All About Edinburgh
Search Results
Search this site
403 results found with an empty search
- Whisky Shops Edinburgh | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh has many shops that sell a brands of whisky. The selection of blended and malt whiskies and place you can try before you buy, specialty shops that only sell whisky and many supermarkets with cut price malts and blended all the best names and some small distilleries. Whisky Shops Edinburgh Looking for a Scottish Malt Whisky without going to a distillery? There are many shops in Edinburgh where you can taste the product before you buy. Whisky connoisseurs will get a experts view of the whiskies on sale without paying a high premium for a special whisky. Special reserves and whisky from the cask all available in the whisky shops of Edinburgh. There are also pubs that have a varied and wide selection of whisky if you want to make a night of it. Always remember over 18 yrs only and drink responsibly Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Cadenhead’s Whisky Shop Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5864 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Tartan Weaving Mill Castle Hill Royal Mile Edinburgh EHI 2NE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 2477 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Whiskey World Cockburn Street Edinburgh EH1 1PB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 2134 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Royal Mile Whiskies High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1PW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3383 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Black Stag Whisky Ltd Howe Street Edinburgh EH3 6TG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 278 3588 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Jeffrey Street Whisky and Tobacco Jeffrey Street Edinburgh EH1 1DT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9930 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops The Whiski Rooms North Bank Street Edinburgh EH1 2LP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 1532 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops The Scotch Malt Whisky Society Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 1JX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 220 2044 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Robert Graham Whisky & Cigars Rose Street Edinburgh EH2 4AZ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 1874 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops The Whisky Shop Victoria Street Edinburgh EH1 2JW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 4666 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Whisky Shop Waverley Mall Waverley Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5688 Edinburgh Retail Stores Whisky Shops Glenkinchie Distillery Pencaitland East Lothian EH34 5ET City of Edinburgh Scotland 01875 342 012 Shops in Edinburgh Castle Edinburgh
- Visit Scotland | Scottish Border Towns | All About Edinburgh
The Scottish Border towns are a hidden gem with Castles famous people, historic Homes, Abbeys, Home of Mary Queen of Scots (Jedburgh) and Sir Walter Scott (Abbotsford) Mongo Park (Selkirk) Rugby Legend Bill McLaren (Hawick). Scottish Border Towns Scottish Borders Attractions and Towns History, Attractions, Famous People & Stories. The Scottish Border region has the famous river Tweed that carves its way from west to East with all the water from the hills flowing into it as it makes its way to the North Sea at Berwick- Upon-Tweed. The last circa 180 miles of the Tweed is marks the Border between Scotland and England. One of the most scenic spots is the bridge that crosses over the Tweed at Coldstream at the Scottish side a house stands where English couples would runaway to be married (This was before Gretna Green was used). The Marriage house still stands in the middle of nowhere as it is between the Welcome to Scotland sign and you are leaving England sign. The main Border towns are situated in the central area of the Scottish Borders. A road that runs from just outside Edinburgh in the east starting from the A720 which will take you 50 minutes to the main area or by train on the Borders Railway from Waverley Station to Tweedbank which is close to Abbotsford House, where Sir Walter Scott once lived. The main towns in the Borders are Melrose Galashiels, Selkirk, Hawick, Jedburgh, Kelso, Newtown St. Boswells, St Boswells, Peebles, Coldstream and Tweedbank . While visiting the Borders carry on to Moffat which is in Dumfries and Galloway where you can buy the famous Moffat Toffee. Just on the Border of Scotland and England. Also the highest village in Scotland is Wanlockhead where the gold of the Honours of Scotland came from. Innerleithen Ancrum Duns Gordon Lauder Coldstream I have selected attractions from many of the scottish border towns. However for a full guide of all the attractions in all the Scottish Borders towns I have provided a link here Scottish Border Attractions Melrose / Dryburgh Leaderfoot Jedburgh Hawick Kelso Selkirk Galashiels Other Scottish Borders Towns are Coldingham - Eyemouth - St Abbs - Peebles Newtown St Boswells - Carlops - Cockburnspath - Traquair - Cringletie - Galashiels Berwick upon Tweed Biggar Bowden Cockburnspath Crawfordjohn Earlston Kirk Yetholm Langholm Newcastleton Newtown St Boswells Peebles St Abbs Head St Boswells Teviothead Tweed Valley Walkerburn Yarrow Water and Ettrick Water Ancrum Scottish Borders Attractions Harestanes Countryside Park and Visitor Centre Finding Harestanes, from the A68, at the turning almost opposite the road to Ancrum, take the B6400 (signposted to Nisbet) and take the right turn after about 700m and follow the signs. There is a free carpark. Harestanes is a place for all the family with a adventure play park for children of all ages and great walks and scenery. Harestanes is on St Cuthbert’s Way, the ultimate walkway from the borders into England 100 Klm (63 miles) of shear bliss. Before starting your walk plan ahead make sure you are well equipped for a long walk. Waterloo Monument Peniel Heugh where the Waterloo Monument 150-foot Doric tower, built over 10 years and completed in 1827 by The 6th Marquis of Lothian, on behalf of his tenants. The monument commemorate the Duke of Wellington’s victory over Napoleon Bonaparte at the Battle of Waterloo 1815. Access to the Waterloo Monument at Lothian Estates Office Bonjedward, Jedburgh Scottish Borders TD8 6UF Tel: 01835 862201 Email: evie@lothianestates.co.uk To hire the keys to Peniel Heugh/Waterloo Monument visit our office on a weekday to collect them for £5. We are open 8:45am - 5pm Monday to Friday. Duns Scottish Borders Attractions Duns in the Scottish Borders history goes back to the start of the 13th century (1210). here is a castle a museum dedicated to Jim Clark motor racing champion and a cairn to John Duns Scotus, the most important philosopher-theologians of his time. Lauder Scottish Borders Attractions Lauder is a small town on the road between Edinburgh and the heart of the Scottish Borders. On the same route Thirlestane Castle, the Maitland Family home of Dukes and Earls for over 500 years. A true 16th century castle with its own family ghost haunting chambers. Tour the castle and see this magnificent home of the 18th Earl of Lauderdale. Coldstream Scottish Borders Attractions Coldstream is a town that sits on the river Tweed on the border between Scotland and England. Due to Coldstreams location it was the original place where young couples would cross the border to be married. Coldstream has many attractions museums and galleries and located on the English side is the Flodden Battle site, where the Scottish forces were defeated by the English in 1513 where the last King was killed in battle. The only bridge at the time was the Twizel Bridge that spanned the Tweed which marked the boundary of the the two countries. Gordon Scottish Borders Attractions Gordon is the location of Mellerstain House and Gardens is one for the architectural buffs, as it is said to be the finest work of Robert Adam son of William Adam Scotland's number one architect of his time. His son Robert Scottish neoclassical architect, interior designer and furniture designer followed in his fathers footsteps to be a renowned architect. Greenknowe Tower classed as an ancient monument was home of James Seton one of the most powerful families in Scotland. Innerleithen Scottish Borders Attractions Innerleithen was the Scottish Borders Spa town with a mineral spring of St Ronan's Well. Close to Innerleithen is Traquair House said to be the oldest inhabited house in Scotland. Robert Smail’s printing works in working condition from circa 1900 it is an Industrial Heritage museum. Dumfries Attractions
- Scotland | Day Tours | All About Edinburgh
Looking for a day out and visit all the attractions in East Lothian, Dumfries, Rosslyn Chapel, Stirling, The Kelpies, Bannockburn, Falkirk Wheel, St Andrews, Outlander Village, Edinburgh. Tour Rosebank Single Malt Distillery and taste whisky you'll never forget. Day Tours Scotland Central Scotland Tour Edinburgh to Stirling Tour Central Scotland and see the sites on the way to Stirling once the capital of Scotland Starting at the West End of Edinburgh you will visit South Queensferry where a ferry took people across the the water to Fife for over 300 years and a view of the 3 bridges. On to Blackness Castle where Outlander, Robert the Bruce and Mary Queen of Scots films were made, Linlithgow Palace (site of Outlander and Robert the Bruce). and St Michael’s Church , then Callendar House and Park a link to the history The History Jar The Falkirk Wheel is a barge lift that replaces 18 Lochs taking barges from one level to another, Rosebank Distillery Opened by James Rankine from 1840's Lowland Malt Whisky Distillers The Kelpies two horses heads sculpted from steel, which signify the joining of the two main Scottish canals. Bannockburn visitors Centre and Battle Site, where Scotland first gain independence from England, Stirling Castle stands on a rock as Edinburgh Castle on an extinct volcano, it was also the home of Mary Queen of Scots and where she was crowned. The Wallace Monument , National Monument of Scotland. Cambuskenneth Abbey James III Tomb and Home. On the tour entrance to sites are not included. Shorter trips can be designed for each group. North Berwick Day Out North Berwick and Villages Tour East Lothian North Berwick is a holiday destination with harbour, boat trips, churches, ruins, golf courses, shops, restaurants, bars, ruins, two beaches and castles a great day out or a longer holiday. Only 45 minutes from Edinburgh with many things to see on the way. From Edinburgh to North Berwick and return. Spend 5 hours sightseeing shopping or sunbathing on one of the two golden sand beaches. Climb Berwick Law (Hill) 600 foot high. Enquiry / Contact Rosslyn Chapel 1/2 Day Tour This tour will take you to Rosslyn Chapel wait and return the cost of entering the Chapel is not included the chapel tour is conducted by the attraction and last up to 2 hours. You can also visit the Castle which is a short walk. The walk is not suitable to people with walking difficulties. On the Journey to and from the chapel we will point out places that are not usually seen by tourists. photo stops will be included. This tour is priced on time and not number of passengers (up to 6 passengers) The trip will take be up to 5 hours. Travel time 30 minutes each way. 3 hours at Roslin. Enquiry / Contact Burns Dumfries Tour Dumfries has a fascinating history. It is the largest town in the region. Dumfries was founded as a Royal Burgh in 1186 and was on the border of England Galloway was actually in England until 1234. In 1306 Robert the Bruce killed John III Comyn, Lord of Badenoch Guardian of Scotland in Greyfriars Church Dumfries before become King of Scotland. Greyfriars Dumfries was rebuilt in circa 1870 across from where the original church was. There is a great deal of thing to see in Dumfries connected with Robert Burns, a statue, his mausoleum in St Michael's Churchyard, his house at 24 Burns Street and Robert Burns Centre. There are 2 further museums, Dumfries Museum with Camera Obscura and Old Bridge House Museum. We will also visit Robert Burns first family home Ellisland Farm where he stayed with his wife Jean. Travel time to Dumfries 2 hrs 15 mins, (82 miles - 133 Klms) each way. Stops - Biggar and Moffat. Enquiry / Contact
- Tyninghame Village | All About Edinburgh
Tyninghame Village named after monks circa 700AD (village of the dwellers by the Tyne) With a main House village hall River Estuary(Tyne) golden sand beaches situated between North Berwick and Dunbar. Tyninghame Attractions East Lothian Tyninghame Smithy East Lothian St Baldred, first came to the area circa 700 AD and opened a monastery and religious community. The Monastery was attacked by Danes in 941 and was left in ruins. Circ 1150 a church was built close to the estuary of the River Tyne and soon there was a village which was named Tyninghame or "village of the dwellers by the Tyne". Tyninghame House East Lothian Tyninghame was given in a charter to the monks of St Cuthberts in 1094. The Lands around Tyninghame became the property of the Earls of Haddington in 1628 and later circa 1700 the 6th Earl and his with landscaped the area by planting trees. A year later the village was demolished by the Earl and moved as he felt it spoilt the view from his house. The 9th Earl modernised the house having turrets and spires added circa 1830. Tyninghame Village Hall East Lothian he Tyninghame village hall is at the centre of this small idyllic village in East Lothian. The VIllage was was moved in from its original position by the Laird of the big house as it was spoiling his view. The village hall was built circa 1840 originally the old bakers house. Tyne River Estuary East Lothian It rises in the Moorfoot Hills in Midlothian near Tynehead and runs approximately 30 miles to its estuary with the firth of forth near Tyninghame, where the village originally got its name. The remains of the old church which was built at the mouth of the Tyne is now just a ruin. Tyninghame Beach East Lothian This must be one of Scotland's top beaches with golden sand and a fantastic view of the Bass Rock. Tyninghame Beach sits between St Baldred's Cradle and Limetree each on the east coast Take a turn towards the sea at Newmains cOttages on the A198 follow the road to Scougall campsite. St Baldred's Cradle East Lothian St Baldred's Cradle at Ravensheugh Sands is the rocky (outcrop) headland where an ancient cairn (stone mound) can be seen. this is a great view point for the east coast. This is a great geological place to see down the centuries in the rock formation. Kirklandhill Standing Stone East Lothian Kirklandhill standing stone is one of two standing stones next to each other on the A1 both are in the region of 11 foot where most standing stones are about 9 foot in height. Kirkland Standing Stone is (11 foot) 3.35m high. Next - Dunbar
- Broughton Area | Edinburgh New Town | All About Edinburgh
Broughton Area Edinburgh New Town is the north eastern extention of the new town. Once a small Barony on the outskirts of Edinburgh now in the Heart of Edinburgh east end shopping and night life. Broughton Area New Town East A further extension of the new town. Top of Leith, Picardy Place, Baxter Place, Greenside, Broughton Street, Forth Street, East London Street, Mansfield Place, Broughton Road Scotland Street, East Claremont Street Historic Sites, Stories And Attractions Broughton Area You will find the sites of statues, monuments, Buildings, Plaques and Sculptures. St Mary’s Cathedral St Mary’s Edinburgh is the cathedral church of the archdiocese of St Andrew and Edinburgh and the first masses were held in August 1814. The Cathedral is the setting for the solemn mass for the opening of the Edinburgh Festival. In 1982 Pope John Paul II visited the Cathedral and prayed at the shrine of Saint Andrew which can be seen within the church building. Professor Sir Eduardo Luigi Paolozzi Sculptors Broughton Area New Town East Edinburgh The Foot, The Hand and the Ankle is a sculpture in three-pieces that stand outside St Mary's Roman Catholic Cathedral at the top of Leith Walk. Professor Sir Eduardo Luigi Paolozzi sculptor, was born at 6 Crown Place in 1924. His family came from the Monte Cassino area of Italy. He was knighted in 1989 and sadly died in April 2005 at 81 years. Ken Buchanan MBE Broughton Area New Town East Edinburgh Ken Buchanan has ben honoured by Edinburgh with a statue which stands next to St Mary's Cathedral at the foot of Leith Street Edinburgh. Ken Buchanan was born 28 June 1945 and he became the undisputed Lightweight Champion of the World in 1971. Just how good he was, Ken Buchanan the American Boxing Writers' Association fighter of the year in 1970. 1969 and 1971 winner was Joe Frazier. The plaque at the feet of Ken Buchanan reads: Ken Buchanan of Edinburgh is regarded as one of Britain's greatest ever boxers. A genuine international star who topped the bill ahead of Mohammad Ali at Madison Square Garden, He defeated Ismael Laguna in Puerto Rico on 26th September 1970 to become world lightweight boxing champion. On 12 February 1971 he also defeated Ruben Navarro in Los Angeles to become undisputed lightweight champion of the World. An immensely talented and skilled craftsman who fought the very best of his generation and gave pleasure to millions as Scotland's first truly global fighter, Ken was elected to the international boxing hall of fame in the year 2000 in recognition of his outstanding achievements. This statue was commissioned by the Ken Buchanan MBE foundation and was unveiled by the former Lord Provosts of the city of Edinburgh Frank Ross and Donald Wilson on 14th August 2022. The trustees of the foundation would like to thank all the many people of Edinburgh beyond whose generosity made this statue possible. Picardy Place New Town East Picardy Place Broughton Area New Town East Edinburgh Sir Arthur Conan Doyle The Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Centre can be found at 25 Palmerston Place where The Edinburgh Association of Spiritualists is based and where you can see mediums at work. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was a strong believer in the afterlife. Arthur Conan Doyle’s also lived at 23 George Square Edinburgh (1876 - 1880). Sir Walter Scott was brought up 2 doors down where his parents had the family home. Sherlock Holmes Sir Arthur Ignatius Conan Doyle was born on 22 May 1859, 11 Picardy Place Edinburgh. The statue stands where his house used to stand Conan Doyle was a novelist, short story writer, poet and doctor of medicine. He is most famous for the stories about the detective Sherlock Holmes. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was deeply involved in Spiritualism and the Occult. He declared early on in his life that he believed in life after death and the communication with those who passed away. He died in 1930. His last words were addressed to his wife. He whispered "You are wonderful." Greenside Place Broughton Area New Town East Two Giraffe Sculptures The Giraffes are made of scrap metal from motorbikes and cars and stand proudly outside the Omni Centre. The giraffe’s official title is “Dreaming Spires” but they have been nicknamed Martha and Gilbert. Greenside Place New Town East Baxter's Place Broughton Area New Town East Edinburgh Robert Stevenson Stevenson House Baxter's Place New Town East Robert Stevenson was a famous engineer and grandfather to Robert Louis Stevenson the famous writer. He lived at 1 Baxter's Place where the Marriott Group have renovated the houses and made them into a magnificent 4 Star Hotel where a bust of Robert Stevenson now stands. Robert Stevenson built many of the lighthouses that stand around the shores of Britain. He also built bridges of which his last was the Regent bridge that joined the east to Princes Street over what was Leith Wynd the only road to the New Town from the east. Forth Street New Town East Forth Street Broughton Area New Town East Edinburgh Hart Street Studios Edinburgh This is where the Flower of Scotland Writers the Corries had their music studio. Albany Street North New Town Edinburgh Deaf and Dumb Church Edinburgh Albany Street New Town East Broughton Street New Town East Edinburgh Barony Bar Broughton Street New Town East The Barony stands on land which was once part of the ancient “Barony of Broughton in the parish of St Cuthbert's in the Shire of Edinburgh”, an area notorious in the days gone by as a haunt for witches and followers of the “Black Arts”. Indeed Broughton Street itself is built where formally there once stood thatched cottages, one reputedly to have been called the “Witches Howf” and dungeons which at one time held worshippers of the “Black Arts” while they awaited execution. The building which currently houses the Barony was part of a five story corner basement bit built in 1830 by Walter Burns, an upholsterer and David Chalmers, a Baker, who both traded from the premises. The building has seen many tradesmen including J Stewart, surgeon; John Murdock, grocer; James Walker, guilder; W & G Williams, marble cutters; and John Moffat, stationer to name a few. In 1919, John McLaughlin Wine and spirit merchant bought the licensed house premises and cellars at 83 / 85 Broughton Street from Jordan Sinclair for £1100, having already acquired the other half in 1896. It was then purchased in 1944 by Thomas Urquhart Forsyth who I year later purchased number 81. The combined properties were then sold to William Younger & Co in 1955 with title transferring to Scottish brewers in 1959. In 1966 the secretary of state for Scotland listed the property as a “building of special architectural and historic interest”. T &J Bernard London Street North New Town Edinburgh The Icelandic National Anthem The Icelandic National Anthem was composed and written in 1874 at 15 London Street Edinburgh by Sveinbjorn Sveinbjornsson the composer and Mattias Jochumsson the Poet. London Street New Town East Anne Redpath (Artist) Edinburgh Anne Redpath lived in London Street in the north east of the New Town from 1952 -1965 East London Street East London Street New Town East Edinburgh Gayfield House A local builder built Gayfield House circa 1763 and sold it to Lord Thomas Erskine in 1765, who died a year later when the property became the residence of David the 6th Earl of Leven In 1873 the house became a veterinary school which moved to become the Veterinary School a part of the University of Liverpool. Gayfield House was sold to William Cockburn merchant in 1904. It has been a laundry a garage for car repairs and in 1990 in became derelict. A builder saved it from demolition and restored the house to its former glory. (18 East London Street Edinburgh) Manssfield Place Mansfield Place New Town East Edinburgh Mansfield Traquair Centre Known as “Edinburgh’s Sistine Chapel”. due to its grand neo-Romanesque architecture and murals. The Traquair centre was a Catholic Apostolic Church built in 1893. The centre is named after the area and the Irish Arts and Crafts artist Phoebe Anna Traquair. You can see more of her work in Colinton Village. The centre is also a very busy wedding venue. East Claremont Street East Claremont Street New Town East Edinburgh Thomas David Anderson Thomas David Anderson discovered Nova Aurigae and then found Nova Persei circa 1,500 light-years from Earth both from his home in East London Street. A Nova is any of a class of exploding stars whose luminosity temporarily increases from several thousand to as much as 100,000 times its normal level. Thomas D Anderson was presented by the Royal Society of Edinburgh with the prestigious Gunning Victoria Jubilee Prize for his discovery. Thomas Anderson went on to make further discoveries, circa 50 variable stars, which did not include Nova Aquilae in 1918 and comet 17P/Holmes in 1892. Scotland Street Scotland Street New Town East Edinburgh In Scotland Street is a closed archway which trains used to come out of. The rail line ran from Waverley to Granton harbour and the tunnel was known as the Scotland Street Tunnel. It opened in May of 1847 and closed in 1868 due to modernisation and other routes. The Entrance can still be seen at Scotland Street Park below Scotland Street. Broughton Street Broughton Road New Town East Edinburgh Powderhall Stables Broughton Edinburgh was once where Powderhall Refuse Depot stables and offices were. The Victorian building was built in 1893 when household rubbish was collected by horse-drawn carts. A lot of which was ash from the coal fires. This could be the origin of the name Powderhall, as all the ash was deposited behind the building. The Stables were also used when visiting cavalry were at the Edinburgh International Festival. Broughton is part of the New Town North but has borders with Leith Walk and Pilrig Street which once was outside Edinburgh (1920). Canonmills Area Attractions
- Canongate North | Royal Mile | All About Edinburgh
The Canongate was once seperate from Edinburgh. See all the attractions and history on the the northside of the Canongate. Where the Queen goes to church(Canongate Kirk) and where Golfersland stood. A Fudge Factory and Old White Horse Close. Canongate North Edinburgh Attractions Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh is named after the canons of Holyrood Abbey and the Scots word gait meaning “road”. The Canongate was a small district outside the Edinburgh City Walls. The lands and village of Herbegare, where the Abbey of Holyrood was built was given to the monks by King David I in 1128 and a road that extended from Herbegare, to the St John's Cross, this was known as Canon gait. Houses soon were built on both sides of the road and in time the name of Herbegare was lost and the name Canongate was taken in its place. The Canongate had walls around the town which was to define the town with gates that were closed at night (Watergate). This however was no protection against invaders and the Canongate area was burnt to the ground on several occasions first by Richard II circa 1380 then 1544, 1642, 1649, and finally by Cromwell and his army in 1651. Leith (Leytht) Wynd Cranston Street Edinburgh Leith Wynd or Leytht Wynd (1514) was a road that started on the North Side of the Nether Bow Gate at Cranston Street and continued to the back of the Canongate (Calton Road) near to the entrance of Waverley Station on Calton Road and was used by the coaches to London. I have included Leith Wynd in the Close’s of the Royal Mile as I felt that it gives an idea of how difficult it was to get into Edinburgh prior to the New Town and the draining of the Nor’ Loch. From the Head of the Canongate Leith Wynd traveled down to the foot of Caton Hll then west around the calton Hill to joint leith street. The Canongate Christian Institute The Canongate Christian Institute at 2 Cranston Street, Edinburgh, was a Christian mission opening circa 1878. This was a place of worship for the old town. It held gospel meetings and services until its closure in 1930. Mid Common Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Mid Common Close is one of three closes at the head of the Canongate. The other two were west common close and east common close neither survive. This was previously named Vietch’s Close. West Common Close was High School Close and East Common Close was Logan’s Close each of the close’s gave common access to the High School. These closes were like small communities in very narrow streets with up to 100+ family homes each of the closes were previously known by other names as the owners would dictate the close name. Morocco Land Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The sculpture of a Moor faces forward with arms down at his sides supporting a blank shield. The sculpture was moved from its original position on an adjoining building when the present building was being redeveloped. The story of how the land (building) was named is that a young man Andrew Grey, an Edinburgh resident, was sentenced to death for rioting. He fled to Morocco and after a number of years made his fortune and returned home and was involved in saving the life of the daughter of the Provost who was perilously ill with the plague (presumably for this his sentence was commuted). He ended up marrying her and they made their home in the building where the little statue was erected. This came to be known to the locals as “Morocco Land”. New Street Royal Mile Edinburgh New Street or Young Street as it was first named after Dr Thomas Young who owned the Land. The access at the Canongate was private with chains and locks to prevent unwanted visitors to the street. In 1786 it was deemed a public street but was still chained until 1819 when the chains were taken away and access was available to all from the Canongate to Back of the Canongate North or now Calton Road. At the foot of New Street is a Doorway (Jacob’s ladder) to steps that will take you to Regent Road close to the Burns Memorial and the Calton Hill. The east side of New Street was the New Street Gasworks which was established in 1818. One of the first Gas Works in Britain. New Street was previously called Young Street (circa 1760) after Dr Thomas Young Professor of Midwifery at University of Edinburgh who lived on the east side at the Canongate junction. New Street was where the wealthy lived in detached houses with gardens. Names such as Dr Young, Lord Kames, Sir David Dalrymple, Lord Hailes, Lady Betty Anstruther, Miss Ramsay, daughter of the poet Allan Ramsay. This was a private street which had security chains attached to post to stop traffic. It became a public right of way in 1819 giving access from Canongate back of Canongate (Calton Road). Sibbald Walk Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Sibbald Walk was completed in 2017 with renovation to the housing and land which is now a Square with a Marketplace. Keeping with the tradition of the area. Named after Robert Sibbald who was the inspiration behind the Physic Garden (Royal Botanic Gardens) which lay at the foot of Leith Wynd and Calton Road not far from the foot of New Street Shoemakers’ Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Shoemakers’ Close is an old house built in 1725, four stories high in which the shoemakers used to hold their meetings. Over the entrance door is the shoemakers’ coat of arms cut in stone, a crown and rounding knife. Inscribed on the tablet is; 1725 blessed is he | that wisely do | TH the poor man’s | case consider Bible Land (1677) Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Bible Land is the name given to the land (building) on the Canongate which has the sculpture of an open book above the front door which contains part of Psalm 133 “Behold how good a thing it is and how becoming well together such as brethren are in unity to dwell”. There is also the following text “It is an honour for men to cease from strife. Bible Land was built for the Incorporation of Cordiner’s in 1677. The Cordiner’s were leather craftsman who were incorporated in 1544. Gladstone’s Court Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Gladstone Court was previously Bowling Green Close as a Bowling Green was through the archway. Later Magdalene Asylum was built where the Bowling Green was. Magdalene Asylum was for fallen women of Edinburgh. Edinburgh Royal Magdalene Asylum was founded in the Canongate in 1797. This was in Magdalene’s Entry. Magdalene Asylum then moved to the west of Edinburgh in 1842. (Springwell House). Magdalene’s Entry was renamed in honour of the Prime Minister William E Gladstone who was the Prime Minister of Britain on four occasions. There is also a memorial statue in Coates Crescent Garden and a street on the south side near The Meadows (Gladstone Terrace). Look for the concrete stone with Old Well inscribed on it. This is where the people of the Court would get there water for drinking and washing. More on Gladstone Memorial Old Tolbooth Wynd Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Old Tolbooth Wynd was named after the Tolbooth where tolls were paid for road use and other charges. First mention of the Tolbooth of the Canongate was in 1477. It was later extended in 1591 and was the municipal centre and Jail for the residents of the Canongate. The People’s Story museum opened in 1989 telling the history of the people and area. The inscription on the wall reads; S.L.B (Sir Lewis Bellenden) PATRIAE ET POSTERIS (Country and Posterity). The triangle above the Canongate coat of arms shield with date 1128 inscription reads; James VI | IVSTICIA ET PIETAS VALIDE SVNT PRINCIPIS ARCES ( Justice and Compassion are the Fortification of King) Tolbooth Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Tolbooth is a late 15th century building. It served only the Burgh of Canongate. A bronze wall tablet can be seen with the Canongate coat-of-arms and date 1128. The Tolbooth was the town’s jail and administrative centre. The western part of the Royal Mile the High Street was in Edinburgh and had its own Tolbooth which is no longer there. Its place is marked by the Heart of Midlothian. You can find a Tolbooth in most towns to this day but none are used as jails. The large bronze plaque is a memorial who died in the world wars. The People’s Story Museum Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Canongate Tolbooth is home to The People’s Story Museum, telling the story all about the people who have lived in Edinburgh from its beginning. People's Story Canongate Kirk Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The present Canongate Kirk building opened in 1691. The first building now in ruins beside Holyrood House opened in 1128. This 17th century Canongate Kirk was designed by James Smith, The Canongate Kirk is unique among Scottish churches of this period. Buried in the churchyard are several famous Scots including the economist Adam Smith. The Queen, when in residence at the Palace of Holyrood House, will use this as her local place to worship. Princess Anne’s Daughter (Zara Philips) married England rugby union captain Mike Tindal here in June 2011. Canongate Kirk More About - Canongate Kirk Mercat Cross Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Mercat Cross originally stood in the middle of the road outside the Tolbooth and was moved next to the Tolbooth in the 1730s to make way for the increasing traffic. The Mercat Cross was moved to its present location in the early 1950s. Every town (Burgh) in Scotland had a Mercat cross, which would stand in the middle of a market square and on occasion be the place people would be chain for a crime and have rotten fruit and vegetables thrown at them by passers-by. The Cross was used as a pillory and had Jougs (neck and leg irons attached). Robert Fergusson Plaque inscription reads; Robert Fergusson was born just up the road in Cap & Feather Close (now demolished). He studied at the Royal High School, Dundee Grammar School and the University of St. Andrews. The death of his father cut short his life as a student. To support his widowed mother and family he returned home to Edinburgh in 1772 and took an ill-paid job as a copyist clerk in the Commissary Office. His poetic career lasted just three years. In 1774 he injured himself falling down a flight of steps and was incarcerated in the Edinburgh Bedlam as a madman. Despite his early death, he died at the tender age of 24, he packed an intense outburst of creative energy into the last years of his life. His poetry in Scots expresses the character spirit and very taste and smell of the Edinburgh of his day. Fergusson is so much the poet of Edinburgh that later figures including Robert Burns, R.L.Stevenson and Robert Garioch all acknowledged him as one of the sources of their inspiration. He is buried in this graveyard. He was nine years older than Robert Burns but they never met. Robert Burns on arriving in Edinburgh found Robert Fergusson had been buried here in a pauper's grave. He paid for the gravestone which you can see if you walk round the left-hand side of the church. Read on... "The Dark Days", "Caller Oysters", "To The Tron Kirk Bell" and "Auld Reikie Will Tak Yer Mind Into the Mirk O' Lang Syne" Plaque presented to our friends the people of Scotland, by the Burns Society of the City of New York and St. Andrew's Society of the State of New York. Canongate Kirk Burial Ground Royal Mile Edinburgh Among the people who are interred. in the Canongate graveyard are Adam Smith Economist and author of The Wealth of Nations, Sir William Fettes Lord Provost of Edinburgh, Tea and Wine Merchant and founder of Fettes College, Agnes MacAlees (CLARINDA) Robert Burns one true love – the love affair was to last until their death, David Rizzio Mary Queen of Scots private secretary, Robert Fergusson Royal Poet and inspiration to Robert Burns. David Riccio (Rizzio) Grave David Rizzio (Riccio) born 1533 – died 1566. Mary Queen of Scots’ private secretary and confidante, David Rizzio, was assassinated in the Palace of Holyrood House by Mary’s husband, Lord Darnley and a group of his allies on the 9th March 1566. This was his first steps to take over and rule as King. It was a short power struggle as Lord Darnley was murdered on the 10th February 1567, less than one year later. David Rizzio was of Italian descent from near Turin and was known as David Rizzio, David Riccio or David Rizzo. Adam Smith 1723 – 1790 Grave Adam Smith lived in Panmure House in Lochend Close in the Canongate and is buried in the Canongate Kirk Graveyard, behind the Canongate Kirk. Adam Smith was a Scottish moral philosopher and a pioneer of political economy. He was one of the key figures of the Scottish Enlightenment. In 1776 The Wealth of Nations, is considered his magnum opus and the first modern work of economics. Smith is cited as the father of modern economics. In 2009 Adam Smith was named among the “Greatest Scots” of all time, in a vote run by Scottish television. The inscription on the paving stone outside Canongate Kirk reads: HERE WITHIN THE CHURCHYARD | OF | CANONGATE KIRK | IS THE GRAVE | OF | ADAM SMITH | 1723 – 1790 | BORN IN KIRKCALDY FIFE | INTERNATIONALLY RENOWNED | ECONOMIST | AUTHOR OF | “THE WEALTH OF NATIONS” Robert Fergusson (Poet) Grave Robert Fergusson was the inspiration to Robert Burns to make him the poet he turned out to be. Robert Fergusson died at the age of 24 in 1774. Robert Burns, to show how much respect he had for his fellow artist, paid for his headstone and wrote his inscription. No sculptur’d marble here, nor pompus lie, No story’d urn nor animated bust; This simple stone directs pale Scotia’s way To pour her sorrows o’er her poet’s dust. Agnes Maclehose (Clarinda) Grave Agnes Maclehose (CRAIG) Agnes Maclehose (1759-1841) was known as Nancy. Nancy first came to Edinburgh to live in Potterrow near the corner with Marshall Street after her husband left her to make his fortune in Jamaica. Robert Burns first meet with Nancy on the 4th December 1787 at afternoon tea and the assignation started. Mishap and misfortune stopped them from meeting for some time but they wrote to each other regularly. The love affair was to last until their death but their last meeting was in December of 1791 when Nancy left for Jamaica to be with her now wealthy husband. Read the famous letters written with code names Nancy being (Clarinda), Rabbie being (Sylvander) and not to forget the love song to Nancy `Ae Fond Kiss’. Sir William Fettes Grave Tomb Sir William Fettes was born in 1750 and died in his home in Charlotte Square Edinburgh. A wealthy land owner with several estates, his main estate at Comleybank where Fettes School was built with money left in his estate to give free education to the poor fatherless children of Edinburgh. It was a boy’s only school until it went fully co-educational in 1981. William Fettes was knighted in 1804 and was Lord Provost of Edinburgh on 2 occasions. Dunbar’s Close and Gardens Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Dunbar’s Close was named after the owner of the tenement at that time, an Edinburgh lawyer David Dunbar. Take a walk through Dunbar’s Close for a look at a 17th century style garden with views of Calton hill, the Nelson Monument and Burns memorial in the background. On your right of the gates as you enter are Cadell House and Panmure House, the latter is where Adam Smith lived and died (1772-1790). Dunbar’s Close and Gardens Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Mushroom Trust Plaque reads; Dunbar Close Garden was laid out in the character of an Edinburgh 17th century garden in 1977 when it was donated by The Mushroom Trust of the City of old Edinburgh. Panmure Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Panmure House, is where the Jacobite Earl of Panmure had his town house and later the Countess of Aberdeen occupied the house before Adam Smith lived and died here from 1772 till 1790. Adam Smith is buried in the Canongate Kirk Graveyard and his statue is in the High Street near to St Giles Cathedral. The poppies on the gates were to show that this was the access to the Lady Haig Poppy factory between 1931– 1965. Access to Panmure house is at 115 Canongate Little Lochend Close. Cadell House Panmure Close CanongateEdinburgh William Cadell was born in 1668 and died in 1728. He was an Edinburgh merchant and freeman of Edinburgh. William Cadell’s grandson was a founder of the Carron Company Iron Works of Falkirk. The largest iron works of its type in Europe for circa 100 years. Cadell house was restored and converted to apartments in 1954. Panmure House Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Panmure House is now a museum, visitor attraction. The house was built circa 1685 for the Earls of Panmure as a town house with their main residence in Panbride Angus. Adam Smith purchased the property in 1776 after the death of his mother who he lived with in Kirkcaldy (this is where he wrote "The Wealth of Nation") from 1767. He lived in Panmure House till his death in 1790. Panmure House Lochend Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Lochend Close has two entrances and at one time there was Little Lochend Close and Lochend Close Lochend comes from being at the end of Calton Crags and the Nor Loch which was at that time in the parish of Restalrig. This name was given by the owner of the house at the end of the close William Ferguson of Loch end Restalrig. Also entrance to Panmure House. Reid’s Court Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Reid’s Court takes its name from Edinburgh brewer and magistrate Andrew Reid who lived here in the 1770s. The house was first the home to Lord Advocate Sir John Nisbet and was built in 1624. It is now the Manse where the minister of the Canongate Kirk lives. Campbell’s Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Campbell’s Close previously Rae’s Close. Campbell’s Close was named after George Campbell Bailie of the Canongate. Known as Campbell’s Land there were many famous lived here Archbishop of St Andrews Arthur Ross and the 13th and 14th Earl of Morton. Brown’s Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The name of the Close comes from a Joseph Brown who was a baker and had premises further up the Canongate. He purchase Paterson’s Land (Golfer’s Land) which was a tenement and land from John Paterson who built the tenement with proceeds from a Golf match. Golfer's Land (Brown's Close) Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Brown’s Close or Golfer’s Land is a tenement building purchased with winnings from a 4 ball golf match between Baillie John Paterson and The Duke of York (King James VII) and two English noblemen. During the 1600s two English noblemen attached to the court of the Duke of York (to be King James VII) were challenged by the Duke to a golf match on Leith Links. The Duke’s partner was shoemaker John Paterson a descendent from a long line of golfers. The English noblemen were beaten and the Duke rewarded Paterson with the stakes that had been played for, which enabled Paterson to build a tenement building which he called Golfer’s Land. The building is no longer on the site as it was demolished in 1960. In 1664 Charles I (The Duke’s father) bestowed on the Duke of York the American provinces previously controlled by the Dutch now renamed in his honour, New York. The Duke succeeded to the crown in 1685, and died in 1701. In 1688, his wife Queen Mary gave birth to a son who was later to be father to Bonnie Prince Charlie. Golfer's Land Plaque On this site stood the tenement known as Golfer’s | Land. It was built in the 17th Century by the bailie John | Paterson. The golfer with, it is said, his share of | the stake from a Golf match when he partnered | The Duke of York (afterwards James VII) against two | English noblemen. The bronze coat of arms is a | copy of a stone carving which was built into | Golfers Land. Another panel with Latin inscription | by Dr Pitcairne, which may be seen in the courtyard | to the rear. Links the Paterson family with the | building and the name of golf. The Plaque with the coat of arms that shows a hand holding a golf club above a helmet and shield with three stars and three Swans the Paterson Coat of arms and an inscription that reads: (Top) Far and Sure (Foot) I HATE NO PERSON, an anagram of "John Patersone." Whitefoord House Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Whitefoord House ids part of Galloway's Entry where the Earl of Winton’s’ town mansion, better known as Lord Seytoun’s lodging in the Canongate. In front of the mansion, in which Sir Walter Scott lays some of the scenes of the “Abbot”. There was a tavern built chiefly of lath and plaster, known as “Jenny Ha’s”. The landlady was famous for her claret. Gay, the poet, is said to have frequented the tavern during his short stay in Edinburgh. It was a custom for the merchants and distinguished gentlemen of Edinburgh to adjourn after dinner parties, to enjoy claret and merrymaking at Jenny Ha’s. Forsyth’s Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Forsyth’s Close was a Coach Maker’s Yard owned by Alexander Forsyth who purchased the land in 1719 and passed on to his son also Alexander who was a coach maker in London. Forsyth’s Close now gives entry to Whitefoord House. Galloway’s Entry Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh John Galloway owned land and had a stable, Alexander Galloway also had Stables. The land of Forsyth’s Close and Galloway’s Entry with a now missing Ramsay’s Close all seem to have had stables on the land with two main Houses Callendar House to the west and Whitefoord House on the east both now veterans residence Whitefoord House being the site where the Earl of Winton had a mansion house which became known as Lord Seytoun’s Lodgings. The Plaque at the main entrance to the building reads; In memory of Charles M Pelham Burn First Chairman of this institution to whose personal influence and exertions is mainly due to the successful establishment of this residence for Veterans of the Navy and Army to whom its hospitality might be acceptable in the days of their old age and necessity. White Horse Close Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The original owner of the land where White Horse Close stands was a Laurence Ord who built houses stables and a tavern (Ord’s Tavern) in a courtyard that was gated to the south and was named Laurence Ord’s Close. This was once where the Royal Mews was situated and Queen Mary kept her Horse which was a palomino (White Horse). The origin of the close being called White Horse Close. Laurence Ord sold the land and buildings to a John Mitchell in 1695 and he then sold it on to Nicol Graham in 1745 who in turn sold it on to John Davidson in 1752. On the walls in White Horse Close look for the plaques of William Dick founder of the Edinburgh veterinary college (The Royal Dick Vet) and Ord’s Tavern. The plaque can be found on the wall of the house at the back of the courtyard where the Inn was. This area was also said to have been used in 1745 by the officers of the Jacobite army prior to the battle of Prestonpans lead by Bonnie Prince Charlie. White Horse Close Ord's Inn (Tavern) The White Horse Inn at the back of White Horse Close (Ord’s Tavern) in the Canongate is where a plaque denotes that this was the first point when leaving by coach to London. This is not correct as records show that the coaches left from the Head of the Canongate, there is a White Horse Inn at the top of the Canongate which is connected to Boyd’s Entry and Boyd’s Close in St Mary Street or White Horse Close as it was often Called. There once was an entrance in the Canongate Boyd’s Close now Gullan’s Close and an entrance from Boyd’s Entry as there had to be stables for the horses and a place for the coaches. Boyd’s Entry is the original starting point for the coach and horses. There are a number of plaques that have been put up stating this, also when Boyd advertised the Inn for sale, it was advertised with stables for 100 horses and 20 coaches. The first coaches set of for London in 1712. William Dick (Plaque) White Horse Close Canongate Edinburgh The founder of the Edinburgh Veterinary College William Dick was born in 1793 in White Horse Close in the Canongate. William Dick was educated at Mr Kesson’s school in Shakespeare Square which was located at the east end of Edinburgh at the foot of the North Bridge. The square was demolished in 1860. The first veterinary College was in Clyde Street on the site of where the present bus station is now. The College moved to the site of Summerhall, William Dick the Veterinary Science department is now at the Bush Estate. In 1906, the College was named the Royal (Dick) Veterinary College and became part of the University of Edinburgh in 1951. The Girth Cross Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Girth Cross just like the Mercat Cross in the High Street, was a place for public proclamations, and executions. One of the most famous to take place here was that of the beautiful Jean Livingston (Lady Warriston), daughter to the Laird of Dunipace and wife of John Kincaid of Warriston. On the 2nd July 1600 she had Robert Weir, a servant of her father, batter her husband to death, an idea given to her by her nurse. Both the nurse and Lady Warriston were arrested and convicted of the murder of her husband, John Kincaid of Warriston. The nurse was burned on the Castlehill at 4 o’clock in the morning and at the same time Lady Warriston was beheaded by the “Maiden” (early type of guillotine) at the Girth Cross at the foot of the Canongate. This device, which can still be seen at the National Museum of Scotland in Chambers Street, Edinburgh, claimed over 150 victims during its period of use, including, Regent James Douglas 4th Earl of Morton, who originally introduced the “Maiden” from France. The servant Robert Weir was broken on the Breaking Wheel in 1603 for his crime (a brutal and agonising death). Russell House Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh Russell House was named after Sir Robert Russell for all the effort he took to have the building saved for posterity. This is an example of a 17th Century tenement that the local Edinburgh people of the time would have live in. The Canongate was founded in 1140. King David I gave permission to the Canons of Holyrood Abbey to create the Burgh and it became part of Edinburgh in 1856. Above the doorway on the lintel is inscribed WL MA 1697 this could be from another building as it was common for reuse of stone work. The initials would represent the name of the owner of the property and his intended wife and the date of their marriage). Russell House was built on what was the site of St Thomas’s Hospital built in 1541 by George Crichton. Watergate Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh The Water Gate (Water Yett) was found at the foot of the Canongate on the north side near to White Horse Close. It was named the Watergate as a pond for watering horse dominated the area. There was a gated archway that stood across the road adjoining the buildings on the Canongate to the ones at the Abbey, some called Abbey Gate. The gate was locked at night for security. Next - Canongate Southside This is a list of the closes, entry's and courts that were in the Canongate prior to 1600. Some of the closes could have up to 250 people living in them. There are many different name signs in the Royal Mile each with a specific meaning. Wynd A narrow roadway open at both ends with housing on each side Street A Wynd that has been widened. Close A passageway to a courtyard or to another street which had housing of both sides Entry A way into a closed courtyard which had housing around the open courtyard Court A closed area with housing around the open courtyard Port A Gateway Canongate Northside Close's of the past and the ones that still remain Flesh Market Close Couls Close West Common Close Mid Common Close East Common Close Rae’s Close Morrocco’s Close Seton’s Close Kinloch’s Close Ayr Bank Close Jack’s Close Jack’s Court Shoemaker’s Close Bowling Green Close Aitken’s Close Tolbooth Wynd Bakehouse Close Dunbar’s Close Panmuir Close Brown’s Close Monro’s Close Lochend’s Close Reid’s Yard Campbell’s Close Sommervile’s Close, Malloch’s Close Forsyth’s Close Galloway’s Close Ramsay’s Close Duncan’s Close White Horse Close Next - Canongate South
- Musselburgh | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh
Musselburgh is famous for Golf Fishing and Horse Racing. Musselburgh is home to Open champions and golf history. Walter Scott and the first fishing net makers. Also the estuary of the river Esk. Musselburgh East Lothian Coast The Honest Toun In 1201 the nation’s nobility gathered there to pledge allegiance to the future Alexander II, aged just 4, in the presence of his father William the Lion. In the fourteenth century, the Regent of Scotland died in Musselburgh after a long illness during which he was cared for by the local people. When his successor offered to reward the people, they refused saying that they were only doing their duty. Thus, the townspeople became famed for their honesty: since then Musselburgh has been known as the ‘Honest Toun. The New Bridge seen below was built in 1806 and designed by John Rennie the Elder a Scottish civil engineer born in 1761 in Phantassie, near East Linton Musselburgh Mile Stone Musselburgh known as ‘The Honest Toun.’ is the first town of East Lothian to the south east of the City of Edinburgh approximately 5 miles (9 Klm). Carved on the Stone below: 5 Miles from the General Post Office Edinburgh | erected to regulate the post horse duties |payable | by hackney coaches |1821 |first restored in 1933 | restored by |Musselburgh and Fisherrow |CO-OP 1998. The Mussel in Musselburgh The Mussel in Musselburgh is a 12 feet high mussel shell sculpted from stainless Steel which can be seen on the Edinburgh Road on the main road into Musselburgh. Musselburgh was associated with mussels and oysters along with sea fishing from its beginnings. The River Forth was at one time, one of the riches Oyster beds sin the UK. The name Musselburgh deriving from the place for mussel’s referring to the shellfish, and burgh derived from Place. The original settlement and harbour in the present Burgh was between the high ground of Inveresk and the River Esk up the river at the old bridge. When the roman army occupied Inveresk from 142 A.D. – 163 A.D. the shore line of the Firth of Forth was 500 metres inland from its present position. Boats could navigate up the Esk River as far as the Roman Bridge. In the 13th century the town centre had shifted to the lands of Pinkie the jurisdiction of the Abbots of Dunfermline who were granted a charter in 1070 by King Malcolm III. The town centre has been here for 700 years. River Esk Estuary Musselburgh East Lothian The River Esk estuary is in Musselburgh East Lothian and flows from two separate sources. The first (the north Esk) is from the Pentland Hills near Carlops, West Lothian and the second (the south Esk) from the west slopes of Blackhope Scar in the Moorfoot Hills in the Scottish Borders. They join together just outside Dalkeith in Midlothian and finish at the Firth of Forth in Musselburgh. The River Esk at one time was the border between Scotland and England. The images below show, looking down the Esk from Musselburgh and The Esk estuary with Arthur Seat in the distance. Roman Bridge Musselburgh East Lothian The original Roman Bridge over the river Esk is said to have been built by the Romans in the 6th century and a bridge has been in the same position since that time, all be it the bridge has been rebuilt in part and a third arch has been added. The bridge is still in use as it originally was, a foot bridge that the Romans used the Jacobite’s, Bonnie Prince Charlie in 1745 and also the English during the reformation and Cromwell. Musselburgh is believed to be one of the oldest towns in Scotland becoming a Burgh in 1354 and became a Royal Burgh in 1632 and was first quoted as The Honest Toun” in 1332 after attending to the Regent at no cost. (see plaque on Musselburgh Mercat Cross. Roman Archer Statue “Musselburgh Silver Arrow” On the west bank of the River Esk near to the Roman Bridge a sculpture of a bronze Archer can be seen. The Musselburgh Archer is a life size figure of a roman warrior from the invasion of Scotland in 80 AD. The sculpture also depicts the historic archery competition “The Musselburgh Silver Arrow” circa 1600. The Silver arrow was competed for on Musselburgh links annually by the members of the Royal Company of Archers. The winner receiving a sliver arrow which he would keep for one year and attach a medal of gold or silver with his name and date before returning the arrow. The actual date the competition started is vague with minutes of meetings stating 1603, but prior to that date winners of one dated 101 with two prior to that. Brunton Theatre Musselburgh East Lothian Musselburgh was bequeathed more than ½ million pounds in 1951 from the estate of John D Brunton, the son of the founder of Brunton Wire Works to provide halls and other municipal buildings’ which was constructed between 1964 and 1970 known as The Brunton Halls. The Brunton Theatre and Halls in Musselburgh, is the community hub of Musselburgh where many activities take place. It is also available to hire for private and corporate functions weddings and conferences. Within 20 minutes of Edinburgh by taxi and 10 minutes by train it is perfectly positioned. The Queen Mother opened the building 1971. Musselburgh Tolbooth and Tower Musselburgh East Lothian Musselburgh Tolbooth was built in 1496 and the tower is the only original part that still survives. The original clock was gift by the Dutch. In 1544 the Earl of Hertford Edward Seymour 1st Duke of Somerset on Henry VIII orders was sent to Burn Edinburgh and whatever on the way. This was an attack by the English sea-borne army and the first major action of the war of the Rough Wooing. Musselburgh was burnt but the tower of the Tolbooth survived. The Tolbooth was built adjoining the tower in 1590. The Building was built from the remnants of the chapel and hermitage of Our Lady of Leureit, which was used as a hospital for the dead and wounded at the Battle of Pinkie in 1547. The Chapel and Hermitage was destroyed as many other places of worship were destroyed during the Reformation in 1544. Open Champions Plaque Tolbooth Musselburgh At the top of the steps of the Tolbooth in Musselburgh is a Bronze plaque which reads; ROLL OF HONOUR | OPEN GOLF CHAMPIONS | WILLIE PARK Senior 1860, 1863 1866 1875 | all at Prestwick | MUNGO PARK 1874 | at Musselburgh | BOB FERGUSON 1880, 1881, 1882 | Musselburgh, Prestwick, St Andrews | DAVID (DEACON) BROWN 1885 | Musselburgh | WILLIE PARK Junior 1887, 1889 | Prestwick and Musselburgh Sir Walter Scott Musselburgh East Lothian Sir Walter Scott lived in Musselburgh and at 57 High Street Prestonpans circa 1800 while on duty as the Quarter Master of the Edinburgh Light Horse. He was injured why on Portobello Beach where the Edinburgh Light Horse drilled. While recovering he completed “The Lay of the last Minstrel”. The plaque above reads; SIR WALTER SCOTT CREATED HONORARY BURGESS | OF MUSSELBURGH 25th MARCH 1799 RESIDED IN | THE HONEST TOUN PERIODICALLY FROM 1797 – 1808 | WHILE ON DUTY AS QUARTERMASTER OF THE EDINBURGH | LIGHT HORSE AND THERE WROTE MANY STANZAS OF THE LAY OF | THE LAST MINSTREL AND OF MARMION | SCOTT CENTENARY 1932 Musselburgh Mercat Cross Musselburgh East Lothian The Musselburgh Mercat Cross dates from circa 1740 and stands on the site of the original medieval cross. At the top of the pillar stands a lion holding a shield with the Musselburgh Coat of Arms inscribed on it. The mercat cross was where public proclamations would be announced to the residents of the towns. There were a row of houses that stood facing the present west side of the High Street from the Tolbooth to the east gate pillars. This is where amongst others, The Regent had a house and Sir Walter Scott also lived here in Musselburgh when he was Quarter Master of the Edinburgh Light Horse. The Plaque reads; NEAR THIS SPOT STOOD TILL THE EARLY | PART OF THE NINETEENTH CENTURY THE | HOUSE IN WHICH THERE DIED ON 20th JULY | 1332 THOMAS RANDOLPH, EARL OF MORAY | REGENT OF SCOTLAND | ACCORDING TO TRADITION THE MOTTO | “HONESTATS” ADOPTED BY THE BURGH | IS DERIVED FROM THE TRIBUTE PAID TO THE | CITIZENS FOR THEIR CARE OF THE DYING | REGENT BY DONALD, EARL OF MAR | HIS SUCCESSOR IN THE REGENCY | REVEILED 20th JULY 1932 | DAVID LOWE, PROVOST Fisherrow Harbour Musselburgh East Lothian Evidence of the existence of a harbour here circa 1600 with many boats listed in the 1620s working from here. However it is said the first harbour was positioned at the mouth of the River Esk remembering the shore line circa 1500 was 500 yards inland from its present position. Rebuilding took place in 1806 and 1850. St Peter’s at the Gate Musselburgh East Lothian St Peter’s Church in Musselburgh stand at the old East Gates to Musselburgh. St Peter’s Church was built circa 1862. The pillars that stand at both sides of the road once held the east gates to Musselburgh. The Pillars were moved further apart to make way for the present road. Hay-Weights Clock Musselburgh East Lothian The Hay-weights clock stood on top of a kiosk on the corner of the road where the Brunton Halls now stands, a landmark known by all which marked the site of the municipal weighbridge. The clock faces are now at the gazebo on Mall Avenue and the original clock workings are in the clock at Eskmills. Musselburgh Museum East Lothian The Musselburgh Museum tells the story of the area since it was formed as a settlement over 1000 years ago based tt the estuary of the River esk and Firth of Forth. Electric Bridge Musselburgh East Lothian The Electric Bridge was built by the Cockenzie power Station to enable the turbines to be transported without using the high street and crossing the bridge which would not hold their weight The electric bridge only opens on Musselburgh race-days as the town council refused to buy the bridge from Cockenzie power station. The power station previously an icon on the River Forth due to twin its chimneys, was demolished in 2015. David MacBeth Moir Monument Musselburgh East Lothian David Macbeth Moir was born in Musselburgh in 1798 and became a medical doctor gaining a degree from the Edinburgh medical School of Edinburgh University in 1816. He was also an accomplished poet. There is a memorial statue that stands at the side of the River Esk near Musselburgh High Street which was erected in 1853. David Macbeth Moir worked in his medical practice in Musselburgh for 35 years till his death in 1851. David Wright Drinking Fountain Musselburgh East Lothian The War Memorial fountain was unveiled on Remembrance Sunday 2000. This commemoration is to the residents of Musselburgh who did not return from World War II over 200 residents. Musselburgh Beaches East Lothian Musselburgh has two beaches one is at the westside of the harbour and the other at the east side. Musselburgh BMX Track East Lothian BMX track can be found at the end of Balcarres Road at the side of the racecourse in Musselburgh. 17th Century Coaching Inn Musselburgh East Lothian No.7 High Street Musselburgh was built as Carriage Inn in circa 1650 and later became the French Ambassador's House Through the gated arch are a row of Stables, which originally would have been used to change the horses on the coaches. On the front elevation can be seen stone carvings of a Thistle, Rose, Fleur-de-lis and one other representing Scotland, England, France and other The Seton Crest was a crescent shape as seen on the Pinkie Do'cot . Musselburgh Racecourse Musselburgh Golf Links Musselburgh Links is situated in the middle of the Musselburgh Racecourse. There is written evidence of golf being played on Musselburgh Links on 2 March 1672 but in other books of history it is said that Mary Queen of Scots played at the links circa 1560. The Musselburgh Links held the Open Golf Championships in 1874, 1877, 1880, 1883, 1886, 1889. The Claret Jug was first played for at St Andrews in 1873. Golf is also mentioned in Parliament in 1457. With golf being played on Bruntsfield Links Edinburgh prior to that date. Golf History Musselburgh East Lothian Golf has been played on Musselburgh Links from 1672. Due to over crowding of courses in Edinburgh The Royal Burgess Golfing Society (Old Golf Club in World) of Edinburgh moved to 10 Links Place now Balcarres Road Musselburgh in 1875. Now used by Musselburgh Links “Old Course Golf Club” founded 1982. Musselburgh Links is where the Open Golf Championship was played in 1874 and on 5 further occasions. The Open was held from 1860-72 at Prestwick Golf Club. Musselburgh Golf Club 9 Links Place now Balcarres Road Musselburgh golf course was the first club house at Musselburgh Links 1872. Became Royal Musselburgh Golf Club (6h Oldest in world) in 1876. The world's first golfing competition for women took place in Musselburgh in 1811. The Golf hole was first cut to the present diameter by Blacksmith Robert Gay from Musselburgh in 1829 and became the official size in 1893. British Open Golf Champions Musselburgh East Lothian The first open golf Championship was held in 1860, was played over 3 rounds of golf consisting of 12 holes per round. Willie Park beat Tom Morris to become champion. All the named winners on the plaque were local Musselburgh born. Bob Ferguson had a shot named the “Musselburgh Iron” using his putter from of the green. Old Musselburgh Course in the middle of the Race Course was the venue for the Open Championship on six occasions. Willie Park Snr. First Open Golf Champion Willie Park Snr, 1833-1903 was the winner of the first Open Golf Championship and a further three Open Golf Championships lived and died in Musselburgh at No 23 Ravensheugh where the plaque has been erected in his honour. First US Open Golf Champion This plaque also honours two further great Musselburgh golfers. Willie Dunn Jnr First unofficial U.S Open Champion and Willie Campbell was runner-up He became the first Golf professional at Brookline County Club in Massachusetts USA. Willie Campbell Professional Golfer Willie Campbell was a Scottish professional golfer. He emigrated to America in 1894. He finished in sixth place in the first US Open Championship held on Friday, 4 October 1895 at Newport Golf Club in Newport, Rhode Island, America. Willie Dunn Jnr Willie Dunn Jnr son of a club and ball maker, started work at 13 as an apprentice club maker to his brother Tom. Willie Dunn first match was against Ben Sayers at age 15, also his first success. After taking part in the Open championship in 1883-84 and 86 he joined his brother in France at the Biarritz golf club which his brother designed and worked at. Willie Dunn Jnr. remained at Biarritz for around six years. He later moved to the US where he designed golf courses and took park in the first unofficial US Open played at Southampton Long Island New York which he won. The first official US Open was played the next year 1895 in Newport, Rhode Island, where Willie Dunn was second to Horace Rawlins. Musselburgh Lagoons East Lothian In 1964 the electricity board built a sea wall on the east side at the mouth of the Esk River which formed four lagoons. The area was used by Cockenzie Power Station to dump fly-ash. The area soon became a habitat for many birds and wildlife. You will find many species of sea birds who have adopted the area for nesting. Two of the four lagoons have been filled and one has been formed into a series of scrapes and high tide roost that are part of a nature reserve. They give great views for ornithologists throughout the year. The uniqueness of the area attracts many species of bird with a list at over 220 difference species. Musselburgh Lagoons is now rated as one of the top site in Britain. The final lagoon attracts fewer birds and the freshwater pond also attracts ducks and other species that are attracted to freshwater. This is most definitely a site that all true birders should visit both in summer and winter. Eskmills Musselburgh Colonel James Paterson Inventor 1821 The original mills were where fishing nets were made by the inventor of a machine for tying knots for the manufacture of fishing nets. This mill became the number one net producer in the world. Stuart House Stuart House is the man building in Eskmills built in 1867 which was where the spinning and weaving was carried out. Archibald Hope was one of two brothers who owned Eskmills. Stuart House is named after the land owner Sir Archibald Hope a wealthy merchant and coal colliery owner. The Clock is powered by the mechanism previously from the Hay-weights Clock a previous Musselburgh icon. The weighbridge is in courtyard outside the dispatch warehouse. The restaurant that is in the Eskmills courtyard was originally built as offices for the Stuart brothers the original building was renovated into the present building with a new dome. Old Engine house built 1857 Archibald Hope House Eskmills Stuart House Eskmills North House Eskmills Stuart Offices Eskmills Clock Tower Eskmills Adam Ferguson House Eskmills Fishing Net Machine Inventor Musselburgh East Lothian Col James Paterson a local man of Musselburgh returned home circa 1810 and invented a machine capable of tying knots in fishing nets in 1812. On James Paterson’s death his company and patent were bought by J.W. Stewart in 1849 who established a new factory at Esk net mill Musselburgh. The company became the number one manufacturer of nets in the world with over 800 workers and worldwide sales. With the introduction of man-made fibres and new technology the factory declined and closed in 1979 The company was purchased and is now situated in Eyemouth. Newhailes House Palladian Villa Musselburgh Sir Alexander Seton, Viscount Kingston, heirs sold the lands of Hailes which included the then ruined castle to David Dalrymple in 1700. David Dalrymple (Lord Hailes) purchased the Whitehill estate in 1709. The house was originally built by James Smith architect in 1686. The house was renamed New Hailes after Hailes Castle. David Dalrymple was the fifth and youngest son of James Dalrymple, 1st Viscount of Stair. New Hailes House was famous for its library quote by Dr Johnson “the most learned room in Europe.” The House remained in the Dalrymple family until Lady Antonia Dalrymple sold it to The National Trust in 1996. Newhailes Estate Nature Walk Newhailes House Musselburgh Newhailes house estate and woods has a nature trail with the Brunstane Burn and a number of attractions throughout the woodlands and grasslands. Earl of Stair's Obelisk Newhailes House Musselburgh On your walk through the estate nature trail lookout for the Earl of Stair's Obelisk a historic monument dates 1746. There are inscriptions on all four sides which read; Sir John Dalrymple Earl of Stair's Obelisk Newhailes House Musselburgh The Earl of Stair's Obelisk stands in Newhailes House Gardens. The Stair's Obelisk has inscriptions on all sides. The translations are bracketed. MDCCXLIII (1743) DE TINCEN (NO DIPPING) |HIS STONE WAS RENEWED FOR PRESERVATION BY THE RIGHT HON SIR CHARLES DALRYMPLE BART. AD 1907 | LICUISSET (ALLOWED). JOANNI (SIR JOHN) COMITI DE STAIR (EARL OF STAIR) DE PATRIA ET PRINCIPE (THE HOMELAND AND PRINCIPLE) OPTIME MERITO (SECOND MERIT) VIVENTI (LIVING) POSITUM (POST) MDCCXLVI 1746 MDCCXX (1720) PRUBA PERTINACIA (PRUBA DEFIANCE) CALPE (GIBRALTAR) SERVATA (OBSERVING) CUM (THE) PORTU MAGONIS (GRAND PORT) MDCCXV (1715) INSIGNI DILIGENTIA (REMARKABLE DILIGENCE) ET (AND) SUMMA APUD PRO REGEM (SUPREME AS KING) GALLIAE (IN FRANCE) CONCILIATA GRATIA (GRACE WON THE ENEMY) SPE ET CONSILIO FRUSTRAVIT (HOPE AND PLANNING POINTLESS) Newhailes Summerhouse Newhailes House Musselburgh The summerhouse was built circa 1750 Newhailes Curling Pond Newhailes House Musselburgh The Curling Pool is not visible but is a metre underground It was used by the Viscount and family in the winter. Picture from info board National Trust of Scotland Newhailes Shell Grotto Newhailes House Musselburgh Newhailes House Shell Grotto completed in 1774 Grottos were secluded places designed to evoke reflection on the cycle of life and death. The Grotto was covered in shells from as far as the East Indies. Newhailes Do’cot Newhailes House Musselburgh Newhailes House Do'cot was where the family would get fresh meat. This was a feature of all large wealthy households. Pigeons would nest inside upto 1000 and the gamekeeper would take the young birds for the kitchen of the main house. Newhailes House Children’s Activity Area Newhailes House Musselburgh Newhailes House Children's Play area swings, climbing, shutes, roundabout, zipwire, great for all ages. Pinkie House Musselburgh Sir Alexander Seton born in Seton 1555 son of 7th Lord Seton purchased Pinkie House in 1593 after becoming Lord President of the Court of Session. The house was a ruin after the battle of Pinkie Cleuch 1547. He rebuilt the former mansion which had also been a hospital into what can be seen today one of very few residences that have been unspoiled. Pinkie house was a place that the young prince Charles later to be Charles I spent much of his childhood. The House changed hands through the years until 1951 when it became the property of Loretto School. The fountain was built circa 1607 which stands outside the main door to Pinkie House, possibly to commemorate his marriage to Margaret Hay. The oldest part of Pinkie house that remained from before it part destruction in 1547 is the main tower circa 1130 built by the Abbots of Dunfermline. Pinkie House Doo’cot Musselburgh East Lothian The Pinkie Do’cot built by the Alexander Seton after his marriage to Margaret Hay with the initials on a stone tablet and date unreadable the letters AS MH intertwined. With a crown above. The other tablet has one of three crescents (the crest of the Seton family) topped by a crown. Next - Prestonpans
- Edinburgh English Language Schools | Education | All About Edinburgh
Looking to gain a certificate in English Language A list of all the schools are here to help Queen Street Royal Mile and many more institues of learning English Language Schools Edinburgh Scotland Education & Learning Edinburgh English Language Schools are for students of other countries to pass examinations in the English Language. The schools are available to individuals and groups. English Language Schools Edinburgh Scotland English Language Schools Global School of English - Edinburgh Wemyss House 45 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EP Tel: +44(0) 131 226 2333 info@gse-edinburgh.com English Language Schools Kaplan International 9 Albyn Place Edinburgh EH2 4NG City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 220 4278 English Language Schools Edinburgh College Bankhead Avenue Edinburgh EH11 4DE City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 669 4400 English Language Schools Edinburgh School of Language 55 Broughton Road Edinburgh EH7 4EX City of Edinburgh Scotland +44(0) 131 510 0502 English Language Schools Edinburgh School of English 271 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 557 9200 English Language Schools F C I Edinburgh Fettes College Carrington Road Edinburgh EH4 1QX City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 311 6072 English Language Schools Alba English School 86-92 Causewayside Edinburgh EH9 1PY City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131668 4336 English Language Schools School of Language Sciences 3 Charles Street Edinburgh EH8 9AD City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 651 3083 English Language Schools Berlitz Edinburgh 14 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 2HB City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 226 7198 English Language Schools Randolph School of English 63 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1HL City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131226 5004 English Language Schools Hamilton School of English 45 Frederick Street Edinburgh EH2 1EP City of Edinburgh Scotland +44(0) 131 440 3301 English Language Schools Wallace College 12 George IV Bridge Edinburgh EH1 1EE City of Edinburgh Scotland +44(0)131 220 3634 English Language Schools Edinburgh Language Centre 62- 68 George Street Edinburgh EH2 2LR City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)2089390402 English Language Schools Oscars International 27a Haddington Place Edinburgh EH7 4AF City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131557 7505 English Language Schools Mckenzie School of English 6 John Place Edinburgh EH6 7EL City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 555 5315 English Language Schools English Language Academy 49 Melville Street Edinburgh EH3 7HL City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 226 6182 English Language Schools Edinburgh College 24 Milton Street East Edinburgh EH15 2PP City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 669 4400 English Language Schools The Language Institute Palmerston Place Edinburgh EH12 5DE City of Edinburgh Scotland +44(0)131 226 6975 English Language Schools Basil Paterson 66 Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 4NA City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 225 3802 English Language Schools Regent Edinburgh 65 Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 4NA City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 225 9888 English Language Schools H.W.U School of Languages 1 Riccarton Campus Edinburgh EH14 4AS City of Edinburgh Scotland +44(0)131 451 3542 English Language Schools Inlingua 40 Shandwick Place Edinburgh EH2 4RT City of Edinburgh Scotland +44(0)131 220 5119 English Language Schools Caledonian Language School 7 Torphichen Street Edinburgh EH3 8HX City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131 229 2988 English Language Schools Edinburgh College 350 West Granton Road Edinburgh EH5 1GE City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0) 131 669 4400 English Language Schools Global School of English 41a York Place Edinburgh EH1 3HP City of Edinburgh Scotland +44(0) 131 478 7620 English Language Schools Hamilton School of English 41a York Place Edinburgh EH1 3HP City of Edinburgh Scotland +44(0) 131 440 3301 English Language Schools E C S Scotland 17 Young Street Edinburgh EH2 4HU City of Edinburgh Scotland +44 (0)131226 5262 English Language Schools Edinburgh College 46 Dalhousie Road Dalkeith EH22 3FR Midlothian Scotland +44 (0)131 669 4400
- Kelso | Borders Town | All About Edinburgh
Keso with its Abey and Castle Ruin. Walter Scott lived here and went to School. Floors Castle home to the Duke and Duchess of Roxburghe since 1730. A herd of Alpacas and the River Tweed. Kelso Attractions Scottish Border Town Kelso Abbey In the early times, about AD 1100, the main settlement in the area was in what was then known as Marchmount. The site of a castle which stood on the mound between the Teviot and Tweed. In 1124 David I, renamed the Town and Castle as Roxburgh (Rokesburgh). Today Roxburgh Castle is a ruin. David I founded Kelso Abbey, in 1128, in Easter Kelso which expanded around the abbey. Kelso Abbey was inhabited by monks from Normandy (Tiron) in France which Alexander I brother to David I had first brought to Selkirk. In 1143 the Abbey was dedicated to The Blessed Virgin and Saint John. After the final destruction of the Abbey buildings in circa 1587. Most of the Abbey ruins were cleared in 1805 leaving what you can be seen today. Kelso War Memorial The War Memorial can be seen in gardens next to Kelso Abbey ruins. The garden was gifted by the Duke of Roxburghe in 1921. Kelso War Memorial commemorates the people of Kelso who were lost in World War I (92 names) and World War II (42 names). The memorial resembles a medieval Scottish Mercat Cross, with a sculpture of St George slaying the dragon, a symbol for the triumph of good over evil. There are bronze plaques with the names of the fallen. Waverley Lodge Kelso Sir Walter Scott Walter Scott lived with his aunt Janet in 1783 for 6 months and attended Kelso Grammar School. While at Kelso Grammar school he met James Ballantyne, who was later to become Walter's publisher and business partner. He live in Waverley Cottage which has a bust of Scott and a dog statue. Kelso Grammar School Bridge and River Tweed Floors Castle Gates Floors Castle is one of the most historic residences in Scotland with centuries of family history. The Castle has been home to the Duke and Duchess of Roxburghe since 1730. Floors Castle was first constructed between 1721 and 1726 for the 5th Earl of Roxburgh, who became the 1st Duke of Roxburghe in 1707, moving from their main residence in Dunbar (Broxmouth Park) to their new residence at Floors C astle in 1730. Floors Castle stands in a 52000 acre estate which includes the Cheviot Hills, Tweed Valley and Lammermuir Hills. It Overlooks the River Tweed and the ruins of Roxburgh Castle. There is many things to see, and do, a great day out for all the family. Beirhope Alpacas Beirhope Farm Kelso is where you can go trekking with Alpacas. The Alpaca originates from South American are a camelid mamma. Like a small Llama. They have been present in Kelso since 2006 and there is a herd of over 25.
- Cycle Scotland | Cycling Tours | All About Edinburgh
Cycle Scotland Tours, bicycles, motor bike and tandums around Edinburgh and Scotland There is a cycle route & cycle tour for all levels. Group guided day Tours, get fit and see Edinburgh and Scotland from the road. Bicycles are fun with a friend or group Cyclists Touring Club BICYCLE RENTAL Edinburgh Bicycle Tours Guided Bike Tours of Edinburgh or bespoke Guided Bike tours of Scotland. Have an outdoor experience that will give you exercise and fresh air with a history lesson thrown in. or take a trip on a 3 wheel motor bike. Bikes are a great way to see the country stop wherever and continue to great destinations a bike can go most place and a lot of places a car or bus can't. Sunshine fresh air and exercise and touring all in one that's a bike tour. Just Look for the bike stands in the streets of Edinburgh and pay as you go hire. Ricky's Bicycle Tours 412 Morningside Road Edinburgh EH10 5HY Scotland Just Eat Cycles 89 Bike Stations Edinburgh Scotland Trike Tours Scotland Swanston Edinburgh EH10 6DT Scotland The Tartan Bicycle Company 136 Main Street Pathhead EH37 5PX Scotland Cycle Scotland 29 Blackfriars Street Edinburgh EH1 1NB Scotland Enquiry / Contact Next - Edinburgh Helicopter Tours
- Coulston Village | East Lothain | All About Edinburgh
Colstoun House in East Lothian is has been inhabited for over 900 years by the same family. With many stories of ghosts and strand happenings see about the Colstoun Pear. Colstoun Village East Lothian Colstoun House is, if not the oldest house in Scotland, it is the longest inhabited house by one family in Scotland, over 900 years in the same family. First Mention of Brun (Broun) (Brown) is Walter Le Brun, 1st of Colstoun and Glamilshiels circa 1116. This branch returning to France. The family are Broun's of Colstoun. Colstoun House is set in circa 2000 acres of land hidden in a wood centuries old. Colstoun Estate has many things to see and do on it. You can even stay here for a holiday. The first Broun (Brown) recorded to be born Colstoun House was a George Broun in 1438 from the Broun of Midmar Aberdeenshire. He died in Strathdon Aberdeenshire 1514. He had two sons, William Brown, born 1460 Coulston, East Lothian Scotland, James Broun, born 1493 Colstoun East Lothian Scotland Like all old Castles this one is no different with stories of many goings on, but the most famous is of the Colstoun Pear. When looking around the house you will see a Pear in every room. The Legend of the Colstoun Pear With more than one version of the Colstoun Pear legend this one maybe true. The Pear was a wedding gift from Sir Hugo de Gifford (Lord Yester) of Yester Castle. Hugo was said to be a warlock and the coven was below the Castle at Yester. Gifted to George Broun on his marriage to Hugo's daughter, On passing the the pear he informed his son-in-law that, good as the lass might be, her tocher (dowry) was still better, for while she could only be of use in her own day and generation, the pear, so long as it continued in the family, would cause it to flourish till the end of time. The pear was accordingly preserved with great care in a silver case by the fortunate recipient and his descendants. And it has been preserved in the silver box, reportedly remaining as fresh and luscious as the day it was picked. In 1692, Sir George Broun of Colstoun, 2nd Baronet, was to marry the highlander, Lady Elizabeth Mackenzie, daughter of George Mackenzie, 1st Earl of Cromarty. On their wedding night, Elizabeth dreamed of taking a bite of the pear (this was considered a bad omen by her father-in-law). When she was pregnant, the story goes, she developed a craving for the pear and ultimately couldn’t resist taking a bite. The pear immediately turned brown, hard and shriveled up like a walnut. Following the infamous "bite" of the pear, George fell into gambling and eventually lost so much money that he had to sell Colstoun to his brother, Robert. Sir George reportedly died penniless in Spain in 1718. The bad luck continued but the house remained safe in the family. It is believed still to be in the same silver box hidden away in the house to this day. Colstoun Walled Garden Colstoun House Next - Drem
- Cadenheads | Whisky Shop | All About Edinburgh
Cadenheads whisky shop oldest bottler of whisky in scotland shop taste whisky before you buy from the barrel also rum, gin and Cognac on the Royal Mile. CADENHEADS WHISKY SHOP EDINBURGH Cadenhead's Whisky Shop 172 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DF Telephone 44+ (0) 131 556 5864 CADENHEAD’S SCOTLAND'S OLDEST INDEPENDENT BOTTLER William Cadenhead Ltd, Wine and Spirit Merchants, were founded in 1842. They are Scotland's oldest independent bottler. The ethos of Cadenhead is they bottle from single casks at the natural malting strength. Visit the Whisky Shop in the Royal Mile 172 Canongate where you can try the whisky from the barrel before purchasing. Cadenhead also sell unique Old Raj Gin, Cognac and Rum. This is where you can buy that special drink of Scotland to take home and enjoy. Strictly over 18 years of age only. Cadenhead's is known more as the oldest bottler of Whisky in Scotland however they also have a selection of Cognac, Rums and Gin. Here are a few listed below, for more visit 172 Canongate and taste some specials from the barrel before you buy. Old Raj Gin 70cl, 46% ABV Cadenhead's Classic Gin 70cl, 50% ABV Nicaraguan Rum 70cl, 46% ABV Haitian Rum 70cl, 46% ABV Barbados Rum 70cl, 46% ABV Brazilian Rum 70cl, 46% ABV Cadenhead's Classic Lowland Pure Malt 70cl, 50% ABV Islay Blended Malt - Duthies (WM Cadenhead) 70cl, 46% ABV Robust Smoky Embers 23 Year Old - Cadenhead Creations 70cl, 54.30% ABV Campbeltown Blended Malt - Duthies (WM Cadenhead) 70cl, 46% ABV Cadenhead's Grande Champagne Cognac 70cl 57.9% ABV Next - Places to Visit
- Dean Village Area | Attractions | All About Edinburgh
Dean Village at the Water of Leith mentioned by King David I in 1143. Dean Village Edinburgh Dean Village Dean Village was a small village outside Edinburgh known as Water o Leith Village, and was famous as a grain milling area for over 800 years. The name Dean (Dene) meaning Deep Gorge. The village has steep hills on all sides. The Dean Village with the Water of Leith flowing through, grew as a community in the 1100s from the many mills that were built on the river banks. You will see many stones carved with crossed paddles of the bakers, as this area supplied all the bakers of Edinburgh with their flour. The Incorporation of Baxters (bakers) was a crucial role in Dean Village, controlling the grain milling industry from the 12th century. Mills were first mentioned in 1143 by David I. Dean Bridge - Kirkbrae House The house on the corner of the bridge was once a Tavern and Bakers, the square panel on the wall shows a sun with two arms below, one holding scales and the other a wheat sheaf, with two baker’s paddles crossed. The inscription below reads: IN THE SWEAT OF THY FACE SHALT | THOU EAT BREAD | GEN 3 VERSE 19 | ANNO DOM 1619 Known as ‘The Baxter’s Stone. Put on this wall in 1893 from a demolished mill. The Dean Bridge The Dean Bridge was designed by Thomas Telford, and was completed in 1832 and opened in 1833. The Dean Bridge was Thomas Telford’s last project at the age 73 and retirement. The Dean Bridge with 4 arches is 447 feet long (136m) and 39 feet wide (12m) and built on four arches rising 106 feet (32m) above the river. Prior to the building of the Dean Bridge the only way across the river in to Edinburgh was by a ford in the river, which had been crossed since medieval times (5th to 15th centuries). A bridge, of wooden structure across the water of Leith was built in the 5th century. It is now a stone bridge (Bell’s Brae Bridge). The building of Dean Bridge gave access to the north for further extension of Edinburgh’s New Town. Views from the Dean Bridge Looking over the Dean Bridge West the Dean Village, East the New Town Randolph Cliff built on series of underground stone arches. The arches protect Randolph Cliff, Randolph Crescent, Great Stuart Street, Ainslie Place, and Moray Place from tumbling down into the Water of Leith. Designed by 1822 by, architect James Gillespie Graham for Francis Stuart, the 10th Earl of Moray on the Moray Estate which covers most of the western new town. The Dean Village and looking down a sailor down on his luck wondering if I jump will I survive. Holy Trinity Episcopal Church Gothic church at the North end of the Dean Bridge. The church is in its original state from when design / built by John Henderson, 1837-8. Henderson has built many churches in Scotland to a Gothic design. The church was converted into an electric sub-station in 1957. It is now the Rhema Christian Centre Church. Belgrave and Buckingham Area Belgrave Crescent was built on land bought by property developer and Lord Provost of Edinburgh James Steel, Designed by John Chesser and completed in 1874. The land between Water of Leith and the new houses also purchased by Steel, which became private gardens for the residents. The gardens designed by James Jeffery and completed in 1876. Buckingham Terrace was also part of the Steel development designed by Chesser which was completed in 1831. Bristo Baptist Church In 1765 in Bristo Place Original Scotch Baptist Church ‘the Scotch Baptist Church’ Bristo Baptist Church is the mother church for the Baptist movement in Scotland. A purpose-built chapel was constructed at Bristo Place in 1836. The designation ‘Scotch’ was discontinued from the church’s title in 1927. In 1932, the present site here on Buckingham Terrace was purchased for £1,000 In October 1933, the Memorial Stone of the new building on Queensferry Road was laid and the first service took place on Wednesday, 20th February, 1935. The church has a long history and is the second oldest Baptist church in Scotland Bible on Dean Path side inscription: SEARCH THE SCRIPTURES S. JOHN V. CH.39 The Dean Parish Church The first church in Dean Path was built in 1836 then demolished and replaced by the present church in 1903. This was the main church for the Dean Village population. With the reducing congregation the church closed in 2006. It is now known as The Dean and is used as an Assembly Hall and Event Venue for the nearby Erskine Stewart’s Melville Schools (ESMS). Dean Cemetery Edinburgh The Dean Village is named from Dean House and the Nisbet family who owned the lands. The House was demolished in 1843 and in 1845 the Dean Cemetery was created. A carved heraldic panel from Dean House, now installed on a wall in Dean Cemetery, is decorated with three boars’ heads around a chevron, all surrounded by a wreath of oak leaves, and carries the initials HN for Henry Nisbet born 1535 who died in 1608 The Notable Graves of The Dean Cemetery David Octavius Hill, Colonel Robert Smith, James Buchanan, Lord Francis Jeffrey, James Falshaw James Nasmyth, Alexander Nasmyth Artist, Lord Henry Cockburn, Robert McVitie, Lord Andrew Rutherfurd, James Hamilton, Sir Thomas Bouch, Alexander Russell, James Stevenson, William H Playfair, George Combe, Cameron Highlanders Obelisk, Robert Chamber, Sir John Ritchie Findlay, Thomas Drybrough, Flora Stevenson, Louisa Stevenson, Elsie Inglis, Dr Joseph Bell (LINK TO CEMETERY ) 29 Dean Path The house on Dean Path was dates from circa 1790 with a Victorian-era post box ("VR" Cypher) circa 1850 still present. This may have been the post house in its time. The tenements in Dean Path, now all demolished and rebuilt, were where most of the families lived. Dean Village School The Old School house on Bell’s Brae was built in 1872 and a historic part of the Dean Village. The public school educated the local children until it closed in 1961. It was able to hold up to 400 children by 1961 there were only 37 pupils. Carvings can be seen "Education" above the ground floor windows and a tablet on the front with the words “Edinburgh School Board 1875” Old West Mill Building The stone building over the bridge with round windows is the Old West Mill, built in 1805. At the top of the building you can see a wheat sheaf. The mill is one of few surviving examples in the Dean Village of its former industrial heritage. Particularly based on grain milling, many of which utilised power provided by the Water of Leith. Bells Brae Bridge In the centre of the Dean village is the Bells Brae Bridge which was the original crossing point of the Water of Leith as it was shallow and narrow. Getting to and from Edinburgh this the only crossing. In the 5th century a single arch bridge which was wide enough for a carriage with horses. The Dean Village stands below the Belford Bridge which was built in 1887 to carry Belford Road. Bells Brae Bridge was built in 1830 replacing previous bridges, the old road from Edinburgh to Queensferry. Well Court- Dean Village The most impressive buildings are of Well Court. Built in 1884 by the then owner of the Scotsman newspaper Sir John Ritchie Findlay. Well Court had its own hall for socialising with a clock tower a communal court yard, and accommodation (tenements). For his staff who worked for Sir John at the Scotsman newspaper in Edinburgh. Well Court - John Ritchie Findlay Plaque on Well Court and Portrait of Sir John Ritchie Findlay in National Portrait Gallery Inscription, In memory of John Ritchie Findlay The founder of The National Portrait Gallery of Scotland and donor of this building. Dean Path Footbridge This foot bridge takes you over the Water of Leith from Hawthornbank Lane to Well Court, Old West Mill and the Village School house. Along the water side about 100 metres is a waterfall which was a weir (a low dam) which was used to power the mills. A great variety of wild life. The Plague The burgh records mention that the pest was in the Dene On the 15th June 1513 and no one from the area was allowed to enter the walls of Edinburgh. If a women entered she would be branded on the cheek. If a man entered the punishment would be sever even hung. Merchants House 17 Bells Brae The building on the south west corner of Bell’s Brae Bridge is one of the oldest buildings that still remains from the Water of Leith Village built circa 1650. 17 Bells Brae, was where the head of the local merchants' guild lived who oversaw the village's milling industry. It was also a local shop run by A W Kemp in the 20th century The Granary | Old Tollbooth The Granary was built in 1675 (yellow building in photo) known as the Old Tollbooth Inscribed in two lines GOD BLESS THE BAXTERS OF EDINBURGH WHO BUILT THIS HOUS 1675. On the cornice is a carved panel with a circular garland, a wheat-sheaf flanked by two cherub's heads another inscription GODS PROVIDENCE IS OUR | INHERITANCE 1677, The Last Mill at Bell's Mills was nearly totally destroyed by an explosion in 1971. Hawthornbank Lane Hawthornbank lane is part of the original milling hamlet known the Dene or Water of Leith Village and was famous as a grain milling area for over 800 years. The name Dene (Dean) meaning Deep Gorge. The Dean Village with the Water of Leith flowing through, grew as a community in the 1100s from the numerous mills that were built on the river banks. Miller’s Row On the pathway towards Leith under the Dean Bridge is an area called Miller’s Row old houses for the mill workers. Also you can see three mill stones resting against each other previously used in the Granaries in the 1600s. Look over the wall to see a waterfall which is another part of the weir St George's Well The Water of Leith and the source of the mineral water for St Bernard's Well and St George's Well. St George's Well is on the banks of the Water of Leith near to Alexander Nasmyth's St Bernard's Well. Built in 1810 by Mr MacDonald of Stockbridge on the 50th year on the throne to commemorate the jubilee of George III. King George III celebrated his Golden Jubilee on October 25, 1809, marking the beginning of his 50th year on the throne. It was the first significant jubilee celebration in British history. The well was finally blocked up in 1969. St Bernard's Well A natural mineral spring was discovered on the Water of Leith near to Stockbridge in 1760, some claimed that the water could cure everything. Francis Garden, Lord Gardenstone of Troup the landowner, commissioned a building in 1789 to be erected over the well Alexander Nasmyth designed a Doric Temple, a copy of the Temple to the Sybil at Tivoli, the summer palace of the Roman emperors. The Temple has a domed ceiling supported by 10 columns which covers the statue of Hygeia, the Greek goddess of health The Well closed in 1940. There are two mineral wells on the Water of Leith one called St Bernard's Well and the other well a short distance west and this is called St George’s Well. This was also to have the same powers as St Bernard’s well but was never used to the extent of St Bernard's well. Hygeia Greek Goddess of Health The well named after St Bernard of Clairvaux (1090–1153) a French abbot, theologian, and major leader in the reform of the Cistercian Order which was present over Scotland, in 1136 an invitation of King David I lead to many Abbeys being built. Melrose Abbey: Founded in 1136, was Scotland's first Cistercian monastery. Famously for the place the heart of Robert the Bruce is buried. Also A pig playing bagpipes. William Nelson Memorial William Nelson was a publisher in Edinburgh and took it upon himself to renovate the St Bernard’s well as it had become in a state of disrepair. He used his own funds to renovate and improve its aesthetic look. The Dene Archway Water of Leith Walkway. The Dene to Belford Bridge. The Dene meaning Deep Gorge was first mentioned in 1143 when David I granted one of his mills of Dene to the Abbey monks of Holyrood. The Dene steps take you to St Bernard’s Bridge built in 1824. St Bernard’s Bridge Also known as Mackenzie Bridge possibly named after Samuel Mackenzie (portrait painter and pupil of Sir Henry Raeburn).The bridge was Built in 1824. The steps and added archways were built in 1887, with Edinburgh’s Coat of Arms above the western arch. The small arch was block off in 1890. The view over the Water of Leith east and west and the road from Mackenzie Place to Dean Terrace. The Dean Area The other parts of the Dean Village area Sunbury Street, Belford Mews, over the Belford Bridge (Belford Road). The Art Galleries Modern 1 and 2, Daniel Stewart's Hospital (School) Queensferry Road. Sunbury and Belford Mews Sunbury Mews John C Hay, 1886. 2-storey Scots Baronial mews building on narrow wedged site at head of Sunbury Mews and Sunbury Street terminated by large circular plan tower with conical roof; prominent crow stepped gables to E and W elevations. No.12 and 13 Belford Mews face Sunbury Mews in a courtyard once used stables, tack rooms, and carriage houses. Sunbury House Whytock and Reid well-detailed building purpose built in 1886 as a cabinet maker's workshop. The workshop provides a link to the industrial heritage of the Dean Village with nearby Sunbury Street a row of houses for artisans. Although now no longer occupied by the firm Whytock and Reid (converted for residential dwelling, 2008) the building was originally commissioned by Robert and Hugh Reid in 1886. The firm of Whytock and Reid received a Royal warrant in the early 19th century and supplied furniture to the Royal and major houses of Scotland. Whisky from the Dean Village The Water of Leith around the area of the Dean Village was the site of a number of Distilleries which are now closed. The Sunbury and Dean Distillers both closed many years ago but you can still get the taste of the Dean Whisky as it is now made at the Loch Lomond Distillery to the same traditional recipe as it was made in the Dean Distillery from 1818 to 1922. BELFORD BRIDGE A single-arch stone bridge near to the same spot was built for ease of crossing at the foot of Bell’s Brae in the Dean Village previously of wooden construction. Belford Road in Edinburgh was named after the Belford Bridge, which was built to carry the road over the Water of Leith. The road itself is part of the old route from Edinburgh to Queensferry, and the bridge was constructed in 1885-7. The river is the Water of Leith which flows from the Pentland Hills to the Port of Leith where it joins the Firth of Forth before joining the North Sea. There is a walk way at the side of the river with a visitors centre in Lanark Road that can give you detailed information on the best routes. The Water of Leith walkway extends from the Shore at Leith to Balerno a village suburb of Edinburgh over 19 km from the shore. The pathway is suitable for walking or cycling. COMMEMORATIVE STONE Carved in the stone on the Belford Bridge is: BELFORD BRIDGE ERECTED BY THE MAGISTRATES AND TOWN COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF EDINBURGH WITH THE AID OF THE LOCAL SUBSCRIPTIONS OBTAINED BY THE BELFORD BRIDGE ASSOCIATION OPENED BY THE RT HON SIR THOMAS CLARK (BART) LORD PROVOST JULY 1887 Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art One Scottish Gallery of Modern Art One Ravelston Area Edinburgh Ravelston Area Edinburgh, The building was originally the home of John Watson’s Hospital (school) built in 1828 by William Burn with funds left by John Watson an Edinburgh solicitor on his death in 1762 and closed in 1975 due to lack of funding. The gallery opened at its present address in 1984. Set in large grounds it features a stepped S-shaped landform by Charles Jenks which provides the setting for a range of sculptures. The Gallery collection has approximately 5000 pieces ranging from prints and paintings to contemporary video installations are all house in the gallery. There is also a café for refreshments. The Plaque at the door to the Gallery of Modern Art reads; John Watson’s school 1828 – 1975 | This building originally John Watson’s Institute | was designed by William Burn in 1825, opening in 1828 under the aegis of the society of H M Writers | to the signet, its original purpose to house | maintain and educate destitute children, the | institution became John Watson’s school in 1934 | enrolling fee paying pupils while maintaining its | original purpose and by 1957 the school offered continuous education to all pupils from 5-18 years. | In 1975 despite its growing reputation John Watson’s school unexpectedly closed after the withdrawal | of its grant. The building reopened as the Scottish |National Gallery of Modern Art in 1984. Dean Gallery Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art 2 The Dean Gallery building was designed in 1833 by Thomas Hamilton and was originally an orphanage. The clock is said to be that of the Nether Bow Port that once stood as the gates to Edinburgh in the High Street. The Gallery opened in 1999 and is home for the Eduardo Paolozzi collection. In the grounds are sculpture and graphic art, It contains a large collection of Dada and Surrealist art and literature and also holds temporary exhibitions. There is a café for refreshments Next - Dean Cemetery Edinburgh Stewart's Hospital Ravelston Edinburgh Stewart's Hospital was also built in this area in 1855. Daniel Stewart a wealthy merchant of Edinburgh left money in his will in 1814 for a hospital (school) to be built for the unfortunate children that could not afford to be schooled in other institutions giving preference to families with the name Stewart. Melville College was a former school, Edinburgh Institution for Mathematics and Language, which opened in 1832 and renamed in 1936. Daniel Stewart’s College and Melville College were joined in 1972 and became, Daniel Stewart’s and Melville College. The School is now after amalgamation of three schools Mary Erskine School, Daniel Stewart’s College and Melville College, in 1974 created the largest independent family of schools in Europe.
- Golf Courses Scotland | Golf Transfers | All About Edinburgh
Golf Courses Scotland, is a list of golf courses, from the Highlands to the Scottish Borders Local Group Transfers, Airport transfers. Take stress out of the travel and just play golf. We get you there and back. Golf Courses Scotland Golf in Scotland when you have booked the golf course(s) and your accommodation you will be ready to get the right transport for your group. For transfers Airport / rail station - Hotel / Accommodation return transfers to and from the golf course(s) High quality transport with Low prices. Golf Scotland is available to all. From the oldest course in the world and first ever clubhouse. The first established Golf club and the first open championship course. Where Willie Park lived. Where the first rules of golf were written and the first competition played to rules. Musselburgh in East Lothian where many Open Champions came from. Where the size of the Golf hole was decided and how it was first measured. Where Tom Morris Snr and his son Tommy won Open Championships. The first Grand Champion Thomas Chambers The First professional Golfer Allan Robertson On the East Coast There are over 20 golf courses in Edinburgh city and a further 20 + in the Lothian area Fife and St Andrews, Aberdeen area and Inverness area On the West Coast Turnberry - The Gailes See almost all Scotland's mainland courses here Edinburgh Golf Courses East Lothian Golf Courses Fife Golf Courses Dundee Golf Courses Central Scotland Golf Courses Ayrshire Golf Courses Aberdeenshire Golf Courses Inverness Golf Courses St Andrews Golf Courses Midlothian Golf Courses Perthshire Golf Courses West Lothian Golf Courses Falkirk Area Golf Courses Scottish Borders Golf Courses Glasgow Golf Courses Golf Course Travel Times Golf Transport Scotland's Golf Course Map Enquire Golf / Airport Transfers Enquiry /Contact Golf & Airport Transfers This is the perfect vehicle for up to 8 passengers with 8 sets of golf clubs and 8 cases all Forward Facing Seats
- Canongate Royal Mile | Shops & Businesses | All About Edinburgh
Royal Mile Canongate Shops and retail outlets, cafes and restaurants, all types of businesses for local and visitors to the capital city of Scotland. The Canongate has great tourist shops and many attractions including museums with free entry. Canongate Shops Royal Mile Edinburgh Restaurants, Cafes, Pubs, Accommodation Canongate Edinburgh is part of the Roya Mile but was once a separate Burgh and stood outside of Edinburgh's city gates. Now is a part of Edinburgh with many shops restaurants cafes and accommodation. There are many attractions to be seen. Canongate Northside History and Attractions Canongate Southside History and Attractions ADVERTISE HERE ADVERTISE HERE ADVERTISE HERE CANONGATE ROYAL MILE SOUTHSIDE Oink Hog Roast Restaurant 82 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Holyrood Cashmere Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BZ City of Edinburgh Scotland Unknown Pleasures 110 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 652 3537 Prestige Scotland 112 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 7302 Serenity Café 116 Canongate (Crichton's Close) Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland The Poetry Library 116 Canongate (5 Crighton's Close) Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland Starbucks 120 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 8572 Café Vivo 138 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 2293 Museum Of Edinburgh 140 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 529 4143 The Wyrd Shop 154 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 2293 Celtic Design 156 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 100 1001 Sugarhouse Sandwiches 158 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 8999 Bene's Takeaway 162 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 1092 Canongate Jerseys & Crafts 166 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 2967 Simply Scottish 168 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 6699 Cadenhead's Whisky Shop 172 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5864 Mama Said 204 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 226 4829 Macraes of Edinburgh 208 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland Canon Gait 232 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 4481 Chessel's Court Apartment 2/3 240 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AD City of Edinburgh Scotland 07786 923 386 Pancho Villas 240 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4416 Table Top Café 244 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 629 5690 Tribal Body Art 248 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 9019 Mimi's Bakehouse Restaurant 250 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 1523 Royal Mile 2 Apartment 252 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 07980 927129 Robert Graham 1874 Whisky and Cigars 254 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 248 7283 The White Horse 266 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 3403 Focus Skateboard Gear 270 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland The Royal Mile Gallery 272Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 1702 Le Café Royale 274 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 652 3534 Solo 276 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 7682 Ragamuffin 278 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8AA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 6007 CANONGATE ROYAL MILE NORTHSIDE Holyrood Gift House 3 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 0996 Pegusus SL Sound systems 23 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1300 Kilderkin Bar and Restaurant 65 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 2101 Clarinda’s Tea Room 69 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BS City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 1888 Genuine Article 97 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BP City of Edinburgh Scotland Canongate Newsagent 101 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 9700 I Love Edinburgh 125 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BP City of Edinburgh Scotland Neanie Scott 131 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 3528 Royal Mile Factory Outlet 133 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BP City of Edinburgh Scotland Ye Olde Christmas Shoppe 145 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 9220 Peoples Story Museum 163 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 529 4057 Tolbooth Tavern 167 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 5348 Hamilton and Young 173 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 228 2555 Carson Clark Gallery 181-183 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4710 Royal Mile One Apartment 185 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 1743 Prestige Scotland 187 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 8640 Gordon Nicolson Kiltmaker 189 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 2887 The Fudge House 197 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 4172 Adageo Aparthotel 231 Canongate Edinburgh EH8 8BN City of Edinburgh Scotland Café Truva 251 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8DQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9524 Luscious Café Bistro 261 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 9363 Cranachan & Cowdrie 263 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 556 7194 Wedgwood Restaurant 267 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 558 8737 Edinburgh School Of English 271 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 9200 Wonders of Nature 297 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BD City of Edinburgh Scotland The Scottish Grocer 299 Canongate Royal Mile Edinburgh EH8 8BD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 4056 Next - Horse Wynd Edinburgh
- High Street | Upper Northside | All About Edinburgh
High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh is the largest part of the old town. High Street 2 is the Upper Northside with the famous 17th century Real Mary King's Close. All About Edinburgh has listed all attractions of the High Street in 4 pages. High Street Upper Northside Royal Mile Edinburgh High Street History High Street was the most populated part of Edinburgh, with tenement buildings up to 11 stories high. On November 15th 1824 a tenement of 11 stories on the upper or High Street West, southside caught alight and was the beginning of the worst fire in the history of Edinburgh. Starting at around 10 pm that evening the fire spread from the tenement in Assembly Close to buildings in Old Fishmarket close. Down to the Tron Kirk in the east. It also spread south along the Cowgate. The fire was finally extinguished the next morning 12 hours from when it had started. That was not the end, as another fire started at 10 pm that evening which destroyed what was left on the south side of the High Street. All but St Giles Cathedral and the Parliament buildings were saved. Over four hundred families were left homeless. High Street Upper Northside Royal Mile Edinburgh Byre's Close Royal Mile Advocate's Close Royal Mile Roxburgh's Close Royal Mile Warriston's Close Royal Mile Writer's Court Royal Mile Mary King's Close Allan's Close Royal Mile Craig's Close Royal Mile Anchor Close Royal Mile Geddes' Entry Royal Mile North Foulis' Close Royal Mile Old Stamp Office Close Royal Mile Lyon's Close Royal Mile Jackson's Close Royal Mile Fleshmarket Close Royal Mile Cockburn Street North Bridge Byre’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Byres Close is where Adam Bothwell the Bishop of Orkney’s Mansion stood. Last to reside in the Close was said to be one of the wealthiest people in Scotland Sir William Dick of Braid, Lord Provost of Edinburgh in 1638 and relation to the Baronets of Prestonfield. Advocate’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Advocate’s Close was named after Sir James Stewart of Goodtrees (Lord Advocate of Scotland 1692 – 1713). The Stewart family owned and lived in the Close from 1648 – 1769. Advocates Close has had many names as the name would change by the owner at the time. Oliver Cromwell visited here on two occasions. other occupants of the Close were David Dalrymple, Lord Westhall, Andrew Crosbie and the artist John Scougal to William III. Also the Mansion of Bishop Bothwell circa 1590. There are two doorway with inscribed lintels No 2 Old Scottish tradition the initials of both husband and wife and date they moved in to house, Clement Cor built the tenement circa 1590, his wife, Helen Bellenden. Inscriptions : C.C H.B SPES . ALTERA . VITAE (Hope in the Other Life). The other lintel Inscriptions : C.C. (Cement Cor) 1590 BLISSIT BE GOD OF AL HIS GIFTS Roxburgh’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Roxburgh’s Close on the north side of the High Street in the Royal Mile Edinburgh is named after John Roxburgh a chef and Burgess of Edinburgh in 1605. As most close’s the name changed with the owner of the land as this was owned originally by Henry Cant who owned property in Advocate’s Close. The Close is also famous for another resident Donnchadh Ban MacIntyre a famous Gaelic Poet. At the foot of Roxburgh’s Close is a courtyard which I believe was part of Writers’ Court as the doorway from Warriston’s close that enters the building where Zizzi restaurant stands has a lintel with the initials of the Chambers brothers Robert and William and the date 1851. In the centre of Roxburgh Court are four iron slabs with carvings and dates with names. The four slabs represent the trees that once stood in the courtyard and the dates of their planting. The trees are from new world destinations of the time. 1725 Acer Saccharinum (silver maple from North American Maple).1767 Betula dalecarlica (A Swedish Birch tree from Sweden), 1842 Betula Utilis (Himalayan Birch Tree from Nepal), 1906 Sorbus Commixta (Japanese rowan tree from Japan). Warriston’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Warriston’s Close named after Lord Warriston who lived in the close, as did Sir Thomas Craig of Riccarton. William and Robert Chambers who lived in Writers’ Close on the west side of Warriston’s Close were just a few of the famous residents. The previous name of the close were Bruce’s Close after Robert Bruce of Stirling who lived here in 1566. Access to Warriston Close can also be gained from Roxburgh’s Close. Thee other more famous close which can be accessed from Warriston’s Close is Real Mary King’s Close. This close can only be accessed from the attraction as this is an underground street and possibly buried when the plague was at its height. John Knox Manse Warriston's Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh The site of John Knox’s Manse can be found in Warriston’s Close. Go in the Archway marked Warriston’s Close and Writer’s Court and turn left and down steps and you will see the plaque next to a black door. Other people who lived here are Sir Archibald Johnston (Lord Warriston) 1611 -1663, who named the Close. As the naming of closes and land (tenements) was usually done by the owners. Writers’ Court High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Writers' Court is found off Warriston's Close The lintel of the door is where the court once stood. The initials are WC (William Chambers) a publisher and printer like his brother RC (Robert Chambers). They lived in Writers' Court in 1851. Real Mary King’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh This is a real look back in to Edinburgh’s past. The underground streets and places where the people of Edinburgh lived, a historically accurate example of life in Edinburgh between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries, Tales of ghosts, legends and murders. Where the plague victims were walled up and left to die. Take the guided tour based on a onetime resident, and listen to the fascinating stories. Real Mary Kings Close Edinburgh and the entrance to the underground street. Edinburgh City Chambers High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Exchange Buildings foundation stone was laid in September 1753 by the Grand Master of the Scottish masons George Drummond. The New Royal Exchange was completed in 1761. Designed by John Adam. In 1811 it became the City Chambers when the Town Council moved here from the Tolbooth. The Edinburgh Council Chambers was extended in 1904 and 1934 it has served as the administrative centre for Edinburgh Corporation, since 1975 for the Council of the City of Edinburgh The inscription on the bronze plaque reads; THE CITY CHAMBERS – FORMERLY – THE ROYAL EXCHANGE – DESIGNED BY JOHN ADAM THE ELDEST OF THE ADAM BROTHERS. – THIS BUILDING WAS ERECTED 1753 – 1761 – AS AN EXCHANGE AND CUSTOMS HOUSE – IN 1811 IT BECAME THE CITY CHAMBERS – WHEN THE TOWN COUNCIL MOVED HERE FROM THE TOLBOOTH. – EXTENDED IN 1904 AND 1924 IT SERVED AS – THE ADMINISTRATIVE CENTRE FOR EDINBURGH CORPORATION – AND SINCE 1978 FOR THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF EDINBURGH – PRESENTED IN 1983 BY THE OLD EDINBURGH CLUB FOUNDED IN THE OLD COUNCIL CHAMBERS 29 JANUARY 1908 – Lord Provost George Drummond, laid the foundation-stone in September 1753. Edinburgh Award Golden Hands High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Award printed on the paving stones of the City Chambers quadrangle you can see the golden hands of famous people awarded by Edinburgh, such as Author J.K. Rowling Olympic champion cyclist Sir Chris Hoy, Artist Richard Demarco, Author Ian Rankin, Singer Annie Lennox, Scientist Professor Peter Higgs, George Kerr CBE Judo 10th Dan, Dame Elizabeth Blackadder Painter, 46664 Concert Nelson Mandela speech. Tom Gilzean icon of the Royal Mile, Ken Buchanan Boxer, Undisputed World Lightweight Champion. The High Constables of Edinburgh Plaque Edinburgh’s Police Force, in the year 1611 the privy council of King James VI ordered the Burgh to appoint constables to impose law and order on the streets of Edinburgh. This was taken over by a regular police force in Edinburgh in 1805. Alexander the Great with his Horse Bucephalus City Chambers High Street Edinburgh The statue that stands in Edinburgh City Chambers quadrangle is of Alexander the Great and his horse Bucephalus. The statue was cast in Bronze in 1883. The wondrous horse Bucephalus the horse that Alexander the Great rode for thousands of miles and through many battles to create his mighty empire. Both Horse Bucephalus and owner Alexander the Great tower over the square of Edinburgh City Chambers on the High Street in the Royal Mile. General Stanislaw Wadyslaw Maczek Statue 1892 -1994 General Stanislaw Wadyslaw Maczek reach the rank Lieutenant General in the Polish army and was the commander of the 1st Polish Panzer Division in World War II. Stanislaw was born in Lwow Poland in 1892 fought in the 1st World War with the Austrian Army and in the 2nd World War was Commander of the new formed 1st Polish Armoured Division, nicknamed “Black Division” which was created in February 1942 at Duns in Scotland. Stanislaw and his Polish Army numbering circa 1600 were trained over 2 years in Scotland before they took park in the Normandy Landings in 1944. He and his men were instrumental in the major part of the war in France and Germany and after the war he was left homeless. A friend and Sargent in his command gave him a job in his bar in Edinburgh. In 1985 he was invited to the city of Breda in the Netherlands for the anniversary of its liberation were he was given a heroes welcome. When he died at the age of 102 years in 1994 he was buried in the Polish military cemetery in Breda Netherlands. The Black Turnpike High Street Royal Mile Mary Queen of Scots Last Night in Edinburgh 1567. The Black Turnpike, also known as the ‘Auld Bishop of Dunkeld’s lodging’ was built in 1461 on the south side of the High Street immediately west of where the Tron Kirk now stands. It was demolished in 1788 to make way for Hunter Square and Blair Street. The plaque can be seen on the wall of the City Chambers.The inscription reads “On this site stood the lodging of Sir Simon Preston of Craigmillar (known as the Black Turnpike) the lord provost of the city of Edinburgh 1566 – 1567 in which lodging Mary Queen of Scotland after her surrender to the confederate lords at Carberry Hill was imprisoned overnight in Edinburgh 15 June 1567 in a stone chamber 13-foot square and 8-foot high. On the following evening she was conveyed to Holyrood and thereafter to Loch Leven Castle as a state prisoner. After 19 years of captivity, Mary was tried and condemned to death in October 1586, ending only with her execution at Fotheringhay on 8 February 1587”. To see more about Mary Queen of Scots visit Jedburgh where you can walk round where she once lived. With many interesting artefacts on display. Hugh Miller (1802 – 1856) Plaque High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Geologist Naturalist and Folklorist. There is a bust of Hugh Miller in the Hall of Heroes at the Wallace Monument in Stirling. Hugh Miller was editor of Witness, an evangelical newspaper established in 1840 by the Scottish geologist and writer. He committed suicide in December 1856. A shocked Western world mourned him, and his funeral procession was among the largest in the memory of Edinburgh residents. He lived in the seaside area of Portobello. The City of Edinburgh War Memorial The memorial in front of the City Chambers building in the High Street Royal Mile. The stone of remembrance is to commemorate the people of Edinburgh who lost their lives in the 1st and 2nd World Wars It was unveiled on Armistice Day 1927 by Prince Henry, Duke of Gloucester son of King George V. Allan’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Allan’s Close was removed when the City Chambers extended their premises but a part of Allan’s Close remains underground and can only be seen on the Real Mary King’s Close tour of the old streets of Edinburgh. The Close has had several names over time and each has been from the owner that lived there at the time. Craig’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh The access to Craig’s Close from the High Street was closed when the Council offices were built in 1932. Link to Craig's Close Anchor Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Anchor’s Close was named after a tavern that was at the top of the close in 1714. The Close ran from the High Street to Market Street before Cockburn Street was built and dissected it. In 1718 it change Landlords to and Dawney Douglas’s Tavern which was a meeting place of the Crochallan Fencibles, a club with a membership of a number of the most distinguished men of the town. The Crochallan Fencibles Club was founded by William Smellie, a printer who founded the Encyclopaedia Britannica. He also printed the first Edinburgh edition of Burns in 1787. Anchor Close has had many names as the name would change by the owner at the time. The Crochallan Fencibles was a convivial club for gentlemen which met in Dawney Douglas’s Tavern. William Smellie’s Printed Burns Poems and Allan Masterton wrote the music for Burns songs were also members of the club. Dawney Douglas’s Tavern was a very popular place as it served very good food at a very affordable price. On the east side of the Close there are two 17th-century buildings, originally of four storeys. A doorway on the west side of the Close has a 17th-century inscription ”LORD BE MERCIFUL TO ME” and was the entrance to Dawney Douglas’s Tavern where the Crochallan Fencibles Club met. Geddes’ Entry High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh John Kay 1742 – 1826 Geddes’ Entry connects with North Foulis’ Close and Old Stamp Office Close and was named after Robert Geddes of Scotstoun a surgeon by profession. On the front wall above the shops can be seen a plaque to John Kay. John Kay was a trained Barber and opened a shop at High Street where he became established and a member of the corporation of barber-surgeons in 1771. John Kay then changed his trade to become a successful painter of miniatures and also publishing sketches and caricatures of the local people which many were unhappy about the way they were portrayed. North Foulis’ Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh North Foulis Close named after John Foulis, who owned the land were he traded as an apothecary (Chemist) and owner of a tenement in the close it was North because of further down the High Street was South Foulis’ Close at No 32 with no connection to this close or owner, near to Hyndford’s Close. James Gillespie James Gillespie was an Edinburgh city merchant and founder of James Gillespie’s Hospital and School. The hospital opened in 1802 and could accommodate up to 66 Pensioners and the school. The school was originally sited at Gillespie Crescent near to the original hospital at Wright’s house. James Gillespie was born in Edinburgh on the 28 April 1726 and died at his home in Spylaw, Colinton a suburb of Edinburgh on 8 April 1797. His brothers, John and James were Tobacco and snuff merchants at 231 High street Edinburgh and had their own factory at the back of their house at Spylaw. Due to the civil war in the Americas they were a main British supplier to the trade and controlled the prices at the time. The inscription on the plaque reads; Formerly | the shop of | James Gillespie | of Spylaw | Tobacco and Snuff | Manufacturer | Founder of | James Gillespie’s | Hospital | and Schools | died 8 April 1797 | erected by | The governors 1883 Old Stamp Office Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh The Close’s in Edinburgh were named after the owners of buildings in the close at the time and thus had many names through time. Old Stamp Office Close was where the Stamp Office was for many years until it moved to Waterloo Place in 1821. It was the first place the Royal Bank of Scotland had offices when they were constituted in 1727 and remained here till 1753. It was also where Countess Eglinton and her seven beautiful daughters lived. Lady Eglinton and her daughters were the people to invite to any dance or party in the 1700s. There was also a school where the famous Flora McDonald of Skye was educated. She was famous for assisting Bonnie Prince Charlie in his escape after the battle of Culloden. The close has also been named after taverns, Ship Tavern close and Fortune’s Close. Both of these Taverns were in this close. Lyon’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Lyon’s Close 215 High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh between Old Stamp Office Close and Jackson’s Close. Possible entrance to Hospice of Elsie Inglis. Elsie Inglis was born on 16 August 1864 in Nainital India she first moved with her parents to Edinburgh in 1878 In 1892 Elsie Inglis qualified as a licentiate at the Colleges of Physicians and Surgeons in Edinburgh and Glasgow. In 1904 the small hospital opened by the Inglis family moved to the 219 High Street and was renamed The Hospice. In 1905 Inglis was appointed senior consultant of the Bruntsfield Hospital, which then merged with The Hospice in 1911. Elsie Inglis died on the 26 November 1917, she is interned in Dean Cemetery in Edinburgh. From funds that had been raise previously the remainder was used to establish the Elsie Inglis Memorial Maternity Hospital in Edinburgh in July 1925 which later became a part of the Royal Infirmary and still bears her name. Jackson’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Jackson’s Close on the North side of the upper High Street Royal Mile is named after John Jackson’s and his family who lived in the close from circa 1570 to at least 1893 when they sold property in the close. This close ends at Cockburn Street where many close’s were either split in two or shortened by the building of Cockburn Street which was a thoroughfare to Waverley Rail Station. King Charles I Plaque Jackson's Close When King Charles I decreed that the protestant book of common order was to replaced by a new catholic influenced Service book, he didn’t reckon with the reaction of the Scots! The anger felt by the people reached its peak in the church of St Giles in Edinburgh on the 22nd July 1637. When the Dean conducting the service began to read from the new service book. An old woman named Jenny Geddes flung her stool at the Dean’s head crying “Dost thou say mass at my lug?” thereby ensuring her place in history as a Scottish heroine. Fleshmarket Close Edinburgh Fleshmarket Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Fleshmarket Close stretched from the High Street North to Market Street before Cockburn Street was built (circa 1860) it cut through many old closes that stretched from the High Street northwards, which evidence of can be seen in Fleshmarket Close where the smallest pub in Edinburgh can be found as well as Ginglin’ Geordies Tavern both on the north side of the severed close. On the High street side of the Fleshmarket Close was where Henry Dundas first practised as an Advocate and was to become the most powerful person in Scotland. Edinburgh’s Smallest Pub Halfway House Fleshmarket Close Edinburgh The smallest pub in Edinburgh can be found halfway down the north side of Fleshmarket Close on the way to the Market Street entrance of Waverley train station. This tavern offers real ale from all over Scotland. Jinglin’ Geordie’s Pub Fleshmarket Close Edinburgh Jinglin’ Geordie’s in Fleshmarket Close was named after George Heriot a famous Edinburgh Jeweller and Goldsmith 1563 – 1624. George Heriot was Jeweller and Goldsmith to King James VI. When George Heriot died he had no family so he left his estate to build a school for the education of “Puire fatherless bairns o the toun of Edinburgh” (poor fatherless children of Edinburgh). The school is still a centre for education and has been described as the school J.K.Rowling’s inspiration for Hogwarts in the Harry Potter books. The picture shows Jnglin’ Geordie’s Tavern looking up Fleshmarket Close to Cockburn Street. The short cut to the High Street Royal Mile from Market Street and Waverley Train Station Cockburn Street High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Link To Cockburn Street Next - Real Mary King's Close
- Athelstaneford | All About Edinburgh
Athelstaneford Attractions East Lothian Athelstaneford Birthplace of the Scottish Flag Athelstaneford is a small hamlet in East Lothian, with a church and a few houses and a big history. Known as Athelstoneford as on Adair’s map 1650 -1722. The Scottish flag (Saltire) a white cross on a blue background is thought to be the oldest national flag in Europe and the Commonwealth. It was during a battle in 834 AD, King Angus believes that when seeing a cloud formation of a white saltire in the sky (which was the diagonal cross that St Andrew had been crucified on) was a sign from the saints, he proclaimed if the saints help them defeat the enemy he would make St Andrew patron saint of Scotland. On victory, he made the Saltire the flag of Scotland in addition to St Andrew becoming the patron Saint of Scotland. Scottish Flag Heritage Centre Athelstaneford East Lothian The doocot, in the Athelstaneford Church grounds houses a visitor centre, visitors can see a short audio-visual dramatization of the Battle in 834 AD prior to when the St Andrew’s Cross first appeared in the sky. The Doocot was original built 1583 by George Hepburn. A landowner of the area. Doocots were near to large house or Castles and are seen all over Scotland as they were means of getting fresh meat to the table only taking the young pigeons as they are the most tender. The Scottish Saltire Athelstaneford East Lothian The story of the Scottish Saltire starts in East Lothian with a white cross in the sky. When the St Andrew's Cross was written about circa 1380 the scots were going into battle against the English and were all to wear the white cross on a dark top. However, it was 1385 before we see any mention of the symbol to be committed to cloth. A Parliament decree that year, as Scots prepared to raid England stated that every man would bear St Andrew's cross but set against black cloth. Later in the century this symbol began to appear on coins. However blue was still not a feature. Indeed the Douglas standard carried into the Battle of Otterburn (1388) had a green background and also contained the lion as a predominant symbol. It might have been 1460 before the white Saltire against a blue background first appeared in the standard of the Edinburgh Incorporated Trades although the Saltire cross was not the predominant symbol and was vertical and on one side of the banner. Athelstaneford Parish Church Nigel Tranter Centre Athelstaneford East Lothian Athelstaneford Parish Church that can be seen today was built Circa 1885, but a church has been on this site since circa 1175. The first church was replaced in 1784. Nigel Tranter author and historian, a true Scotsman and nationalist. He was married in Athelstaneford Church in 2008. There is an Nigel Tranter Exhibition in the church. Educated at George Heriot’s School Edinburgh, he has had over 125 books published. He died at his home in Gullane East Lothian aged 90. Athelstaneford Village Hall Athelstaneford East Lothian The Village hall in Athelstaneford opened in 1929 on land donated by Sir David Alexander Kinloch, of Gilmerton. The purpose of the hall is for the benefit of the Athelstaneford Parish community as a centre for community activities. The monument in the garden in front of the village hall is a memorial to Robert Blair. Robert Blair was born at Edinburgh in 1699. He moved in 1731 to Athelstaneford where he lived until his death in February 1746. He was the minister of Athelstaneford and a poet with only one notable work, The Grave published in 1743. Athelstaneford Mains Athelstaneford East Lothian Athelstaneford Mains Farm was built by Mt Douglas circa 1850. He was well known for breeding shorthorn cattle. In the garden of the house are a number of ornaments, carved stone heads of cattle and a fountain with a scallop stone base and dolphins. A ancient Yew tree and topiary hedges. Athelstaneford Mains Barn Athelstaneford East Lothian Barnes Castle Athelstaneford Sir John Seton of Barnes Barnes Castle was being built by Sir John Seton of Garleton Castle as he had been honoured with the title of Sir John Seton of Barnes. Sir John Seton's important status to King James IV (a diplomat at Philip II of Spain’s court and later James VI’s Treasurer of the Household and a Lord of Session) and that he was to marry. He decided to build a more lavish home, a castle with courtyard and towers, that had gun loops that could defend against any potential invaders. Barnes Castle was never completed as Sir John Seton died in 1594. Next - Bolton
- Colleges for Further Education | information | All About Edinburgh
Looking for Colleges for Further Education for a special trade or occupation find all college contact details here COLLEGES FOR FURTHER EDUCATION Edinburgh Colleges for further education in skilled Trades and occupations Education & Learning College Further Education Education Colleges Stevenson College Bankhead Avenue Edinburgh EH11 4DE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 535 4600 Education Colleges Midlothian College Dalhousie Road Dalkeith EH22 3FR Midlothian Scotland 0131 669 4400 Education Colleges Faith Bible Mission Drum Street Edinburgh EH17 8QG City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 664 4336 Education Colleges Faith Bible Mission Gilmerton Road Edinburgh EH17 7JD City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 6645814 Education Colleges School of Divinity New College Mound Place Edinburgh EH1 2LX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 650 8900 College Further Education Education Colleges Royal College Of Surgeons Nicholson Street Edinburgh EH8 9DW City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 527 1600 Education Colleges Basil Paterson College Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 4NA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 3802 Education Colleges Royal College Of Physicians Queen Street Edinburgh EH2 1JQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 225 7324 Education Colleges Royal College Of Nursing South Oswald Road Edinburgh EH9 2HH City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 662 1010 Education Colleges Telford College West Granton Road Edinburgh EH5 1QE City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 669 4400
- Edinburgh Islands | River Forth | All About Edinburgh
Edinburgh islands in the Firth of Forth is a look at the islands of the River Forth. See the history and where they are situated. See the wild life, bird, seals, dolphin, whales all of the Edinburgh Islands. Edinburgh Islands Queensferry - North Berwick From South Queensferry a small town at the three bridges over the Firth of Forth river to North Berwick A small town on the estuary of the Forth with golden sand beaches and great shops, restaurants, and activities with boats leaving frequently to tour the islands of the forth and their historic sites. Also the seals, dolphin and many species of seabirds. Tours & Travel Transfers from the Airport, Rail Station or Hotel Luggage Delivery Luxury vehicles Tours Advance Enquiry & Bookings Book - Transfer and Tours Boat Tours and Trips Islands of Edinburgh BASS ROCK The Bass Rock has more than 150,000 nesting Northern Gannets and is the largest single rock gannetry in the world. The naturalist David Attenborough called it the 12 wonder of the natural world. The Lighthouse was first used on the Bass Rock o the 1st November 1902. There are ruins of a Chapel dedicated to Saint Baldred, a monk said to have lived a life of solitude on the Bass Rock till his death in 606 A.D. The Chapel was built circa 1540 by the Lauder family who were the owners of the Bass Rock from 1316. In 1671, Charles I claimed the Bass as Royal Property and was leased out . The Bass Rock became a prison between 1672 and 1701. In 1691 four Jacobite prisoners escaped from their cells and occupied the Bass Rock for three years and fought of all the king's me who tried to reclaim the Rock. With help from the French Navy the 4 were able to raid the coastal areas of Fife and East Lothian. The occupation by the 4 finally ended in 1694 as food and fresh water had ran out. This was unknown to the King's men and the 4 negotiated to leave the Rock, only if they were given a pardon to walk free. This was agreed and they left as free men. The Bass Rock remained a State Prison until demolished in 1701 at that time . In 1706, the crown sold the Bass Rock to the Dalrymple family who are still the owners. FIDRA ISLAND This is a volcanic island created around 335 million years ago. John de Vaux a Norman nobleman built Castle Tarbet on the island of Fidrain the 12th Century. There is a lighthouse on it built in 1885 by Robert Louis Stevenson’s family as were most lighthouses around the British shores. Robert Louis Stevenson often visited the beaches at Dirleton the area known today as Yellowcraigs. Robert Louis Stevenson’s inspiration for his novel Treasure Island came from his days looking at the Island and dreaming of pirates on the high seas. LAMB ISLAND Lamb Island is a uninhabited island between the Bass Rock and Fidra Island. Baron Camilo Agasim-Pereira of Fulwood & Dirleton the previous owner sold the Lamb to Uri Geller in 2009. Uri Geller believes the layout of the 3 islands Fidra, Lamb and Craigleith match the three stars known as the 3 kings on Orion’s Belt which are linked to many ancient fables from Scottish and Egyptian history. This Island is found between the islands of Fidra and Craigleith. Uri Geller believes that Lamb hides Egyptian Treasure. CRAIGLEITH ISLAND This Island can be found close to North Berwick's harbour and its claim to fame was having the largest colony of Puffins in Britain numbering almost 30,000. It was also used in the breeding of rabbits for food. Craigleith is owned by the Dalrymple family. ISLE OF MAY The most easterly Island in the Forth and studies have revealed over 240 species of bird and 60 varieties of seaweed. This Isle was a black place when the Danes murdered ministers of the church who had tried to escape the plunder of the Danes in the mid to late 800 AD. The Oxcar Lighthouse The Oxcar Lighthouse was built by the Stevenson's and its light was seen for the first time in 1886. This was the first Northern Lighthouse to be automated in 1894. The Oxcar stands on a rock near to the Island of Inchmickery. In the background is the Pentland Hills and the largest artificial ski slop in Europe INCHMICKERY This uninhabited Island was used during both World War I and World War II the island was used as a gun emplacement and the structures still remain in place. CRAMOND ISLAND This island is the only island that can be accessed at low tide by foot. The causeway runs at the foot of a row of concrete pylons which were constructed as a submarine defence boom during the Second World War. INCHKEITH ISLAND L’Île de Dieu. (THIS ISLAND OF GOD) and L’Île des Chevaux (THIS ISLAND OF HORSES). As Inchgarvie, Inchkeith was used as a quarantine island in the 14th and 15th centuries. It was occupied by the English in the 16th century and Italian mercenaries fighting for the English in the 16th century. Mary of Guise renamed the island L’Île de Dieu. The soldiers also nicknamed it L’Île des Chevaux It is currently owned by Tom Farmer, founder of Kwik fit Garages. The Lighthouse that stands on the island was first used in 1804. INCHCOLM ISLAND. Inchcolm Island is just off the Fife coast near to the towns of Burntisland and Aberdour. This Island may have been occupied since the 6th century when St Columba is said to have visited the priory. A monesrery was built on the Inchcolm Island by David I, keeping a promise of his brother Alexander who had been saved on the island during a storm. There has been an Abbey on the island since 1235. Danes are said to have buried their dead on the island by payment in gold to King Macbeth of Scotland and a tombstone of the 10th century stands as a memorial to the Danish leader. The Abbey and island are looked after by a caretaker for Historic Scotland and is open to the public. INCHGARVIE ISLAND (The Island Fortress) Inchgarvie Island was a gift from James IV to the Dundas family which gave them the rights to build a fortification (Castle) on the Island to protect the sea ways from invaders. Inchgarvie island has been used for many things, in 1580 was an exile for the Edinburgh plague victims and the Castle was a prison from the early 1500 to the late 1600s. Inchgarvie Island supports the leg of the Forth Rail Bridge and it's history is said to go back to 832 A.D. when Angus / Oengus mac Fergus (II) King of the Picts killed Athelstan the Anglian King in a battle and to warn off intended invaders, he put Athelstan's' head on a spike on the Island for all to see. Next - Tours from Edinburgh
- Upper Bow | Royal Mile | All About Edinburgh
Upper Bow is at the junction of johnston Terrace Castlehill and Lawnmarket. The Upper Bow was part of the West Bow a street that linked the Old town with the Grassmarket. Now it is a street with steps to access the West Bow. Attractions are all around this area. Upper Bow Attractions Royal Mile Edinburgh The Upper Bow was part of the West Bow which was a steep road that linked the Grassmarket to Castlehill. The West Bow now ends at Victoria Street and steps take you to the Upper Bow and Victoria Terrace which is a balcony walkway that is above the old West Bow. The map show the present road layout with the Upper Bow, West Bow, Johnston Terrace, Castlehill, and Lawnmarket. The map can be found at the foot of the Upper Bow. St Columba's Free Church St Columba's Free Church is a Victorian Gothic building built in 1846 for a congregation of the Old Town's poor founded by the Rev. John Alexander, a mission priest. The day school beneath the church fed and educated up to 200 boys and girls until the 1870’s The first picture below shows the Upper Bow steps that go down to the west bow and Victoria Street. The centre picture is the steps from West Bow to Upper Bow and Victoria Terrace. The last Picture is looking up the West Bow from the Grassmarket. Victoria Terrace Victoria Terrace and Victoria Street are part of the New Town. They were built when George IV Bridge was built 1845 - 1866. It is on the line of the original city wall circa 1450 ta part of which can be seen off the Grassmarket. Quaker House The building with arches on Victoria Terrace was built in 1866 as the United Original Secession Church it closed in 1900 and and later in 1988 became the Quaker Meeting house. On the south side of the Street is India Buildings built 1866. 1-6 Victoria Street, was occupied by the British Linen Bank, the Scottish Chamber of Agriculture, and the Geological Survey of Scotland. In 2022 the Vigin Hotel opened, on construction there were many medieval artifacts, ruins of previous buildings found dating to the 10th century. Inscription 'Dominus Providebit.' The Lord Will Provide Next - Lawnmarket Royal Mile




