1141 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Angus Gordon Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1LH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1978 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Toni & Guy Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1LN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 5425 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Brian Drumm George Street Edinburgh EH2 2HN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 5885 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty S A Paterson George Street Edinburgh EH2 2LR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 3121 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Neil Grant Hanover Street Edinburgh EH2 1DJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 4330 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Ishi Salon Hanover Street Edinburgh EH2 1DJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 2252 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty 2 U Beauty Lochrin Buildings Edinburgh EH3 9ND City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 6161 WEST LOTHIAN Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Jenny's Beauty Salon Main Street Livingston EH54 7AF West Lothian Scotland 01506 414161 Hair, Nails and Beauty Retreat Health and Beauty Salon Union Square West Calder EH55 8EY West Lothian Scotland 01506 872300 SCOTTISH BORDERS Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Shapes Hairdressing Gala Park Galashiels TD1 1HF Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 755 565 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Paula Stillie Hairdressers High Street Selkirk TD7 4BZ Scottish Borders Scotland 01750 21387 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty R L Brack Hairdressers Market Square Duns TD11 3BX Scottish Borders Scotland 01361 882 443 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Pearl's Hairdresser O'Connell Street Hawick TD9 9HT Scottish Borders Scotland 01450 376651 EDINBURGH Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty PURE Spa & Beauty Lothian Road Edinburgh EH3 9BG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0843 507 1888 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Paterson SA Hairdresser’s Lothian Road Edinburgh EH3 9AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 5252 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Vidal Sassoon Studio Multrees Walk Edinburgh EH1 3DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 2849 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty James Alexander Hair Queensferry Street Edinburgh EH2 4QW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 1101 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Spirit Hair & Beauty Ratcliffe Terrace Edinburgh EH9 1ST City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 662 9553 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Charlie Miller St Andrew Street Edinburgh EH2 2AZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9898 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Charlie Miller Stafford Street Edinburgh EH3 7BR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 2265 5501 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Sanctorium Beauty Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3EG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 1766 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Ruby Reds Nails Beauty & Hair West Port Edinburgh EH1 2LD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 281 5474 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Missy Cuts Willowbrae Road Edinburgh EH8 7DB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 656 6466 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Cheynes York Place Edinburgh EH1 3HP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 1010 EAST LOTHIAN Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Angus Gordon High Street Musselburgh EH21 7AD East Lothian Scotland 0131 665 2719 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty A C Styling High Street North Berwick EH39 4HH East Lothian Scotland 01620 894966 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty L R Hair Design High Street North Berwick EH39 4HD East Lothian Scotland 01620 892145 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Judi Hair Stylist High Street Prestonpans EH32 9AZ East Lothian Scotland 01875 810129 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Hair by Lorraine High Street Prestonpans EH32 0RA East Lothian Scotland 01875 814443 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty 202 Hairdressing High Street Prestonpans EH32 9AZ East Lothian Scotland 01875 810129 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty KNS Hair Designs High Street Prestonpans EH32 9AD East Lothian Scotland 01875 819015 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Essence of Beauty Law Road North Berwick EH39 4PL East Lothian Scotland 01620 890095 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Eden Hair Links Road Longniddry EH32 0NH East Lothian Scotland 01875 852672 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Faith Market Place North Berwick EH39 4JF East Lothian Scotland 01620 890675 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Jonathon Walker Hair & Beauty Market Place North Berwick EH39 4JF East Lothian Scotland 01620 895672 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Hello Hair-Salon Seton Place Port Seton EH32 0EX East Lothian Scotland 01875 811033 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty A Touch of Elegance Hair Salon Seton Place Port Seton EH32 0DT East Lothian Scotland 01875 818349 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty Angelina's Hair & Beauty Salon Seton Place Port Seton EH32 0EX East Lothian Scotland 01875 811033 Hair, Nails and Beauty Hair and Beauty New Look His 'N' Hers Barracks Street Prestonpans EH32 0DX East Lothian Scotland 01875 811851 NAIL STUDIOS EDINBURGH Hair, Nails and Beauty Nail Studios Glam Nail Bar Albert Place Edinburgh EH7 5HN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 4440 Hair, Nails and Beauty Nail Studios Chamomile Sanctuary Alva Street Edinburgh EH2 4QG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 1000 Hair, Nails and Beauty Nail Studios All About Eve Bruntsfield Place Edinburgh EH10 4ES City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 1444 Hair, Nails and Beauty Nail Studios USA Nailz Clerk Street Edinburgh EH8 9HX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 8382 Hair, Nails and Beauty Nail Studios Angel Nails Studio Gorgie Road Edinburgh EH11 1TT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 622 0401 NAIL STUDIOS EDINBURGH Hair, Nails and Beauty Nail Studios Elizabeth Grace Nails Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 3116 Hair, Nails and Beauty Nail Studios Ocean Lothian Road Edinburgh EH1 2DJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 1880 Hair, Nails and Beauty Nail Studios Diana’s Nail Art Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8BX City of Edinburgh Scotland 07447 949346 Hair, Nails and Beauty Nail Studios Hollywood Nails South Clerk Street Edinburgh EH8 9PS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 667 3344 Hair, Nails and Beauty Nail Studios Total Nails West Maitland Street Edinburgh EH12 5DS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 9128 NAIL STUDIOS EDINBURGH Hair, Nails and Beauty Nail Studios Elizabeth Grace Nails Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 3116 Hair, Nails and Beauty Nail Studios Ocean Lothian Road Edinburgh EH1 2DJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 1880 Hair, Nails and Beauty Nail Studios Diana’s Nail Art Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8BX City of Edinburgh Scotland 07447 949346 Hair, Nails and Beauty Nail Studios Hollywood Nails South Clerk Street Edinburgh EH8 9PS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 667 3344 Hair, Nails and Beauty Nail Studios Total Nails West Maitland Street Edinburgh EH12 5DS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 9128 BARBERS EAST LOTHIAN Barbers Hair Master Turkish Barbers High Street Haddington EH41 3ES East Lothian Scotland 01620 820 397 Barbers Ewen's Barbers High Street North Berwick EH39 4HE East Lothian Scotland 01620 890 008 Barbers Hoi Barbers High Street Tranent EH33 1LW East Lothian Scotland 01875 615 083 Barbers Chaz Barbers Newbigging Musselburgh EH21 7AH East Lothian Scotland 0131 665 3020 Barbers Paul Smith North High Street Musselburgh EH21 6AN East Lothian Scotland 0131 665 7333 Barbers Findlay's Barbers Prestongrange Terrace Prestonpans EH32 9DJ East Lothian Scotland 07983 115793 Barbers Gullane Barber Shop Stanley Road Gullane EH31 2AD East Lothian Scotland 01620 843589 Barbers Dunbar Turkish Barbers West Port Dunbar EH42 1BT East Lothian Scotland 01368 860393 BARBERS SCOTTISH BORDERS Barbers The Italian Job Barber Ltd Channel Street Galashiels TD1 1BA Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 209217 Barbers Istanbul Barbers Channel Street Galashiels TD1 1BQ Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 750804 Barbers The Barber Shop Coldstream Ltd High Street Coldstream TD12 4DH Scottish Borders Scotland 07796 510177 Barbers The Barber’s Chair High Street Selkirk TD7 4BZ Scottish Borders Scotland 01750 21387 Barbers Off The Back Barbers School Brae Peebles EH45 8AT Scottish Borders Scotland 01721 722626 BARBERS EDINBURGH Barbers Sirs Barbers Barclay Terrace Edinburgh EH10 4HP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 0002 Barbers Boombarbers Bernard Street Edinburgh EH6 6PR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 554 9944 Barbers Boombarbers Broughton street Edinburgh EH1 8SB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 6363 Barbers Boombarbers Bruntsfield Place Edinburgh EH10 4ER City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 5566 Barbers Bailey's Barber Shop Clerk Street Edinburgh EH8 9JQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 477 2905 Barbers Barbers Clerk Street Edinburgh EH8 9JH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 668 3666 Barbers Bob's Comely Bank Road Edinburgh EH4 1AW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 7119 Barbers Haymarket Barbers Dalry Road Edinburgh EH11 2BA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 313 1158 Barbers Boombarbers Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 315 3313 Barbers 3 Stooges East Fountainbridge Edinburgh EH3 9BH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 466 2193 Barbers Barber Shop East Norton Place Edinburgh EH7 5DR City of Edinburgh Scotland 07873 293414 Barbers Fabulous Hot Shave Barbers Gorgie Road Edinburgh EH11 1TT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 1228 Barbers Leith Barber Great Junction Street Edinburgh EH6 5HX City of Edinburgh Scotland 07951 476895 Barbers Benny's Grove Street Edinburgh EH3 8AT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 8063 BARBERS EDINBURGH Barbers Victoria Barbers Haddington Place Edinburgh EH7 4AF City of Edinburgh Scotland 07714 749295 Barbers Bob's Barber Shop Lauriston Place Edinburgh EH3 9JB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 1092 Barbers Leith Walk Barber's Salon Leith Walk Edinburgh EH6 5BX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 553 4538 Barbers Boombarbers Melville Place Edinburgh EH3 7PR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 1013 Barbers 404 Hair Design Morningside Road Edinburgh EH10 5HY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 447 5207 Barbers The Barber Morningside Road Edinburgh EH10 5HY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 446 9449 Barbers Moroccan Barbers Morrison Street Edinburgh EH3 8AJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 07462 066 710 Barbers Barberfella Newington Road Edinburgh EH9 1QW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 308 0962 Barbers Bernies Newington Road Edinburgh EH9 1QW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 466 7087 Barbers Ruffians Queensferry Street Edinburgh EH2 4QS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 8962 Barbers Barber Shop At Jenners Rose Street Edinburgh EH2 2YJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 6233 Barbers Traditional Turkish Barbers Roseburn Terrace Edinburgh EH12 6AW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0752 896 3209 Barbers Boss Barbers South Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1LL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 8329 Barbers VIP Barbers West Maitland Street Edinburgh EH12 5DX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 4968 Barbers Afrin Barber West Port Edinburgh EH1 2LE City of Edinburgh Scotland 07833 448 031 Barbers Blunted Barbers York Place Edinburgh EH1 3EB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 8474
- Melrose | Dryburgh | All About Edinburgh
Melrose Abbey and Bryburgh Abey are famouse for graves of Famous historic people. Robert the Bruce and Sir Walter Scott. Not to for get the pig playing bagpipes two border townd not to miss. Melrose and Dryburgh Scottish Borders Attractions The town of Melrose is in the heart of the Scottish Borders. Melrose is where the Abbey where the Heart of Robert the Bruce is buried. It is also where at Newstead the Romans built first and main camp in the north. Trimontium was the Roman Camp built in 79 A.D. (the size of a town). This is as most Sottish Borders towns is a rugby town with the main exception that it is where the game of 7's rugby began. Melrose Rugby Club Melrose Rugby Football Club was founded in 1877 and is one of the world’s oldest Rugby Football Clubs. Melrose Rugby Club is where 7 a side rugby was thought up by Ned Haig and first played in 1883. The world comes to Melrose in April for the 7s Rugby Tournament. Melrose Abbey Melrose Abbey founded in 1136 by King David I. This was the first Cistercian monastery in Scotland. The stone plaque shows where Robert the Bruce’s Heart Grave Marker Look up to the top of the walls of Melrose Abbey to see a Pig playing Bagpipes Melrose Abbey Museum Thomas The Rhymer Thomas the Rhymer Thomas was a poet and someone that could predict the future. His home was in Earlston in the Scottish Borders. The legend tells that Thomas fell asleep beneath a tree at the foot of the Eildon Hills. When he woke he saw the vision of a shining Lady on a Grey horse, this was the Queen of the Fairies and she entranced him and took him away to Fairyland. He remained there for what he thought had been three days, but was actually 7 years. When he left, the Queen gave him the gift of speaking the truth and told him many prophecies of great events in Scottish history. Thomas the Rhymer Stone Thomas the Rhymer Stone Eildon Hills Bridge Over the Tweed One of the events he prophesied that there would be a bridge over the River Tweed which would be visible from the Eildon Tree. The Fairy Queen also told Thomas that she would return one day, so if you feel weary rest under the tree and you never can tell what will happen next. Thomas was a real person and lived in the 1200s and his rhymes have been popular for hundreds of years. His rhymers are the earliest examples of Scottish Poetry. Look in the Poetry Library of the Royal Mile for some examples. Stand by the stone and look for the Bridge or take a nap and see what happens. Dryburgh Attractions Scottish Borders Dryburgh Abbey In 1150 Hugo de Morville, owner of large area of southern Scotland granted by King David I, established the first community of White Canons of the Premonstratensian Order at Dryburgh. Edward II of England in 1322 and burnt the Abbey and Robert the Bruce had it rebuilt, it was again attacked in 1385 and has been attacked on other occasions, but parts still stand after 850 years. Dryburgh is a small hamlet with an Abbey of great significance. There are many things to see in and around the Abbey with Walter Scott's famous view of the Eildon Hills, and his family grave in the graveyard of the Abbey. A 30 foot statue of William (Braveheart) Wallace and the Temple of the Muse close to the River Tweed. Dryburgh Abbey has many attractions that include the grave of Earl Haig and an obelisk in memorial to King James I, king James II and Hugh de Moreville. Sir Walter Scott's Grave Sir Walter Scott died in 1832 and is buried in Dryburgh Abbey burial grounds. Also in the tomb are some of his family. His wife who died in 1816. His son also Walter, died 1847 and his wife. John Gibson Lockhart's Grave Walter Scott's son-in-law, who wrote Walter Scott’s biography died 1854. Interned next to Sir Walter Scott. Earl Douglas Haig of Bemersyde's Grave Field Marshal Douglas Haig was Commander in Chief of the British forces in the First World War. The Haig family have been part of the area since the building of the Abbey circa 1100. Memorial Obelisk Dryburgh Abbey The Obelisk at Dryburgh Abbey is engraved with figures of three great men. King James I, king James II and Hugh de Moreville who was born in Cumbria circa 1100 was Lord High Constable of Scotland and owned a large part of Scotland. Founder of Dryburgh Abbey circa 1150 and died circa 1160 in Dryburgh in the Scottish Borders. James Ye I of Scots Hugh de Moreville Founder of the Abbey circa 1150 Holding the Kings Banner James Ye II of Scots Temple of Nature William (Braveheart) Wallace In Dryburgh a statue of William Wallace stands looking out over the Eildon Hills 30 ft (9.1 mtrs) in height across from it stands an Urn with an Poetic inscription. The Temple of Nature (Temple Muse) is down the hill from the Wallace statue. Scott's View Eildon Hills Dryburgh Scottish Borders Distance Marker at Scott's View Eildon Hills Dryburgh Scottish Borders
- Edinburgh Wedding Caterers | All About Edinburgh
Looking for Wedding Caterers for your wedding a great selection of companies to choose from with affoardable prices. Chefs, tableware, serving staff, all included. Food of the best quality from great well orginised suppliers to Weddings. Edinburgh Wedding Caterers Wedding Catering | High Class Catering Edinburgh, Lothians and Scottish Borders
- Outlander Tours | Scotland | All About Edinburgh
Outlander was made in Scotland a TV mega series sensation. All the series locations can be found here and were they are located. a tour of Scotland that was taken by Jamie and Claire. Outlander Scotland Outlander the TV series that has become a worldwide success. Outlander a love story over the centuries. The two main characters, Claire Randall, World War II military nurse in 1945, is transported back in time to 1743. The story begins when she meets and falls in love with, then marries a Highland Warrior Jamie Fraser during the Jacobite uprising in Scotland. Below is a list of all the locations that the series visited in Scotland Outlander Edinburgh & Lothians Outlander has been one of the success stories of the last few years. Outlander a time traveling love story with the main characters Claire and Jamie Take a look at the places in Edinburgh, East Lothian, West Lothian and Midlothian that have been seen throughout the series. On the next page are the Outlander places in the rest of Scotland. See the Google map of Scotland with all the Film Locations on button below Go on a tour of the sites you would like to see Bespoke Outlander Tour Outlander Edinburgh Signet Library Edinburgh Outlander’s Season 3 The stunning interior of the Signet Library was the Governor’s Mansion in Jamaica. The library is home to the prestigious Society of Writers to her Majesty’s Signet which dates back to the 15th century. The ‘writers’ of documents sealed them with ‘the Signet’, the private seal of the Scottish kings Bakehouse Close Edinburgh Outlander’s Season 3 Bakehouse Close, where Jamie’s Print Shop and saw Claire reunited with Jamie after years of separation. Acheson House Canongate Outlander season 3 The exterior of Acheson House in Bakehouse Close was Madame Jeanne’s Brothel Madame Jeanne is partners with Jamie's smuggling business. Jamie has a room in her brothel for business. Tweeddale Court Edinburgh Outlander’s Season 3 & 4 The market where Claire is reunited with Fergus was filmed in Tweeddale Court. Craigmillar Castle Edinburgh Outlander’s Season 3 Craigmillar Castle featured as Ardsmuir Prison, where Jamie was incarcerated in season three. Summerhall Outlander's season 3 The lecture theatre in Summerhall was filmed were Claire meets Joe Abernathy at the start of their medical studies. Midhope Castle Hopetoun Estate Outlander season 1, 2, 3 & 4 Lallybroch Castle is Jamie Fraser’s own “north-facing tower”, his clan’s ancestral home Walk down the path in the footsteps of Claire and Jamie. Midhope Castle a ruin of a 16th-century tower house. Midhope Castle UNDER RENOVATION, the Midhope Castle filming locations for Outlander are exterior shots only. Hopetoun House South Queensferry Outlander’s Season 1, 2, & 3 Hopetoun House, doubled as the stately home of the Duke of Sandringham in season one; Provided the backdrop for Parisian streets, the spare room in Jamie and Claire’s Paris apartment, The Hawkins Estate in season two and Ellesmere and the stables at Helwater in season three. Abercorn Church Hopetoun Estate Outlander season 4 Where Frank is buried in Boston. Bree at Frank’s grave after his car crash. Outlander East Lothian The Mart, East Linton Outlander season 5 The Mart is Wilmington Fight Club. Crowd gathered to gamble on a fight between two women who are in dispute. The re-introduction to Stephen Bonnet. Bonnet meets Niall Forbes by a mutual acquaintance. A gory duel to follow. Gosford House East Lothian Outlander’s Season 2 & 3 The grounds that surround mansion doubled as the Palace of Versailles in France in season two Also Helwater and Ellesmere in season three. The house is only open for visiting on certain days. Check before you travel. Private tours can also be arranged in advance. Preston Mill East Lothian Outlander’s Season 1 Preston Mill and Phantassie Do 'cot – one of the oldest working, water-driven meal mills in Scotland. It provided the backdrop for a number of scenes during the Jacobite Uprisings. Tyninghame Beach (Ravensheugh Sands) Outlander Season 5 Claire and Bree face Bonnet, and Roger fights and betters the pirate. Seacliffe Beach Outlander season 5 A fun mother-and-daughter shell-gathering, whale-watching and beach-racing day turned into a nightmare. Newhailes House Outlander Season 4 Newhailes House doubled as Governor Tryon’s home in North Carolina, where Jamie met to discuss business And when Jamie and Claire were introduced to Wilmington Society. Outlander Midlothian Arniston House Midlothian Outlander’s Season 4 Doubled as both the theatre entrance and lobby where Jamie and Claire attended a play in Wilmington With Governor Tryon, and where Claire’s medical skills saved Edward Fanning’s life. Flotterstone near Penicuik, part of the Pentland Hills Regional Park. Season 1 Cocknammon Rock, where Heughan and his men clash with the English. The scenery of the Pentlands south of Edinburgh are magnificent. Glencorse Old Kirk Midlothian Outlander’s Season 1 Glencorse Old Kirk where Claire and Jamie married in the grounds of Glencorse House at the foothills of the Pentland Hills, Roslin Glen Outlander season 1 Roslin Glen Gunpowder Mill, you can find the place where Jamie, Claire, Rupert, Murtagh, and Angus stop to water their horses. Outlander West Lothian Linlithgow Palace Linlithgow Outlander’s Season 1 The entrance and corridors of this palace were used as Wentworth Prison where Jamie was imprisoned. Blackness Castle Outlander’s Season 1 & 2 The 15th century fortress provided the setting for the Fort William headquarters of Black Jack Randall, Also featuring in the heart-wrenching scene of Jamie’s incarceration. Beecraigs Country Park West Lothian Outlander’s Season 4 Beecraigs 913-acre Country Park doubled as the North Carolina wilderness which Jamie and Claire rode through after leaving River Run. On the journey through the forest, they became separated during a thunder storm and Claire was haunted by the ghost of Otter-Tooth. Muiravonside Country Park Linlithgow Outlander’s Season 2 Located between Linlithgow and Falkirk, the park was a backdrop to the dramatic Battle of Prestonpans, Doubled as a British encampment and the English countryside. Outlander Fife Aberdour Castle Fife Outlander’s Season 1 12th century Aberdour Castle doubled as the fictional monastery where Claire and Murtagh Took Jamie to recover after his ordeal at the prison; The Old Kitchen and Long Gallery were used for filming. Falkland Fife Outlander’s Season 1, 2 & 4 First scenes of the TV series in the town of Falkland, which was used to portray 1940s Scotland in season one and 1960s Inverness in seasons two and four. The Covenanter Hotel stood in for the cosy Mrs. Baird’s Guesthouse; The Bruce Fountain featured when the ghost of Jamie looked up at Claire’s room; Fayre Earth Gift Shop doubled as Farrell’s Hardware and Furniture Store; Campbell’s Coffee House and Eatery was Campbell’s Coffee Shop in the show. Culross Fife Outlander’s Season 1, 2 & 4 Culross was used in several scenes: The Mercat Cross area was transformed into the fictional village of Cranesmuir where Geillis lived, Behind Culross Palace was where Claire’s herb garden at Castle Leoch was located in season one. The ruined church, which was the Black Kirk in season one, The town was also a backdrop to the Jacobite encampment and makeshift hospital scenes in season two It doubled as the location of Balriggan Cottage where Laoghaire and her daughter Joan lived in season four. Dysart Harbour Fife Outlander’s Season 2 Dysart Harbour was the port of Le Havre. The Reaper is berthed in Anstruther harbour, being restored by the Scottish Fisheries Museum Outlander Dumfries Drumlanrig Castle Dumfries & Galloway Outlander’s Season 2 17th century castle, situated near Thornhill The exterior, living rooms and bedrooms became Bellhurst Manor Outlander Falkirk Bo’ness & Kinneil Railway Bo’ness Outlander’s Season 1 The Bo’ness & Kinneil Railway was transformed into a wartime London railway station Claire and Frank said their goodbyes Gray Buchanan Park Polmont Outlander’s Season 4 This is where Jamie and Young Ian buried Gavin Hayes after he was hanged for stealing in Charleston, South Carolina. Please note there is no graveyard in the park. Known locally as Parkhill, the site has pretty woodland areas alongside the meandering Polmont Burn and large rolling parkland areas with mature tree avenues. Callendar House Falkirk Outlander’s Season 2 Callendar (14th century) house in grounds of Callendar Park The authentic Georgian working kitchen was used as part of Bellhurst Manor, The home of the Duke of Sandringham. Deanston Distillery Doune Outlander’s Season 2 Deanston Distillery provided the setting for Jamie’s cousin’s wine warehouse on the docks of Le Havre. Cambusmore Estate in Callander Outlander season 5 Cambusmore Estate around Cambusmore outside Callander Trossachs and Loch Lomond National Park. The estate has been the home of the current Clan Chief of Buchanan and his family for many generations. Loch Katrine Callander Outlander’s Season 2 The roads travelled by Roger and Brianna when they first got to know each other after meeting in Inverness. Outlander themed trip along Loch Katrine aboard the SS Sir Walter Scott Loch Katrine was the inspiration and setting for Sir Walter Scott's poem The Lady of the Lake Outlander Stirling Doune Castle Stirling Outlander’s Season 1 Doune Castle near Stirling played a leading role in the show, the fictional Castle Leoch. Home to Colum MacKenzie and his clan in the 18th century. It also featured in the 20th century episode when Claire and Frank visited the castle in ruins on a day trip. Cambusbarron Stirling Outlander season 5 Used for night filming of scenes including Duncan Lacroix / Murtagh and David Berry / Lord John Grey. Stirling University Stirling Outlander’s Season 3 & 4 The walkway between the university buildings doubled as the walkway at Boston Airport, Where Brianna met Roger off the plane from Scotland when he came to visit. Outlander Perthshire The Hermitage forest in Dunkeld. Outlander season 5 Hermitage forest was used for scenes that will reportedly feature in episodes eleven and twelve. The forest surrounds Ossian’s Hall and is a short walk from the car park. Dunkeld House Hotel Perthshire Outlander’s Season 4 Dunkeld House Hotel sits within 280 acres of woodland that doubled as the North Carolina wilderness where Jamie, Claire and Young Ian set off in search of Roger when he was sold to the Mohawk. Tibbermore Parish Church Perthshire Outlander’s Season 1 Tibbermore Parish Church featured as Cranesmuir Church for the scene of the infamous witch trial. Stand in Claire and Geillis’s footsteps in the pulpit. Drummond Castle Gardens Crieff Outlander’s Season 2 Standing in for the ornate park and orchard of the Palace of Versailles in France, Note: the castle is not open to the public. . Kinloch Rannoch Perthshire Outlander’s Season 1 Loch Rannoch and Kinloch Rannoch, in Highland Perthshire, was seen in the background as Claire and Frank enjoyed their second honeymoon, following the end of the war. Craigh Na Dun Outlander season The location of the ancient stone circle where Claire Randall now Jamie's Fraser's wife Claire Fraser, travel back in time from 1945 to 1745. The large cleft stone is the gate which a time traveller pass through. Outlander Highlands Perthshire Glen Coe Scotland Outlander Season 1 Opening credits Glen Coe is a famous Scottish landmark with snow Peak Mountains, rivers and waterfalls. Also nearby Glenfinnan Monument where Bonnie Prince Charlie raised his standard of the Jacobite uprising of 1745. The famous Glenfinnan Viaduct where the Harry Potter train can be seen on its journey between Fort William and Mallaig. Highland Folk Museum - Newtonmore Outlander Season 1 Dougal collecting the rent from the crofters. Outlander Paisley Thomas Coats Memorial Baptist Church Paisley Outlander season 5 Used for scenes set in the sixties, featuring Caitriona Balfe. Both the inside and outside of the church were used. Outlander Cumbernauld Ward park Studios Cumbernauld near Glasgow Season 5 + 6 Where season five and six are being filmed when not on location Outlander Glasgow George Square Glasgow Outlander’s Season 1 Historic George Square, a wonderful civic space in the very centre of Glasgow, turned into a 1940s set to film Frank’s spontaneous proposal to Claire. Glasgow Cathedral Glasgow Outlander’s Season 2 The crypt in the cathedral doubled as L’Hopital Des Anges in Paris where Claire volunteered to work. The cathedral has a rare timelessness to it and is a stunning example of Gothic architecture. It boasts one of the finest post-war collections of stained glass windows in Britain. The University Of Glasgow Outlander’s Season 3 & 4 The University of Glasgow doubled for Harvard University Frank taught as a professor and where Brianna visited him in his office. Established in 1451, the University of Glasgow is the 4th oldest in the English-speaking world. Kelvingrove Park Glasgow Outlander’s Season 3 Kelvingrove Park doubled for the Boston Park where Claire frequently took walks. The park also featured when she pushed Brianna in her pram, passing a man who was playing the bagpipes. Pollok Country Park Glasgow Outlander’s Season 1 & 2 Pollok Country Park doubled as the grounds surrounding the fictional Castle Leoch in season one. The park was the French countryside that the characters travelled through between Le Havre and Paris in season two. Queen’s Park in Glasgow Outlander season 5 Not known scenes but a lot going on Outlander Ayrshire Troon South Ayrshire Outlander’s Season 1 Troon was the setting for the scene where Claire, Jamie and Murtagh arrived at the coast and boarded a 17th century ship to deliver Jamie to France. Dean Castle East Ayrshire Outlander’s Season 2 Set in a wooded glen in Kilmarnock, this 14th century castle stood in for Beaufort Castle near Beauly in the Highlands. Claire and Jamie visited Lord Lovat at the castle to persuade him to send his men to aid Charles Stuart. Dunure Harbour South Ayrshire Outlander’s Season 3 & 4 Dunure Harbour played Ayr Harbour as Claire and Jamie left Scotland in pursuit of Young Ian. Dunure Castle featured as Silkie Island in season three. The harbour featured again in season four, where Brianna and Roger were reunited in Wilmington, North Carolina. South Lanarkshire Calder Glen Country Park Outlander’s Season 4 The park was used as a backdrop when Jamie took Willie on a hunting and fishing trip A recreational park, situated 30 minutes outside Glasgow, is home to a zoo, Nature trails, golf course, gardens and Torrance House
- Edinburgh Dance Studios | Learn To Dance | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh Dance Studios Dance for all ballet modern ballroom jazz pole the list is endless for fun or just exercise for Hen Party groups or individuals Edinburgh Dance Studios POLE DANCING, AEROBIC DANCE EXERCISE, TAP DANCING, BALLROOM DANCING, JAZZ OR ANY OTHER STYLE OF DANCE There are so many Dances that you can have fun Learning. Like to do Strictly Dancing or looking for something fun to do on a group outing? try hanging upside down by your legs only and make the pole yours. There are so many Dances that you can have fun Learning. Below are the dance schools and places for a day out. Activities Pole Dancing Can-Can Burlesque Cheerleading Lap Dancing Zumba Belly Dancing Tap Dancing Dirty Dancing Ballet Street Dance 60's. 70's, 80's Dance Exotic Temptations Dynam-nic Dance 4 Hutchison Terrace Edinburgh EH14 1QB 0131 443 0753 Waterfront Dance Studio Unit 4 Long Craig Rigg Edinburgh EH5 1QT 07772 504958 Live It Dance Studios 328 Gilmerton Road, Edinburgh EH17 7PT 07506 104422 Morningside Dance Academy 9B Grange Road Edinburgh EH9 1UQ 0131 668 4977 Dance For All 106 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AQ 0131 226 5533 Madame Peaches 2 St Margarets House London Road Edinburgh EH7 6AE City of Edinburgh Scotland 07801 482148 Goes Well Dance The Granary The Shore Edinburgh EH6 6QN City of Edinburgh 07940091638 anniegoes@hotmail.com Dance Classes Dance Masters Studios 40 Restalrig Drive Edinburgh EH7 6AF City of Edinburgh Scotland 07921 452898 Dance Base 14-16 Grassmarket Edinburgh EH1 2JU 0131 225 5525 House Of Jack 19 Upper Arthur Street Edinburgh EH6 5DA 07740 867901 ashleyjackdance.com The Breakdance Academy 21 Dalkeith Road Edinburgh EH16 5BB 07805 947756 Millar's Strictly Dance Studio The Thomas Morton Hall 28-30Ferry Road Edinburgh EH6 4AE 01383 732135
- Greyfriars Kirk | Edinburgh Attraction | All About Edinburgh
Greyfriars Kirk and Museum is a historic place in Scotland not just as a church. The museum has anceint relics which include the first Stars and Strips on the White House a copy of the Covenant and anceint bibles and seals. The graveyard with famous people and stories of Ghosts and body snachers. Greyfriars Kirk Greyfriars Museum Edinburgh Attractions Greyfriars Kirk Greyfriars Kirk takes its name from the Franciscan friary which was previously on this site. Greyfriars Kirk building was completed in 1620 the first church to be constructed in Scotland following the Reformation. The signing of the National Covenant took place in Greyfriar’s Kirk on 28 February 1638. In a field nearby, in the 18th century 1200 Covenanters were imprisoned. A section of this field was incorporated into the churchyard as vaulted tombs and the area became known as the Covenanters' Prison. You will see enclosed vaults and metal fenced cages called mort safes as a deterrent to grave robbers taking the bodies from their resting place to use in the medical school for autopsy and scientific experiments. The famous grave robbers of the time were (Burke and Hare). Greyfriar’s Cemetery is said to be haunted by the ghost of 'Bloody' George Mackenzie who was buried here in 1691. His Spirit is said to cause bruising, bites and cuts on those who come into contact with the spirit or touch his tomb. Some visitors have reported feeling strange sensations. Take the ghost tour and find out for yourself. Don’t miss visiting Greyfriars Museum for the history and mystery of the graveyard and Kirk. Greyfriars Tolbooth Highland Kirk Museum There are many things to see and stories to be read in the museum like the an American flag that hung in the White House which was gift to the church as Greyfriars Kirk and the landing of the Pilgrim Fathers in the New World took place on Christmas Day 1620. Not to forget the famous dog Greyfriars Bobby. Greyfriars Museum and shop are open with free admission. There are guided tours available. The Notice board on entry to Greyfriars Graveyard read; In Greyfriars Church the national covenant was adopted and signed 28th February 1638. In the churchyard are objects of historical interest such as The Martyrs’ Monument towards the north east and the Covenanters’ Prison towards the south west also The graves of many Scotsmen and Citizens of Edinburgh Highland Kirk National Covenant (The Presbyterians) Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh The National Covenant signed in Greyfriars on the 28th February 1638 promised to defend Presbyterianism from intervention by the crown. Presbyterians in Scotland agreed to renew the King’s Confession of 1581, (basically a promised before God that they would accept the true religion and oppose Roman Catholicism) with two extra parts. These were a legal section listing over sixty acts of Parliament most of which were against Roman Catholicism. The Covenant was signed by almost all the people and Nobles of Scotland. Covenanting Swords The swords of Robert Trail minister of Greyfriars 1649 -1660, who accompanied, James Graham Marquis of Montrose, to his execution in 1650 and Daniel MacMichael a covenanter shot and killed at Durisdeer, Dumfriesshire in 1685. Robert Trail became minister of Greyfriars in 1949. He was arrested and imprisoned in 1660 and later banished to Holland for refusing to sign the oath of allegiance following the restoration of Charles II. Seal of Queen Victoria 1897 Seal of Queen Victoria attached to a parchment appointing William Montagu Hay 10th Marquess of Tweeddale as Lord High Commissioner to the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland in 1897. The office of Lord High Commissioner is one of the oldest in Scotland. It goes back to the early 17th century when James VI became James I of the United Kingdom in 1603. At the Union of the Crowns the King’s court moved to London and it was not so easy for him to attend the General Assembly, but a close relationship with the Church of Scotland was essential for the monarch and continues to be so today. The document states under the Treaty of Union, Queen Victoria’s seal is used in lieu of the Great Seal of Scotland. Mary Queen of Scots Greyfriars Monastery Original Monastery Doorway The grounds of the Franciscan monastery passed into the possession of Mary Queen of Scots after the Scottish Reformation of 1560. Mary then granted the grounds to the Edinburgh town council for the grounds to be use for burials. The original door lintel to the monastery can still be seen in the Greyfriars Graveyard. Greyfriars Bobby Portrait Greyfriars Museum Edinburgh Oil painting of Greyfriars Bobby in Greyfriars Museum, dated 1867. Painted by John McLeod who was born in Golspie, Sutherland in 1812. Greyfriars Bobby is an Icon of Edinburgh and Scotland and is known worldwide. The Statue stands at the junction of Candlemakers' Row, George IV Bridge and Greyfriars Place. Greyfriars Bobby's grave is at the gates to Greyfriars Kirk Museum and Burial Ground. United States Flag Greyfriars Museum Edinburgh. On Christmas Day 1620 the Kirk of the Greyfriars officially opened as a place of worship. In the same year fleeing persecution and seeking the pursuit of their religion free from interference by the state, the Pilgrim Fathers landed in Plymouth, Massachusetts and established the colony. The Stars and Strips once prominent above the White House in Washington D.C was presented to Greyfriars by the American Consul in Edinburgh. Its significance to commemorate Greyfriars Kirk’s 350th anniversary in 1970 and the landing of the Pilgrim Fathers in New England in 1620. Sir Walter Scott Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh This tablet was made and erected to the memory of Sir Walter Scott on his centenary by the young men of this kirk in which he himself worshipped as a young man. Lady Yester Memorial Grayfriars Kirk Edinburgh In memory of Margaret Lady Yester, by whose benefaction the church of Lady Yester was built in High School Wynd Edinburgh in 1644. This was demolished and a new church was built in 1803. See map by William Edgar 1765. (K) Marks the Lady Yester Kirk. The above tablet formally erected in Lady Yester’s church was transferred here when that church and parish were united with Greyfriars church and Parish in 1938. Greyfriars Kirk Communion Table St Francis Stigma reminder of the friars is a modern representation of the crossed hands of St Francis, with the stigmata, which stands above the cross behind the communion table at the east end of Greyfriars Kirk Hall. Peter Collins Organ Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Peter Collins died in 2015. He was a famous builder of organs, in his 40 years as a craftsman he built organs all over the UK and Europe. The Greyfriars organ was built in 1990 in conjunction with the late Michael Chibbett who was then the organist in Greyfriars Kirk. The Peter Collins organ is a magnificent musical instrument which overlooks the hall of the Kirk. A must see when in Edinburgh. Flodden Wall In Greyfriars Kirk Graveyard The Flodden wall can be seen through Greyfriars Graveyard. The old city wall was built for protection from the English invaders (1513) after the Scots Army suffered their heaviest defeat in battle to the English and where King James IV died in battle, King James IV was the last monarch to die in battle. Edinburgh Town Guard The City Guard’s main duty was to protect the city and maintain public order. Formed in 1679 with 40 men. Always present at civic gatherings and were led by the Lord Provost of Edinburgh. The Town Guard House was situated in the middle of the High Street west of the Tron Kirk in line with New Assembly Close. Information found on “the plan of the City and Castle of Edinburgh by William Edgar Architect 1765″. Records held in the National Library of Scotland. The Town Guard were disbanded in 1817 the last Captain of the Guard being James Burnet. The Edinburgh City Guard re-enactment group. The group recreate the Town Guard for ceremonies and recreate battles such as the Battle of Prestonpans annually. To find out more or join the Guard contact chairman, Arran Johnston (Ensign): arran_johnston@hotmail.com . Next - Grayfriars Graveyard
- Bus and Train Services | Transport | All About Edinburgh
Getting around Edinburgh and Scotland is easy. Edinburgh has a first class bus service that covers the whole city. Waverley Bridge has an information centre on all buses the national bus station is close by and the main rail station is also at Waverley Bridge. By bus or train you can cover Scotland Edinburgh Transport Local & National Bus Services Train Services Tram Service Buses National and Local The City of Edinburgh has a very good local bus service operated by Lothian transport. There are a number of transport shops throughout the city centre, where you can obtain bus timetables and route maps of all the services. There is a fixed fare system which is £1.80 per journey or you can purchase a day ticket or a monthly pass which could reduce your costs dependent on the volume of journeys you take. Bus Enquiries Lothian Buses 0131 555 6363 Scottish Border Buses 01896 754350 East Coast Buses 0131 555 6363 First Bus 0345 646 0707 Travel & Transfers Transfers from the Airport, Rail Station or Hotel Luggage Delivery Luxury vehicles Tours Advance Enquiry & Bookings +44 7539867587 Enquiries Bookings Prices Local Bus Service Edinburgh Lothian Buses Waverley Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland Bus Information 0131 555 6363 Customer Service 0131 554 4494 Stagecoach East Scotland Head Office: Our switchboard is open from 07:00 to 19:00, Monday to Friday. Telephone: 01383 660880 Fax: 01383 660877 Email: eastscotland.enquiries@stagecoachbus.com National Express Coaches St Andrew Square Edinburgh EH2 2EQ Enquiries 08717 81 81 81 National Bus Station 26 Elder Street Edinburgh EH1 3DX City of Edinburgh Scotland Enquiries 0131 652 5920 Passenger Access St Andrews Square North East Corner Next to Multrees Walk Scottish Citylink Buses Tickets 0871 266 3333 Calls cost 12p/minute from BT landlines plus network extras. Charges from other providers or mobiles may vary. General enquiries 0141 352 4444 (local rate) MegaBus Tickets Available from St Andrews Square Bus Station Customer Service 0871 266 3333 Edinburgh Rail Station and Train Companies Edinburgh Train Services Edinburgh is also fortunate in that they also have a very good train service that operates all over the United Kingdom. There are two main rail stations Haymarket in the west end of Edinburgh's city centre and Waverley in the east end of the city centre. The Waverley Rail Station is HQ for Edinburgh and all trains stop at this station. Waverley Train Stations Waverley Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1BB General station enquiries 03457 11 41 41 Tickets & travel information National Rail Enquiries 03457 48 49 50 Haymarket Train Station Haymarket Terrace Edinburgh EH12 5EY Tickets & travel information National Rail Enquiries 03457 48 49 50 General station enquiries 0800 912 2901 Edinburgh Train Stations Waverley & Haymarket National Rail Enquiries 03457 48 49 50 Train Operators Scotrail Customer Service 0344 811 0141 East Coast Customer Service 03457 225 333 LNER Customer Service 03457 225 333 Cross Country Customer Service 03447 369 123 Transpennine Express Customer Service 0345 600 1671. Eurostar Customer Service 0343 218 6186 Edinburgh Trams Edinburgh Tram service, also operated by Edinburgh Transport, the route however is fixed and runs between Edinburgh Airport and York Place at the East end of the city centre. Edinburgh Tram 55 Annandale Street Edinburgh EH7 4AZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 475 0177 Next - Car Rental Edinburgh
- Edinburgh Spa Day Pamper Treatments | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh Spa Day Pamper Treatments treat yourself a great present hen Party or Stag Party group relax and treatments Edinburgh city centre Edinburgh Spa Day Pamper Treatments Health Spa and Pamper Day There are Spas in many locations mainly in hotels but there are a few that cover the original spa experience, health, relaxation and fitness programmes, nutritious health foods (carrot drinks etc). a number of treatments, educational lectures and hydrotherapy areas. The Hotel Spa is for the pamper day a swim, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, facial, massages, pedicure, manicure and glass of bubbly. Activities City of Edinburgh Spa Day Scotsman Hotel Market Street Edinburgh EH1 1TR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5565 Spa Day Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh Princes Street Edinburgh EH1 2AB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 222 8836 Spa Day Roxburghe Hotel 38 Charlotte Square Edinburgh EH2 4HQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 240 7137 Spa Day One Spa Sheraton 8 Conference Square Edinburgh EH3 8AN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 221 7777 Spa Day G & V Royal Mile Hotel George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 6666 Spa Day Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 81 Holyrood Road Edinburgh EH8 8AU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0844 879 9028 Spa Day Norton House Hotel & Spa Ingliston Edinburgh EH28 8LX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 333 1275 Scottish Borders Spa Day Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Horsburgh Ford Cardrona Peebles EH45 8NE Scottish Borders Scotland 0844 879 9024 Spa Day Stobo Castle B712 Stobo EH45 8NY Scottish Borders Scotland 01721 735 200 Spa Day Barony Castle Hotel & Spa Old Manse Road Eddleston EH45 8QW Scottish Borders Scotland 0844 980 2301 Spa Day Peebles Hydro Innerleithen Road Peebles Scotland EH45 8LX 01764 651846 East Lothian Spa Day Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa Cromwell Road North Berwick EH39 4LZ East Lothian Scotland 0844 879 9130 West Lothian Spa Day Macdonald Houstoun House A899 Uphall EH52 6JS West Lothian Scotland 01506 853 831
- Mound Edinburgh | Shops & Businesses | All About Edinburgh
Shops and Businesses in Bank Street - North Bank Street - The Mound - St Giles Street in the heart of Edinburgh near all the attraction. The Mound is Access from the Old Town to the New Town with great views over Edinburgh and a short walk to Edinburgh Castle. The Mound Area Bank Street - North Bank Street - The Mound - St Giles Street Shops - Pubs - Restaurants Cafés - Accommodation Mound Area History & Attractions Advertise Your Business Here More Details Café on the Mound 15 North Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LS City of Edinburgh Scotland Wash Bar 11 North Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 6193 Restaurant The Makars' Rest Bar and Grill 9 North Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1178 Restaurant Whiski Rooms 7 North Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 7224 Souvenir and Gift Shop Best in Scotland 2 North Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4434 Advertise Your Business Here More Details Makars' Mash Bar Restaurant 12 Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 622 7246 Chat time Internet Café 14 Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LN City of Edinburgh Scotland Restaurant Italian on Mound 15 Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 4400 Restaurant Zebra Coffee Co 16 Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 3444 Souvenir and Gift Shop I love Scotland 20 Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3800 The Mound Museum Mound Museum 1 The Mound Edinburgh EH1 1YZ City of Edinburgh Scotland St Giles Street Saint Giles Café & Bar 8 St Giles Street Edinburgh EH1 1PT City of Edinburgh Scotland Fraser Suites 12 - 22 St Giles Street Edinburgh EH1 1PT City of Edinburgh Scotland Broad Street Bistro Bistro and Bar 18 St Giles Street Edinburgh EH1 1PT City of Edinburgh Scotland Stocks 24 St. Giles Street Edinburgh EH1 1PT City of Edinburgh Scotland Kirks Bistro Bar 26 St. Giles Street Edinburgh EH1 1PT City of Edinburgh Scotland Link George IV Bridge Area Shops & Businesses
- Dean Cemetery | Attraction | All About Edinburgh
Dean Cemetry is famous for the people that are buried here Photography's pioneer, Builder of Glasgow, Confederate General, Biscut Maker, Lords Cockburn, Jeffrey Dean Cemetery Edinburgh David Octavius Hill Dean Cemetery Edinburgh David Octavius Hill and Robert Adamson circa 1845 pioneered many aspects of photography in Scotland. David was a Scottish painter and photographer. His studio was Rock Cottage on Calton Hill. Colonel Robert Smith Dean Cemetery Edinburgh An obelisk and stone plaque in memory of and Edinburgh born soldier who was a Colonel in the Confederate Army in Americas South. Stone plaque inscription COL. ROBERT A. SMITH / OF THE / 10TH MISSISSIPPI REGIMENT CONFEDERATE STATES ARMY / A NATIVE OF EDINBURGH / WHO FELL MORTALLY WOUNDED AT THE / BATTLE OF MUNFORDSVILLE / KENTUCKY / SEPTEMBER 14TH 1862 WHILE GALLANTLY LEADING IN THE / CHARGE OF FORT CRAIG / AGED 26 YEARS SPONSORED BY MURFREESBORO S.C.V.CAMP NO 33/ TENNESSEE Buchanan Dean Cemetery Edinburgh James Buchanan (1785–1857) was a Scottish businessman and philanthropist who was instrumental in building Glasgow. Born in Glasgow and lived his last years in Edinburgh’s New Town where his wife continued to live after his death. Lord Francis Jeffrey Dean Cemetery Edinburgh Lord Francis Jeffrey, born 23 Oct 1773 in Edinburgh, Scotland, died 26 Jan 1850 in Edinburgh buried in the Dean Cemetery. He was a literary critic and became a Judge. He was the editor of, The Edinburgh Review, a newspaper on British political and literary criticism in the early 19th century. His offices were in Buccleuch Place Edinburgh. James Falshaw Dean Cemetery Edinburgh James Falshaw was an engineer and helped build the railways around the UK. He lived in Edinburgh from the mid-1800s. He was Edinburgh’s Lord Provost from 1874 -77. He helped modernise the lothians and was knighted in 1876 and was involve in the building of the Forth Rail Bridge which still stands today as the main crossing of the Firth of Forth by rail. Nasmyth Dean Cemetery Edinburgh James Nasmyth born 47 York Place Edinburgh in 1808 became a Scottish engineer famed for inventing the steam hammer in 1842 and many other engineering firsts in his foundry in Manchester. He produced many tools and steam engines. His father Alex was a renowned Scottish artist. Alexander Nasmyth Artist Alexander Nasmyth born in 1758 in Edinburgh live at 47 York Place and was said to be the father of Scottish Landscape Painting. He Studied under Allan Ramsay and as a friend of Robert Burns he was fortunate enough to be the only one to paint a portrait of Robert Burns that exists today. only one to paint a portrait of Robert Burns that exists today. Lord Henry Cockburn Dean Cemetery Edinburgh See https://www.allaboutedinburgh.co.uk/bonaly-tower for info on Henry Cockburn Robert McVitie Dean Cemetery Edinburgh Robert McVitie (1854-1910) took over the running of the business from his father who died in 1884. That was when the company moved solely to Biscuits. The biscuit that is known by everyone is McVities Digestive, which was created in 1892. An Edinburgh man with the biggest name in biscuits. Lord Andrew Rutherfurd Dean Cemetery Edinburgh Andrew Rutherfurd was born at Bristo Port Edinburgh 1791. His home was to be Lauriston Castle and his townhouse was 9 St Colme Street, where he died in 1854. (Even in 1800s they had 2 houses). He studied law at the University of Edinburgh and became an advocate in 1812. He was appointed Solicitor General for Scotland in 1837 and in 1839 he was appointed Lord Advocate and Member of Parliament for Leith. He was also appointed the Rector of the University of Glasgow. James Stevenson Dean Cemetery Edinburgh James Stevenson born in Paisley on 28 April 1786 a Scottish merchant and philanthropist who was the father of two famous Scottish women, Flora Stevenson and Louisa Stevenson. In 1865 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh. He died at Home 13 Randolph Crescent in Edinburgh. Randolph Crescent the home of Flora Stevenson, Louisa Stevenson, and Elisa Stevenson in Edinburgh became one of the centres for women’s rights campaigning. They were founder members of the Ladies Educational Association. Flora Stevenson was elected onto the Governments School Board in 1873 and was so re-elected every year until her death in 1905. In her honour the Education board named a school after her which still is in use to this day. Louisa campaigned specifically for women to be allowed medical training and to qualify as doctors. She joined with Sophia Jex Blake to found the women’s medical college. Louisa later became a member of the executive committee of the National Union of Women’s suffrage society. Louisa Stevenson with Christian Guthrie Wright founded the Edinburgh School of Cookery in 1875 in Atholl Crescent Edinburgh. This school developed into The Queen Margaret University. James Hamilton Dean Cemetery Edinburgh James Hamilton, 9th Lord Belhaven and Stenton (1822–1893) His family can be traced back over 500 years to James Hamilton, 1st Lord Hamilton, by Janet Calderwood, and half-brother of James Hamilton, 1st Earl of Arran from whom the Dukes of Hamilton descend. Information from https://en.google-info.org/463879/1/lord-belhaven-and-stenton.html Sir Thomas Bouch Dean Cemetery Edinburgh The well-known saying ‘you botched it up’ was after Sir Thomas Bouch who built the original Tay Bridge which collapsed due to design faults, many were killed. Ironically, his Knighthood was for the building of the bridge. Sir Thomas Bouch 1822 –1880 a British railway engineer. He was born in Cumbria. He was the manager of the Edinburgh and Northern Railway and introduced the first roll-on/roll-off train ferry service in the world which left from Granton harbour taking trains over to Fife. William H Playfair Dean Cemetery Edinburgh William Henry Playfair was born in London to Scottish Parents in 1790. He studied at Edinburgh University graduating in 1809. He became the leading architect in Edinburgh. His neoclassical architecture can be seen all over Edinburgh. His buildings were how Edinburgh was called ‘The Athens of the North’. Most of his finest buildings are in or around Edinburgh. The Royal Scottish Academy building, The National Gallery of Scotland, Royal College of Surgeons, Donaldson's Hospital, St Stephen's Church New College on The Mound, City Observatory and Dugald Stewart Monument on Calton Hill. He died in 1857 leaving Edinburgh a as an architectural paradise known throughout the world. Next - Corstorphine Village
- Prestonpans | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Prestonpans a historic town with amazing history, 81 Witches, Totem poles, Famous battle site, Murels and the Prestonpans Tapestry, Bonnie Prince Charlie, Worlds first railway, salt pans and fishing. Prestonpans East Lothian Coast A Small Town A Large History The town of Prestonpans was originally named Althamer after a sailor who became shipwrecked circa 1060 and decided to stay with his shipmates as they had no way of returning home. It was the monks of Newbattle circa 1180 came and settled in the area and renamed it Priestatown. The name over the years changed due to the salt panning. Prestonpans was where one of the first post-reformation churches were built in Scotland circa 1600. Other things about Prestonpans are, the famous Battle of Prestonpans 1745 when Bonnie Prince Charlie and his Jacobite Army defeated the English which 7 months later ended the Stuart battle for the crown at Culloden. The Battle of Prestonpans Battle Story Prestonpans Battle Story is about how Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobite's defeated the English went as far as Derby before returning and then being defeated at Culloden. From victory to defeat took seven months 21st September 1745 (Prestonpans) 16th April 1746 Culloden. The Story boards which can be seen at the top of the Pyramid the battle site viewing platform on the B1361 on the East side of Prestonpans top road. Climb the pyramid and read the full story. The Pyramid marks the area where the Battle of Prestonpans took place in 1745. Bonnie Prince Charlie led the Jacobite Army in a triumph over the English. There is a story board at the summit of the Pyramid with the story of the Jacobite uprising and the route to glory and defeat. John Muir Way The John Muir way starts in Dunbar and finishes in Helensburgh on the west coast of Scotland. From North Berwick to the Musselburgh - Edinburgh border, the John Muir way follows the coast through all the small coastal villages. The route is great for walking or cycling. All the attractions of the towns and villages on the route can be seen on this site. Hamilton Family Prestonpans East Lothian The Hamilton’s have been the land owners of Preston from circa 1380. Circa 1620 Sir John Hamilton of Preston was granted the lands and barony of Preston and Prestonpans by King James VI. Sir Thomas Hamilton was created Lord Binning in 1613 and later in 1627 he became the 1st Earl of Haddington. While his brother Sir John Hamilton (1565 -1644) had a house built in Preston East Lothian in 1628 which he named Hamilton House. In 1663 Preston became a free burgh with the right to hold markets. Sir William Hamilton, 1st baronet, of Preston was born in 1647 and became a baronet of Nova Scotia in 1673. Sr William Alexander first to receive the ownership of Nova Scotia in 1625. Baron The Duke of Hamilton now resides at Lennoxlove House near Haddington. Inscription (above window) reads: praise be the lord my | Strenth and my redeimer (above the door) J.H K.S 1628 and the joint coat of arms of the Hamilton and Sympson families. On the Side Wall the three windows have inscriptions J (Shield) H 16 ( J H K S intertwined) 28 K (Shield) S the initials JH represent Sir John Hamilton who built the house in 1628. He originally named the house Magdalens’ House, as he was Lord Magdalen and the KS is for his wife Katherine Sympson. The Shields are of the Hamiltons and Sympsons. Northfield House Prestonpans Northfield House was built circa 1580 by George Hamilton the first owner and sold to Joseph Marjoribanks. A common stone above the door in these times were the owner’s initials and date normally called a marriage stone. In this case, the stone over the doorway with 1611 and the initials of J.M. (Joseph Marjoribanks) and M.S. (Marion Simpson) and the inscription ‘EXCEP THE LORD BVLD IN WANE BVLDS MAN’. Marjoribanks was a Burgess of Edinburgh. Northfield House Do’cot Northfield House Do’cot was were the owners of Northfield House would get fresh meat. All the large houses and estates would have a Do’cot this is a bee hive shaped Do’cot, where Preston Tower has a Cottage shaped Do’cot. They would take the young pigeons for food as they were the most tender. The pigeons still use the Do’cot to this day but they are not used as food. Prestongrange Church Prestonpans church was burnt down in 1544 and a new church was built in 1595. The present church was built in 1774 with parts of the previous Church. In the graveyard of Kirk Street in Prestonpans can be seen graves with dates from the 16th century. The tombstone below has an inscription born 1596 he died Feb 25 16 # # on the right and on the left John Hepburn. Above the door of the church is said to be the first ever mural. Thomas Alexander CB The Monument to Thomas Alexander CB stands in the gardens in front of Prestongrange Church on the south side of the High Street at Kirk Wynd. Thomas Alexander was born in Prestonpans in May 1812. He was an Army surgeon and took part in many campaigns and became the Director General of the Medical Department of the British Army. His main goals were to see improvements to the conditions the soldiers had to live in, especially during the Crimean war. The memorial was erected in 1862. Captain John Stuart The Grave in Prestongrange Churchyard of Captain John Stuart of Phisgul Galloway. Here lyeth the remains of John Stuart of Phisgul, a Galloway gentleman and Captain Lessel’s Reg’m’t, a man of true bravery who died honourably in defence of his King and country, and of civil and religious liberty, being barbarously murder’d by four Highlanders near the end of the Battle fought in the field of Preston on the 21st Sept 1745. The Gothenburg The Gothenburg in Prestonpans built in 1908 still runs under the original Gothenburg Public-house system. Where the majority of the income is given to charity to benefit the community. The system was originally started in Sweden in 1855 to control the consumption of alcohol. The Gothenberg also has a memorial to the 81 witches falsely accused of witchcraft. The Gothenburg is also home to the Prestonpans Tapestry. Prestoungrange Totem Poles The Totem Pole 32 foot high, that stands across from the Gothenburg was carved from a red cedar tree from Chemainus Vancouver Island British Columbia, Canada. The carvings give a pictorial story of the area and was erected in 2006 when the 6th Global Murals Conference took place in Prestonpans. Halfway up you can see the number 81 in memory of the Witches that were burnt unjustly and then pardoned in 2004. The other 3 Totem poles are caved from a log also given by Chemainus Vancouver Island British Columbia, Canada. and the mural of the Witches Trial can be seen in the play park. Preston Mercat Cross The Mercat Cross that stands in Prestonpans is the oldest remaining Mercat Cross in its original form and position in Scotland. Five Mercat Cross were built in the early 1600s all to the same design and for the same purpose, to make important civic announcements. Edinburgh’s Mercat Cross is still used for government proclamations that affected all of Scotland. An example, announcements concerning successions to the monarchy and the calling to parliament. There is an entrance to steps which bring you out at a platform where the announcements are read. The Unicorn is the ancient emblem of Scotland and stands at the top of the Mercat Cross. Robert Burns Memorial Garden Prestonpans East Lothian The Robert Burns Memorial Garden and Cairn that commemorates the 200th anniversary of Robert Burns death. The Tam O’Shanter mural can be found inside the Burns Gated shelter, next to the Robert Burns Memorial Cairn, in the Robert Burns memorial Garden. The inscriptions on the tablets read: That I for poor auld | Scotland’s sake | Some usefu’ plan or | beuk could make | Or sing a sang | at least. For a’ that, an’ a’ that, | It’s coming yet for a’ that, | That Man to Man, the world o’er, | Shall brothers be for a’ that. The Cairn was unveiled | On the 26th July 1996 | To commemorate | The bicentenary | Of the death of the poet | Robert Burns Robert Burns Memorial Shelter Prestonpans East Lothian The writing above the doorway reads “BETTER A WEE BUSH THAN NAE BIELD” The translation is “it is better to have some shelter than no shelter at all”. Robert Burns Garden Prestonpans East Lothian Kinetic Sculpture Prestonpans Robert Burns Memorial Garden Kinetic Sculpture Leslie Frank Chorley Prestonpans 'Old Harbour' The Prestonpans Harbour first known as New Haven was built by the monks of Newbattle Abbey as a shelter to fishermen and their boats in the mid 1500s. The name changed and finally was named after the land owners Morrison. (Morrison’s Haven in Prestongrange). Situated directly across from Prestongrange Museum. Prestongrange Mining Museum The Coal Mine of Prestongrange now a museum has been an important part I the history of not just Prestonpans but Dalkeith and Edinburgh. The monks from Newbattle Abbey were given the charter for the lands and started mining coal circa 1190. With many raw materials around the coast sand, kelp and clay, many industries started here which included brickwork, potteries, glass works and ceramics. The main supply of bricks to build Edinburgh’s New Town were provided from the brickwork which closed in 1975 after over 200 years of brick making. Salt was also refined here giving the name Salt Pans. The monks renamed the area Prieststown circa 1190 previously it was Althammer. seen below a carriage from the railway that transport the coal, Prestongrange Museum Cornish Beam Engine Cornish Beam Engine installed in 1874 and continued working until 1954 Prestonpans Town Hall Preston pans Town hall found in the centre of the main street is where you can find The Battle of Prestonpans Museum and Jacobite Heritage Centre Not to be missed check for opening times before travel The Town Hall opened in 1897 and above the main door can be seen the Prestonpans burgh crest, with the Mercat Cross in the centre, also reliefs of local industries. These included crossed anchor, mining pick and salt shovel, with a sheaf of barley with crossed sickles. Donating Salt panning, Mining, Fishing and Agriculture. Preston Tower and Gardens Preston Tower is no long accessible but can be seen from the beautiful well-kept gardens. The Tower was built in an L-shape in the late 1300s or early 1400s and was the home of the Hamiltons of Preston. The area around the Tower was once called Preston. Preston Tower has had a unlucky past, the Tower has been burnt 3 times 1544, 1650 and again in 1663 and has been vacant since. In the far corner of the gardens is a do’ cot which is still in use by the local pigeons. There is also a very impressive laburnum arch and well manicured gardens. Prestonpans Mural Trail The Prestonpans murals show the history of the area and the Murals Trail starts at the Gothenburg and winds its way around the streets of Prestonpans. There are over 30 Murals to see and include John Knox, The Witches Gate, Sir Walter Scott and Robert Burns Tam O Shanter . There is also a number of things to see in the Burns Memorial Garden. The Shrine Prestonpans East Lothian The memorial on the same road to the Prestonpans Battle site is the Shrine, not far from the cairn for the Battle of Prestonpans. The sculpture is of two miners digging for coal in a mine shaft and was created by a local stonemason Gardner. Coal mining was a major industry in the area from circa 1200 to 1964 when the East Lothian mines were closed (Meadowmill and Bellyford). Prestonpans War Memorial The memorial of a soldier in the Royal Scots uniform was unveiled in April 1922. The memorial is dedicated to the fallen in World War I and World War II. There is also a bronze plaque Dedicated to the memory of those who laid down their lives in the defence of democracy in Spain between 1936 -1939 with a quote from Byron “they never fail who die in a great cause.” A simple inscription on the memorial reads; “To the glorious memory of the men of this parish who gave their lives for their country 1914-1918, 1939-1945” Spanish Civil War Memorial Prestonpans East Lothian The bronze plaque beside Prestonpans War Memorial in High Street Prestonpans reads; ‘Dedicated to the memory of those who laid down their lives in the defence of democracy. Spain 1936 -1939.’ It also includes a quote from the poet Byron: “They never fail who die in a great cause.” 3 men from Prestonpans fought in in the Spanish Civil War one of whom John Gilmour was unfortunately killed in Feb 1937 Athena Sculpture Prestonpans East Lothian The sculpture commemorates the 81 residents of Prestonpans East Lothian, who were executed for witchcraft in the 16th century. The totem pole at the shore also is a memorial and more about the withes can be seen in The Goth This is one of many sculptures by Andy Scott the sculptor who created the world famous Kelpies in the Helix Park in Grangemouth Royal Musselburgh Golf Club Royal Musselburgh Golf Club play for the Old Club Cup first won in 1774 by Thomas McMillan, which make it the oldest golf club trophy still competitively played for in the world to this day. A golf club was formed in 1760 by a group of local enthusiasts and played over the old Musselburgh course. Royal Musselburgh Golf Club had their first club house at 9 Links Place, now, 9 Balcarres Road Musselburgh. Prestongrange House has a long history and a building has been on the site since circa 1185 when it was known as Newbattle Grange. The Present building has been renovated and extended through 5 centuries and became the home to the Royal Musselburgh Golf Club in 1926. The North British Railway Tavern The North British Railway Tavern was first a dwelling House, an asylum, a soldiers barracks, built 1628 possibly one of the oldest buildings in Prestonpans. Prestonpans Tapestry The Prestonpans Tapestry has 104 tapestry panels that tell the journey of Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobite army against the mighty army of the English in 1745, the final Jacobite uprising. The tapestry was first viewed in July 2010 and has been on show across the UK and in France. The Tapestry was designed by Andrew Crummy and was created by Dorie Wilkie and a small core team plus over 200 crafts people. This is a historic document that should be on show all year round to remind people of the Scottish culture. Chase to Culloden Also the might of the English government forces were at their backs led by the King’s son the Duke of Cumberland, so they continued further into the highlands. On the 16th April 1746 the English caught up with the Jacobite army and on Culloden field the Jacobite army was wiped out and the remainder scattered throughout the Highlands. Charles eluded the English and on the 19 September fled to France where he remained till his death. Ruthven Barracks, near Kingussie is where the Highland army gathered in 1746 after the battle of Culloden only to be told to disband, bringing an end to the last Jacobite rising. Ban on Tartan Cumberland took measures to stop the clans from uniting again and with an act of parliament in 1746 the wearing of tartan except as a uniform for officers and soldiers in the British Army was banned. Tartan became popular again in 1822 with George IV wearing full tartan dress a prerequisite of his visit to Scotland arranged by Sir Walter Scott and Henry Dundas. When George the IV stepped on Scottish land at Leith it was the first regaining monarch to stand on Scottish soil since King Charles I for his Scottish coronation in 1633. Battle of Prestonpans Bankton House Bankton House was originally called Olivestob and built by the Monks of Newbattle circa 1130. The house changed hands over the years, owned by many of the rich and powerful of the time. the Ker’s of Newbattle, Seton’s, Hamilton’s and Colonel James Gardiner purchased the house circa 1730 as his family home. and that is where he died at the end of the Battle of Prestonpans which took place on the lands to the east and north of the house. Battle of Prestonpans Bankton Do'cot The Bankton Doocot is a visitor attraction and once inside the story of James Gardiner of Bankton House will be told. Which includes Battle Prestonpans 1745. Battle of Prestonpans Colonel James Gardiner’s Obelisk The Obelisk stands near to Bankton House his family home in Prestonpans. Colonel James Gardiner was one of Sir John Cope’s Dragoon commanders at the battle of Prestonpans in 1745. James Gardiner was born in Carriden West Lothian in 1687 and became a career soldier in the British Army as was his father. He died gallantly due to wound sustained on the 21st of September 1745 at the Battle of Prestonpans, when battling against the Jacobite army of Bonnie Prince Charlie. Bankton House was where Colonel Gardiner was taken and subsequently died of his wounds sustained in the battle. Battle of Prestonpans The Thorntree Memorial Stone The Thorntree Memorial Stone stands in the vicinity of where Colonel Gardiner was to be fatally injured beside a Thorntree. Near to Bankton House can be seen a monument which was erected in 1853 in Colonel Gardiner’s memory. The inscription reads; During the Battle of Prestonpans fought on 21st September 1745 Colonel Gardiner of Bankton was fatally injured beneath a Hawthorn tree in this area. The inscription at the foot of the triangular stones reads; “The Battle was fought between the Jacobite’s” “Led by Bonnie Prince Charlie and” “The Gov’t forces led by Johnnie Cope” Harlawhill House Prestonpans Harlawhill House was first owned by the Hamilton’s of Preston the Hamilton’s being the major land owners of the area circa 1350 till 1701 on Sir Robert Hamilton of Preston’s death. The Harlawhill House built circa 1640 has little history. The Fowler’s Robert and son John once owned the house and it then was passed to his sister’s son Robert Hislop who became sole owner. The house overlooked their Brewery which stood on the High Street and Harlawhill which was owned by the Fowlers and Hislops . The grave and tombstone can be found in the old cemetery in Prestonpans. The Fowler Brewery was established circa 1720 by Robert Fowler. Who was succeeded by his son, John Fowler died who died in 1839 and the business passed to his nephew Robert Hislop, who remained the sole proprietor until he sold the business in 1865. John Fowler Brewer in Prestonpans Born 9 July 1756 Died 13 July 1839 Robert Hislop Born 7 June 1789 Died 16 January 1872 His Wife Ann Buchan Sydserff 19 May 1801 Died 31 March 1879 And their children Francis Hislop Born 26 August 1826 Died 12 March 1860 Robert Hislop Born 25 March 1831 Died 8 July 1830 Phemie George & Charlie who died in infancy John Fowler Hislop born 18 October 1823 died 6 August 1894 Drummore (Drummohr) House Prestonpans Sir Hew Dalrymple purchase the lands of Westpans in 1733. The house was demolished during the English invasion circa 1745. A new larger house was built by Lord Drummore (Sir Hew Dalrymple) in 1753. The estate was later passed to his son David Dalrymple (Lord Westhall) in 1755. David Dalrymple sold the estate to Rev Robert Finlay of Wallyford in 1762. Who then sold it on to the Aitchison family in 1808. William Aitcheson was wealthy land owner and Distiller and had 9 children Colonel William Aitcheson his son inherited the property in 1846. Circa 1880 renovations were carried out by the new owner and since then the house has had many uses one of which in 1928 Loretto School purchased the estate which was where the Loretto girl’s school was established. Translation DEO PATRIAE AICIS To God My Country and Friends DEO PATRIAE AICIS SEISE The Flow and Greatly Independant Live Next - Cockenzie - Port seton
- Edinburgh | Golf Courses | All About Edinburgh
Golf Courses Edinburgh if you are looking to Play Golf in Edinburgh. Here are all the golf courses in the Edinburgh area with full contact details, Location map, course details Book a tee time for the course of your choice. Edinburgh Golf Courses Edinburgh (Leith) is were the first golf was played to written rules in 1744. When only two Golf Courses existed one in Edinburgh Bruntsfield and one in Leith. Leith was not part of Edinburgh until 1920. Now there are over 20 courses council owned and private. All can be played by booking in advance. Click on link below for more details on each golf course in Edinburgh. Baberton Golf Course Duddingston Golf Course Merchants Golf Course Ratho Park Golf Course Turnhouse Golf Course Bruntsfield Links Golf Course Gogarburn Golf Course Mortonhall Golf Course Ravelston Golf Course 6 Council Golf Courses Craigmillar Park Golf Course Prestonfield Golf Course Murrayfield Golf Course Royal Burgess Golf Course Free Golf Dalmahoy Golf Courses Liberton Golf Course Kingsknowe Golf Course Swanston Golf Course Golf Transfers Scotland's Golf Course Map Golf & Airport Transfers Back to Golf in Scotland Golf Courses Edinburgh Baberton Golf Course Baberton Golf Course Contact Details: Pro Shop : Description of Course 18 Hole Park Land Golf Course White Tees 6016 Yards Par 70 Yellow Tees 5746 Yards Par 69 Red Tees 5550 Yards Par 74 History Baberton Golf Club was constituted on 31 May 1893 The first course was designed by Willie Park Jnr (Open Champion 1887 1889) opened 9 hole course 15th July 1893. Ben Sayers and James Braid were also part of the golf course design at later dates. Head PGA Professional Iain Lowdean Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Bruntsfield Links Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par 71 6,500 yards Parkland Course History Original designed by Willie Park Jnr and redesigned by Dr Alistair Mackenzie (1922), James Braid (1930) and Fred Hawtree (1974). Mackenzie & Ebert 2017-18. Bruntsfield Links Golf Society was founded in 1761 the 4th oldest club in the world Visitor Information PGA Professional - Alan Wright - Assistant - Joe Bryce Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Bruntsfield Golf Course Craigmillar Golf Course Craigmillar Park Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par 70 - 18 Hole 5828 yards Parkland Course History Original designed by James Braid in 1927 Craigmillar Park Golf Club was founded on 12th Jan 1895 Visitor Information PGA Professional - David Patrick & Shaun McAllister Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Dalmahoy Country Club Contact Details : Description of Course Parkland Course Dalmahoy (East) Blue Par 74 7334 yards White Par 72 6956 Yellow Par 71 6684 Red Par 74 6011 Dalmahoy (West) White Par 68 Yellow Par 68 Red Par 69 History The first course was designed by James Braid in 1927 (6,664 yards, Par 72) The House was built in 1725 and designed by William Adam Visitor Information PGA Professional - Scott Dixon Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Dalmahoy Golf courses Duddingston Golf Course Duddingston Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Gogarburn Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Gogarburn Golf Course Kingsknowe Golf Course Kingsknowe Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Liberton Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Liberton Golf Course Merchants Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Merchants Golf Course Mortonhall Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Mortonhall Golf Course Murrayfield Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Murrayfield Golf Course Prestonfield Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Prestonfield Golf Course Ratho Park Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Ratho Park Golf Course Ravelston Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Ravelston Golf Course Royal Burgess Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Royal Burgess Golf Course Swanston Golf Course Swanston New Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Turnhouse Golf Course Contact Details : Description of Course Par - length - Park Links etc -History - Who designed it - when it opened Visitor Information Par - length - Park Links etc Professional Ranking Tee Times - Prices - Special Deals - Food - Drink Turnhouse Golf Course Edinburgh Council Local Authority Golf Courses Braid hills Golf Course Braidhills Approach Edinburgh EH10 6JY 0131 447 6666 Carrickknowe Golf Course Glendevon Park Edinburgh EH12 5XB 0131 337 1096 Silverknowes Golf Course Silverknowes Road Edinburgh EH4 5ET 0131 336 3843 Braid Hills Princes Golf Course Braid Hills Drive Edinburgh EH10 6JY 0131 447 3568 Craigentinny Golf Course Fillyside Road Edinburgh EH7 6RG 0131 554 7501 Portobello Golf Course Stanley Street Edinburgh EH15 1JJ 0131 669 4361 6 Council Golf Courses Back to list
- Stockbridge Area | Shops & Businesses | All About Edinburgh
Stockbridge Area Edinburgh west of Canonmills and north of Edinburgh's city centre with restaurants pubs, cafes, Sunday Market the water of leith and mineral spring St Bernard's Well Falshaw Bridge and Fettes College this is a village within a city with great shopping small independent shops. STOCKBRIDGE AREA SHOPS EDINBURGH Retail Stores, Restaurants, Pubs, Activities, Accommodation Stockbridge the northern part of Edinburgh's new town and like a small village in a large city. Stockbridge History and Attractions The streets of the area are; Deanhaugh Street, Dean Street, Raeburn Place North West Circus Place, Henderson Row, Hamilton Place, Kerr Street, Bakers Street Dean Bank Lane, Granville Place, Comely Bank Road, Comleybank, St Vincent Street St Stephen Street, South East Circus Place, Howe Street Comely Bank Terrace, Comely Bank Place, NORTH WEST CIRCUS PLACE The Pantry Restaurant 1 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6ST City of Edinburgh Scotland Dick's Edinburgh Fashion 3 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6ST City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 6220 Original Tile Shop 4 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6ST City of Edinburgh Scotland Patisserie Florentin 5 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 0225 Aesop Beauty 6 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SW City of Edinburgh Scotland Jeffery's Interiors 8 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SW City of Edinburgh Scotland Royal Bank of Scotland plc 12 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland 03457 242424 Zanzero 14 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 0333 Boscollo Bathrooms 17 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland Eden Fashion 18 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland Farrow and Ball 20 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland Ian Smith Design 21 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland Vincent Bell Hair 23 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6SX City of Edinburgh Scotland Sculleries of Stockbridge 25 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Vino Wines 26 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Floatarium 29 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Spanish Fine Foods 30 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Spud 31 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Coulter's Letting Agent 32 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TP City of Edinburgh Scotland Stockbridge Pharmacy 35 North West Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 9150 RAEBURN PLACE Field Grill House 1 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 9977 Stockbridge Tap Restaurant 2 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 343 3000 Willow Boutique 5 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Stockbridge Tap Restaurant 6 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Capelli Hair 7 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland St Bernard's Bar 10 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 2655 Cetty and Doig Opticians 11 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Ann Smith Jeweler 12 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Russel & Aitken LLP 16 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 202 0600 Domino's Pizza 17 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HU City of Edinburgh Scotland Coco Chocolatier 20 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Lucie Fenton Gallery 20a Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Subway 21 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Abacus Blinds 22 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Timpson’s 23 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Sergio Tosoralli Tailor / Couture 26 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Goll Hair 26a Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Greggs Bakery 27a Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 3326377 Henderson Art 28 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Madalea Patisserie 29a Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland GLANVILLE PLACE Caffe Nero 4 Glanville Place Edinburgh EH3 6SZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Sharon Robertson Hair 3 Glanville Place Edinburgh EH3 6SZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Stockbridge Newsagent 1 Glanville Place Edinburgh EH3 6SZ City of Edinburgh Scotland BAKER'S PLACE I J Mellis Cheese 6 Baker's Place Edinburgh EH3 6SY City of Edinburgh Scotland Stockbridge Kitchen Café 8 Baker's Place Edinburgh EH3 6SY City of Edinburgh Scotland Starbucks 10 Baker's Place Edinburgh EH3 6SY City of Edinburgh Scotland SOUTH EAST CIRCUS PLACE Doubtfire Gallery 1 South East Circus Place Edinburgh EH3 6TJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 6540 COMELYBANK Bank of Scotland 43 Comelybank Edinburgh EH4 1AF City of Edinburgh Scotland COMELY BANK PLACE Gentlemens Club 43 Comely Bank Place Edinburgh EH4 1ER City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 3247 COMELY BANK TERRACE Dean Bowling Club 18 Comely Bank Terrace Edinburgh EH4 1AS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 0015 COMELY BANK ROAD Scran and Scallie 1 Comely Bank Road Edinburgh EH4 1DT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 6281 Franco's Fish Bar 7 Comely Bank Road Edinburgh EH4 1DR City of Edinburgh Scotland Northwood Properties 13 Comely Bank Road Edinburgh EH4 1DR City of Edinburgh Scotland Crombie & Co Property Management 15 Comely Bank Road Edinburgh EH4 1DS City of Edinburgh Scotland Bob's Barbers 69 Comely Bank Road Edinburgh EH4 1AW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 7119 DEAN STREET Good Brothers Wine Bar 4 Dean Street Edinburgh EH4 1LW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 315 3311 KERR STREET Sunday Market Kerr Street Edinburgh EH3 6SZ City of Edinburgh Scotland DEAN BANK LANE Lancers 1 Restaurant Dean Bank Lane Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 3444 RAEBURN PLACE William Hill Bookmaker 31 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Banks Flowers 32 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Maxi’s 33 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HX City of Edinburgh Scotland Geluja 34 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Poppin Up 37 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Scot Mid 41 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Write Stuff 43 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Shanaz Takeaway 45 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Gallery Mirages 46 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Kim McGregor Hair 47 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Henri Café 48 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Daisy Cheynes 51 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Street Box 53 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Costa Coffee 54 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Pekoe Tea of Edinburgh 55 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HX City of Edinburgh Scotland Caoba 56 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Wo man Kind Beauty 58 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Carson Hardware 62 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Electric Signs 63 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Alterations 65 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Herbie of Edinburgh 66 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland DEANHAUGH STREET Pizza Express 1 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 7229 Rafael’s 2 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 1469 Peter's Yard 3 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LU City of Edinburgh Scotland Gordon Fraser Hair 4 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland Lloyds Pharmacy 7 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 5721 Saorsa Art Gallery 8 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 343 1126 Tariq's Grocers 11 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LU City of Edinburgh Scotland Bank of Scotland 13 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LU City of Edinburgh Scotland Just Dogs 14 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland Liggy’s Cake Company 18 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 2223 Grounds Coffee 20 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland Veritas Restaurant 24 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 315 2860 Ping On 26 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 3621 Pastel De Nata 33 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LR City of Edinburgh Scotland Boombarbers 34 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 315 3313 Sainsbury Local 35 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LR City of Edinburgh Scotland Sabor Criollo 36 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LY City of Edinburgh Scotland Hectors 47 Deanhaugh Street Edinburgh EH4 1LR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 343 1735 ST VINCENT STREET St Vincent Bar 11 St Vincent Street Edinburgh EH3 6SW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 7447 RAEBURN PLACE Flavours Holidays 69 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Costcutter 70 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland G.P.O 74 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland George Bowes Butchers 75 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Good Village Chinese Takeaway 76 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Rock Paper Scissors Barber 77 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Gift 78 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Armstrong Fishmonger 80 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Vet Surgery 82 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Goodfellow and Stevens Cakes 86 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland James Wilson Interiors 88 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Jimmy Martin Travel 94 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Café Plum 96 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Calzeat Fashion 98 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Pasa Barbers 100 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Artisan Roast Café 102A Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HH City of Edinburgh Scotland New town Dry Cleaners 104 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HH City of Edinburgh Scotland Rollo Restaurant 108 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Pizza Hut 110 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 City of Edinburgh Scotland Raeburn Hotel 112 Raeburn Place Edinburgh EH4 1HG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 7000 ST STEPHEN STREET Bailie Bar 2 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4673 Bells Diner 7 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 8116 Rice King 11 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 5213 Sing Thai 42 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 5877 Saint (The) Bar 44 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 9009 Blue Parrot Cantina 49 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 2941 Stockbridge 54 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 6766 Anna Harper Lettings 63 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 202 0495 Golden Hare Books 68 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 1396 Antiquary Inn 72 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 2858 Flaubert Gallery 74 St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 5007 Karen's Unicorn 112 St Stephens Sreet Edinburgh EH3 5AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 6659 Bruce Rae Property Management 110b St Stephen Street Edinburgh EH3 5AQ City of Edinburgh Scotland HAMILTON PLACE Edinburgh Property Letting Services 8 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AU City of Edinburgh Scotland Stockbridge Library 11 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland Hamilton's Bar and Restaurant 16 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 8513 Gorgeous Hair Salon 33 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 343 1152 Theatre Workshop 34 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 7942 Skylark Café 42 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH 3 5AZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4444 Whistling Tortoise 42a Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH 3 5AZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Alpine Bikes 48 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland Alpha Art Gallery 52 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 3066 Scot Mid 56 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 3066 Capital Credit Union 62 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland Ronde Cycles 68 Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5AX City of Edinburgh Scotland HENDERSON ROW Lezzetli 1 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland L'alba Dora 5 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland Anima Restaurant 7 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland Licks Cake Shop 17 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland Bamboo Boutique 19 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 3116 New Town Deli 23 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DH City of Edinburgh Scotland Lisa V Beauty 27 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland Reiss Hair 29 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland Wendy's Ice Cream 31 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland Physio Centre Palaties and Yoga 38 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DN City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Academy 54 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4603 Royal London Insurance 57 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5DL City of Edinburgh Scotland Row66 Hair 66 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Benjamin's Barber 68 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland Adam Pottery Studio 76 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 3978 HOWE STREET EDINBURGH Edinburgh Ski Club 2 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Gamefish 4 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Homer Interiors 8 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Edina Paint Co 10 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Albany Dental Care 12a Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Connolly Hair 16 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TD City of Edinburgh Scotland Papavero Italian Restaurant 18 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland George Pirie Antiques 22 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland six degrees north Bar 24 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland HOWE STREET EDINBURGH One Below Cellar Bar 24a Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland Sally Salon Services 26 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland Sainsbury's Local 28 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland Future Property Auctions 32 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Handbag Heaven 36 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Urban Hair 38 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Hadden Rankin Property Management 40 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Nova Pizza Restaurant 42 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Newsagent 46 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland Ruan Siam Restaurant 48 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TH City of Edinburgh Scotland HOWE STREET EDINBURGH Steedman Accountants 7 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland LGBT Health 9 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland Bon Papillon Gallery 15 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland Pronta Print 17 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland McAree Brother Knitting 19 Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland Simpson Marwick Solicitors 19b Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TE City of Edinburgh Scotland Leo's Bakery 23a Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TF City of Edinburgh Scotland Lonsdale and Dutch 23b Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TF City of Edinburgh Scotland Next - Constitution Street Businesses
- Greyfriars Graveyard | Ghost Tours | All About Edinburgh
Greyfriars Graveyard Tour attractions of the famous residents of Edinburgh that were buried in the Greyfriars Kirk Graveyard. Stories of Ghosts and supernatural events when walking past tombs and graves of the departed. The first grave at the gates Greyfriars Bobby dog icon of Edinburgh. Greyfriars Graveyard Tour Greyfriars Kirk Graveyard Edinburgh Greyfriars Graveyard Tour is my selection of the famous residents of Edinburgh that were buried in the Greyfriars Kirk Graveyard. Greyfriars Kirk opened in 1620 the graveyard was in existence as a municipal burial ground from 1562. The Friars were given the lands circa 1470 and the original friary was destroyed by the Reformers in 1559. Stories of Ghosts and and supernatural events when walking past Mausoleums, Tombs and Graves of the departed. The first grave at the gates Greyfriars Bobby dog icon of Edinburgh. The Judge who sentenced 100's to death, Tom Riddle A.K.A Lord Voldemort (Harry Potter), John Porteous hanged, James Borthwick the tombstone with the skeleton from 1675, Allan Ramsay Poet, Joseph Black, William Creech and Mary Erskine, George Watson, James Craig (architect), John Bayne. This was where the affluent were interned. Look inside the Kirk where the museum can be found. Greyfriars Graveyard Tour Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh John Kay 1742 – 1826 Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh John Kay is buried in Grayfriars Burial Ground Edinburgh. He was a well-known figure around Edinburgh Born in 1742 in Dalkeith Midlothian. He began his working life at 13 becoming an apprentice to the local Barber. At 19 he moved to a Barbers shop in Edinburgh. He loved sketching and painting. His free time was taken up in what was to become what he was remember by. John Kay was a painter of miniatures and caricaturist. Through his paintings and Sketches the people of Edinburgh through the Enlightenment are still visible due to John Kay. There is a plaque on the wall in the High Street Edinburgh where he lived (Geddes’ Entry). John Kay died in Edinburgh on 21 February 1826 and was laid to rest in Grayfriars Burial Ground. Many of his caricature drawings were purchased by the subject he had drawn in the sole purpose of being able to destroy it. William McGonagall (Professor Minerva McGonagall) Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh William McGonagall is also buried in Grayfriars burial ground. Known in his time as the world’s worst poet me died in South College Street Edinburgh. He wrote circa 200 poems, which including as some of the worst ever written in English literature. William was born in 1825 and lived most of his life in Dundee. He performed in front of the rich and famous and royalty a very popular literary figure of his time. Sir William Topaz McGonagall inspirational name of the head of Gryffindor House, Professor Minerva McGonagall. His grave stone can be found in the far left corner of Grayfriars near to Heriot's School (Hogwarts) Gates. Greyfriars Bobby Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Greyfriars Bobby was a Skye terrier who became known in 19th-century Edinburgh after spending 14 years guarding the grave of his owner, John Gray. Bobby himself died in 1872. A year later a statue was erected at the top of Candlemaker Row across from the Greyfriars Kirkyard. There is also a red granite headstone in Greyfriars kirkyard near the gate. Have a stroll around the Greyfriars Kirkyard and see many famous and powerful people of old Edinburgh. Greyfriars Bobby died 14th January 1872 age 16 years. Let his loyalty and devotion be a lesson to us all. James Borthwick James Borthwick of Stow was the world's first Apothecary Surgeon he was born in 1615 and died in 1675. In 1657 he became the first apothecary Surgeon and teacher of anatomy George Mackenzie (The Covenanter’s Judge) Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Rosehaugh Close (now Melrose Close named after Sir George MacKenzie of Rosehaugh King’s Advocate. Sir George McKenzie (George Bloody Mackenzie) is still known today due to his tomb in Greyfriars which is said to be haunted. George Mackenzie was the judge that sentenced the Covenanters to death. The spirit of George MacKenzie is said to cause bruising, bites and cuts on those who come into contact with the spirit or touch his tomb. Some visitors have reported feeling strange sensations. The Poltergeist seems to only attack people that are in the Covenanters Prison area which is now kept locked. Contact the kirk museum regards entry. Robert Chieslie Greyfriars Graveyard Walter Chieslie of Dalry built Dalry House (Orwell Place Edinburgh) in 1661 he was father to Robert Chieslie, who became was Lord Provost of Edinburgh in 1694 -96. He was one of the Darien Scheme investors who lost a fortune and died in the Edinburgh Asylum at Bristo. He is buried in Grayfriars burial ground in the mausoleum of Advocate George ‘Bloody’ MacKenzie. His brother John is also interned in the same tomb. John was guilty of murdering Lord Carnwath. This is the most hunted grave in Greyfriars with three ghosts. Sir Robert Sibbald 1641 – 1722 Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Sir Robert Sibbald was Physician to King Charles II and first Professor of Medicine in the University of Edinburgh, President of the Royal College of Physicians 1648 – 1685 and co-founder of the Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. Thomas Riddell (Riddle) Lord Voldemort Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Tom Marvolo Riddle known to be a Dark Wizard and enemy of Harry Potter. Tom Marvolo Riddle, was born and raised in a Muggle orphanage, but eventually attended Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry (1938-1945). He changed his name to Lord Voldemort. It is said the character’s name was inspired by the tombstone in Grayfriars burial ground. Covenanters Prison (The Presbyterians) Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh The National Covenant signed in Greyfriars in 1638, promised to defend Presbyterianism from intervention by the crown. Through the gates is the part of the Greyfriar’s Kirkyard which was once in 1679 a prison for more than 1000 supporters of the National Covenant, who had been defeated by Government forces at the Battle of Bothwell Bridge 22 June 1679. They were imprisoned for more than 4 months with little or no food and no shelter, some were tried and executed, others died in prison, some escaped and others were set free after signing a bond of loyalty to the crown. In November 1679 the remaining 257 prisoners were taken to Leith and place aboard a ship that was bound for the American Colonies, however all but 48 were drowned when the ship was wrecked of the coast of Orkney. Nine of the 48 were said to have escaped. The area of the prison was much larger than it is now as it took in where houses have been built and new graves were installed here in 1705 when the graveyard required more space for the Edinburgh people. The Covenanters (Presbyterians) immigrated to North America in the early 1700s and William Tennant founded the Log College in Neshaminy Pennsylvania in 1735. The Covenanters of North America became the members of the reformed Presbyterian Church. The inscription on the plaque at the side of the gates to the Covenanters’ Prison reads; THE COVENANTERS’ PRISON Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Behind these gates lies part of the Greyfriars Kirkyard which was used in 1679 as a prison for more than one thousand supporters of the National Covenant who had been defeated by Government forces at the battle of Bothwell Brig on 22 June. For more than four months these men were held here without any shelter, each man being allowed 4 ounces of bread a day. Kindly citizens were sometimes able to give them more food. Some of the prisoners died here, some were tried and executed for treason, some escaped, and some were freed after signing a bond of loyalty to the Crown. All those who were persecuted and died for their support of the National Covenant in the reigns of Charles II and James VII are commemorated by the Martyrs’ Memorial on the north-eastern wall of the Kirkyard. The Covenant, which was first signed in Greyfriars Kirk in 1638, promised to defend Presbyterianism from intervention by the Crown. In November 1679 the remaining 257 men, who had been sentenced to transportation overseas, were taken to Leith and placed on board a ship bound for the American colonies; nearly all were drowned when this ship was wrecked in the Orkney islands (where there is a monument in their memory), but 48 of the prisoners survived. The section of the Kirkyard used to imprison the Covenanters lay outside the existing south wall, and included the area now covered by buildings on Forrest Row. The area behind the gate was laid out for burials in 1705 and contains many fine monuments, but these did not exist at the time of the prison. This plaque has been provided by the Greyfriars Kirkyard Trust with the support of the Scottish Covenanter Memorials Association. In the Covenanter's Prison Mary Erskine Greyfriars Graveyard Mary Erskine married in 1661, a writer of the signet (advocate). He unfortunately died 10 years later. Mary remarried Chemist with his own apothecary but he also died prematurely. With the money she had accumulated she opened a bank and amassed a large fortune, which she gifted money to the Edinburgh Merchant Company who establish the first hospital (boarding school) for girls, named The Merchant Maidens Hospital which opened in the Cowgate in the Merchants Hall which was situated where the arch of the George IV Bridge now stands in 1694. In 1704 she opened a further Hospital for girls, The Trades Maiden Hospital. Its first location was on Jamaica Street next to Argyll Square (Chamber Street and West College Street). It remained there until 1855, when it moved out to a villa named Rillbank. Edinburgh Sick Children’s Hospital now occupies the site. In 1892 it moved again to Ashfield, on Grange Loan. At the west corner of Blackford Avenue. The latest move was to 61 Melville Street in 1975 and its new home was renamed Ashfield in commemoration of its former premises. In the Covenanter's Prison James Hutton Greyfriars Graveyard James Hutton was born in Edinburgh in 1726 and died in Edinburgh 1797 age 70 years. At the age of 14 years he became a student of the University of Edinburgh he went on to travel to France where he became a doctor of medicine. He then went to London and then returned to Edinburgh. He continued the study of the Earth as geology and meteorology were his great interest. Hutton was part of the Edinburgh Enlightenment and as a scientist was regularly seen with Adam Smith, David Hume John Playfair and Joseph Black another famous scientist. His magnum opus was the theory of the earth which made the foundations to Geology James Hutton has been known as the Father of Modern Geology. Joseph Black Greyfriars Graveyard Joseph Black was a physicist and chemist who discovered magnesium, latent heat, specific heat, and carbon dioxide. In 1757 Joseph Black was appointed Regius Professor of the Practice of Medicine at the University of Glasgow and in 1766 he became Professor of Medicine and Chemistry at the University of Edinburgh. Both the University of Edinburgh and Glasgow have chemistry buildings named after him. Joseph Black was part of the Edinburgh Enlightenment and was at the gathering when Sir Walter Scott and Robert Burns met for the only time. In the Covenanter's Prison Joseph Black’s Plaque The inscription reads, "Joseph Black, Doctor of Medicine,-born in France, but a British subject, his father being a native of Ireland, and his mother of Scotland,-first a student in the University of Glasgow, and afterwards in that of Edinburgh, was a most distinguished Professor of Chemistry in both Universities; a felicitous interpreter of nature; acute, cautious, and skilful in research; eloquent in description; the first discoverer of carbonic acid and latent heat,- died in the 71st year of his age, AD 1799. His friends, who were wont to esteem his worth and abilities, have sought to mark out the spot which contains his body by this marble, as long as it shall last." Joseph Black's death in 1799. William Creech FRSE Greyfriars Graveyard William Creech was the main book publisher in Edinburgh. He was also a printer, bookseller, politician and Edinburgh’s Lord Provost in 1811. He was also a freemason and friends with Dr T Blacklock and Henry MacKenzie, both invited Robert Burns to Edinburgh. They introduced William Creech to Burns and he became his publisher and published the first Edinburgh edition of Robert Burns' poems 650 copies sold out in the first day to lodge members. William Adam Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh William Adam was born in Fife in 1689 and was one of Scotland’s greatest architects and he could also be said to be one of the first true entrepreneurs with many varied business interests. He died in 1747 and his son John Adam designed and built the family mausoleum in 1753 in Grayfriars. One of his best house designs that he built was for Robert Dundas when he built Arniston house for the Viscount in 1726. Mort Safes Greyfriars Graveyard Mort safes were a form of cage over a grave to stop the grave robbers from taking the bodies and selling them to the Medical College to be used to teach the students human anatomy. This was before the 1832 Anatomy Act regulated the legal supply of corpses for medical science. Captain John Porteous Greyfriars Graveyard The killing of John Porteous Captain of the City Guard. Three robbers were caught and imprisoned for carrying out a robbery. William Hall, George Robertson and Andrew Wilson. At their trial William Hall was sentenced to transportation to the colonies for life, but Andrew Wilson and George Robertson were sentenced to hang and were imprisoned in the Tolbooth in Edinburgh’s High Street awaiting execution. George Robertson escaped and made his way out of Britain. However, Andrew Wilson was to be publicly hanged in the Grassmarket in April of 1736. On the day of the execution a riot began and the City guard was called out, led by Captain John Porteous. Due to the rioting Captain John Porteous instructed his men to fire above the heads of the crowd, this made the riot even more heated, the shots from the city guard had hit and killed onlookers that were watching the proceedings from their windows. With the crowd getting even more violent, Captain Porteous gave the order to shoot into the crowd, which resulted in more deaths. Later that day Captain John Porteous was arrested and charged with murder. At his trial on 5 July 1736, he was convicted by a unanimous decision and found guilty of murder and sentenced to death. The execution took place in the Grassmarket on 8 September 1736. Walter Geikie Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh Walter Geikie was born in 1795 a deaf painter and founder of the first deaf church and deaf society. His true memorial can be seen in our city art galleries and in the quality of life and dignity accorded to deaf citizens of Edinburgh today. Walter Geikie loved to sketch street scenes in ink and of real life. Union Carbide Gas Disaster Memorial Plaque Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh In memory of almost 4000 deaths and 40,000 people disabled maimed or suffering serious illness from the gas leak in December 1984 in Bhopal India. "never think you stand alone" George Buchanan 1506 - 1582 Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh George Buchanan, was born in Stirling in 1506 and died in Edinburgh in 1582. He followed the Calvinist theory throughout his life. A Humanist scholar, fluent in Latin, he travelled and was a teacher in France and Portugal. Teaching both Mary Queen of Scots and her son King James VI. He was a renowned writer of poetry, plays and other literary works. He was the Keeper of the Privy Seal. He also conspired with Elizabeth I to have Mary Queen of Scots arrested which led to her execution. His work ‘Rerum Scoticarum historia’ (The History of Scotland) completed just prior to his death in 1582 Allan Ramsay (1686–1758) Greyfriars Graveyard Allan Ramsay was a trained Wigmaker and poet. He died in Ramsay Lodge, Ramsay Garden on Castlehill where he spent the last years of his life. In 1725 he opened the first lending library in the High Street Edinburgh which was the first lending library in Britain. Allan was born in Lanarkshire in the west of Scotland on 15 October 1686. He died on 7th January 1758. Allan Ramsay established the Jacobite Literary Society in 1712. He became a bookseller in 1721 which he retired from in 1740. He is remember mostly for being a pioneer in the use of the Scots Language in contemporary poetry. James Craig Greyfriars Graveyard James Craig was the winning architect of the design for Edinburgh’s new town a competition held by King George III. He was only 23 years of age when he won but never saw the end result as he died prior to its completion. John Byrne Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh John Byrne’s tomb is built into the wall of Grayfriars burial ground. John Byrne He was a writer to the signet (solicitor to the King) and a wealthy landowner. He was born in (1620) Pitcarlie Fife which is just north of Auchtermuchty. The Tomb was built by his surviving wife in 1684 three years after his death. George Watson Greyfriars Graveyard George Watson was born in Edinburgh in 1654 and had a long and successful career as an accountant and merchant banker. He became the first accountant of the Bank of Scotland. On his death he bequeathed money to the Edinburgh Merchant Company to open a Hospital (boarding School) for the poor children of Edinburgh. The School is still in existence to this day. George Watson died on 3 April 1723. This memorial was erected | In 1991 to mark the 250th | Anniversary of the opening | of George Watson’s Hospital and the 120th anniversary | of George Watson’s Ladies’ | College the forerunners | of | George Watson’s College. George Watson who founded the College was born in Edinburgh in 1654 and died in 1723. The School opened in 1741 in Lauriston Place opposite George Heriot’s School. The Boys school moved to its present building in Colinton Road in 1932. George Foulis of Ravelstoun Greyfriars Kirk Edinburgh George Foulis purchased the Ravelstoun Estate in 1620. Where he built a tower house in 1622 where he lived with his wife Janet Bannatyne. An inscription on a lintel reads GF- NE QUID NIMIS 1622 JB. These inscriptions are found on most old houses showing the initials of the owners, when they moved in, or when they married. In this case (GF) George Foulis NE QUID NIMIS (Nothing in excess) 1622 year house built (JB) Janet Bannatyne. In the grounds is Ravelston Tower, the stair-tower of Old Ravelston House. George Foulis, laird of Ravelstoun (Ravelston) was born in 1569 the second son of Sir James Foulis of Colinton. George Foulis became a Bailie (Councillor) of the city of Edinburgh. He married Janet Bannatyne (1603). George Foulis died in 1633 and is buried in Grayfriars Burial Ground. Covenanters' Memorial Monument Grayfriars Kirk Edinburgh Halt, passenger, take heed what you do see This tomb doth shew, for what sane men did do Here lies interr’d the dust of those who stood ‘Gainst perjury, resisting unto blood. Adhering to the Covenant, and laws Establishing the same, which was the cause Then lives were sacrificed unto the lust Of Prelatists abjured. Though here their dust Lies mixt with murderers, and other crew Whom justice justly did to death pursue. But as for them, no cause was to be found Worthy of death, but only they were found. Constant and stedfast zealous as For the Prerogative of CHRIST their KING. Which truths were sealed by famous Guthrie’s head And all along to Mr Renwick’s blood They did endure the wrath of [?enemies] Reproaches torments deaths and injustice But yet they‘re those who and now triumph in glory with the LAMB. From May 27th 1661, that the most noble Marquis of Argyle was beheaded, to the 17 th of Febry 1688 that Mr James Renwick suffered, were one way or other Murdered and Destroyed for the same Cause, about Eighteen thousand of whom were execute in Edinburgh about a Hundred of Noblemen, Gentlemen, Minister, and Others noble Martyrs for JESUS CHRIST. The most of them lie here. A stone open bible once stood below the inscription. The Plaque shows what was written on the open pages. Rev.VI.9 AND WHEN HE HAD OPENED THE FIFTH SEAL, I SAW UNDER THE ALTER THE SOULS OF THEM THAT WERE SLAIN FOR, THE WORD OF GOD, AND FOR THE TESTIMONT WHICH THEY HELD; AND THEY CRIED WITH A LOUD VOICE, SAYING, HOW LONG, O LORD, HOLY AND TRUE, DOST THOU NOT JUDGE & AVENGE OUR BLOOD ON THEM THAT DWELL ON THE EARTH? AND WHITE ROBES WERE GIVEN TO EVERY ONE OF THEM AND IT WAS SAID UNTO THEM THAT THEY SHOULD REST YET FOR A LITTLE SEASON UN TIL THERE FELLOW-SERVANTS ALSO AND THEIR BRETHREN, THAT SHOULD BE KILLED AS THEY WERE, SHOULD BE FULFILLED. REV.VII.14. THESE ARE THEY WHICH CAME OUT OF GREAT TRIBULATION, AND HAVE WASHED THEIR ROBES, AND MADE THEM WHITE IN THE BLOOD OF THE LAMB. CHAP.2nd.10. BE THOU FAITHFUL UNTO DEATH, AND I WILL GIVE THEE A CROWN OF LIFE. Next - Candlemakers' Row
- Edinburgh New Town | Architecture | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh New town, Edinburgh architecture and its history. Edinburgh New Town Attractions, Shops, Restaurants, Cafes, Hotels and Apartments. Nightlife and activities. Sunday Markets Edinburgh's New Town has it all. Edinburgh New Town Attractions The New Town in Edinburgh was the idea of King George III and the design he decided on was originally 3 main streets with 2 Squares one in the East and one in the west at each end of George Street. With 4 streets crossing vertically from Princes Street to Queen Street. Click on the buttons below to see what's in each of the streets. Edinburgh New Town Attractions The naming of “The New Town” In 1759 King George III had a new town built as an extension of Edinburgh City, as the over population of the old town streets had become unliveable. A bridge was built as an access to where the new town would be built (North Bridge). Where the area of the Nor Loch once covered, Waverley Rail Station and Princes Street Gardens are now. When the plans for the new town were agreed the King named the streets with the main street after himself (George Street). The other streets of the new town were named after as follows: Queen Street, after his wife the Queen: St. Giles Street after the city’s patron saint, St. Giles St. Andrews Square after the patron saint of Scotland and George Square after the patron saint of England. The smaller street between George Street and Queen Street is named Thistle Street after (Scotland’s national emblem) Street Between George Street and St. Giles Street is named Rose Street after (England’s national emblem). King George, after consideration, rejected the name St. Giles Street as St Giles being the patron saint of lepers and also the name of a slum area on the edge of the City of London. It was renamed Princes Street after his sons, the three Princes. The name of St. George Square was also changed to Charlotte Square after his wife Charlotte the Queen as there was already a George Square just outside the old town. Thistle Street was split into three separate street names, from the west end. It became Young Street then Hill Street after the architects who built the new town with the final part remaining Thistle Street now half the length of Rose Street. The three streets running across the main street completing the new town area, Castle Street named for the view of the castle, Frederick Street after the king’s father Frederick and Hanover Street was after the Royal house of Hanover. The main access to the new town was by the North Bridge. The Nor Loch was drained and the debris from the excavations of the new town were piled up in the middle of the now dry bed of the loch and formed the mound the only other access from the old town to the new town. The gardens were then formed on both sides of the mound in the dry bed where the loch had been at the foot of Edinburgh Castle, running the length of Princes Street. The first buildings in the New Town to be built were in Rose Court, at the east end of Thistle Street in 1767, now called Thistle Court, this building can still be seen today. Calton Hill Waterloo Place Regent Road History Attractions West Princes Street Gardens History Attractions George Street Hanover Street Frederick Street History Attractions North Bridge History Attractions Cockburn Street History Attractions Stockbridge Edinburgh History Attractions New Town West Edinburgh History Attractions St Andrews Square Thistle Court History Attractions Princes Street History Attractions The Mound Bank Street - North Bank Street Mound Place - St Giles Street History Attractions Waverley Bridge History Attractions Charlotte Square North Charlotte Street History Attractions Edinburgh New Town North History Attractions New Town North East Edinburgh History Attractions Queen Street History Attractions East Princes Street Gardens History Attractions Castle Street North Castle Street History Attractions Market Street East Market Street History Attractions Lothian Road History Attractions Edinburgh Royal Botanic Gardens History Attractions New Town North West Edinburgh History Attractions Next - Calton Hill - Waterloo Place - Regent Road






