top of page

All About Edinburgh

Search Results

Search this site

403 results found with an empty search

  • Dean Village Area | Attractions | All About Edinburgh

    Dean Village at the Water of Leith mentioned by King David I in 1143. Dean Village Edinburgh Dean Village Dean Village was a small village outside Edinburgh known as Water o Leith Village, and was famous as a grain milling area for over 800 years. The name Dean (Dene) meaning Deep Gorge. The village has steep hills on all sides. The Dean Village with the Water of Leith flowing through, grew as a community in the 1100s from the many mills that were built on the river banks. You will see many stones carved with crossed paddles of the bakers, as this area supplied all the bakers of Edinburgh with their flour. The Incorporation of Baxters (bakers) was a crucial role in Dean Village, controlling the grain milling industry from the 12th century. Mills were first mentioned in 1143 by David I. Dean Bridge - Kirkbrae House The house on the corner of the bridge was once a Tavern and Bakers, the square panel on the wall shows a sun with two arms below, one holding scales and the other a wheat sheaf, with two baker’s paddles crossed. The inscription below reads: IN THE SWEAT OF THY FACE SHALT | THOU EAT BREAD | GEN 3 VERSE 19 | ANNO DOM 1619 Known as ‘The Baxter’s Stone. Put on this wall in 1893 from a demolished mill. The Dean Bridge The Dean Bridge was designed by Thomas Telford, and was completed in 1832 and opened in 1833. The Dean Bridge was Thomas Telford’s last project at the age 73 and retirement. The Dean Bridge with 4 arches is 447 feet long (136m) and 39 feet wide (12m) and built on four arches rising 106 feet (32m) above the river. Prior to the building of the Dean Bridge the only way across the river in to Edinburgh was by a ford in the river, which had been crossed since medieval times (5th to 15th centuries). A bridge, of wooden structure across the water of Leith was built in the 5th century. It is now a stone bridge (Bell’s Brae Bridge). The building of Dean Bridge gave access to the north for further extension of Edinburgh’s New Town. Views from the Dean Bridge Looking over the Dean Bridge West the Dean Village, East the New Town Randolph Cliff built on series of underground stone arches. The arches protect Randolph Cliff, Randolph Crescent, Great Stuart Street, Ainslie Place, and Moray Place from tumbling down into the Water of Leith. Designed by 1822 by, architect James Gillespie Graham for Francis Stuart, the 10th Earl of Moray on the Moray Estate which covers most of the western new town. The Dean Village and looking down a sailor down on his luck wondering if I jump will I survive. Holy Trinity Episcopal Church Gothic church at the North end of the Dean Bridge. The church is in its original state from when design / built by John Henderson, 1837-8. Henderson has built many churches in Scotland to a Gothic design. The church was converted into an electric sub-station in 1957. It is now the Rhema Christian Centre Church. Belgrave and Buckingham Area Belgrave Crescent was built on land bought by property developer and Lord Provost of Edinburgh James Steel, Designed by John Chesser and completed in 1874. The land between Water of Leith and the new houses also purchased by Steel, which became private gardens for the residents. The gardens designed by James Jeffery and completed in 1876. Buckingham Terrace was also part of the Steel development designed by Chesser which was completed in 1831. Bristo Baptist Church In 1765 in Bristo Place Original Scotch Baptist Church ‘the Scotch Baptist Church’ Bristo Baptist Church is the mother church for the Baptist movement in Scotland. A purpose-built chapel was constructed at Bristo Place in 1836. The designation ‘Scotch’ was discontinued from the church’s title in 1927. In 1932, the present site here on Buckingham Terrace was purchased for £1,000 In October 1933, the Memorial Stone of the new building on Queensferry Road was laid and the first service took place on Wednesday, 20th February, 1935. The church has a long history and is the second oldest Baptist church in Scotland Bible on Dean Path side inscription: SEARCH THE SCRIPTURES S. JOHN V. CH.39 The Dean Parish Church The first church in Dean Path was built in 1836 then demolished and replaced by the present church in 1903. This was the main church for the Dean Village population. With the reducing congregation the church closed in 2006. It is now known as The Dean and is used as an Assembly Hall and Event Venue for the nearby Erskine Stewart’s Melville Schools (ESMS). Dean Cemetery Edinburgh The Dean Village is named from Dean House and the Nisbet family who owned the lands. The House was demolished in 1843 and in 1845 the Dean Cemetery was created. A carved heraldic panel from Dean House, now installed on a wall in Dean Cemetery, is decorated with three boars’ heads around a chevron, all surrounded by a wreath of oak leaves, and carries the initials HN for Henry Nisbet born 1535 who died in 1608 The Notable Graves of The Dean Cemetery David Octavius Hill, Colonel Robert Smith, James Buchanan, Lord Francis Jeffrey, James Falshaw James Nasmyth, Alexander Nasmyth Artist, Lord Henry Cockburn, Robert McVitie, Lord Andrew Rutherfurd, James Hamilton, Sir Thomas Bouch, Alexander Russell, James Stevenson, William H Playfair, George Combe, Cameron Highlanders Obelisk, Robert Chamber, Sir John Ritchie Findlay, Thomas Drybrough, Flora Stevenson, Louisa Stevenson, Elsie Inglis, Dr Joseph Bell (LINK TO CEMETERY ) 29 Dean Path The house on Dean Path was dates from circa 1790 with a Victorian-era post box ("VR" Cypher) circa 1850 still present. This may have been the post house in its time. The tenements in Dean Path, now all demolished and rebuilt, were where most of the families lived. Dean Village School The Old School house on Bell’s Brae was built in 1872 and a historic part of the Dean Village. The public school educated the local children until it closed in 1961. It was able to hold up to 400 children by 1961 there were only 37 pupils. Carvings can be seen "Education" above the ground floor windows and a tablet on the front with the words “Edinburgh School Board 1875” Old West Mill Building The stone building over the bridge with round windows is the Old West Mill, built in 1805. At the top of the building you can see a wheat sheaf. The mill is one of few surviving examples in the Dean Village of its former industrial heritage. Particularly based on grain milling, many of which utilised power provided by the Water of Leith. Bells Brae Bridge In the centre of the Dean village is the Bells Brae Bridge which was the original crossing point of the Water of Leith as it was shallow and narrow. Getting to and from Edinburgh this the only crossing. In the 5th century a single arch bridge which was wide enough for a carriage with horses. The Dean Village stands below the Belford Bridge which was built in 1887 to carry Belford Road. Bells Brae Bridge was built in 1830 replacing previous bridges, the old road from Edinburgh to Queensferry. Well Court- Dean Village The most impressive buildings are of Well Court. Built in 1884 by the then owner of the Scotsman newspaper Sir John Ritchie Findlay. Well Court had its own hall for socialising with a clock tower a communal court yard, and accommodation (tenements). For his staff who worked for Sir John at the Scotsman newspaper in Edinburgh. Well Court - John Ritchie Findlay Plaque on Well Court and Portrait of Sir John Ritchie Findlay in National Portrait Gallery Inscription, In memory of John Ritchie Findlay The founder of The National Portrait Gallery of Scotland and donor of this building. Dean Path Footbridge This foot bridge takes you over the Water of Leith from Hawthornbank Lane to Well Court, Old West Mill and the Village School house. Along the water side about 100 metres is a waterfall which was a weir (a low dam) which was used to power the mills. A great variety of wild life. The Plague The burgh records mention that the pest was in the Dene On the 15th June 1513 and no one from the area was allowed to enter the walls of Edinburgh. If a women entered she would be branded on the cheek. If a man entered the punishment would be sever even hung. Merchants House 17 Bells Brae The building on the south west corner of Bell’s Brae Bridge is one of the oldest buildings that still remains from the Water of Leith Village built circa 1650. 17 Bells Brae, was where the head of the local merchants' guild lived who oversaw the village's milling industry. It was also a local shop run by A W Kemp in the 20th century The Granary | Old Tollbooth The Granary was built in 1675 (yellow building in photo) known as the Old Tollbooth Inscribed in two lines GOD BLESS THE BAXTERS OF EDINBURGH WHO BUILT THIS HOUS 1675. On the cornice is a carved panel with a circular garland, a wheat-sheaf flanked by two cherub's heads another inscription GODS PROVIDENCE IS OUR | INHERITANCE 1677, The Last Mill at Bell's Mills was nearly totally destroyed by an explosion in 1971. Hawthornbank Lane Hawthornbank lane is part of the original milling hamlet known the Dene or Water of Leith Village and was famous as a grain milling area for over 800 years. The name Dene (Dean) meaning Deep Gorge. The Dean Village with the Water of Leith flowing through, grew as a community in the 1100s from the numerous mills that were built on the river banks. Miller’s Row On the pathway towards Leith under the Dean Bridge is an area called Miller’s Row old houses for the mill workers. Also you can see three mill stones resting against each other previously used in the Granaries in the 1600s. Look over the wall to see a waterfall which is another part of the weir St George's Well The Water of Leith and the source of the mineral water for St Bernard's Well and St George's Well. St George's Well is on the banks of the Water of Leith near to Alexander Nasmyth's St Bernard's Well. Built in 1810 by Mr MacDonald of Stockbridge on the 50th year on the throne to commemorate the jubilee of George III. King George III celebrated his Golden Jubilee on October 25, 1809, marking the beginning of his 50th year on the throne. It was the first significant jubilee celebration in British history. The well was finally blocked up in 1969. St Bernard's Well A natural mineral spring was discovered on the Water of Leith near to Stockbridge in 1760, some claimed that the water could cure everything. Francis Garden, Lord Gardenstone of Troup the landowner, commissioned a building in 1789 to be erected over the well Alexander Nasmyth designed a Doric Temple, a copy of the Temple to the Sybil at Tivoli, the summer palace of the Roman emperors. The Temple has a domed ceiling supported by 10 columns which covers the statue of Hygeia, the Greek goddess of health The Well closed in 1940. There are two mineral wells on the Water of Leith one called St Bernard's Well and the other well a short distance west and this is called St George’s Well. This was also to have the same powers as St Bernard’s well but was never used to the extent of St Bernard's well. Hygeia Greek Goddess of Health The well named after St Bernard of Clairvaux (1090–1153) a French abbot, theologian, and major leader in the reform of the Cistercian Order which was present over Scotland, in 1136 an invitation of King David I lead to many Abbeys being built. Melrose Abbey: Founded in 1136, was Scotland's first Cistercian monastery. Famously for the place the heart of Robert the Bruce is buried. Also A pig playing bagpipes. William Nelson Memorial William Nelson was a publisher in Edinburgh and took it upon himself to renovate the St Bernard’s well as it had become in a state of disrepair. He used his own funds to renovate and improve its aesthetic look. The Dene Archway Water of Leith Walkway. The Dene to Belford Bridge. The Dene meaning Deep Gorge was first mentioned in 1143 when David I granted one of his mills of Dene to the Abbey monks of Holyrood. The Dene steps take you to St Bernard’s Bridge built in 1824. St Bernard’s Bridge Also known as Mackenzie Bridge possibly named after Samuel Mackenzie (portrait painter and pupil of Sir Henry Raeburn).The bridge was Built in 1824. The steps and added archways were built in 1887, with Edinburgh’s Coat of Arms above the western arch. The small arch was block off in 1890. The view over the Water of Leith east and west and the road from Mackenzie Place to Dean Terrace. The Dean Area The other parts of the Dean Village area Sunbury Street, Belford Mews, over the Belford Bridge (Belford Road). The Art Galleries Modern 1 and 2, Daniel Stewart's Hospital (School) Queensferry Road. Sunbury and Belford Mews Sunbury Mews John C Hay, 1886. 2-storey Scots Baronial mews building on narrow wedged site at head of Sunbury Mews and Sunbury Street terminated by large circular plan tower with conical roof; prominent crow stepped gables to E and W elevations. No.12 and 13 Belford Mews face Sunbury Mews in a courtyard once used stables, tack rooms, and carriage houses. Sunbury House Whytock and Reid well-detailed building purpose built in 1886 as a cabinet maker's workshop. The workshop provides a link to the industrial heritage of the Dean Village with nearby Sunbury Street a row of houses for artisans. Although now no longer occupied by the firm Whytock and Reid (converted for residential dwelling, 2008) the building was originally commissioned by Robert and Hugh Reid in 1886. The firm of Whytock and Reid received a Royal warrant in the early 19th century and supplied furniture to the Royal and major houses of Scotland. Whisky from the Dean Village The Water of Leith around the area of the Dean Village was the site of a number of Distilleries which are now closed. The Sunbury and Dean Distillers both closed many years ago but you can still get the taste of the Dean Whisky as it is now made at the Loch Lomond Distillery to the same traditional recipe as it was made in the Dean Distillery from 1818 to 1922. BELFORD BRIDGE A single-arch stone bridge near to the same spot was built for ease of crossing at the foot of Bell’s Brae in the Dean Village previously of wooden construction. Belford Road in Edinburgh was named after the Belford Bridge, which was built to carry the road over the Water of Leith. The road itself is part of the old route from Edinburgh to Queensferry, and the bridge was constructed in 1885-7. The river is the Water of Leith which flows from the Pentland Hills to the Port of Leith where it joins the Firth of Forth before joining the North Sea. There is a walk way at the side of the river with a visitors centre in Lanark Road that can give you detailed information on the best routes. The Water of Leith walkway extends from the Shore at Leith to Balerno a village suburb of Edinburgh over 19 km from the shore. The pathway is suitable for walking or cycling. COMMEMORATIVE STONE Carved in the stone on the Belford Bridge is: BELFORD BRIDGE ERECTED BY THE MAGISTRATES AND TOWN COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF EDINBURGH WITH THE AID OF THE LOCAL SUBSCRIPTIONS OBTAINED BY THE BELFORD BRIDGE ASSOCIATION OPENED BY THE RT HON SIR THOMAS CLARK (BART) LORD PROVOST JULY 1887 Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art One Scottish Gallery of Modern Art One Ravelston Area Edinburgh Ravelston Area Edinburgh, The building was originally the home of John Watson’s Hospital (school) built in 1828 by William Burn with funds left by John Watson an Edinburgh solicitor on his death in 1762 and closed in 1975 due to lack of funding. The gallery opened at its present address in 1984. Set in large grounds it features a stepped S-shaped landform by Charles Jenks which provides the setting for a range of sculptures. The Gallery collection has approximately 5000 pieces ranging from prints and paintings to contemporary video installations are all house in the gallery. There is also a café for refreshments. The Plaque at the door to the Gallery of Modern Art reads; John Watson’s school 1828 – 1975 | This building originally John Watson’s Institute | was designed by William Burn in 1825, opening in 1828 under the aegis of the society of H M Writers | to the signet, its original purpose to house | maintain and educate destitute children, the | institution became John Watson’s school in 1934 | enrolling fee paying pupils while maintaining its | original purpose and by 1957 the school offered continuous education to all pupils from 5-18 years. | In 1975 despite its growing reputation John Watson’s school unexpectedly closed after the withdrawal | of its grant. The building reopened as the Scottish |National Gallery of Modern Art in 1984. Dean Gallery Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art 2 The Dean Gallery building was designed in 1833 by Thomas Hamilton and was originally an orphanage. The clock is said to be that of the Nether Bow Port that once stood as the gates to Edinburgh in the High Street. The Gallery opened in 1999 and is home for the Eduardo Paolozzi collection. In the grounds are sculpture and graphic art, It contains a large collection of Dada and Surrealist art and literature and also holds temporary exhibitions. There is a café for refreshments Next - Dean Cemetery Edinburgh Stewart's Hospital Ravelston Edinburgh Stewart's Hospital was also built in this area in 1855. Daniel Stewart a wealthy merchant of Edinburgh left money in his will in 1814 for a hospital (school) to be built for the unfortunate children that could not afford to be schooled in other institutions giving preference to families with the name Stewart. Melville College was a former school, Edinburgh Institution for Mathematics and Language, which opened in 1832 and renamed in 1936. Daniel Stewart’s College and Melville College were joined in 1972 and became, Daniel Stewart’s and Melville College. The School is now after amalgamation of three schools Mary Erskine School, Daniel Stewart’s College and Melville College, in 1974 created the largest independent family of schools in Europe.

  • Golf Courses Scotland | Golf Transfers | All About Edinburgh

    Golf Courses Scotland, is a list of golf courses, from the Highlands to the Scottish Borders Local Group Transfers, Airport transfers. Take stress out of the travel and just play golf. We get you there and back. Golf Courses Scotland Golf in Scotland when you have booked the golf course(s) and your accommodation you will be ready to get the right transport for your group. For transfers Airport / rail station - Hotel / Accommodation return transfers to and from the golf course(s) High quality transport with Low prices. Golf Scotland is available to all. From the oldest course in the world and first ever clubhouse. The first established Golf club and the first open championship course. Where Willie Park lived. Where the first rules of golf were written and the first competition played to rules. Musselburgh in East Lothian where many Open Champions came from. Where the size of the Golf hole was decided and how it was first measured. Where Tom Morris Snr and his son Tommy won Open Championships. The first Grand Champion Thomas Chambers The First professional Golfer Allan Robertson On the East Coast There are over 20 golf courses in Edinburgh city and a further 20 + in the Lothian area Fife and St Andrews, Aberdeen area and Inverness area On the West Coast Turnberry - The Gailes See almost all Scotland's mainland courses here Edinburgh Golf Courses East Lothian Golf Courses Fife Golf Courses Dundee Golf Courses Central Scotland Golf Courses Ayrshire Golf Courses Aberdeenshire Golf Courses Inverness Golf Courses St Andrews Golf Courses Midlothian Golf Courses Perthshire Golf Courses West Lothian Golf Courses Falkirk Area Golf Courses Scottish Borders Golf Courses Glasgow Golf Courses Golf Course Travel Times Golf Transport Scotland's Golf Course Map Enquire Golf / Airport Transfers Enquiry /Contact Golf & Airport Transfers This is the perfect vehicle for up to 8 passengers with 8 sets of golf clubs and 8 cases all Forward Facing Seats

  • Canongate Royal Mile | Shops & Businesses | All About Edinburgh

    Royal Mile Canongate Shops and retail outlets, cafes and restaurants, all types of businesses for local and visitors to the capital city of Scotland. The Canongate has great tourist shops and many attractions including museums with free entry. Canongate Shops Royal Mile Edinburgh Restaurants, Cafes, Pubs, Accommodation Canongate Edinburgh is part of the Roya Mile but was once a separate Burgh and stood outside of Edinburgh's city gates. Now is a part of Edinburgh with many shops restaurants cafes and accommodation. There are many attractions to be seen. Canongate Northside History and Attractions Canongate Southside History and Attractions ADVERTISE HERE ADVERTISE HERE ADVERTISE HERE CANONGATE ROYAL MILE SOUTHSIDE Oink Hog Roast Restaurant 82 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Holyrood Cashmere Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Unknown Pleasures 110 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 652 3537 Prestige Scotland 112 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 7302 Serenity Café 116 Canongate (Crichton's Close) Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland The Poetry Library 116 Canongate (5 Crighton's Close) Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland Starbucks 120 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 8572 Café Vivo 138 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 2293 Museum Of Edinburgh 140 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 529 4143 The Wyrd Shop 154 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 2293 Celtic Design 156 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 100 1001 Sugarhouse Sandwiches 158 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 8999 Bene's Takeaway 162 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 1092 Canongate Jerseys & Crafts 166 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 2967 Simply Scottish 168 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 6699 Cadenhead's Whisky Shop 172 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5864 Mama Said 204 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 4829 Macraes of Edinburgh 208 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland Canon Gait 232 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 4481 Chessel's Court Apartment 2/3 240 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 07786 923 386 Pancho Villas 240 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4416 Table Top Café 244 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 5690 Tribal Body Art 248 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 9019 Mimi's Bakehouse Restaurant 250 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 1523 Royal Mile 2 Apartment 252 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 07980 927129 Robert Graham 1874 Whisky and Cigars 254 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 248 7283 The White Horse 266 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 3403 Focus Skateboard Gear 270 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland The Royal Mile Gallery 272Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 1702 Le Café Royale 274 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 652 3534 Solo 276 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 7682 Ragamuffin 278 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 6007 CANONGATE ROYAL MILE NORTHSIDE Holyrood Gift House 3 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 0996 Pegusus SL Sound systems 23 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1300 Kilderkin Bar and Restaurant 65 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 2101 Clarinda’s Tea Room 69 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 1888 Genuine Article 97 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BP City of Edinburgh Scotland Canongate Newsagent 101 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 9700 I Love Edinburgh 125 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BP City of Edinburgh Scotland Neanie Scott 131 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 3528 Royal Mile Factory Outlet 133 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BP City of Edinburgh Scotland Ye Olde Christmas Shoppe 145 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 9220 Peoples Story Museum 163 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 529 4057 Tolbooth Tavern 167 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5348 Hamilton and Young 173 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 2555 Carson Clark Gallery 181-183 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4710 Royal Mile One Apartment 185 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1743 Prestige Scotland 187 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 8640 Gordon Nicolson Kiltmaker 189 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 2887 The Fudge House 197 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4172 Adageo Aparthotel 231 Canongate Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland Café Truva 251 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9524 Luscious Café Bistro 261 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9363 Cranachan & Cowdrie 263 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 7194 Wedgwood Restaurant 267 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 8737 Edinburgh School Of English 271 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 9200 Wonders of Nature 297 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BD City of Edinburgh Scotland The Scottish Grocer 299 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 4056 Next - Horse Wynd Edinburgh

  • High Street | Upper Northside | All About Edinburgh

    High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh is the largest part of the old town. High Street 2 is the Upper Northside with the famous 17th century Real Mary King's Close. All About Edinburgh has listed all attractions of the High Street in 4 pages. High Street Upper Northside Royal Mile Edinburgh High Street History High Street was the most populated part of Edinburgh, with tenement buildings up to 11 stories high. On November 15th 1824 a tenement of 11 stories on the upper or High Street West, southside caught alight and was the beginning of the worst fire in the history of Edinburgh. Starting at around 10 pm that evening the fire spread from the tenement in Assembly Close to buildings in Old Fishmarket close. Down to the Tron Kirk in the east. It also spread south along the Cowgate. The fire was finally extinguished the next morning 12 hours from when it had started. That was not the end, as another fire started at 10 pm that evening which destroyed what was left on the south side of the High Street. All but St Giles Cathedral and the Parliament buildings were saved. Over four hundred families were left homeless. High Street Upper Northside Royal Mile Edinburgh Byre's Close Royal Mile Advocate's Close Royal Mile Roxburgh's Close Royal Mile Warriston's Close Royal Mile Writer's Court Royal Mile Mary King's Close Allan's Close Royal Mile Craig's Close Royal Mile Anchor Close Royal Mile Geddes' Entry Royal Mile North Foulis' Close Royal Mile Old Stamp Office Close Royal Mile Lyon's Close Royal Mile Jackson's Close Royal Mile Fleshmarket Close Royal Mile Cockburn Street North Bridge Byre’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Byres Close is where Adam Bothwell the Bishop of Orkney’s Mansion stood. Last to reside in the Close was said to be one of the wealthiest people in Scotland Sir William Dick of Braid, Lord Provost of Edinburgh in 1638 and relation to the Baronets of Prestonfield. Advocate’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Advocate’s Close was named after Sir James Stewart of Goodtrees (Lord Advocate of Scotland 1692 – 1713). The Stewart family owned and lived in the Close from 1648 – 1769. Advocates Close has had many names as the name would change by the owner at the time. Oliver Cromwell visited here on two occasions. other occupants of the Close were David Dalrymple, Lord Westhall, Andrew Crosbie and the artist John Scougal to William III. Also the Mansion of Bishop Bothwell circa 1590. There are two doorway with inscribed lintels No 2 Old Scottish tradition the initials of both husband and wife and date they moved in to house, Clement Cor built the tenement circa 1590, his wife, Helen Bellenden. Inscriptions : C.C H.B SPES . ALTERA . VITAE (Hope in the Other Life). The other lintel Inscriptions : C.C. (Cement Cor) 1590 BLISSIT BE GOD OF AL HIS GIFTS Roxburgh’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Roxburgh’s Close on the north side of the High Street in the Royal Mile Edinburgh is named after John Roxburgh a chef and Burgess of Edinburgh in 1605. As most close’s the name changed with the owner of the land as this was owned originally by Henry Cant who owned property in Advocate’s Close. The Close is also famous for another resident Donnchadh Ban MacIntyre a famous Gaelic Poet. At the foot of Roxburgh’s Close is a courtyard which I believe was part of Writers’ Court as the doorway from Warriston’s close that enters the building where Zizzi restaurant stands has a lintel with the initials of the Chambers brothers Robert and William and the date 1851. In the centre of Roxburgh Court are four iron slabs with carvings and dates with names. The four slabs represent the trees that once stood in the courtyard and the dates of their planting. The trees are from new world destinations of the time. 1725 Acer Saccharinum (silver maple from North American Maple).1767 Betula dalecarlica (A Swedish Birch tree from Sweden), 1842 Betula Utilis (Himalayan Birch Tree from Nepal), 1906 Sorbus Commixta (Japanese rowan tree from Japan). Warriston’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Warriston’s Close named after Lord Warriston who lived in the close, as did Sir Thomas Craig of Riccarton. William and Robert Chambers who lived in Writers’ Close on the west side of Warriston’s Close were just a few of the famous residents. The previous name of the close were Bruce’s Close after Robert Bruce of Stirling who lived here in 1566. Access to Warriston Close can also be gained from Roxburgh’s Close. Thee other more famous close which can be accessed from Warriston’s Close is Real Mary King’s Close. This close can only be accessed from the attraction as this is an underground street and possibly buried when the plague was at its height. John Knox Manse Warriston's Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh The site of John Knox’s Manse can be found in Warriston’s Close. Go in the Archway marked Warriston’s Close and Writer’s Court and turn left and down steps and you will see the plaque next to a black door. Other people who lived here are Sir Archibald Johnston (Lord Warriston) 1611 -1663, who named the Close. As the naming of closes and land (tenements) was usually done by the owners. Writers’ Court High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Writers' Court is found off Warriston's Close The lintel of the door is where the court once stood. The initials are WC (William Chambers) a publisher and printer like his brother RC (Robert Chambers). They lived in Writers' Court in 1851. Real Mary King’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh This is a real look back in to Edinburgh’s past. The underground streets and places where the people of Edinburgh lived, a historically accurate example of life in Edinburgh between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries, Tales of ghosts, legends and murders. Where the plague victims were walled up and left to die. Take the guided tour based on a onetime resident, and listen to the fascinating stories. Real Mary Kings Close Edinburgh and the entrance to the underground street. Edinburgh City Chambers High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Exchange Buildings foundation stone was laid in September 1753 by the Grand Master of the Scottish masons George Drummond. The New Royal Exchange was completed in 1761. Designed by John Adam. In 1811 it became the City Chambers when the Town Council moved here from the Tolbooth. The Edinburgh Council Chambers was extended in 1904 and 1934 it has served as the administrative centre for Edinburgh Corporation, since 1975 for the Council of the City of Edinburgh The inscription on the bronze plaque reads; THE CITY CHAMBERS – FORMERLY – THE ROYAL EXCHANGE – DESIGNED BY JOHN ADAM THE ELDEST OF THE ADAM BROTHERS. – THIS BUILDING WAS ERECTED 1753 – 1761 – AS AN EXCHANGE AND CUSTOMS HOUSE – IN 1811 IT BECAME THE CITY CHAMBERS – WHEN THE TOWN COUNCIL MOVED HERE FROM THE TOLBOOTH. – EXTENDED IN 1904 AND 1924 IT SERVED AS – THE ADMINISTRATIVE CENTRE FOR EDINBURGH CORPORATION – AND SINCE 1978 FOR THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF EDINBURGH – PRESENTED IN 1983 BY THE OLD EDINBURGH CLUB FOUNDED IN THE OLD COUNCIL CHAMBERS 29 JANUARY 1908 – Lord Provost George Drummond, laid the foundation-stone in September 1753. Edinburgh Award Golden Hands High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Award printed on the paving stones of the City Chambers quadrangle you can see the golden hands of famous people awarded by Edinburgh, such as Author J.K. Rowling Olympic champion cyclist Sir Chris Hoy, Artist Richard Demarco, Author Ian Rankin, Singer Annie Lennox, Scientist Professor Peter Higgs, George Kerr CBE Judo 10th Dan, Dame Elizabeth Blackadder Painter, 46664 Concert Nelson Mandela speech. Tom Gilzean icon of the Royal Mile, Ken Buchanan Boxer, Undisputed World Lightweight Champion. The High Constables of Edinburgh Plaque Edinburgh’s Police Force, in the year 1611 the privy council of King James VI ordered the Burgh to appoint constables to impose law and order on the streets of Edinburgh. This was taken over by a regular police force in Edinburgh in 1805. Alexander the Great with his Horse Bucephalus City Chambers High Street Edinburgh The statue that stands in Edinburgh City Chambers quadrangle is of Alexander the Great and his horse Bucephalus. The statue was cast in Bronze in 1883. The wondrous horse Bucephalus the horse that Alexander the Great rode for thousands of miles and through many battles to create his mighty empire. Both Horse Bucephalus and owner Alexander the Great tower over the square of Edinburgh City Chambers on the High Street in the Royal Mile. General Stanislaw Wadyslaw Maczek Statue 1892 -1994 General Stanislaw Wadyslaw Maczek reach the rank Lieutenant General in the Polish army and was the commander of the 1st Polish Panzer Division in World War II. Stanislaw was born in Lwow Poland in 1892 fought in the 1st World War with the Austrian Army and in the 2nd World War was Commander of the new formed 1st Polish Armoured Division, nicknamed “Black Division” which was created in February 1942 at Duns in Scotland. Stanislaw and his Polish Army numbering circa 1600 were trained over 2 years in Scotland before they took park in the Normandy Landings in 1944. He and his men were instrumental in the major part of the war in France and Germany and after the war he was left homeless. A friend and Sargent in his command gave him a job in his bar in Edinburgh. In 1985 he was invited to the city of Breda in the Netherlands for the anniversary of its liberation were he was given a heroes welcome. When he died at the age of 102 years in 1994 he was buried in the Polish military cemetery in Breda Netherlands. The Black Turnpike High Street Royal Mile Mary Queen of Scots Last Night in Edinburgh 1567. The Black Turnpike, also known as the ‘Auld Bishop of Dunkeld’s lodging’ was built in 1461 on the south side of the High Street immediately west of where the Tron Kirk now stands. It was demolished in 1788 to make way for Hunter Square and Blair Street. The plaque can be seen on the wall of the City Chambers.The inscription reads “On this site stood the lodging of Sir Simon Preston of Craigmillar (known as the Black Turnpike) the lord provost of the city of Edinburgh 1566 – 1567 in which lodging Mary Queen of Scotland after her surrender to the confederate lords at Carberry Hill was imprisoned overnight in Edinburgh 15 June 1567 in a stone chamber 13-foot square and 8-foot high. On the following evening she was conveyed to Holyrood and thereafter to Loch Leven Castle as a state prisoner. After 19 years of captivity, Mary was tried and condemned to death in October 1586, ending only with her execution at Fotheringhay on 8 February 1587”. To see more about Mary Queen of Scots visit Jedburgh where you can walk round where she once lived. With many interesting artefacts on display. Hugh Miller (1802 – 1856) Plaque High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Geologist Naturalist and Folklorist. There is a bust of Hugh Miller in the Hall of Heroes at the Wallace Monument in Stirling. Hugh Miller was editor of Witness, an evangelical newspaper established in 1840 by the Scottish geologist and writer. He committed suicide in December 1856. A shocked Western world mourned him, and his funeral procession was among the largest in the memory of Edinburgh residents. He lived in the seaside area of Portobello. The City of Edinburgh War Memorial The memorial in front of the City Chambers building in the High Street Royal Mile. The stone of remembrance is to commemorate the people of Edinburgh who lost their lives in the 1st and 2nd World Wars It was unveiled on Armistice Day 1927 by Prince Henry, Duke of Gloucester son of King George V. Allan’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Allan’s Close was removed when the City Chambers extended their premises but a part of Allan’s Close remains underground and can only be seen on the Real Mary King’s Close tour of the old streets of Edinburgh. The Close has had several names over time and each has been from the owner that lived there at the time. Craig’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh The access to Craig’s Close from the High Street was closed when the Council offices were built in 1932. Link to Craig's Close Anchor Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Anchor’s Close was named after a tavern that was at the top of the close in 1714. The Close ran from the High Street to Market Street before Cockburn Street was built and dissected it. In 1718 it change Landlords to and Dawney Douglas’s Tavern which was a meeting place of the Crochallan Fencibles, a club with a membership of a number of the most distinguished men of the town. The Crochallan Fencibles Club was founded by William Smellie, a printer who founded the Encyclopaedia Britannica. He also printed the first Edinburgh edition of Burns in 1787. Anchor Close has had many names as the name would change by the owner at the time. The Crochallan Fencibles was a convivial club for gentlemen which met in Dawney Douglas’s Tavern. William Smellie’s Printed Burns Poems and Allan Masterton wrote the music for Burns songs were also members of the club. Dawney Douglas’s Tavern was a very popular place as it served very good food at a very affordable price. On the east side of the Close there are two 17th-century buildings, originally of four storeys. A doorway on the west side of the Close has a 17th-century inscription ”LORD BE MERCIFUL TO ME” and was the entrance to Dawney Douglas’s Tavern where the Crochallan Fencibles Club met. Geddes’ Entry High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh John Kay 1742 – 1826 Geddes’ Entry connects with North Foulis’ Close and Old Stamp Office Close and was named after Robert Geddes of Scotstoun a surgeon by profession. On the front wall above the shops can be seen a plaque to John Kay. John Kay was a trained Barber and opened a shop at High Street where he became established and a member of the corporation of barber-surgeons in 1771. John Kay then changed his trade to become a successful painter of miniatures and also publishing sketches and caricatures of the local people which many were unhappy about the way they were portrayed. North Foulis’ Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh North Foulis Close named after John Foulis, who owned the land were he traded as an apothecary (Chemist) and owner of a tenement in the close it was North because of further down the High Street was South Foulis’ Close at No 32 with no connection to this close or owner, near to Hyndford’s Close. James Gillespie James Gillespie was an Edinburgh city merchant and founder of James Gillespie’s Hospital and School. The hospital opened in 1802 and could accommodate up to 66 Pensioners and the school. The school was originally sited at Gillespie Crescent near to the original hospital at Wright’s house. James Gillespie was born in Edinburgh on the 28 April 1726 and died at his home in Spylaw, Colinton a suburb of Edinburgh on 8 April 1797. His brothers, John and James were Tobacco and snuff merchants at 231 High street Edinburgh and had their own factory at the back of their house at Spylaw. Due to the civil war in the Americas they were a main British supplier to the trade and controlled the prices at the time. The inscription on the plaque reads; Formerly | the shop of | James Gillespie | of Spylaw | Tobacco and Snuff | Manufacturer | Founder of | James Gillespie’s | Hospital | and Schools | died 8 April 1797 | erected by | The governors 1883 Old Stamp Office Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh The Close’s in Edinburgh were named after the owners of buildings in the close at the time and thus had many names through time. Old Stamp Office Close was where the Stamp Office was for many years until it moved to Waterloo Place in 1821. It was the first place the Royal Bank of Scotland had offices when they were constituted in 1727 and remained here till 1753. It was also where Countess Eglinton and her seven beautiful daughters lived. Lady Eglinton and her daughters were the people to invite to any dance or party in the 1700s. There was also a school where the famous Flora McDonald of Skye was educated. She was famous for assisting Bonnie Prince Charlie in his escape after the battle of Culloden. The close has also been named after taverns, Ship Tavern close and Fortune’s Close. Both of these Taverns were in this close. Lyon’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Lyon’s Close 215 High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh between Old Stamp Office Close and Jackson’s Close. Possible entrance to Hospice of Elsie Inglis. Elsie Inglis was born on 16 August 1864 in Nainital India she first moved with her parents to Edinburgh in 1878 In 1892 Elsie Inglis qualified as a licentiate at the Colleges of Physicians and Surgeons in Edinburgh and Glasgow. In 1904 the small hospital opened by the Inglis family moved to the 219 High Street and was renamed The Hospice. In 1905 Inglis was appointed senior consultant of the Bruntsfield Hospital, which then merged with The Hospice in 1911. Elsie Inglis died on the 26 November 1917, she is interned in Dean Cemetery in Edinburgh. From funds that had been raise previously the remainder was used to establish the Elsie Inglis Memorial Maternity Hospital in Edinburgh in July 1925 which later became a part of the Royal Infirmary and still bears her name. Jackson’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Jackson’s Close on the North side of the upper High Street Royal Mile is named after John Jackson’s and his family who lived in the close from circa 1570 to at least 1893 when they sold property in the close. This close ends at Cockburn Street where many close’s were either split in two or shortened by the building of Cockburn Street which was a thoroughfare to Waverley Rail Station. King Charles I Plaque Jackson's Close When King Charles I decreed that the protestant book of common order was to replaced by a new catholic influenced Service book, he didn’t reckon with the reaction of the Scots! The anger felt by the people reached its peak in the church of St Giles in Edinburgh on the 22nd July 1637. When the Dean conducting the service began to read from the new service book. An old woman named Jenny Geddes flung her stool at the Dean’s head crying “Dost thou say mass at my lug?” thereby ensuring her place in history as a Scottish heroine. Fleshmarket Close Edinburgh Fleshmarket Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Fleshmarket Close stretched from the High Street North to Market Street before Cockburn Street was built (circa 1860) it cut through many old closes that stretched from the High Street northwards, which evidence of can be seen in Fleshmarket Close where the smallest pub in Edinburgh can be found as well as Ginglin’ Geordies Tavern both on the north side of the severed close. On the High street side of the Fleshmarket Close was where Henry Dundas first practised as an Advocate and was to become the most powerful person in Scotland. Edinburgh’s Smallest Pub Halfway House Fleshmarket Close Edinburgh The smallest pub in Edinburgh can be found halfway down the north side of Fleshmarket Close on the way to the Market Street entrance of Waverley train station. This tavern offers real ale from all over Scotland. Jinglin’ Geordie’s Pub Fleshmarket Close Edinburgh Jinglin’ Geordie’s in Fleshmarket Close was named after George Heriot a famous Edinburgh Jeweller and Goldsmith 1563 – 1624. George Heriot was Jeweller and Goldsmith to King James VI. When George Heriot died he had no family so he left his estate to build a school for the education of “Puire fatherless bairns o the toun of Edinburgh” (poor fatherless children of Edinburgh). The school is still a centre for education and has been described as the school J.K.Rowling’s inspiration for Hogwarts in the Harry Potter books. The picture shows Jnglin’ Geordie’s Tavern looking up Fleshmarket Close to Cockburn Street. The short cut to the High Street Royal Mile from Market Street and Waverley Train Station Cockburn Street High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Link To Cockburn Street Next - Real Mary King's Close

  • Athelstaneford | All About Edinburgh

    Athelstaneford Attractions East Lothian Athelstaneford Birthplace of the Scottish Flag Athelstaneford is a small hamlet in East Lothian, with a church and a few houses and a big history. Known as Athelstoneford as on Adair’s map 1650 -1722. The Scottish flag (Saltire) a white cross on a blue background is thought to be the oldest national flag in Europe and the Commonwealth. It was during a battle in 834 AD, King Angus believes that when seeing a cloud formation of a white saltire in the sky (which was the diagonal cross that St Andrew had been crucified on) was a sign from the saints, he proclaimed if the saints help them defeat the enemy he would make St Andrew patron saint of Scotland. On victory, he made the Saltire the flag of Scotland in addition to St Andrew becoming the patron Saint of Scotland. Scottish Flag Heritage Centre Athelstaneford East Lothian The doocot, in the Athelstaneford Church grounds houses a visitor centre, visitors can see a short audio-visual dramatization of the Battle in 834 AD prior to when the St Andrew’s Cross first appeared in the sky. The Doocot was original built 1583 by George Hepburn. A landowner of the area. Doocots were near to large house or Castles and are seen all over Scotland as they were means of getting fresh meat to the table only taking the young pigeons as they are the most tender. The Scottish Saltire Athelstaneford East Lothian The story of the Scottish Saltire starts in East Lothian with a white cross in the sky. When the St Andrew's Cross was written about circa 1380 the scots were going into battle against the English and were all to wear the white cross on a dark top. However, it was 1385 before we see any mention of the symbol to be committed to cloth. A Parliament decree that year, as Scots prepared to raid England stated that every man would bear St Andrew's cross but set against black cloth. Later in the century this symbol began to appear on coins. However blue was still not a feature. Indeed the Douglas standard carried into the Battle of Otterburn (1388) had a green background and also contained the lion as a predominant symbol. It might have been 1460 before the white Saltire against a blue background first appeared in the standard of the Edinburgh Incorporated Trades although the Saltire cross was not the predominant symbol and was vertical and on one side of the banner. Athelstaneford Parish Church Nigel Tranter Centre Athelstaneford East Lothian Athelstaneford Parish Church that can be seen today was built Circa 1885, but a church has been on this site since circa 1175. The first church was replaced in 1784. Nigel Tranter author and historian, a true Scotsman and nationalist. He was married in Athelstaneford Church in 2008. There is an Nigel Tranter Exhibition in the church. Educated at George Heriot’s School Edinburgh, he has had over 125 books published. He died at his home in Gullane East Lothian aged 90. Athelstaneford Village Hall Athelstaneford East Lothian The Village hall in Athelstaneford opened in 1929 on land donated by Sir David Alexander Kinloch, of Gilmerton. The purpose of the hall is for the benefit of the Athelstaneford Parish community as a centre for community activities. The monument in the garden in front of the village hall is a memorial to Robert Blair. Robert Blair was born at Edinburgh in 1699. He moved in 1731 to Athelstaneford where he lived until his death in February 1746. He was the minister of Athelstaneford and a poet with only one notable work, The Grave published in 1743. Athelstaneford Mains Athelstaneford East Lothian Athelstaneford Mains Farm was built by Mt Douglas circa 1850. He was well known for breeding shorthorn cattle. In the garden of the house are a number of ornaments, carved stone heads of cattle and a fountain with a scallop stone base and dolphins. A ancient Yew tree and topiary hedges. Athelstaneford Mains Barn Athelstaneford East Lothian Barnes Castle Athelstaneford Sir John Seton of Barnes Barnes Castle was being built by Sir John Seton of Garleton Castle as he had been honoured with the title of Sir John Seton of Barnes. Sir John Seton's important status to King James IV (a diplomat at Philip II of Spain’s court and later James VI’s Treasurer of the Household and a Lord of Session) and that he was to marry. He decided to build a more lavish home, a castle with courtyard and towers, that had gun loops that could defend against any potential invaders. Barnes Castle was never completed as Sir John Seton died in 1594. Next - Bolton

  • Colleges for Further Education | information | All About Edinburgh

    Looking for Colleges for Further Education for a special trade or occupation find all college contact details here COLLEGES FOR FURTHER EDUCATION Edinburgh Colleges for further education in skilled Trades and occupations Education & Learning College Further Education Education Colleges Stevenson College Bankhead Avenue Edinburgh EH11 4DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 535 4600 Education Colleges Midlothian College Dalhousie Road Dalkeith EH22 3FR Midlothian Scotland 0131 669 4400 Education Colleges Faith Bible Mission Drum Street Edinburgh EH17 8QG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 664 4336 Education Colleges Faith Bible Mission Gilmerton Road Edinburgh EH17 7JD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 6645814 Education Colleges School of Divinity New College Mound Place Edinburgh EH1 2LX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 650 8900 College Further Education Education Colleges Royal College Of Surgeons Nicholson Street Edinburgh EH8 9DW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 527 1600 Education Colleges Basil Paterson College Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 4NA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3802 Education Colleges Royal College Of Physicians Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 1JQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 7324 Education Colleges Royal College Of Nursing South Oswald Road Edinburgh EH9 2HH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 662 1010 Education Colleges Telford College West Granton Road Edinburgh EH5 1QE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 669 4400

  • Edinburgh Islands | River Forth | All About Edinburgh

    Edinburgh islands in the Firth of Forth is a look at the islands of the River Forth. See the history and where they are situated. See the wild life, bird, seals, dolphin, whales all of the Edinburgh Islands. Edinburgh Islands Queensferry - North Berwick From South Queensferry a small town at the three bridges over the Firth of Forth river to North Berwick A small town on the estuary of the Forth with golden sand beaches and great shops, restaurants, and activities with boats leaving frequently to tour the islands of the forth and their historic sites. Also the seals, dolphin and many species of seabirds. Tours & Travel Transfers from the Airport, Rail Station or Hotel Luggage Delivery Luxury vehicles Tours Advance Enquiry & Bookings Book - Transfer and Tours Boat Tours and Trips Islands of Edinburgh BASS ROCK The Bass Rock has more than 150,000 nesting Northern Gannets and is the largest single rock gannetry in the world. The naturalist David Attenborough called it the 12 wonder of the natural world. The Lighthouse was first used on the Bass Rock o the 1st November 1902. There are ruins of a Chapel dedicated to Saint Baldred, a monk said to have lived a life of solitude on the Bass Rock till his death in 606 A.D. The Chapel was built circa 1540 by the Lauder family who were the owners of the Bass Rock from 1316. In 1671, Charles I claimed the Bass as Royal Property and was leased out . The Bass Rock became a prison between 1672 and 1701. In 1691 four Jacobite prisoners escaped from their cells and occupied the Bass Rock for three years and fought of all the king's me who tried to reclaim the Rock. With help from the French Navy the 4 were able to raid the coastal areas of Fife and East Lothian. The occupation by the 4 finally ended in 1694 as food and fresh water had ran out. This was unknown to the King's men and the 4 negotiated to leave the Rock, only if they were given a pardon to walk free. This was agreed and they left as free men. The Bass Rock remained a State Prison until demolished in 1701 at that time . In 1706, the crown sold the Bass Rock to the Dalrymple family who are still the owners. FIDRA ISLAND This is a volcanic island created around 335 million years ago. John de Vaux a Norman nobleman built Castle Tarbet on the island of Fidrain the 12th Century. There is a lighthouse on it built in 1885 by Robert Louis Stevenson’s family as were most lighthouses around the British shores. Robert Louis Stevenson often visited the beaches at Dirleton the area known today as Yellowcraigs. Robert Louis Stevenson’s inspiration for his novel Treasure Island came from his days looking at the Island and dreaming of pirates on the high seas. LAMB ISLAND Lamb Island is a uninhabited island between the Bass Rock and Fidra Island. Baron Camilo Agasim-Pereira of Fulwood & Dirleton the previous owner sold the Lamb to Uri Geller in 2009. Uri Geller believes the layout of the 3 islands Fidra, Lamb and Craigleith match the three stars known as the 3 kings on Orion’s Belt which are linked to many ancient fables from Scottish and Egyptian history. This Island is found between the islands of Fidra and Craigleith. Uri Geller believes that Lamb hides Egyptian Treasure. CRAIGLEITH ISLAND This Island can be found close to North Berwick's harbour and its claim to fame was having the largest colony of Puffins in Britain numbering almost 30,000. It was also used in the breeding of rabbits for food. Craigleith is owned by the Dalrymple family. ISLE OF MAY The most easterly Island in the Forth and studies have revealed over 240 species of bird and 60 varieties of seaweed. This Isle was a black place when the Danes murdered ministers of the church who had tried to escape the plunder of the Danes in the mid to late 800 AD. The Oxcar Lighthouse The Oxcar Lighthouse was built by the Stevenson's and its light was seen for the first time in 1886. This was the first Northern Lighthouse to be automated in 1894. The Oxcar stands on a rock near to the Island of Inchmickery. In the background is the Pentland Hills and the largest artificial ski slop in Europe INCHMICKERY This uninhabited Island was used during both World War I and World War II the island was used as a gun emplacement and the structures still remain in place. CRAMOND ISLAND This island is the only island that can be accessed at low tide by foot. The causeway runs at the foot of a row of concrete pylons which were constructed as a submarine defence boom during the Second World War. INCHKEITH ISLAND L’Île de Dieu. (THIS ISLAND OF GOD) and L’Île des Chevaux (THIS ISLAND OF HORSES). As Inchgarvie, Inchkeith was used as a quarantine island in the 14th and 15th centuries. It was occupied by the English in the 16th century and Italian mercenaries fighting for the English in the 16th century. Mary of Guise renamed the island L’Île de Dieu. The soldiers also nicknamed it L’Île des Chevaux It is currently owned by Tom Farmer, founder of Kwik fit Garages. The Lighthouse that stands on the island was first used in 1804. INCHCOLM ISLAND. Inchcolm Island is just off the Fife coast near to the towns of Burntisland and Aberdour. This Island may have been occupied since the 6th century when St Columba is said to have visited the priory. A monesrery was built on the Inchcolm Island by David I, keeping a promise of his brother Alexander who had been saved on the island during a storm. There has been an Abbey on the island since 1235. Danes are said to have buried their dead on the island by payment in gold to King Macbeth of Scotland and a tombstone of the 10th century stands as a memorial to the Danish leader. The Abbey and island are looked after by a caretaker for Historic Scotland and is open to the public. INCHGARVIE ISLAND (The Island Fortress) Inchgarvie Island was a gift from James IV to the Dundas family which gave them the rights to build a fortification (Castle) on the Island to protect the sea ways from invaders. Inchgarvie island has been used for many things, in 1580 was an exile for the Edinburgh plague victims and the Castle was a prison from the early 1500 to the late 1600s. Inchgarvie Island supports the leg of the Forth Rail Bridge and it's history is said to go back to 832 A.D. when Angus / Oengus mac Fergus (II) King of the Picts killed Athelstan the Anglian King in a battle and to warn off intended invaders, he put Athelstan's' head on a spike on the Island for all to see. Next - Tours from Edinburgh

  • Upper Bow | Royal Mile | All About Edinburgh

    Upper Bow is at the junction of johnston Terrace Castlehill and Lawnmarket. The Upper Bow was part of the West Bow a street that linked the Old town with the Grassmarket. Now it is a street with steps to access the West Bow. Attractions are all around this area. Upper Bow Attractions Royal Mile Edinburgh The Upper Bow was part of the West Bow which was a steep road that linked the Grassmarket to Castlehill. The West Bow now ends at Victoria Street and steps take you to the Upper Bow and Victoria Terrace which is a balcony walkway that is above the old West Bow. The map show the present road layout with the Upper Bow, West Bow, Johnston Terrace, Castlehill, and Lawnmarket. The map can be found at the foot of the Upper Bow. St Columba's Free Church St Columba's Free Church is a Victorian Gothic building built in 1846 for a congregation of the Old Town's poor founded by the Rev. John Alexander, a mission priest. The day school beneath the church fed and educated up to 200 boys and girls until the 1870’s The first picture below shows the Upper Bow steps that go down to the west bow and Victoria Street. The centre picture is the steps from West Bow to Upper Bow and Victoria Terrace. The last Picture is looking up the West Bow from the Grassmarket. Victoria Terrace Victoria Terrace and Victoria Street are part of the New Town. They were built when George IV Bridge was built 1845 - 1866. It is on the line of the original city wall circa 1450 ta part of which can be seen off the Grassmarket. Quaker House The building with arches on Victoria Terrace was built in 1866 as the United Original Secession Church it closed in 1900 and and later in 1988 became the Quaker Meeting house. On the south side of the Street is India Buildings built 1866. 1-6 Victoria Street, was occupied by the British Linen Bank, the Scottish Chamber of Agriculture, and the Geological Survey of Scotland. In 2022 the Vigin Hotel opened, on construction there were many medieval artifacts, ruins of previous buildings found dating to the 10th century. Inscription 'Dominus Providebit.' The Lord Will Provide Next - Lawnmarket Royal Mile

  • White Water Rafting Experience | High Speed | All About Edinburgh

    White Water Rafting Experience on the Tummel Pitlochry from Edinburgh for an experiece of your life Hen & Stag Party funday White Water Rafting Experience For excitement and a great day out with your friends or family go crashing down the white water rapids in the highlands of Scotland. All equipment and wet suits provided with experienced captains on each craft with high safety standards you will get a high octane fun safe day out to remember until you do it again. From 2 -7 people at a time. The three main rivers for rafting are River Tay, River Tummel, River Orchy. Activities Transport White Water Rafting Experience Edinburgh - Pitlochry is 1 hour 30 mins and Edinburgh - River Orchy is 2 hrs 30 min subject to traffic. Grandtully Pitlochry Return Trip for 6 people £180 Advertise your business here White Water Rafting White Water Rafting Scotland 13 Tayside Place Aberfeldy PH15 2AW Perth and Kinross Scotland 01887 822 860 White Water Rafting The Rafting Company Ltd The Old Station Yard Lageonan Road Grandtully PH9 0PL Perthshire Scotland 01887 840 461 White Water Rafting Splash White Water Rafting Dunkeld Road Aberfeldy PH15 2AQ Perthshire Scotland 01887 829706

  • UK Flights Direct | Edinburgh Airport | All About Edinburgh

    Direct flights from Edinburgh Airport all uk and ireland destinations giving days of flights and flight duration. Flights to Scottish ans isand airports, Welsh airports Ireland airports (North & South), London airports and airports throughout England including Jersay Guernsey and Isle of Man. UK FLIGHTS FROM EDINBURGH AIRPORT Direct flights to Scotland, England, Wales, Ireland British Isles Airport destinations - Days of flights Duration of Flight updated 04 Sept 2020 London Airports from Edinburgh London City United Kingdom 1h 35 mins flight time Days Fly Sun, Mon, Thu, Fri, London Gatwick United Kingdom 1h 30 mins flight time Days Fly Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat London Heathrow United Kingdom 1h 35 mins flight time Days Fly Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat London Luton United Kingdom 1h 15 mins flight time Days Fly Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat London Stansted United Kingdom 1h 20 mins flight time Days Fly Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat Island Airports from Edinburgh Jersey United Kingdom 1h 40 mins flight time Days Fly Tue, Sat Guernsey United Kingdom 1h 35 mins flight time Days Fly Saturday Only Isle of Man United Kingdom 1h 5 mins flight time Days Fly Sun, Wed, Fri English Airports from Edinburgh Exeter United Kingdom 1h 35 mins flight time Days Fly Sun, Mon, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat Birmingham United Kingdom 1h 15 mins flight time Days Fly Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat Bristol United Kingdom 1h 10 mins flight time Days Fly Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat Southampton United Kingdom 1h 30 mins flight time Days Fly Saturday only Manchester United Kingdom 1h 10 mins flight time Days Fly Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat East Midlands United Kingdom 1h 15 mins flight time Days Fly Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat Welsh Airports from Edinburgh Cardiff United Kingdom 1h flight time Days Fly Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat Irish Airports from Edinburgh Belfast United Kingdom 50 mins flight time Days Fly Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat Derry/Londonderry United Kingdom 55 mins flight time Days fly Sun, Mon, Sat, Cork Ireland 1h 40 mins flight time Days Fly Sun, Mon, Tue, Thu, Fri, Sat Dublin Ireland 1h 10 mins flight time Days Fly Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat Scottish Airports from Edinburgh Sumburgh United Kingdom 1h 30 mins flight time Saturday only Kirkwall United Kingdom 1h 15 mins flight time Days Fly Sun, Sat Islay United Kingdom 55 mins flight time Days Fly Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Stornoway United Kingdom 1 H flight time Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri, Sun Next - Airlines Edinburgh Airport

  • St Andrews | The Scores | All About Edinburgh

    The Scores St Andrews a road that follows the coast from the Old Coarse to the Castle, with historic houses monuments statues plaques and St Andrews Castle. Many old University buildings and a museum (free entry). The Scores St Andrews The Scores is the road that follows the shore path and continues to East Scores then The Pends, the Harbour and a wonderful golden sandy beach. The Scores St Andrews Attractions Band Stand The Scores St Andrews Attractions The Bandstand in the Scores St Andrews has been used for over 100 years for concerts and events since it was built in 1905. St Andrews Aquarium The Scores St Andrews St Andrews Aquarium with an outside area for sea Lions. Inside there are many Molluscs, octopus, shell fish, Sea horses, and other creatures from the sea in tanks. Tom Morris Snr The Scores St Andrews Attractions 4 times winner of the open, keeper of the greens at St Andrews. First honorary member of the R & A club. For more on Tom and Tommy see The Pends St Andrews | All About Edinburgh West Sands St Andrews St Andrews Scotland View from The Martyrs' Monument West Beach is close to St Andrews town centre, 2 miles of golden sand beach with safe swimming a board walk and picnic area. This is also the beach that was used in the Chariots of Fire movie. Martyrs' Monument The Scores St Andrews Scotland The Martyrs’ Monument was built to commemorate four men executed in St Andrews during the 16th Century Scottish Reformation Patrick Hamilton Patrick Hamilton was one of the first critics of the Catholic Church in Scotland to be tried and burnt at the stake, in 1528, for promoting the doctrines of Martin Luther. Patrick Hamilton was of royal blood, Patrick was related to King James V. Henry Forest Henry Forest was executed in 1533 Henry a Benedictine monk. Began his sermons with the story of teacher Patrick Hamilton, A Martyr for the truth. Archbishop Beaton had him executed for his sermons and beliefs. Not by burning at the stake, but in a cell by suffocation away from the people. George Wishart George Wishart age 33, died 1 March 1546, a Scottish Protestant Reformer and one of the early Protestant martyrs burned at the stake as a heretic. Walter Milne Walter Milne was the last Protestant martyr to be burned in Scotland before the Scottish Reformation changed the country from Catholic to Presbyterian. He was burned at the stake for heresy outside Deans Court, St Andrews, in April 1558 at the age of 82. Martyrs' Monument Inscription In memory of the Martyrs' Patrick Hamilton, Henry Forrest, George Wishart and Walter Mill Who in support of the Protestant faith suffered death by fire at Saint Andrews between the years of MDXXVIII (1528) and MDLVIII (1558). The righteous shall be in everlasting remembrance Robert Chambers House Robert Chambers built this house 6 Gillespie Terrace (The Scores) in St Andrews in 1863 after marrying his second wife in North Street St Andrews in 1867 and lived in Gillespie Terrace till his death in 1871. Chambers was the top publishing house of its time in Edinburgh. In 1844 he wrote "Vestiges of the natural history of creation" (A theory of Evolution) 15yrs prior to Darwin. Simple Sugars Plaque Near this site in 1903, James Colquhoun Irvine, Thomas Purdie and their team found a way to understand the chemical structure of simple sugars like glucose and lactose. Over the next 18 year this allowed them to lay the foundations of modern carbohydrate chemistry, with implications for medicine, nutrition and biochemistry. St Katherine’s West St Katherine's West is used for Admissions, and Registry to St Andrews University. It is also a meeting point for guided tours of the University of St Andrews Wardlaw Museum The Scores St Andrews The Wardlaw Museum is part of St Andrews University with free entry to all. The Museum has a selection of art, history, science and natural history in their collections Gallery 1: Scotland’s First University Gallery 2: Enquiring Minds Gallery 3: Reformers and Innovators Gallery 4: Expanding Horizons The Wardlaw Museum is part of St Andrews University with free entry to all. Peter Pan Statue JM Barrie creator of Peter Pan presented this sculpture to the students Hall St Andrews University when he was Rector in 1922. Skeletons The collection of Skeletons were collected in the 1800's and early 1900's Patagonian Mara | Red Fox Skull | Tiger Skull | Coral Chunks Alligator Skull | Oystercatcher Skeleton James Kennedy Skull James Kennedy was Bishop of St Andrews after Henry Wardlaw. He was Chancellor of the University and founded the College of St Salvator's in 1450. It became known as Old College after St Leonard's College was founded in 1512 and the new college of St Mary's in 1538 Popes Benedict XIII Skull Cast of skull of Pope Benedict XIII He was head of the Catholic Church and ruler of the Papal States from 29 May 1724 to his death in February 1730. Born Pietro Francesco Orsini and later called Vincenzo Maria Orsini. The University Maces The medieval maces, the Mace of the Faculty of Arts (completed 1418-19), the Mace of the Faculty of Canon Law (mid-15th century) and the Mace of St Salvator’s College (1461) are of outstanding workmanship. The Maces are used in University ceremonies such as Graduations. The Poetry House (Castle) The Scores St Andrews This four-storey listed building, is now a national focal point for poetry. Thought to be the larges building dedicated to Poetry writing in the UK. Edgecliffe House The Scores St Andrews Edgecliffe House was built 1865 by, George Rae, architect. A Baronial listed building on the shore side of the Scores in St Andrews. St Andrews Castle The Scores St Andrews St Andrews Castle was first built circa 1070 the castle was erected around at the time of Malcolm III who also was behind the fortification of Edinburgh Castle. St Andrews Castle stands on a cliff overlooking the sea. It was a courtyard castle now in ruins. The stronghold of the Bishops of St Andrews and where the murder of Cardinal David Beaton took place in 1546. Also where George Wishart was burnt alive as a punishment for being a heretic. Castle Ghosts The ghost of Archbishop John Hamilton, George Wishart Archbishop David Beaton, Archbishop James Sharp and ‘The White Lady’, described as being clad in white with a veil which hides her face. St Andrews Castle from St Andrews Pier George Wishart Plaque George Wishart age 33, died 1 March 1546, a Scottish Protestant Reformer was burned at the stake outside St Andrews Castle and was Hung on the Castle wall for all to see. One of the first Protestant Martyrs'. His Crime of being a heretic. GW Cobbles on Road The GW on the road is where George Wishart was burned at the stake by Cardinal Henry Beaton, who later was assassinated by friends of Wishart

  • East Fortune Village | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh

    East FortuneVillage is where the National Museum of Flight is located. Also where you can drive super cars on the old airstrip. Fly in a microlight plane or stay in a old Mansion house. East Fortune Village East Lothian East Fortune East Lothian is where the National Flight Museum is situated. Once East Fortune was an Aerodrome for the World War I aircraft and a flight training centre for pilots it opened in 1915. It was also an integral part of the RAF in the World War II. It is now used by East of Scotland Microlights who are based at East Fortune Airfield. The old runway is used by supercars for a visitor activity. East Fortune is a great place to spend a day or two for petrol heads and flying enthusiasts. Learn to fly in a Microlight or drive at crazy speeds in super cars. Gilmerton House National Fight Museum Merryhatton Garden Centre National Flight Museum The Airfield where the National Museum of Flight is situated was opened in 1915 as The Royal Naval Air Station as part of the defence against zeppelins which bombed Scotland, causing damage to many parts of Edinburgh. Stationed at the airfield were many types of aircraft as well as airships (balloons). The World War 1 fighting ended on 11 November 1918. When the surrendered German Fleet sailed into the Firth of Forth, aircraft stationed at East Fortune made historic photographs and filmed the German Fleet. In the 2nd World War the aerodrome was used as a training base for pilots who came from all the allied counties including Australia and New Zealand. East Fortune was also used in the 1960s as an airport while Edinburgh Turnhouse Airport was being renovated, over 90.000 passengers used East Fortune during that time. The Flight Museum opened in 1975 and anyone interested in flight history should visit, with Spitfire, Dan Air passenger Jets, Bye planes and even a Concorde Supersonic British Airways passenger Jet. Gilmerton House East Fortune Gilmerton House East Lothian a Georgian Mansion refurbished to a high standard is situated East Fortune East Lothian. There is a walled garden of 4 acres. Gilmerton Estate has been owned by the Kinloch family since 1664 and its surrounding by a large estate. It is close to both Athelstaneford home of the Scottish Flag and the National Museum of Flight East Fortune. The old house was extended and the front of the house is the newer section Kinloch Family East Fortune East Lothian Francis Kinloch 1st Baronet, of Gilmerton purchased the estates in 1664. He was Lord Provost of Edinburgh and in 1686 was created a Baronet of Nova Scotia, his son Sir Francis Kinloch succeeded him then his son Sir Thomas Kinloch became 3rd Baronet then his son became Sir James Kinloch 4th Baronet, his son became Sir David Kinloch 5th Baronet, then his brothers, Sir Francis Kinloch of Gilmerton, 6th Baronet; Major Sir Archibald Gordon Kinloch of Gilmerton, 7th Baronet; Sir Alexander Kinloch of Gilmerton, 8th Baronet his brother David 5th Baronets son became Sir David Kinloch of Gilmerton 9th Baronet followed by his son Sir Alexander Kinloch of Gilmerton 10th Baronet, then his son David Alexander Kinloch 11th Baronet then his son Alexander Davenport Kinloch 12th Baronet his son became Sir David Kinloch of Gilmerton 13th Baronet. East Fortune Super Cars East Fortune East Lothian the site of the National museum of Flight and East Fortune motorcycle race circuit where you can also drive Super cars. Merryhatton Garden Centre Come along to a world of plants, flowers and garden ornaments. Garden Furniture Garden Lighting, Garden Tools, pots and planters Grow your own vegetables. Give your children their own area bird feeders or a Fairy plot with a fairy house and garden. Cafe and Food. Whatever time of day sit and enjoy a tea or coffee and a bit to eat. Next - East Linton

  • Archerfield Resort | All About Edinburgh

    Archerfield Golf Resort and The Renaissance golf club both have championship cources the Renaissance home to the Scottish Open, Archerfield name by the Royal Archers and golf from the 1600'sArcherfield House walled gardens Archerfield Resort East Lothian Coast Archerfield House Archerfield East Lothian Coast Archerfield is an area between Gullane and North Berwick on the east coast of Scotland on the A198 road. On the estate during excavation when building the golf course and club house there were signs of a settlement being in the area dating circa 1080. King Edward I, and his troops were encamped at Archerfield during the English advance on Scotland in 1298. Sir John Nisbet acquired the Dirleton Estate in 1663 which the present Archerfield estate was part of. He built the present house circa 1690 to replace what was his previous home Dirleton Castle which stand as a ruin close by. Royal Archers Archerfield East Lothian Coast Dirleton Castle was not to Nisbets liking, so he decided to build a mansion house which he called Archerfield House as the Royal Archers practised in the fields close by. Golf on Archerfield Estate Archerfield East Lothian Coast The Golf Courses at Archerfield House, the Dirleton Links a true links course and Fidra a course with both parkland and links, are both exceptional also a place to land your helicopter and have breakfast, lunch and dinner, next door the Renascence Club has everyone in Golf circles talking of a high standard challenging golf course for professional and amateur golfers. Archerfield Walled Garden Archerfield East Lothian Coast The Walled Garden is a great place to spend a day with a Bistro restau rant and tables indoor and outdoor. The Fairy Wood is close by and there are many fairy’s houses that can be spotted, buy fairy dust in the shop and sprinkle it in the wood to attract the fairies. The nature trail (Willow Walk) has many things to see with a maze from willow trees and the wishing tree all that is needed is a dry day and there is everything for the family. Archerfield Willow Walk East Lothian Coast The Fairy wood with a walkway and many fairy Houses (find the fairies and see their houses) and willow walk (with a wishing tree which you can tie a ribbon on) both are popular with all young children. There is also a bothy, bistro and shop with a children’s secure play park. Archerfield Fairy Trail East Lothian Coast Get your fairy dust before you go on the trail and see where the Fairies all live. Next - Dirleton

  • Go Karts + Cage Buggies | Kart Races | All About Edinburgh

    In door and Out door Go Karts activities for all ages group Xtreme Kart racing, indoors and outdoors dirt track rccing in Cage Buggies (Rage Buggies) 18+ only. Fly round a specially made outdoor course in the caage buggy a thrill of a drive. Go Karts + Off Road Cage Buggies Go Karts for all age groups. Karting Indoor or Outdoor Tracks or the ultimate in Karting in a Off Road (Cage) Buggy. Back to Activities Go Karts Xtreme Karting Edinburgh 2 Huly Hill Road Edinburgh EH28 8PH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 333 0195 Go Karts Fastrax Inzievar Farm Oakley Dunfermline KY12 8EZ Fife Scotland 01383 880300 Go Karts Indoor Kart racing Race Karts Ltd Arrol Square Livingston EH54 8QZ West Lothian Scotland 01506 410 123 cage buggies Off Road Cage Buggies Off Road Buggies Battlezone Dolphinton Burn Woodlands Dundas Castle South Queensferry Edinburgh EH29 9EN 0131 2973157 Off Road Buggies Fastrax Inzievar Farm Oakley KY12 8EZ Fife Scotland 01383 880300

  • Canonmills | Shops Businesses | All About Edinburgh

    Canonmills Area Edinburgh with restaurants, cafes and bars, accommodation and easy access to the Water of Leith and Royal Botanic Gardens. Canonmills is a mile downhill from Princes Street and the same from Leith. Canonmills Shops Edinburgh Retail Stores, Restaurants, Pubs, Accommodation, Streets included are Canon Street, Rodney Street, Canonmills, Huntley Street, Brandon Terrace and Eyre Place Dundas Street. Canonmills History and Attractions CANONMILLS Brandon's of Canonmills 1 Canonmills Edinburgh EH3 5HA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 7080 Blue Bird Café 5 Canonmills Edinburgh EH3 5HA City of Edinburgh Scotland BP Petrol Station 23 Canonmills Edinburgh EH3 5HA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 0642 Canonmills Baptist Church 14 Canonmills Edinburgh EH3 5LH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5220 Canon Court Apartments 20 Canonmills Edinburgh EH3 5LH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 474 7000 Decorum Décor 28 Canonmills Edinburgh EH3 5LH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 5000 Napier Bathrooms 30 Canonmills Edinburgh EH3 5LH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 6166 HUNTLEY STREET McGrath Mathematics 1 Huntley Street Edinburgh EH3 5HB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 610 6110 Canonmills Drycleaners Huntley Street Edinburgh EH3 5HB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 3199 CANON STREET Primate 1 Canon Street Edinburgh EH3 5HE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 6877 Jade Garden Takeaway Canon Street Edinburgh EH3 5HE City of Edinburgh Scotland BRANDON TERRACE Di Giorgio's 1 Brandon Terrace Edinburgh EH3 5EA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 624 4666 Post Office 2 Brandon Terrace Edinburgh EH3 5EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Kavelle 4 Brandon Terrace Edinburgh EH3 5EA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 9878 Gayfield Design 6 Brandon Terrace Edinburgh EH3 5EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Forth Flooring 7 Brandon Terrace Edinburgh EH3 5EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Blue Bear Café 9 Brandon Terrace Edinburgh EH3 5EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Edina Lock and Key 10 Brandon Terrace Edinburgh EH3 5EA City of Edinburgh Scotland RODNEY STREET William Hill Bookmaker 1 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EN City of Edinburgh Scotland The Other Place Bar 2 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Sugar Daddy's 5 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EN City of Edinburgh Scotland Fioritalia 6 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9623 Joyce's Cake Shop 7 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 0104 Crystal Optometry 8 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Coffee Magic 10 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland B & W Joiner and Builders Services 13 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EN City of Edinburgh Scotland Marshmallow Lady 14 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Mandala Flow 16 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Hershaws 17 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EN City of Edinburgh Scotland Tailor Design 21 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EN City of Edinburgh Scotland Shangri-La 24 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 3878 BRANDON TERRACE Phase Hair 15 Brandon Terrace Edinburgh EH3 5EA City of Edinburgh Scotland John Hall Hair 16 Brandon Terrace Edinburgh EH3 5DZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Martinez Antiques 17 Brandon Terrace Edinburgh EH3 5DZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Beuaty @Brandon Terrace 19 Brandon Terrace Edinburgh EH3 5DZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Sandy Jones Hair 20 Brandon Terrace Edinburgh EH3 5DZ City of Edinburgh Scotland The Art Club 21 Brandon Terrace Edinburgh EH3 5DZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Coffee Angel 24 Brandon Terrace Edinburgh EH3 5DZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 622 6235 RODNEY STREET London 1 22 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Gordon Mason Accountants 23 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EN City of Edinburgh Scotland Beerhive 24 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh Bicycle Co-op 30 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Ravenstone Property Ltd 32 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4DX City of Edinburgh Scotland Fishmonger 34 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Loulabella's 40 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Barbers 42 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland City Chiropractic 44 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Dicle Café 46 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Snow Sports Services 50 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Celadon 2 U 52 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland Bodrum Express 54 Rodney Street Edinburgh EH7 4EA City of Edinburgh Scotland EYRE PLACE Eyre Guest House 5 Eyre Place Edinburgh EH3 5ES City of Edinburgh Scotland Dene Guest House 7 Eyre Place Edinburgh EH3 5ES City of Edinburgh Scotland Ardenlee Guest House 9 Eyre Place Edinburgh EH3 5ES City of Edinburgh Scotland AiIsa Guest House 11 Eyre Place Edinburgh EH3 5ES City of Edinburgh Scotland Roman Nose Bistro 14 Eyre Place Edinburgh EH3 5EP City of Edinburgh Scotland New Chapter Restaurant 18 Eyre Place Edinburgh EH3 5EP City of Edinburgh Scotland Banana Road Music Studios 47 Eyre Place Edinburgh EH3 5EY City of Edinburgh Scotland Smithies Bar 49 Eyre Place Edinburgh EH3 5EY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9805 Jewson 72 Eyre Place Edinburgh EH3 5EL City of Edinburgh Scotland DUNDAS STREET Glass & Thompson Deli 2 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6HZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 0909 Rachel Scott Bridal Couture 3 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6QG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1520 Spice Pavilion 3a Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6QG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 467 5506 Anthony Wood 4 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6HZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 9544 Bourne Fine Art Gallery 6 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6HZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 4050 Sturrock Armstrong & Thomson 7a Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6QG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 0159 Shilla 13 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6QG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4840 Belinda Robertson Retail Ltd 13a Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6QG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 8118 Scottish Gallery 16 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6HZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 1200 Di Rollo 18 Dundas Street EdinburghEH3 6HZCity of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 5227 Sutton Gallery 18a Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6HZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 4810 DUNDAS STREET Kweilin 19 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6QG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 1875 Greyfriars's Art Shop 20 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6HZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4600 D J Alexanders Lettings Ltd 24 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6JN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 3000 Bottledog 25a Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6QQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4161 Belvoir Lettings 28a Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6JN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 2545 The Trout Angler's Club 29 Dundas Street EdinburghEH3 6QQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 6656 James Ritchie and Sons Clockmakers 29b Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6QQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1420 Tesco Express 30 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6JN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0345 610 6732 Bulthaup Kitchens 31 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6QQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 2233 Axolotl Gallery 35 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6QQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 1460 DUNDAS STREET Torrance Gallery 36 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6JN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 6366 Marwick’s 40 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6JN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5938 Colours Gallery 41 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6QQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 4569 DJ Alexander Lettings Ltd 52 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6QZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 572 0174 Braemore Property Management 53 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6RS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 624 6666 Walton Hotel 79 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6SD ‎City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1137 PHP Lettings 103 Dundas Street EdinburghEH3 6SD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 461 3115 Braewell 106 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 6RQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 2224 Zen Kitchen 138 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 5DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9988 Clark's Bar 142 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 5DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1067 Cuckoo's Bakery 150 Dundas Street Edinburgh EH3 5DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 6224 Dundas Street Next Stockbridge Area Businesses

  • Edinburgh Primary Schools | Education | All About Edinburgh

    A full list of the Edinburgh Primary Schools and Primary Schools in lothians and Scottish Borders with contact details when looking for a school for your child Edinburgh Primary Schools Education & Learning Edinburgh Primary Schools Education Primary Schools Abbeyhill Abbey Street Edinburgh EH7 5SJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 661 3054 Education Primary Schools Edinburgh Academy Junior Arboretum Road Edinburgh EH3 5PL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 552 3690 Education Primary Schools Drumbrae Ardshiel Avenue Edinburgh EH4 7HP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 339 5071 Education Primary Schools Craiglockhart Ashley Terrace Edinburgh EH11 1RG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 1407 Education Primary Schools Juniper Green Baberton Mains Wynd Edinburgh EH14 3EE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 442 2121 Education Primary Schools Balgreen Balgreen Road Edinburgh EH11 3AT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 6066 Education Primary Schools Cargilfield Preparatory School Barnton Avenue Edinburgh EH4 6HU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 336 2207 Education Primary Schools Lismore Bingham Avenue Edinburgh EH15 3HZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 669 4588 Education Primary Schools Bonaly Bonaly Grove Edinburgh EH13 0QD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 441 7211 Education Primary Schools Bun-sgoil Taobh na Pairce Bonnington road Edinburgh EH6 5NQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 553 5856 Education Primary Schools Granton Boswall Parkway Edinburgh EH5 2DA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 552 3987 Education Primary Schools Royston Boswall Parkway Edinburgh EH5 2JH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 554 4534 Education Primary Schools Broughton Broughton Road Edinburgh EH7 4LD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 7028 Education Primary Schools Leith Walk Brunswick Road Edinburgh EH7 5NG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 3873 Education Primary Schools Buckstone Buckstone Loan Edinburgh EH10 6UY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 445 4545 Education Primary Schools Burdiehouse Burdiehouse Crescent Edinburgh EH17 8EX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 664 2351 Education Primary Schools Sighthill Calder Park Edinburgh EH11 4NF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 453 2464 Education Primary Schools Royal Mile Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 3347 Education Primary Schools Fettes College Carrington Road Edinburgh EH4 1QX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 2281 Education Primary Schools Fox Covert Clerwood Terrace Edinburgh EH12 8PG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 339 3749 Education Primary Schools Clovenstone Clovenstone Park Edinburgh EH14 3EY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 453 4242 Education Primary Schools Oxgangs Colinton Mains Drive Edinburgh EH13 9AE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 441 3649 Education Primary Schools George Watsons Colinton Road Edinburgh EH10 5EG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 446 6040 Education Primary Schools George Watsons Colinton Road Edinburgh EH10 5EG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 446 6000 Education Primary Schools Merchiston Castle Colinton Road Edinburgh EH13 0PU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 312 2200 Education Primary Schools Flora Stevenson Comely Bank Road Edinburgh EH4 1BG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 1604 Education Primary Schools South Morningside Comiston Road Edinburgh EH10 5QN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 447 5446 Education Primary Schools Davidson Mains Corbiehill Road Edinburgh EH4 5DZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 336 1184 Education Primary Schools Corstorphine Corstorphine High Street Edinburgh EH12 7SY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 334 3865 Education Primary Schools Blackhall Craigcrook Road Edinburgh EH4 3PH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 336 1023 Education Primary Schools Holy Cross R.C. Craighall Road Edinburgh EH6 4RE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 552 1971 Education Primary Schools East Craigs Craigmount Brae Edinburgh EH12 8XF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 339 7115 Education Primary Schools Cramond Cramond Crescent Edinburgh EH4 6PG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 312 6450 Education Primary Schools Currie Curriehill Road Edinburgh EH14 5PU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 449 3359 Education Primary Schools Preston Street Dalkeith Road Edinburgh EH16 5BR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 667 4208 Education Primary Schools Dalry Dalry Road Edinburgh EH11 2JB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 6086 Education Primary Schools Duddingston Duddingston Road Edinburgh EH15 1SW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 669 5092 Edinburgh Primary Schools Education Primary Schools St Mary's R.C. (Edin) East London Street Edinburgh EH7 4BW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 7128 Education Primary Schools St Peter's R.C. Falcon Road Edinburgh EH10 4AH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 447 5742 Education Primary Schools Towerbank Figgate Bank Edinburgh EH15 1HX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 669 1551 Education Primary Schools St Mark's R.C. Firrhill Crescent Edinburgh EH13 9EE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 441 2948 Education Primary Schools Tollcross Fountainbridge Edinburgh EH3 9QG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 7828 Education Primary Schools Cargilfield Gamekeepers Road Edinburgh EH4 6HU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 336 2207 Education Primary Schools St George's Girls Garscube Terrace Edinburgh EH12 6BG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 311 8000 Education Primary Schools St George's School for Girls Garscube Terrace Edinburgh EH12 6BH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 311 8000 Education Primary Schools St Peter's Gillespie Street Edinburgh EH3 9NH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 8003 Education Primary Schools Liberton Gilmerton Road Edinburgh EH16 5UD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 664 2337 Education Primary Schools St Catherines R.C. Gracemount Drive Edinburgh EH16 6RN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 664 4257 Education Primary Schools Gracemount Gracemout House Drive Edinburgh EH16 6FD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 664 2331 Education Primary Schools Wardie Granton Road Edinburgh EH5 3NJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 552 3896 Education Primary Schools Castleview Greendykes Road Edinburgh EH16 4DP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 661 6429 Education Primary Schools Ferryhill Groathill Road North Edinburgh EH4 2SQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 538 7382 Education Primary Schools St Mary's Music Grosvenor Crescent Edinburgh EH12 5EL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 538 7766 Education Primary Schools St Mary's Music School Grosvenor Crescent Edinburgh EH12 5EL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 538 7766 Education Primary Schools Canal View Hailesland Place Edinburgh EH14 2SL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 442 3894 Education Primary Schools Stockbridge Hamilton Place Edinburgh EH3 5BA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 6109 Education Primary Schools St John's Hamilton Terrace Edinburgh EH15 1NB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 669 1363 Education Primary Schools Edinburgh Academy Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4603 Education Primary Schools Hermitage Park Hermitage Park Edinburgh EH6 8HD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 554 2952 Education Primary Schools St Cuthberts R.C. Hutchison Crossway Edinburgh EH14 1RP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 443 2621 Education Primary Schools St John Vianney R.C. Ivanhoe Crescent Edinburgh EH16 6AU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 664 1742 Education Primary Schools Carrickknowe Lampacre Road Edinburgh EH12 7HU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 334 4505 Education Primary Schools George Heriots Lauriston Place Edinburgh EH3 9EQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 7263 Education Primary Schools George Heriots Lauriston Place Edinburgh EH3 9EQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 7263 Education Primary Schools St Mary's R.C. (Leith) Links Gardens Edinburgh EH6 7JG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 554 7129 Education Primary Schools Craigentinny Loganlea Drive Edinburgh EH7 6LR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 661 2749 Education Primary Schools Lorne Lorne Street Edinburgh EH6 8QS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 554 2308 Education Primary Schools Brunstane Magdalene Drive Edinburgh EH15 3BE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 669 4498 Education Primary Schools Dean Park Balerno Marchbank Gardens Edinburgh EH14 7ET City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 449 4529 Education Primary Schools Parson's Green Meadowfield Drive Edinburgh EH8 7LU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 661 4459 Education Primary Schools Niddrie Mill Moffat Way Edinburgh EH16 4PY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 468 7025 Education Primary Schools St Francis R.C. Moffat Way Edinburgh EH16 4PY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 621 6600 Education Primary Schools Bruntsfield Montpelier Edinburgh EH10 4NA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 229 1821 Edinburgh Primary Schools Education Primary Schools Gilmerton Moredun Dykes Road Edinburgh EH17 8NQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 664 3614 Education Primary Schools Craigroyston Muirhouse Place West Edinburgh EH4 4PX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 343 6465 Education Primary Schools Muirhouse Muirhouse Place West Edinburgh EH4 4PX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 200 2000 Education Primary Schools Cliftonhall Newbridge Edinburgh EH28 8LQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 333 1359 Education Primary Schools Victoria Newhaven Main Street Edinburgh EH6 4HY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 476 7306 Education Primary Schools Trinity Newhaven Road Edinburgh EH6 4QA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 554 2062 Education Primary Schools Fort North Fort Street Edinburgh EH6 4HF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 467 7131 Education Primary Schools Royal High Northfield Broadway Edinburgh EH8 7RX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 669 3200 Education Primary Schools Pentland Oxgangs Green Edinburgh EH13 9JE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 445 1510 Education Primary Schools Clermiston Parkgrove Place Edinburgh EH4 7NP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 336 3361 Education Primary Schools Prestonfield Peffermill Road Edinburgh EH16 5LJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 667 1336 Education Primary Schools Stewarts Melville Queensferry Road Edinburgh EH4 3EZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 311 1177 Education Primary Schools Stewarts Melville College Queensferry Road Edinburgh EH4 3EZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 311 1177 Education Primary Schools Mary Erskines Junior Queensferry Terrace Edinburgh EH4 3EZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 311 1111 Education Primary Schools Mary Erskines Ravelston Dykes Road Edinburgh EH4 3NT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131347 5700 Education Primary Schools Colinton Redford Place Edinburgh EH13 0AL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 441 1946 Education Primary Schools Longstone Redhall Grove Edinburgh EH14 2DU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 443 4743 Education Primary Schools Prospact Bank Restalrig Road Edinburgh EH6 8BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 553 2239 Education Primary Schools St Ninian's R.C. Restalrig Road South Edinburgh EH7 6JA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 661 3431 Education Primary Schools Roseburn Roseburn Street Edinburgh EH12 5PL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 339 6096 Education Primary Schools Stenhouse Saughton Mains Street Edinburgh EH11 3HL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 443 1255 Education Primary Schools Broomhouse Saughton Road Edinburgh EH11 3RQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 443 3783 Education Primary Schools St Joseph's R.C. Saughton Road Edinburgh EH11 3RQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 443 4591 Education Primary Schools Sciennes Sciennes Road Edinburgh EH9 1LG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 667 1243 Education Primary Schools Murrayburn Sighthill Loan Edinburgh EH11 4NP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 453 5339 Education Primary Schools Westburn Sighthill Road Edinburgh EH11 4PB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 442 2997 Education Primary Schools Rudolph Steiner Spylaw Road Edinburgh EH10 5BR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 337 3410 Education Primary Schools Leith St Andrew Place Edinburgh EH6 7EG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 554 4844 Education Primary Schools Nether Currie Thomson Crescent Edinburgh EH14 5JR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 449 3140 Education Primary Schools Pirniehall West Pilton Crescent Edinburgh EH4 4EP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 5256 Education Primary Schools Forthview West Pilton Place Edinburgh EH4 4DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 2468 Education Primary Schools St David's West Pilton Place Edinburgh EH4 4EP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 332 3500 Education Primary Schools Gylemuir Wester Broom Place Edinburgh EH12 7RT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 334 7138 Education Primary Schools James Gilespies Whitehouse Loan Edinburgh EH9 1BD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 447 1014 Education Primary Schools Newcraighall Whitehill Street Newcraighall EH21 8QZ Edinburgh Scotland 0131 669 3598 Education Primary Schools Fettes College Preparatory School East Fettes Avenue Edinburgh EH4 1QX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 322 2976

  • Flying around Edinburgh Sky | Sky Activities | All About Edinburgh

    Flying around Edinburgh Sky Planes Microlights Helicopters Gliders Paragliding Ballooning if its in the air its available in Edinburgh Flying Around Edinburgh Sky Microlight, Gliding or Light aircraft Activities Flying Micro Flight Academy Balado Park Airfield Balado Kinross KY13 0RF Fife Scotland 01577 865 880 Flying Cumbernauld Flying School Cumbernauld Airport Duncan Mcintosh Road Cumbernauld G68 0HH Glasgow Scotland 01236 734 672 Flying East of Scotland Microlights East Fortune Airfield East Fortune North Berwick EH39 5LE East Lothian Scotland 01875 820102 Flying Flying Borders Gliding Club The Airfield Milfield Wooler NE71 6HD Scottish Borders Scotland 01668 216284 Flying Borders Gliding Club The Airfield Milfield Wooler NE71 6HD Scottish Borders Scotland 01668 216284 Ascent Aviation Riverpark Business Centre 32 Napier Street Linwood Paisley PA3 3AJ 01505 341 113 Ascent Aviation (Flight Simulator) Professional Qualified Pilots Take you to the heights Fly the A320 and B737 jet in a simulator A be a pilot for the day

  • Edinburgh Racket Sports | Tennis Courts | All About Edinburgh

    Edinburgh Racket Sports Guide with tennis squash badminton and table tennis all world sports aand Scotland has world champions in mfacilities in Edinburgh Tennis badmington table tennis Squash Clubs , courts for all ages outdoor and indoor EDINBURGH RACKET SPORTS GUIDE Tennis |Table Tennis Badminton |Squash Enjoy the fun of indoor and outdoor tennis or indoors Table Tennis, Squash or Badminton SPORTS Racket Sports Abercorn Tennis Club 12a Abercorn Terrace Edinburgh EH8 7HZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 661 1952 Racket Sports Academy Sports Centre 10 Arboretum Road Edinburgh EH3 5PL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 624 4900 Racket Sports Barnton Park Tennis Club 12 Barnton Park Edinburgh EH4 6JF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 312 7131 Racket Sports Corstorphine Lawn Tennis Club 70 Belgrave Road Edinburgh EH12 6NH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 551 0455 Racket Sports St Serfs Lawn Tennis Club Clark Road Edinburgh EH5 3AP City of Edinburgh Scotland 07971 501 118 Racket Sports Braid Lawn Tennis Club 58 Cluny Gardens Edinburgh EH10 6BR City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 447 0612 Racket Sports Craiglockhart Tennis Courts 177 Colinton Road Edinburgh EH14 1BZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 443 0101 Racket Sports Murrayfield Lawn Tennis Club 57 Corstorphine Road Edinburgh EH12 8QG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 339 8078 Racket Sports Meadows City Tennis Club East Meadows Edinburgh EH8 9NL City of Edinburgh Scotland 07766774529 Tennis Outdoor Selkirk 2G Hillside Terrace Selkirk TD7 4EW Scottish Borders Scotland 01896 66 11 66 Racket Sports Meadows City Tennis Club East Meadows Edinburgh EH8 9NL City of Edinburgh Scotland 07766774529 Racket Sports Drummond Tennis Club East Scotland Street Lane Edinburgh EH3 6ND City of Edinburgh Scotland 07455 182 372 Racket Sports David Lloyd Tennis Centre 89a Glasgow Road Edinburgh EH12 8GZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0345 129 6788 Racket Sports Edinburgh Academy 42 Henderson Row Edinburgh EH3 5BL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4603 Racket Sports Leith Links Tennis Courts John's Place Edinburgh EH6 7QR City of Edinburgh Scotland 07766774532 Racket Sports Thistle Lawn Tennis Club Katesmill Road Edinburgh EH14 1JF City of Edinburgh Scotland Racket Sports Blackhall Lawn Tennis Club 10 Keith Terrace Edinburgh EH4 3NJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 07765 370 650 Racket Sports Kirkliston Leisure Centre 1 Kirkland’s Park Street Edinburgh EH29 9EY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 333 4700 Racket Sports Dean Lawn Tennis Club 24 Lennox Street Edinburgh EH4 1QA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 315 2836 Racket Sports The Falcon Tennis Club 84 Newbattle Terrace Edinburgh EH10 4SE City of Edinburgh Scotland 07948 036 417 Racket Sports Mortonhall Tennis Club Pentland Terrace Edinburgh EH10 6ES City of Edinburgh Scotland 07894 343 711 Racket Sports Merchiston Tennis Club Polwarth Terrace Edinburgh EH11 1NA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 6447 Racket Sports Grange Dyvours Tennis Club 7 Portgower Place Edinburgh EH4 1HQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 334 2148 Racket Sports Craigmillar Park Tennis Club Sharpdale Loan Inch Park Edinburgh EH16 5 PB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 516 4790 Racket Sports Waverley Lawn Tennis / Squash Club 22 Suffock Road Edinburgh EH16 5NJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 667 9517 Racket Sports North Berwick Sports Centre Grange Road North Berwick EH39 4QS East Lothian Scotland 01620 893454 Sports Centres Crags Community Sports Centre 10 Bowmont Place Edinburgh EH8 9RY City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 667 3334 David Lloyd Sports Centre Newhaven Place Edinburgh EH6 4TW City of Edinburgh 0131 554 5000 www.davidlloyd.co.uk

  • Edinburgh New Town | Market Street | All About Edinburgh

    Edinburgh New Town Market Street and East Market Street in Edinburgh is like one continuous road from the Mound and New Street running almost parallel with the Royal Mile The main access to Waverley Rail Station. Market Street Edinburgh The Street is named because there was a vegetable market on the northside where the Waverley Station stands. The Market gave way to the development of the station and the present Waverley Bridge in 1896. Looking towards the North Bridge down Market Street. Market Street begins at the Mound and ends at Jeffrey Street. Craig's close Craig's close which takes you half way up Cockburn Street. This close was famous for the Cape Club a secret gentleman's club with members such as Robert Fergusson, David Hume, Robert Burns, Walter Scott, James Hutton and Henry Raeburn. The club is no longer there. The Scotsman Steps The Scotsman Steps which take you to the North Bridge beside the Scotsman Hotel. 100 mtrs from the Royal Mile. The Edinburgh Dungeon The Dungeon is a ghost train with a historic story of Edinburgh, murderers and grave robbers The underground attraction with interactive rides historical events from Scottish history Edinburgh Dungeon The City Art Gallery and Cafe Edinburgh City Art Centre aims to encourage historic and contemporary Scottish visual and applied arts and help give everyone a journey into the world of art. There is also a Mimi's Bakehouse café available for food and drink. City Art Gallery The Fruitmarket Gallery Scotland's leading contemporary art Gallery that will have everyone enjoying art. Fruit Market Gallery Fleshmarket Close Fleshmarket Close takes you to the upper part of High Street near the Tron Kirk. Stop on the way up in the smallest pub in Edinburgh or Jinglin' Geordie's named after a famous Jeweller to the King click on sign for more Waverley Station Market Street Edinburgh EH1 1BB The entrance to Waverley Station which includes lift can be found on the north side of Market Street close to the North Bridge. Easy drop off and taxi pickup, Physic Garden Waverley Station, Edinburgh EH1 1BB From 1675 to 1763 the Edinburgh Physic Garden was near what is now platform 11 of Waverley Station. At the time it was close to the shores of a small lake, the Nor’ Loch. The site is now marked with a blue plaque. The garden had originally been established at Holyrood in 1670 by Sir Robert Sibbald and Sir Andrew Balfour, founder members of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh. They were inspired to found it by similar gardens they had seen in France. It existed to provide medicinal plants and to teach botany to medical students. Two physicians, Robert Sibbald (1641-1722), seen below, and Andrew Balfour (1630-1694), altered the way in which medicine was practised in Edinburgh. They, with others, established the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, each was a founding Fellow and later became President. They had both travelled extensively in Europe during their studies of medicine. It is known that Sibbald met and stayed with the great Scottish gardener Morrison in Blois at the garden of the Duke of Orleans. East Market Street Edinburgh East Market Street Edinburgh East Market Street in Edinburgh was a connecting road to the Waverley Station with garages that were unused. Now it is a thriving area with cafes boutique shops and great views of Calton Hill. East Market Street starts just after the junction of Market Street and Jeffrey Street which is another way to the Royal Mile. East Market Street has a number of boutique style shops that are built under Jeffery Street. See below for a comprehensive list of the retail shops, Art Galleries, restaurants and accommodation. Also close to East Market Street the best entrance to Waverley Station as there is an elevator and escalators only one floor down to the Station concourse. The Taxi rank for the rail station starts just at the junction left under the bridge from the station exit. East Market Street East Market Street East Market Street in Edinburgh was a connecting road to the Waverley Station with garages that were unused. Now it is a thriving area with cafes boutique shops and great views of Calton Hill. Market Street the best entrance to Waverley Station and well positioned hotels. Edinburgh Council HQ Council headquarters. The sculpture of a man in a white shirt and black trousers standing on a multi-coloured scaffold tower created by Stephan Balkenhol German artist. The statue "man on the street". Next - Cockburn Street

  • Edinburgh University | Tours | All About Edinburgh

    University of Edinburgh from 1583 Edinburgh, university, medical, study, famous, students, Conan Doyle, Archibald Tait, William McEwan, General Reid, Concert Hall, Jex Blake, Elise Inglis, Walter, Old College, New Lidrary, Dick Vet, first Chinese Graduate and many other famous inventors and doctors. University of Edinburgh Kirk O’ Fields A description of the land and history of Kirk O’ Fields Prior to the building of the present college. In medieval Edinburgh the site of the University of Edinburgh where the Old College stands today belonged to the Abbey of Holyrood and at that time the 13th century collegiate Church of St Mary in the Fields stood on the same site. The area known at that time as Kirk o’ Fields. The church was damaged in 1544 by King Henry the VIII’s troops during the Burning of Edinburgh and became a ruin circa 1550. The University of Edinburgh was granted the site and opened in 1583. The Old College has not change since it was built in 1789. University of Edinburgh Old College Inscription; Academia Jacobi VI. Scotorum Regis Anno Post Christum Natum MDLXXXII Instituta; Sed Amplitudine Crescente Recens Extructa; Regnante Georgio III. Principe Munificentissimo; Urbis Praefecto Thoma Elder; Academiae Primario Gulielmo Robertson. Architecto Roberto Adam. MDCCLXXXIX." TRANSLATION The Academy of James VI. King of Scots was founded in the year after Christ, 1582; but was recently built with increasing scope; in the reign of George III. Most Generous Prince; Thomas Elder, Governor of the City; William Robertson, Principal of the Academy. Architect Robert Adam. 1789." University of Edinburgh Plaques There are a number of medallions on the walls of the Old College (known as the New College) in the quadrangle of the University of Edinburgh on South Bridge and also history story boards The medallions below give information on who the people of the medallions are. 1 Robert Rollock , born 1555 died 1599 first principal and first professor to teach at Edinburgh University 1583. He was previously the Regent of St Andrews University in 1580. 2 Robert Adam, Architect of the Edinburgh University New College 1789. 3 James Boswell, Advocate, traveller, journalist. In 1753-1758: Boswell attended the University of Edinburgh. Discovered by scholars in the 1920s, Boswell's long-lost journals was one of the major literary discoveries of the 20th century. In his detailed and honest journal entries from the early 1760's until shortly before his death, we get his unique first-hand observations of life and personalities in the second half of the 18th century. 4 James Miranda Barry lived as a man and is believed to be the first female graduate of the University of Edinburgh in 1812. She was also an army surgeon and Inspector General of hospitals in Canada. 5 William Henry Playfair Designed the quadrangle in the New University College 1815. 6 James Lorimer , Regius Professor of Public Law at Edinburgh University for 28 years. 7 William James He was invited to Edinburgh University to give a lecture at the Gifford Lectures 1901-1902 Gifford lectures appointment is one of the most prestigious honours in Scottish academia. 1 ROBERT ROLLOCK 4 MIRANDA BARRY 2 ROBERT ADAM 5 WILLIAM HENRY PLAYFAIR 3 JAMES BOSWELL 6 JAMES LORIMER 7 WILLIAM JAMES University of Edinburgh History The University of Edinburgh first opened in 1583 with one teacher and one class in an area called Kirk o’ Fields now known as the Old College in the South Bridge Edinburgh. Today the University of Edinburgh has five areas (campus). The University Central Area is primarily centred on George Square Edinburgh and Bristo Square Edinburgh. The King’s Buildings Campus was founded in 1920 and can be entered from West Mains Road Edinburgh and Mayfield Road Edinburgh, the Campus dedicated to Edinburgh University for the sciences. Western General Hospital is the University of Edinburgh’s centre for Molecular Medicine. Easter Bush Campus is for veterinary Studies, Little France Campus has two buildings, The Chancellor' Building is the Medical School and main undergraduate teaching and learning centre. The Queen's Medical Research Institute provides facilities for high quality interdisciplinary research. On top of the dome of the Old College stands a statue for over 100 years holding a torch called Golden Boy. Modelled by a local boxer Toni Hall and created by John Hutchison. in 1888, the 6 foot (2 m) statue was first unveiled to the residents of Edinburgh. University of Edinburgh Law School First Chair in Law Charles Areskine (Erskine) born Dumfries 1680 and went to the High School in Edinburgh before St Andrews University. He became regent of the University of Edinburgh at the age of 20 in November 1700 in 1707 became the first Chair in Law, the Regius Chair of Public Law and the Law of Nature and Nations. He also became Lord Tinwald, a Member of Parliament, served as Solicitor General and Lord Advocate and was Lord Justice Clerk until his death in 1763 at the age of 83. University of Edinburgh New College Plaque South Bridge Edinburgh The foundation stone was laid on the 16th November 1789. This plaque commemorates the 200th anniversary of the stone being laid. Talbot Rice Art Gallery Old College Quadrangle South Bridge Edinburgh The Talbot Rice Gallery was named after David Talbot Rice professor of Fine Art at Edinburgh University and an Art historian. In 1967 Talbot Rice became Vice Principal of the University of Edinburgh. He died in Edinburgh in March 1972. The Gallery can be found in the University of Edinburgh Old College on South Bridge. Entrance is in the far south west corner of the quadrangle. Talbot Rice King's Buildings University of Edinburgh The King's Buildings is a dedicated campus of Edinburgh University for the sciences. Science has been studied at Edinburgh University since the University was established in 1583. King George V, who endorsed the need for a dedicated science campus for the University laid the foundation stone for the first building in 1920 and the campus was named after him. The first building was for Chemistry and named after Joseph Black. Joseph Black FRSE FRCPE FPSG born 1728 and died at the age of 71. A physician and chemist, known for his discoveries of latent heat, specific heat, and carbon dioxide. The Zoology Building dates from 1928. David Brewster K.R. Statue University of Edinburgh King's Buildings David Brewster was born in Jedburgh a town in the Scottish Borders in 1781 and died in Edinburgh in 1868. David Brewster was one of the most important inventors of our time inventing the kaleidoscope, lenticular stereoscope, binocular camera, polyzonal lens, lighthouse illuminator, polarimeter. He also was instrumental in the development of fibre optics and lasers. His statue can be found in the King’s Buildings, one of the University of Edinburgh campus. University of Edinburgh The original site Blackfriars' Abbey Britain is becoming the Egypt of the North. A car park in England reveals a King and another in Edinburgh reveals a Knight. This is one of the first photographs of the Knight found in High School Yards Edinburgh. The Blackfriars' (Dominican) Friary once stood on the land. King Alexander 2nd brother of King David 1st son of King Malcolm 3rd built a church on the land and bestowed a royal residence to the monks in 1130. This is also near to where the murdered body of Mary Queen of Scot's husband, Lord Darnley, was found in 1567. The monastery and church were destroyed in 1558. What is now Infirmary Street, bottom left (Lady Yester’s Church). Where the Friary stood was the Royal High School and on the right side of the street was the Royal Infirmary and finally the University moved in and has two buildings, one where the church had been and the other where the friary had stood. Skeleton in the car park The skeleton was found in 2013 during renovations at the front of the University of Edinburgh building in Infirmary Street. This was the site of the Balckfriars Abbey then the famous Edinburgh High School where many famous names in history attended. The picture taken below was the first sight of the remains since buried, possibly over 500 years ago. This would have been the site of the Blackfriars Abbey burial ground McEwan Hall University of Edinburgh Graduation Hall William McEwan (16 July 1827 – 12 May 1913) was a Scottish politician and brewer. He founded the Fountain Brewery in 1856 which became Scottish and Newcastle Breweries Ltd. William McEwan presented The McEwan Hall to the University of Edinburgh in 1897. The building is based on an ancient Greek theatre. The McEwan Hall is the Graduating Hall of the University of Edinburgh and can be found in the Central Area South Campus in Bristo Square. William McEwan MP was a benefactor of the Medical School and Graduation Hall of Edinburgh University. Above the main entrance of the McEwan Hall can be seen a semi-circle with a scene with nine figures, showing a graduation. The figures are all dressed in academic robes and the central figure is of the rector on a raised platform placing a book on a graduate’s head signify the students graduation. Teviot Row University of Edinburgh Student Union In 1884 the Students’ Representative Council of Edinburgh University was formed. The Student Union Building was opened on the 19 October 1889. The Edinburgh University Students’ Association was founded in 1973 which is when all male and female students were automatically members of the union on joining Edinburgh University as a student. University of Edinburgh Edinburgh Medical School The Old Medical School Teviot Place Edinburgh has long been recognised as one of the leading and oldest Medical Schools in the world. The Medical School has links with 6 Nobel Prize winners. Edinburgh has had medical teaching from as far back as the early 1500s and The Royal College of Physicians was opened in 1681. Elsie Inglis Quadrangle University of Edinburgh Edinburgh Medical School Edinburgh University Medical School Elsie Inglis Quadrangle where all the plaques on this page can be found as well as the Anatomy Surgery and Museum. Sophie Jex-Blake Edinburgh 7 Sophie Jex-Blake, Isabel Thorne, Edith Pechey, Matilda Chaplin, and Helen Evans. Mary Anderson and Emily Bovell Sophia Jex Blake Sophia Louisa Jex-Blake born 21 January 1840 became a doctor and teacher. She was the leader of a campaign to secure women access to a University education. Known as the Edinburgh Seven when she and six other women banded together and protested outside the medical school. Which gave recognition to the women wanting to study medicine and the University of Edinburgh granted them the rights to study for a degree in medicine in 1869. She was the first practising female doctor in Scotland (1878). Living in 4 Manor Place Edinburgh she erected a brass plate inscribed with Doctor Sophia Jex Blake. The little outpatient clinic in Grove Street became the Edinburgh Hospital and Dispensary for Women. This was Scotland’s first hospital for women staffed entirely by women. Sophia Jex-Blake opened Edinburgh Provident Dispensary for Women and Children at 73 Grove Street in 1878. This was the fore runner of Bruntsfield Hospital. Bruntsfield Hospital was previously Sophia Jex Blake’s home and she sold it to the Hospital committee in 1899. The renovated it and made it into the first general hospital for women. The Hospital finally closed in 1989 Elsie Inglis Graduated from Edinburgh University in 1899 after Sophia Jex-Blake who she had an ongoing rivalry with, as Sophia Jex Blake had been the leader of the Edinburgh 7 group who fought for the right of entry for women to the Edinburgh medical School. Louisa Stevenson campaigned specifically for women to be allowed medical training and to qualify as doctors. She joined with Sophia Jex Blake to found the women’s medical college. Louisa later became a member of the executive committee of the National Union of Women’s suffrage society. University of Edinburgh Edinburgh Medical School Graduates of Note Richard Bright, Thomas Addison, Thomas Hodgkin each individual gave the first complete and accurate description of the medical condition which were named after them; Bright’s Disease (Acute post-streptococcal hemorrhagic glomerulonephritis described in 1836), Addison’s Disease (Adrenocortical insufficiency described in 1849), Addisonian Anaemia (Pernicious Anaemia Vitamin B12 deficiency described in 1849), Hodgkin’s Disease ( Lymphadenoma Hodgkin Lymphoma described in 1836). Edinburgh Medical School James Lind MD F.R.C.PE / F.R.S.E "The Hippocrates of Naval Medicine" James Lind born in Edinburgh in 1716 became a surgeon's mate and carried out experiments on sailors with scurvy and proved that citrus was a cure, however, the navy did not implement his findings for a further 40 years and when they did scurvy was eradicated from the navy. He retired from the Navy in 1748 at the age of 32 and enrolled in the University of Edinburgh for medical qualifications. Plaque inscription on plaque reads: The province has been mine to deliver precepts | the power is in others to execute | 1716 | 1794 | James Lind | MD. (Edin) r.c.p.e. f.r.s.e. |”the Hippocrates of naval medicine” | author of | a treatise of the scurvy | an essay on preserving the | health of seamen| an essay on diseases incidental | to Europeans in hot climates | these works led to the conquest | of scurvy the development of | modern naval hygiene and the / growth of tropical medicine / this plaque is presented in honour of | the first experimental nutritionist. |a great physician and scientist | by | the sunkist growers of citrus fruit | in California and Arizona | 22nd May 1953 University of Edinburgh Edinburgh Medical School North America During the 50 years between 1749 and 1799, 117 Americans received medical degrees from the University of Edinburgh Medical School. Included in the degree recipients were; John Morgan who founded the first North American Medical School. The Medical School of the college of Philadelphia. The first faculty were John Morgan, William Shippen, Casper Wistar, Adam Kuhn and Benjamin Rush Benjamin Rush and Dr John Witherspoon also degree recipients were both signatories of the declaration of Independence. University of Edinburgh McGill University This tablet has been erected by McGill University to commemorate the 250th anniversary of The University of Edinburgh faculty as a symbol of the historic bond between them and in memory of the four founders of the faculty of medicine of McGill University, William Caldwell, Andrew R Holmes, William Robertson, John Stephenson all whom received their training at the University of Edinburgh. James McGill was born in Glasgow Scotland on October 6, 1744 and founded the McGill University in 1821. University of Edinburgh Professor John Hughes Bennett Professor John Hughes Bennett MD Edin. Hon LLD Edin. FRCP Edin. FRSE 1812 – 1875. Professor of the institutes of medicine, University of Edinburgh. An outstanding physician, physiologist, pathologist and great teacher who in 1845 was the first to identify the disease leukaemia. Charles Darwin University of Edinburgh Charles Darwin lived at 11 Lothian Street while attending the University of Edinburgh, Medical School in 1825 for a 2 year period. He was unable to pass the exams and returned home. He was born 1809 in Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England and died 1882 in Downe, Kent. His uncle, also Charles Darwin, died in Edinburgh at the age of 19 while attending the University in 1778. He achieved, and was given many accolades for his expertise in medical science. University of Edinburgh Famous Graduates Sir Robert Sibbald, Sir James Young Simpson, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Lord Henry Lister all graduated from the University of Edinburgh. Sir Robert Sibbald Professor of Medicine 1685 -1722 was founder of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh. Sir James Young Simpson was a pioneer of anaesthetics, Professor of Midwifery 1810 -1870. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was a medical graduate of the university author and creator of Sherlock Holmes, Lord Henry Lister was a founder of antiseptic and aseptic surgery regius professor of clinical surgery 1869 – 1877. All the plaques can be found in The Elsie Inglis Quadrangle of the Medical School in Teviot Place Edinburgh. University of Edinburgh Polish School of Medicine The Polish School of Medicine was founded on 24 February 1941 In an agreement between the University of Edinburgh and the Polish Government-in-Exile in London. At this time it was the only Polish higher educational institution in the world. here were more than 300 Polish students attended the school, 227 achieved a medical diploma and a further 19 graduated with an MD. The Inscription on the plaque reads; In the dark days of 1941 when Polish universities were destroyed and Polish professors died in concentration camps, the University of Edinburgh established the Polish School of Medicine. This memorial was set up by the students, lecturers and professors of the Polish School of Medicine in gratitude to the University of Edinburgh for the part it played in the preservation of Polish science and learning. JAKO WYRAZ WDZIECZNOŚCI UNIWERSYTETU EDINBURSKEIGO ZA UTWORZENIE POLSKIEJ PLACÓWKI NAUKOWEJ W EDYNBURGU PŁYTĘ TĘ OFIAROWALI STUDENCI WYKŁADOWCY I PROFESOROWIE POLSKIEGO WYDZIAŁU LEKARSKIEGO 1941 – 1949. Anatomical Museum 1884 Old Medical School The Museum of Anatomy in the Medical School in Teviot place is full of wonderful things and you can even see the murderer William Burke’s skeleton free of charge when open to the public. Museum of Anatomy Reid Concert Hall University of Edinburgh The Reid Concert Hall named after General John Reid was born John Robertson and was educated at the University of Edinburgh. He change his name to his mother’s maiden name of Reid. On his death he left a sum of money to the University for a Chair of Music to be established and other purposes. The Chair of music was established in 1839. The Reid Concert Hall was founded in February of 1858 and is part of the Reid School of Music. The Concert Hall is named after General John Reid in his honour. Edinburgh Southside George Square and Gardens Buccleuch Place University of Edinburgh Bush Estate Veterinary College The Bush Estate Professor O. Charnock Bradley Building and Kelpie sculpted by John Scott The inscription on the plaque reads; “CANTER” by Andy Scott | unveiled by | HRH, The Princess Royal | Chancellor of the University of Edinburgh and | Patron of the Royal (Dick) Vet School of Veterinary Studies | on 1st May 2018 | “Canter” by Andy Scott William Dick Founder Edinburgh Veterinary College William Dick was born in 1793 in White Horse Close in the Canongate. William Dick was educated at Mr Kesson’s school in Shakespeare Square which was located at the east end of Edinburgh at the foot of the North Bridge. The square was demolished in 1860. The first veterinary College was in Clyde Street on the site of where the present bus station is now. The College moved to the site of Summerhall, William Dick the Veterinary Science department is now at the Bush Estate. In 1906, the College was named the Royal (Dick) Veterinary College and became part of the University of Edinburgh in 1951. Royal Dick Veterinary College The Royal Dick Veterinary College known locally as the Dick Vet can be found in the internal square of what is now home to Edinburgh’s newest and biggest arts and science venue. Summerhall is open to the public all year around and there are theatre and gallery spaces, libraries and small museums, studios and workshops. There is also a Café and Bar. The Royal Dick veterinary College is part of the University of Edinburgh and is on the Bush campus. The original site was where one of the first of the many breweries in Edinburgh was opened. You can find out the history of the site and building on your visit. You can also see a working micro-Brewery and taste the beer if over 18 years old. University of Edinburgh Pollock Halls . The area that Pollock Halls Stands on had a house on the land known as Arthursley, this could have been renamed prior to the Dicks of Prestonfield purchased the house and land. The house purchased around 1770 was known as Salisbury Green . Later the Nelson (Neilson) family who owned the printers that stood nearby purchased the property in 1860 and built a further 2 property in 1869 called St Leonard’s Hall and Abden Hall. The properties were then purchased by Sir J D Pollock the rector of the University of Edinburgh in 1939 and later he gifted them to the university to be used as student accommodation. Salisbury Green is used as a Hotel and conference facility and St Leonard’s Hall is a wedding venue and function suite while Abden House was left for accommodation for the faculty it is now the Confucius Chinese Institute. University of Edinburgh Logo The medallion on the Mercat Cross in Parliament Square Royal Mile Edinburgh. University of Edinburgh New College The new college, Assembly Hall was built in 1846 as a Theological College, and a home for the Church of Scotland in 1929. The General Assembly is held here annually in May. This is also where in 1989 the majority of the Scottish members of parliament signed a document to claim the right for Scotland to have an independent parliament. The Assembly hall was used as a debating hall of the Scottish Parliament for 5 years between 1999 -2004. The Assembly Hall has also been used by the Edinburgh International Festival for many years. The Spire behind the Assembly Hall is The Hub on the Castlehill. In the main courtyard of the New College stands a statue of John Knox the leader of the protestant reformation and founder of the Presbyterian Church. Born in 1514 and died in 1572 his grave is in the car park of St Giles Cathedral. James Stuart Blackie Look up above the shops on North Bank Street to see the window with the memorial to James Blackie 1809 -1895 a University of Edinburgh Professor in Greek and German. He left 250, 19th century Greek books to the University Library which are still being used by students today. He was born in Aberdeen and studied in Germany and Italy. He was the inspiration behind the founding of the Celtic chair of the University of Edinburgh. The entrance to his house can be seen in Makars’ Court (Blackie House). Nobel Prize Winner Peter Ware Higgs University of Edinburgh Peter Ware Higgs and François Englert jointly won the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2013 for their discovery of the “theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles”. In 2012 Peter Ware Higgs and François Englert carried out two experiments at the CERN laboratory Switzerland which confirmed the existence of the Higgs particle. About Peter Ware Higgs Professor Higgs PhD was born in Newcastle upon Tyne in May 1929 he graduated from King’s College London and continued his studies and graduated with a masters in Physics in 1952 two years later in 1954 he gained a PhD Peter Higgs was an affiliate of University of Edinburgh, at the time of his discovery. He has lived in Edinburgh since moving and is married with two sons. Peter Higgs has received many honours including a Knighthood which he rejected for personal reasons. The University of Edinburgh has named a chair after him and also a centre (The Higgs Centre for Theoretical Physics). He is now a retired professor and grandfather living in Edinburgh. Nobel Prize Award The Nobel Prize award ceremony is held in Stockholm, Sweden annually where the award winners are presented with a diploma and a medal by His Royal Majesty the King of Sweden speeches and speeches honouring the Nobel Laureates and their discovery or work, this ceremony has been taking place since 1934. University of Edinburgh Bristo Square Central Campus Edinburgh University or to be correct University of Edinburgh is a large part of Edinburgh today and has been around for over 425 years. Below is the Central Campus meeting area Bristo Square where the graduation Hall sits centre stage. The Edinburgh University Student Union Building is close by, as is the Reid Concert Hall and many other places of learning. All students will with dedication take their place in the McEwan Hall of Graduation where their careers will start. University of Edinburgh Bristo Square The McEwan Lantern Pillar The Pillar was unveiled in 1897 at the time the McEwan Hall was opened. The Hall and Lantern were erected by donation from William McEwan. The Light is to signify the ever pursuit of Knowledge. Blue Plaque Women of Achievement Mary Crudelius Edinburgh Ladies’ Educational Association Mary Crudelius was a campaigner for women’s education and a supporter of women’s suffrage movement. She was born in 1839 to Scottish parents and was educated in Edinburgh She with another set up the Edinburgh Ladies’ Educational Association to help give equal educational opportunities for women. She died before her goal was achieved, for access to universities for women undergraduates which was achieved in 1892. Edith Mary Burnet was born in in 1888 and became Britain’s first qualified woman architect Mary Crudelius was her grandmother. Archbishop of Canterbury Archibald Campbell Tait Archibald Campbell Tait Archbishop of Canterbury from 1868 – 1882 was born in Edinburgh and this memorial is on the site of the house where he was born in December 1811. A student at Oxford University he later became a tutor at Balliol College in 1835. In 1842 he became headmaster of Rugby School. He became the Archbishop in 1868. The memorial can be found at the south end of the McEwan Hall. The inscription on the monument reads; To commemorate in his native country the piety the virtues and the wisdom of Archibald Campbell Tait Archbishop of Canterbury 1868 - 1882 Friends and admirers in Scotland have erected this monument on the site of the house which he was born. Next - Buccleuch Place Edinburgh

bottom of page