top of page

All About Edinburgh

Search Results

Search this site

403 results found with an empty search

  • Edinburgh New Town North | Street Index | All About Edinburgh

    Edinburgh New town was built to a design of three main thoroughfares with a Garden square at each end and a number of streets crossing south to north. Queen Street being the end of the new town area. Due to over crowding more houses were built to the north which I have covered in this section. Edinburgh New Town North Historic sites Street Index Edinburgh New Town North is the housing extension north of Queen street Gardens down the hill to Inverleith To the west as far as Queensferry Street and to the East, Baxter's Place and East London Street. The main area title in yellow underlined is a link to all the streets listed in that area. Broughton Area Edinburgh New Town Picardy Place Edinburgh Greenside Place Edinburgh Baxter's Place Edinburgh Broughton Street Edinburgh Forth Street Edinburgh Albany Street Edinburgh East London Street Edinburgh Mansfield Place Edinburgh East Claremont Street Edinburgh Scotland Street Edinburgh Broughton Road Edinburgh London Street Edinburgh North East Edinburgh New Town York Place Edinburgh Drummond Place Edinburgh Great King Street Edinburgh Abercromby Place Edinburgh Nelson Street Edinburgh Dublin Street Edinburgh Heriot Row Edinburgh Northumberland Street Edinburgh Cumberland Street Edinburgh Dundas Street Edinburgh Stockbridge Area New Town North Edinburgh Royal Circus Edinburgh Inverleith Park Edinburgh Gloucester Place Edinburgh Comely Bank Edinburgh Henderson Row Edinburgh Silvermills Edinburgh Doune Terrace Edinburgh Duncansland Edinburgh North West Edinburgh New Town Forres Street Edinburgh Randolph Crescent Edinburgh Moray Place Edinburgh Albyn Place Edinburgh Ainslie Place Edinburgh James Clark Maxwell Museum India Street Edinburgh New Town Broughton Area

  • James Clerk Maxwell | Museum | All About Edinburgh

    James Clerk Maxwell was born in India Street Edinburgh New Town and the house he was born in has been made into a museum. India street is in the nothern extention of Edinburgh's New Town. India Street James Clerk Maxwell Museum Edinburgh James Clark Maxwell 14 India Street Edinburgh James Clark Maxwell was born in 1831 at 14 India Street Edinburgh and died in 1879. James Clerk Maxwell was one of the greatest scientists that ever lived. He was the scientist who discovered, the theory of electromagnetism. He is named as the father of modern physics. He also made essential contributions to mathematics, astronomy and engineering. Radio, television, radar and communications, all derive from Maxwell's discovery. Albert Einstein said: "The special theory of relativity owes its origins to Maxwell's equations of the electromagnetic field”. Ivan Tolstoy, in his biography of Maxwell, wrote: “Maxwell's importance in the history of scientific thought is comparable to Einstein’s (whom he inspired)”. James Clerk Maxwell Stone Tablet Stone carved inscription on wall Tablet of James Clerk Maxwell's birth House, India Street Edinburgh. Inscription reads; James Clerk Maxwell Natural Philosopher born here 13 June 1831 Maxwell Statue George Street Edinburgh James Clerk Maxwell Museum Brass Plaque at door of house James Clerk Maxwell was born in Edinburgh. The inscription reads; Many of today's major technological advances are due to James Clerk Maxwell who created the first full-colour photographic image and developed the theory of electromagnetic waves which made mobile phones, radio, radar and GPS all possible He is commemorated by a statue on George Square and a small museum here at his birthplace. One scientific epoch ended and another began with Maxwell - Albert Einstein Edinburgh New Town West

  • Fenton Barns Village | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh

    Fenton Barns Attractions East Lothian Fenton Barns is a family working farm, with a retail village. There are many commercial outlets which include a farm shop and cafe. The shop has many locally produced goods, with the cafe providing great meals and snacks. There is also a mixture of small local businesses. There are rental units of all sizes available to rent for small businesses or workshops. Fenton Barns is surrounded in history. With castles, museums many other villages and towns all close by. If out for the day exploring by foot bike or car Fenton Barns is a great rest spot for food drink and retail therapy. Places close by include Gullane, Dirleton, Drem East Fortune and Athelstaneford. Fenton Tower Kingston East Lothian Fenton Tower derives its name from the lands it stands on lands of ‘Fentoun’. “During the reign of King David I of Scots (1124-1153).The present Fenton Tower was built circa 1575 by the Carmichael family who were the land owners at the time. Built with protect in mind as it is positioned to see in all directions. In 1591 King James VI of Scotland took refuge here. With the coming of Cromwell in 1650, Fenton Tower was attacked and left in ruins as many castles were. It remained unused until it was purchased in 1998 and the owners rebuilt the tower to its former glory to historic specifications. Next - Garvald

  • Garvald Village | East Lothian | All About Edinburgh

    Garvald Attractions East Lothian Garvald Village Garvald village is in a valley beside the Papana Water. This picture postcard village built almost entirely from red sandstone dates back to the early 12th century. Walk around the village and take in the scenery. The church and grounds are worth the visit. The School and school house built circa 1840 can be still seen in the village (now private residence). Garvald and Barra Parish Church Gavald Kirk was built early 12th century and the north-west corner of the church is original. There is a sundial date 1633 and the north aisle is circa 1670. The Kirk was renovated and extended in 1829 adding Gothic windows and a Belfry Stoneypath Tower East Lothian Stoneypath Tower built circa 1350 by the Lyles family prior to moving to Duchal Castle, stands over the Paple water on the outskirts of Garvald and Whittingehame. George Lyle occupant of Stoneypath circa 1460. Stoneypath was the ancient seat of the Lyle family circa 1460. The Tower passed from the Lyle family to the Douglas family, the most powerful family in Scotland. It was attacked on several occasions and also changed hands through many of the most prominent families in Scotland including the Hamilton’s and Seton family. The Tower has stood in ruin for over 200 years and after many years has been restored to its former glory. The plaque tells more of the history. Next - Gifford Village

  • Selkirk Borders Town | All About Edinburgh

    Selkirk Scottish Borders Town famouse for it historic residents, Sir Walter Scott, Mungo Park and the Fletcher Monument. On the hill the Three Brethren Cairns with a magnificent view. Selkirk Borders Town Attractions Scottish Borders Selkirk Attractions Selkirk is where Sir Walter Scott was the Sheriff for the area and presided over the court house in the town centre. There is also one of six mercat cross that were built in Scotland with platforms for proclamations. See the three Brethren (cairns that have stood as boundary markers for over 400 years. Selkirk Mercat Cross Walter Scott’s Court Room Court House Museum where Sir Walter Scott, was Sheriff for over thirty years. Visit the former court room, containing displays of Walter Scott’s long associations with the area. Other displays that can be seen are of the Explorer Mungo Park 1771 – 1806. West African exploration 1796. A statue erected in his honour 1859 can be seen in the main Street of Selkirk where he was born. Also James Hogg, the Ettrick Shepherd a Scottish poet, novelist and essayist 1770-1835. Fletcher Monument Fletcher was the only one of circa 80 men from Selkirk who returned from the Battle of Flodden Field after joining the army of King James IV (The last monarch to die in battle). Fletcher is said to be on his return, waving a captured English standard around his head and lowering its tip to the ground, communicating to all who gathered that everyone was slain. Selkirk Common Riding an annual event that marks the day in 1513 with the “Casting of the Colours”, when one Selkirk man returned home with an English banner after the worst defeat of a Scottish army in history The Fletcher Monument erected in 1913 stands in front of the Victoria Halls (built 1895). The brass plaque reads "This monument, embodying the spirit of the Selkirk tradition and erected to commemorate the Four Hundredth anniversary of the battle of Flodden Field, was unveiled by the Earl of Rosebury, KG, KT. Andrew Lusk Allan Provost,1913". Three Brethren A trio of large stone built cairns circa 10ft (3mtrs) high, dating back over 400 years, marking the boundaries of Yair, Philiphaugh and Selkirk which come together at the top of a broad hill in the Yair Hill Forest. Selkirk 'Silver Arrow' Each year, the Queen’s Body Guard for Scotland, The Royal Company of Archers, (in 1704 was granted a Royal Charter by Queen Anne) compete for the Selkirk Silver Arrow, a competition dating back to 1660. The Royal Archers still use the long bow. The HQ are in Edinburgh near The Meadows where they practice. On the scrol of the tablet the words 'Arcu Ataque Animo' meaning 'Bows and Heart' The Auld Kirk Selkirk WILLIAM WALLACE A Kirk Chapel or Church has been present on this site circa 6th century. The Auld Kirk in Selkirk is where William Wallace, (Braveheart), was proclaimed ‘Guardian of Scotland’ in 1298 after he defeated the English at Stirling Bridge during the Scottish Wars of Independence the previous year. This is also the burial ground of President Roosevelt’s family. Lochcarron of Scotland Lochcarron of Scotland, the world’s leading manufacturer of tartan, and it is one of the last working textile mills in the Scottish Borders. Take a guided Tour with an expert guide see how we make Tartan cloth which we design and weave in our Scottish mill. After your tour shop for goods made in the mill and try some locally mad refreshments in our coffee shop. Tour Hours are Monday – Thursday 10.30am, 11.30am, 1.30pm & 2.30pm or by appointment (Public and local holidays excluded) Lajos Kossuth - Hungarian Patriot Hungarian statesman and patriot who lead the Hungarian people to independence from Austria. Lajos Kossuth 1802 -1894 This plaque is to commemorate the enthusiastic reception and hospitality given by the people of Selkirk to the above named former Governor of Hungary, who was officially invited to lecture to an assembled audience of townspeople on the 12th December 1856, from the balcony of this hotel and in other locations in the town. Commissioned by a Hungarian originated citizen of Selkirk and his family, on the centenary of his Excellency's death. Mungo Park "Explorer" Mungo Park, the pioneering African Explorer, was born in 1770 in the nearby Yarrow Valley was once apprenticed to a local doctor in Selkirk and went on to marry his daughter. A fine statue in his honour was erected in 1859. Philiphaugh Salmon Viewing Centre Philiphaugh Estate Office, Selkirk, Scottish Borders, TD7 5LX Welcome to the Philiphaugh Salmon Viewing Centre. Here you can learn about the life cycle of the Salmon, and during the months of May & June or September to November when the river is high, see salmon leaping up the Cauld. Find out what else is happening around Philiphaugh Estates: enjoy fabulous home baking at the Waterwheel Restaurant which is open 7 days per week from 10am – 4pm There is also a walled garden and the Waterwheel Café, Glass Houses full of fruits and vegetables in summer. The Battle of Philiphaugh The Battle of Philiphaugh part of the Wars of the Three Kingdoms between 1639 and 1653 in the Kingdoms of England, Scotland and Ireland rued by one king, Charles I. Philiphaugh was the site of a bloody battle between the Covenanters (supporters of a Scottish Presbyterian faith) and the Royalists (supporters of the Crown) “King Charles I” on the 13th September 1645. The Covenanters lead by General Sir David Leslie (who signed the National Covenant of Scotland in 1638) destroyed the army of the Royalist army lead by The Marquis of Montrose (previously a Covenanter commander in 1639 changing his allegiance to fight for the King). The Covenanters were 6000 strong and the Royalists 1500 made up of foot soldiers and cavalry. The Battle was the decisive battle of the Civil War in Scotland. Bowhill House and Grounds Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch have a country home near Selkirk in the Scottish Borders. Bowhill House has a section of the Buccleuch art collection. Please see our opening times and prices here, to start planning your day The Scott Clan received the lands of the Ettrick Forrest in 1322 from King Robert the Bruce for their loyalty to the crown. Scott’s were ancestors to the Buccleuch family. The First Duke of Buccleuch came about when Anna Scott married King Charles II’s son James, who was given the title Duke of Monmouth and 1st Duke of Buccleuch in 1663. A statue of the 5th Duke stands in West Parliament Square in Edinburgh https://www.allaboutedinburgh.co.uk/high-street-1-edinburgh Aikwood (Peel) Tower previously Oakwood Tower Aikwood has been written about since 1455 in the accounts of Scotland and has been part of the Scott Clan since 1517. Robert Scott and Elspeth Murray were married in Aikwood in 1602 see the marriage stone on the tower. Sir Walter Scott has mentions of it in many of his novels. With all old buildings the Ghosts are present, visit the haunted chamber known as the Jingler's Room.

  • Golf Central Scotland | Golf Courses | All About Edinburgh

    Golf Central Scotland in the towns of Falkirk, Tillicoutry, Dunblane, Alva, Alloa, Sauchie, Larbert, Bridge of Allan, Grangemouth, Kincardine, Golf Central Scotland Looking for Golf in Central Scotland. The Golf Courses can be found in the post code area of Falkirk Towns with FK Post Codes Polmont, Camelon, Larbert, Kincardine, Bonnybridge, Camus, Tillicoultry, Alva, Alloa, Sauchie, Killin, Dollar, Bridge of Allan, Dunblane and Stirling Towns with ML Post Codes Motherwell, Wishaw, Hamilton, Bellshill, Airdrie, Biggar, Carnwath, Carluke, Strathaven Scotland's Golf Course Map Grangemouth Golf Course Avondale Road Polmont Falkirk FK2 0YA +44 1324 711500 Falkirk Golf Club 136 Stirling Road Camelon Falkirk FK2 7YP +44 1324 611061 Bonnybridge Golf Course Larbert Road Bonnybridge FK4 1NY +44 1324 812323 Glenbervie Golf Club Glenbervie Golf Club Stirling Road Larbert FK5 4SJ +44 1324 562605 Tulliallan Golf Club Alloa Road Kincardine FK10 4BB +44 1259 730396 Braehead Golf Club Alloa Road Cambus FK10 2NT +44 1259 725766 Schawpark Golf Course 136 Main Street Sauchie FK10 3JZ +44 1259 722745 Stirling Golf Club Queen's Road Stirling FK8 3AA +44 1786 464098 Tillicoultry Golf Club Alva Road Tillicoultry FK13 6BL +44 1259 750124 Alva Golf Club Beauclerc Street Alva FK12 5LD +44 1259 760431 Dollar Golf Course 2 Back Road Dollar FK14 7EA +44 7787 130131 Muckhart Golf Club, Dollar Drumburn Road Dollar FK14 7JH +44 1259 781423 Bridge of Allan Golf Club 12 Pendreich Road Bridge of Allan FK9 4LY +44 1786 832332 Dunblane New Golf Club Perth Road Dunblane FK15 0LJ +44 1786 821520 Killin Golf Club The Golf House Killin FK21 8TX +44 1567 820312 Golf & Airport Transfers Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club 1 Hagen Drive Motherwell ML1 5RZ +44 1698 862862 Wishaw Golf Club 55 Cleland Road Wishaw ML2 7PH +44 1698 357480 Hamilton Golf Club Carlisle Road Ferniegair Hamilton ML3 7UE +44 1698 282872 Strathclyde Park Golf Club Mote Hill Hamilton ML3 6BY +44 1698 429350 Bellshill Golf Club Community Road Bellshill ML4 2RZ +44 1698 745124 Airdrie Golf Club Glenmavis Road Airdrie ML6 0PQ +44 1236 762195 Easter Moffat Golf Club Easter Moffatt Golf Course Plains Airdrie ML6 8NP +44 1236 843015 Carluke Golf Club Mauldslie Road Hallcraig Carluke ML8 5HG +44 1555 770574 Broadlees Golf Anderson Drive Strathaven ML10 6GH +44 1357 300478 Strathaven Golf Club Glasgow Road Strathaven ML10 6NL +44 1357 520421 Lanark Golf Club Whitelees Road Lanark ML11 7RX 01555 663219 Carnwath Golf Club 1 Main Street Carnwath Lanark ML11 8JX +44 1555 840251 Biggar Golf Club Broughton Road Biggar ML12 6HA +44 1899 220319

  • Fountainbridge Area Edinburgh | Information | All About Edinburgh

    The Fountainbridge Area Edinburgh the start of the Union Canal 007 Sean Connery's birthplace, EICC, Retail, food, drink, accommodation all near the City Centre Fountainbridge Area Edinburgh Attractions Edinburgh Quay Fountainbridge Edinburgh Fountainbridge area of Edinburgh has been going through a redevelopment over the last few years and is now a modern business area with a leisure area that has a multiplex cinema, bowling alley, casino, children’s soft play centre, restaurants, pubs and the canal basin with barges which can be hired, or go for a slow cruise and have dinner. When Sean Connery returned to unveil a plaque dedicated to where he was born he was amazed at the changes that had been made to the area. The Edinburgh International Conference Centre is also nearby and has events all year around. There are hotels, self-catering and serviced apartments nearby and it is all a short walk to the city centre and Haymarket Rail Station. Edinburgh Quay Attractions Edinburgh Edinburgh Quay is where the Union canal basin (end) is located. You can follow the canal to where it joins the Forth and Clyde canal at the world famous Falkirk Wheel opened in 2002 it re-joins the 2 canals for the first time since the 1930s. Take a barge trip or sit by the shore and have lunch and drinks at the shore side bars and restaurants. Union Canal Barge Centre Union Canal Barge Centre Edinburgh Attractions Edinburgh Union Canal Barge Centre is close to the Leamington Lift Bridge where you start the trip on a Barge. Take a barge trip on a slow moving barge have lunch High tea or drinks and see the sites as you cruise along. THE FALKIRK WHEEL The Falkirk Wheel is the first barge lift in the world which replaces the loch system. Opened in 2002 it is an engineering break through to connect the Forth and Clyde Canal and the Union Canal. The Falkirk Wheel can carry eight or more boats at a time. You can enjoy a return trip which take around 1 hour. THE KELPIES The Kelpies are the largest equine sculptures in the world. The heads are called Duke and Baron, Duke on the left is 26.3m and Baron on the right is 30m. There are tours of both which you can go on. Take the barge that goes on the wheel and you can go inside the horse’s heads. Both sites mark where the canal system connects the east and the west of Scotland. The Kelpies are mythical beasts that lured Victims to their deaths by drowning. SIR THOMAS SEAN CONNERY Born 25 August 1930 and live at 176 Fountainbridge in Edinburgh. Sean Connery is probably the most famous and well known Scottish actor. He is best known for his role as James Bond between 1962 and 1983. His first job however was delivering milk in Edinburgh local people from the local base at Grove Street. The plaque has been place at the location where he was born which is now a new build and street called Melvin Walk. Edinburgh International Conference Centre Morrison Street Edinburgh Edinburgh Meat Market Arch Fountainbridge Next - Craigentinny - Restalrig

  • Outdoor Activities | Fun Outdoors | All About Edinburgh

    Outdoor Activities Edinburgh From driving a formula car to speed boat trips, Clay pigeon shooting to paintball. Fly in a Microlight plane or sightseeing in  a Helicopter. All kinds of water sports, outdoor swimming. Beaches and surfing. So much to do with so little time to do it all. Outdoor Activities Edinburgh From driving a formula car to speed boat trips, Clay pigeon shooting to paintball. Fly in a Microlight plane or sightseeing in a Helicopter. All kinds of water sports and swimming pools with flumes and wave machines. Off road driving or super Rage Buggies on dirt circuits. Walking or climbing the many hills or take a cycle around the many quiet streets. Why not go to the Races or even take a ride on a horse at an Equestrian centre. Golf and Fishing. There are so many things available you will not have time to do them all. All Activities White Water Rafting Water Sports Lawn Bowls Diving / Scuba Boats and Sailing Walk & Climb Quad Biking Super Cars & Speed Boats Mountain Biking 4 X 4 Off Road Driving Rage Buggies Flying Golf Courses Fishing Panning 4 Gold Shooting Archery Highland Games Ice & Snow Sports Go Karts Segway Helicopter Trips Paintball Equestrian Centres / Horse Racing Outdoor Basketball Courts

  • Abbey Strand | Royal Mile | All About Edinburgh

    Abbey Strand in Edinburgh is the short road to the gates of Holyrood House known as the Palace of Holyrood. Holyrood Abbey now ruins is one of the oldest Abbeys in Scotland (10th century). See the royal graves in the grounds. Abbey Strand Royal Mile Attractions Edinburgh Royal Mile Abbey Strand Edinburgh is the small area around the Palace of Holyrood House which was built circa 1480 leading up to the Palace gates. The brass letter S’s in the cobbles that can be found across the start on the Abbey Strand were boundary markers of a sanctuary, which is five miles in circumference and takes in Holyrood Park. The Sanctuary was a safe place for people that were running away from creditors to live. The building that is now used as a gift shop was once homes for debtors. There are two significant buildings in the Abbey Strand Holyrood House Palace and Holyrood Abbey the later dating back to King David I. Abbey Strand Royal Attractions Edinburgh Unicorn Wall Tablet Abbey Strand Edinburgh In the Abbey Strand on the entrance through the south wall near the gates to the Palace of Holyrood House you will see an ornate stone tablet of a unicorn with the inscription; IR5 or (KING JAMES THE V) A white unicorn (the symbol of Scotland) holding the saltire flag of Scotland, with a shield, with the red lion rampant. Palace of Holyrood House Abbey Strand Edinburgh Palace of Holyrood House is Queen Elizabeth’s official residence in Scotland was built in 1498 by James IV. The Palace was set alight and burned down in November of 1650 when Cromwell’s troops were leaving. This was said to be an accident. The Tower of James V being the only part that survived. The present palace foundations were laid in 1671 and the rebuild completed in 1674, the new occupants took up residency at the end of 1679. The then Duke of Albany and York, to be James the II of England and VII of Scotland and family. Holyrood Holyrood Abbey Abbey Strand Edinburgh Holyrood Abbey was built by King David I in 1128 is now a ruin with a history that spans 800 years. Holyrood Abbey’s position close to Edinburgh Castle meant that it was often visited by Scotland’s monarchs throughout the centuries. Holyrood Abbey was the site of the coronations of James II in 1437 and Charles I in 1633. It also housed the first high school of Scotland. Young Mary landed at Leith on 18 June 1549 and married 19-year-old James II, King of Scots, at Holyrood Abbey in Edinburgh two weeks later. On the completion of the marriage ceremony Mary was taken to her dressing room clothed in the coronation robes and returned to be crowned Queen of Scotland. Holyrood Abbey Holyrood House Water Fountain In the forecourt of the Palace of Holyrood House stands an Octagonal stone fountain which is said to be design on the original fountain that stood in Linlithgow Palace. The fountain has many figures and heads and was built around 1860. Octagonal stone fountain is decorated with figures from the who’s who Blair, Montgomery, Campbell and Blackadder, Rizzio, Queen Margaret, John Cunningham, Town Drummer of Linlithgow, Lady Cramford with a hawk perched on her finger and a dog by her left side, the Earl of Stair, Queen Mary, Sir John Cope, Arabella of France, heads of Edward I, Queen Mary and the Duke of Buckingham Archie Simpson (Dunfermline Abbey fool), Binnock (who deceived the English at Linlithgow) and Elizabeth Blackwood the heads of Young Earl of Kent, Abbot of St Andrews and Oliver Cromwell George Buchanan (Court fool) stabbing the Duke of Devonshire the head of Grieve on Jock Howieson's farm, the head of Shakespeare, and the fool in the Court of Elizabeth the Duke of Essex and Lola Irondale with a dog the heads of John Milburn of the Covenanters, a cherub and Elizabeth Milburn. Sanctuary Holyrood Abbey Abbey Strand Edinburgh You can find the brass S’s in the cobbles of Abbey Strand leading to the entrance of Holyrood. Holyrood Abbey was designated as a debtor's sanctuary in the 16th century. The sanctuary extends to the whole of Holyrood Park slightly over 4 square miles. Anyone in debt could flee their creditors, and imprisonment or hanging, by taking up residence within the sanctuary, due to this a small community grew to the west of the palace most of the houses were demolished and only a few remain. "Abbey Lairds", were only able to leave the sanctuary on Sundays as it was not allowed to arrest anyone on the Sabbath. In 1880 the law was changed which meant debtors could no longer be imprisoned. The Sanctuary building is now used as a gift shop for the palace. Thomson’s Court Abbey Strand Edinburgh Thomson’s Court is to the north side of Abbey Strand as was used for accommodation for the debtors who lived within the sanctuary area of Holyrood Abbey circa 1850. At one time there were Taverns on the ground floor with housing above. Originally built as housing circa 1500. Renovations have now been made and Thomson's Court is now Abbey Apartments with multi functional rooms and shop. Psychic Garden Palace of Holyrood House Abbey Strand Edinburgh The King's Psychic Garden was first e stablished in 1670 by Sir Robert Sibbald and Dr Andrew Balfour, both botanists and physicians. The Psychic garden was located on the grounds of the Palace of Holyroodhouse. This recreation of the first Physic garden (2020) seen below was the precursor of the Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh. See the recreation of the first Physic Garden at the left side of Holyroodhouse Palace Watergate Canongate Edinburgh Watergate was the gated entrance to the Canongate. From outside the walls it would have stood between the Sanctuary building and what is now Russell House. The Water Gate took its name from a horse pond near to the bath house. Queen Mary’s Bath House Palace of Holyroodhouse Abbey Strand Queen Mary’s Bath house was associated with Mary Queen of Scots. Used as a summer house for the Royals when walking in the garden. The wording on the sign reads; Queen Mary’s Bath House. This little two Storeyed building is traditionally associated with May Queen of Scots (1542-1587). It was once attached to a boundary wall enclosing the Kings privy garden and served as a pavilion or summerhouse where the royal family might relax whilst strolling in the garden. Weather it contained a bath is unknown. Abbeyhill Police Station This building was originally a police Station built in 1896. 30 Croft-An-Righ (Croft-An-Righ House) 30 Croft-An-Righ (Croft-An-Righ House) Croft-An-Righ is a mansion house on the north east corner of the gardens of the Palace of Holyrood house. The owners were all nobility and had connections with the King at the time. Croft-An-Righ (or 'King's Field') House is known to belong to Robert 3rd Lord Elphinstone died 1602. He then sold it in to Alexander Livingston 2nd Earl of Linlithgow died 1648 who in turn sold it to William Graham 7th Earl of Monteith and 1st Earl of Airth Died 1661. After a fire circa 1680 the house was rebuilt with further alterations made circa 1880 Next - Horse Wynd

  • Visit Scotland | St Andrews | All About Edinburgh

    St Andrews known as the home of golf has many more attractions and hiostoric sites. With Scotland's oldest University and many inventions and world historic sites to see, a day trip to St Andrews is a must. Also golden sand beaches. St Andrews Attractions St Andrews is known for its Golf and University. So I took a trip to St Andrews to see Buildings Plaques Monuments etc and ended up with over 80 different places to visit all in walking distance of the centre of St Andrews. Just like my www.allaboutedinburgh.co.uk look at Edinburgh, Famous People + Places. history and interesting facts. Saint Andrew Born circa AD 5 - Died AD 65 Saint Andrew or Saint Andréa's of Greece is the patron saint of Scotland. His bones were brought from Greece by a holy man named Rule, later St Rule (Regulus) from the area of Patras in Greece in the mid-4th century AD. Rule protected the bones of Saint Andrew from the Romans by taking them as far north from Greece as possible ending his journey in Scotland. Circa 1070 in the time of Malcolm III a church (St Rule’s Tower St Andrews Fife) was built to protect the bones of St Andrew. Queen Margaret visited St Andrews on many pilgrimages and may have had A part in the building of the church. Map of St Andrews Attractions Golf Place St Andrew's Streets The Scores The Pends St Andrews Golf Courses St Salvator's Chapel South Street St Mary's Quad North Street Holy Trinity Church St Andrews Attractions Index click on the heading to go to the pictures and history in each area St Andrews Golf Courses Golf Courses of St Andrews New Course St Andrews Old Course St Andrews The Castle Course St Andrews Torrance Course St Andrews Kittocks Course St Andrews Jubilee Course St Andrews Duke's Golf Course St Andrews Kingsbarns Golf Links St Andrews Eden Course St Andrews Strathtyrum Course St Andrews Balgove Course St Andrews St Andrews Streets City Road near West Port St Andrews Attractions (across from West Gate) Gavin Douglas Plaque St Mary's Place St Andrews Attractions Blue Stane Thomas Rodger Studio West Infant School Gateway Market Street St Andrews Attractions Whyte-Melville Memorial Fountain Mercat Cross Paul Craw Plaque The Pends St Andrews The Pends St Andrews Attractions Pends Gatehouse Route to cathedral one way street Entrance Cathedral Cemetery St Andrews Cathedral St Rules Tower Tom and Tommy Morris Graves St Andrews Cathedral Museum St Leonard's School St Andrews Attractions Brewster and Heddle Plaque St Leonard's Chapel St Andrews Attractions Robert Wilkie Monument, Peter Bruce Monument, Robert Stewart, Earl of March Monument Slab on Floor Canon William Ruglyn Gregory Lane St Andrews Attractions The Roundel St Andrews War Memorial Douglas of Lochleven Plaque Pilgrim Way End Disc James Haldenstone Plaque The Scores St Andrews The Scores St Andrews Attractions Statue of Tom Morris Snr Band Stand St Andrews Aquarium Martyrs' Monument Robert Chambers House St Katherine’s West Simple Sugars Plaque Wardlaw Museum Edgecliffe House St Andrews Poetry Castle St Andrews Castle GW (George Wishart) in Cobbles George Wishart Plaque East Scores St Andrews Attractions Pathway to; The Pends St Mary on the Rock Defence Canon St Andrews Harbour St Andrews Pier East Sands South Street St Andrews North Street St Andrews Greyfriars Gardens St Andrews Attractions Greyfriars Monastery Bridge Street St Andrews Attractions New York Cottage Buchanan Gardens St Andrews Attractions St Andrews Observatory Doubledykes Road St Andrews Attractions Kinburn House St Andrews Museum Jurassic Garden General Sikorski Memorial Canongate St Andrews Attractions Botanic Gardens Trinity Place / Hallowhill St Andrews Attractions Hallow Hills Pictish Burial Ground Abbotsford Crescent St Andrews Attractions Jo Grimond Plaque Mount Melville,KY16 8NX St Andrews Attractions Craigtoun House Craigtoun Country Park South Street St Andrews Attractions South Street St Andrews Gillespie Sundial (No.19) Boswell and Johnson Plaque (South Court) James David Forbes plaque + House South Street George Martine Plaque King James Library Gregory's Meridian Line St Mary's Quad - South Street St Mary's Quad Arch St Mary's College Old Oak Tree St Mary's Quad Beaton's House Principals House Queen Mary's Thorn Tree Hamilton Tower Coat of Arms Hamilton Founders House Bird Bath Mary's Sundial Henry Wardlaw Statue Bell Pettigrew Museum South Street Royal Coat of Arms Tablet Christian Institute Bailie Bell's House and Foundry Statue of St Andrew (corner Church Street) Holy Trinity Church Clock Tower, War Memorial, Stain Glass Windows Sharp Aisle, J Knox, Pulpit Bell Tower Statue of Hamish McHamish South Street St Andrews Town Hall Polish Forces Mosaic, St Andrews Dr John Adamson's House (Plaque) Robert Burns Club Plaque Blackfriars Chapel Lapworth Plaque Andrew Bell Plaque Madras College Early 18th Century Houses West Port St Andrews St Andrews Coat of Arms (on West Port) North Street St Andrews Attractions St Andrews Heritage Museum & Garden Fitzroy Barometer Jock Hutchison Plaque St Salvator’s Chapel St Andrews Attractions Kennedy Tomb Hugh Spen Virgin and Child St Salvator’s Clock Tower Face Carved in Tower Bishop Kennedy’s Coat of Arms Tablet PH in Cobbles and Plaque St Salvator's Quadrangle Names on Path St Salvator's Cloisters Lower College Hall North Street College Gate Benjamin Franklin Plaque James Crichton House (Plaque) Józef Kosacki Plaque Pilmour Links continuation of North Street St Andrews Attractions Auchterlonie Plaque Tom and Tommy Morris‘s House Golf Place St Andrews Golf Place St Andrews Attractions Baron Playfair Fountain Royal & Ancient Golf Club R&A World Golf Museum Old Pavilion St Andrews Links Plaque Allan Robertson The Links St Andrews Attractions St Andrews Golf Club New Golf Club, St Andrews Swilcan Bridge Next Page St Andrews Streets

  • St Andrews | The Pends | All About Edinburgh

    St Andrews, The Pends were a gatehouse and wall to protect the holymen in St Andrews Cathedral. The ancient Cathedral ruins, Cathedral Museum with historic artifacts and the grave of the great golfers Tom and TommyMorris. The Pends St Andrews Cathedral of St Andrews The Pends St Andrews The Cathedral was built in 1158 and was the religious centre of the Medieval Catholic Church in Scotland. The seat of the Archdiocese of St Andrews and the Bishops and Archbishops of St Andrews. It was left disused and fell into ruin after Catholic mass was outlawed in 1560. The ruins indicate it was approximately 119 m long, the largest church to have been built in Scotland. The Scottish Reformation in Scotland came to a head with iconoclasm. (The deliberate destruction of religious icons or monuments) all over Scotland. St Andrews was the target of the army of the Lords of the Congregation as they destroyed alters and religious icons, and whitewashed the walls of the churches. The Pends Gate House St Andrews The Pends St Andrews "The Pends" was entry to the Priory The Pends Gateway and Gatehouse were to protect the priory and cathedral. It has been standing since at least the 1300's and the wall has been standing from the 1500s. "The Pends" was entry to the Priory St Andrews Cathedral Museum The Pends St Andrews St Andrews museum is found in what was the original Cathedral's Priory. This is where the Augustinian Canons lived. From here you proceed into the reception area and shop St Andrews Cathedral Museum Royal Sarcophagus The Pends St Andrews The prize of the museum, the Royal Burial Shine from circa 761 AD. One of the finest stone carvings in Europe. See all the stone carvings headstones and other artifices. Rules' Tower The Pends St Andrews Circa 1070 in the time of Malcolm III a church (St Rule’s Tower St Andrews) was built to protect the bones of St Andrew, Rule had carried from Greece. Rule a holy man from the area of Patras in Greece in the 4th century AD. Rule deciding to stop the Romans from seizing the bones of Saint Andrew and took as many bones as he could and travelled as far from Greece as possible ending in Scotland. He had a companion Triduana became a Saint, her story is, she was born in the same place as Rule and was believed to have journeyed with Rule in the 4th century AD. Triduana settled in Scotland and due to her great beauty attracted the attentions of many men. One in particular was Nechtan King of the Picts. Triduana to stop the King’s attention is said to have torn out her own eyes and gave them to the King. As Triduana aged she settled in an area outside an area known as Eidyn later known as Edinburgh. Many people made pilgrimages to see her as she was believed to have the power to make the blind see. On her death in Restalrig a shrine was built in her honour and was intact until the reformation in the 1500. Allan Robertson Professional Golfer born 11th Sept 1815 Died 1st Sept 1859. Buried in St Andrews Cathedral cemetery. Known as The first Professional Golfer. Designed the Old Course and double greens. More on link to Golf Place Cathedral of St Andrews Tom Morris Jnr. Grave The Pends St Andrews Young Tom (Tommy) Morris was born in St Andrews Fife Scotland on the 20 April 1851 – Died 25 December 1875 ( Age 24) He is the youngest winner of the Open Championship (age 17). He also thought of a golf bag to carry clubs and balls, getting the idea when playing an Archer in an exhibition match. Tommy won the Open Championship 4 times as his father did. 1868 Scotland Tom Morris Jr. Prestwick Golf Club 1869 Scotland Tom Morris Jr. Prestwick Golf Club 1870 Scotland Tom Morris Jr. Prestwick Golf Club 1872 Scotland Tom Morris Jr. Prestwick Golf Club Cathedral Graveyard Tom Morris Snr. Grave The Pends St Andrews Old Tom Morris was born in North Street St Andrews Fife in Scotland on 16th June 1821. Father of Tom Morris Jnr. both winners of the Open Championship on 4 occasions. Old Tom was a club maker, golf professional and greenkeeper. In 1864 he became the Keeper of the Greens and professional of Old Course St Andrews. Tom Morris Snr died in St Andrews when he fell down the stairs at The New Club across from the 18th Green on May 24th, 1908 at the age of 86. His grave is on the eastern wall of the churchyard of St Andrew's Cathedral beside his son. Tom and Tommy Morris St Leonards The Pends St Leonard’s College The Pends St Andrews St Leonard’s College was united with St Salvator's College on North Street in 1747 moving to St Salvator’s at that time. While St Leonards lay unused to 1883, St Leonard's School for Girls became St Leonards and moved to the site which still occupies the school today. The Chapel became unused by 1761 until the chapel was re-roofed in 1910, then the interior was restored in 1952. St Leonard’s School The Pends St Andrews Sir David Brewster KH PRSE FRS FSA Scot FSSA MICE Plaque Born Jedburgh 1781 – Died Melrose 1868 David Brewster was the principal of the United Colleges from 1838-1859. One of the most important inventor of our time. Inventing the Kaleidoscope and his work on polarized light helped with his development of Lasers, fibre optics and other optical devices. He was Principal of the University of Edinburgh in 1859. 1838, and Principal of the United Colleges of St Salvator and St Leonard, University of St Andrews. A true Genius. St Leonard’s School The Pends St Andrews Matthew Forester Heddle FRSE MD Plaque Mathew was born in Hoy in Orkney in 1828 his first school was Edinburgh Academy. He moved in 1842 to Merchiston Castle boarding school Edinburgh. Then the University of Edinburgh in 1844. Moving to Germany for a short time, on his return, graduated MD in 1851. In that year he became President of the Edinburgh Geological Society. After a number of years in medicine, he became the Chair of Chemistry in 1862- 1882 of St Andrews University. 1879 he was also awarded the Keith gold medal, by the Royal Society of Edinburgh for his paper on Rhombohedral Carbonates. Published a book on Mineralogy of Scotland. He died in 1897 and is buried in St Andrews Cathedral cemetery. St Leonards Chapel St Leonards Chapel built circa 1140. St Leonard’s chapel lies on the south side of St Leonard’s College Quadrangle. The Chapel became the parish church in 1413, dedicated to St Leonard. St Leonard’s College was founded in 1512 by Archbishop Alexander Stewart and Prior John Hepburn. St Leonards Chapel Gregory Lane St Andrews St Leonard’s Chapel Monuments Inside the Chapel can be seen monument on the north wall: Robert Wilkie, college principal, who died in 1611. Peter Bruce, principal, who died in 1630 and Robert Stewart, Earl of March who died in 1586. Also original slabs on the floor, the earliest being Canon William Ruglyn died 1502. Sir George Douglas of Loch Leven Deans Court Gregory Lane St Andrews Sir George Douglas lived in what was known as "Archdeacons Inns" as it was the residence of the Archdeacon of St Andrews Sir George was younger brother of William Douglas who owned Loch Leven Castle where Mary Queen of Scots was imprisoned between June 1567 and May1568. See more of the escape of Mary Queen of Scots with the help of the Douglas family from Loch Leven, on the plaque. George spent 6 years in France before returning to Scotland in 1574. James Haldenstone Plaque Gregory Lane St Andrews James Haldenstone was the Prior of St Andrews from 1417. He became Vicar - General after the death of Bishop Wardlaw of St Andrews in 1440. He died in 1443. He was interned in the north wall of the Lady Chapel of the Cathedral. See the plaque for more details near The Roundel St Andrews Fife Pilgrims Trail Gregory Lane St Andrews For over 500 years until the Reformation, pilgrims arrived to worship at the shrine of St Andrew where his relics (bones) were kept, eventually to be housed within the Cathedral. The Fife Pilgrims Trail starts in Ceres and ends outside the Cathedral at Dean’s Court Gregory Lane St Andrews. The circuit takes you round over twenty places of cultural, religious and historical interest. Thanks to the members of St Andrews Preservation Trust in their help planning the circuit. East Scores The Pends The Roundel South Street + Gregory Lane A 16th-century Tower building dedicated for doctoral students studying divinity at the University of St Andrews. The college is one of five approved centres for the training of Church of Scotland ministers. The Roundel stands on the corner of South Street overlooking St Andrews Cathedral. East Scores and The Pends St Andrews Attractions Church of St Mary on the Rocks St Mary on the Rocks is the remains of a church possibly built circa 1240. St Mary on the Rock an early medieval church, dating to the 12th century. Built on the site of an earlier 9th century Culdee (Scottish monks of the 8th to 12th centuries living as a recluse usually in a group of thirteen on the analogy of Christ and his Apostles). The tradition ceased as the Celtic Church was brought under Roman Catholic rule. Before 1290 St Mary on the Rock had become a collegiate church and a royal chapel. The church was built on a headland that overlooks St Andrews bay and the harbour. St Mary on the Rock was demolished in 1559 Today only the foundations which were uncovered in 1860 can be seen. Defence Canon The canon face out to see to defend the town from invaders that arrived by sea from many countries, Spanish, English, American and French. St Andrews Pier The Pier originally built of wood was replaced in mid-1500. Confirmation the pier being of stone, records show of a great storm that damaged the ashlar on the pier in 1573. The pier was replaced in 1655. The pier and harbour walls have over the centuries be rebuilt several times due to storm damage. East Sands St Andrews St Andrews East Beach (Sands) can be located on the south side of the old harbour. From St Andrews Castle keep to the coast road with St Andrews Cathedral on your Right. This is a popular beach which is safe for children. The golden sandy beach with a wide variety of water sports. There is a car park first aid facilities and toilet facilities available. During Peak Summer there are on duty lifeguards and Café. St Andrews Harbour St Andrews has been mentioned in transcripts, having a fishing harbour as far back as 1222, and another record dates from 1363. St Andrews Attractions

  • Edinburgh Paintball Games Laser Tag | iZone All About Edinburgh

    Edinburgh Paintball games laser tag outdoor and indoor great facilities direct contacts hen party and stag party weekends large groups Paintball Games + Laser Tag Paintball and Laser Tag Games in the woods and specialised areas Indoor and Outdoor Back to Activities Battlezone Paintball Dolphinton Burn Woodlands, Dundas Castle Est, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH29 9EN 0131 2973157 Paintball Games Urban Paintball Edinburgh 160 Leith Walk Edinburgh EH6 5DX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 555 3575 Paintball Games Skirmish Scotland Unit 3, Inveresk Industrial Estate Musselburgh EH21 7UL East Lothian Scotland 0845 567 1111 Bedlam Laser Tag Craigton Farm Craigton House Winchburgh EH52 6PY 0800 410 2020 Paintball Games Skirmish Paintball Games Crowood Currie EH14 4AG Midlothian Scotland 0131 450 7113 Paintball Games A1 Paintball Haggs Road Wood Kirknewton EH27 8ED Midlothian Scotland 0131 440 4400 Paintball Games Fastrax Inzievar Farm Oakley KY12 8EZ Fife Scotland 01383 880300 Laser Tag Edinburgh Combat Challenge Lugton Bogs (opposite Dobbies) Gilmerton Road Edinburgh EH18 1AR 07732 231220 Paintball Games Scottish Borders Paintball Centre Whitburn Abbey St Bathens Duns TD11 3RU Scottish Borders Scotland 01361 840222 Paintball Games Delta Force Paintball Burnhouse Road Dechmont EH49 6PH West Lothian Scotland 0844 477 5115 Paintball Games Bedlam Paintball Games Craigton Farm Craigton House Winchburgh EH52 6PY 0800 410 2020 Xtreme Laser Tag Huly Hill Road Newbridge Edinburgh EH28 8PH 0131 333 0195

  • Super Cars | Speed Boats | All About Edinburgh

    Looking for the thrill of driving at over 100 mph or just driving the ultimate car off road from racing cars formula cars and the luxury fast car all available to drive on a road with no limits. Speed Boats Speed over the waves at high speed with the wind in your hair and the salt spray of the sea. Super Cars - Speed Boats Edinburgh Super Cars and Motor Racing Formula Cars, Ferrari, Lamborghini Aston Martin, Motor bikes and more Looking for the thrill of driving at over 100 mph or just driving the ultimate car off road from racing cars formula cars and the luxury fast car all available to drive on a road with no limits. Speed Boats Speed over the waves at high speed with the wind in your hair and the salt spray of the sea. Activities Super Car Hire Supercar Hire company Unit 51 Imex Business Centre Bilston Glen EH20 9LZ Midlothian Scotland 0131 448 0609 Formula Racing Graham Brunton Racing Knockhill Racing Circuit A823 Dunfermline KY12 9TF Fife Scotland 01383 720046 Racing Cars Knockhill Racing Circuit A823 Dunfermline KY12 9TF Fife Scotland 01383 723337 Edinburgh Speed Boats Seafari Adventures 1 Harbour South Queensferry EH30 4SS West Lothian Scotland 01620 890 202 Speedway Racing Armadale Stadium Bathgate Road Bathgate EH48 2PD West Lothian Scotland 01501 734404 Motorbike Racing East Fortune Airfield East Fortune North Berwick EH39 5LF East Lothian Scotland info@scottishmotorcycleracing.co.uk

  • St Andrews | St Salvators l All About Edinburgh

    St Salvator's Chapel and Quad are the beginings of St Andrews University. The Clock tower with the ghost face and where hangings took place. A historic and interesting place to visit inside and outside. St Salvator's St Andrews University of St Andrews Originally St Andrews University circa 1550 was made up from three colleges. St Mary’s (1538) St Salvator’s (1450) and St Leonard’s (1512). In 1747 two colleges amalgamated. Forming the United College of St Salvator’s and St Leonard. St Salvator’s College being chosen as the home for the New United College. St Salvator's Clock Tower North Street St Andrews The tower which has a clock was built as a copy of Rules Tower in the Cathedral grounds with a flat roof. This was used circa 1545 as a gun emplacement to ward of potential invaders. The spire was added to the tower at a later date. The 2 images show the tower from the street and inside the quadrant. St Salvator's Clock Tower Plaque The St Salvator's clock and dials originally installed in 1853 by James Ritchie & Sons Clockmakers. Restored in 1999. St Salvator's Chapel St Salvator’s Chapel was founded in 1450 by Bishop James Kennedy as a College of the Holy Saviour. The main entrance to the chapel faces out onto North Street and not into the college courtyard. The Chapel had a dual role for both the college chapel and as a collegiate church for the community of St Andrews. St Salvator's Chapel Bishop Kennedy Bishop Kennedy decided to have his tomb constructed in his chapel. Between the consecration of the church and his death in 1465. In the recess is a large slab of black marble. Beneath is the tomb-chest in which Kennedy was interred. Provost Hugh Spens Set against the west wall of the chapel is the tombstone of Provost Hugh Spens who died in 1534. The memorial bears the only known illustration of the Scottish mediaeval academic garb of the period. St Salvator's Chapel Bishop Kennedy Coat of Arms James Kennedy was son of King Robert III daughter Mary. He was born 1408. He replace Bishop Wardlaw in 1440 being appointed by Pope Eugenius IV as Bishop of St Andrews. He was in 1444 appointed Chancellor of Scotland. He died in 1465 and place in his tomb in St Salvator’s Chapel Patrick Hamilton Cobbles (PH) The cobbles beneath the bell tower have the initials 'PH' set in to the cobbles, which marks the site of where 24-year-old Patrick Hamilton died in 1528, after being burnt at the stake for his Protestant beliefs. The Ghostly Face of Hamilton Look up above the gateway You will see a face carved in a stone This is said to be the face of The Martyred Patrick Hamilton. Patrick Hamilton Plaque The initials on the pavement nearby mark the spot where Patrick Hamilton member of the University was burned at the stake on 29th February 1528 at the age of 24. On the continent he had been greatly influenced by Martin Luther, and on his return to St Andrews he began to teach Lutheran Doctrines. Having been tried and found guilty of heresy he was condemned to death. Thus becoming the first martyr of the Scottish Reformation. St Salvator's Quadrangle The United College of St Salvator’s and St Leonard, is one of the oldest remaining parts of the University of St Andrews. St Andrews University had extended to three colleges.   St Salvator’s (1450), St Leonard’s (1512) and St Mary’s (1538). In 1747, the union of the two Arts colleges formed the United College of St Salvator and St Leonard. St Salvator’s College was chosen as the home for the new United College, the majority of the current buildings date from the 19th and early 20th century. St Salvator's Quadrangle Lower Hall St Salvator’s Quadrangle Flagstones of Alumni and Friends One of St Andrews University’s 600th anniversary fundraising initiative was Flagstones were Alumni and Friends of the University were offered opportunity to have their names engraved on the new flagstones to be placed in the Quadrangle. This was a great success with Alumni from all around the world responding, with memories from their years studying at the University of St Andrews. Lower College Halls St Salvator's Quadrangle St Salvator's Chapel Cloisters St Salvator's Quadrangle St Salvator's Chapel, Clock Tower and Cloisters

  • Edinburgh Tour Shop | Tour Scotland | All About Edinburgh

    Tour Edinburgh Scotland. Go on tours of all the attractions of Scotland and Edinburgh. Tours by foot, Bus, Car, Helicopter, Boat, Bespoke Guided or self guide with a guide book and maps all booked from the Edinburgh Tour Shop 249 High Street Edinburgh Royal Mile. Edinburgh Tour Shop On the Royal Mile Tour Edinburgh & Scotland Edinburgh City Tours Tour Around Scotland, Tour Buses - Walk - Run - Cycle - Boat trips Looking to Tour Edinburgh or further there are many companies that will make your stay in Scotland special. Bus tours to the Highlands and Island. Look for Nessie from the shore or on a boat. Whisky tours around the many Whisky Distilleries. Loch Lomond, Inverness, Fort William, Glencoe, Cairngorms and Trossacks. Scotland has it all. ALL TOURS CAN BE BOOKED FROM ONE PLACE Why not stay in Edinburgh and get All About Edinburgh Books and get the stories and see thing for yourself. OR GET THE All About Edinburgh Brochure Guide of Edinburgh Streets Famous people Attraction and history Click on the picture to see more Tours from Edinburgh Bus Tours of Scotland Tour Scotland Tours Cycle Scotland Tours Private Bespoke Tours Book A Tour Edinburgh - Stirling Tour D.I.Y Tours Highland Tours Looking for a special tour from Edinburgh or one of the many package tours. If so tell us where you would like to go and when. Edinburgh Walking Tours Click on boxes and pictures link Enquiry / Contact Visit The Tour Shop 249 High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh All kinds of tours available Including Self Guided Walking Tours Included is a Map with all the sites and History in a book. Exclusive Edinburgh Guided Tours Sales@allaboutedinburgh.co.uk Edinburgh EH32 9GL +44 (0)7539867587 D.I.Y. Edinburgh Tour Sales@allaboutedinburgh.co.uk Edinburgh EH32 9GL +44 (0)7539867587 Edinburgh Black Taxi Guided Tours 15 Bankhead Avenue Edinburgh EH11 4DW Scotland Glenkinchie Whisky Tour 1 Pencaitland Distillery Edinburgh EH34 5ET Scotland Helicopter Tours + Charters Northumbria Helicopters Newcastle Airport NE13 8BT 1 - 8 Passengers Depends on Weight Passengers + Luggage combined Scotland Edinburgh Walking Ghost Tour Black Hart Entertainment 20/20A Gardeners Crescent, Edinburgh EH3 8DE Scotland Edinburgh Walking Ghost Tours Auld Reekie Tours 45 Niddry Street Edinburgh EH1 1LG Scotland Viajar Por Escocia Tours 3 Old Fishmarket Close Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1RW Scotland Escocia Tours 60 Constitution Street Edinburgh EH6 6RR Scotland Edinburgh Tour Haunted History Bus Tour Suite 41, 2 Anderson Place, Edinburgh, EH6 5NP Scotland Tours of Scotland Highland Explorer Tours 60 High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1TB Scotland 0131 558 3738 Scotland Tours Macbackpackers 105 High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1SG Scotland Scotland Tours Scotline Tours 87 High Street Edinburgh EH1 1SG Scotland Tours of Scotland Scottish Routes 1 Parliament Square Edinburgh EH1 1RE Scotland Tour Scotland Highland Experience Tours 1 Parliament Square Edinburgh EH1 1RE Scotland Tour Edinburgh & Scotland Timberbush Tours 555 Castlehill Edinburgh EH1 2ND Scotland Go Scotland Tours 7 Harbour Place Edinburgh EH15 1TQ Scotland Tour Scotland Gray Line (Scotland) Ltd 81 Salamander Street Edinburgh EH6 7JZ Scotland Scotland Tours Loch Ness Bus Tour 28 St Andrews Square Edinburgh EH2 1AF Scotland Edinburgh Tour Red Bus Bistro Tour Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3BH Scotland Tours Scotland & Europe Rabbies Bus Tours 6 Waterloo Place Edinburgh EH1 3EG Scotland Edinburgh Walking Tours Rosslyn Chapel Tour Chapel Loan Roslin EH25 9PU Midlothian Scotland Edinburgh & Scotland Cameron Executive Travel 11a Newbridge Industrial Estate, Newbridge, Edinburgh EH28 8PJ Scotland Scotland & Edinburgh Tours Wangping Travel Tours 57 Pentland View Edinburgh EH10 6PY Scotland Edinburgh Tours City Of Edinburgh Tours 124 High Street (Police Box) Edinburgh EH1 1QS Scotland Scotland Tours Haggis Adventures 60 High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh EH1 1TB Scotland Edinburgh & Scotland Tours Executive Golf Tours 1-34 Mount Grange Edinburgh EH9 2QX Scotland Heart of Scotland Tours Suite 47 2 Anderson Place Edinburgh EH6 5NP Scotland Executive Tours and Transport GWM Executive Travel Cliftonhall Mains Newbridge EH28 8LQ Scotland Tours Heartland Travel 36 Buckstone Dell Edinburgh EH10 6PG Scotland Scottish Highland Tour The Hairy Coo Bus Tours Suite 41, 2 Anderson Place Edinburgh EH6 5NP Scotland

  • High Street | Lower Northside | All About Edinburgh

    High Street 4 the Lower Northside of the High Street Royal Mile from the Gates of Old Edinburgh at the Nether Bow up to the Tron Kirk which was the centre of old Edinburgh. see allthe attractions in the alleyways High Street Lower Northside Attractions Edinburgh The Gates of Old Edinburgh at the Nether Bow up to the Tron Kirk which was the centre of old Edinburgh. The High Street Lower area on the northside all the closes and attractions, from the oldest house and the renovated Trunk's close area there is much to see. Nether Bow Brass Cobbles High Street Lower North Side Attractions Edinburgh The outline of the Nether Bow Port can still be seen by the way of brass setts (cobbles) in the crossroads of St Mary's Street, Jeffrey Street the High Street and Canongate. Nether Bow High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh City Gates. There were walls around the city of Edinburgh with gates known as Ports, 6 in all. The Nether Bow was the most important gateway as it stood at the foot of the High Street. The port (Gate) access to and from the Canongate, which was at that time a separate Burgh. The walls were built originally for defence against invading armies into Edinburgh after 1513 the battle of Flodden. The Nether Bow, was rebuilt many times, the last time it was rebuilt was in 1606. In the 1700s the demolition of sections of the wall began. The Nether Bow was pulled down in 1764, and demolition of the wall continued into the 19th century. Today, a number of sections of the three successive walls survive, although none of the ports remain. You can see and find out more about Edinburgh’s history in the Museum of Edinburgh in the Canongate. Nether Bow Clock The clock that was centre of the Nether bow gate tower was preserved and moved to orphans hospital (Dean Gallery) near Dean Church in the Ravelston area of Edinburgh. Baron Maule’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Baron Maule’s Close, Baron John Maule also Baron of Panmure and Benvie purchased a house in the close circa 1710 as all closes and courts in old Edinburgh the family name would determine the close or court name. Nether Bow Bell Nether Bow Stone Carved Plaque The great bell being hung originally in 1621 was cast in Holland and can be seen at the top of the bell tower above the main entrance of the Story Telling Centre. The Stone carved tablet on the wall of the centre was originally on the Nether Bow Gate. Storytelling Centre High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh The Scottish Storytelling Centre allows access to John Knox House, the oldest house in Edinburgh, the Nether Bow Theatre, and is the headquarters of the Scottish Storytelling Network. The Storytelling Court is open to the public, and has an exhibition for children. There is a book shop, gift shop and Licensed Café for all to use. Story telling Centre John Knox House High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh The house John Knox lived in can be found at the Nether bow in the High Street Edinburgh next to Mowbray House. This is one of the oldest buildings in Edinburgh built in the 1470s. John Knox House was first the residence of the Abbot of Dunfermline George Durie. John Knox was born in 1510 and was a Scottish clergyman and leader of the Protestant Reformation and was also considered the founder of the Presbyterian denomination. There is a statue of John Knox in the inner quadrangle of the Assembly Hall on the Mound. He also had a house in Warriston’s Close and his grave is in the car park No.23 at the back of St Giles Cathedral. John Knox House Nether Bow Wellhead High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh The final Wellhead in the Royal Mile or you could say in Edinburgh as the gates to Edinburgh were a short distance away at the Nether Bow Port (Gate). The first drinking water to be distributed to the people of Edinburgh was by the way of Wellheads which were supplied by pipes that came from the reservoir at Castlehill, now the Edinburgh Weaving Mill. The water supply was connected in 1676. The spring water came from Comiston Springs in the south near the Blackford Hill to the reservoir (storage tank) at Castlehill and from there it was pumped through pipes to the wellheads in the streets of Edinburgh. You will see on the Wellheads at the Nether Bow, Grassmarket and Lawnmarket were the water came out of the Wellhead the spouts were of ugly faces. The Nether Bow Wellhead was originally the Fountain Wellhead as is stood outside Fountain Court and then it was moved to its present position in 1813 due to heavy traffic (coach and horses). This is the oldest Wellhead that has survived and was built in the late 1600s. Mowbray House High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh George Jameson born in Aberdeen in 1588 was recognised as the best portrait painter of his time from the British Isles. He lived in Mowbray House and died in 1644 in Edinburgh and is buried in Greyfriars Churchyard. His work can be seen in the National Gallery of Scotland on the Mound. Mowbray House is on the left side going down Trunk’s Close. Trunk’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh This Trunk’s Close has had many names including Purvis, Stirling’s and Bryson’s Close and its name derived from the Turing’s of Foveran from Aberdeen. James Turing built a tenement in the Close. Stirling’s Close was William Stirling and Bryson’s Close was a rebuilt tenement owned by Andrew Bryson. The owners of tenements in closes usually called the close after their family name. Sir Patrick Geddes Trunk's Close Edinburgh In Trunk’s Close is a monument to Sir Patrick Geddes and a modern art sculpture of a Cockerel with a garden named Sandeman House Garden where the Scottish Book Trust is housed. The rear of the Trinity College Apse can also be seen. The families that lived in the close previously were named Turning, Bryson, Purvis and Stirling and Hope which evidence is still visible between circa 1450 and 1750. Ashley Buildings were also in the close now demolished. On the way down Trunk’s Close from the High street on the east (right) side of the close is the main wall of Mowbray House which has been standing over 500 years. Monteith’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Monteith’s Close was named after the owner John Morrison (Moriesone) who built a large house on the east side of the close. Monteith’s Close was also known as Fleming’s land where Patrick Fleming and his family lived circa 1520 for over 200 years. Names of lands and closes were named by the owners of the property and a Monteith had a booth / shop at the head of the close and named the close after himself. Now it is Monteith’s Restaurant. Carrubber’s Mission High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Carrubber’s Close Mission is a non-denominational Evangelical church in the High Street Edinburgh. The Atheist Meeting House was founded in 1858 in Carrubber’s Close to be found a few yards up the High Street towards Edinburgh Castle. The American Evangelist D.L Moody came to Edinburgh and was successful in raising funds to open the present mission hall in 1883. To this day Carrubber’s Christian Mission continues to have strong trans-Atlantic links. Chalmer’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Chalmer’s Close This close was named after a Patrick Chalmers a craftsman and belt maker in 1682. It is the place the Trinity College Church was to be rebuilt as a concession to being removed to allow the Edinburgh railway station and rail lines to be built. However all that was completed was the apse of the Trinity College Church in circa 1876 almost 30 years after being taken down from its original site. This is the only surviving area of the Trinity College Church founded in 1460 which was moved brick by brick from its original site where the Waverley Station is now. Inside are the Pictish standing stones and medieval church brasses, also a shortcut to Jeffrey Street Edinburgh and the Waverley Rail Station. Chalmer's Close High Street Paisley Close Royal Mile High Street Edinburgh Paisley Close once known as East Bailie Fyfe’s Close stood for over 250 years and then fell down into itself and a new close was built named Paisley Close this was originally East Bailie Fyfe’s Close which would coincide with the reason the ornate entrance dedicated to the survivor of when the tenement fell down. On 10 November 1861 a building that had stood for 250 years sunk into the ground (107 High Street Edinburgh) burying the residents of the building.35 were found dead and on clearing the rubble the rescuers heard a voice from beneath the collapsed building. “Heave awa lads I’m no deid yet”. The rescuers pulled the boy (Joseph McIver) to safety and the town had the sculpture placed above the new named close in his memory, with the inscription which has been modified to read. “HEAVE AWA CHAPS I’M NO DEAD YET” Bailie Fyfe’s Close Royal Mile High Street Edinburgh Bailie Fyfe’s Close was named after Gilbert Fyfe, an Edinburgh merchant and Bailie of the City circa 1680, who lived in a house in the Close. Previously named Barry’s Close, and Trotter’s Close after John Trotter Laird of Mortonhall from 1635 when he acquired the Barony of Mortonhall. Window Lintel above Bailie Fyfe’s Close Look up to above the window on the 2nd Floor and you will see a carved lintel (marriage stone) with the initials of the couple that would have lived here at that time, the initials JT (John Trotter) and JM (Janet MacMath) and the date 1612. The Land (tenement) was once called Trotter’s Close in 1635 John Trotter became laird of Mortonhall, John Trotter was born in 1553 and died in 1641. He had 2 children, when John Trotter died he was buried in the Greyfriars Kirkyard where the Trotter of Mortonhall family mausoleum stands. Later William Fettes Grocers occupied a building at the top of Bailie Fyfe’s Close circa 1789. Morrison’s Close Royal Mile High Street Edinburgh Morrison’s Close in 1783 was where women of position could have their clothes made by a London fashion House “Chemize de Lorraine”. Window Lintel above Morrison’s Close The initials on the lintel above the window read; JS and CS with the date 1902 are the initials of the developers and petitioners J & G Stewart Ltd and the date of renovations completed on the tenement. The developers using an old Scottish tradition of who owned the property. This was usually, the husband and wife’s initials on the taking ownership or their marriage date. North Gray’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh North Gray’s Close was associated with the Edinburgh merchant Sydserf who lived here with his family and in 1581 he had a son who became a well-known figure in the church He graduated from Edinburgh in 1602 and joined the ministry in 1611 later becoming the Bishop of Brechin and later of Orkney. Bishop’s Close Royal Mile High Street Edinburgh Bishop’s Close was also part of Bishop’s Land, a large mansion house could be access from either close. Henry Dundas was born 28 April 1742 in the house known as 'Bishop's Land' and a Dr Demainbray lived in the close and had a boarding school for girls in 1746 after fighting for the English at Prestonpans. He was also said to have found the way to accelerate growth in plants by electrical current being applied. Carruber’s Close High Street Royal Mile Edinburgh Carrubber’s (Carruber’s) ( Carruthebber’s) Close many spellings but originally named after William De Caradris a Bailie of Edinburgh in 1454 also a James Hay of Carruber owned land and a coal yard on the east side of the present Carrubber’s close. This is a part of Bishop’s Land as this is where the Archbishop of St Andrews (John Spottiswood) resided in 1615. Henry Viscount Melville was born here in 1741. A fire destroyed 4 tenements in 1758 and then the area was destroyed by fire in 1814. The Tailor’s Hall was also present in Carrubber’s Close whose charter was granted in 1531. At the foot of the close was a theatre. On the land is now the Old St Paul’s Church . Carrubber’s Close was also the Last stronghold of the Jacobites. Carrubber's Close High Street Next - Jeffrey Street Edinburgh

  • Edinburgh NHS | Hospital Contact Details | All About Edinburgh

    Looking for hospitals in Edinburgh and lothians NHS Accident Emergency hospitals in Edinburgh, Lothians or Scottish Borders. All the contact details and full addresses can be found here Royal Infirmary Edinburgh Edinburgh Hospitals NHS ACCIDENT AND EMERGENCY HOSPITALS AND ACCIDENT AND EMERGENCY DEPARTMENTS Find the contact details of all the hospitals in Edinburgh & Lothian area. Edinburgh Information Hospitals Accident and Emergency Departments Eye Pavilion Hospital 45 Chalmers Street Edinburgh EH3 9HA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 536 1000 Western General Hospital A&E Crewe Road South Edinburgh EH4 2XU City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 537 1000 Dental Hospital 41 Lauriston Place Edinburgh EH3 9EN City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 200 2000 Royal Infirmary Hospital A&E 51 Little France Crescent Edinburgh EH16 4SA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 536 1000 Simpson's Maternity Hospital 51 Little France Crescent Edinburgh EH16 4SA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 536 1000 Royal Hospital for Children and Young People Little France Crescent Edinburgh EH16 4SA City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 536 1000 Royal Sick Children's Hospital 9 Sciennes Road Edinburgh EH9 1LF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 536 1000 Roodlands General Hospital NHS Hospital Road Haddington EH14 3PF East Lothian Scotland 0131 536 8300 Borders General Hospital Chiefswood Road Melrose TD6 9HJ Midlothian Scotland 01896 826 000 St Johns Hospital Howden Howden Road West Livingston EH54 699 West Lothian Scotland 01506 523 000 Other Hospitals Corstorphine Hospital 136 Corstorphine Road Edinburgh EH12 6TT City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 537 6250 Astley Ainslie Hospital 133 Grange Loan Edinburgh EH9 2HL City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 537 9000 Liberton Hospital 113 Lasswade Road Edinburgh EH16 6UB City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 536 7800 Royal Edinburgh Hospital 151 Morningside Terrace Edinburgh EH10 5HF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 537 6000 Ferryfield House 100 Pilton Drive Edinburgh EH5 2HF City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 557 6246 Belhaven Hospital NHS Beveridge Row Dunbar EH42 1TR East Lothian Scotland 01368 862246 Edenhall Hospital NHS Edenhall Road Musselburgh E H21 7TZ East Lothian Scotland 0131 5368000 Edington Cottage Hospital NHS 54 St Baldred’s Road North Berwick EH39 4PU East Lothian Scotland 01620 897040 Loanhead Hospital NHS Hunter Avenue Loanhead EH20 9SW Midlothian Scotland 0131 4400174 Tippethill Hospital NHS 9 Inchmuir Road Bathgate EH48 3BQ West Lothian Scotland 01501 745917 Whitburn Day Hospital NHS 1 Weavers Lane Bathgate EH47 0SD West Lothian Scotland 01501 742637

  • Edinburgh New Town | North Bridge | All About Edinburgh

    Edinburgh New Town North Bridge Edinburgh connection of the Old Town Edinburgh to the New Town, Princes Street, George Street,Queen Street and the history and famous residents. North Bridge Edinburgh New Town North Bridge Edinburgh Connecting Old with New The Original North Bridge was founded in 1763, opening in 1772 to link the Edinburgh Old Town with the New Town. Due to the high volume of people and transport that used the bridge it was widened in 1876, it was then demolished in 1896 to make way for the present North Bridge which was opened in 1897. The main rail lines run underneath the bridge. At the foot of the bridge is the Balmoral Hotel and Princes Street and at the top are the Scotsman and Carlton Hotels and the famous Royal Mile. The statue on the East side of the bridge is dedicated to the King’s Own Scottish Borderers who fought in battles around the world. Behind the statue can be seen the Calton Hill, with the Martyrs Obelisk, Governor’s House, Nelson Monument and High School all visible. Must be near 1pm as the ball is going up the mast on the Nelson Monument. General Post Office Building The General Post Office building stands on an area Shakespeare Square at the east side of the North Bridge. This image is before the North Bridge was built. General Post Office in Edinburgh was built on the site of the Theatre Royal which opened in 1769 and closed in 1859. The foundation stone was laid by Prince Albert in October 1861, and the building opened in May 1866. It closed as the Post Office in 1995. The North British Station Hotel (Balmoral Hotel) The North British Station Hotel (The Balmoral) opened for Business in 1902 and is positioned next to the Waverley Station between Waverley Bridge and the North Bridge, which gives direct access to Edinburgh’s old town, The Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and The Palace of Holyrood House (Holyrood Palace). Directly behind the hotel is Calton Hill. The Hotel is at the east end of Princes Street, one of the most famous and picturesque streets in the world. The clock has historically been set 5 minutes fast giving rail travellers the illusion that they are late for their train. The site it stands on is where the first ever hotel in Edinburgh stood. James Young Simpson Duncan Flockhart & Co Plaque operated a pharmacy from a position at the foot of the North Bridge on part of the site now occupied by the Balmoral Hotel. Duncan Flockhart was to make the chloroform that James Young Simpson would use on his successful experiments on pain relief in 1847 which changed the way medical operations would be carried out. The plaque shows where the pharmacy was sited in 1847. FOUNDATION STONE NORTH BRIDGE BRONZE PLAQUE The King’s Own Scottish Borderers Memorial Monument On the 19th March 1689 David Leslie Earl of Leven gathered a regiment of soldiers within two hours to defend the City of Edinburgh. For Leven’s regiment’s gallantry in defending Edinburgh and later at the Battle of Killiecrankie with a resounding victory for the Jacobite’s lead by James VII of Scotland and II of England, the magistrates of Edinburgh gave the unique right of recruiting by the beat of the drum, marching through the Edinburgh streets with drums beating and flags flying and bayonets fixed. The regiment was later named The King’s Own Scottish Borderers. It is now part of the Royal Regiment of Scotland. Bronze Plaques The Old North Bridge Plaque is an illustration of the original North Bridge of the First North Bridge The North Bridge Plaque is of the details of when the foundation stone and the present bridge opened. Scotsman Steps The Scotsman Steps is a covered ornate pedestrian staircase for quick access to Waverley Station from the North Bridge. Named after the Scotsman building as it was next to the Scotsman's front doors. Built as a public staircase. It opened in 1902. Scotsman Newspaper Building Built for the Scotsman Newspaper and opened in 1904 as the headquarters for The Scotsman newspaper, with printing presses and news offices. Previously in a purpose built building in Cockburn Street built in 1860. North Bridge Arcade The North Bridge Arcade opened in 1900 as part of the larger development that integrated the North Bridge with the Scotsman building rare surviving example of a Victorian covered arcade in Scotland, Fictional Figure above the North Bridge entrance to the Arcade, attributed to William Birnie Rhind, is located above the arcade entrance. Figure of Peace: A statue representing "Peace" sits in an aedicule on the north elevation, crafted by Frederick Schenck. There are also statues of the Roman god Mercury as part of the arcade's decorative scheme. Night and Day: These figures, based on Michelangelo's famous sculptures, were created by Joseph Hayes. Next - St Andrew Square

  • Tantallon Auldhame | All About Edinburgh

    The Village of Aukdhame where the Outlander Seacliffe beach, Tantallon Castle, NB Distillery, Canty Beach, St Baldred's Cave an Equestrian Centre and further Castle ruins a place for a great day out 10 minutes from North Berwick.(Walkable). Tantallon - Auldhame North Berwick East Lothian Coast Auldhame was a village just outside North Berwick, which was close to Tantallon Castle. There is no village now but the area retains its name but is now part of the Seacliff Estate. The area has a Gin Distillery, two beaches Seacliff and Canty Bay, a cave, castle ruins and an equestrian centres. St Baldred’s’ Cave situated beside Seacliff Beach was discovered circa 1830 but was said to have been a retreat where St Baldred would spend time in isolation circ 740 AD. Seacliffe Beach Seacliffe North Berwick East Lothian Coast Seacliff beach is a great place to spend the day. A safe golden sand beach, plenty of places to explore with a small harbour and great views of Tantallon Castle and the East coast. St Baldreds' Boat Seacliffe Beach North Berwick East Lothian Coast St Baldred's Boat id a rocky outcrop on the east coast of Scotland at Seacliffe Beach. Standing on the rocks is a tower with a cross to warn of ships of the mainland rocks. St Baldreds' Cave Seacliffe Beach North Berwick East Lothian Coast St Baldred’s’ Cave at Seacliff Beach was discovered in 1830 by the owner of Seacliff House, George Sligo. Thought to have been used in the Iron Age as there was broken pottery. The cave was said to be used by St Baldred circa 740 AD. Auldhame Castle Tantallon Auldhame North Berwick East Lothian Coast Auldhame Tower is now a ruin that stands in woodland that overlooks Seacliffe Beach The Tower built circa 1495 is link with Sir Adam Otterburn of Redhall. He was King's advocate and a diplomat. Seacliffe Harbour Seacliffe North Berwick East Lothian Coast The harbour at the north end of Seacliffe Beach is unique as it was carved out of the rocks in 1890 by Andrew Laidley, the then owner of the House and lands. He used a steam engine with compressed air to cut through the rocks. The harbour is still in use today. Tantallon Castle Tantallon Auldhame North Berwick East Lothian Coast “The Ghost of Tantallon Castle” as all old Castles and houses the proverbial ghost is always in the wings so always be aware of strange winds and noises. There is doubt of when and who built the Castle but from records it is said that Tantallon Castle was the last medieval curtain wall castle to be constructed in Scotland, Tantallon comprises a single wall blocking off the headland, with the other three sides naturally protected by sea cliffs. With mentions of a castle prior to 1360. The Castle was attacked on many occasions. It was besieged by King James IV in 1491, and again by his successor James V in 1528, when extensive damage was done. Tantallon saw action in the First Bishops’ War in 1639, and again during Oliver Cromwell’s invasion of Scotland in 1651, when it was bombarded by Cromwell’s troops and finally after a long battle the Castle was surrendered to Cromwell and abandoned and has never been used since. Tantallon Castle Do'cot Tantallon Auldhame North Berwick East Lothian Coast “The Ghost of Tantallon Castle” as all old Castles and houses the proverbial ghost is always in the wings so always be aware of strange winds and noises. There is doubt of when and who built the Castle but from records it is said that Tantallon Castle was the last medieval curtain wall castle to be constructed in Scotland, Tantallon comprises a single wall blocking off the headland, with the other three sides naturally protected by sea cliffs. With mentions of a castle prior to 1360. The Castle was attacked on many occasions. It was besieged by King James IV in 1491, and again by his successor James V in 1528, when extensive damage was done. Tantallon saw action in the First Bishops’ War in 1639, and again during Oliver Cromwell’s invasion of Scotland in 1651, when it was bombarded by Cromwell’s troops and finally after a long battle the Castle was surrendered to Cromwell and abandoned and has never been used since. Gin Head Tantallon Auldhame North Berwick East Lothian Coast AGin Head is a stunning peninsula with magnificent views of the Forth of Forth estuary and North Sea. The base was built in 1943 by the Admiralty as a signals and radar base but now abandoned. Tantallon Castle stands on the next point which gives Gin Head the best view of the ancient Castle ruins. Canty Bay Tantallon Auldhame North Berwick East Lothian Coast This small golden sand bay and is linked with Robert Louis Stevenson and William McGonagall NB Gin Distillery Tantallon Auldhame North Berwick East Lothian Coast Steve and Viv Muir, Owners of NB Distillery started they journey in their kitchen, the old way of distilling. Once the correct formula was made from the correctly source produce and water they moved to a unit which became their first distillery. Now NB Gin is known worldwide and our latest product Golden Rum is not to be missed. Tantallon Castle Harbour Tantallon Auldhame North Berwick East Lothian Coast The area between Gin Point and Tantallon Castle was once a small harbour and boats would bring supplies to the Castle Food gunpowder and weapons. There was a pier (jetty) for Tantallon Castle at the base of the castle rock. This is also where Cromwell had his ships anchored and bombard the castle from the sea while his troops attacked from the land. Next - Dunbar

  • Walking Climbing Rambling Edinburgh | iZone | All About Edinburgh

    With all the hills orienteering Walking Climbing Rambling Edinburgh is a must. Guides Tours or the canal walk 19 Klms or the Water of leith walk WALKING CLIMBING RAMBLING EDINBURGH Rock Climbing indoor and outdoor Orienteering, Trail Run, Hill Walking, Rambling Activities Edinburgh Hill Walks Corstorphine Hill Corstorphine Road Blackford Hill Charterhall Road Craiglockhart Hills Glenlockhart Road Calton Hill Waterloo Place Arthur Seat Queens Park Edinburgh City Centre 802 Feet High Road and paths Climbing Rock Climbing Indoor Alien Rock 1 Pier Place Edinburgh EH6 4LP City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 552 7211 Climbing Rock Climbing Outdoor International Climbing Arena South Platt Hill Ratho EH28 8AA West lothian Scotland 0131 333 6333 Climbing Rock Climbing Indoor Edinburgh University Sports Centre Pleasance Edinburgh EH8 9TJ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 650 2578 Climbing Rock Climbing Indoor Alien Rock 2 West Bowling Green Street Edinburgh EH6 5NX City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 555 3650 Climbing Mountaineering Edinburgh University Water Sports Loch Tay Killin FK21 8SU Falkirk Scotland 0131 650 2954 Climbing Winter Mountaineering Edinburgh University Water Sports Loch Tay Killin FK21 8SU Falkirk Scotland 0131 650 2954 Climbing Rock Climbing Indoor International Climbing Arena South Platt Hill Ratho EH28 8AA Midlothian Scotland 0131 333 6333 Climbing and Walking Orienteering Edinburgh University Water Sports Loch Tay Killin FK21 8SU Falkirk Scotland 0131 650 2954 Climbing and Walking Orienteering Edinburgh University Water Sports Loch Tay Killin FK21 8SU Falkirk Scotland 0131 650 2954 Walking Trail Run Winton House B6355 Pencaitland EH34 5AT East Lothian Scotland 01875 340 222 Walking hillwalking Edinburgh University Water Sports Loch Tay Killin FK21 8SU Falkirk Scotland 0131 650 2954 Walking John Muir Way River Esk - Dunbar 126 High Street Dunbar EH42 1JJ East Lothian Scotland 01368 865899 Walking Union Canal Walkway Ratho to Falkirk Ratho Canal Centre Baird Road Ratho EH28 8RA Midlothian Scotland 0131 333 1320 Walking Water of Leith walkway Water of Lith Centre Lanark Road Edinburgh EH14 1TQ City of Edinburgh Scotland 0131 455 7367 Walking Tree top walking Go Ape Glentress Forest Peebles EH45 8NB Scottish Borders Scotland 01387 702 228 Walking Zip line Trekking Go Ape Glentress Forest Peebles EH45 8NB Scottish Borders Scotland 01387 702 228 Walking Hiking Roxburghe Sporting Estate A698 Heiton TD5 8JZ Scottish Borders Scotland 01573 450 333

bottom of page